Vera Wang

Sun Goddess Sheath

$40 rental
$1,195 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention when you walk into the room wearing this gold Vera Wang embroidered dress! Pair with the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Golden rod embroidered jacquard (74% polyester, 20% silk, 6% Acrylic). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 41” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
94 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(61)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 13, 2013
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Showstopping dress!
This dress is drop dead gorgeous in person. It is a darker gold color (not yellow) with a beautiful sheen and luminous quality in the fabric. I wore this dress to a black tie sit-down dinner for my work. It was perfect for the event because it is a more conservative dress (no low neckline or bra straps showing and it hit right at/below my knee...I'm about 5'6). It was fitted through the hips and looser in the waist, a standard sheath dress. I can't stop raving about the color and the fit and feel...it was just to die for. I've rented 4 dresses from RTR now and have loved all of them, but this was by the far the hardest one to send back. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2 (my usual size). People still haven't stopped complimenting me about the dress and it's a week later!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, fit right in at an Indian wedding.
I wanted to wear something bright and a bit fancy for an Indian wedding that I was attending, and this fit in beautifully with all of the colorful saris/beading. I got a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks. The brocade is beautiful and very forgiving on the figure. The lines of the dress are amazing, and it fit to a T, although I could see this being a bit long on shorter individuals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 4, 2013
Detailed dress
The detail was beautiful but I didn't like the feel of the fabric, the dress wasn't comfortable to me perhaps because it's not lined...which was surprising. I wanted to love it. It was also a bit too tight around my enormous hips.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 16, 2013
Love this dress! Lots of compliments.Color is amazing! Can't wait to rent again!
This dress fit like a glove. Not a lot of stretch in the dress but didn't mind. The detailing in the dress is fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2013
Great pattern but...
The pattern really makes the hips look blocky. The color is fun. It fit ok -- not my favorite however. I chose a different dress. This was the backup. Even though I read the reviews that said it wasn't lined, that still somehow surprised me. The lack of lining made it feel a bit cheap. Glad I saw it up close, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 4, 2013
Loved this dress. Classy, glamorous. Tons of compliments. Wish I owned it!
Looks slightly darker in person. LET'S GET DRESSED Size TOP SEARCHES Prom Dresses Black-tie Dresses Cocktail Attire Short Dresses Hervé Léger Bachelorette Party Liz, recommended for you based on styles you've recently viewed Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka David Meister Badgley Mischka Nicole Miller Badgley Mischka Nicole Miller Diane von Furstenberg Badgley Mischka Issa Nicole Miller ML Monique Lhuillier Nicole Miller Carmen Marc Valvo David Meister Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka David Meister Carmen Marc Valvo Nicole Miller Badgley Mischka Nicole Miller Halston Heritage Carmen Marc Valvo Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Carlos Miele Rent the Runway revolutionizes fashion for the way you live TAKE BACK YOUR WEEKENDS Spend your time living instead of shopping thanks to door-to-door delivery, a free second size and easy returns. PLAY DESIGNER DRESS-UP Our closet boasts over 50,000 dresses and accessories. Play up your personal style or try out a new trend--who do you want to be today? SPEND SMART, STAY STYLISH Feel confident in an of-the-moment dress that's designer, not disposable. At 90% off retail, you can rent a new look for every occasion! What we're loving now... RENT THE DRESS. OWN YOUR STYLE. Get inspired by customer photos on Our Runway Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » ABOUT CAREERS CONTACT US GIFT CARDS PRESS BLOG FAQS HOW RTR WORKS NYC SHOWROOMAFFILIATES Designers | Designer Rentals | Accessory Rentals | Jewelry Rentals | Rent dresses for any occasion Privacy | Rental Agreement | Terms & Conditions | Made in NYC | ©2013 RENT THE RUNWAY. All Rights Reserved Overall Rating I
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 21, 2013
Corporate-friendly conservative yet fun and fashion-forward.
The subtle intricacy and color of this dress is stunning in person. I wore it to a law firm's party at MoMA and was looking for office attire that would outshine in a sea of black sheaths. A teeny bit of stretch to the fabric kept the wrinkles away but still held shape. Beautifully designed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
July 2, 2013
The dress was perfect for my grandmother's surprised 90th birthday!
