Theia

Dipped in Vanilla Dress

$50 – $100 rental
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

A glittering goddess in gold. This show stopper by Theia deserves to be out until morning. Shine on... you beautiful thing!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very stretchy and highlights bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - stretchy fabric is comfortable but may highlight lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Champagne sequins. V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
193 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(144)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
The dress was perfect and I got so many compliments! Everyone wanted to know about Rent the Runway!
The size 4 was a little tight through my hips, but the size 6 was definitely too big. The 6 didn't lay correctly across my chest; I'm very glad to have had the 4. The fabric is quite stretchy, so be ready to show off some CURVES! I was disappointed because there were areas on the dress where sequins were missing - entire patches - but thankfully no one noticed. The color is more gold than vanilla. I wore nude heels and had a black purse. I would highly recommend you get this dress! I want to wear it again and again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2012
Good, but not the most flattering for curves
I think this dress could be great on someone who is straight and narrow. It was not, however, a great fit for my body type. I'm curvy and this was not the most flattering look. The combo of the color plus the sequins added a few pounds to my frame. The length was good and the dress ran a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2012
Sparkled for my 30th Birthday!
I rented the 4 and the 6. I was sure I was going to wear the 4, but when I walked around in it at home I noticed the under arm area was slightly constricting. I sized up to the 6 and felt a lot better. All night I recieved many compliments on the dress. I was happy to have chosen this dress, not only because it looked great but it was so comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 3, 2012
Perfect!
The dress was beautiful. Had so many compliments. I had two sizes a 4 and 6. Although the 4 would have fit better, I wore the 6. The slit on the back of the 4 didn't lay down flat. It kind of curled up. I guess it's been worn a few too many times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
Had to send this one back
Pretty, pretty color and cut but couldn't wear it. The size four fit, but dress just stretchy enough across the abdomen to highlight a puffy tummy. Better luck to the next renter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2012
Compliments, compliments, compliments! Everyone loved this dress, boyfriend included.
Worn to a "vintage mystery" themed corporate holiday party. It did run a bit larger than I expected - I'm pretty petite, so I had to wear a padded bra to make it look like I had something going on in that area. The dress seemed a bit loose, but it's not supposed to be extremely tight, so it still worked out. I felt gorgeous; this dress is really stunning in person and looks elegant in photos. I was stopped by strangers all night asking where the dress was from, and when I told them I rented it, they didn't believe me!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 17, 2012
Dress ran true to size. Really enjoyed wearing this beautiful dress on stage.
As many have said, being able to wear a regular bra with such an stunning dress was a bonus. I would highly recommend a body shaper, as I felt bumps and lumps were very obvious under this dress when the lights weren't catching the sequins. I also think this dress would be best on a hourglass shape and well suited for a fuller bust. I wore light gold shoes and was very happy with the look. Some scratches around the arm hole from beading occured.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
I received so many compliments in a sea of very well-dressed women!
Overall, I give this dress a huge thumbs up. It was very comfortable and flattering, especially to a curvy shape. The fit was true to size although I did feel that the top was a teeny bit big--and I'm busty. I bought bra strap holders and also used double-sided tape to keep my regular bra hidden. I've got a small waist but a big old butt so the 6 was just too tight. I loved how the sequins were not super-shiny--I didn't feel like a disco ball! I wore Spanx shorts to smooth things out but could have gotten away without them. If you've got curves and have trouble wearing some of the trendier styles, go with this dress. You'll look classy but stylish.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 25, 2012
Loved the way the dress fit!! Got compliments all night
Dress is very comfortable and the fit was perfect. A bit shorter than I wanted. I would recommend this dress to anyone. Definite head turner. I wore bone colored shoes. Danced in it all night !
