Slate & Willow

Margaux Sheath

$35 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and Halston Heritage's Hologram Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

379 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 247
Large 66
Photos 262
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dark color and muted sequins in this dress are to die for. I wore it at a wedding with black tights and ankle boots, and it was a real head-turner. I was getting compliments all night! I ordered both a 2 and a 4, and found that while both dresses were the same length, the 2 fit me better up top because I have a small bust. The dress is pretty short, but not too short, and the low back is very sexy. The only (slight) issue I had with this dress was that, because of the low back, it was a little loose on my sides. But overall a great dress!
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

A fabulous dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is fantastic! So comfortable and a great fit, though it is a bit short (it worked perfectly for my height though!) You'll obviously need a backless bra and fashion tape, but I would definitely recommend this dress.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

This dress was the perfect for a holiday party!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The dress is super comfortable. I wore a size 2, which fit well in all areas besides the shoulders and back. It was just short enough and didn't ride up on me at all. I probably would have worn a size 0 if it was available because the low cut back (which was gorgeous) needed double sided tape to stay put on me. The shoulder area was the reason it was falling without the tape. For being a sequin dress I was pleasantly surprised by how it was not itchy as well!
beatriz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Such a cute yet simple dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress is so cute, wore it for my bachelorette night out, love the back. Wore the dress with a Nuba bra , the dress fit perfect I tried on the 8 first to see if It could be worn a bit loose but the sleeves fall down if you don't wear the fitted size. Overall happy with the rental
Beth
Top Contributor
Age: 26
Dec 8, 2014

Bright & fun. Perfect for friend's sparkle themed bachelorette party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was short but perfect for the occasion
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Got a lot of compliments! Wore this out in Vegas. Loved the sequins and open back.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved the color and size of this dress - I love short dresses, and this is pretty short. Sequins and color were perfect for a night out in Vegas. My one complaint is that the sleeves out fall off - not a very structured dress, so unless you are standing and perfectly straight backed, the sleeves were loose. Overall a very fun dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Dec 9, 2014

Great Dress.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Like others said the top is big and you need fabric tape but still a show stopper. The 2 and the 4 fit the same but the 2 was shorter so I went with the 4.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

This was my first time renting and I absolutely love the dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 4 was perfect for me. It did not fall off my shoulders and it was not too tight. Honestly, it was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I am so happy I loved the dress! I would definitely rent again!
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Love the back but ended up not wearing

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Date
I don't think the shoulders wouldve fallen of that much. The back is sexy and trendy. The length is a little short but still loved that. I don't have much curve in my hips so it made me look very boxy. It probably needed a skinny black belt
Alysia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Super easy and reliable delivery! Great first dress experience!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived a day before my holiday party event. It was really pretty in-person and ran true to size. I did opt for a backless adhesive bra for additional support and some fashion tape to keep the dress in place. This was my first dress with Rent The Runway and I am hooked!
Aileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Cha-Ching!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The dress is short, so you just have to own it! Stand up straight and be confident. I was at a party so I didn't sit down much of at all. I wasn't self-conscious about the length because I was always walking around. If I sat often I would have been concerned due to its length or lack thereof. The back of the dress is the stunner though. Loved it.
Tatiana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Pretty color, delicate sequin, runs big but is comfy and sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This is a very pretty dress, the color is a nice deep blue and the sequins brightens it up. I received many a compliment. It's not a structured dress, it's stretchy so the sizing is generous. I wore a 2 but would of been better off in a zero. It's short but not too short. I'm not very tall so the length was perfect for me. You will most definitely need fashion tape for the back and shoulders and pasties for your boobies. I wore it for a Holiday party and overall I really liked this dress, I felt very pretty and sexy in it.
Marissa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

This dress was fun! Perfect for Vegas

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 0 and 2 and went with the 0. It's large on the top so the 2 just slipped off my shoulders way to easily. The 0 fit but it was very short. I'm 5'1" on a good day and even I was worried about the length. I wore it in Vegas though so it was fine! I didn't have a backless bra but it was okay since the dress is somewhat thick. I recommend getting one though. I'd rent this again!
Janel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

