Oscar Wild Dinner Dress

$55 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Channel Victorian elegance in this jacquard style by Yoana Baraschi. A pretty and ultra flattering option for the rehearsal dinner! Accessorize with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple Jacquard (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
280 reviews
Fit
Large114
True to Size128
Small6
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2015
Great berry color. Very comfortable. A little poofy in the front for me but still flattering.
It has pockets. Never used them, but they are there.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 2, 2015
This dress was perfect for the "Mad Men" classic look that I was going for!
I am pretty busty and was therefore showing a fair amount of cleavage. But the overall fit was very flattering and comfortable! Yay for pockets! Would definitely rent again, I got a ton of compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 1, 2015
Beautiful dress for any occasion
I rented this dress for a wedding but it would be great for anything (date, cocktail party, work). The fabric is thick and sits really well. It is just a really elegant dress that I will rent again. I would have worn the 8 as it fit perfectly but the front was ripped so I ended up wearing the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2015
This dress is stunning! Absolutely perfect for a fall wedding!
The color looks red-ish online but in real life its darker red like a maroon with a black background. It was such a beautiful dress! I clearly haven't bought a dress in a long time and the 12 was a little snug but it worked out. I have a bigger bust so it was snug there mostly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 26, 2015
Fun, colorful dress for a Fall wedding!
This dress was beautiful, fun, and easy to wear! It felt looser around the ribcage when I wore a smaller bra, but with a more padded bra, it filled out the dress nicely. I ended up wearing the 4, but there was not much size difference compared to the 6. The dress has a subtle trumpet shape, which I did not realize, and was a little longer than I would have liked for my shorter frame. But overall, it was a great dress for a fall wedding. The color was a lot of fun and the loose skirt made it very comfortable to wear all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
October 26, 2015
Loved the dress!
It was beautiful! Fit perfect, was actually a little big, but I had a stomach flu that week and may have dropped a size. I just loved this dress, was so happy I got it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
October 25, 2015
This is perfect for a wedding! It's great for dancing!
The dress does run a bit big. I generally wear a 4 or a 6 and the 4 was SLIGHTLY big but the 2 may have been a little tight. I love love love the dress but the only, SMALL downfall (and I seriously mean only) was that it doesn't have the stay straps for bra straps. Wasn't a huge deal but it would have been nice to have.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2015
Great color!
It was adorable -- so many compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
October 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a "black-tie optional" event in Manhattan. It was perfect. So comfortable.
I ordered a 6 since that's my usual size and it was pretty loose on me. I wore it anyway and thought it looked good, but would have looked better if it was a 4. Loved the fabric weight, length and pockets! Easy to wear and accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 14, 2015
This dress was perfect! I received so many compliments and it was very comfortable!
I am an event producer and wore this for a large gala fundraiser I produced. It was different enough from the standard "little black dress" but not too flashy. I loved that it had pockets for my phone and it was soooo comfortable. I almost always wear a size 8 but the 6 fit me perfectly (even with size D cup breasts!), so definitely order down 1 size. The necklace is also from RTR and really made the dress look more formal.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 11, 2015
Beautiful, comfortable dress for a wedding!
This dress was extremely comfortable. I wore the dress for hours on end and never felt uncomfortable. Got so many compliments at the wedding I attended. I am typically a size in 8 most dresses and the 8 fit perfectly. It was a little tight across the chest (size 32DDD) but only when sitting. If I could own this dress I would! Definitely would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
October 9, 2015
Comfortable and flowy
I loved the fit of this dress! It was true to size, didn't even have to try on my backup. I loved that I was able to wear a regular bra. The strap peeked out a few times in the back but I could've easily put tape on it to keep it in place, but I just tucked it in. I wasn't uncomfortable after dinner or dancing - it was totally comfortable. The color and pattern was great as well, just different enough to not be another black dress at a wedding, but not too crazy. I found myself using the pockets quite a bit too! Overall great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2015
Loved the pockets! Great fabric, beautiful in both high and low light.
