Back in Action Romper

$65 to buy
$300 retail
Stylist Notes

Walk in confidence wearing this insanely sexy Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent ruffle romper. Great to style with rocking stilettos, a fierce smile, and kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frog Clutch.

Size & Fit

This romper runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with elastic waistband
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline. Cold shoulder with ruffle sleeve. Cuffed shorts. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
219 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(146)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
Fun Fun Fun

I rented this for a bachelorette weekend in Palm Springs. This romper was unbelievably comfy! It ran a little large but that probably contributed to how comfortable it was. I am pretty proportionate in my torso and legs and didn't find that this "rode up" too much. Loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with this. My only complaint is that it was a hassle to use the restroom yanking this entire outfit on and off! I definitely recommend this outfit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2014
Received lots of compliments while wearing it in NYC.

The XS fit pretty well but probably could have been a little smaller. You definitely need to use fashion tape, as the front gaps open and exposes a lot of bra. Luckily, I had some tape from a past rental, though it would be nice if they included it with this particular rental. The fabric is nice and light, making it ideal for a summer event. The style creates a slimming silhouette, and I loved the high waist on it because it makes legs look longer. I didn't think it was too awful to remove for going to the bathroom, but I am also a frequent romper-wearer. I think this one is best suited for hourglass, athletic, or straight and narrow figures.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
June 12, 2014
Loved it, but hard to wear.

I loved this romper for my Mexico vacation but they were out of the small so I got the medium. It was too big and had to be fashion taped all over the top. No one could tell it was big but I would have been hanging out of it if it wasn't taped b/c the v neck came down way too low. B/c of the tape I couldn't really go to the bathroom b/c I was unsticking the tape every time to pull it down. Not at all practical. Maybe if I had the small I wouldn't have had to do that and this wouldn't have been an issue. It looked great and I got a lot of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 1, 2014
Too big, probably because I ordered the large

I ordered this last-minute for a bachelorette party. All that was left was the size large. I'm usually a size 8, so I thought it could fit, though I usually go for size mediums when given the chance. It was far, far too big. Especially in the top. My shoulders are pretty broad, my chest is average, and I was totally swimming in it. Now, like I said, I probably should have worn the medium, and that may have worked had it been available. Very cute in theory, just not the right fit for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2014
Eh

I didn't end up wearing this. It was INCREDIBLY comfortable, but the material was worn and it largely looked like a casual romper. That would have been fine, but the sleeves and neckline were very formal...it was just confusing and didn't make sense for any event.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 19, 2014
Dress it up or down! Comfy, flattering and ADORABLE! Runs a big large.

This romper is SO cute and super flattering. Unfortunately, plans fell through so I didn't get to wear it but I did make a point to try it on so I could review it. Runs a little big. I usually wear either a size 12 or 14 in dresses...more 12s than 14s lately, so I ordered the M and the L. The M fit perfectly and when I rent it again to actually wear it, that's the size I'll get.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
April 28, 2015
SO Much fun! Perfect summer vacation outfit!

I LOVED this outfit! It was so comfortable and stylish, the perfect outfit for our mini-moon. I think it runs a little large, and had to pin the chest to my bra to make sure it wouldn't fly open, but other than that, awesome outfit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34H
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
March 18, 2016
Runs really large, especially in waist

I am usually a solid 10 in pants. I can sometimes fit in 8 or 12s, it depends on the designer. For this reason I usually order a large. This jumpsuit ran really big. The waist was huge, I could have easily worn a medium and probably could have squeezed into a small. It seems cute overall but it was hard to judge due to the size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
July 15, 2015
Really cute!

I wasn't sure about this, because I was nervous about a jumper. It is really cute but very large in the top. I am a 36D and had trouble keeping this thing on.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
April 12, 2016
Wore this for a girls weekend in Vegas

I usually wear a medium but the only size available was a small. Took a chance based on the reviews and it fit perfectly. Also, based on the reviews, used double sided tape to keep the top in place. Very comfortable and was able to dance the night away without the top coming loose. The only drawback was that you have to undo everything when going to the restroom. The item arrived on time but had a weird odor. Since I was leaving the early the next morning, I aired it out and packed it right before heading to the airport. Everything was perfect and will be using RTR again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 20, 2012
felt confident

I wore this to my friend's bachelorette party and really liked it. Although the top was a bit low and I was a bit worried about popping out...it didn't bother me. I think a small would have been better for me. I normally wear a 6. I still felt comfortable and I felt great. I got tons of compliments! I'm tall and have long legs and I did not feel like it was too short.I didn't wear any jewlery besides earrings. The outfit spoke for itself.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 28, 2012
This outfit was great to wear to bring in my 21st birthday. It was super sexy and super fierce.

