Black Cat Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Twirl around in this stunning Z Spoke Zac Posen black full skirted dress. Great for a classy birthday extravaganza, charity event, or cocktail party. Go with a hint of bling by renting the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with pleating detail and full skirt over lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips at all
LENGTH: Mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with pleating detail and full skirt over lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips at all
LENGTH: Mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lurex(77%Rayon 23%Polyester). V neckline. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
87 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
July 18, 2014
Gorgeous material
It looked awesome but I couldn't zip up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2014
OBSESSED with this dress!
This was by far my favorite RTR rental so far. (Sorry I didn't take a better full body shot, but it was a bachelorette party so every other pic has 10 other girls in it.) The theme for the party was LBDs and I wanted something that would stand out. The plunging V and slight sheen to the dress were exactly what I was looking for. In terms of size, I could've gone with the 8 but it was ripped along the front seam. The 10 fit fine and at first I thought it was a little too long for a party but with my 4 inch heels it was fine. I actually ended up appreciating the length because with the V in front, a short skirt would've been too much. Absolutely no complaints. Will definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
June 27, 2014
Amazing night!
A bit small in the chest, I am a 34 D and it was tight. Beautiful dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
June 26, 2014
Stunning and cute!
I rented this in case the Nicole Miller didn't fit. But this one wouldn't stay up on my shoulders, so I let my twin sister try it for the wedding. Obviously it was perfect on her. And this dress has pockets! Say what?! Yeah! Melissa looked amazing and got a ton of compliments!
StashaSeptember 12, 2014
Love how it was styled! Looks great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
Pretty...
This dress was my backup but this is the dress that I wore. I loved the material with the sheen that it had an the flattering empire waist. This dress was low-cut and showed a lot of cleavage. Va-va-voom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 27, 2014
Beautiful fabric, like liquid .Dazzling with out being outrageous.
Although I loved the dress it was too revealing for my daughters sweet sixteen.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2014
This was my first experience with RTR. It was for an alumni event and I wanted to dress to impress!
The dress was absolutely beautiful. I loved the fabric, the shine to it. It fit a bit loose in the waist, but I kind of liked that it wasn't too tight! And the bust line is definitely quite low, I couldn't help but notice people's eyes wandering down in mid conversation. Overall, this dress made me feel fabulous and I was super impressed at how easy it is to use RTR (got my accessories from here too!). Can't wait to dress up for the next event!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2014
Not as tasteful as I would have liked for a wedding, but very sexy for another occasion!
As other reviewers mentioned, the neckline is VERY low cut (I didn't get an accurate enough idea from the model picture), and the length is a little too short to counter-balance it. If you're modest when it comes to showing both décolletage and leg, you may want to skip this one. In an effort to make the overall look a little more demure, I wore pearls and closed-toe, mid-heel pumps. All that said, I did receive tons of compliments on the dress (mostly from men--can't imagine why)!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 17, 2014
The dress
I wasn't able to wear a bra underneath because the straps of the dress were thin at the top. it fit perfectly otherwise in the chest and waist area. i am short (5"0) so it was kind of longer than I expected; it came to my knees. I wore it to #lawschool #prom and had fun in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 14, 2014
Cute dress!
The fit was true to size, though it wasn't as snug as I might have hoped. Definitely a great party dress, got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2014
Very flattering!
I am usually a size 4/6 and have a small waist, chest size 34B but have larger hips and a short torso and short legs (I'm 5'2") I tried on the size 2 dress (sales girl picked it for me6 at the store in NYC and it fit perfect! It was so flattering and I felt really comfortable in it all night! Perfect little black dress :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2014
Built for longer torsos, smaller chests, taller ladies.
I loved this dress in photographs, but while I loved the style and fabric it was just a no go on me. The shoulders were wider than mine and the torso was longer, creating saggy lines between the natural waist and shoulders. If I were 5 foot 7 with smaller breasts and slightly wider shoulders, this would have been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2014
Love Love this dress!! Fit great and was very flattering!!
Loved the material of dress and the inner satin liner. Was so comfortable and flattering. I felt like I was on the red carpet in this dress. Fun and stylish.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 21, 2014
Gorgeous fit!
