Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$30 – $80 rental
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
903 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(440)
Small
(248)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2014
Very fun, sparkly dress!
Perfect for the Glitter & Gold party I attended! So glad I read other reviews before ordering. It does fit very small in the hips, so order a size up. It was still snug, but looked good as a form fitting dress. Compliments all night and looked great in photos!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2014
Love this dress!!
The dress fit perfectly. I received a ton of compliments! The difference between the 4 and the 6 was only a little extra fabric in the stomach region. On the shorter side, but still wedding appropriate!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2015
Favorite dress I've ever rented!
Beyond pleased with this! The material is so rich and sparkly; every inch (even the black) is covered in sequins and beads. It's more fitted than I expected and the arms run a bit tight. I LOVED it though and it photographs so well. Wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
January 8, 2015
I dunno?
It was a great dress but it wasn't as short as you would think, given the picture (which isn't necessarily a bad thing). Overall it was awesome and I got a lot of compliments. Could move around and dance without having to worry about bits and pieces falling out:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2015
Elegant, and comfortable!
The length was a tad bit shorter than average, but that wasn't a con for the event I wore the dress to. The color was elegant and rich, it was certainly a show stopper. I paired with gold shoes, and received compliments all night. It flattered all the right places and had the perfect balance of sass and class.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
February 27, 2015
Longer than expected, but many compliments
I originally planned on wearing a size 2 but it was extremely tight so I had to wear the backup 4. Although it fit better, the length just felt a bit uncomfortable compared to other shorter dresses in the room. Very comfortable and flattering dress, though! I received many compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 19, 2015
Sparkler than it seems
Loved this dress, but really didn't fit like a sheath as described. Was very comfortable minus some scratching under the arms, but did not leave marks or anything.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 30, 2015
Great dress, did run small, glad I had that second size to try on.
The 12 was way too small and even the 14 fit snug. Spanks helped a lot. It definitely wasn't as short or as loose as on the model. Still looked good though and I got lots of compliments. I'll use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
April 19, 2015
Wore this for my bachelorette party - tons of compliments all night!
Excellent customer service has made me a RTR girl for life. I ordered this for my bachelorette and was a little iffy on the sizing. I panicked and Tracie of customer service overnighted me another dress as a back up for peace of mind. For free. Runs a smidge small, so I wore shapewear, but overall it was awesome! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
October 5, 2015
Great dress for a fun event!
Loved this dress! I read the reviews that the dress runs really small and that is so true! Typically a 14 W hangs off of me but this 16W was snug. I could have went up another size no problem. But the size I wore turned out great and I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 9, 2015
Felt gorgeous and it was comfortable!
Great dress and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34I
Body type: Full Bust
August 30, 2015
Beautiful, fun dress!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party. It was great! The sequin caught the light perfectly, then fitness great and I was able to wear a normal bra. I got so many compliments for the other girls and people out and about. At 5'5" I felt the dress was a little short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2015
So many compliments!!
I loved this dress! Very comfortable -- I could have worn a 4 but decided to size up so it wouldn't be as tight in the mid section. Not too sparkly, but got lots of compliments!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
September 21, 2015
Fun for a Gatsby themed wedding!
The overall fit was tighter than I desired, but the look was wonderful and I felt pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2015
Great dress, true to size! Lots of compliments!
This was a great dress and was true to size. I ordered the 4 and the 6, just in case and the 4 fit perfectly. However, my only complaint was that there were definitely signs of wear on the size 4 - lots of threads sticking out, the hem of the dress looked worn, and a snag right in the center. Things that I noticed since I was the one wearing it but I don't think others would really notice. Overall, it was very comfortable, a super fun dress and I would order it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2015
Love the Great Gatsby look!
Since this was my first time ordering from this fabulous site I was really afraid that the dress wouldn't fit so I was so thankful for them giving a 2nd size FREE! It looked just like the pictures and went very well with the 20's themed sweet 16 I attended. The only con is that it came up a little more than I thought it would but it didn't look bad! Fit perfectly. Since then I've ordered a homecoming dress for my homecoming coming up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2015
Cute dress that stood out just enough
My dress arrived right on time but had a small hole in sequin the overlay in the back of the dress. The hole was hard to notice so I wore the dress anyway. I wish it was a bit lower cut but it was moderately flattering anyway. Probably best for a thin woman without many curves because it did hug my curves in unflattering ways in certain positions. It was a little short if I didn't adjust it or pay attention to it riding up so I probably wouldn't wear this to somewhere I planned on drinking heaving and dancing a lot. What I like most about it was that it was different and I stood out just the right amount. I would definitely recommend this dress for a wedding or cocktail party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
January 7, 2016
Very pretty dress!