My bust is smaller than my hips so the dress was a little snug around my mid section and a little loose at the bust, even with a padded bra. The only other negative was that there was a lining so it felt a little weird.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 201lbs
July 6, 2013
30th birthday at work. Work appropriate and gorgeous fit.
Simply amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 3, 2013
Gorgeous eye catching color
The dress is just as described. Hugged around the waist to give a nice shape but moved enough in the legs to move and dance comfortably. The color is unique and will definitely get you compliments. The only drawback for me was that my bracelets kept getting caught on the threaded embroidery. Because of this I would recommend to wear with statement earrings and let your wrists go bare...the dress is simple in fabric so you won't feel overdressed but stunning in detail so the jewelry is unnecessary anyway. Enjoy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
Very pretty!
The detail on the dress is really striking! I rented this dress and one other (a gorgeous black dress) figuring one of them would fit me for my event. I chose the black one only because this color is really attention-grabbing. I wasn't sure that with being on stage presenting AND wearing a bright "LOOK AT ME!!" color was the road to happiness for me personally. The dress fits beautifully, true to size. It isn't lined, though, which was a little weird (lack of lining was what cost it a star).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
November 18, 2013
Classy, yet saucy!
Fit was good, I went for the smaller size and I'm grateful I'm tall. If I was shorter I would have had to hem it. The detail was amazing and I received a lot of compliments. I think the color was great, but the dress worked well for a fun, classy affair. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 16, 2013
color stood out among the crowd!
Received lots of complements, its very unique and stood out compared to lots of black dresses (winter time). Good for someone with hips and a bust. I normally wear a 10 but they were out but an 8 worked out but a little tight on top. Very comfortable. Great color!
yolandaJuly 25, 2014
you really looked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 14, 2013
I wore this fab dress for my college graduation. I got tons of compliments & felt really good in it
Fits nice.
ElizabethOctober 27, 2014
Congrats!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
July 6, 2013
I love this dress, it was so classy and beautiful
Fits true to size. Love the details.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2013
Stand out holiday dress
I wore this to my husband's holiday party and it was a knock out. I stood out in a room of red and black dresses but looked the part. The golden color is great for blondes and the sheath shape will accentuate an hour glass figure in the right way. This is not super bump friendly but spanx can solve that!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2014
I felt spectacular in this dress. I got so many compliments!
The fit was flattering yet it was neither tight nor snug so it was exceptionally comfortable to wear!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
February 7, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress is stunning in person. It's a bit pricey to rent, but the dress I had picked out was damaged and I went with this as a backup. I am thrilled I did. The color and pattern are just stunning. I got so many compliments. It's very lux looking. The only weird thing about the dress is that there isn't a lining, but the fabric is soft and not stiff so it looked fine. It is also a bit larger on the bottom, but I am a little top heavy so that happens with most dresses. I was sad to have to send it back since it was so pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190lbs
February 9, 2014
Wonderfully luxe
I wore this to a work holiday party and it was a huge hit. I felt very comfortable in it, fit was great, the detail and richness of the fabric really made it special, while still being an appropriate dress for a work function. I got a ton of compliments and I would seriously consider renting again in the future.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 10, 2014
This dress stood out the most at this event!
I wore this dress to a charity event. It was stunning and I got so many compliments on it! I probably could have gone a size down but the reviews from previous renters said it ran a little tight in the hips and I was worried they wouldn't fit so I ordered a size up and my back up size was 2 up. However, it was still gorgeous and looked good on my body type. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 3, 2014
GORGEOUS DRESS
Black Tie Birthday Party, rented two dresses and picked the Gold to wear to the event. What a hit! The dress was a standout in a crowd of black dresses. Compliments all night, long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2014
This is my mom! Gorgeous
My mom is 5'7". Pear shaped. Wore it to my brothers wedding. Looked incredible on her. She could have had it taken in up top but still looked amazing and received so many compliments. Someone who is proportionate top and bottom(more hourglass) would look amazing in this. It does have some stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 1, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
Didn't think I would like it, it's not in a color I usually get but it is a stunning dress. I wish I owned this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2014
When I grow up I want to be: sophisticated & sexy.
