Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$30 – $40 rental
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
889 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(433)
Small
(245)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
October 5, 2016
So many compliments!
Other than it being gorgeous, the arm mobility is very poor. Cannot lift arms etc. and all the thread pulls hanging all over because of the sequins were scratchy and super pesty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2016
Cocktail Party with a Gatsby Twist!
I wore this dress for a cocktail party with a Gatsby theme, and it was perfect! I was worried that the sequins under my arms would be uncomfortable, but it wasn't an issue at all! Extremely comfortable and flattering, even after lots of snacks and champagne. Not as short as it looks in the picture, which was a relief! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 3, 2016
Great dress, lots of compliments!
Fit well...it was a little tight around my hips in the 6 but too baggy everywhere else in the 8 so I went with the 6.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Weight: 132lbs
October 3, 2016
Perfect comfy party dress!
This dress ran small, so I wore my backup size of 8. I was comfortable the entire night of dining and dancing. The hem was a little stretched out, but unnoticeable when moving or sitting. Great length, right above the knee. The low back was flattering. Mine was a little more figure hugging that the photo, which was great!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
October 1, 2016
Very elegant
I wore this to a Great Gatsby themed party. This dress is very form fitting. The material does stretch so that's a plus. It was a little short to my liking but I got many complaints on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
September 28, 2016
Sparkly and fun!
Aside from being slightly short when I was sitting down I loved this dress. Didn't irritate my skin at all the way some other reviewers had described. I got a lot of compliments and felt very sexy in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2016
Great party dress!!
This dress was perfect! It was comfortable and easy to dance it. It is NOT as short as it looks on the model (which is great in my opinion!) the fabric is light and stretchy and is prefect for a party with lots of dancing.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2016
Shimmery lights in a shimmery dress
Perfect fit, so many compliments, unbelievably nice for girls with a small bust. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2016
Looks nice, but be aware!
I wore this to my best friend's birthday bash (dinner/club) in Vegas. It looks nice, is true to size, and is mostly comfortable. I felt very comfortable with its length. Being 5'10" with a butt, sometimes (ok most of the time) dress length is an issue. Not with this dress. My only real issue with the dress is the scratching. This dress is entirely covered with sequins, so as the night goes on, the more you move your arms, the more the underside of your arm (tricep area) is going to rub against the side of the dress, causing irritation and noticeable scratches the next day. It was annoying, but not enough that it ruined my night in any way. Just something to prepare yourself for. All in all, the dress is stylish, mostly comfortable, and I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2016
Fun Dress, very light and fun to wear.
The dress is beautiful, however both sizes sent had a small hole on the side of the dress where the sequence was torn apart. Thankfully you couldn't really see it. The fit is nice and it was fun to wear! I received many compliments on the dress. I would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 25
September 12, 2016
Gorgeous 25th birthday dinner dress!
Wore this dress to my birthday dinner at an upscale restaurant. Really liked the fit for my 5'2'' frame although it was a little longer than I thought it would be, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Ordered a 2 and a 4, and I wore the 2, which is what size I normally wear so it's definitely TTS! The detail was so gorgeous and got a ton of compliments, even from complete strangers. It didn't even need a lot of jewelry - it was fabulous enough on its own! Would definitely order again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2016
I purchased this dress for a birthday evening in NYC. Perfect!!
Very comfortable. Flattering. And exactly the 'glam' I was looking for.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 6, 2016
Excellent customer service!! My dress was accidentally sent to SC instead of PA & Sylvia handled it
I typically wear a size 2 or 4 but, since many reviews said the fit was small, I chose the 4 and 6. Thank goodness I did because the 4 would not have been comfortable. I ended up wearing the 6 and the fit was pretty great. You can definitely tell the dress has been worn a lot but, the amount of sequins and detail make it difficult to see any imperfections. It photographs really well! You can wear a regular bra, which is awesome and even though the picture on the model looks very short, it isn't at all. Although, I am only 5'5". Overall I was happy! My first RTR experience was great and I'll be renting again for sure!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 6, 2016
Gorgeous Dress!!
Absolutely loved this dress! More gorgeous in person! It fits tight, but it is comfortable to wear. Great for a fall wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2016
Great affordable dress, comfortable with lots of sparkle!
Attended a 60th bday party in Las Vegas and went to the RTR store in the Cosmo and found this dress, it was very affordable and had the fun and sparkle I was looking for while still being appropriate for the occasion! Fits well, very comfortable. Not as short on me as it was on the model--I am only 5'4", so it was right above the knee. I would definitely recommend. Only the 6 was in stock at the store, but a 4 would have been more fitted since the dress is cut almost like a tee shirt dress (slightly boxy), but again, I thought it was perfect for my occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 29, 2016
Soo many compliments!
I got SOO many compliments on this dress and it was VERY comfortable. I will say that I had got a size 10 and 12, the 10 was a good fit if I was out for a girls night and 12 looked a little more wedding appropriate so I did wear the 12 BUT the 12 seamed a little more worn/ the bottom was stretched out. It wasn't bad or anything, the other size just seemed less used. I mean it is a rented dress so I didn't expect it to be perfect and it was nothing that anyone else noticed at the wedding! This was my first time using RTR and I would totally do it again! Love love love
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2016
Fantastic sparkle dress
Fit true to size and perfect for a girl with curves. I love the slight scoop in the back, and got lots of compliments! Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2016
Great dress!
