Mae Sequin Shift

$40 rental
$348 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
786 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size407
Small226
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 21, 2015
Bittersweet
Such an easy process, the package arrived in the far north right at my doorstep. Tried the dress on, and was in love! Unfortunately there was an unexpected death the day of the event and I did not attend. The dress fit like a glove though and was simply beautiful. I had a great first experience with RTR and will definitely be using this service again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for my Mardi Gras-themed birthday party!
The dress fit exactly how a shift should - not too tight. The sequins were a little itchy, but that's to be expected. The pattern was eye-catching and looked great in photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 16, 2015
I received lots of compliments! Office appropriate for my holiday work party.
I usually wear between 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the four. It was a little tight in the shoulders, but fit a bit more flattering through the body. I have a little bit larger bust and smaller hips/waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2015
Total high school reunion showstopper
Great fit and as always,great customer service
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2015
Classy Glam look for the hostess
I wore this for my husbands 30th birthday surprise! I love this designer! perfect for the petite. sharp, expensive look and feel. glam!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2015
Amazing dress. Compliments all night. Made me feel confident and beautiful.
Fit was great - short and sexy but acceptable for a formal birthday party (James Bond theme). Danced all night - no snafus! Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful dress for a night on the town
Dress was beautiful and fun for a night out in New Orleans for my birthday. Just like other reviewers said, definitely runs small. I sized up and it was still snug for me. Under the arms was itchy, but nothing unbearable. Also very short (which might be because I have a lot in the back) and wearing it with tights was a must for my comfort level. Overall it was a comfortable and beautiful dress - just definitely size up because it's not a shift!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 13, 2015
This dress was great! It's sparkly, flattering and comfortable too!
The dress fit great. I followed the sizing tips and ordered the 16, even though I usually wear a 12/14.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 12, 2015
Sparkly --- but for waifs
I loved the look of this dress, but alas, it was not going to work for me. Slightly stretchy and very short. Would have looked perfect on someone skinnier and shorter than I. So disappointing not to have it in slightly larger size - this is a body hugging dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2015
Super cute. The more form fitting size looked better on me. I didn't wear it as a shift dress.
It was the perfect length for me, but I'm slightly short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Overall I thought dress was gorgeous and I received a ton of compliments all night.
I typically wear a size 4 or 6 depending on the brand and found that a 6 in this dress fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 8, 2015
Perfect for getting away with a non-floor length dress at a formal event! UNEXPECTEDLY LONG!
I wore this dress to a formal military Christmas party. Most of the women went more traditional and wore floor length dresses, however I did not feel too casual or under dressed at all! The dress looked fancy and expensive, and I received countless compliments! I definitely felt like I was wearing a $400 dress because of the quality. I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 as a backup. The size 0 did not fit me like a "shift" dress, and was fairly form fitting in the chest and hips, however I do have curves (because it was fairly form fitting in my usual dress size, and the style is suppose to be loose and hang, I said that it "ran small"). The size 2 fit more like a "shift" dress, however it was super long and hit below my knee. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it was a little shorter, and then shortened the dress with fabric tape. I am 5'2, so ladies be warned, unless you are very tall it will not look like it does on the model. The dress was very comfortable, not scratchy like some sequin dresses. Also, the color of gold is very much "true gold" like actual gold jewelry. The dress did have some fraying, and a hole in the armpit, however it was not noticeable. I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 7, 2015
I wore this to my work Christmas party. I felt sexy without being too revealing!
The other reviews are correct, this dress runs small. I typically wear a 16 or 14W in dresses and wore the 18W. The dress was still snug but looked good when I held everything in. I probably would have worn the 20W if I had ordered it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 6, 2015
Nice dress
Really enjoyed this dress... It fit well and was comfortable.. ran true to size; not too short. Liked it.. got a lot of compliments. Wasnt completely in love. What I DID love was the RTR process... so easy and cannot wait to do it again!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
Dressed to impress.
I typically order from RTR for more formal events. This dress definitely delivered on the wow factor. Personally I love my legs, so it showcased them very well with the short hemline. I typically order a 4 and a 6, as I am a 4 in a lot of my regular clothes. This dress, however, ran small.....like couldnt even zip up the 4. I squeezed into the 6...and if it werent for a corset I have....I most likely would not have worn it. I didnt feel super comfortable in the dress, but all my friends and my husband assured me that I looked good in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
December 1, 2015
I wish it had fit me better but gorgeous
I rented this for a great gatsby-ish wedding. It fit right in to the theme and the dress is gorgeous. However the materials really doesn't have a lot of give and my body type, I don't have a particularly flat stomach so bc it was so form fitting I was a little self conscious. Also bc of my height the size 8 was like an inch too long for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
November 29, 2015
Fit well.
Underlining sometimes slid up.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2015
Great party dress to celebrate my 30th birthday!
Loved the shiny glitz this dress brings to a night out. You definitely stand out in the crowd. The material can get a bit scratchy after a few hours. Overall, I loved the dress and would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
November 22, 2015
Compliments - super comfortable dress
Fit really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
November 18, 2015
My new favorite dress
Wore this for our Christmas pictures. Got compliments from strangers just walking to my car from breakfast. I thought it might be over the top with its glitz and sparkle, but it was beautiful and perfect. I will be renting slate and willow again. Beautiful and perfect dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2015
Cute fun dress but too clingy for me
Rented for Vegas and was hoping it would fit like a short shift dress, but it was too tight around my stomach for me to be comfortable in it. That said the dress was soft to wear, and my sister who is actually a size 8 and a few inches shorter than me wore and loved it. Just get a larger size if you aren't into skintight dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
November 11, 2015
Flashy and different.
