Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Margaux Sheath

$35 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

431 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 276
Large 74
Photos 300
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Fun, comfortable dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years & really enjoyed it. The low back is well-balanced by the high neck. It was a little short for comfort so I wore it with tights to be safe.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Stunning dress, couldn't have felt more confident!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect amount of sparkle, received tons of compliments, fit perfectly, looks super classy, is a little short, but so cute! Wish I could have kept the dress, it was my first order with RTR and it was the most perfect experience! Definitely recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look fabulous.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Cute party dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This dress is super cute and fun! I got a lot of compliments. I prefer the off white and gold version of this dress, which is why I gave this 4 stars instead of 5. The fabric used for this one seemed a bit thinner. I didn't wear a bra, but maybe I should have! The other one was thick enough that going bra-less was not an issue. I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding because it is extremely short. But if you're shorter maybe it would be okay. Cute sparkly dress! You can't beat the price!! Love rtr
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is really beautiful and so unique with the low back. As a warning though as others have mentioned it is SUPER short! I wore it to a semi-formal and was slightly concerned with how short it was although it ended up working perfectly, I just had to pair it with shorter heels. Also the material is not as substantial as it appears in the photo... It is more of a cottony material with small, thin sequins, but it was still gorgeous on. Definitely size down as even the zero still had some room in the back around the waist. Overall it was a perfect choice for the night and I definitely received a ton of compliments. I also rented the earrings shown in the picture and they were gorgeous and the perfect finishing touch! :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jan 20, 2015

Great color & so classy!!!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress!! The color is perfect. Fashion tape would definitely help hold the back & shoulders in place - but I didn't wear any & I was fine. Runs short - I'm 5'3 & the 2 fit well but I wore the 4 for length. Great for any cocktail party!! I would definitely rent again!!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

Amazing... I wish that I owned it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a holiday party and loved it. It was the perfect mix between elegant and sexy. The dress fit true to size everywhere except in the shoulder area - it was a little big there and gapped oddly with some movements (there was dancing involved), it was not noticeable though. The dress hit my upper thigh but was fitted all the way down so I didn't have to worry about it coming up too high. I fell in love with this dress. I would recommend it to anyone!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Junior prom

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was quiet short on me, but other than that the dress fitted perfectly.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

flattering, but big in the back

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'2" and this dress was a nice fit in the from but was loose and gaped in the back. With a lot of tape and conscious effort throughout the night, it worked. Despite the strange fit, the dress was flattering and worked well with me being short.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Va Va Voom!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful. The color is stunning and is a real head turner. I wore this to a Persian birthday party bash (which are extremely lavish and impressive) and felt great in it. If you don't get the importance of looking good when invited to an event like this, please ask a Persian friend. ;) This dress runs a little small and so I ordered up a size, which was the way to go. It is a bit short, but I still danced in it without any issue and felt very comfortable the entire evening. I did not get a great photo to share (sorry!) but I wanted to show that in the evening & outdoors you can see the sparkle and color well. Even the mermaid (yes... there was a mermaid there) I took this photo with complimented me on the dress!
RTR Customer
Feb 15, 2015

Great dress! Very sexy in a sophisticated way.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Date
At first was nervous it was going to be way too small, but got it and fit perfect! Reviews recommended fashion tape and sticky bra, I used neither and it was just fine. Length was perfect too.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Feb 23, 2015

So comfortable and flawless!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
People were right it was not itchy. I heard it ran small but i did not have that issue. It was pretty stretch fabric. Great way to not wear the typical LBD.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 28, 2015

So comfy, easy, and sparkly for NYE!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love these Slate & Willow backless dresses. They're incredibly comfortable yet form fitting and I always get tons of compliments. The navy sequins were beautiful.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

I rented this for my 30th birthday in Vegas. Perfect little party dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was a bit big, as I expected it to be but with a little ingenuity I got it to fit. It looked great and I felt wonderful in it all night. The sequins can be a little itchy by the neckline, but nothing I couldn't easily ignore. Shorter than I thought it would be but was actually pleasantly surprised by that. Husband loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 10, 2015

Showstopper....got a shoutout and a drumstick from the band!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my 45th birthday party at a club where my favorite 80's cover band was playing. Worn with thigh-high black platform boots and a beehive updo, I felt like one of the B-52's! Tons of compliments on the dress....it was comfortable, flattering and glamorous for a very low rental price. Because the back is so low, I secured the shoulders and sides with fashion tape and danced the night away. I love Slate & Willow dresses, they look like a million bucks!
RTR Customer
Age: 27
Mar 24, 2015

