Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Margaux Sheath

$35 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Halston Heritage's Hologram Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

421 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 270
Large 73
Photos 290
RTR Customer
Nov 13, 2014

Perfect for Sadie Hawkins dance!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, surprisingly not too short, loved it!
Daniela
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

It was a beautiful dress! I didn't want to take it off!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfect except it opened up a little in the back. I bought some double sided tape and just taped it onto my skin and it looked great. I really recommend this dress!
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Nov 16, 2014

I enjoyed wearing a nice dress for a fraction of the price!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got many compliments on the dress. It runs a little short. I am short, so it wasn't a big deal. A+
Alexis
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Fun and flattering dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got tons of compliments! It's pretty short (I'm 5'10"), so I wore it with tights, but it's perfect for a party (as a New Year's Eve party dress it would be awesome!) Both the 4 and 6 fit, but because the 4 was a little tighter, it stayed in place better, so I wore that size.
Alyssa
Age: 23
Nov 18, 2014

Easy rental. Amazing dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Open back was perfect for a formal in Nashville.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Gorgeous Dress & Felt Amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is a winner! I felt amazing in it and received compliments all night from complete strangers. I ordered a 2 and it fit perfectly. It is short but, we were in Vegas so you have to dress for it! The back is beautiful and is a great statement compared to the front. I read a few reviews had issues with the shoulders staying up, but I just put a little fashion tape on each side and didn't have one problem with it. I highly recommend this dress should you want to feel and look gorgeous!
Daryl
Top Contributor
Age: 23
Nov 19, 2014

Perfect for my sorority semi formal!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'1, 115 lbs with a small bust and a large bottom half. The dress fit perfect around my bottom but was loose at the top. I had to use double sided tape to keep the shoulders from falling down. I loved the dress, I just wish is would have fit me better.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Fun night in a super comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a great choice. very comfortable and fit the way I had expected it to for the most part. I've had sequined dresses in the past that left a rash under my arms but this one did not which was nice. The color is very dark and at an event with dimmer lighting it may almost look black. It is does have a relatively short cut so keep that in mind. Also one issue i had was the shoulder had a tendency to fall down if i wasn't careful because of the open back and a slippery liner there wasn't a lot for the dress to hold onto. Overall very satisfied.
Mady Soul
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Right amount of pizzazz!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore another slate & willow dress in the same style and went with the size 4 because the 2 was too short. When I ordered this one I went with the 4 but was surprised to find it actually runs larger and the top kept sliding down. Should have gone with a 2. Other than that, LOVE LOVE LOVE the dress!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Amazing dress!! I got compliments all night long. Fashion tape is a must!!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The shoulders fit a little weird, so I recommend fashion tape. The length was perfect and the back was drop dead gorgeous!
Allie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

It was comfortable and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting, and I would definitely do it again. I don't usually wear this style, but I loved it so much. I got so many compliments and the back of the dress was amazing! 10/10 would rent this again.
Marissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

gorgeous dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great!!! Received a lot of compliments at the wedding and when I went out with friends afterwards (picture). Wore the 8 and I was worried about length because of my booty but it was perfect. Had to use double sided tape for the back and shoulders to lay flat.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

I wore this dress to my formal and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely needs fashion tape to make sure the open back stays but other than that, a very comfortable and great dress!! The cap sleeves showed the fabric underneath at the very edge probably from being quite a bit but you couldn't really tell!
Ingrid
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 15
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

It turn size very comfortable

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Once again very comfortable love this dress I would rent it again
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Perfect for my Bachelorette Party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a great choice for my bachelorette party and I received compliments all night long. The dress is very fitted and I had ordered a size 0 & 2. They both fit relatively the same throughout the body. I selected the 2 to add just a bit more length to the dress. Be warned, it's short! Also - take the advice from others and order the fashion tape strips. This helped keep the shoulders up so I wasn't messing with them all night long. Great dress!!
Faye
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little big in the bust, great fit everywhere else. Pretty true to size. Super comfy.
Kellie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Fun, comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable, but VERY short. I'm only 5'3" and typically wear a size 2, but had to wear the size 4 because otherwise it wouldn't even cover my bottom. That meant that while it was long enough, it kept slipping off my shoulders because it's backless and the top was too big. I'd be nervous to rent if I were very tall and thin, or if you have a booty! Overall, pleased with it though, and got a ton of compliments!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

A fabulous dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is fantastic! So comfortable and a great fit, though it is a bit short (it worked perfectly for my height though!) You'll obviously need a backless bra and fashion tape, but I would definitely recommend this dress.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

This dress was the perfect for a holiday party!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The dress is super comfortable. I wore a size 2, which fit well in all areas besides the shoulders and back. It was just short enough and didn't ride up on me at all. I probably would have worn a size 0 if it was available because the low cut back (which was gorgeous) needed double sided tape to stay put on me. The shoulder area was the reason it was falling without the tape. For being a sequin dress I was pleasantly surprised by how it was not itchy as well!
beatriz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Such a cute yet simple dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress is so cute, wore it for my bachelorette night out, love the back. Wore the dress with a Nuba bra , the dress fit perfect I tried on the 8 first to see if It could be worn a bit loose but the sleeves fall down if you don't wear the fitted size. Overall happy with the rental
Beth
Top Contributor
Age: 26
Dec 8, 2014

Bright & fun. Perfect for friend's sparkle themed bachelorette party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was short but perfect for the occasion
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Got a lot of compliments! Wore this out in Vegas. Loved the sequins and open back.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved the color and size of this dress - I love short dresses, and this is pretty short. Sequins and color were perfect for a night out in Vegas. My one complaint is that the sleeves out fall off - not a very structured dress, so unless you are standing and perfectly straight backed, the sleeves were loose. Overall a very fun dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Dec 9, 2014