I wasn't able to wear this because it arrived a day later than expected for the party I was attending, but I did try on the 10. It's fits nicely, but is different from what I imagined. It's a bit more sequin-y. Still very cute. I would love to order again for the next party, just allowing an extra day.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2015
Celebrated one-year wedding anniversary with my husband
Loved this dress! It was beautiful and easy-to-wear. It was the perfect length for me. I was happy that I could wear a regular bra too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 10, 2015
This dress and earrings I rented made my night 100 times better! I felt truly beautiful!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 10, 2015
Gorgeous dress, many compliments!
Loved this dress. The pros - Great for dancing and I got so many compliments--a waitress actually stopped me on the dance floor to tell me that I had the best dress at the wedding and she had to know where I got it. It's also a great dress to accessorize because you can use basically any gold jewelry, clutch, etc. Loved the capped sleeves and nice open back. It was also a good length for someone with super short legs (with a bit of a booty) like myself. A few cons - It fit a little looser than I would've preferred but it was generally comfortable. As a few people pointed out the sequins could be a teeny bit itchy under the arms but it was nothing that really impacted my night. Overall a great RTR experience and I recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2015
This dress had just enough sparkle- I loved it!
I went two sizes up for this dress and it was perfect. I'm short and curvy and it really was flattering to my body type and the length was just right.I wore it for a Gatsby themed fundraiser party for work and I received many compliments on it. I read that previous borrowers had problems with the slip but I didn't at all. It stayed right in place. Absolutely loved this dress and did not want to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 8, 2015
The dress was a hit, the sequins and pattern couldn't be more perfect!
I absolutely love this dress but am so glad I did my research and knew it would run extremely small. I typically wear a size 8, but wore a 12 in this dress and could've worn a 14. Overall the dress was perfect for the "dressy and festive" auction I attended and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
November 5, 2015
my favorite dress I have ever rented!
This dress was my favorite dress I have ever rented! It is so fun but not overly sparkly. I loved it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2015
Great dress but the fit was a bit more snug than i expected. Im so glad i ordered the second size!!!
It was snug for my comfort in the arms and the tummy area but i stiill got tons of compliments bc its such a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2015
Great dress!
Not super comfortable but very cute and perfect for the bachelorette party I wore it to!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
October 27, 2015
Loved it. So many compliments!
I tried RTR for the first time last year for my bachelorette party. Since it was a surprise & I didn't know what we were doing - I wanted something pretty/funky/comfortable --- and this dress was all 3! I wore it with black tights and big chunky booties -- it was perfect!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
October 27, 2015
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, it could not have been more perfect!
I worn this dress for my bachelorette party! It was a formal night at the beach in a limo and the dress could not have been any more perfect. The length was average for a short dress, I felt comfortable in it and I am 5' 8". The dress ran a little small, I normally wear a 10 but ordered a 12 just because I would rather it be big than too tight. I danced the night away in this dress and felt amazing. If you need a gold sequin dress this is perfect!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 27, 2015
Really comfortable, great for the fall wedding I attending!
Received a ton of compliments at the wedding, it was a great pick for a fall wedding. Didn't need to accessorize, already had enough sparkle.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
October 26, 2015
I received tons of compliments on the dress. Everyone thought I looked very stylish.
I ordered a 6 as well as and 8 and I found that the 8 fit me perfectly. The dress was a great length not to short. I found it extremely comfortable even with the sequins, it did not itch under my arms like sequin dresses normally do.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
October 26, 2015
I wore this dress to my last Homecoming dance in high school.
The fit was great! I got lots of compliments all night. My only complaint is that after I sat down, I had to pull down the underlayer of the dress because it would rise up too much. All in all, rent this dress! It was super cute and the process was so easy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2015
This dress was perfect for wedding reception in the evening.
This dress fit snug and it was a body con dress. Overall the fit was great, I would describe the dress as a mini-dress which showed off my legs. I'm glad I went with the size 2 so there was a little give. The dress material is a bit stretchy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2015
Very fun & unforgettable dress!
It fit very well and was very flattering. I was worried it was going to be too long, but it ended up being the perfect length. I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 25, 2015
Dressy & Comfortable!
I have rented this dress twice. It fits great. Easy to move around in. Dressy and elegant for a black tie event but also works for a dressy corporate event, as even though it's sparkly it is not overdone and it's flattering yet conservative, in that you are covered up. Great for a petite!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2015
Great LBD Alternative
I wore this dress to my high school reunion. It fit really well, was roomy but not baggy in the middle and fitted around the hips. I would definitely wear this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2015
Really great pattern but a little short
Overall this dress is beautiful but I'm really tall and I have hips so it fit a little weird on me. My friend who is narrow and about 5'6" tried it on and it suited her better in length and fit. I think it's better for someone with a more narrow body type who is medium/short height.
See more reviews:
3 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×