Theia

Dipped in Vanilla Dress

$50 rental
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

A glittering goddess in gold. This show stopper by Theia deserves to be out until morning. Shine on... you beautiful thing!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very stretchy and highlights bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - stretchy fabric is comfortable but may highlight lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Champagne sequins. V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
194 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(144)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 14, 2011
Easy Glamour
This was very comfortable and worked perfectly with my nude heels.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 173lbs
January 21, 2012
Gorgeous!
I wore this for a company party. I'm very busty and I fit into this with no problem. I ordered both the 14 and 12 -- the 12 fit me better, but was about 4 inches shorter than the 14 and a little too short to be appropriate for a work party!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2017
Bachelorette Party Success
Usually I'm a 6 or 8, but there was only the 6 available for my date, so I risked it based on others having said it runs a little large. Luckily, it fit like a glove - not too short (I'm 5'8") so I wasn't conscious of it when bending over and no need for a special bra (just a regular one) since it doesn't show with the thicker straps. Sparkles are great and I felt like a true bachelorette!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 22, 2017
Great dress!
I usually wear size 6 but went with size 4 due to my smaller chest not filling out the 6 well which made the front of the dress longer than the back with the larger size. Not too flattering in pictures at the midsection due to the way sequins captured the light. Very comfortable to wear. Sequins being itchy was not a problem at all for me. Lots of compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2014
Great Dress! Really fun to wear:)
Dress was comfy. I wore the smaller of the two sizes. Regular bra. A push up would have really accentuated my bust. there was plenty of room in the body. It was not too clingy. I would wear this designer again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
June 9, 2014
Simple, comfortable, easy way to stay in the spotlight!
I rented this dress for my own bachelorette party in NYC and it was a great choice. The dress was very comfortable to wear and gave a great sparkle without going insanely overboard. The cut was also sexy without showing too much.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2015
comfortable and easy to sit and dance in - plenty of coverage up top
wore one size up from my usual since it was stretchy and sequins made it pretty tight, especially in the hips and under the arms - very glad I ordered a size bigger, especially since I was going to a dinner/dance and needed the extra room for sitting and dancing. Gold is definitely more bronze - did not work with diamond/silvery accessories or shoes...looked better with black shoes. Nice that you can wear a regular bra underneath - works well for busty women like me - not too much cleavage and also not too short - didn't feel like I was trying to fit into a coed's dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 4, 2015
SHORT slit in the back, beware!
This dress is pretty, but beware of the short slit in the back!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
July 13, 2015
I wore this dress to an evening Summer wedding in Auburn, Massachusetts.
This is my third Rent the Runway dress and my first time posting a review. While I enjoyed all my previous rentals, my experience with this dress was exceptionally good. Echoing some other reviewers, if you want to receive compliments all night - rent this dress. I rented this dress for a wedding, and before I could even take my seat on the shuttle bus to the venue, I had gotten two compliments! And that trend continued all evening long. The dress is very flattering, it is stretchy enough to hug your curves, but doesn't pull up or fit too tightly. I did find it ran small. I usually wear a 6 but the 8 fit perfectly. The low V neckline is balanced out by the longer length of the dress. I'm 5'7" and it hit a few inches above my knee. That being said, there is a shockingly high slit on the back side of the dress. I had to be careful sitting down, and there was absolutely no bending over. The slit is the only reason this dress gets 4 stars instead of 5. I was a little nervous about renting a dress that is more fitted around the hemline, since I usually order dresses that flare around the legs, but the stretchiness made that a non-issue.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2017
Beautiful Holiday Dress
This was the first time I had a RTR dress sent to a hotel. It was a very easy experience and I'll probably do it again in the future. I wore this for a holiday dinner at a very fancy restaurant. I thought the fit was rather tight, there wasn't a whole lot of breathing room or give for my D cup chest. It also wasn't super flattering for my mommy belly. But I did get several compliments and I thought the sparkle and color worked well with my husband's linen suit and the holiday decor. It photographed well too. I won't rent it again, but it worked well for this experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2011
This dress is stunning! I wore it to a charity event and I received several compliments. It is definitely is an attention grabbing dress, but the very simple design and longer length (it hit just above my knee) makes it a classy way to wear sequins.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2011
Amazing dress! Fits true to size. I ordered a 0 and it fit perfect. The dress is far more stunning in person than it is on the model. I will most definitely order from Theia again!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 70
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
July 27, 2011
Beautiful, easy dress to wear. Fit well without being too snug...like many expensive lines the sizes are amply cut. Looks more striking on then as pictured. Afraid it would be too New Year's Eveish for summer...but it just looked festive. Made a few converts to RTR when they were told where the dress came from.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 22, 2011
Loved this dress, received tons of compliments from both men and women. I ordered the 4 and 6. The 4 fit but I wore the 6 because I knew I would be moving a lot and wanted the extra room! Stunning.The lining insures that the sequins don't scratch!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2011
Great dress, fit well, comfortable to boot. Got lots of nice compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2011
this was my first time using the site and everything went flawlessly!
