Rent the Runway

theory

Mad Crushing On You Dress

$40 rental
$285 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make that lasting impression on the first date by wearing this red hot Theory dress. Waist cinching and one style he won't forget you in! Shown here with the Whiting and Davis' Gold Mesh Glam Clutch and Badgley Mischka Jewelry's Decadent Deco Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red crepe (100% viscose). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

132 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 91
Large 17
Photos 59
Mara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Fantastic experience, will do again! Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely LOVED this dress for my homecoming, I was the classiest girl at my homecoming dance!(most other girls wore short body-con dresses). The fabric is wonderful on the dress and it is great for dancing. My only issue was with the bust. My bra size recently went up and so I had to go with the 4 instead of the 2 to accommodate, even though the 2 fit better at the midsection and lengthwise. In some pictures my bra was showing because the material comes in farther forward at the armpits, so be aware of that. Besides that, I got tons of compliments and can't wait to rent from here for prom :)
Kerry
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

I felt like a movie star in the dress. It really makes you stand out.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am so glad I decided to go with Rent The Runway for the party I went to. I agree with what many of the other girls said about the dress, it does fit tight across the chest which made me have to go a size up. But overall the dress fit amazing and I loved the flare out on the bottom.
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 12, 2012

Sassy Lady in Red Moment for Boyfriend's Family Wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The RTR team was SUPER amazing. With the threat of hurricane sandy, this dress came to me in the nick of time. I'm normally a 6 in everyday clothing so I chose to go 6 & 8 based on past reviews. I thought the 6 was a little big, would have gone 4 & 6 instead. There's definitely give to the dress but its super tailored and comfortable to wear (seriously...like butter). Great outfit for my second impression with the BF's family. THANKS RTR!!! cant wait to rent again.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

Perfect for Falll/Thanksgiving paired with a statement necklace!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was comfortable and easy to wear. Unlike some of the other reviews, I didn't find it to be too long (I'm 5'5). I paired it with thicker black tights, black ankle boot heels, and a Badgley Mischka Statement Necklace. The necklace added the perfect touch to dress it up a bit. Received multiple compliments and overall was very pleased.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

Perfect dress for my sorority semi formal!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit, good coverage for swing dancing (dresses in the past have twirled a little too high). Received a lot of compliments on the color, too. Very pleased with this dress!
vicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Great experience with RTR! Lots of compliments on the dress! Would rent again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress originally for my family Christmas party and photo, but also was able to wear it to my work party. I loved the cut and feel of the dress. It hit me right at the knees. The size six was a tad tight, but the eight fit perfectly. I enjoyed this experience and would definitely do it again.
Leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2012

