Slate & Willow

Margaux Sheath

$30 – $35 rental?
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Getting ready for a night out with the girls? Then slip into this navy sequin mini by Slate & Willow! For added nighttime glam pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Fitted skirt. Open back. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 31” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
682 reviews
Fit
Large
(89)
True to Size
(410)
Small
(51)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2014
Gorgeous dress with the right amount of sparkle; I couldn't stop getting compliments on it!
I'm usually somewhere between a 2-4 and am glad I got the 2 because even for someone with large, athletic shoulders like me, the shoulders kept sliding down in the 4. The dress was pretty short on me and I'm 5'1" so keep that in mind if you're taller! The interior wasn't itchy at all (it has a great lining) which was definitely a plus and I didn't have to wear a bra with it. I would say not to get this dress if you're hoping to move around a lot- not great for dancing at a wedding, for example, just because its short and the sleeves could fall down. For my purposes it was perfect!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 21, 2014
I got so many compliments! Everyone really loved it especially because of the back!
The 6 and the 8 fit pretty much the same, but the 6 was waaaayy too short. I'm pretty tall too so I chose the 8. Luckily the two fit pretty similar in other aspects of the dress. I wore it with nude heels because I forgot my silver shoes at home, but it worked out! The sticky strips they provided were necessary though because otherwise the sides of the dress kind of fell down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2014
Great for a Bachelorette Party!
I wore this in Atlantic City for a Bachelorette Party and it was a huge hit! The sequins give just enough sparkle and the open back makes you feel super sexy. I could've worn the 2 but I don't wear too many dresses that are this short so I went with the 4. This can easily be worn with a strapless backless bra but I felt comfortable enough with just forgoing a bra altogether. I have more bachelorette parties (including my own) later this year and can't wait to rent another cute sexy dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 24, 2014
Sassy, comfortable, heading turning dress
Would rent this dress again! Received so many compliments and was able to dance the night away, very comfortable, sassy, and a little sexy with the open back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
February 24, 2014
Perfect dress for my Awards banquet for work. Classy with a little sassy.
Fit was perfect. Usually wear a 0-2. O fit the best. Fit snug, but not too tight. Perfect length for my height.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
February 25, 2014
The selections, delivery, and ease made my RTR experience one I will definitely repeat.
The dress is well made. It hugs your shape Ina very forgiving and flattering way. I used Hollywood tape to raise the hem and also to secure it to my back. I was able to dance with no mishaps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2014
Way too short!
I was really excited to wear this dress for a night out in Vegas. Unfortunately, the dress was WAY too short so I couldn't wear it. I am only 5'5 and it would have been inappropriate for me to leave this house in this dress. I'm used to short dresses, but this one just didn't cut it. I loved everything else about the dress except for the length. Luckily, I was going to Vegas so I exchanged the dress at the RTR showroom.
GraceAugust 25, 2014
what size was too short on you? Thanks!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 10, 2014
Lots of compliments on this dress, but very short!
This dress is adorable, but so short that it was a little uncomfortable and I kept having to pull it down all night. I also ordered a size four which was a little longer but just too big on top. The back of the dress is really fun, but combined with the short length it's a little more revealing than it looks on the model. Overall the dress is really cute, but I wouldn't rent it again because of the length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 11, 2014
Did not fit properly on my petite frame
I ordered this dress in a 0 but had to have a different dress sent to me because I was worried about the straps falling off. Since the dress is backless there is really not much holding it up so if you have a petite frame this dress might not work unless you use fashion tape to make it stay on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Brittney, a go-to-girl, at the Vegas showroom was soooooo amazing! She recommended this dress for me, and at first I said no because I was afraid of the color. She had me try on some other "risque" and just risky (for my taste ) choices and those did not work out. I was so set to wear Herve, but they just looked horrible on me. I decided to give this dress a shot since I'm in Vegas and....why the hell not. IT LOOKED AMAZING!!! I was shocked! The fit was good, the length was perfect ( mid thigh) and with my 5.25" heels this dress was a knock out! The open back was so much fun. I did use double sided tape, but the good stuff they ran out of so I bought the second best. It showed a little, which was probably just user error, so I decided to take the tape off and be stuck adjusting the sleeves all night. I DIDN'T CARE! This dress was THAT FABULOUS! I tried on a used size 0, but that was more gaping than the brand new size 2, so I went with the 2. If I were to purchase this dress new, I probably would try out a 0. RENT THIS DRESS...it will not disappoint!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2014
Sparkly!
The dress fit super awkwardly. The open back was huge on me and it was so short, I couldn't bend down at all. After taping it to myself it was cute tho! Love the sparkles!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2014
Great dress !
The dress fit well, I ordered the 2 and 4 ended up wearing the size 2. I do agree with the other reviews the dress is short, but I still loved the dress. The only difference was that the size 2 fit me better in the sleeves.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 25, 2014
This dress fit like a glove.
