Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$60 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

575 reviews

Fit
Small 157
True to Size 338
Large 25
Photos 368
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Very classy dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress, very classy. I would suggest sizing up to get more of a fit like the model in the pic, or else it will be much more form fitting. Overall, I loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

dress was different than all other guest dresses, was comfortable, and true to size

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress did not have that shift style which is what I was expecting... However with the second size (2) i ordered it was a little longer and baggier
RTR Customer
Age: 27
Oct 21, 2014

The dress was perfect for a gatsby themed evening wedding at a downtown public library!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! I was nervous because they did not have a backup size available. I received tons of compliments!! I was worried that gold jewelry would be hard to match because the dress is a softer gold. I bought a bangle at target and it went perfectly. I would love to own this dress. It is a show stopper.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

The slip rides WAY up!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While this dress was really pretty, and I got several compliments, i was constantly adjusting the slip that kept riding up to the tops of my thighs, pretty much exposing my upper thighs (and shape wear) through the sheer-ish, hole- y top layer that the sequins are on. You can see the top of my thigh through the skirt of the dress in this picture. My friends assured me it wasn't that noticeable, but it had me uncomfortable all night. I think the size 14 I rented might have been poorly made!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

1920's Style Wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Usually I wear a size 4, however the 6 was only available. I ordered 2 different dresses just in case the 6 was not doable. It fit great! Perfect in the bust and in the belly. The 4 might have been a little too tight. The only thing about the dress that bothered me was that the bottom of the dress was a little stretched out. Like someone had been dancing a lot in it and stretched the fabric out. Other than that, I loved the dress and received many compliments on it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got plenty if compliments and never had to worry about being exposed or the dress riding up!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

This was a fun and classy dress for a night out!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas. It was structured, had a little stretch to it, but laid very nicely without being tight. The gold was more shiny in person and it was a fun rental. I probably could have gone with something more scandalous (tight/short) in Vegas but I felt great in this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Wore this for the Bellevue Collection Fashion Show and had so many compliments! Loved the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great. Short, but not too short where it felt inappropriate. Was able to wear a normal bra which I loved and the dress was comfortable despite the sequins. This was the second dress that I've rented by Slate & Willow and they all fit great. Highly recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Interesting dress, but not overly flattering on me.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't get this dress out of my head when I saw it - so unique and pretty. As others have said, it is more sequiny than it looked in the picture. I didn't realize all the black was sequins. That didn't really matter though. I got the 4 and the 6, and I think I am just in between sizes. The 4 was more figure flattering, but a bit too short. I would have worn the 4 if I decided to wear tights but it was a nice day - I needed the extra length of the 6 to go without tights. Overall, it was okay, but not my favorite shape. Oh - and the sequins did not scratch my arms! No issue with that.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Sparkly and elegant. Perfect for my senior Gatsby-themed homecoming. So many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not too loose, not too tight. It looks super short on the model in the picture, but I'm 5'9 and it was appropriate length on me (size 6). I have broad shoulders, so it was a little tight in the shoulder area when I raised arms, but that was due to the cap sleeves. But it did not keep me from dancing all night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Homecoming 2014!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVEEEEE this dress! I wore it to my homecoming this year. This dress photographs beautifully, and made me feel gorgeous. my date was speechless when he saw me. The dress does not fit like shown in the picture, it is much tighter. I did not find the dress short even though other reviewers did. The only problems I had with the dress was the arms. My arms were restricted and I couldn't more them past my shoulders. However I did not care because I was having too much fun to notice. I would defiantly recommend this dress but if your busty like me, thing about going up a size or two. I couldn't even zip the 4 past my waist. I will totally be doing RTR for any other dress I need!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Great Mardi Gras-themed semi-formal!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my sorority's Mardi Gras-themed simi-formal in October! A lot of other reviews say the dress was too short, but I am 5'4" and it was longer than I expected! Super comfortable, very sparkly and I got lots of compliments. It was even long enough when you boyfriend picked me up to carry me across the grass when my heels started to sink in!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Stunner for a black tie wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved how this dress played up my natural curved without making me feel self conscious. The length was perfect on me - just barely above mid thigh - and the best part was that it is so well constructed that I didn't have to wear spanx! I didnt have a problem at all with itchy sequins, and I got tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 176 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Fun night out for my gfs bachelorette party.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress was a little short for me and was more form fitting than it looked on the model. Overall it looked nice and I got many compliments. There were also a lot of threads hanging from the dress from being washed and worn prior
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 28, 2014

