Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Margaux Sheath

$35 rental
$348 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large86
True to Size342
Small43
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2015
Loved the blue color. And open back!
Very comfortable. I wore tights because it is December but the length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 16, 2015
Love the sparkle and the back of the dress!
The dress is great. It's definitely on the short side (1/2 inch shorter than my fingers when my arms are down by my side) but I was standing for the most of the night so it wasn't an issue. I loved the back and felt frickin' hott! I purchased a backless bra from VS and it worked out well. The sleeve unfortunately showed some of the lining but i think it was specific to my dress. The size two I ordered didn't have that issue. I went with the 4 because it fit like a glove and I knew I wasn't getting anymore length from the size 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 15, 2015
Super cute dress and love the open back!
I think the dress runs big. The back falls and I tried to use fashion tape but it didn't hold well. The shoulders fall. Maybe if I had rented a smaller size it wouldn't have been as bad. Overall a comfortable dress and got lots of compliments especially on the open back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
December 15, 2015
Pretty dress but....
It was pretty, but being a 32-34B, the top part of the dress was just way too big, especially with the back being so open with extra material draping down from the shoulders. I had to get that dress tape stuff to tape the dress to my shoulders so it wouldn't fall down, and I just thought it looked unflattering on my small bust anyway. I was lucky enough to get my hands on some padded sticky boobs to make myself feel better about how I looked in the dress. Its also not as sequined as I thought based off the model pictures. I thought the whole dress was just made out of some really glittery material, but it was just dark blue fabric with just enough sequins to make the dress sparkle.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
December 15, 2015
Flattering fit for a small frame. Compliments all night!
This was my first time using RTR and I was not disappointed! I needed a dress for my boyfriend's fraternity semi-formal and didn't want to buy one as I rarely wear a memorable dress twice. Needed something fun and flattering and this dress was it! I was worried about the fit because I am very petite at 5'1/2" and 105 lbs and most women's dresses fit long on me leaving me with options from the juniors department. I don't think I have ever worn a more flattering and attractive dress! The length was perfect- short enough to be sexy, long enough to be tasteful. The open back is a gorgeous detail and the quality of the dress spoke for itself. A loose string from a sequin here or there but the dress is extremely well made. The only think I wish could have been different would be for the shoulders to be narrower. I have slender shoulders and bigger boobs (32D) and needed to use lots of tape on both my breasts, collarbone, and shoulders to keep it in place. I was not uncomfortable and didn't notice the tape until the end of the night. I will go out of my way to avoid taping my chest but I would do it again for this dress in a heartbeat. I received so many compliments and felt amazing all night! 10/10 will be renting again for my next event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 14, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress all night!!
The dress fit true to size! I typically wear 2 or 4, depending on the length of the dress because my legs are the longest part of my body. The 2 fit nice and snug on my body and the length was appropriate for my sorority's semi formal. I did go purchase fashion tape to secure the shoulders of the dress to my body. The open back was awesome and didn't move around once I used the fashion tape.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 14, 2015
Holiday party
I loved this dress. So comfortable, and with a nubra and a couple pieces of fashion tape it was perfect-- no fussing with it all night long. The 2 fit better, but the 4 was longer (I measured them next to each other, definitely longer), so I opted for that so I wouldn't have to worry about it. The back of this dress was gorgeous and generally it was the perfect choice for a holiday party -- classy but still fun. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful, comfy dress
This is a lovely, comfortable dress. You cannot wear a regular bra, but otherwise, a home run. Beautiful and classy. Pretty short- I'm 5'2 and the 4 was as short as I would wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2015
I felt AMAZING in this dress!
This dress was perfect for the event I went to! It is fitted, but not too tight. I used one piece of double-sided fashion tape on the back of each shoulder as they recommended in the store when I rented it, so there was no risk of the sleeves falling down (and the top of the dress coming with it.) I loved wearing this dress so much that I actually bought the same dress at the RTR warehouse!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 8, 2015
My first masquerade party!
The dress fit perfectly, I had to wear the 0 because my chest was too small for the size 2. I got a million compliments from my boyfriend, friends, and waitstaff at the restaurant. I wore it with black tights, black heels, a pearl bracelet, and pearly earrings. The sequins were comfortable and while the dress was a little short, I didn't feel overexposed with tights on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
December 8, 2015
Super cute and sparkly dress, with a party in the back!
This dress is sssoo fun and sparkly! Since it's navy, the sparkle wasn't over the top, but just shiny enough, especially for holiday parties. The fit is good, with a stretchy material, but was a bit loose on me around the chest because of the open back. I'm on the petite side, the the dress wasn't too short, even as a mini.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 7, 2015
Sexy sparkles!