The fit was a tad bit large. I spent the night readjusting the way it fit on my body. Although a few pieces of fashion tape could have easily fixed that had I had the time to run out and get some. Other than the sizing issues this romper was ah-mazing! It was slightly revealing but it was tactful and classy. It exposed just the perfect amount of skin without showing all the goodies. It was a super fun outfit and made my night tons of fun as well. Such a great pick!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 2, 2014
Dress it up or dress it down!

I was very excited about this romper because the design accentuates the 3 things I love about my body: shoulders, chest, and legs. Unfortunately, the XS was still a little too big on me so I used Rent The Runway's hem tape to make it shorter and fashion tape to keep the top from sliding too far down. I wore a regular bra without any problem however, I would have gone bra-less had I not been attending a dance party. It's a pretty casual romper but I dressed it up with a chunky necklace and super high ankle strap wedges.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2012
Not good for tall girls

This romper looks so cute on the featured model, but it was horrendous on me. I got both the S and the XS, and both sizes made my hips look big due to the excess material gathered at the waist, and neither did a thing to flatter my body at all. The only thing I can think is that I'm too tall for this piece? (Didn't have camel-toe, but it was close.) It's a super cute, easy-to-wear piece... if it looks good on you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 26, 2012
LOVE IT!

Wore on my 30th Birthday Vacation with the hubby! I loved it and would totally wear again. Choose the M since it fit better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
May 9, 2013
Eh

I rented this romper for a vegas trip and it was just okay. It didn't flatter my shape much so I added a belt to accentuate my waiste, but it was still baggy. I'm pretty curvy so this style made me feel larger than I actually am, Maybe the XS would have fit better. It's very casual and cute, but I wouldn't rent this again.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2014
This romper was cute, but maybe not ideal for my body type

The Medium was a little too big, and the small was a little too small. I went with the medium and was comfortable throughout the night, but would have appreciated a petite size, if that's even possible!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
January 15, 2015
Fun, but ill-fitting.

I wore this for a bachelorette party and really wish the small had just had a little bit of a longer torso on it. I had to wear the medium, and it was too big. I wouldn't have worn it at all but I had traveled to go to the party and my backup dress was just too casual for the occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
August 10, 2012
cute just wrong cut for me

this was sent back unfortunately. it was very short waisted, both XS & S. I couldn't lift my arms & the S was too baggy elsewhere. RTR rocks with CSRVC & got me an alternate outfit in time for the show.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2012
Cute romper

Thought I could rock the romper style for a trip to Miami but just not flattering on me (very curvy hips/fairly curvy bust). Would look awesome on a straighter figure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 24, 2013
If you have a short torso, this is not for you

I loved this jumper, but the when I put it on, the waist has a thick elastic band which pulled the rise of the shorts up due to my short waist and it was not flattering at all. I am sure it would work beautifully for a taller girl, but for me it just did not work.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
August 5, 2013
I hated this garment!!

I rented this garment for a wonderful anniversary weekend. I received the garment the day before we were to leave and all i can say is that the quality of this frock is not even one step above Wal Mart. The fabric was cheap, and cheap looking. If you insist on renting this, make sure to also rent a nice belt to cover up the cheap looking eleastic waistband (that really does not show up in the photos on the RTR site. I tried it on thinking maybe it would'nt look so bad and I was wrong. Hoochie all the way. In a panic, I ran to Kohl's the morning we were to leave and found an AWESOME dress that looked like a million bucks, and it was on clearance for less than the rental cost of this nightmare. The accessories that I rented were all gorgeous and I will be renting accessories for RTR again, but I will be very leary when considering renting a garment from anything other than a top name designer.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2013
Not cut for a fuller-legged body shape.

The shorts were tighter than I anticipated even after reading the reviews by previous renters with the same body shape.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
July 23, 2014
Was not able to wear, upset because I felt it would have fit my personality well and my night!

