Slate & Willow

Margaux Sheath

$30 – $35 rental
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
688 reviews
Fit
Large
(89)
True to Size
(410)
Small
(51)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
December 17, 2016
Sequins in Miami
Absolutely loved this dress! It fit perfect and they got so many compliments. Love the sexy back and the material was really soft on the inside even though sequins
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 15, 2016
Holiday Party 2016
I wore this for a company holiday party and got SO many compliments. I wish I had taken a picture of myself in the dress, but it was a whirlwind evening. It was a little loose on me near the shoulders, but I think if I had a bigger chest, the dress would have had something to cling to and would have been less loose. The looseness wasn't bothersome, though. I would say that it is a little on the short side, but I wore the dress with sheer black stockings, so I wasn't very self-conscious of it and didn't find myself pulling it down as much as I thought. All in all, another GREAT dress rental and one I would totally recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2016
Loved this dress! I wore the 6, though the 4 would have worked. Renting this one again!
Definitely short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2016
So many compliments on this dress!
I wore this to my a company holiday party in San Diego. I ordered the 6, it did not come in time so ended up having an 8 overnighted to me. This dress is definitely short as people have already said but it is so beautiful! I would have done better in the 6 since I am small up top. Wearing the 8 was a little bit loose and the sleeves fell down a few times. But I loved this dress too much to care. The sequins didnt bother me and it was just enough sparkle for the night. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2016
You can't go wrong with a navy sequin dress!
I loved this dress! The cut out back was so flattering on. I received a ton of compliments! I rented both a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 2. The 2 was a little baggy around the shoulders and back, but if I had worn the 0 it would've been way too short. The other reviews on this dress are correct, it is definitely short, but nothing I was uncomfortable with. Another good thing about this dress is that it wasn't itchy as sequin dresses tend to be. Overall, a great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 6, 2016
This dress is cute for Vegas with the girls
It was WAY TOO SHORT for a work holiday party, not classy enough way way tooo short. I could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
December 2, 2016
Cute and Comfy!
Pros: Beautiful color, sparkle, and very comfy -- the sequins did not itch or pinch. For me the length was a pro bc I am very short, but this would be VERY short on a taller person. I had to even keep pulling it down at times. Also, I am bigger bust and had no issue not wearing a bra. Cons: For taller ppl, length might be an issue. Also, if you don't feel comfy NOT wearing a bra, this might be an issue as it is an open back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2016
All-around perfection!
The dress fit well, looked like the photos, and the shipment came on-time. So happy with this rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2016
Felt sexy & confident all night long in this dress!
Fit true to size, super comfortable and flattering. So many compliments on the open back and the color. My girlfriends are still talking about this dress. Photographed well.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
November 10, 2016
The dress
It fit great! Looked just as good as in the pictures! Was comfortable to wear for hours
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
November 1, 2016
Adorable and a Little Scandalous
I read the reviews and didn't size-up: my largest part is my rib cage and shoulders, and since this is open-back, I can usually size down. That was true for this dress, as well. The 8 was comfortable, but like another reviewer, the dress had gaps at the back and the shoulders felt like they wanted to slip. If I had a larger chest or tummy, I would have gone with the 8 and just used garment tape without any issues. The 6 worked perfectly, though. Great for athletic body-types. And anyone with legs for days (not me). I wore this dress to a cocktail event and dinner with my husband. I played it down by wearing it with a pair of black slip-on leather sneakers. The blue is closer to a true blue than navy, so it worked. The open back was great and I got many compliments on the dress (mostly how sparkly it was). I don't mind short outfits, especially since I'm pretty short overall, but there was a definite breeze that had me grabbing for the back of the dress a few times. I almost wore this one out the next night, too, to a different event; I liked it so much. Will definitely rent again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 20
October 30, 2016
This was such a beautiful dress! It felt and looked expensive.