I loved this dress from the second I saw it but it is definitely not what I usually go for. I decided to step out of my comfort zone and I am so happy I did. I typically wear a size 6 and could have gotten away with it but I felt that was too short for me so I went with the size 8 and I felt great! It was flirty and sexy. The dress wasn't too tight and the sequins, which made me nervous, were not too itchy. I ended up purchasing a stick on bra since I didn't feel comfortable without one and that worked great as well. I didn't have an issue with the back needing adhesive tape like some of the other reviews mentioned. It stayed right in place all night. My only complaint was that the underlining would sometimes peek out from the bottom of the dress. Not a huge issue but one I noticed. If you are on the fence about it, I say go for it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 6, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress! I felt fabulous.
As other reviewers have pointed out, the dress is extremely short. At 5'5", I couldn't imagine someone much taller than me being able to wear this one. The tights made me feel more comfortable, but I still had to be careful about raising my arms! The compliments I received made it worth it. I wish I would've worn a backless bra instead of petal stickers. If you don't mind the length or the backless look, this dress is perfect for you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2015
So comfortable and lots of compliments!
This dress was so great! It was comfortable and easy to move in, and also looked beautiful
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 4, 2015
I wore this dress for a semi-formal holiday party held at the Monterey Bay aquarium!
This was my first rent the runway experience. I loved everything about this dress. I wore the size 0. The back was a little bit loose, but with some fashion tape it stayed in place all night without any slips. Many people have said this dress was too short, but I thought the length was perfect. I felt both classy and sexy in this dress, I will definitely rent from rent the run way again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 3, 2015
The dress of course.
The dress was very short but not too short. Sexy yet charming and classic.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 2, 2015
I loved having a sparkly and fun dress for this charity ball
This dress is super comfortable and flattering. It is a little short, but if you're uncomfortable with it you can wear tights. It was super easy to wear all night, I could dance and the shoulders wouldn't slip off, and the sequins never bothered me. Only unflattering part for me was the weird cut near your armpits, showed skin I didnt want to but it was easy to forget about it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2015
I wore this for my bachelorette party. IT WAS PERFECT!!
I loved the length even if it was a little short.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 30, 2015
Super cute for the NYE party.
I love the navy and is a bit different :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
November 27, 2015
Currently in between size 10 and 8. Went with the 10 for more comfort. Dress fit well!
Dress has some stretch so very helpful. Shoulders can run large. Had to readjust shoulders all night. Something to keep in mind.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2015
Glamorous and sparkly! Perfect dress for my sorority formal!
I order a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. It fit well (true to size) but I felt as though it was a little stretched out, so I maybe almost could have gone down a size smaller. Other reviews mentioned that it ran a little on the short side, but that didn't bother me at all. Even though I wore a backless bra with it, I still taped the back down with fashion tape as it was a little loose. The dress itself was super comfortable and glamorous. I received several compliments on it and would definitely wear this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 18, 2015
Pretty Good.
The dress overall was good. I was surprised the 0 fit the way it did. I was expecting it to be tighter and it wasn't. If anything, it fit well all around except it was a little bunchy across the shoulder blades. Nothing a little fashion tape won't fix. I'm petite and the length was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
November 16, 2015
Perfect for Britney Spears in Vegas and getting compliments all night.
The only con was how short it was, but the length was appropriate for a Britney concert and after party! I went without wearing a bra since it had an open back and it was completely fine even with being a DD. I would not wear this to a formal occasion due to the length. I could not bend over or lift my arms up with out showing some booty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
November 16, 2015
Beautiful midnight navy dress with comfortable sequin sparkle! Flashy but very cute.
I wore this dress for a sorority formal and really liked it. Being fuller in the bust compared to the rest of my body, it fit surprisingly well - beware: many reviewers feel it slips off the shoulders and back, so I feel that this dress may not work as well for someone with a smaller bust. The fabric isn't heavy at all, unlike many sequin dresses. The color is really pretty too and has a nice sparkle in pictures, but nothing too obnoxious or Prom-y. The front is conservative but is offset by the low back and short length of the dress. The cap sleeves fit a little funky but all in all it's a comfortable fit. I ordered the 2 and the 4 and wore the 2, but could've even gone for the 0. Definitely runs large in my opinion, but the length may be too short for some in the smaller sizes (I'm 5'6'" and the length was fine on me).
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
November 16, 2015
Great party dress - classic but still stands out!