This dress is to die for! It was sexy but still classy and perfect for NYE paired with some sassy accessories. I ordered the 0 and 2 and the 0 was very close to a perfect fit. I'm a 32 C and needed to buy a padded bra to make the bust of the dress fit. Loved loved loved this dress! Want to own it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
Great dress! Tons of compliments and lots of gawking!
I rented the size 4 and the size 6 for a New Year's Eve party. Must have tried both of them 10 times before I decided to go with the 4. It was pretty snug, but more flattering in the chest area than the size 6. The size 6 was more comfortable since it wasn't as tight fitting but it just didn't seem to hold my chest in place like the size 4 did and not quite as flattering. No bra needed. Definitely a lot of cleavage. Wore a black patent leather belt and black patent leather pumps. Fun and flirty! Expect a lot of stares, gawking and compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 8, 2013
I wore this dress to a charity holiday party. It was fun and a little sexy. I felt amazing in it.
This was a back up dress sent by the go-to girl as the dress I wanted was not available. I loved it!! I do think that I am more of an 8 although I wear a 10 in anything that is tight around the bust. I am 151 pounds, 5''6", 36C, and I normally wear a 6 in pants and an 8 dresses. I could have worn the 8 in this dress as the straps were loose. This dress is stunning and I honestly did not get a photograph that was good enough to post. The fabric is beautiful and shiny. My entire RTR experience was perfect and am ready to do it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 5, 2013
Great construction provides supportive, perfect fit.
The fabric of the dress is just heavy enough to lend structure to to fit. I found that I didn't need the stick-on bra that I had bought for it. It holds the bust in place in a very flattering way, and the cinched waist made for a beautiful shape. I loved feeling contained, but not trapped in the dress. The V back and front are sexy without being trashy. It's a classic with a few fun twists. I got lots of compliments and second glances. It made the night so much more fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2013
Tight through top & waist
I ordered this as a back up and didn't end up wearing it. The fit was tight through the bodice & waist which meant no bra was needed but it was a little more revealing than was appropriate for this occasion. The shape is fun & flattering with a bit of a retro flare.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2013
Average dress, nothing special!
Fabric is very thick and heavy, and the dress is not as metallic as it looks in the picture! It's almost silver. I am just about 5'5" and wore a size 4, the dress pretty much came down to my knees - yikes! Also, if you are not the most genetically gifted in the chest area, the bust of the dress may gape a little bit. I'm sure this dress would be fantastic to some, I just felt like a little bit of a grandma in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2013
So beautiful
I loved this dress but ended up wearing a different dress just due to the amount of cleavage visible in this one. Probably not a big issue for most but my chest is on the larger side. My fiance loved it too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Stylish (and comfy) little black dress!
Wore this to my work Christmas party. Great dress for the holiday season.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
Sexy/Cute Look!
Rented this dress for my husband's law school formal, but didn't end up wearing it because my husband preferred the other look I rented. Love how the traditionally cute look is tarted up with the shiny fabric. ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2013
Formal and FUN
I wore this for a New Year's Eve party and it was perfect. It's fun, comfortable, and so flattering for curvy/hourglass shapes. I felt it showed the right amount of cleavage, but it is the most low-cut dress I've ever worn. The fabric is beautiful and looks luxe. The fit made my waist look small and flared out to hide my hips and thighs. Super flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2013
This is the perfect LBD for a night out.
This dress is perfect for girls with hips. I am usually an 4/6 on top and a 8/10 on the bottom. I rented a 6 and an 8, but ended up wearing the 6. It fit like it was made for my body! The princess seaming on the bodice made my chest look awesome, while the full A-line skirt flowed smoothly over my hips. It also didn't make me look hippy, but if you are more narrow on the bottom this will make you look curvier. The v-neck is low, but I was able to wear a demi-cup strapless bra with no issues. Larger chested girls may want something with a little more coverage.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 17, 2012
An elegant and classy dress, that still provides the right amount of va-va-voom.