Beautiful Detailing

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for a Great Gatsby themed birthday party and it was PERFECT! I originally ordered this dress in a 10 and 12. The 10 was not available at last minute so i wore the 12. Dress was a little big on me especially on the neckline part. The dress definitely has beautiful detailing, the sequins are better seen in person. The Dress was comfortable and lightweight. Will rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

I felt glamorous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental and I loved it! The dress was comfortable and I received a lot of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

It is so slimming!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Usually wear a 2 or 4 but people said it ran small. So, I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit nicely but a bit too big on the chest.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Stunning and eye catching dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was gorgeous. I wore it for a friends bachelorette party and got so many compliments. It was true to fit, just the right length, and sexy without being revealing. You will not be disappointed with this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

The festive attire went well with the fun photobooth props at my friend's wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was completely covered in sequins, which I did not expect. From the pictures, I thought the black part was matte and the pattern was a metallic print. So I was a little worried this would be too flashy for the wedding I was attending. However, I wore a cardigan over it most of the night (partly because it was chilly and also because I'm a little self-conscious about my mid-section problem area) - It definitely is not loose like it looks on the model. I tried the larger backup size on too but that fit just as tight in the bad areas and loose in areas where it should be tight so I went with my true dress size, which did technically fit. So yeah I guess if you want the loose look, maybe try going 2 sizes up for your backup size. I wore spanx tights and a slightly padded bra to help pull this off but i don't think I'd rent it again. It was a little hard to lift my arms up all the way with the stiffness from the sequins, and my arms scratched a little on the sequins when I was dancing without the cardigan. A few threads were also sticking out (looked like clear fishing line, I wanted to cut them off but was already in the car at that point and was worried I might ruin the dress if I did that.) I did receive compliments from my friends though on the dress but I guess I just didn't feel as awesome in it given some of my other comments. I rented the Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings (gold) with it and at first, thought there was too much going on given the bling of the dress, but in the end, they worked out fine and you couldn't see them as much unless I tucked my hair behind my ears. Sorry the pictures aren't great, I forgot to get a normal one of just me in the dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Gorgeous sequins dress that's perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and got loads of compliments on it. Both sizes fit but I went with the 4 as the dress is much more form fitting than pictured on the model. I didn't love the way it hung onto every curve, but ended up having fun wearing it. Not many accessories needed. Just fun earrings and maybe a bracelet and you're good to go.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Fun dress for my friend's birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sleeves were slightly tight, but the rest of the dress was loose and comfortable.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Perfect little dress for a charity event!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits true to size. I could have worn the 4 or 6, but I found that the 6 rode up around the hips whenever I moved. I was a little worried the sequins would be itchy, but I was actually super comfortable all night. Definitely a RTR hit!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

FAB!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly, and was pretty comfortable, too! I wore it to a Halloween party as Serena Van Der Woodsen and I couldn't have picked a better dress! Although, the slip did ride up quite a bit during the night. Also, the dress is very delicate, so you need to be super careful with it!!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Beautiful print and sparkle.The dress was very comfortable. Sequins were not itchy at all.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an Indian Sangeet / wedding. I got lots of complements on the dress. I thought the dress ran slightly small , especially around the waist. I would try one size up. I also would recommend wearing Spanx with it , due to I believe sequin dresses show every little bump or any extra one may have in the belly. I matched it up with the black and gold lucite drop earrings by Alexis Bittar and the Ornate Onyx Cuff by kate spade new york . Thought it looked great.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

I got an unbelievable amount of compliments while wearing this dress and was perfect for my event.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my professional fraternity's sectionals banquet at a hotel which was Great Gatsby themed. I got numerous compliments all night and many of the guys loved it as well which is a plus. It didn't itch me, was the perfect length, and definitely wasn't too tight. I considered wearing the 4 just for a tad more room and a shift feel but the length increased a lot. Not only did both dresses arrive nicely, but I also got hair products as well which was a nice bonus. I've rented from RTR before and both dresses I didn't want to give back. I will totally rent this again if I ever need it, I fell in love with it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2014

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for fall wedding! Fit true to size. Received tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2014

