Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$40 rental
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
913 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(444)
Small
(250)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
April 12, 2014
So many compliments--felt like a star!
Glamorous dress--definitely doesn't fit like a shift like it looks in the picture but I ended up loving that! I wore the 4 when the 6 probably would've fit more a little more shift-like. The sequins didn't bother my arms like mentioned in other reviews.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2014
I rented this for RTR OnCampus Capstone Weekend. I wore it for our first night--loved it!
This runs short, I had to size up two sizes for length. I did not want to be worrying about it looking too short with my heels, etc. It was a little larger than I would have liked, but honestly it ended up working out perfectly. I got so many compliments, and felt amazing!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 14, 2014
i loved this dress!
the fit was a little more snug than i thought it would be but i really loved the dress. i was getting compliments all night. the sequins were a little bothersome but nothing i couldn't get over. it was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2014
Perfect birthday party dress!
Loved the fit. I could have gone with the 6 but I wanted a looser look so I chose the 8. The dress is beautiful! I loved the sequins and the dip in the back. Also super flattering. I paired it with a pair of nude peep tow heels and rented the WHITING & DAVIS Chrome Lattice Clutch. Absolutely perfect! I'm VERY tempted to buy the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 15, 2014
I felt glamorous!
Ordered a 2 and a 4 but received a 2 and a 6. The 2 was definitely too tight but the 6 was too big for my taste so would have appreciated getting the 4. Other than that, I felt great and really glamorous in the dress. I got compliments all night and compliments from everyone who saw pictures. I thought the sequins would really bother me but it was fairly comfortable. Would absolutely recommend it!
CarolineApril 17, 2014
You look beautiful even if the dress was the bigger size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 15, 2014
I got compliments all night long. I felt like a celebrity in this dress!
The dress doesn't fit like it does on the model. It was much more fitted, even with the size up. I don't have much of a chest but went up 2 bra sizes for the event and it still fit perfectly. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who does not have a figure, or doesn't plan to fake one a little bit. It would not look as flattering. It was a gorgeous dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
April 17, 2014
Cocktail party
Loved this dress. Fun, bright, sparkly and very comfortable. Simple shoes and jewelry were a great complement. Very form fitting for a sheath dress. I'm only 5'2 and this hit me just above the knee. I'm usually a 0 or 2. Ordered 2 and 4. Couldn't even zip up 2 but 4 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 18, 2014
Awesome dress, just wish it fit a little better
Beautiful dress, but fit weird in the stomach and but area. I'd go a size up from what you normally wear.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 18, 2014
Not for curves!
I rented this for my birthday, it was a great color but it I had to go up a size due to my curvy hips to get the shift dress look. The sequins rub on your arm so be sure to put lotion on your arms that touch the sleeves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
April 19, 2014
Loved this dress! Photographs well!!!
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. The dress was a little small, but it looked great and photographed very well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
April 20, 2014
It was "so Gatsby" !!!
I wore this dress to my junior prom and the pattern was gorgeous! And I usually don't do sequins, they really aren't my thing, actually I hate them, but this dress was very pretty and I got many compliments. It fits pretty tight around the hips and glutes. I wear a S/M on top but then large bottoms because my thighs are ginormous; that being said, ladies with curves should size up at least one, maybe even two if you want the actual "shift dress" look. Oh and it fits pretty loose on top. I will probably be renting from RTR for my senior prom as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2014
Beautiful on the hanger, not so much on me.
The difference in sizing between the 4 and the 6 was substantial. At least on me, the 4 fit as a normal, more tight-fitting dress (as opposed to the shift pictured on the model), while the 6 was a long, loose sheath. The sparkles are great, and the back comes down just a little bit, to make it interesting. However, the fit was weird enough that I wouldn't recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 23, 2014
This was one of my favorite rent the runway dresses ever!
It was stretchy-ish, so I sized down so it looked more of a tight fitting dress. I was definitely the best dressed at the party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 27, 2014
Perfect dress for sorority formal!
This dress was perfect for my sorority formal. I got so many compliments. Like other reviews say, it is a little snug in the hips. It was totally wearable but I wish the size above was available and then it would have been perfect. I will say the sequins hurt! I had sequin burn, but totally worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
Wish I owned it, will definitely rent again!