I wore this dress to a gala fundraiser and received many compliments! I paired it with emerald drop earrings by Kenneth Jay Lane that were stunning. I am very pale, so I got a light spray tan before wearing the dress and I am very glad I did. The color is lighter than pictured and I would have looked washed out. One little complaint: I am very curvy for a size 2 and some dresses accentuate curves while also tucking them in in all the right places... this dress didn't offer that kind of support, so my curves were highlighted in all their glory. Luckily, I wore Spanx. :)
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2011
this dress was an absolute success! i rented it to wear to a gala and it was perfect! i ordered a 6 and an 8 based on other reviews and ended up wearing the 6. it fit nicely, not too tight. the fabric is somewhat stretchy, so it's extremely comfortable. i received loads of compliments all evening long.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2011
I just wore this dress to a family wedding and it was sensational. I was concerned as normally I do wear a size 10, but a stylist contacted me the day before informing me the warehouse did not have the size 10. I was surprised at how perfectly the 8 fit; the fabric gives the dress a lot of give. The vneck fell a little bit lower than I would have liked, but fabric tape fixed that immediately. Over the course of the night a couple sequins fell off but nothing too drastic.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 20, 2011
I usually wear a 6 or an 8. The 6 was a little too snug. I thought I could get away with it but it wasn't flattering. The length was good since i am tall and the stretch helped. It is fancy - good for a holiday party. I would order it in an 8 for a future holiday party. It did have a few sequins missing but not too noticeable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2011
Amazing dress! Looked truly stunning on me. Would recommend a gold shawl if attending a fall/winter event. I felt like a movie star in the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2011
Very flattering, easy to wear. Got tons of compliments at a charity cocktail event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
October 26, 2011
What a lovely dress!! Fit was perfect. It was comfortable and glamourous at the same time. This was my first rent the runway experience and I can't imagine ever buying another formal again. Thank you.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2011
This dress is beautiful. much prettier in person than the picture indicates. Even with Spanx, i felt like it didn't paticularly flatter my figure though
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 28, 2011
I am very happy with Rent the Runway's service. I arrived at my hotel and the dress was ready to go for my event. So easy!!! The dress was fabulous & true to size. Thank you, thank you
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party: Cocktail
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 9, 2011
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I actually thought both the 4 and 6 fit me, but ended up wearing the 6. This dress is so comfortable, it's amazing! It is also more flattering than I thought it might be (I was worried I would look shapeless). The sequins were in good condition on both sizes, and my ony complaint is that i wish it was a tad shorter (i'm only 5'2, so the 6 came down to graze the top of my knee.) This was my first time 'renting the runway' and i am SO glad I did! I styled it with red nail polish and red satin shoes (i know, it sounds garish, but it actually looked really sweet and nice!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2011
Comfortable Crowd Pleaser
This dress is gorgeous in person and fit my curves perfectly. I have a very curvy figure so I wasn't sure about the sequins. This turned out to be a great choice for my black tie event and I received compliments all night. This is also extremely comfortable and can be worn with a normal bra which is a plus for long events.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2011
Stunning
Love, love, love this dress-- I need to get one for my closet! Wore it with gold heels and felt like a million bucks. Pros: Very comfortable fit, I danced for 6 hours and got compliments all night long. The sequins were an amazing stand-out in the club and in photographs. Tip: Best paired with honey-colored tan
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 13, 2011
Loved It!-
What girl doesn't need a gold sparkly dress? I loved this dress and received more compliments than I ever had wearing any other dress. This was my first RTR rental so I was nervous, but the dress was perfect. I ordered 2 dresses - a size 8 and 6 - which seemed almost identical except for the coloring. The sequins on the size 6 had more brown tones, which I liked. The slit up the back of the dress made spanx a challenge, but it was worth it. (I'm tall, so it's always a challenge.) The dress was comfortable to wear all evening - a big plus in my book. I only wish that I would have ordered accessories because this was so different from other dresses that I wear, I really did not have anything to go with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2012
Great dress, fit beautifully!