It was tight, but it was also stretchy enough so I did not suffocate. The only thing I did not like about it was the height and how loose it fit on my shoulders. I wanted a good length and a tight fit so that it would not keep falling off my shoulders. In the end, I had to compromise a good fit on the top for length. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and the only difference between the two was how it fit on top. The 2 was obviously a bit tighter but I went with the 4 purely because it was a little bit longer. I had to use fashion tape and move very consciously so as not to flash everyone, because I did not wear a bra. However, I loved it and loved my experience with RTR. Will definitely rent again!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2016
It was ok
The dress fit well and I had rented a similar style before but I wasn't that impressed with the sequins look once it was on
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2016
Vegas glam
Wore this dress for a night out in Vegas with friends. Fit true to size (I am 5'6", 115, 32C), and although usually sequined dresses are scratchy this was not. I didn't use tape to hold the back in place but might recommend it. I did not wear a bra or anything underneath it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 23, 2016
This was perfect for my company party at an Atlanta club. Super cute and sexy at the same time!
I wore the 2 to the party. Just like the other reviews said, the 0 was a little skimpy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
October 23, 2016
Great dress, many compliments!
This dress was perfect. I ordered a 4 and 6 just to be safe. Although the top on the 4 fit perfectly, the bottom on the 6 was more shapely around my hips. The back was beautiful and I didn't need to use fashion tape but would recommend tape if you are going to dance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 18, 2016
-short and sexy
-LOVED the open back -short for dancing -sticky bra or no bra- your choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2016
I wore this to my senior homecoming and this dress was perfect for the event!
This dress fit exactly how it said it would; it was very short but I wore spandex underneath and never had a problem with the length. The open back was beautiful. I used fashion tape on the edges to hold the back of the dress down tighter and to make sure it would not fall of my shoulders while I was dancing. I did not wear a bra, with my size bust it was no problem. I could easily dance and move around in this dress. Overall, this was a great dress with subtle sequins! I would rent again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
October 14, 2016
Perfect for a night out in Vegas!
Wore this out on the town in Vegas and it was just the right thing. The lining is stretch so it's very comfortable and not itchy like sequins tend to be. The backless look is beautiful and was a good way to show some skin without going overboard - but also means no bra. My only complaint was that it was very short but it stayed in place pretty well so I didn't have to keep pulling it down all night. Loved wearing it and got a lot of compliments!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
October 11, 2016
Amazing fit and feel!!
Perfect for a Vegas weekend with the girls!! You really do need a sticky bra from Target and some fashion tape so the back doesn't gap, but this dress is amazing!! Felt great on too. I am short and it was really short but I was careful not to bend over and it was totally fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 10, 2016
My bachelorette party!
Great dress - definitely short, but okay if you don't expect to sit much all night. My second time renting this designer - big fan! I rented the 2 and 0; 2 was a little longer but would have fallen off my shoulders all night. I'm small-busted, so I skipped a bra and had no issues. Very fun for a bachelorette party (white dresses are so overdone!).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 9, 2016
Pretty dress
Ok I really liked how the dress looked and got compliments all night. However, I was SO UNCOMFORTABLE with how loose the top was. I purchased fashion tape to help keep the sleeves on but it failed me and didn't stick. I spent the night worrying more about if my top was going to fall down than enjoying the night. The length was short but looked great. Overall, glad I rented, just wish there was a better option to make it feel more secure. I wore a nubra but there is enough coverage to go braless. Beautiful color, perfect amount of sparkle.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2016
Fun sequin dress
Fun party dress! Sequin effect was more subtle than the photo, which I liked. Stretchy fabric, very comfortable, and the plunging back was so sexy. Only problem was a tendency for the shoulders of the dress to slip.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2016
My daughter's Junior Homecoming with her friends and a great guy.
We ordered a 2 and 4 as her backup. The 2 fit perfectly but was way too short for my 16 - and her father! The 4 fit very well and provided the right amount of extra length. The larger size did offer just a little more room in the back but it was not an issue whatsoever. This was our first time using RTR but will not be our last. My daughter looked spectacular and the dress simply beautiful.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 45
September 21, 2016
Loved this dress!!!! It was so comfortable and sleek and elegant at the same time.
I went with bare legs but stockings are probably not a good idea, the sequins would snag them up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
September 15, 2016
Sexy, fun, and sparkles
The dress is definitely very short. However, it was just loose enough to be form fitting but not to ride up, so the length wasn't an issue at all. I danced the night away with no problems. I love the open back and was able to simply go braless. The quality of the sequins and their attachment to material was great; it didn't look or feel gimmicky / cheap. Overall, a great rent. I loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 12, 2016
Great holiday party dress! Felt like a sparkling beauty!