The dress was a hit! The fit was perfect and it was just the right amount of sexy.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The backless look was the right amount of sexy that you need for a party. The dress was a little short for my taste, but overall it was so beautiful. I wore a size 2 and it fit like a glove.
Ashlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was super fun to wear and I got tons of compliments. The only downside is that the open back makes it a bit chilly to wear during the winter but other than that, it was an overall great dress.
Courtney
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Love this dress....got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first time doing RTR and it was a success! I rented this dress for my work Holiday Party. I am literally obsessed with this dress and so was everyone else all night! I have never received so many compliments on a dress in my life. I was a little skeptical about ordering a dress I had never seen or tried on but it fit pretty true to size. I usually wear a 6 or 8 and since this dress was a little tight in the stomach and short I went with the 8 and it fit great. The exposed back was my favorite part.... It made me feel sexy and classy all at the same time. The back did flap open because the top fit looser than the bottom so I just used fashion tape to keep it in place and it worked perfect. I wish I owned this dress, but since I dont I would definitely rent again!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Simple shimmer!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful! It is not tight, doesn't bunch, itch, or fall apart. The back was a little shocking, I had to use fashion tape to make sure the back didn't buckle. It's quite revealing, but very sexy. I would rent this again.
Alicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I have a dress from H&M that is a size 8, usual blouse sizes from H&M are 10 - 12.. I rented this dress in both the size 8 and size 10. The 10 was definitely WAY too big and the 8 was loose; I'm going to say this dress runs big only because it has an open back. If I brought my arms together in the front or slouched, the dress would slip right off my shoulders. I think the 6 would have been a tight fit for me. I should have asked RTR to overnight a smaller size but I wasn't sure it was going to make it on time. I really loved the dress so wore it anyway! My recommendation would be to rent the size you think you are and get another one size down.. Some said the dress was too short but it was a comfortable length to me. I'm 5'2 and 3/4 :)
Lauren
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Skeptical at first!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I was skeptical at first because other renters said that it was very short. It is, but not too short! The backless part was perfect with the help of some fashion tape!
RTR Customer
Jan 1, 2015

Perfect for a nye wedding! Tons of compliments!!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'2 and the dress was very short - wore the 8 for length.. The top was big but fashion tape saved the day!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Perfect dress for an amazing NYE party

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This was the second time I rented this dress. Both times I wore the size 2 although the second time it felt a little larger. I almost could have gone down one size but the 2 still fit great. The dress is beautiful, comfortable, and light weight. I would recommend it to anyone.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Great for the holidays!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress is very pretty but very short, so I would suggest sizing up. The open back is pretty, just make sure you have a backless bra or pasties, especially in the winter.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Much tighter than expected

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
After reading the reviews I was sure I'd end up wearing the 6 for the length and to make it more of a sheath dress as opposed to form fitting, but when trying it on the top was way too big. It kept falling off my shoulders even when I wasn't moving and the sleeves would've looked noticeably large. I was very lucky I ordered a size smaller because the 4 fit perfectly on top, and I was able to make it work with the length. Was super short (like couldn't bend over short) and much tighter than I would've liked but all in all was an incredible dress!!!! I got so many amazing compliments from complete strangers and was perfect for New Year's Eve!
Jen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Loved the back & sparkle!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit pretty true, though I was surprised how short it was based on how it looked on much taller models. You will need a backless bra and dress tape. The back wanted to flap around, if you didn't tape it and the shoulders would slip without tape too. Overall a beautiful dress, perfect for a winter wedding, lots of compliments!
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect dress for New Years Eve party. Just the right amount of sparkle without being too short!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great back, but requires a strapless/backless bra option. Loved the fit. I was more comfortable wearing the 6 instead of the 4 as the dress is short, but not too short. It was perfect and I received compliments all night!
RTR Customer
Jan 5, 2015

Dress was very comfortable

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
True to size and was comfortable. It was a little short for my liking though. Kept having to pull it down.
teresa
Age: 27
Jan 5, 2015

I felt so sexy and incredible in this dress! It fit perfectly! Cant wait for more weddings to wow at

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was surprised that I needed to wear a size 0. I usually wear a 2 or 4. Definitely runs a little large. Not really any damage or wear on the dress. Even though it was backless, I still felt secure. Received many compliments throughout the night!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Beautiful statement dress with a lot of sexy.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was very flattering... the back is very open so wearing a sticky bra or no bra is a must. Loved the dress- it was perfect for a birthday celebration. Got so many compliments... You can't go wrong!
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