Wanted to wear this outfit for my bachelorette party. The outfit fit me size wise but for my height it don't not fit my torso correctly, felt like the outfit would ride up the entire night. So I decided to wear it. If you are 5'6 are taller with a long torso, I don't recommend this outfit for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2014
Felt like a superstar

It's a little difficult to navigate going to the bathroom in this romper and a little bit of fashion tape will help keep the girls covered but that's the only downside. I rented this for a girls night out bachelorette dinner. I loved it just The right amount of sexy and fun. Got a ton of compliments to from both men and women

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 11, 2014
I rocked this...

I wore this for my bachelorette party and I was unable to order a backup size. I'm 5'7" with long legs so I was hoping the Small would be just fine. It was a teensy bit short in the body but with the proper accessories this outfit came together nicely. I know a few photos were taken but I haven't seen any as of yet.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 22, 2012
The perfect outfit to dance the night away.

I wore this romper for my best friend's bachelorette party - the bride wore white and all of the other girls wore black. Given that I ALWAYS wear LBD's anyway, I wanted to switch it up and went for the romper. It was definitely a hit. Stylish, sexy and classy - a hard combo to hit, but this dress does it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2013
Gifting Suites & Lounges for the Golden Globes

I feel the product is amazing!!! However for my body type it didn't work as well as it could have. I have broad shoulders compared to the rest of my body and the cut outs on the shoulders really emphasized that fact.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 30, 2012
so cute.. but wayyy too short!

I ordered this to wear to a party and ended up having to return it. I'm 5'10, but have a short torso so i thought it would work, definitely did not! I was bummed to not be able to wear it because i thought it was so cute! I usually wear an XS or S, but the small wasn't available, so i just ordered the xs, I'm not sure if the small would have made a difference?? ..It wasn't the shorts part of it that were too short, it was the torso part, so if you have a long torso, i wouldn't recommend this one! They were great about the return and giving me a credit so i can order something else!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2013
Runs VERY short in the torso.

I'm 5'7" and usually wear a 0. Both the XS and S were too short in the crotch; I couldn't fit the shoulderstrap over my shoulder without the crotch cutting me in half. I couldnt wear either size :(. It would've been lovely!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2013
the medium was too small and large was too big

I rented both the medium was too small and large was too big. unable to wear both

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
November 29, 2013
The fit was fantastic and the romper was just a cool look.

It was a tight fit, but not uncomfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 17, 2017
Perfect for a night out.

Definitely a cute change from the normal LBD. I would be a little careful if you have a long torso though. May run a bit short, however I may have been too tall for the XS.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
April 29, 2012
When I walked into event, almost everyone there gasp and said I looked beautiful! I really did feel beautiful!

I wore this dress for my Golden Birthday party! I felt comfortable and absolutely beautiful! I wear 4-5 and the small fit perfect! Mind you I have thick thighs and there was still enough room in the thigh area. It was perfect!

JNApril 29, 2012
So..... Did you go with the red heels or the black?
VanessaApril 29, 2012
Black... :0)
VanessaApril 29, 2012
Gold and black took two pairs with... Lol
NicoleApril 29, 2012
Do you think you could have gotten away with an extra small?
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2012
Ok....not thrilled

After reading the reviews I rented this outfit in an XS. The top would definitely have to be pinned or used with tape as the entire front was basically open. Didn't fit at all on top and I am fairly large chested (34D) Didn't even wear it. I returned right away.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2012
Everyone complimented my look

This romper was great for a night on the town. With some heels and a necklace this outfit is hot without being overly revealing. The chest area is rather loose, but it might be better on a bustier girl- I just safety pinned it so I didn't show too much skin. Another bonus this romper is that it is super comfortable and great for dancing because you don't have to worry about it being too short or riding up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
hot.

This romper was perfect for a bachelorette party. I paired it with nude caged sandals with gold hardware. The double sided tape is totally necessary if you're someone who will keep trying to adjust otherwise (like me).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 4, 2012
happy MOH

wore this for my best friend's bachelorette party. it fit perfectly and i love how easy the process was. first RTR experience was fantastic, going back for more!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2012
I could "git low" with no worries while breaking it down dancing during my bachelorette party.

I rented the S and ended up wearing an XS. SUPER comfortable and cute. A little fashion tape is essential for the deep neckline.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2012
When everyone commented on how great I looked because of the romper!

This romper was really fun to wear! It was sexy yet really comfortable. Everyone loved it at the event that I went to!! Def recommend it!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×