After being a RTR member for two years, I finally took the plunge and rented this number for an anniversary dinner. My boyfriend and I were going to a very formal dinner, followed by a show and I wanted to look elegant but still sexy. This dress fit the bill. I ordered my normal size 8, and it fit perfectly. The fitting in the bodice worked to my advantage, as I felt it held the girls in well and I could go braless. For the record, I'm a size 36B, so bigger girls might want to be aware that there will be a bit more cleavage going on than I had. My only complaint on the dress (and it could have been a fluke?) was that the seams through the waist and bust were a bit itchy. Not something I couldn't live with, but it did make for a slightly uncomfy evening. Other than that though, I loved this dress and will be renting again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
Way too Booby for Me
It was way too low cut for me, but overall a cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 10, 2012
Feeling comfortable and glamorous!
The deep V-neck is much lower than pictured. Very comfortable dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 7, 2012
Thank you RTW for making this such a great experience! Definitely my new fashion bible site!
Can't begin to describe how amazing this dress fits, it looks beautiful and projects such an edgy elegance. This dress radiates confidence and is a showstopper so prepare to break some necks. Great choice if you're busty and petite and pretty much any shape, can't go wrong with this choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
September 28, 2012
Lesson: only order the dresses that have my backup size available.
I made the mistake of ordering this dress even though only a 4 was available. It would not zip all the way up, and I had to send it back unworn. Fortunately, RTR was able to get me a dress in time for my event, although was nerve-wracking to have to very quickly order another dress to get here in time. I was also frustrated that RTR did not call me back or respond to my emails until halfway through the day. I did like this dress enough that I have ordered the 6, along with another dress that they are sending for free since this one didn't fit. Nice touch RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2012
Great dress!
This was a great dress! The fabric is a bit metalic, which made it stand out more than the average little black dress. For the most part, it's true to size, but it did run a bit small in the bust. It's also a bit low cut in the front, but definitely appropriate for a party/night out. I would definitely wear this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
this dress was perfect. it's the perfect amount of sexy.
I love the double V front and back. also, the material is super flattering. I wish the bust was a little more flattering.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Pretty, 50s flair.
Gorgeous dress, but runs a wee bit small! Thankfully it was my backup. I would recommend to the larger busted gals to size up. I would definitely rent this again should the occasion arise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
September 18, 2012
Cuter in picture
This dress was much cuter in the picture. I really wanted to love it but it was impossible to fit my bust and the material was a lower grade quality than what I hoped it would me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
Wore this dress to a movie premiere and it was perfect.
Low cut and was a bit tight in the bust area for me because I have a broader back and may be a bit bustier than the ladies the cut of the dress was intended for, but it's a darling dress that has a slight sheen and just really looks glam and edgy at fun all at the same time. And since the skirt is fuller, no need for spanx.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
August 29, 2012
Love this dress
Cleavage is not usually an issue for me, but in this dress it was. Since I wore this to a work event, I decided to put a long sleeve victorian shirt underneath, and it still looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 27, 2012
Got tons of compliments
It fit perfectly and was demure enough to be worn for a wedding but sexy enough to be attention-grabbing. I didn't want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 26, 2012
I got compliments on the dress and how I looked all night! I felt great!
This dress is great! Really comfortable and easy to wear but I still felt sexy! Fit pretty perfect! I had to use a little wardrobe tape on the back because it puckered a little bit on me. I wore a Nubra and it was fine. I was worried the fabric would look cheap but it was great and really fun! So glad I rented this dress it was exactly what I was looking for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2012
Ideal Party Dress
I rented this for my birthday celebration and received TONS of compliments. It runs a bit larger than other designer clothes I've worn so if you're between sizes, order the one down. I did a quick fix to shorten the straps and the dress fit perfectly! It was so cute and the fabric is actually shiny, which I didn't expect but looks great on camera. Perfect party dress when paired with a cute pair of heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 18, 2012
SO SMALL!
I ordered a 10 and 12 in this because I was worried about the bust area on this dress. Normall I'm in a 8/10 but because of my bust I usually go up. I could not even zip this fun dress up! If you have a bust that is larger than a 34 there is NO WAY you are getting that zipper shut. I was so upset because this dress looked awesome on the hangar and the material felt really nice!!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 6, 2012
From a guy in Beverly Hills at Mr. Chow, "you look really nice"
Got lots of compliments and felt great. Needed to use fashion tape on the straps, easy to wear!!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×