Rent the Runway

Trina Turk

Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$45 rental
$278 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

139 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 65
Large 69
Photos 75
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Received a ton of compliments on this dress...very forgiving.
Court
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Perfect for a summer evening event! Beautiful design and a flattering fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress, wore it to an upscale wedding rehearsal & rehearsal dinner (wore long gown to actual wedding) and received lots of compliments! I'm normally around a 4 or a 6 but after reading the other reviews I ordered the 4 and the 2 - I'm so glad I did because I ended up wearing the 2 (which I was rather surprised about, so yes it definitely runs big!). Also, the other thing I hadn't expected was that the 4 and the 2 were actually different colors; the 2 was the brighter blue color in the photo but the 4 was a much darker navy - I was very happy that I fit into the 2 because I definitely preferred that color, doubt that the black heels I had brought would have gone with the darker blue. I also needed a silver purse to go with my bridesmaid dress and coincidentally happened to pick out (separately) the purse already pictured with the dress on the model, so it ended up working perfect for both nights.
Marisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Beautiful dress and fit was very true to size

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really comfortable and fit true to size. I did choose to go with my back up dress and not wear this one cause it fit the occasion better. The tie in the waist made it easy to adjust to fit each body type. The material did seem to easily wrinkle so that was another reason I chose not to wear it to the wedding. The color is beautiful and the detail on the shoulder is very nice. I have longer legs and the dress was a perfect length. I definitely would consider renting this dress for another event.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2012

This dress was perfect for my 21st birthday. It wasn't too formal and everyone complemented me!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It was actually very loose; I normally wear an 8 and was EASILY able to wear a 6, and possibly could have gotten into a 4 if I wanted the skirt to be tight instead of comfortably roomy. I enjoyed the comfortable fit since I spent my night dancing, but if you want it for something more formal, I don't suggest it.
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Great with my blonde hair! Got many compliments on color/one armed styler.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The string on it can tighten the dress if needed!
Angela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

Extremely comfortable, great color, and easy to dance in!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'5, 140lbs and wore a size 6. I liked that it was a bit looser, but if you want something fitted, I would order the second free size and go a size down. I would have liked it to be a couple inches shorter (almost came down to my knee) but with a high pair of heels, you can easily elongate your legs. Dress can also be dressed up or down easily depending on accessories. Experience with RTR was AWESOME! Just rented a few dresses for Vegas.
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Love this dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I've rented this dress twice. It's a beautiful, stand out color but not too dressy. It was perfect for birthday bar hopping. I usually wear a size 6 or 8 and I wore a size 2 in this the second time around. If you are busty it might fit more true to size.
Francesca
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Gorgeous color and comfortable fit! This dress got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was such a fun, flirty, pretty, vibrant, and COMFORTABLE dress! I wore this dress for a dressy engagement party, but this dress would be great for lots of different occasions (you can dress it up with different accessories... I chose to pair it with diamond gold tear drop earrings, a gold bracelet and a gold sequined purse). I typically wear a size 8 but after reading previous reviews (which stated the dress ran big), I decided to get a size 6 and it fit perfectly (I didn't even bother trying the 8 on). The detail on the shoulder was neat as well and I received lots of compliments on this dress. I'd definitely rent it again!
JT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Easy dress to wear, show-stopping color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had this dress in a 0 and the 2, and they fit almost identically! The 0 was just a little bit shorter which I preferred being just 5'3". The color was great, the fit was loose, and I loved the tie at the waist to cinch in the dress. All this dress needed was a pair of gold earrings and a bangle to go with it! Thank you RTR! This was a great birthday dress!
Peep
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 5, 2013

I loved this dress, it was comfortable, yet really stylish and fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
n/a
Mia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

Loved it! Very fun looking!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The reason this didn't get five stars is because the second dress had makeup all over the embroidery so I couldn't wear that even if I wanted to. The dress itself was beautiful, a lot heavier/thicker fabric than what I was expecting.
kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

This was the most beautiful color dress I've ever worn!!! The detail on the shoulder is gorgeous too

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was a beautiful dress, the color was gorgeous. The waist line hit a little weird on me, so I felt like it wasn't as flattering as I would have liked. My boyfriend loved it though, and said I was silly to not feel sexy in it :)
Lucy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and received TONS of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm normally a size 6, but I found it to be slightly tight in the bust area and not as loose as it appeared to be. I made it work bu an 8 would've been better.
Elby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