This was one of my favorite rentals so far! Wore it with leggings and booties and a regular bra. It was more fitted at the waist than in the model's photo which I liked. Hubs loved it and I hated sending it back!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
My birthday at the Cosmo Hotel in Vegas
They were out of the 10 so I rented the 8. The dress fit snug around my hips but with a stomach spanks under neath it really worked and thinned me out in the stomach. The 10 would of fit a bit better for me but I still loved the dress and felt sexy! The back is flirty and cute cut. Itchy under the arms though! I liked being able to wear a normal bra as well! All the pictures in this dress looked really great, just be careful when sitting.. It rides up and is really short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 28, 2014
Loved this dress
Perfect for our Gatsby formal. A tad long on me but definitely fun to wear
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
Rent the Runway KILLED it by recommending this amazing dress last minute!
This was a backup dress that was RTR's INCREDIBLE recommendation the night before my event when my original dress did not fit properly. It was a perfect fit for my Great Gatsby themed Barrister's Ball!! I am usually a size 4 and that is what I wore but beware - as the other reviewers have noted, the dress does NOT fit as loosely as it seems to on the model picture. I personally loved the more fitted look and got compliments all night! Also RTR's customer service CANNOT BE BEAT. Amazing company. I have already rented another dress for a wedding and can't wait to rent many more!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 28, 2014
A Classy, Fun & Sparkly Mini Dress
I wore this dress for a Gala fundraising event. I rented both the 2 and 4 and actually liked how the 2 fit better - it was more form fitting and hugged my curves more than a shift dress, but the size 4 was just loose in awkward places. I read in a lot of reviews that it was short, but I didn't think so, I am 5'4 and it was a very appropriate length on me. It was comfortable to wear even though it is completely sequins. I felt really classy and fun in it, definitely stands out in the crowd. I think this dress would work for any season really. I wore it with black strappy sandals for springtime, but it would also be pretty with black pumps and tights for a winter wear as well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 28, 2014
Beautiful dress if you don't have hips!
The dress is beautiful, but was so unflattering. If you have wide hips like I do, you need to go at least 2 sizes up. I usually wear between an 8 and 10, but the 12 barely fit over my hips. The material is not very forgiving, it shows every little bulge and imperfection. I wish it would have worked, because it is truly beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2014
Fun, sparkly dress!
This dress was super fun and got many compliments throughout the night. I ordered the 6 and the 8, which didn't fit much differently except for the length. The length difference was significant and I went with the shorter size 6. My inner arms were a little scratched up by the end of the night, but it's a sequin dress, so it is to be expected. Overall, it's a good one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2014
Had so many compliments on how flattering the dress was! I danced all night and was so comfortable.
Be careful of the sequins because they easily get caught on different things. Fits true to size and the length was perfect for someone like me who's 5'6 and still likes to wear heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2014
Perfect for a formal winter event!
This dress was perfect for a winter wedding! I received a ton of compliments! It was a little on the short side but luckily it was a winter wedding and I paired it with tights and black pumps. Extremely comfortable and hugged in all the right places.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 2, 2014
Got compliments all night, beautiful dress!
Thought it would be shorter and looser but it's definitely tighter than it looks on the model, also longer. I usually wear a 6 because I'm tall and things are often short but after reading the reviews I ordered a 2, and I'm so glad I did because a 6 would have been enormous. I even wish I had ordered a 0 (which is my jean size) I would definitely go by jean size for this not regular dress size you wear if it's different like mine.. Beautiful dress, full sequins and surprisingly comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2014
This dress is a knock out.
Ordered the 12 and 14. Both fit, but liked the way the 14 hung for a wedding instead of clubbing haha it is even prettier in person than in the pictures! Definitely will rent this dress again for New Years :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 4, 2014
Weirdly small.
Couldn't even wear it and I ordered a size bigger than I wear! The other dress I ordered in the same size was too big just to compare. Size up !
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 4, 2014
Beautiful dress to wear to a Gatsby themed prom I chaperoned.
