Oscar Wild Dinner Dress

$55 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Channel Victorian elegance in this jacquard style by Yoana Baraschi. A pretty and ultra flattering option for the rehearsal dinner! Accessorize with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple Jacquard (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
299 reviews
Fit
Large122
True to Size134
Small6
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2015
Perfect Holiday Dress
I wore this dress for a special birthday dinner. Gorgeous, rich color is more purple than maroon. The secondary color is black. Could be worn with black tights and still look elegant. Fit my body type perfectly. The skirt is loose but not a full skirt. This cut made it so easy to wear. May be difficult if you have a large bust (not much stretch). There is nothing I would have changed about this dress. Another amazing RTR experience!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 7, 2015
I wore this dress to my annual company holiday party at Mohegan Sun.
The dress fit perfect! It was very flattering and extremely comfortable. Loved the pockets! I received compliments all night - especially on the color of the dress! Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 6, 2015
Great First Time RTR Experience
I rented this dress for a formal awards dinner. It was a perfect fit, conservative enough for the event but still has plenty of sass and swing. The pockets were a wonderful bonus giving me a discrete place to stash my phone during the dinner. This dress fits pretty true to size but I ordered a 2 as a backup just in case. The 4 was the best fit for me. I will definitely be a repeat customer to RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 30, 2015
Beautiful dress. Really intricate details that you don't see in the photos. A great experience!
Wore for a bridesmaid dress. Bust size is a little small but cute fit and flare into the waist. Really intricate pleating. Beautiful fabric. Customer service was really helpful when they didn't have the size I needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
November 30, 2015
perfect for a Summer Wedding!
no cons . It was very beautiful !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2015
The quality and color of this dress really sold me. I never wanted to take it off or give it back.
Pros: The dress was absolutely gorgeous. The material was heavy and long enough that I stayed comfortable at a late October wedding. I brought a tailored black cardigan to go over my arms when needed, but otherwise it was great. Moreover, it wasn't so thick that I overheated when we started dancing. The color (which is a brighter purple in person but does "change" depending on the lighting), pattern, cut, and fit were all incredible. I wore it with the suggested necklace and matching jewelry and felt like a million bucks! Cons: Not many. A lot of customer reviews recommended sizing down, but the customer service associate I corresponded with suggested that true-to-size was accurate and sizing up was a better option. I never even tried on the backup size - the 2 fit almost like a glove. It was a little large in the waist, but it fit perfectly in the shoulders and bust, so I'm not sure sizing down to the 0 would have helped. I was able to snag a belt and cinch the waist and no one was the wiser.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
November 25, 2015
Great color, flattering fit!
This dress is amazing- it is fitted at the bust but then flares out at the waist to make for a more comfortable evening of not worrying about what you are eating or drinking! Perfect for a fall wedding. The color is gorgeous- more purple in person. So many compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2015
Comfort and Wow Factor all in one
The dress was a huge hit at a gala I wore it to. Loved that is has pockets. Run a little on the big side so order a size below what you normally would. The colors is great (much brighter than in the RTR picture). Was complimented all night long. And loved that I could wear a regular bar too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 18, 2015
Pretty fabric
Didn't end up wearing. I'm usually 4/6. The 4 was way too big, couldn't even make it work with a belt. Too bad, pretty dress. Surprised by how off the sizing was.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2015
Loved it!
This dress was so fun for a wedding - between the fun back and the pockets it was easy to dance in all night and very comfortable! This dress ran true to size for me, and actually gave me some shape. The length was nice for me - it was a formal wedding so having this hit around the knee was nice. I am very tempted to rent this dress again!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 14, 2015
Great dress, pretty color, comfortable
The dress is a great color and the pockets are very convenient. The dress runs a little large, and as a petite person I would have preferred shorter straps and a shorter length. However, I received many compliments and it was fun to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2015
Love the color
This dress was so unique. The color and pattern were gorgeous. It is more like a magenta than the RTR photo looks. It has pockets which I loved. The back was cute and different but I was still able to wear a regular bra. I would definitely rent again. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 11, 2015
Perfect for a fall wedding!