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
Nice comfortable party dress
I thought that this dress ran slightly large. I wore the 4 which is usually a bit snug on me but this one fit great. The 2 downsides to the dress for me were the length and color. It is more beige than gold and it was pretty long on me (it hit below the knee). I would say that this is a very safe party dress. You can wear a normal bra and don't have to worry about any wardrobe malfunctions. Overall, it was comfortable and looked good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved This Dress!
This dress was so beautiful in person. The color and sequins are gorgeous. The simple A-line style was very flattering. It was very comfortable and I could wear a normal bra. The dress hit me right above the knee with a tiny slit in the back. I was happy that I could find a sequin dress that was also age appropriate (50), not to revealing and not to short, but still sexy. This is a winner.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Loved it!
This was my backup dress and I loved it so much I wore it! The beading gets a little scratchy by the end of the night, but that's to be expected in this kind of dress. Otherwise, comfy and a good fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 21, 2013
A real head-turner!
This isn't the dress for a shy girl - you will be noticed and complimented all night! I wore this for my birthday night party (read: club) and it was a big hit. The lining makes the dress very comfortable to wear (and protects your tights!), and the sequins under the arms did not bother me at all. It does have a little give, which is perfect after a few cocktails and dinner. I wore this dress with nude hosiery and nude pumps, which definitely ramped up the sexy factor. It could also be toned down a little with darker or opaque tights and black heels. I accessorized with purple and gold statement earrings and a matching necklace. If you are considering this dress - GO FOR IT!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
October 24, 2012
Beautiful!
Looks great under lights!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
A+
TRUE TO SIZE, SEQUINS R BEAUTIFUL
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2013
Beautiful sequin detail without being over the top.
Fit is true to size. The dress is well made and fits nicely. The picture on the website doesn't do it justice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 28, 2013
The sequins and sparkle!!
The fit was perfect! I usually wear a size 8, but thought I better order the 10 just incase ( I am a little curvy) But the 8 was a perfect fit. I received my first compliment the second I walked in the door to my event, which gave me even more confidence. I am 5'4" - 34D - and weigh in at 150lbs. length was great, and the fabric even has a little stretch to it. Amazing dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
April 4, 2013
Almost...
I was looking for something really glam for my bachelorette party in NYC, and this was ALMOST it! I've lost weight, so I thought I could squeeze into a 14. I did, but it was a tad too snug. Maybe down the line!
ChristinaAugust 28, 2013
I think you still look good, girl!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 1, 2013
This was a dress that I wouldn't have had the courage to buy, but it was perfect!
This dress was really flattering and comfortable. Great all around.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 1, 2013
Amazing dress
Compliments from everyone! Definitley need a bit of a tan though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2013
Amazing Dress for 20's Party
The dress ran a touch big, but I am used to junior sizing, so that is probably why. My pants size is an 8, so I ordered a 6 and an 8, but I think a 4 would have fit just right. The dress is adorned with many sequins, and is also somewhat clingy, especially in the lower abdomen. The dress really shows off your waist definition, so I wouldn't recommend it for apple body types, as it wouldn't be the most flattering. But, I would recommend it for most other body types.I was able to wear a regular demi bra with this dress, which is a big plus, so no worries with that. If you're kind of busty, your cleavage is definitely very noticeable--just a warning. I wore the dress for a 20's party, and I got compliments throughout the night on this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 6, 2013
Loved it. Wish I could have kept the dress.
It was formal enough for my New Year's Eve wedding, but not over the top. Very comfortable and got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress is beautiful. I could have used to go down a size-- it was a little loose in the bust.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
July 1, 2013
Perfect fit! Beautiful dress!
Perfect fit! Beautiful dress! it's the reason I'm renting from you again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautiful dress - made me feel gorgeous and had lots of comments from both friends and strangers!