Got so many compliments on the color. Such a lovely deep crimson red, perfect for the Holidays!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really well, not to snug in the bust which can often be a challenge. The material is a bit thinner than it looks in the picture but still hangs nicely on the body and doesn't cling. I definitely recommend this look!
melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Perfect dress for my company holiday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very fitted in the top, especially through the bust and tummy and then opens at the waist. I am typically a 4 and the dress was very true to size. The material and fit was so comfortable, I couldn't have asked for a better fit. Great dress to dance in, I highly recommend. Thanks RTR!
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Great color, and very tasteful fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually an 8 in dresses so ordered both an 8 and a 10 because i read other reviews in which the dress was described as being a little tight in the bust for larger cup sizes. I ended up wearing the 10, just because I found this to be true- the 8 fit, but was just a little too tight so the 10 worked perfectly. I am on the taller side, and the dress did fall just above my knee...I feel like if you are shorter it will end up being way longer. Overall, I was very happy with the dress, it was perfect for the wedding I attended!
Chanel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Classic holiday dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Size-wise this fit pretty perfect. I'm usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 worked well. I wish it was an inch or two shorter because I felt a bit too covered with the high neck and back. The dress definitely needs a big necklace to dress it up because it is kind of plain. The necklace I wore wasn't chunky enough to stand out. I used to be a figure skater, and this kind of felt like a skating dress to me, haha! The fabric looked nicer in the picture, it felt kind of cheap. Also, the red on the model was darker in person.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Perfect for a Luncheon!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress at a Bridesmaid Luncheon. It was a cold day so I paired it with a cardi and black tights. It was a little tight, but not to tight. It hugged the body in all the right areas. It was has a great twirl!
TXHolly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Lovely Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a rich, wine-colored dress, very simple and very elegant. Emphasis on the simple, so the reviewers noting you should bling it up are right. I wore it to an engagement party (there I am, pictured with the Bride-to-be, who also wore a RTR dress), where I was serving as co-host. I spent most of the night with an apron over this, so I didn't mind the plainness of the dress. Otheres will want dressier earrings or jewelry to liven it up. The color is stunning and I liked the cut. It's quite fitted at the top, though and I found it to be somewhat small around the lower bust and mid-section. The overall fit is beautiful, though and, being short, I liked the length quite a lot. This is a great after-work drinks or date dress, it's easy and comfortable to wear. I didn't wear SPANX or anything underneath because the midsection was so fitted and fabric so thin you'd see the outline of the waistband. But, no matter. I think the fit is pretty flattering all the same and covers a multitude of sins for us pear shapes. I did find the sizing slightly small, however. I usually wear between a 10-12 and lately I've been wearing more 10s. The 10 I rented was almost too tight, and the 12 I wore still didn't give me as much give as I'd normally like. But the effect was great and it wore like a dream all night.
Katlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Great dress! Great for dancing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great.
landmmom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Great comfortable dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress was very comfy and fun! It looked great without a belt, but I added one to cinch in the waist a little. I did wear my back up smaller size!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

fit beautifully and my husband LOVED it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was uber flattering! The fit and flare shape hid all my trouble spots so that I felt comfortable and could enjoy a huge Valentine's Day dinner with my hubs! The only thing I wasn't super stoked about was the feel of the fabric, but aesthetically it was pretty pleasing.
Caro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 29, 2013

Classic with a modern edge.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my engagement photo session. The fabric hangs very nicely and adds a bit of shape to my narrow frame. The color photographs beautifully, and I felt incredibly comfortable running around for photos in it.
Alana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 22, 2013

Perfect for a Christmas Tea!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress runs true to size. I tried the size 4 and the size 6. Both fit well, but I thought the size 4 was a bit short for my age and for the event. I wore it to a Christmas Tea. The color was perfect. The fabric of the dress has a little give and was very comfortable.
Channing
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2013

LOVED this dress. Perfect for a cocktail party!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Overall fit was good (literally skims the body as it should) but it's definitely a little tight in the bust so I went up a size after reading the reviews on it. Lots of compliments and perfect for a big necklace.
Lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Oct 31, 2013

I got plenty of compliments while wearing this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I don't normally wear red, especially not a red dress! But this dress fit perfectly, even with my over-sized chest! There was enough room for my bigger chest but didn't make my midsection look big, in fact it made me look slimmer! If you don't like dresses that are short in length, this dress is perfect for you!
Anjoli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Really comfortable fabric for any occasion

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented two sizes of this dress: the 0 and the 2. The size 0 fit better than the size 2, but I wore the 2 because it was for Thanksgiving dinner. There isn't stretch in the dress, so the fit through the waist is important to get correct. If I rented this dress again, I would probably go with the 2 instead of the 0. Even though the 2 hung a little looser, it didn't look "too big."
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Perfect for engagement pictures in Central Park!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was absolutely perfect for my engagement pictures in Central Park. It fits like a glove, it is slimming but not too tight and the material is structured enough that it doesn't cling. The color is a gorgeous deep red. I'm so glad I went with this dress!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

I loved the color. Can be dressed "up" or "down"

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is flattering and the color is great. I think the arm holes were too big for my bust size. A jacket would make it perfect.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect dress for any occasion!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit is slim in the waist but the 8 fit perfectly. It was conservative enough to wear to my interview but stylish enough that it wasn't at all boring!! Loved this dress so much.
Madison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
May 8, 2014

Highlights the waist

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this as a backup dress in a 10. It is a bit tight at the bust (I am 34DD) but it zipped fine. There was a little extra room in the back shoulder area. The pleats start at the belly button, not higher at the waist like in the picture. But the color is very true to the picture (sorry about the lighting in my photo). Really highlights your waist - creates a great hourglass. Very fitted in waist and middle.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 12, 2014