Wore to a catholic wedding in California - completely "appropriate" without feeling doudy - sophisticated yet sexy, generated dozens of compliments, perfect balance. Also, I'm tall - length was perfect, great success. Would wear many times over.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 3, 2014
Stunning dress--stood out
I wore this dress on my Thirtieth birthday to a restaurant frequented by many beautiful people and celebrities and still managed to get a ton of compliments! The dress had great structure, came in at the waist very flatteringly and the fabric was amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
November 25, 2012
Love, love, love this dress
Gorgeous fabric, perfect fit. I wore it to my 34th anniversary dinner, and my husband loved it! This was my favorite RTR, and I really didn't want to send it back. It is long, below my knee because I am not tall, but with high platform shoes it worked perfectly. Vera Wang sizes her dresses generously, so not tight at all. Recommend it highly!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 9, 2014
I rented this dress for my moms surprise birthday party. She look beautiful in the dress!!!
The dress was a little big due to a smaller dress wasn't available ...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2014
Great color
Good fit
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2014
So easy! And affordable for the dress I ordered!
Pros: dress photographed phenomenally, fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I received so many compliments! Cons: rode up just a bit when walking. Otherwise just a beautiful dress perfect for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
July 14, 2014
The pattern and color of the dress were a great fit for the evening wedding that I attended.
I ordered a size 4, which fit perfectly. I was a bit nervous about the dress not being able to zip past my chest but it did! Im very happy I chose that size. The fabric was a good medium between thin and thick. The dress didn't make me too hot and it felt great on. My only con, if I must give one, is that the dress had small fuzz balls. They weren't concerning or noticeable in any way. I received many compliments throughout the evening. Great dress!
KelseyJuly 22, 2014
You look better than the model on the site! Gorgeous fit and color on you!
TraceySeptember 6, 2014
Thank you, Kelsey! : )
NehaSeptember 16, 2014
Stunning!
LeeAnn October 5, 2014
This dress looks amazing on you.
SerenaOctober 15, 2014
You really make this dress! Agree with Kelsey you look better then the model.
TreyOctober 17, 2014
Thank you, ladies!
NeeceNovember 3, 2014
Amazing! - Does it have stretch?
TreyNovember 5, 2014
Thank you! Yes, it has a little bit of stretch.
RTR CustomerNovember 6, 2014
You look great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2014
I felt very beautiful in this dress. Against my dark skin tone it was beautiful.
Beautiful dress. I received lots of compliments. The only Con was the top runs a little big. It fit perfectly int the hips but a bit loose on the top. It may just be my body shape. However, it was definitely a beautiful dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 29, 2014
LOVE THIS SO MUCH!
Great birthday dress - I absolutely loved the fit. Made me feel regal!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Dramatic. Perfect for my Gastby-themed event.
The fabric was a bit worn, but the fit was still good and the pilling wasn't visible at a distance. All in all, loved this dress and loved that it was different from what everyone else wore.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress that's super comfortable!
Loved the dress, it is obviously a very high quality and looks super detailed and extravagant. The material is very comfortable and soft. The dress was a tiny bit big for me but it allowed me to move great. It was also a little longer than I expected but it paired great with heels. It's a beautiful dress and I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
Simple enough to not be flashy, but special enough to be noticed.
Fits quite well. It was a little loose in the waist and tight on the butt, but that is just my body type. It was still very flattering and comfortable. Not restrictive. Modest just sexy. It's a really special dress but not so fancy or elaborate that you stand out too much. It's a lightweight but luxurious fabric with a little stretch. I'm very pleased - felt sexy and special in it but didn't stand out too much at a small wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
March 30, 2015
First holiday party at my new job
Very unique dress that stood out while being appropriate cut for a work event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2015
Prettier in Person
This was my backup size, size 6 was my first choice. It was a bit too large, so I think the 6 would've been just right. The color is deeper in person, richer looking. The fabric was nice, a little worn, but I think this has been a popular style for RtR. I plan to wear this to church on Easter, and it will be great for that. I am 5'7" and it hits just at my knees.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2015
The raised geometric design on the dress makes it pop in person.
Great dress for an evening wedding. It's made of thick material that is still flexible enough for you to walk freely. Received many compliments. I usually wear a size 10 but the 8 was the only size available. The size 8 fit just right.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 12, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress.
I LOVE this dress. I am a tall woman with some curves, and this supported everything in all the right places. I don't usually go for "bold" dresses, but I felt this was still classy, but made me feel special.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 2, 2015
It fit comfortably, not to tight and not too loose. The fabric was lighted than expected- it worked
Pros: Fit, size, pattern overall look Cons: Fabric- softer than imaged and the color is darker than in the picture
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×