Slate & Willow

Margaux Sheath

$35 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Halston Heritage's Hologram Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

400 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 258
Large 70
Photos 272
Klea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

SO many compliments about how great this dress looked on me!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing and perfect for my occasion, senior homecoming. The whole night people were telling me how great it was on my figure. As much as I loved this dress, there were a few problems. The back of the dress was too loose and noticeably hung off of me but a quick fix for that was fashion tape, even though its uncomfortable it does work. The dress was obviously worn out and had missing sequins as well as hanging strings. Also, since this dress is backless you can't wear a bra. I used the "Strapless Adhesive Reveal Bra" that you can buy from this website. If you are bigger chested like me, this dress could be a problem. Though the reveal bra helped, it did not hold my boobs up. It was obvious I wasn't wearing a bra, but I was told it didn't look bad. All these problems weren't noticeable unless you were looking for them though. So overall, this is a great dress.
Maria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

The dress was perfect for my bachelorette party! Sexy and a standout without being over the top!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The length of this dress and the back are so sexy. The shimmer is understated and just adds more glam. Loved wearing this!
Yezenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Sexy Glam Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Okay so I rented this for my bachelorette party in Vegas. Perfect all around. Comfort. Glamorous. Great fit. I usually wear a size 4 and I ended up wearing a size 2.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

This dress comfortable, but I don't recommend for women with larger bust sizes.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was a bit loose and because I have a larger bust size, finding a solution for that was a bit challenging. Overall, it was very comfortable and flattering, but not my favorite RTR dress. Warning: it's pretty short in length, so just be mindful of that!
Grecia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Oct 20, 2014

Great dress and color

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Kept slipping from the back
leeann
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

First sorority crush night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I thought I was going to need the 2 and realized it was way too big on me and the 0 was even a little big. However, everyone loved my dress and I think that because it was not skin tight really made it look classy. I was not able to wear sticky boobs with it because it got too hot but I went bra-less and it was still perfect! Totally recommend this dress.
Kathy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Back is perfect

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Use fashion tape for shoulders! It easily slips off. The tight overall is pretty tight.
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

I was complimented all night long!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my friends' wedding! The bride was even complimenting me on my style choice :) I was a little upset, because I ordered a 2 and a 4, but a 0 would have been perfect, because the shoulders of the dress were falling down. I put some fashion tape around the entire back to keep it from moving and falling, though, and it was perfect! I definitely recommend this dress!
Hannahkatbrown
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

The dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was PERFECT! Loved the dress so much!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was pretty true to size. I ordered both the size 0 and the size 2. The size 0 fit me, however I felt it was a little too short to be comfortable. Therefore, I wore the size 2. The back of the dress was slightly baggy in the size 2, but I had no trouble keeping the sleeves up (like some of the other reviews I read for this dress).
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 31, 2014

I received so many compliments wearing this beautiful dress for a college friend's wedding!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit is pretty true to size; I usually bounce between 2 & 4, the size two fit my shoulder region better being that it is backless so I decided to go with the TWO. Length is just right, being 5'8", I didn't feel like it was too short. The color and low back were my favorite parts! The blue sequences weren't too flashy; I was a little concerned the dress was going to stand out too much (for a wedding), but it was JUST RIGHT! I got so many compliments and couldn't be more happy with my first Rent The Runway experience!
Meagan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Perfect for Vegas!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I should have ordered the size 2 because the shoulder kept falling down. Skirt rides up as well. Double sided work would work as well.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Sparkle dress for my special date night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Ran true to size for me. Loved the color and sparkle!
Susie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Fab dress for Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
True to fit, I found the 6 perfect. I had no issues with the back falling down and didn't use tape. It is short but not unwearably so. Loved this and would definitely rent again!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

PERFECT dress for Vegas...the back is sooo sexy and got a lot of attention at the craps tables!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is truly a gorgeous dress, I wish I owned it! This was my first RTR experience, and I'm now obsessed! I was really impressed with the condition of the dress...when it arrived, it felt as if I had *bought* something (nicely pressed, wrapped, etc). I wasn't sure what to expect, so that was a pleasant surprise. As for the size, I would say it fits true. I have a small frame...but mama's got hips, so (like every other dress in my life), the 2 fit better in the top and the 4 fit better in my hips/but region. But, when in Vegas, always go for the shorter/tighter version, right?! It was the right choice, I wasn't uncomfortable, and let's just say some heads turned when I walked by :)
RTR Customer
Nov 13, 2014

Perfect for Sadie Hawkins dance!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, surprisingly not too short, loved it!
Daniela
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

It was a beautiful dress! I didn't want to take it off!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfect except it opened up a little in the back. I bought some double sided tape and just taped it onto my skin and it looked great. I really recommend this dress!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Nov 16, 2014

I enjoyed wearing a nice dress for a fraction of the price!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got many compliments on the dress. It runs a little short. I am short, so it wasn't a big deal. A+
Alexis
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Fun and flattering dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got tons of compliments! It's pretty short (I'm 5'10"), so I wore it with tights, but it's perfect for a party (as a New Year's Eve party dress it would be awesome!) Both the 4 and 6 fit, but because the 4 was a little tighter, it stayed in place better, so I wore that size.
Alyssa
Age: 23
Nov 18, 2014