Loved It!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a ladies night. A little on the short side, but overall it fit great. Would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Glamorous and Fierce Homecoming Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I don't usually go for more edgy dresses but this one is great, its like a magically compromise between classic cut and sass. However like many reviews say it fits way tighter then in the picture. If you want the T-shirt fit then I suggest going up one or two sizes. I ordered the 2 and 4, and usually wear a 2. The 2 fit like a body con, and the 4 was slightly looser but would still show off curves if you have any. I went with the 2 because it was Homecoming I figured why not add even more sass. This dress also isn't very breathable so if you are a big dancer like me wear lots of deo be prepared to sweat a lot. Over all I loved it and definitely recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

This dress was perfect for the wedding I was in the house party in!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! It definitely fit more snug, like everybody has been saying. However, it flatters curves wonderfully! It did rub under my arms a bit, but not too bad. I got compliments all evening!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Fabulous flattering dress!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
This is a very fun dress. I wore this to a party that had a Turkish theme and the sequins pattern was perfect. My husband loved it. Very flattering to curves. Note that this dress is short. I am only 5'1" but it was still very short on me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Perfect dress for a New York themed night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing. I fell in love with it online but when I saw it in person it was even better. I was a little upset that I had to order a 4 since there were no more 2's, which is what I normally wear, but I did it anyways because I was so in love. The 4 was a little big on me but I made it work. I actually wore it to dress up as Blair Waldorf from Gossip Girl and everyone guessed who I was instantly which I couldn't have done without this dress! I would recommend this dress to anyone who wants to steal the spotlight because it definitely makes you the center of attention!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

Eye catching!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
First let me say that I loved this dress despite the work I had to put in it. Fit was an issue as the waist was perfect (with a little help from my spanx of course:) but the bust area was so stretched out (from multiple use I presumed) that I had to take it in with safety pins. Also had to use temporary hemming tape since it went past my knee and made it look outdated. Once I fixed the fit and length it was perfection.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Dress fit well but lining did tend to ride up some.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress is covered all over in sequins. Fits well other than the lining rides up some.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Nov 22, 2014

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress was a little awkward. Too tight to be sheath as described but loose in the midsection. The sequins was just right and overall the dress was perfect for the occasion and was a total hit. Definitely recommend.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Beautiful dress but...

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but there was absolutely no stretch to it at all. So it made dancing or just simply bending a little uncomfortable. The arms run a little tight and just keep in mind with sequins comes scratchy irritation. I went with the size up just to give a little more room for dancing since there was no stretch. Unfortunately with that dress I discovered a hole in the sequined fabric near the hem...hopefully no one noticed! I still love RTR, the process is simple and I usually love the dresses.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 23, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a weekend in Vegas with my girlfriends. It was super fun and easy to wear. The sequins can rub a bit under your arms, but it was manageable. I rented the 4 & 6 and ended up wearing the 6, which is the size I normally wear (other reviews said it ran large, but I did not find this to be the case).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Nov 26, 2014

Very first rental of many more to come!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like many others who have rented this dress, I got it for a Gatsby themed wedding. It truly is the perfect dress for the theme, and I received a lot of compliments on it throughout the night. It's not super comfortable, per se, but definitely won't hinder you from having a good time either. It's also not one of those obnoxious sequin dresses that has you feeling like a disco ball all night. It attracts attention due to the great pattern, detail, and design, not out of sheer "loudness." To me (5'2) the length was perfect for this more formal occasion...overall, a great rental!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 27, 2014

SOOO tight!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my senior homecoming dance and I could not eat, breath, or dance in this dress! It's beautiful as all get out, but wow! I accidentally ordered a 0 and a 2 (because some reviews claimed the dress ran small). It's pretty loose in the shoulders but it was so tight on my hips. Because I had no other option, I squeezed into this dress anyways. It was fine but I was so sad that it wasn't perfect.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Love this dress! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the dress in sizes 4 and 6. The 4 fit everywhere but the arms, I have larger arms so I wore the 6. The 6 was still a little tight on the arms, but everywhere else fit great! I thought the dress was very flattering.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

Gold!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress even better in pictures. I wore this dress to a Game of Thrones themed wedding. It was eye catching, beautiful vibrant gold, and durable! It's sequence so I thought I was going to have to be extra careful, but this dress is beautifully made. It was true to size, BUT the sleeve/arm holes are extra small which is why I had to use the bigger size. The 0 fit better through the torso, but there was no way I could lift my arms. I thought the neckline was really nice, boat neck and swoops slightly lower in the back. Very flattering.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×