I got this in both the 6 and 8 and both fit. As it was a wedding I went with the 8 which hung just a little looser around the midsection and hips. 6 would have been fine too, but felt just a little more sexy than I was looking for at a formal wedding. The other RTR dress I rented I wore in a 6. Depending on designers I am usually a 6, but sometimes 8. I'd recommend two sizes to see which one is most appropriate for the occasion. Wore regular bra and spanx, but had to have spanx leg parts hiked up very high to not show in back (where there is a slit). Would love to own this dress - I could see wearing it across a range of occasions.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 176lbs
November 4, 2013
I wore this for my bachelorette party and felt like a million bucks the whole night.
I ordered the 12 and the 14 and both fit but the 14 was a little longer so I wore that instead. It was wonderful to wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 4, 2013
Comfortable and glamorous
I really liked wearing this dress and got lots of compliments on it. The fabric is very forgiving, which makes the dress flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2013
The dress fit and was super comfortable.
There was very little difference between the 2 and the 4. It could have been a little more fitted in the For some reason, my chest looked huge in pictures in this dress! Really not sure why.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
Gorgeous, a head-turning dress!
Comfortable and well made.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
November 23, 2013
It was espectacular!!!
Wonderful dress, very comfortable. I love it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 14, 2013
Lots of compliments! Perfect Dress for dancing!
Easy fit and super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 6, 2014
Beautiful sparkles!
My friend asked me to be part of her house party in her wedding, and requested that we wear gold sparkly dresses. This dress was exactly what she asked for. I got compliments on it all night. You can wear a normal bra, and even normal undies--the fabric is substantial enough that you can't see panty lines, and your colorful undies won't show through. It's also got a lot of stretch to it, so it was very comfortable to dance in. However, there were a couple of things I didn't like--first, the back of the skirt has a slit and it is frighteningly short. You can't bend over at all without the slit exposing your undies. Second, the sequins chafed one of my underarms, but I think this is really hard to avoid with ANY sequined dress. Lastly, and this is just for my body type--this cut of dress isn't very flattering to my tummy area. It is not tight under the bust so it doesn't really define your waist, and the way it drapes it kind of emphasizes the belly. Another note--I got the 10 as a backup size, and the 10 was a little more snug, but it definitely fit just fine as well. So if RTR does not have your size, I would go ahead and size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 17, 2014
It was the PERFECT dress for my wedding reception! I felt absolutely beautiful AND comfortable!
The fit was quite forgiving, and my post-baby body was well-represented. Being my second marriage, I wanted something fun and flirty for the reception This was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
January 31, 2014
Subtle but beautiful...
I wore this as a bridesmaid dress, and the pictures are so spectacular. The sequins are subtle but awesome. My only caveat-though I wouldn't have changed anything-was this dress shows everything... You can't hide in it. But it was beautiful!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2014
Great Dress! Really fun to wear:)
Dress was comfy. I wore the smaller of the two sizes. Regular bra. A push up would have really accentuated my bust. there was plenty of room in the body. It was not too clingy. I would wear this designer again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
March 4, 2014
Holiday Party Sparkle!
Dress fit loosely, but still showed off figure. I'm short so it was about knee-length (good for me - didn't want it too short for a business holiday party.). It's a beautiful gold/white sparkly dress. I wore with nude heels and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2014
Definitely felt like the center of attention in this dress!
Beautiful dress. Exactly how it looks in the pictures. Hit me just above the knee.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156lbs
May 1, 2014
tons of compliment and so comfortable!
stretchy.. above knee and very comfortable. Could have worn the 6 but 8 was more roomy in chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 4, 2014
There were so many great dresses. I rented this for a Gatsby themed gala and it worked perfectly.
I rented this for a20's Gatsby themed Gala. This dress is a beautiful color and I received complements all night. I only ordered an 8 after reading the reviews and it was perfect. I probably could have ordered one size up for a looser, more 20's style look but it was easy to dress up with accessories. The quality is great and it has a nice stretch so it was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2014
Gorgeous, comfortable.
I didn't want to send this dress back. It is beautiful, and fit perfectly. I wore it to a formal event, and was complimented by total strangers all night. Seriously, I would buy this dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×