Nice dress, but didn't have the wow factor

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented two dresses for two different parties on the same weekend, and I ended up wearing this one to the alumni event, which was outdoors. It was definitely comfortable all night. I love Theory, but this dress was just okay. I could definitely have worn the 2, but it was a little tight on my chest, so I thought I would just size up since I had the option. It is not quite as bright red as it looks in the stock photo.
S
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Rich red color great for a formal wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful neutral red that would flatter most skin tones. The fit was a little weird on me though. The top seems to be cut for a longer torso, and while there was plenty of room in the bust area, it was a little tight at the top of the hips before the skirt flared out, so it kept riding up and bunching around my waist. I feel like I could have sized down on top, but that would make it even tighter at the hip. Recommended for taller women (5'4"+) with balanced proportions.
Samantha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

It was my 25th birthday!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i decided to wear the 8, even though it was a bit snug and i had to really hold it in all night, but the 10 just looked to loose. Overall, I felt good in this dress and the color was beautiful.
Raquel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Gorgeous color, runs big-ish

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Originally ordered 0 and 2. 0 was unavailable so I wore the 2 because I love this dress. The 2 was a little too large and runs big in the chest and stomach so i'd size down and wear a padded bra if you are more flat chested. The skirt is the perfect length and is great for dancing. Fabric is opaque but thin so I'd say best for a summer wedding or formal event.
kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

very comfortable and great color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a little light in the bust area but flowy everywhere else. Fabric is a little thinner than i had imagined and wrinkled pretty easily but still thought it was a great dress. If you are a D cup I'd go a size up!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Great for the event, but not my favorite RTR.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The original dresses I ordered for this event were actually unavailable; fortunately, RTR found some similar dresses and corrected the issue. This dress fit wonderfully and looked perfect - I liked the deep red and it spun well which was fun! However, it was very similar to others I have seen around and I probably would not order again.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Classy & Comfy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my friend's fall wedding. I often have to have dresses tailored for my wide hips/booty & small waist, but this flared skirt was perfect for my body type. I ended up wearing the smaller size 8 instead of the 10 because it fit my top half much nicer. I also rented the Nicole Miller Maple Leaf necklace to go with it, and got lots of compliments on my outfit all day long.
Clara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Gorgeous color, worn with kate spade necklace, comfy and classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
0 was unavailable, wore the 2 which was fine and I probably would have had to anyways so it would fit my boobs
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Simple, classic... a tad boring

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding I was in during the month of November. The dress was pretty, a tad longer than I would have preferred, but fit the occasion. It is not as heavy as it looks, which I would have loved since it was 45 degrees!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Classy, Comfy, Pretty color for a fall wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid in a November wedding. The dress was beautiful and the style and color were perfect for the event. The fit was a little roomier than expected for for the size and the fabric was rather lightweight for a chilly November day in the mountains but it was really comfortable and great for dancing the night away.
anna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

I loved the color of the dress and the classic simplicity. Worked well with a necklace.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had to get it a size too big because at the time the 4 was unavailable. I regret not ordering sooner.
Julie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Beautiful wedding at the Boston Park Plaza

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing this dress. The color was beautiful but it wasn't the most flattering on my figure. If it had been more structured, it would have been great.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Perfect holiday dress!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I loved the "twirl" of this dress from the pleated details! I couldnt wear a bra, just a cami underneath so if youre large chested you may want to size up.
Limor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Lightweight figure flattering dress

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Tight in the chest and a bit longer than I'd hopes but comfortable and figure flattering. Runs small so size up especially if you are larger in the chest area. I added a belt but it was pretty without too
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

So flattering!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
I would love to own this dress and will absolutely rent again at some point. The fit is so flattering, the material is lovely and the skirt is perfect for dancing the night away!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

This dress was so comfortable! So easy to wear. I'd recommend wearing a necklace to add interest!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros- super easy to wear, light and comfortable. Cons- wear a seamless bra if possible- at times the corner of mine was visible.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×