Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$60 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

559 reviews

Fit
Small 155
True to Size 329
Large 25
Photos 358
Briana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Favorite rental yet! Great dress for Vegas. So fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Longer than expected which I loved. Great dress.
jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

It was cute

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing the 8 in this dress. The 6 was a little tight in the chest area, I'm 34DD. Dress was ok and I did get one compliment but not a show stopper. I didn't feel like anything special in this dress
stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Perfect way to sparkle on my birthday!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was probably one of the biggest outfit hits since I can remember. I wore it for a joint birthday party to celebrate mine as well as two others and I got so many compliments on it all night!! The dress was super comfortable and just made me feel so sparkly & fun. I paired it with black tights and black booties as well as the earrings seen on the model. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look super cute and also be comfortable all night.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

I absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 10 but I had to size up to the 12, the 10 was just a little too tight. It hides flaws nicely and was super comfortable to wear! I was expecting to have to wear tights because other reviews had said the dress was short but I felt comfortable without them in the 12.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Great dress for a semi-formal occasion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Gatsby themed work dinner party. It was just the right length for my short legs- I can see why some reviews say the dress is a little on the short side. I did not have much itching and the fit is true to size. Just to keep in mind- the sleeves do not stretch. Great for the themed party and I would definitely recommend this dress!
Jasper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

The sparkle of this dress was perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The cut is perfect for transitions from day to night.
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

Flirty and fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress! The reviews made it sound like it ran small, so I ordered up. I would have actually worn a size smaller. It was super comfortable and I felt fantastic in it!
Catherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

I wore this for the rehearsal dinner for my sister's wedding, it was a showstopper!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the fit; like a glove! It was a little short, I have a booty, but overall it was very slimming and made me feel like a million dollars. I got a 2 and a 4 and ended up going with the 2.
Deepa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Beautiful and comfortable dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is an amazing dress for a formal event. It is elegant and formal, yet easy to dance in and fitted enough that you don't have to worry about it moving if you're walking around/dancing a lot. There is a cloth under the dress so it's not scratchy or uncomfortable at all with all of the sequins. This cloth is more fitting and the dress itself is a bit looser like it looks on the model. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this dress - it's a great rental!
Linda
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 11, 2015

Friends Mardi Gras themed 30th bday

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
Dress was hot! Fitted in the right areas, but not overly clingy! Got tons of compliments. Wore the 14 because I could zip the 12 over my bust(36DD)
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Mardi Gras Made!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to throw beads on a Mardi Gras float on Galveston Island and it was fabulous! I got compliments on it all night and it maintained it's beautiful shape and structure all night long after going through three bags of beads and bending and throwing them to people. I stayed in it all night and went out afterwards. Great dress!!!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Great Gatsby-esque

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding that had a 1930s theme, it was perfect! Because of the sequins, the dress doesn't have much give to it but it was comfortable nonetheless. I got a lot of compliments on it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Feb 22, 2015

Lots of compliments! Very comfy but a bit scratchy under the arms.

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits a bit tight in the tummy area but overall true to size. I'm 5'9" and 185 lbs. was able to fit into the 12 but it would have been uncomfortable all night. Wore the 14 and it was perfect. A tad short but not bad.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Super comfy, flattering, subtle, yet sparkly.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my 10 yr reunion. I wanted something that stood out, but didn't seem over-dressed or trying too hard. This dress was very comfy to wear and very forgiving for a night full of drinks and food! I noticed the sequins rubbed a little under my arm, but I was never in pain. I forgot about it once the night got started. LOVED the dress and got lots of compliments.
HW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Sparkles worthy of an Oscar party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was sent this dress as an emergency back up when a dress I had on order could not be sent. I wanted a dress with some sparkle for an Oscar party and this didn't disappoint! I was initially worried that it would be too short and to young looking, but the scoop neck and back along with the cap sleeves balanced out the shortness and made it feel more comfortable. The size 2 fit perfectly and had enough give to sit and move even with the sequins. Although it was slim fitting, the texture of the sequins made me feel like I didn't need to be on stomach watch all night. Another plus was that my hair didnt get caught in the sequins which as a pleasant surprise :)
Leah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Wore this to my sorority formal and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought I would need a 4 because of my height, but the 2 was perfect! Great weight and was not itchy.
Katherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2015

Loved the design!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Like all the other reviews, it was tight through the hips/legs but I have athletic thighs. If you got a donk, go a size up!
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Feb 27, 2015

Longer than expected, but many compliments

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally planned on wearing a size 2 but it was extremely tight so I had to wear the backup 4. Although it fit better, the length just felt a bit uncomfortable compared to other shorter dresses in the room. Very comfortable and flattering dress, though! I received many compliments on it all night!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Cute dress, but runs small!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress isn't exactly for curvy girls. I have a smaller waist, but hips and a larger chest. I had to go 4 sizes up from what I normally wear to get it to fit correctly. I didn't need to go to a 12, but I felt a little more comfortable with it being looser for a company party.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