Great Dress.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Like others said the top is big and you need fabric tape but still a show stopper. The 2 and the 4 fit the same but the 2 was shorter so I went with the 4.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

This was my first time renting and I absolutely love the dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 4 was perfect for me. It did not fall off my shoulders and it was not too tight. Honestly, it was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I am so happy I loved the dress! I would definitely rent again!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Love the back but ended up not wearing

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Date
I don't think the shoulders wouldve fallen of that much. The back is sexy and trendy. The length is a little short but still loved that. I don't have much curve in my hips so it made me look very boxy. It probably needed a skinny black belt
Alysia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Super easy and reliable delivery! Great first dress experience!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived a day before my holiday party event. It was really pretty in-person and ran true to size. I did opt for a backless adhesive bra for additional support and some fashion tape to keep the dress in place. This was my first dress with Rent The Runway and I am hooked!
Aileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Cha-Ching!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The dress is short, so you just have to own it! Stand up straight and be confident. I was at a party so I didn't sit down much of at all. I wasn't self-conscious about the length because I was always walking around. If I sat often I would have been concerned due to its length or lack thereof. The back of the dress is the stunner though. Loved it.
Tatiana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Pretty color, delicate sequin, runs big but is comfy and sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This is a very pretty dress, the color is a nice deep blue and the sequins brightens it up. I received many a compliment. It's not a structured dress, it's stretchy so the sizing is generous. I wore a 2 but would of been better off in a zero. It's short but not too short. I'm not very tall so the length was perfect for me. You will most definitely need fashion tape for the back and shoulders and pasties for your boobies. I wore it for a Holiday party and overall I really liked this dress, I felt very pretty and sexy in it.
Marissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

This dress was fun! Perfect for Vegas

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 0 and 2 and went with the 0. It's large on the top so the 2 just slipped off my shoulders way to easily. The 0 fit but it was very short. I'm 5'1" on a good day and even I was worried about the length. I wore it in Vegas though so it was fine! I didn't have a backless bra but it was okay since the dress is somewhat thick. I recommend getting one though. I'd rent this again!
Janel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

The dress was a hit! The fit was perfect and it was just the right amount of sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The backless look was the right amount of sexy that you need for a party. The dress was a little short for my taste, but overall it was so beautiful. I wore a size 2 and it fit like a glove.
Ashlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was super fun to wear and I got tons of compliments. The only downside is that the open back makes it a bit chilly to wear during the winter but other than that, it was an overall great dress.
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Love this dress....got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first time doing RTR and it was a success! I rented this dress for my work Holiday Party. I am literally obsessed with this dress and so was everyone else all night! I have never received so many compliments on a dress in my life. I was a little skeptical about ordering a dress I had never seen or tried on but it fit pretty true to size. I usually wear a 6 or 8 and since this dress was a little tight in the stomach and short I went with the 8 and it fit great. The exposed back was my favorite part.... It made me feel sexy and classy all at the same time. The back did flap open because the top fit looser than the bottom so I just used fashion tape to keep it in place and it worked perfect. I wish I owned this dress, but since I dont I would definitely rent again!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Simple shimmer!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful! It is not tight, doesn't bunch, itch, or fall apart. The back was a little shocking, I had to use fashion tape to make sure the back didn't buckle. It's quite revealing, but very sexy. I would rent this again.
Alicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I have a dress from H&M that is a size 8, usual blouse sizes from H&M are 10 - 12.. I rented this dress in both the size 8 and size 10. The 10 was definitely WAY too big and the 8 was loose; I'm going to say this dress runs big only because it has an open back. If I brought my arms together in the front or slouched, the dress would slip right off my shoulders. I think the 6 would have been a tight fit for me. I should have asked RTR to overnight a smaller size but I wasn't sure it was going to make it on time. I really loved the dress so wore it anyway! My recommendation would be to rent the size you think you are and get another one size down.. Some said the dress was too short but it was a comfortable length to me. I'm 5'2 and 3/4 :)
Lauren
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Skeptical at first!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I was skeptical at first because other renters said that it was very short. It is, but not too short! The backless part was perfect with the help of some fashion tape!
RTR Customer
Jan 1, 2015

Perfect for a nye wedding! Tons of compliments!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'2 and the dress was very short - wore the 8 for length.. The top was big but fashion tape saved the day!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Perfect dress for an amazing NYE party

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This was the second time I rented this dress. Both times I wore the size 2 although the second time it felt a little larger. I almost could have gone down one size but the 2 still fit great. The dress is beautiful, comfortable, and light weight. I would recommend it to anyone.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Great for the holidays!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress is very pretty but very short, so I would suggest sizing up. The open back is pretty, just make sure you have a backless bra or pasties, especially in the winter.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Much tighter than expected

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
After reading the reviews I was sure I'd end up wearing the 6 for the length and to make it more of a sheath dress as opposed to form fitting, but when trying it on the top was way too big. It kept falling off my shoulders even when I wasn't moving and the sleeves would've looked noticeably large. I was very lucky I ordered a size smaller because the 4 fit perfectly on top, and I was able to make it work with the length. Was super short (like couldn't bend over short) and much tighter than I would've liked but all in all was an incredible dress!!!! I got so many amazing compliments from complete strangers and was perfect for New Year's Eve!
Jen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Loved the back & sparkle!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit pretty true, though I was surprised how short it was based on how it looked on much taller models. You will need a backless bra and dress tape. The back wanted to flap around, if you didn't tape it and the shoulders would slip without tape too. Overall a beautiful dress, perfect for a winter wedding, lots of compliments!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×