I ordered a 6 and an 8. The fit of the 6 around my hips and butt made it a little inappropriate for me to wear that size as chaperone of prom. The 8 felt a little big, but I was the only one who could tell. I wore a long pearl necklace, a black and gold headband wrap, and a pair of sandals similar to the model in the picture.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
I felt like a model in this dress!
I ordered this dress for a Gastby themed prom and it was a hit! It looks really short on the model but I'm 5'7 and it hit mid thigh when I was standing. It does get a little risqué when sitting down so think before you sit. The sequins rubbed only a little under the arm. The fit wasn't tight or loose; it was just perfect! Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2014
The dress got her in perfect time. It was so easy to go through this process.
I got this dress for my sorority formal. It was perfect except the sequins on the dress scratched my arms throughout the night. But it fit me in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2014
Fun and sassy cocktail dress!
Wore to a bachelorette party and got a lot of compliments. The dress runs a little small, but the length was perfect for my height. Really fun and sassy dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2014
Black Tie Optional Art Deco Themed Gala - Lots of Compliments But...
Many people complimented me on the dress. It was just right for the event and I am glad I rented it. The 3 (rather than 4) stars has more to do with the fact that there were many plastic threads sticking out where sequins had been pulled. However, you could not see that sequins were missing when the dress was on, and the complexity of the pattern helped to hide the threads. I wear a 4 usually but generally go for loose or A-line skirts. This is a shift dress so I had to go up a few sizes. I could have worn the 6 but the 8 was a little longer on me. The material is stretchy so that helps. I did feel like I had to subtly tug down the skirt every once in a while, especially at dinner when we were sitting, but a more confident person probably wouldn't have worried.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
May 5, 2014
Fun, Glam, Flattering
I wore this dress the first night of my bachelorette weekend. It is super fun, glam, and flattering. I found the dress to run slightly small in the hips, especially because it does not have any stretch to it. I ordered the 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 2. The midsection was a bit looser, but not baggy. (I have a very small waist and larger hips) The dress is not as loose as it appears on the model and hugs the curves a bit more than your typical shift.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
I wore this dress to a wedding and received compliments all night.
The dress fit true to size. The sequins on the sleeves bothered me a little but nothing that was unbearable. I ordered the size 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4 since it was a tighter fit. If you want the dress to fit like the model I would recommend ordering up a size or two. Although I received a lot of compliments on the dress, the only downside for me was that people also recognized it as a RTR favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
May 6, 2014
N/A
Beautiful dress; fabulous fabric. Unfortunately, I am a curvy woman and the hips of the dress did not fit my hips, so I have to go a size up, but then the top of the dress was too large :-( so I had no choice but to go with another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
Loved it! Flattering and festive!
I wore this to a Indian wedding pre-party, where I was one of the few guests without a sari. But the sequin and sparkles on this cocktail dress were perfect! I could have worn either the 6 or the 8, but I felt like the 8 was a little droopy at the botton. The 6 was definitely fitted (not like pictured on the model) but it was really flattering. I would absolutely rent again. Lots of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 6, 2014
First RTR experience and it was very easy! Loved the dress and felt great in it. Had a nice sparkle.
Fit true to size tried both the 4 and 6 and both would have worked. Went with the 4 as it was a bit less baggy in stomach and a better length on my 5'6" height. Nice sparkle for a Vegas wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2014
Perfect for a formal wedding!
Not loose like in the picture but still looked really nice. It was the perfect length on with a pair of heels. The arms/sleeves were a little tight but I worn the 2 instead of the size up because the overall fit was better! Like other people said, the sequins scratch under your arms but it was tolerable. Easy to move around and dance in! Overall loved the dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 11, 2014
Didn't end up wearing this dress
This dress fit a little snug, just as the other reviews mentioned. RTR was out of a 10 so I ordered the 8 and it was too small to wear. Also the sequins under the armpit are really uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2014
Gorgeous dress
Fit like a glove. Some of the sequins looked like they were lifted from the dress, but was not noticeable to anyone looking at me. Got tons of compliments and was definitely the hit of the party! Wore it for a Bar Mitzvah with an attire of "club chic"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 12, 2014
I wore this to my cousin's bachlorette party in Chicago! Fun and beautiful dress!
Beautiful detail on this dress! Very comfortable and easy to dance in.
See more reviews:
3 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×