The fit of this dress was absolutely amazing. I did have to purchase some double-sided tape to make the back stay in place, but overall I felt absolutely gorgeous in it; it is the epitome of classy sexy. The dress was the perfect length of short, but any shorter then there would have been a problem. I'm very happy with my first RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2014
Perfect for Night in Vegas!
This dress was perfect for a big night out on the town. The navy was different from black and the cut of the dress was super flattering. The open back gave it some extra sex appeal. I used double sided tape to make sure the shoulders didn't slip down. It might be a bit short on taller girls. I'm 5'4" and it was at my upper thigh. This was my favorite rental thus far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2014
Short but sweet!
My daughter rented this dress for a semi formal dance. The dress is beautifully made and surprisingly lightweight given all the sequins. Loved the color and it had great sparkle. She got both a 4 and 6 and could have worn either because it has stretch. She went with the 6 for the extra length. This dress is quite short even by teenaged girls' standards! We had expected it to be a bit longer based on where it hit the 5'10" model shown on RTR's website. My daughter is 5'4" and it was pretty short on her. The dress did gap in the back along the sides, but we fixed that with some fashion tape. I miss the days when RTR included fashion tape with each order. My daughter is quite busty at 34DD so it was nice to find a dress that provided coverage in front with some wow from behind. She wore an adhesive bra which worked well. My daughter received many compliments on this dress and it was very reasonably priced. Very happy with the rental experience and would recommend this dress for a semi formal event as long as you are prepared with fashion tape and you are comfortable with the short length.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 20
March 30, 2014
The dress was a little loose and worn, but other than that I loved the color. I did have to take it
I liked the style but I don't think this was the right dress for me. It was really worn and you could tell that it had been altered. It is really thick, but it didn't get too hot. I was honestly not able to dance, sit, or do much other than standing because I had to tape the back or the dress would have fallen off.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2014
Sexy and sparkly!
Very comfortable. It's pretty short so keep that in mind! The shoulders were loose but a little fashion tape worked fine. It's a subtle navy color with the right amount of sparkle. The length and open back make it sexy!
NicoApril 28, 2014
Hi, what did you do for a bra? I'm also a 34C and have never worn a backless dress like this.. Thanks Nico
AnneApril 29, 2014
Hi! I used a Fashion Forms backless bra with sticky sides.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 30, 2014
Great for a 21st birthday in Las Vegas!
This dress was perfect for the occasion. The only small complaint I have is that it was a little loose around the shoulders and I had to keep pulling it up throughout the night, but I also have narrow shoulders. Other than that, the dress is a very comfortable, kind of stretchy fabric (no zipper), and the sequins were a beautiful navy color. I'm usually between a 4 & 6 and the 4 fit very comfortably. Dresses are usually too long on me, so it was nice that this one was the perfect length even with heels. I received compliments all night long and felt amazing in it- if you're on the fence about this one, go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
March 30, 2014
Not a winner for my shape
The dress is very pretty. The color is rich and sparkly! However, it's very short and fits awkwardly on my body. I've seen other girls wear it and it looks fabulous! But the shoulders were funky, the back was too big, and the waist was high and enhanced my rib cage in an unflattering manner. I think a bigger size may have worked better. It was just my backup dress anyhow. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 31, 2014
Loved the low back!
I wore this dress to my Law School's Barrister's Ball. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and both fit but I felt the six was more flattering around my hips. I used backless bra but the material is thick enough that you could go bra less. I also used fashion tape to secure it in a few spots and was comfortable dancing all night long without any worry of the dress slipping off at the shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2014
Super-sexy dress for a Saturday night wedding in NYC.
I wore this to a NYC wedding on a Saturday night and it was perfect. I wore a strapless, backless, adhesive bra, and did use the finishing tape to secure the back of the dress as that part doesn't hug the body as well as the rest of the dress. For night, I definitely think it looks best with black heels and sheer stockings. It is short, so definitely do stockings.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 6, 2014
Pretty, back makes it complicated to wear.
I wore this to my law schools gatsby themed scilent auction. Keep in mind I wanted this dress to be super baggy (that's why I ordered a 10). It still wasn't super loose, and it's sort of short (which only bothered me cause it was for a school event!) the back makes it a little hard to wear, but it's beautiful and slimming and photographs beautiful!! The shoulder area was too big for me and kept falling down, other than that great dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2014
Loved this dress! So many compliments
Overall good fit, can be worn with a stick-on bra, or without. A little trickey for those of us with a narrow back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2014
fun dress
the dress was pretty short but really fun! the low back made it loose in the back, I used fashion tape so it wasn't super baggy looking. fit pretty true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2014
The dress is so gorgeous. I wore it to prom and got so many compliments.