A simple easy to wear dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR dress, and overall i was satisfied and will most likely rent for other special events. I picked this dress for new years eve in buffalo ny (probably should have gone with long sleeve, but thats my own fault) The difference between the 2 and 4 were minimal, but i found the dress to be awfully short. I'm 5'3 and theres no way i could bend over. The fabric was not what i was expecting but was extremely comfortable and stretchy. I also didnt have too much of an issue with the sleeves falling down, but to be on the safe side i placed some double stick on my shoulders. The only thing that was discouraging was the color, the picture on the website makes it look like a dark slate blue, but the actual dress is more of a brighter blue.
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Fun, comfortable dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years & really enjoyed it. The low back is well-balanced by the high neck. It was a little short for comfort so I wore it with tights to be safe.
Rachel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Stunning dress, couldn't have felt more confident!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect amount of sparkle, received tons of compliments, fit perfectly, looks super classy, is a little short, but so cute! Wish I could have kept the dress, it was my first order with RTR and it was the most perfect experience! Definitely recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look fabulous.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Cute party dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This dress is super cute and fun! I got a lot of compliments. I prefer the off white and gold version of this dress, which is why I gave this 4 stars instead of 5. The fabric used for this one seemed a bit thinner. I didn't wear a bra, but maybe I should have! The other one was thick enough that going bra-less was not an issue. I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding because it is extremely short. But if you're shorter maybe it would be okay. Cute sparkly dress! You can't beat the price!! Love rtr
Kourtnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is really beautiful and so unique with the low back. As a warning though as others have mentioned it is SUPER short! I wore it to a semi-formal and was slightly concerned with how short it was although it ended up working perfectly, I just had to pair it with shorter heels. Also the material is not as substantial as it appears in the photo... It is more of a cottony material with small, thin sequins, but it was still gorgeous on. Definitely size down as even the zero still had some room in the back around the waist. Overall it was a perfect choice for the night and I definitely received a ton of compliments. I also rented the earrings shown in the picture and they were gorgeous and the perfect finishing touch! :)
Jenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jan 20, 2015

Great color & so classy!!!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress!! The color is perfect. Fashion tape would definitely help hold the back & shoulders in place - but I didn't wear any & I was fine. Runs short - I'm 5'3 & the 2 fit well but I wore the 4 for length. Great for any cocktail party!! I would definitely rent again!!!!
Ellen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

Amazing... I wish that I owned it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a holiday party and loved it. It was the perfect mix between elegant and sexy. The dress fit true to size everywhere except in the shoulder area - it was a little big there and gapped oddly with some movements (there was dancing involved), it was not noticeable though. The dress hit my upper thigh but was fitted all the way down so I didn't have to worry about it coming up too high. I fell in love with this dress. I would recommend it to anyone!
Mariah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Junior prom

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was quiet short on me, but other than that the dress fitted perfectly.
j
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 15
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

flattering, but big in the back

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'2" and this dress was a nice fit in the from but was loose and gaped in the back. With a lot of tape and conscious effort throughout the night, it worked. Despite the strange fit, the dress was flattering and worked well with me being short.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Va Va Voom!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful. The color is stunning and is a real head turner. I wore this to a Persian birthday party bash (which are extremely lavish and impressive) and felt great in it. If you don't get the importance of looking good when invited to an event like this, please ask a Persian friend. ;) This dress runs a little small and so I ordered up a size, which was the way to go. It is a bit short, but I still danced in it without any issue and felt very comfortable the entire evening. I did not get a great photo to share (sorry!) but I wanted to show that in the evening & outdoors you can see the sparkle and color well. Even the mermaid (yes... there was a mermaid there) I took this photo with complimented me on the dress!
RTR Customer
Feb 15, 2015

Great dress! Very sexy in a sophisticated way.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Date
At first was nervous it was going to be way too small, but got it and fit perfect! Reviews recommended fashion tape and sticky bra, I used neither and it was just fine. Length was perfect too.
Jess
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Feb 23, 2015

So comfortable and flawless!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
People were right it was not itchy. I heard it ran small but i did not have that issue. It was pretty stretch fabric. Great way to not wear the typical LBD.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×