Fit was perfect in the smaller size I chose. Great reviews on here to provide perspective. The fabric was beautiful, and I got tons of compliments on the neckline and cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
October 8, 2015
Nice rich berry hue
This dress is more purple in real life than in the picture. The fabric is silky and has a bit of a sheen to it. I wore it to a friend's wedding in the early fall. The dress is easy to accessorize. It hit a bit past the knee, but the skirt is full and flares out. I am a bit large on top, so the extra volume on the bottom was a good thing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2015
Beautiful pattern and color
I got a 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. It was still loose in the bust and waist and the length was just below the knees. I should've gotten a 0 but somehow I feel it would've been hard to breathe in a size 0. I do have a pretty long torso compared to most people so that could be the cause of the less than stellar fit. I LOVE that this dress has DEEP pockets! My keys went in without pulling the dress down or messing with the shape, it was great! There's a very slight high/low hem on the skirt which is cute. The little cut out in the back is just the right size and placement to allow you to wear a normal bra. And the purple is so much more vibrant than the picture shows, really gorgeous in the sunlight. I would totally rent this again, probably in a size 0 for a better fit :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2015
Loved this dress. The color is spectacular, the fit is extremely flattering. And: POCKETS!
The dress fits incredibly and, though I'm bigger in the chest (34D), the 6 fit very well. It was tight in the rib cage, but the overall fit was very flattering. I feel going up a size would have made it too long. It's lightweight, but the fabric looks heavier and makes the dress look more formal than it feels. The color is even better in person and several people used the word "stunning" - talking about the dress, not me :) The fit is great and the pockets are fantastic. I was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
October 4, 2015
Launching a new product for work
The dress was super cute and has pockets! The only problem was the 4 was a little big for me in the waist. I was able to solve it by adding a thin belt around the waist and it still looked super cute and comfy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
September 30, 2015
Beautiful rich color and a comfortable fit.
Ran a size larger than I expected. The bust fit nicely but the waist was a little loose, wished the waist was a little more fitted. Material was very soft. I was a bit afraid that the color would look too bright and obnoxious from what I saw in some of the pictures, but in person it was a great color. Overall a great, comfortable dress to dance in at a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
September 28, 2015
I felt elegant in the dress.
I chose this dress as a back up and I absolutely loved it. I loved the pockets. They were big enough to fit a bottle of water. As all other reviews have said I needed help with the zipper right as it reached the middle of the back. There is no give in the dress. Overall I loved it and I wish I would have taken a picture in it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2015
Gorgeous dress for curvy girls.
This was great for a large bust, and small waist. I was able to go down a size because of the style. I wore my own bra with it. I had lots of compliments on this dress. The fabric is very pretty in person. The only con was that bra showed in the armholes a little, this is common being a petite when the dress is not. But it wasn't bad enough that I felt self conscious.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 28, 2015
The color was PERFECT for the fall!
The fit was awesome, I'm glad I went with the 0 for my backup - I'm 5'2, 120lbs - normally I'm a 2/4 but the other reviews made me get the 0 for my backup and the dress fit perfectly... the only downside was the length - but I was expecting that, I have to get everything shortened - as long as you're in heals tho, the length wasnt that much of an issue.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
September 27, 2015
The dress was great for a wedding reception! Classy and easy to wear! Pockets are an extra plus
I got a ton of compliments on this dress. The fit around the ribcage is tight, so if you have a broad ribcage, definitely account for that. The fit was wonderful, but I did go down one size compared to the 4 I am used to. The stitching cinches above the waist, so if you have a small waist and a small bust, think about a smaller size. Easy to wear with a regular bra which is always a plus! Simple and elegant.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2015
Super fun and easy to wear
This was my first Rent The Runway experience and I will definitely be using them again. I fell in love with the color of this dress and it was the perfect color for a fall wedding. After reading the reviews I decided to size down and I'm glad I did. I ended up wearing the smaller size and it was still a little too big but it worked. Thank you RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2015
Beautiful dress in a very luxurious fabric color. Perfect for a fall wedding!
This dress runs large - definitely pick a size based on your upper body. I am usually a 6, ordered the 6 and 4. I wore the 4, but could have probably worn the 2 as I had about 3 inches in the waist area. Very comfortable and the larger skirt makes it very fun. I'll rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 6, 2015
Wore it out on the town in Vegas!