Easy rental. Amazing dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Open back was perfect for a formal in Nashville.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Gorgeous Dress & Felt Amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is a winner! I felt amazing in it and received compliments all night from complete strangers. I ordered a 2 and it fit perfectly. It is short but, we were in Vegas so you have to dress for it! The back is beautiful and is a great statement compared to the front. I read a few reviews had issues with the shoulders staying up, but I just put a little fashion tape on each side and didn't have one problem with it. I highly recommend this dress should you want to feel and look gorgeous!
Daryl
Top Contributor
Age: 23
Nov 19, 2014

Perfect for my sorority semi formal!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'1, 115 lbs with a small bust and a large bottom half. The dress fit perfect around my bottom but was loose at the top. I had to use double sided tape to keep the shoulders from falling down. I loved the dress, I just wish is would have fit me better.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Fun night in a super comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a great choice. very comfortable and fit the way I had expected it to for the most part. I've had sequined dresses in the past that left a rash under my arms but this one did not which was nice. The color is very dark and at an event with dimmer lighting it may almost look black. It is does have a relatively short cut so keep that in mind. Also one issue i had was the shoulder had a tendency to fall down if i wasn't careful because of the open back and a slippery liner there wasn't a lot for the dress to hold onto. Overall very satisfied.
Mady Soul
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Right amount of pizzazz!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore another slate & willow dress in the same style and went with the size 4 because the 2 was too short. When I ordered this one I went with the 4 but was surprised to find it actually runs larger and the top kept sliding down. Should have gone with a 2. Other than that, LOVE LOVE LOVE the dress!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Amazing dress!! I got compliments all night long. Fashion tape is a must!!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The shoulders fit a little weird, so I recommend fashion tape. The length was perfect and the back was drop dead gorgeous!
Allie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

It was comfortable and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting, and I would definitely do it again. I don't usually wear this style, but I loved it so much. I got so many compliments and the back of the dress was amazing! 10/10 would rent this again.
Marissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

gorgeous dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great!!! Received a lot of compliments at the wedding and when I went out with friends afterwards (picture). Wore the 8 and I was worried about length because of my booty but it was perfect. Had to use double sided tape for the back and shoulders to lay flat.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

I wore this dress to my formal and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely needs fashion tape to make sure the open back stays but other than that, a very comfortable and great dress!! The cap sleeves showed the fabric underneath at the very edge probably from being quite a bit but you couldn't really tell!
Ingrid
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 15
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

It turn size very comfortable

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Once again very comfortable love this dress I would rent it again
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Perfect for my Bachelorette Party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a great choice for my bachelorette party and I received compliments all night long. The dress is very fitted and I had ordered a size 0 & 2. They both fit relatively the same throughout the body. I selected the 2 to add just a bit more length to the dress. Be warned, it's short! Also - take the advice from others and order the fashion tape strips. This helped keep the shoulders up so I wasn't messing with them all night long. Great dress!!
Faye
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little big in the bust, great fit everywhere else. Pretty true to size. Super comfy.
Kellie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Fun, comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable, but VERY short. I'm only 5'3" and typically wear a size 2, but had to wear the size 4 because otherwise it wouldn't even cover my bottom. That meant that while it was long enough, it kept slipping off my shoulders because it's backless and the top was too big. I'd be nervous to rent if I were very tall and thin, or if you have a booty! Overall, pleased with it though, and got a ton of compliments!
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

A fabulous dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is fantastic! So comfortable and a great fit, though it is a bit short (it worked perfectly for my height though!) You'll obviously need a backless bra and fashion tape, but I would definitely recommend this dress.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

This dress was the perfect for a holiday party!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The dress is super comfortable. I wore a size 2, which fit well in all areas besides the shoulders and back. It was just short enough and didn't ride up on me at all. I probably would have worn a size 0 if it was available because the low cut back (which was gorgeous) needed double sided tape to stay put on me. The shoulder area was the reason it was falling without the tape. For being a sequin dress I was pleasantly surprised by how it was not itchy as well!
beatriz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Such a cute yet simple dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress is so cute, wore it for my bachelorette night out, love the back. Wore the dress with a Nuba bra , the dress fit perfect I tried on the 8 first to see if It could be worn a bit loose but the sleeves fall down if you don't wear the fitted size. Overall happy with the rental
Beth
Top Contributor
Age: 26
Dec 8, 2014

Bright & fun. Perfect for friend's sparkle themed bachelorette party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was short but perfect for the occasion
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Got a lot of compliments! Wore this out in Vegas. Loved the sequins and open back.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved the color and size of this dress - I love short dresses, and this is pretty short. Sequins and color were perfect for a night out in Vegas. My one complaint is that the sleeves out fall off - not a very structured dress, so unless you are standing and perfectly straight backed, the sleeves were loose. Overall a very fun dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Dec 9, 2014

Great Dress.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Like others said the top is big and you need fabric tape but still a show stopper. The 2 and the 4 fit the same but the 2 was shorter so I went with the 4.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

This was my first time renting and I absolutely love the dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 4 was perfect for me. It did not fall off my shoulders and it was not too tight. Honestly, it was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I am so happy I loved the dress! I would definitely rent again!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Love the back but ended up not wearing

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Date
I don't think the shoulders wouldve fallen of that much. The back is sexy and trendy. The length is a little short but still loved that. I don't have much curve in my hips so it made me look very boxy. It probably needed a skinny black belt
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×