I had to tape myself into my dress even though I wore a size 0. The tape didn't work out too well and my date ended up fixing my back all night. The rest of the dress fit well. It was a little shorter than I'm used to but I couldn't size up because the 0 barely fit me. I didn't do too much dancing because I was kind of self conscious and actually ended up wearing his tux jacket. The fit was regretful but I'm so in love with the dress. Wish there was a 00.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Fabulous!
LOVED this dress! Would gladly live in it if I could. A bit short if you're taller, and the next size up only made the skirt wider, not any longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
April 10, 2014
Super flattering, the back is awesome
It's a SHORT one, but that was actually great because I could wear my shorter, more comfortable heels. Since I have a big chest, the inability to wear a bra was a BIT tough, but not impossible. I wish there had been a string or something connecting the two shoulders because with the open back, it often fell off my shoulders a bit (but I do have very narrow shoulders). Got tons of compliments on it. It's a soft jersey like fabric, no zippers. so very comfortable while still looking expensive. perfect party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 15, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and it was fantastic! Dress was beautiful, sexy, & easy to wear.
The dress was very short, so I was glad I got a size up as my second option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 18, 2014
This dress was sexy, fun, SHORT
I loved this dress and it would have been perfect for a different event. I rented it for a work holiday party and it was just so short. With the low back and the mini skirt I definitely need tights and booties (which I didn't pack). Perfect for a party party, or girls night, or date night, but on the tight scandalous side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 23, 2014
This dress was AMAZING! Bachelorette Wig Party!
I loved everything about this dress. I generally wear a size 4-6 but fit into the size 2. The shape of the dress is perfect if you are a little curvy. The dress was short (which I loved) and the open back was amazing. I picked the size 2 because I liked the tighter/shorter fit. The smaller size also helped the arms to stay on without any tape. I went out dancing and never had a problem in this dress. I will absolutely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2014
I loved this dress especially the back. It was perfect for my event.
The size ran true for me, however, the dress is short so wear spanx shorts as they fit perfectly under the dress. I taped the dress to my shoulders and wore a backless bra as a precaution.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
April 27, 2014
I liked this dress because of the back but it was VERY short and in 5'2.
I wore the bigger size because (size 2) because the 0 was so incredibly short. The size 2 barely touched my fingertips when my arms were straight. I do really like the dress but wish it were an inch or two longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
I got so many compliments on a dress that was as comfortable as a pair of pajamas! Total win-win.
I got the 4 and the 6 but ended up in the 4. It rode up a little when I walked, but not too bad. The one problem was that the shoulders fell sometimes when I bent over, but standing they were fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2014
I got this dress for a friend's bachelorette party in NYC. Perfect dress!
This dress is a jersey material so it feels very comfortable and has some stretch. Clothes are usually tighter across my shoulders and hips, but even with that the 2 fit really well. This dress was incredible flattering and even my boyfriend was speechless. I would absolutely wear this dress again and recommend it to anyone. The only thing is that it really looks navy, although the picture makes it seem black.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 27, 2014
Great dress, I wore it to Jr. prom and got lots of compliments.
It does run small and you will need to tape the back no matter what but it's really not much of a problem.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect fit, so many compliments!
I LOVED this dress as soon as I tried it on. After reading the reviews, I went with my normal size, 2, and a size down, 0. The 0 fit perfectly - I didn't even end up trying on the 2. I wore it to a grad school casino night where there wasn't any dancing, so I wasn't worried about the mid-thigh length being too short or potentially risqué. The dress didn't ride up when I walked at all, either. Rent the Runway even included some pre-cut fashion tape which I ended up using on my shoulders since the dress tended to slip off a little because of the open back. It was my boyfriend's event so I didn't know many people and it felt great to get lots of compliments from people I'd never met before. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and it completely lived up to everything I had expected from my friends' prior rentals. I will definitely be renting again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
This dress is a head-turner. Perfect for Vegas, & surprisingly comfortable for the short, tight fit
Overall, I really loved wearing this dress. Two small complaints - the sequins irritated the inside of my arms, and the back was more stretched out than I would've liked... I wore a size down from my norm and the back still rippled/hung loose. It definitely was not a big enough deal to change the look - I was probably more self-conscious of it than was necessary!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 3, 2014
Compliments all night long!
This dress is super comfortable! It fit great except it was a little loose on top and the sleeves would slide off a little if I slumped my shoulders. But other than that, I loved it! I was getting compliments on it all night! The back is definitely a statement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
May 4, 2014
Fabulous dress for a cocktail attire dinner event!
This dress is true to size. It is a bit darker blue than what the pictures indicate, but nonetheless, it is a great color for anyone. A good bra is important with this dress, the material is thin for a sequin dress. I got tons of compliments from other women!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014
Most fun and classy party I've ever been to with all of my friends!
Loved the fit of this dress! Definitely a little short so I went with the 6 instead of the 4 for the length, and it wasn't as small looking in the shoulders/bust area. Although the shoulder straps kept falling down. The fabric was perfect, not too heavy with all of the sequins. I would absolutely wear this dress again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×