Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(270)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
Great dress for my bridal shower!
Beautiful dress, received many compliments. The color matches the model photo but definitely photographs as a brighter coral. The size 2 fit me perfectly even though I was worried it would be too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2014
Perfect!
I'm usually an 8, but due to reviews I rented the 6 instead. The backup 8 wasn't available so I rented another style too, but didn't even end up trying it on because the Trina Turk was perfect! I wore it to an evening wedding and accessorized with black, similarly to those pictured on the model. Tons of compliments, and in the heat, the light fabric was perfect. First experience with RTR and I was thoroughly impressed!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
July 25, 2014
This dress was perfect for my best friends wedding. I got many compliments on it. Very comfy
Fit great. Super comfy. Perfect for a wedding. Color was a beautiful coral pink.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2014
Loved the color and the scalloped hem line!
Dress was awesome! The color and the hem lines are absolutely beautiful in person. The 2 fit much better than the 4. This dress definitely runs a bit big. I have a bigger chest area and unless I was standing straight up the material hung a little loose around my chest making me look a little bigger than I really am and didn't compliment my figure as much as another style may have. This was just the style of the dress though and I still really loved it. I'm 5'4" and the dress was a good length, not too short or too long. On someone taller it might be a little short. The material was a little worn and I could tell it had probably been rented many times as some of the seams were a bit frayed. However this wasn't too noticeable. Overall great rental! I was pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 5, 2014
I received several compliments on my dress at a friend's baby shower!
The dress ran a bit big. (I'm a true 8, but fit perfectly into the 6). The dress is very comfortable and unique. It is short--I'm 5'5" and it was certainly mid-thigh or above. I recommend it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2015
Being told I looked like a model in this dress.
I normally wear a size 6, and probably could've worn a size 4. Loose in the top, and not too short. My arms were a little tight, but overall I LOVED this dress. I got numerous compliments on it, including having a woman tell me I looked better than the bride!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2012
Loved this dress so much I want to purchase it!!
I love love loved this dress!!! I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. I usually run about 4 to 6. I'm 5'9 140 lbs. It could have been a litttllleee longer, but I still felt great in it. My only complaint is that it didn't come with the belt pictured.
SSMAugust 31, 2012
I loved it so much I ended up buying it too! Trina Turk had a flash sale a couple weeks ago and it just happened to be on there :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2012
Great color, very comfortable
Great dress. Does run a little big in the waist, but because of the belt, it doesn't look frumpy. It's the perfect length for a girl my height but for a girl with super long legs, be wary.. it could be too short to move in :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
Loved the dress, great color, lots of compliments!
The dress runs large. I usually wear an 8 but the 6 fit well. I wore a nude belt and nude heels. I wore it to a late summer wedding. I definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2012
Delicate and feminine
I wore this dress for my 4 year anniversary with my boyfriend:) I paired it with the sapphire treasure chest necklace which actually worked beautifully. This dress's design is sewn on which makes it even cuter. I had several people (all women) stop me in stores, restaurants, a candy shop, and on the street. To tell me how beautiful the dress was! One gal stopped me in my tracks on my way to the bathroom and motioned with her hands from the top of my head to my feet saying "this is beautiful!" The dress runs large though. I might have even been able to size down..There was a little room in the shoulders but I did not mind. The length was flirty but classic cute as were the 3/4 length sleeves. Will rent again I am sure! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
March 18, 2013
unique color and style. stood out.
I wore this to a book signing, and while it was comfortable, it did need to be tugged down and repositioned every time I stood up or sat down. It was fairly short (and I'm only 5'3") and it didn't stay in place well. It ran a bit big, I ordered the 8 and 10, because I fall somewhere in between. The 8 fit really well, the 10 swam on me. The middle of the dress is unforgiving if you don't have some great ab's, though, lol. :) All in all, it was pretty and different and stood out in the crowd.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2013
A friend said she was going to try RTR just to rent this dress!
I wore this for my wedding rehearsal/rehearsal dinner. It was the exact color of my bridesmaids dresses, so it fit in well with the weekend theme. Everyone absolutely loved it - I got almost as many compliments on it as I did on my wedding gown the next day! I wore the 2 because I wanted a slimmer fit and was very happy in it. It was a little tight in the arms, but not bad at all. Gorgeous color, very flattering fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
April 29, 2014
Love the dress. Didn't love the holes in the armpit
Definitely runs on the large side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2014
Fun, Comfortable Dress
This dress is Beautiful. What I didn't think of was the dress being worn in. I could have worn a size 8 instead of a 10. No harm. Now I know. This was over all an amazing experience. I started with a 12, they shipped the smaller size overnight without me returning the other size. I got so many compliments on it. I wasn't sure if it would work at an October wedding, but I stood out in a great way!! I cant wait for the next opportunity to use RR again which looks like this November.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 2, 2012
Recruiting Event
This definitely runs large, but it's easy to hide since the ribbon tie at the waist allows you to cinch it in tightly and hold the dress up. I rented this for the RTR Capstone Weekend. Got a few compliments and loved the color/cut - perfect for a fun yet conservative event. Wore it with nude peep toe heels and an aqua chunky beaded necklace. I think it looks great with aqua/blue accessories! However, I think I'd rent a different designer next time to make sure the fit is perfect.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 18, 2012
LOVED IT!