I loved this dress and had trouble deciding between this and a different RTR dress. I ended up going with the other one, but want to rent this again for another occasion. Fits beautifully and comfortably. Sexy, but elegant at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2012
I danced all night in this dress and felt gorgeous the whole time!
This was actually my backup dress for a black tie New Year's party, but I loved it so much I changed into it for the after-party. Thank you RTR for sending me two stunning dresses! It fit perfectly and was much more flattering than I imagined it would be. The color is gorgeous - much richer in person than in photos - and it looked great with my skin even though nudes and golds usually wash me out. I wore it with really high nude platform pumps, and I got loads of compliments. The dress it so comfortable and well-fitting that I danced all night in it without ever having to adjust or feeling uncomfortable. This is a dress I would definitely rent again - if I don't end up buying it first!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 21, 2012
Great dress!
Loved the dress. Very flattering and forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 22, 2012
This is a great dress!
The photos of this dress on the model do not do it justice. It is a beautiful dress and fits beautiful. This dress clings in all the right places! I have many people tell me I looked stunning!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2012
Beautiful
Thank you RTR. Received an 8 and 10. Went with the eight. Perfect for my work event. And thanks for suggestions with shoes/accessories.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2012
People even told me that I looked like a princess!
I ordered this dress for my school's formal, and the dress was perfect. It was so much more beautiful in person! I got so many compliments the whole night, and the dress fit very well. My only reservation was that it was a little tight around my shoulders because I am athletic. So if you have broad shoulders in comparison to the rest of your body, you might have to order a size up. The length was also very appropriate, even with my long legs. I love this dress! It made me feel like a princess.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2012
Not for straight and narrow
The beadwork and sequins are beautiful and elegant without being too glitzy. It was comfortable to wear and to dance in. I am "straight and narrow" and this dress made me look like I had no waist. Probably a better dress for curvy types.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2012
Even Prettier in Person
This dress was gorgeous - receieved many compliments throughout the night. It was a little tight around the arms in the two, but the four was a little loose around the waist. The slit in the back puckers a little bit, but I was more worried about it than I should have been, had full coverage even during dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 2, 2012
Dress fit perfectly!
This dress was amazing! It fit perfectly, conforms to your shape, and is really flattering. Great for those who are larger on top. It's true to size, maybe runs a little large so I would go a size down for the second dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
pretty dress, but not for me
This dress was a very pretty color, but the neckline was higher on me than shown in the photo and with my hourglass body I needed more definition to my curves than this dress provided. In the end I went with the other dress I ordered because without any definition I felt like I looked like a sparkly sack of potatoes! I think this dress would be much more alluring on someone very slender or someone who has very extreme curves than I.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 11, 2011
My boyfriend's face when he saw me in my dress.
This was actually my backup dress, but I ended up wearing it because it fit so comfortably and was non-restricting. Great for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
September 12, 2012
AMAZING!! This dress made me feel like a million bucks.
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. I received compliments all night and felt like a million bucks wearing it. I normally wear a 6 in dresses but ordered and 8 in this one just in case, but ended up wearing the 6. It was perfect and wish I actually owned it!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×