Rented this dress for a holiday party. The sequins were not too uncomfortable. The dress is very stretchy and works well for curvy shapes. I definitely needs spanx though. I only gave 4 stars because the back of the dress was a bit loose and needed fashion tape to hold it in place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
September 6, 2016
Sparkle through the Night!
This was a beautiful dress! I got comments all night about how beautiful the dress was! Be sure to wear with a sticky bra if you need the extra support, however it can be worn without a bra as well. The dress does run small, I normally wear a 6, but this dress is really short! I had to size up because the dress didn't cover my bottom! Also this dress also sits very high on your leg, which is looks great standing but rides up high when sitting, just be careful, or wear spandex. Overall, loved this dress and would totally rent again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2016
Bachelorette Party Perfection!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party in downtown Baltimore and it was absolutely perfect. I ordered the 2 and the 4, and both fit, but the 4 was definitely more comfortable. Overall, the dress was stretchy, soft, and well-lined so the sequins didn't itch. I'm not comfortable going braless, but I wore a sticky bra and had no problems at all! I agree with other reviewers that the dress is SHORT, but it was the perfect length for a fun night of going out. It was hard to send this back! I'd definitely order again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 30DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2016
Used item for a Fraternity Christmas Party.
Fit really well! True to size, was not worried about it riding up through the night. Spandex was flexible, making it easy to move around in. I am short, but full busted (30F) & even though it was backless it was tight enough for me to get away without wearing a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
August 17, 2016
Perfect dress to see Britney in Vegas!
A little loose on the sleeves and very short, but perfect for Vegas!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
August 13, 2016
Glamorous!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it looked just as gorgeous as it did online. I got tons of compliments from just about everyone as well. It is pretty short but it pairs nicely with tights if you're uncomfortable with the length and thankfully it doesn't ride up so I didn't have to keep pulling it down. I didn't have any problems with the back either. It's a very flattering/stunning dress and sooooo comfortable. I really loved the light material; it was the perfect dress for a night of dancing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2016
Really comfortable short sequin dress!
Wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party. Really comfortable and true to size, lined which is great because you can't wear a bra. Short but fun! I'd advise wearing fashion tape near the shoulders so they don't move around. I had so much fun in this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
August 7, 2016
Fun little dress
Dress was great and got lots of compliments. Liked that the front was high with the low back. Reviews were very accurate. The 4 fit a little longer but the would slide off my shoulders so went with a 2. Worked well but dancing was hard with the length of the skirt. This was my first RTR rental and am already renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Weight: 150lbs
August 2, 2016
Stunning Dress!
Dress was a beauty! Great shade of navy blue- very simple clean dress, but the plunging back and sequins make for the perfect combination of classy sexy. This dress was a hit! I'm wearing the size 8- the 6 fit as well, however I found the 8 gave me slightly more length. My only complaint about this dress would be the length being on the short side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2016
Elegant, yet sexy.
This is a beautiful dress. The exposed back really makes the whole look pop. You will definitely need a self-adhering bra (or no bra at all.) It's very complimentary to women with fuller hips and thighs! The blue sequins are smaller sized, and they don't seem to pull or rip off easily. It did not scratch or irritate my skin at all the entire night. It is a little short, but it also did not ride up, so that was a positive. I love that it's a little bit classy and a little bit sexy altogether. Perfect for a Vegas night out/bachelorette party!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
July 31, 2016
Drop dead stunner
It was a little short, but I love that feeling. It was a perfect dress for my formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2016
Short & loose
This dress is so short and the open back makes it difficult for the sleeves to stay on you shoulders. Def need double sided tape! Other than that, it looks really cute!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
July 19, 2016
A designer dress that stood out among other budget conscious choices worn at a bachelorette party.
Gorgeous dress that I wore for a bachelorette party. Definitely felt like I stood out. Was shorter than expected so bending over was out (not so good for ubering) as were arm raises which I looove to do when dancing. My loophole for the lack of bra was to wear a bralette with a seamless strap that didn't aesthetically detract from the dress. I chose this dress because I didn't think it had that bodycon like style that would require my stomach to be super flat but fitting enough for dancing so that my barely there curves and moves weren't visible. It was slightly more fitted than expected but it was what I wanted in the end. I ended up getting sizes 2 and 4 and wore the size 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
July 8, 2016
I stood out without being over the top.
The dress was amazing. More beautiful in person. I wore it to a nice dinner in Vegas and got so many compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×