After watching everyone walk the red carpet, I had numerous people tell me I was best dressed

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented for a major grand opening party (cocktail attire). The entire process was so easy and stress-free. Absolutely loved the dress, felt fun and classy--I knew from reading reviews ahead of time that it would be more fitted and not an actual shift dress. Definitely a standout piece, and I was comfortable all night (7+ hours) whether manning the guest list, giving tours or dancing the night away. Both sizes fit fine but opted for the 4 since it seemed slightly more flattering. Cannot wait to rent again. Everyone wanted to know where I got my dress so I had to tell them to try it!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

I rented this for a friends birthday party at a bar.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is not a loose shift dress, as it appears on the model. I got my regular size and a size up as other reviewers suggested but both were very form-fitting and unflattering (tight on the tummy= not good for me). I ended up not wearing it because I didn't think it flattered my shape and I didn't want to be self conscious all night. Overall it was a nice dress, it seemed well-made and durable, but not the dress for me. I wish the picture on the model was a little bit more accurate.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

Sparkly! Loved it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would definitely rent this dress again. It was sparkly and fit really well. The length wasn't too short or too long. Easy to wear (regular bra) and it doesn't need many accessories. I rented the House of Harlow Gold Textured Cut Out Cuff with it and it worked out great.
Karyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Really fun dress for a fancy party

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I had rented this on a whim for a Friday night party, and I didn't end up wearing it because it was definitely fancier than I thought it would be. But I loved the dress and would definitely rent it again for another occasion. The sparkles are a great effect and it was really comfy. It also wasn't as short on me as on the model (I'm 5'6" so perhaps that should have been obvious). It also ran small so size up one.
XtinaWeena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Sparkler than it seems

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, but really didn't fit like a sheath as described. Was very comfortable minus some scratching under the arms, but did not leave marks or anything.
Brittny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Great service as usual!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Dress fit like a glove. It's light and fun! It was short (as expected) but I had a great time and danced all night without feeling uncomfortable.
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so much fun! I thought it was going to be uncomfortable because of all the sequins, but I danced around in it all night without any trouble. Was perfect for a wedding on a chilly March day.
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

Vegas theme fundraiser

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was perfect, wore it for a fundraiser at my daughters school, theme was Vegas. I received lots of compliments throughout the night.
Emily
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Mar 30, 2015

Great dress, did run small, glad I had that second size to try on.

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 12 was way too small and even the 14 fit snug. Spanks helped a lot. It definitely wasn't as short or as loose as on the model. Still looked good though and I got lots of compliments. I'll use RTR again!
rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

Sparkly and fun!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
This was perfect for a December wedding (not black tie) in Florida. The color and sparkles were perfect for the location and time of year. It helped me feel light on my feet and fun!
Ann
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Easy, simple, and fabulous process!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly and the reviews were so helpful. I looked smokin hot and got tons of compliments. I love RTR!
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit great! It was a little on the short side for my height, but with tights it was just fine.
Megan
Age: 31
Apr 19, 2015

Wore this for my bachelorette party - tons of compliments all night!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
Excellent customer service has made me a RTR girl for life. I ordered this for my bachelorette and was a little iffy on the sizing. I panicked and Tracie of customer service overnighted me another dress as a back up for peace of mind. For free. Runs a smidge small, so I wore shapewear, but overall it was awesome! Will definitely rent again!
Jessie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Cute, sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While the dress was not as short as it was on the model in the picture, I still felt like it had the right amount of sexiness and appropriateness for an evening black-tie optional wedding. I was nervous with all the beading that when I got the dress there would be some beads missing, etc, but it was pretty perfect. It was a great dress, very comfortable!
Magdalena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Unexpectedly comfortable

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable and surely made a statement. Best part, because of the design and sequins- no spanx required!
Elissa
Age: 28
Apr 22, 2015

I sparkles in this cute, flirty and fun sequin dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a costume party. I went as a Gatsby girl. The dress was super cute and definitely made a statement. I decided to wear the 4 as the 6 hug loose and looked a little awkward. I decided to go with a more form fitting look. Paired it with a gold clutch, black tights and suede booties. It worked perfectly for the night but probably wouldn't wear again otherwise.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Dress was great!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0 and a 2. The 2 awkwardly fit. The 0 was tight but looked better.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Perfect for a Downtown Winter Wedding

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Slate and Willow is quickly becoming a favorite designer of mine on RTR. The fit was perfect and straight, just what I was looking for in a sheath dress. There were some other reviews about the sequins being a little shaffy on the arms but I didn't find it to be a problem. I was able to dance all night and was very comfortable in this dress!
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

Great dress, great fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore for a rehearsal dinner in November of 2014. Fits true to size but is definitely form fitting. Got tons of compliments. The dress was a little worn up close, but overall a great choice.
JRO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 11, 2015

Great design

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore for date nite on vacation with hubby. Fun dress. Great design. Super comfortable.
Katy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 20, 2015

Perfect fall wedding attire

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Very glamorous, received many compliments. Dress held it's shape very well
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×