The sequins were perfect for a vegas bachelorette!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I went with the larger size (8) because the 6 was so so short. It was looser, but still so comfortable and easy to wear! I would love to own this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

Fantastic dress! Super cute and flattering. Got compliments all night long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got both the 2 and the 4. I ended up wearing the 4. I usually wear a 2, and it fit, but if you are over 5'4", there is no way that you can sit in the 2. The 4 is only marginally bigger, so not obviously too big, but an inch or so longer, so less danger of a wardrobe problem. I didn't have any issues with the back not staying with my body and didn't wear a bra. The sequins are not itchy at all either.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

The dress was great, perfect for a high school senior homecoming!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was super comfortable! The fabric was not what I was expecting but it looked great on. It was a little loose so I chose to wear a smaller size! The open back dipped to the perfect spot!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Apr 5, 2015

Wedding in AZ

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually get a size 4 but this was a bit big on me so had to size down. Had to tape the sides but otherwise great fit! Doesn't cling, fabric hides tummy which is nice. Wore in hot AZ and was not uncomfortable although it is thicker fabric. I had no issues with sequence scratching or anything. I disliked the padding on the shoulders. Would rent again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

Loved this dress! I wore it to my sorority's formal party and I received compliments on it all night

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs a little big, I had to go down a size because the shoulders kept slipping down
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Apr 11, 2015

Really fun dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to men's cotillion and got lots of compliments! Very comfortable. It was a lot shorter than I anticipated. Being 5'3", things are normally longer on me. I tried the 2 on, but it was the same length as the 0, so I went with the smaller size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Hot little number!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The size 2 fit like a glove but was way too short. The 4 was a little big on top but a good length. Super happy with it! The back was beautiful and the material wasn't scratchy at all. No bra needed!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

This dress was perfect for my bachelorette party! It was comfortable and had great wow factor!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit totally true to size. It was a short dress but it was exactly what I expected in terms of length, nothing too scandalous but perfect for a fun night out dancing!
RTR Customer
Apr 16, 2015

Dress is amazing!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
The back of the dress is completely backless. You can't wear a bra with this dress. It is very very short but worked well for a night out at Vegas. Not sure I could wear it for a work event or wedding. The 4 for better on the bottom because I like the length but the 2 for better on top. Had to go with the 2 because the top can easily fall down. Love this dress. Fabric is great, very comfortable. Highly recommend.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Formal for my sorority

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress! It wasn't tight which was my main concern with ordering it because it looked like it may be too form fitting. I have a little stomach and I'm a 38D/DD and it fit great. The sleeves were alittle big but not a big deal. I got a 10 and a 12 but the 12's sleeves were way to big.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

I wore this to my sorority's Fire&Ice formal!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got so many compliments on the dress, and it was a great fit--true to size. I knew the dress needed fashion tape based on past reviews, and Rent the Runway is AWESOME and provided a sample pack in the box the dresses came in. It was a very pleasant surprise, and shows how awesome the site really is. I gave a 4/5 because the back is a little loose and when dancing it can be a little annoying. All in all, I had a great experience and will definitely be renting from them again :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

Love the unique back and the jersey fit

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Perfect for my bachelorette dinner! Wore with beautiful rented earrings and my nude heels. Loved the fabric - not itchy, comfortable, didn't ride up. Didn't notice the unique tufted/capped sleeves but they worked great
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Cute dress! kinda short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a sorority formal and it was really cute! It was a little bit on the short side though! I also needed fashion tape to keep the back in place. The shoulders of the dress kinda of pulled tightly at your armpits as well. However, its very fun to wear! Overall, its really cute and I would recommend renting it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 5, 2015

Perfect for an awards show!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I picked the dress up at the Georgetown store and was pleased by the easy pick-up process. Upon going home and trying on the dress, the 10 was MUCH too large and was practically falling off my shoulders, which was odd as I normally wear a 10. The 8 fit much better, but it does tend to run short. It was still large and needed adjusting, due to the open back. Note: it is almost impossible to wear a bra with this dress and it is not lined very well so be prepared to invest in some Hollywood tap or a sticky bra. Overall, loved loved loved the dress and got compliments on it all evening, but I wish I had known it ran so large.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 9, 2015

