Trina Turk

Zig Zag Sequin Shift

$55 to buy
$440 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Time to party in this sequin shift by Trina Turk. An easy fit and style for a night of fun. Great when paired with a statement necklace!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Multi color zig zag sequins(100% polyester). Boat neckline. Short sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(58)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2014
The dress was unique and sparkling in a sea of black smocks!
The fit ran a little large, but since I've gained a few pounds I went with the 6 instead of the 4. It was a great fit, comfortable and sexy--especially if you've got curves. I was slightly disappointed that the sequence didn't lay flat which made the dress look over worn--or beyond gently used. I got tons of compliments on the fit and the customer service was great as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2015
Great dress, until you sit down
First thing, this dress has a ton of green in it not silver as I thought. The dress is great until you need to sit down and all the sequins on your rear go every which way and feel like scales. It's interesting to wear for a dinner. Drinks and dancing only? It's perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2011
This dress definitely runs large. I ordered a 0 and it was pretty loose. Also, pretty long (I'm 5'5 and it came down to my knee). If you are short, you definitely have to wear heels with this dress. Didn't give me a ton of shape, but still a very pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 13, 2011
Unflattering
The color and length were great. It made me look like a linebacker across my chest -- it was really not flattering. I'm sure if you have narrow shoulders / are super thin it looks great, but I felt so ugly in it that I didn't wear it. My bf rarely says anything about my clothes and said this looked like a burlap sack. So sad because great potential!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2011
Got so many compliments on this comfy shift at November wedding.
I wore this dress to a late fall wedding and received tons of complements. This dress does run large. I am usually a 4 and sometime a 6, but wore a 2 in this dress. I could have worn the 4, but it was very boxy. This dress is very loose fitting, but the sparkles make it so it's not frumpy. I didn't give it 5 stars because it is a bit long/boxy, but was still very pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 5, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this for New Years and I got a lot of compliments! I really liked it. Even with the high neckline, my boyfriend still liked it too :-) It runs pretty big - even the 0 (I usually wear a 0 or 2) was a little big. The length was good even though I'm short (5'3").
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2012
loved it!!
I wore this dress for a wedding on New Year's Eve and got SO many compliments!! I'm glad I read the reviews first because it helped me decide on my sizes. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and could've worn both. The 4 fit better in the length and from the front and the 6 fit better around the waist. Being 5'3, the 6 hit right at my knees which is what I liked better about the 4, because it was a little bit shorter. It does fit boxy, so that's when a smaller size looks better. I went with the 6 just to be totally comfortable. Great dress!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 26, 2012
great dress!
i loved this dress! the other reviews are correct...it does run large so i would suggest ordering a size down. i got lots of compliments and felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
January 27, 2012
Perfect for NYE!
This dress could look great on almost anyone. I consider my legs one of my biggest assets so it worked well for me. It does run slightly big. I am larger chested & had no problem wearing the 4. I danced all night long wearing this fun number on New Years Eve!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2012
Bump & All, Fit Great!
I am 5 months pregnant with a little bump, and this dress was PERFECT. Most people couldn't even tell I was pregnant, so if you are looking to hide anything in the middle, this dress was amazing. The sequins gave the dress some weight and shape, which made me feel more secure in it, given that I was nervous with the bump and all. I would wear this again and again if I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
March 7, 2012
Cute dress but huge!
This dress is pretty and not meant to be tight but it definitely runs large! I'm normally a 4, sometime a 2 in dresses so decided I should pick a 2 as other mentioned it runs large. Even the size 2 was too big and wish I had ordered a 0 as I didn't end up wearing this to my friend's rehearsal dinner. Thankfully I brought my own backup dress and wore it. Since I already paid for this, I decided to make this my "late night" dress for the party after the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 3, 2012
IF YOU'RE CURVY...FORGET IT!