This dress was great for a date night at a more upscale restaurant for New Year's Eve. It is a slightly bigger fit being that it is a shift dress, but it is comfortable. Only downside was a few scratches on my arms from rubbing up against the dress. Overall the detailing is beautiful and I felt good in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
January 14, 2016
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve wedding , Perfect dress for this occasion !
I'm very short (4 10 ) so I was nervous about the length but for such a formal wedding it was perfect ! Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 8, 2016
Wore this to a friends wedding reception. It was perfect and comfortable. Got compliments all night!
It was snug but not too tight
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
March 20, 2016
Fun dress for a night out!
This was a real nice dress and I was happy that the bigger size fit. The top was on the big size but since this was a shift dress the bottom was narrow and not too forgiving to a girl who is curvier on the bottom. Overall I loved this dress and would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
March 31, 2016
Picture was misleading but was still happy with the dress!
On the model, the dress looks short and loose fitting. Being 5'7" and a size 0, I was worried that the dress would be too loose and too short. However, the dress was actually kind of long and came down to a little above my knee and was pretty fitted too. It ended up working out great and I preferred the way it fit over how it looked on the model. It arrived on schedule and was in great quality besides a few sequins falling off throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
April 24, 2016
Beautiful dress, so many compliments! Photographs very well.
Very comfortable, not itchy, but couldn't move shoulders a lot.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2015
Perfect for a Gatsby party!
Wore for a 1920s themed party, everyone loved it! It ran slightly small. My 6 showed up with a big tear in the sequins, but it wasn't noticeable with the pattern. Loved this dress overall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2015
Shapeless
This dress did nothing for my figure; it just hung like I was wearing a sack. The sequins were painful. I ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2015
Worn for a wedding
The dress was really pretty, but it definitely fits a lot different that it appears on the model. Even in the 8, I had to wear spanx because it was so form fitting. But over all I liked the dress and I didn't feel that it was itchy under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2015
Star of the show!
This dress was everything I had hope for! I wanted some sparkle and shine for my birthday and I got just that! I ordered a size ten and a size 8 as my back up...They both fit well but I went with the 8 because it fit like a glove...I would say the only con was the sequins did get caught on my stockings a couple of time but other than that perfect dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
September 23, 2015
Lots of sequins!
I ended up not wearing this dress because it was too formal for the party I was attending. The fabric has more sequins than the photos lead you to believe. Was pretty in person and would have worn it if I were going to a more formal occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2015
Total high school reunion showstopper
Great fit and as always,great customer service
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 30, 2016
-
Small on top. Awkward fit for an apple shape. Did not wear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 12, 2016
Beautiful stunning dress
Not very stretchy I would recommend one size up!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
May 11, 2016
Great dress with just enough sparkle
Rented a size 2 and 0, fit into both but ended up going with the 0. Great dress, comfortable all night long and didn't ride up at all. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2016
Great dress!
This dress was perfect for the wedding we attended. It was not overly sparkly but totally different than anything anyone else had on. While the 2 fit, the 4 was just slightly more loose without losing the form fit. The length was perfect for me... Not too short, not too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 16, 2016
Perfect for Bachelorette Party
Fits tighter than shown on model. 8 and 10 fit the same, the 10 was just longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2016
So fancy
I loved this dress. I got so many compliments on it at the wedding I attended. It does run a little small. I could fit into my normal size but I felt more comfortable in the next size up. I'm short so the dress was a little longer on me but it felt appropriate at a wedding not to be super short. I will definitely be renting this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 25, 2016
Fun and flattering
I got this at the RTR store in Vegas. It was perfect wear to go see Britney! I usually wear a 4-6, but I got a 2 in this so I think it was supposed to fit a little looser, but I liked the way it looked sized down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2016
Loved everything about it!
I rented this dress b/c I had previously worn another similar Slate & Willow dress and loved it! This dress was just as gorgeous! It fit true to size, was comfortable, flattering & allows you to wear a regular bra. I paired it with simple gold hoop earrings & bangles & it was a hit! I was sad to have to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
June 7, 2016
Nice Dress!
This dress is short. Im 5'4" but have long legs. It was snug with no stretch so def size up. I got a lot of compliments and felt great. Under the arms are a tad scratchy but to be expected with sequins.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
June 7, 2016
Love this little number!
This dress was fun and easy to wear. I got lots of compliments and stood out in a sea of regular black dresses. I'm pear shaped so I sized up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2016
Beautiful dress! So many compliments
(It is the dress on the left, the taller girl) I wore this to a great Gatsby themed party and got so many compliments. I loved it. I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 because it was longer and less tight.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×