Perfect first RTR purchase!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was so great! So comfortable and so so pretty, i rented it for a high school prom. Got compliments all night and it was so easy to move in. The low back was not that low and fit almost perfectly, did not even have to use fashion tape! Wish I could have bought this dress, overall amazing dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2015

Cute, fun dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is short. I was worried at first and thought of sending it back but my husband assured me it looked good. I did not use the tape that other people suggested for the back of the dress, but should've. It wasn't too bad but I had to pull the shoulders up a few times while dancing. Maybe if I wore the 4 I wouldn't need to but I was afraid of it being too short. Dress was very cute and fun and I received a lot of compliments. I really liked how it was fitted but not tight. I was a little bloated and still enjoyed cocktail hour in this dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 14, 2015

Flirty and Fabulous! Perfect dress for a night out!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette in Vegas and it was the prefect Vegas dress! The fit was not too short, it was a little large in the shoulders, but overall it fit well! I was hesitant about wearing a backless dress but the back was flattering and didn't show off too much. The sequins are not too flashy but it definitely gives the perfect amount of sparkle.
RTR Customer
Age: 41
May 18, 2015

Perfect dress for Vegas! Classy but sexy with the open back. Super comfortable too.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I'm only 5' so I can only imagine how short this would be on someone taller. I loved the length on me. I used a little bit of fabric tape on the shoulders and it stayed up all night even during vigorous dancing. I got a lot of compliments! I want to own it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172 lbs
May 18, 2015

Fun to wear for Vegas Night life.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: It fit my hips comfortably, and it helped to be stretchy material. Cons: It was short, I don't know if it's because my hips and butt are big, but it was previously mentioned in reviews. As well as the top was alittle big, but I don't have much breast. These two were mentioned in previous comments, but I think the dressed worked out perfect.
RTR Customer
Age: 30
May 19, 2015

Beautiful dress! I wish I could have kept it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very short...especially if your leggy like I am! But the fabric is heavy enough that you don't have to mess with pulling down all night. Just watch how you sit or bend over :) I am very small chested and I just wore with a back-less stick on bra I found at Target. I was fine wearing without taping it in place. The cap sleeves stayed in place just find. Super comfortable and I received compliments all night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
May 25, 2015

Sequins for Vegas!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Vacation
Similar to other reviewers, this dress was quite short! I still wore it with heels, since it was Vegas after all, but I was very cognizant of where it was all night. The back was fun with the wide opening and a sticky bra worked just fine. I used some fashion tape to keep the shoulders in place a bit better, but all the moving around ended up rendering the tape useless. Overall it was a fun dress and I'd recommend it, just maybe not for a family wedding : )
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

New Years Eve Dress Success

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit PERFECTLY! It was a great outfit for the occassion (Ritzy NYE Party in Downtown Chigaco). I got compliments all night long. It was form fitting but very comfortable, even able to dance in it. I was able to have it delivered while I was on vacation and didn't have to travel with it, RTR did awesome!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 14
Body type: Petite
Jun 3, 2015

I received so many compliments!!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
No matter what size you are, I recommend fashion tape.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jun 5, 2015

RTR

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
I had rented another slate and willow dress and loved the fit. This rental was a little short and the arm area was a little big and kept having to pull it up since it was backless and wasn't wearing a bra. Not sure if it was stretched out or this just ran a little different from my other rental. It was cute by not sure I'd rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 12, 2015

Senior sorority formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my sorority formal. Honestly, it wasn't as short as everyone made it out to be. I always wear a six and the six fit fine. I didn't use fashion tape for the shoulders but they didn't really slip much - just had to adjust when I stood up from sitting (which I almost always do anyway). LOVED it overall and got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Awesome first Rent the Runway experience, fantastic dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using RTR. I rented this dress very last minute and didn't have super high expectations. Besides price, which could be a tiny bit lower overall on the RTR, RTR exceeded my expectations. This dress was fabulous. When it arrived, I thought it looked a little worn. But when I put it on, I realized the difference between wearing a cheaply made dress and a designer dress, and it didn't look worn-- the fit and materials are of such higher quality, it really makes the difference. I got so many compliments on this dress all night. I wore it with a sticky bra and I also feel that the dress was really flattering in that I didn't look like I had the minimal support that I did have. It still made the chest area look fine even without a traditional bra. Additionally, other customers reported that the back felt nonsecure or that they couldn't move in the dress without having the fabric move around oddly, but I didn't feel that way at all. I felt totally at ease and comfortable in this dress, and I am usually pretty picky. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×