I ordered this dress for a red carpet premiere in Atlanta and though I love the style it just wasn't the best pick for my shape. I am a complete hour glass with a video vixen figure, size 4 in the waist but my hips are curvy and a full size 8 on the derriere. The fact that this dress has a lining totally ruined it for me. The lining is tight and if you get a size up so you can fit the lining, it will cause the middle to bulge. This is a shift dress so to get the full effect you must be slinder. Curves or "thickness" would totally prevent this style from being a sucess. I would ony recommend this dress for the slender, the petite and the minimal curved individual.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 7, 2012
too big & boxy
I have a small frame and this dress was just too big and boxy for me. Just didn't look good at all. Ended up wearing my own dress to the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
August 14, 2012
Fun
I typically wear a size 10 due to being larger on top, but the 6fit perfectly. I had to wear my hair up with this dress as I have long hair that was getting caught and ripped out due to the sequins...the sequins also scrapped my arms up pretty bad (i was dancing a lot), so that made it a little uncomfortable. Overall though, it was a nice dress...something unique and fun and I did receive many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
August 17, 2012
Beautiful!
The dress is beautiful and very comfortable which is unusual with a formal dress. I would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
Too big
I'm 5'6", 115, and the smallest size of this dress was way too big/baggy on me. Such a bummer because it's a beautiful dress, however I did not end up wearing it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 23, 2012
Runs a little big
Loved this dress!! So comfortable. Was a little heavy with all the beading but nothing to worry about. Ran a little big, I ordered the 4 & 6 and wished I had gotten the 2. (I've never worn a 2 in my life) but the 4 was fine because the dress is a baggy fit anyway. Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
August 31, 2012
Looking for something unique?
This dress was so much fun to wear. First off: you can wear it with a normal bra: which is awesome for large girls like me. I was also so excited to be able to wear a size smaller than what I had planned. The fit was snug in the hips, fitted at the waist and loose at the top (like it's supposed to be), but, being so curvy, the tighter fit (the 10 as opposed to the 12) looked so much better on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 30, 2012
LOVE
I loved the way this dress fit. I am 5'3" and I ordered a 4 and a 2 for backup. Trina Turk runs a little on the long and big side for me, so I ended up going with the 2 for a Christmas Cocktail Party. It was still a little long so I threw on a metallic chain belt. I wore black platforms; I loved playing up on the retro design of the dress. Beautiful all year round. Super comfortable. Longer than average.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2012
Great dress and great fit for any body type! Loved it!
I wore this dress for my birthday party and it was great! It runs a little large so I ended up wearing the 0 (got a 2 for my extra size). I got so many compliments on this dress! Loved that it was super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 9, 2012
Sooo many compliments!
runs a little large, I usually wear a 6 and chose to wear the 4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 29, 2012
Did not wear this dress sent it back.
The top is huge, fit me okay in the hips. This dress is an odd fit and would be best to speak to a representative on the phone about the fit before you rent it. I a pretty symmetrically but I do have slightly larger hips then bust. This dress is best for someone with the opposite build, broad shoulders and bigger bust with full hips. I wear a 2 or sometimes a 4 depending on the clothes or dress. This was a 4 and it was huge.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Came on time and they make it so easy to return!
I loved the dress, but it did run very big and do not wear your hair down when you wear it. I took off 2 stars because my hair was down and constantly got stick in the sequins and really got stuck in the sequins. So definitely wear your hair up if you rent it and go down 1-2 sizes. It has a very boxy fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2013
Unique and got tons of compliments!
I thought that it would be better for the dress to be too big than too small, but found out it ran bigger than I would have liked. I still wore the dress and got lots of compliments, however! It was very unique and photographed well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2013
Cute dress that worked well for 7 months pregnant
This was my back-up dress that I ended up wearing for another event the same weekend. I only received one size and wish I had ordered a 4, as this felt a little too much like a sack in this size. The sequins and pattern are really pretty, though I wasn't crazy about the fact that prior cleanings of the dress caused the sequins to be flipped up in various locations. It was definitely bump-friendly and very comfortable and felt special for my night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 22, 2013
Nice dress, won't rent again
I usually wear between a 4 and a 6 but am more of a 6. I ended up going with the 4 with room to spare. In addition to being a little loose, this dress is on the longer side. I am 5'5" and it hit my knees. First RTR experience that I am not 100%+ satisfied with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 17, 2013
Wonderful dress
I didn't want to take this one off! I got loads of compliments and it was so fun and different! It is one of those dresses I would love to own!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
Great, comfortable fit!