I loved the way the dress fit as far as length, the open back, flattering silhouette, etc, but it definitely is a short, fitted dress! I ordered the 8 and the 10 and went with the 10 for a little bit of extra length, but I'd say it runs pretty true to size! I used tape on the back at first, but it fell off midway through the night and it was fine, didn't have any problems with the sleeves falling down! All in all, loved it and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2015
I needed something fun and sparkly for a night out in Vegas to celebrate a friend's bachelor party
This dress is the perfect little party dress. It's sparkly and super fun! It has quite a bit of stretch to it, so I went with the smaller size. I'd recommend sizing down if you have a short torso and a smaller chest. It's a little short and the back is very open, so it's definitely a party dress. I thought I would hate the shoulder pads, but they looked awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 12, 2015
Great dress with great sparkle!
This dress is a little short but fits like a glove! I wore it for a wedding rehearsal dinner. I definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 11, 2015
(Short) Showstopper - perfect for a night out with the girls or a special date!
First of all - it's a beautiful dress, but beware it RUNS VERY SHORT! I was debating wearing the very slightly longer 2 even though it was too big just to get a bit more length. That being said, I wore the 0 and luckily had some tights to wear with my heels to create a bit more coverage. Beyond the length, the dress fit well. I wore a stick-on type bra and felt fine and used a few strips of fashion tape to keep the shoulders up and the back laying flat. Four strips was all I needed and I didn't feel it move or shift at all. The back is gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
November 10, 2015
Absolutely loved this dress! It was a good mix of sexy and classy. I received so many compliments!
The fit was great. If I had one complaint, it's that the dress had the tendency to slide off my shoulders without stylist tape. So I would invest in that if you are petite like me. Other than that, no complaints! Very comfortable and exactly what I wanted in a dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
November 10, 2015
I wore it to my friends fortieth birthday, The dress was sexy and perfect for dancing with my hubby!
The dress fit me perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 9, 2015
Really fun little party dress!
Cute simple sparkly party dress. The material was a little more casual looking than I thought from the photos. Kind of a jersey material with sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 9, 2015
Sexy, flattering, and fun!
I wore this to a CMA Awards after-party - perfect for the music industry glam! I had never worn a backless dress like this before, so it felt a bit loose to me, but it stayed on perfectly fine. It's also very short. But it made me feel like a rock star and got tons of compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 9, 2015
Great dress - lots of compliments!!
I ended wearing the size 2 just because it seemed a little longer than the 0, which felt too skimpy even though I am only 5'0" tall. The open back was really pretty and the color was great. Very comfortable dress, would wear again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 2, 2015
Fun wedding in the basement of a Chinese restaurant!
The 12 fit perfectly. I was a little worried because I'm pretty busty and obviously had to go bra-less, but it wasn't an issue at all. It was a little shorter than I had hoped, but it worked well with tights underneath!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2015
I loved this dress so much! It was sparkly and the back was super cute.
I got a bunch of complements on this cute dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2015
surprisingly comfy dress!
I was nervous to rent this because most reviews say it's short and that due to the back the shoulders fall down on you. I tried on both my size and backup size. The length really doesn't change. Therefore wear the more fitting/true to size option so you can get away with no bra. I attempted a sticky bra cup scenario and failed miserably but you can totally rock this dress with no bra. However, what really made this dress fit like a glove was 2 small pieces of fashion tape that I used for my back. The dress did not fall all night. In the light, the sequence is noticeable but it's not too loud. I love that it was a true navy. Certain lighting in pictures will obviously change this, but the color is pretty spot on to what you see on the model. I did see another woman with the same dress and she wore sparkly silver shoes. Ladies, go with a simpler clean look. I decided on blade pumps and accessories and it didn't take away from the dress. Best part about this dress was that it was SUPER comfy to dress in. It is a short dress, but it was appropriate. I was able to put my arms down and the length hit my finger tips. Again, another RTR success!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
October 29, 2015
I wore this dress to a formal rehearsal dinner and absolutely LOVED it!
I've never received so many compliments on this fun dress! I would highly recommend trying it. I ordered both the size 0 and size 2. If I was going out to a "nightclub" or bachelorette party I would have worn the 0, but the 2 was very comfortable and not quite as snug. The dress is very short and was almost too short for my comfort, so if you are taller than I am I would probably think twice before wearing it to a wedding or cocktail function.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
October 28, 2015
I wore this event for my colleges Homecoming party. I got a number of compliments on it!
I ordered the dress in sizes 6 and 8 because the dress looked like it ran small based on the model in the picture. However after trying on the dress when it arrived I realized it ran a little big. The 6 was slightly large in the shoulder area. Despite the dress being a little larger than I expected I got a number of compliments on the dress! It was easy to move in and not to short and not too long. I would highly recommend this dress just order a smaller size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
October 25, 2015
so many compliments!
large in the back. wore a backless bra. somewhat loose in the hips as well. color is great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 23, 2015
One of many dresses that Rent the Runway sent for my Vegas week-end, when my order was delayed.
Shoooorrrrtttt! At 5'10" and 50+ years, there was no way I could wear this out.
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×