Great color, flattering fit, and numerous compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a friend's bachelorette weekend in Nashville, and I received a plethora of attention from both males and females. The color is brilliant (I'm a fair-skinned blonde), and the fit is perfect for dancing all night! I highly recommend this dress if you want to feel fabulous!
Jessi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Great Color!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered this dress as my backup dress for a wedding and decided to go with the other one for the main event. However I wore this out on a date with my husband the night before. It is a little on the casual side (I wore it with sandals and did not feel overdressed at all), however I can imagine it could be dressed up a bit with heels and fancy jewelry. I thought the color was amazing, and loved the detail on the shoulder. I also felt it looked better hiked up a bit (with the string pulled tight enough to hold it up) - which kind of looks like how the model in the pic did it. My only complaint is the sleeve did not seem as flowy/long/pretty on me as it did on the picture. Not sure if my arm is longer than the model's, or if the dress I had somehow had a shorter sleeve - but it looked slightly off. Other than that I would definitely rent this dress again for a casual-type occasion.
Querismatic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

I wore this dress to three different parties in one night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this Trina Turk dress. I was recovering from surgery so my stomach was pretty bloated and I didn't want anything too fitted. The loose styling of the dress camouflaged my tummy and I still looked great. It was also so versatile. I bounced from a wine mixer to a BMW party to a late night happy hour at a chic bar.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Beautiful and effortless, thanks RTR!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! It is unique without screaming for attention, and pretty without sweet ruffly, lacy details. Strong and feminine are good descriptors. Definitely recommended. The sleeve was shorter than shown on the model, but it wasn't a problem to me. I didn't even try on the 6, the 4 was roomy enough over my hips (and the 6 would've been way too big in the bust). The fabric didn't wrinkle from sitting during the ceremony or reception, and it was very comfortable. I paired it with nude heels and a silver bag from my own closet.
Lauralee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

So flattering!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a banquet because we all had to wear royal blue. It was perfect! I got a 2 and a 4 but I never even tried on the 4 because the 2 fit perfectly. Not too tight and not too loose. The adjustable waistband makes it easy to fit any size. The embroidery at the sleeve is so pretty and a nice touch to make you stand out more. Loved this dress!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
May 5, 2013

I loved this dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was comfortable and easy to dance in. Received so many compliments on this dress!
Aly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 7, 2013

Hassle Free Experience!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
As many others have said, this dress runs big. I ordered and wore the M but could probably gotten away with the S if it had been available. The drawstring waist helped, in that I was able to tighten it quite a bit. This dress is super comfortable and the color is very flattering. I had the dress sent to my hotel so I didn't have to worry about traveling with it. Love RTR!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
May 15, 2013

This dress was perfect for a destination wedding to Aruba!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a friends wedding in Aruba, it was perfect. light, airy and a pop of color. I had ordered the 12, but it was unavailable and RTR was fabulous and called me to help me decide on what to do. After speaking with a RTR stylist she assured me the 10 would fit and also sent me 2 other dresses complimentary to ensure I had options. The 10 fit perfectly and I received so many compliments. This dress also traveled fantastically and I didn't even have to iron it as I hung it up when I arrived and it was ready to go 2 days later!!
Sara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a formal event -- it's great for a party, night out, or summer wedding! Not only is the color gorgeous, but it's comfortable and elegant! The cinched waist is perfect for a curvier figure. Love it, would definitely rent again!
Lori
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

LOVED this dress!! Runs a little big but the color and shape of the dress were amazing!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an out of town semi-formal wedding. This was my first time using RTR and the whole process was so much fun! I loved looking through all the dresses and seeing the pictures of "normal" people wearing them so I could get an idea what they might look like on me. I normally wear a size 6 but the reviews said it ran a little big so I got that and a size 4. Well the reviews were right and I went with the 4. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was dressy but fun and trendy also! Very comfortable. The rental process was so easy! The wedding was on a Saturday so I had it delivered Thursday. It gave me time to decide which size I liked best. I returned it to a UPS drop box on Sunday in the town we were at for the wedding. SUPER easy! I cannot wait to rent from RTR again!!
Kelliann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

Perfect dress for my 30th birthday! :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress did run a little big. I ordered the 4 and 2, wore the 2 and could have gotten away with a 0. The color was perfect... bright and vibrant! I paired it with flat gold shoes and simple stud earrings. I received so many compliments and just felt perfect in it! I highly recommend this dress.
Mel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
Jul 6, 2013

Comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress for a summer event. The silk is beautiful and bright, and the fit is very comfortable. I got the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 because it fit better on the strapless side. This dress is forgiving around the belly.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 10, 2013

The dress was fabulous, wore it for a trip to Vegas.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great, the size 4 was perfect fit. Would absolutely rent this dress again
katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

comfortable, and such a beautiful color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
i rented this dress for a nice night on the town, and received many compliments. it's comfortable and easy, and a beautiful, eye-catching color. highly recommend.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 5, 2013

My outfit made my night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My boyfriend broke up with me two days before my friend's wedding. But I still went, and I felt like a million bucks! The dress runs a bit on the large side because of the drawstring waist. The embroidery details on the shoulder are amazing in person. I took a second photo of just the shoulder since the pics on the model just don't do it justice. The dress was in great shape as well. I paired it with the Kate Spade Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings and Chamak by Priyar Kakkar Silver Wave Bangles, both available on RTR. Overall, it was a perfect look for an outdoor late spring wedding, and I would definitely rent this again for a similar occasion.
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Dec 16, 2013

Fun dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this as a back up for my work holiday party and went with the 1st choice. The dress fit nicely (runs large, so size down) and the length was fine (i'm 5'10 - may be long on anyone short). The detail on the shoulder was nice but overall thought it wasn't dressy enough for the party. Would be a great dress for a bridal shower or lunch though.
Erin B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Bright, FUN dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Sorry for the terrible picture, didn't take any full body pics the whole night. Wanted to show off the dress and earring though. As many others have said, the dress runs a tad big. I ordered the 4 and the 6, and I went with the 4. I also ordered the BADGLEY MISCHKA Showstopper Earrings... and I wish I could've kept them too. Loved my entire outfit! Would definitely order this again!
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2014

Vegas Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect for a day time wedding in Vegas. The fit is so comfortable. I think it runs a bit big but you can adjust the waist. LOVE this dress and definitely stood out and had many compliments. Will rent again.
Dawn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Great dress! I wore the coral at a wedding last year and the blue this year! Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the size 2. I'm 5'4, 120lbs and 32D. The dress is loose just enough so I can move around dance and most important eat and have a few drinks but doesn't look frumpy at all. I received lots of compliments and paired it with the Kate Spade Canary Statement Earrings.
faye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

Gorgeous color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is a beautiful bright blue silk with embroidered detail on the shoulder that is even prettier than photos show. I ordered size 4 with the 2 as a backup and ended up wearing the 2 because it fit the shoulderless underarm area more snugly. This dress is very pretty and comfortable and the drawstring waist allowed me to eat as much as I wanted. The bottom is a little snug making the dress ride up while sitting and getting down on the dance floor. Even so, it was perfect for a fun summer outdoor party night.
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

Love the one shoulder detail on the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for a wedding
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Great color, super comfortable, pretty casual though.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The blue color is amazing and rich. Super comfortable and easy to wear. Took a lotta jewelry and heels to dress it up. Would definitely recommend for more casual events. Longer than I thought it would be, especially since I'm 5'11 but looked less frumpy with heels.
Cathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a September wedding. Got a ton of compliments! I definitely had to tie the belt so it would be more form fitting but doing that made it fit and look great. I would rent this again!
suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

My favorite rental so far!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.
suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

My favorite rental so far!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.
LABower
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
May 6, 2015

Love the color, the embroidery detail and the style! I received a lot of compliments! Perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
RTR only had the size 2 available in this dress. Thankfully it fit perfectly. I'm pear shaped and loved the drawstring waist to help define my curves. The dress fit like a glove yet very forgiving. The color is a wonderful cobalt blue. I liked the one sleeve design, showed off some skin without being too revealing and no tugging at a dress that doesn't stay up. I would definitely rent this one again. I loved it!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 11, 2015

Fun dress for bachelorette night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 6, but the 6 was not available and based on the other reviewers saying the dress ran large- I ended up ordering and wearing a size 4. The dress was a bit snug in the leg area (but I am bottom heavy) and was a bit loose in the armpit area. I should have brought some fashion tape with me to use- as that would have solved the problem. I am 5'8" and the dress was a bit shorter than I would have liked, but it worked just fine,
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×