I received tons of compliments on this dress! It paired perfectly with the Drifting Leaves necklace and Kate Spade turquoise earrings. It was very comfortable and the fabric felt very high quality.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 9, 2015
perfect for a family wedding
This was a great dress, but definitely ran a bit big, I had to use some strategic safety pins. Overall really pretty dress that stood out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 8, 2015
It was perfect for the wine dinner I was hosting. It was comfortable and easy to work in!
Definitely get two sizes. Very busty so I am glad I did
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 5, 2015
Looks great and has pockets!!!
Everything about the dress was great; except I felt like it starting flaring out a little high, which made it look a little too poufy. That being said, I was the only one that felt that way, so I think I was just overcritical. I would definitely get it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 51
November 5, 2015
Loved this dress. It was beautiful. The zero was a little big on me.
Runs a little big.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2015
I absolutely LOVE Rent the Runway!! I had the best experience with them on this rental.
I requested this dress in a size 8 and 10. They were unable to send me the size 10 due to someone sending it back late or damaged, so they sent me an email asking for my next top 5 choices in order of priority. I was unable to get my email with my next 5 choices on time so I sent it a few hours later. Rent the Runway sent me a dress similar to my choice, with my size 8. Then upon receiving my email, they sent out my top choice out of my 5 next favorites. I paid to rent one dress in size 8 and 10...I ended up with 5 dresses (4 with the option of size 8 or 10). It was wonderful! I'm so glad they look out for their customers!! I ended up going with the size 8, which fit perfectly and had an extra bonus of pockets! However, it was nice to know that I had other options in case the size 8 didn't fit. Helped me be stressful for the event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 3, 2015
I rented this dress for formal pictures. This dress was beautiful and I received several compliments
great fit, flattering and beautiful color!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2015
Great berry color. Very comfortable. A little poofy in the front for me but still flattering.
It has pockets. Never used them, but they are there.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 2, 2015
This dress was perfect for the "Mad Men" classic look that I was going for!
I am pretty busty and was therefore showing a fair amount of cleavage. But the overall fit was very flattering and comfortable! Yay for pockets! Would definitely rent again, I got a ton of compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 1, 2015
Beautiful dress for any occasion
I rented this dress for a wedding but it would be great for anything (date, cocktail party, work). The fabric is thick and sits really well. It is just a really elegant dress that I will rent again. I would have worn the 8 as it fit perfectly but the front was ripped so I ended up wearing the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2015
This dress is stunning! Absolutely perfect for a fall wedding!
The color looks red-ish online but in real life its darker red like a maroon with a black background. It was such a beautiful dress! I clearly haven't bought a dress in a long time and the 12 was a little snug but it worked out. I have a bigger bust so it was snug there mostly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 26, 2015
Fun, colorful dress for a Fall wedding!
This dress was beautiful, fun, and easy to wear! It felt looser around the ribcage when I wore a smaller bra, but with a more padded bra, it filled out the dress nicely. I ended up wearing the 4, but there was not much size difference compared to the 6. The dress has a subtle trumpet shape, which I did not realize, and was a little longer than I would have liked for my shorter frame. But overall, it was a great dress for a fall wedding. The color was a lot of fun and the loose skirt made it very comfortable to wear all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
October 26, 2015
Loved the dress!
It was beautiful! Fit perfect, was actually a little big, but I had a stomach flu that week and may have dropped a size. I just loved this dress, was so happy I got it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
October 25, 2015
This is perfect for a wedding! It's great for dancing!
The dress does run a bit big. I generally wear a 4 or a 6 and the 4 was SLIGHTLY big but the 2 may have been a little tight. I love love love the dress but the only, SMALL downfall (and I seriously mean only) was that it doesn't have the stay straps for bra straps. Wasn't a huge deal but it would have been nice to have.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2015
Great color!
It was adorable -- so many compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
October 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a "black-tie optional" event in Manhattan. It was perfect. So comfortable.
I ordered a 6 since that's my usual size and it was pretty loose on me. I wore it anyway and thought it looked good, but would have looked better if it was a 4. Loved the fabric weight, length and pockets! Easy to wear and accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 14, 2015
This dress was perfect! I received so many compliments and it was very comfortable!