Runs very small, but a great dress. I would recommend ordered a size up, and a backup two sizes up. I am typically a size 6, and ended up wearing a 10 for my event. Lot's of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
August 20, 2016
Pretty shift dress
Based on all of the reviews I read for this dress, I was expecting it to be form fitting as opposed to shift. ON me is was a definite shift dress. I was a little disappointed, but it still fit fine and looked really pretty in person. I also think this is the first dress with sequins I've worn that wasn't itchy/scratchy! It was a great dress for my formal work event.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
August 10, 2016
Very Figure Flattering!!!!
Amazing dress! I felt great in it and got tons of compliments. Very figure flattering as well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Weight: 132lbs
August 4, 2016
This dress is both classy and hot
This dress was a bit more "fitted" than shown on the model. I have an athletic build so it was tight in all the right places. If you also have an athletic build and dont want it to cling i would suggest ordering a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2016
Killer party dress!
This dress def. runs small. I normally wear 6 and couldn't even get the 6 on. 8 fit snuggly. It's quite short for someone tall, but for a party I thought that was ok. It's a stunning dress. Got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
July 27, 2016
Las Vegas wedding weekend show stopper
I went to a wedding in Las Vegas. Their colors were black and gold. This dress was perfect!! Just the right flirty length. A little light in chest, but comfy everywhere else. I would wear this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
July 23, 2016
Cute for a mama pooch πŸ˜‰
I am 5'3 and 36C, usually wear an 8 or 10 depending on the fit of the dress. I wore a 10 in this (8 wouldn't zip all the way!). I have a little belly from my 2 c sections, and am usually pretty self concious about it. You can kind of see it in my picture. However, the texture of this dress hid it a bit, so i felt comfortable wearing it. It was a bit out of my usual comfort zone, but i loved this dress and got a lot of compliments! It showed my upper back tattoo really nicely too, while still being able to wear a normal bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2016
Sparkly and flirty sheath
Wore this dress for my boyfriend's company party. The dress felt fun and unique, while appropriate for a semi-formal work event. I'm pretty narrow and found the waist a bit roomy, but otherwise fit well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
July 20, 2016
Compliments all night!
This dress was a hit for sure, I got compliments all night long! My only issue was the dress ran smaller than I anticipated, so thank goodness for that extra size, which is the greatest idea since sliced bread!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
July 19, 2016
Gorgeous dress! I received compliments on it all night!
It does run true to size, but there isn't a lot of give. If you are in between sizes, I would size up. The dress was really comfortable and I had a great time dancing in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
July 19, 2016
Short, snug, but gorgeous!
The dress was really snug I'd go up two sizes because it's pretty short. It was a showstopper though :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
July 5, 2016
Great people!
Great dress. Held up well and was comfortable throughout setting up for the wedding and the event itself.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 3, 2016
Perfect party dress
Size 2 fit perfectly. Really fun dress to wear and I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
June 29, 2016
Very pretty, but runs small!
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. It's beautiful and wish I could've worn it, but the dress definitely runs very small. A back up size was not available for me when I ordered this dress so I ended up wearing something else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 18, 2016
"I'm here to Party"
Fun little number that shouts, I'm here to party! Bedazzled and for a reason, all eyes will be on you in this dress. Runs a little small, so if you've got hips and buns, size up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
June 16, 2016
Gatsby Party
I normally wear a size 4 but after reading the reviews decided to get a 6 and 4 just in case. The 6 ended up fitting better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 14, 2016
Great dress for a "straight and narrow" figure.
I have rented sheath dresses before, and this one was another winner. I consider my body type the "straight and narrow", and this type of dress really flatters that (especially if you like to show some leg). It is short, but I didn't find it to be uncomfortably so. I was able to dance and enjoy myself and really loved how comfortable it was. The sequins were a bit annoying under the arms, but I wouldn't let that deter you from renting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2016
Beautiful dress! So many compliments
(It is the dress on the left, the taller girl) I wore this to a great Gatsby themed party and got so many compliments. I loved it. I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 because it was longer and less tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
June 7, 2016
Love this little number!
This dress was fun and easy to wear. I got lots of compliments and stood out in a sea of regular black dresses. I'm pear shaped so I sized up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
June 7, 2016
Nice Dress!
This dress is short. Im 5'4" but have long legs. It was snug with no stretch so def size up. I got a lot of compliments and felt great. Under the arms are a tad scratchy but to be expected with sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 6, 2016
I wanted to have a beautiful dress for a wedding, to look and feel good!
I'm so sad, I didn't end up wearing this dress. After reading the reviews, I ordered up a size since I read it doesn't fit like the image appears, and it's more form fitting. I ordered a 10 and a 12, but I probably should have ordered bigger than that. It fit good, but hugged the wrong curves and I knew it would probably be uncomfortable to sit in. Loved the dress and design so much, I'm so bummed I didn't wear it as I had been looking forward to renting this dress for months! The sequins do not rub raw on arms, legs, or anywhere. I would definitely rent this again if I could get a bigger size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2016
Loved everything about it!
I rented this dress b/c I had previously worn another similar Slate & Willow dress and loved it! This dress was just as gorgeous! It fit true to size, was comfortable, flattering & allows you to wear a regular bra. I paired it with simple gold hoop earrings & bangles & it was a hit! I was sad to have to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 25, 2016
Fun and flattering
I got this at the RTR store in Vegas. It was perfect wear to go see Britney! I usually wear a 4-6, but I got a 2 in this so I think it was supposed to fit a little looser, but I liked the way it looked sized down.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×