This dress runs large but not in a bad way! Photographs well and hides body parts you may not love. Got tons of compliments. Needs little jewelry and the dress steals the show. Great earrings and a bracelet and your done! You will love this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
June 3, 2013
Runs big- great dress, but a few complaints
When "renting" the runway sequins may not be the best way to go. The size 4 was incredibly worn and picked. Luckily the size 2 fit better and was in better condition. The dress is gorgeous, but I was very disappointed with rent the runway sending me a very worn dress. I received so many compliments. The one I wore was stunning. Thank goodness the size 2 fit and not the size worn down 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
July 24, 2013
Cute dress, however was a bit big on me and much longer than what I expected.
I paired with gold jewelry and nude heels. This dress definitely was big on me and it almost hit my knee (I'm 5'7"). Even in a smaller size it would not have been my favorite dress that I've rented. I wore it to a friend's wedding.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
August 14, 2013
The compliments I received from the girls at the party.
The dress runs large and is much longer especially since I am only 5'1". You will definitely need the fabric tape that comes with the rental and/or pins. However I received a lot compliments on the dress as it was New Year's Eve. It doesn't need a lot of accessories because it is quite shiny. I would rent this dress again but remember that these models are tall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Great dress for charity event.
I got the 4 and the 2 and went with the 2. Lots of compliments! Goes great with nude or black pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
November 1, 2011
Great dress - fun, but toned down for sequins. It's very roomy and forgiving, but to retain any shape size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2014
It runs HUGE.
I went from one size 12 dress not zipping up the back to this dress that hung on me like a tent. It was literally 2 sizes too big. I need the 12 for my bust size, but it was huge in this area, too. I have narrow hips, and I pulled at least 14 inches worth of fabric away from the sides. I was very disappointed with the color and the condition of the sequins as well. The dark zig-zag is forest green, not black. And the sequins stuck straight on it spots making it look like someone had run their hand over the dress the wrong way. I didn't bother returning it for another size because it was a dumpy fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
The perfect amount of sparkle for NYE
I'm petite, so the dress was longer than I thought was most flattering. The colors also weren't quite what I expected. It was bigger than I expected, but the 10 wasn't available as an alternative. I still got several compliments from strangers, but I think I smaller size would've gotten 4 or 5 stars.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 24, 2014
Fun Sparkle for an evening to stand out
This is a fun and pretty dress. It does run extremely large. I went ahead and wore it, but it was too big. I would say that I could've gone 2 sizes down in it easily, had that been an option! It hit me at my knees, and I expected that because I am so short. It was very boxy though and did not show off any curves because it was just too big. It's a really fun dress, but if you're normally a 0 or 2 I would look for a different option
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 27, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments. Would def. rent again!
Very comfortable cut and fit. Covered problem areas nicely. The sequins took a bit of a number under the arms, but it was worth it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2014
Perfect dress for winter wedding!
This dress runs large so definitely chose a size down for your extra size. The sequins of the dress make it very shiny and pretty in pictures.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
The sequins were a mess and took some time to smooth them out. But loved the fit and style!
I wasn't sure if this would dress would work out because the sequins were a mess. But after taking some time to smooth it out it looked great. I could have worn the 8 or 6 but decided on the 6. I wore it for a nice wedding at a hotel in San Diego and I got a lot of compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2014
Fun dress to dance in
I usually wear a size 8 and based on renttherunway feedback I got a size smaller. The 6 was a bit large around the shoulders and fit just right at the mid section and the length of the dress hit right above my knee. You can tell the dress has seen the cleaners more than once. The sequence on the dress was a bit worn down and you have to look close up to see that. Overall I had allot of fun dancing in this dress, it was a very comfortable wear.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×