I was really hesitant to rent something that I wouldn't know would fit or not, and had to get it the day before my event. However, this dress was perfect!! I actually got an 8, vs. my choice of a 10, and the 8 fit perfectly! I think the dress runs a little large. The sizing chart scared me into thinking a way bigger size than I did. I was SO happy with the dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 20, 2012
Great dress
Great dress. I have muscular arms and legs, broad shoulders, and a small waist. I was afraid the arms would no fir, but the 4 fit nicely. The only down side to this dress is if you like to shake it on the dance floor, it does show sweat.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2012
Wedding Rehersal
Loved the color and fit. It was easy to wear and would be flattering on any figure. I usually wear a 6 but also ordered a 4 after reading the reviews and wore the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 18, 2012
Cute dress but too big!
Rented this dress for a pre-wedding event. Although the dress was a great color and cute design it was HUGE. I normally wear a size 6 in jeans but have a pretty small waste and even with the belt, the dress had no shape. It was a little too long on me as well (5'7). Ordered the size 4 as a backup and it was still HUGE - had to have a different dress overnighted. I would DEFINITELY order a size or 2 smaller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2012
Great dress!
It did run a little large but fit great. Very comfortable and good length. Perfect for a summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2012
Runs very large!
I ordered the six and the eight, but the six was very baggy and shapeless on me. I ended up having to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 13, 2012
Beautiful dress with great detail
Great dress in a color I would not normally wear. Loved that I didn't have to buy it but could go out on a limb and rock a color I would normally never own in my closet. The dress has a bit of wear to it as it is one of the most popular dresses on the website, but it still was ok.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2013
Beautiful color and details
I love this dress and have actually rented it twice now (the second time as a backup). I wore this dress when I was 5 months pregnant so take my sizing info with that in mind. Size 4 is my normal pre-pregnancy size, so I ordered a 6 as back up. The 4 was more than roomy enough for my burgeoning baby belly. The color is a beautiful soft coral and the embroidery was exquisite. A very elegant, understated, and unique dress. I might even buy it if I ever find it somewhere :).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 14, 2012
Cute but Smoky
I had my eye on this one for a while - I just thought it was such a fun summer dress. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner for a summer wedding. I will say, it smelled a lot like smoke when I got it. Luckily I had enough time to let it bathe in febrezze before I wore it and that did the trick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 19, 2012
Did not fit right - I had to return it, but I was very impressed with the service
N/A
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2012
Very pretty details; a little too short for a day event.
I got a lot of compliments on this dress, which I wore as I hosted my sister's bridal shower. I was a little dissapointed with the length; it was a little short. It was about the length on me as it is on the model in the picture. However, I assumed it wold be longer on me, since I'm only 5'5". I didn't wear the belt, since that made it even shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2013
Tight in the chest
This dress was so cute and fit everywhere but was a little too tight in my chest and made me look like I was wearing a sports bra. Sent back without wearing it, but I only ordered the 4 since some reviews said it ran large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2013
Unique
I got so many compliments on this dress. I ordered a 6 and an 8, and went with the 8. The 6 was too tight in the hip/thigh. The 8 was missing the sash, but luckily I had the sash from the 6. Otherwise, it was very unique and looked great on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2013
Celebrating in the Big Easy
I wanted a dress perfect for Easter in New Orleans, fun but with a little bit of a Southern Belle style. This dress was nice and lightweight, perfect for the humidity and while it flattered my figure it was not clingy. I wish it would have come with the belt though, I thought that was the only piece missing from this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2013
Great Color, Pretty Details, Runs Short
I rented this dress for a baptism, but ended up not wearing it because it was too short and pulled a touch around the hips/bum. Loved the color and delicate details though - would be perfect for a outdoor summer party, baby/bridal shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2013
This dress was WAY to short!
This dress was WAY to short! I was not able to wear it. I am 5'7 and when I lifted my hands you could see my booty!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 17, 2013
Perfect for a bridal shower. Was a little short.
Wore this to a bridal shower and I loved the detail. However, I felt like I was constantly pulling it down. I am pretty short too...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 30, 2013
Love the dress selections!
I wore this for Easter. The accessories I wore were nude colored wedges and a matching clutch purse to go with the ivory stitching the in the dress and go well with the coral color. The dress just fit enough with my usual size 4, but the entire dress would shift up a little when I lifted my arms. Very pretty design, but not sure if I would wear this again as it was not as comfortable as I thought.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 6, 2014
Very pretty dress just did not work on me.
This dress is very short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 2, 2014
Pretty Dress
This was a really pretty dress but was a little bit like a box. It did not have the most flattering fit but was still fun to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2014
Very pretty but unwearable. Would fit an inverted triangle.
This dress is gorgeous but just didn't fit well at all. It was tighter in the hips and baggy in the waist and bust. It has an underlayer that continued to ride up even with a slip, to the point that I was concerned I would have a wardrobe mishap if I ventured out of my house.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 7, 2014
Gorgeous dress, but a bit small for me.
Love the vibrant color of this dress but the fit was a bit small so I ended up not wearing it to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
July 22, 2014
Not very flattering for my shape.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was not flattering for my shape. It was tight in the hips and also across the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2014
Trina lovers.
Fit me a little small, but its beautiful! Love some Trina! Perfect for a wedding or date night! Could be worn with our without the belt based on how your body type is.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
October 30, 2014
Great color and style, just a bit snug.
This dress was very pretty. However it does run small. It was very tight in the bust area, so if you are busty or like to wear push up bras then size up. Also for being a "shift" dress it was snug in the hip area as well. I have a smaller upper waist and i have wider hips and legs so it was snug but I made it work. One other thing to note is the way the sleeves are made it was difficult to raise up my arms without the dress sliding up. Other than that, the color was great for the wedding and was very unique. I might not rent it again unless i went two sizes up from my normal dress size. (I am also doing this review 2 years later...but this is what i remember about it!).
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×