I am an event producer and wore this for a large gala fundraiser I produced. It was different enough from the standard "little black dress" but not too flashy. I loved that it had pockets for my phone and it was soooo comfortable. I almost always wear a size 8 but the 6 fit me perfectly (even with size D cup breasts!), so definitely order down 1 size. The necklace is also from RTR and really made the dress look more formal.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 11, 2015
Beautiful, comfortable dress for a wedding!
This dress was extremely comfortable. I wore the dress for hours on end and never felt uncomfortable. Got so many compliments at the wedding I attended. I am typically a size in 8 most dresses and the 8 fit perfectly. It was a little tight across the chest (size 32DDD) but only when sitting. If I could own this dress I would! Definitely would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
October 9, 2015
Comfortable and flowy
I loved the fit of this dress! It was true to size, didn't even have to try on my backup. I loved that I was able to wear a regular bra. The strap peeked out a few times in the back but I could've easily put tape on it to keep it in place, but I just tucked it in. I wasn't uncomfortable after dinner or dancing - it was totally comfortable. The color and pattern was great as well, just different enough to not be another black dress at a wedding, but not too crazy. I found myself using the pockets quite a bit too! Overall great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2015
Loved the pockets! Great fabric, beautiful in both high and low light.
Fit was perfect in the smaller size I chose. Great reviews on here to provide perspective. The fabric was beautiful, and I got tons of compliments on the neckline and cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
October 8, 2015
Nice rich berry hue
This dress is more purple in real life than in the picture. The fabric is silky and has a bit of a sheen to it. I wore it to a friend's wedding in the early fall. The dress is easy to accessorize. It hit a bit past the knee, but the skirt is full and flares out. I am a bit large on top, so the extra volume on the bottom was a good thing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2015
Beautiful pattern and color
I got a 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. It was still loose in the bust and waist and the length was just below the knees. I should've gotten a 0 but somehow I feel it would've been hard to breathe in a size 0. I do have a pretty long torso compared to most people so that could be the cause of the less than stellar fit. I LOVE that this dress has DEEP pockets! My keys went in without pulling the dress down or messing with the shape, it was great! There's a very slight high/low hem on the skirt which is cute. The little cut out in the back is just the right size and placement to allow you to wear a normal bra. And the purple is so much more vibrant than the picture shows, really gorgeous in the sunlight. I would totally rent this again, probably in a size 0 for a better fit :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2015
Loved this dress. The color is spectacular, the fit is extremely flattering. And: POCKETS!
The dress fits incredibly and, though I'm bigger in the chest (34D), the 6 fit very well. It was tight in the rib cage, but the overall fit was very flattering. I feel going up a size would have made it too long. It's lightweight, but the fabric looks heavier and makes the dress look more formal than it feels. The color is even better in person and several people used the word "stunning" - talking about the dress, not me :) The fit is great and the pockets are fantastic. I was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
October 4, 2015
Launching a new product for work
The dress was super cute and has pockets! The only problem was the 4 was a little big for me in the waist. I was able to solve it by adding a thin belt around the waist and it still looked super cute and comfy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
September 30, 2015
Beautiful rich color and a comfortable fit.
Ran a size larger than I expected. The bust fit nicely but the waist was a little loose, wished the waist was a little more fitted. Material was very soft. I was a bit afraid that the color would look too bright and obnoxious from what I saw in some of the pictures, but in person it was a great color. Overall a great, comfortable dress to dance in at a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 28, 2015
I felt elegant in the dress.
I chose this dress as a back up and I absolutely loved it. I loved the pockets. They were big enough to fit a bottle of water. As all other reviews have said I needed help with the zipper right as it reached the middle of the back. There is no give in the dress. Overall I loved it and I wish I would have taken a picture in it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2015
Gorgeous dress for curvy girls.
This was great for a large bust, and small waist. I was able to go down a size because of the style. I wore my own bra with it. I had lots of compliments on this dress. The fabric is very pretty in person. The only con was that bra showed in the armholes a little, this is common being a petite when the dress is not. But it wasn't bad enough that I felt self conscious.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 28, 2015
The color was PERFECT for the fall!
The fit was awesome, I'm glad I went with the 0 for my backup - I'm 5'2, 120lbs - normally I'm a 2/4 but the other reviews made me get the 0 for my backup and the dress fit perfectly... the only downside was the length - but I was expecting that, I have to get everything shortened - as long as you're in heals tho, the length wasnt that much of an issue.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×