Beautiful dress in a fantastic color. I ended up wearing the larger of the two I rented and it was still tight on my bust and way too big on the bottom. The flare skirt made it ok, though. The pockets are awesome, too.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 43
August 27, 2015
Elegant dress!
True to size as the 6 was a perfect fit for me (8 was too big). I loved the heavier weight of the fabric. Very elegant and I loved the Purple/Plum color. I wore this to a Fundraising dinner/concert event for our city's Symphony Orchestra's 85th Anniversary.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2015
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner, but ended up wearing it to the wedding! So fabulous!
This dress fit nicely. I did not have space for a bra, but the fabric is supportive and it really wasn't necessary. The pockets are a welcome addition and the color was stunning! I wore it with pearls and felt like a "Stepford Wife", it was perfect :)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
August 24, 2015
Beautiful fabric, ok fit
The dress was really gorgeous, but the fit was just ok. I'm really tall (5'11"), and the waist just didn't hit at the right spot to be super flattering. I tried a belt, but that didn't help give enough definition at the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
August 19, 2015
Overall comfortable and fit well
The dress fit quite well. It was slightly snug in the bodice but still good. The only thing that I didn't love was that the front gathers and "poofs" a bit but it works great if you are hiding any extra weight in the stomach area! The pockets were fantastic and it was great that you can wear a regular bra. The color is much more plum than the pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2015
Fun wedding!
This dress flares out at the waist so if you're a pear shape, order more for your upper body. I was an 8 without shapewear but ended up wearing the 6 with since it fit my upper body better. It was a wee bit uncomfortable around my ribcage but not enough to go up a size. There is virtually no stretch. It doesn't have those snaps to hold your bra straps in place which is unfortunate. You can wear a bra though. The dress stopped at my knees and due to the flare, hid them a bit which I liked. I added the belt for a little more definition to my waist. The fabric was beautiful...very rich feeling but the color was more purple than burgundy but still lovely. I wore it in August but I think it'd be perfect for a fall wedding. Although the dress is a v-neck, I felt very well covered. The arm holes are a good size and don't show undergarments. Really lovely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2015
Loved the color and the pockets!!
It runs pretty close to size, but I have a really broad rib cage., so I wore the 8. Still felt really pretty and I Loved the pockets!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
August 3, 2015
Lovely color
The dress was a great length and level of formality for a cocktail party rehearsal dinner at an upscale country club. However, the stitching on the bodice had puckered from over wearing I think and in general it was a bit tight around the chest (i have a small bust but a big rib cage) so it pulled a bit. Overall, I thought it was great and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
July 31, 2015
Classy dress for any evening occasion- a little more purple than what appears online
This was a replacement dress for a dress that did not fit. The dress came in perfect condition and the color of it more of a purple than the wine that shows online. It seems to run larger, so size down for your back up,
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
July 23, 2015
This cocktail party was in midtown Manhattan on a beautiful summer evening. It was gorgeous!
This dress fits true to size. I normally wear a 6, but felt the 8 gave me a bit more wiggle room. The bodice is absolutely breathtaking. The color is exquisite. It's a bit more purpley-pink than the wine color pictured online. My only criticism is the folds of the front of the dress give it a bit of a poofy look. If you're trying to hide a belly, that works, but it can also give the appearance of trying to hide a baby bump (which I was NOT).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 15, 2015
Perfect winter dress!
This dress was the perfect color for a winter wedding and fit perfectly! I wish I didn't have to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
July 13, 2015
Loved this dress!
The fit is definitely large even for big chested women. I got this as an emergency overnight after the zipper was broken on my other dress and was so happy I chose this dress! It was gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
July 12, 2015
Loved the dress
True to size, very comfortable has pockets which are handy. #rtr #renttherunway
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 7, 2015
Love the pockets and the back! I received many compliments on this dress.
The size 10 I received was a better length but the 12 was more comfortable up top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 2, 2015
Loved this dress :)
This was my favorite dress that I've rented thus far! I received so many compliments :) It was so comfortable and was very flattering, I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2015
I wore this dress to my sister in law's wedding last fall and got so many compliments! Love!
It ran a little small in the bust/armpit area. The fabric isn't very forgiving so if you have wider shoulders or a larger bust, beware. Also the color was a lot more plum in person, it comes off maroon-ish in the photos.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×