Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$60 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

512 reviews

Fit
Small 147
True to Size 308
Large 25
Photos 330
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Perfect cocktail dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose to wear the 4 because I wanted a looser fit. It was still fitted (not tight) through the hips and chest but not tight around midsection. Length was appropriate on me, and I have really long legs and a shorter torso.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

This was sparkly and gorgeous -- definitely a showstopper.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The only gripe I have with this beautiful dress is that I rented it because I thought it would be more of a shift dress as it looks on the model in the picture. I had both the size 2 & 4 and both did not hang on me in that "T-shirt" style that I was desiring. If you are tall, long, and very lean, that is probably how the fit will be, but otherwise it is going to be more fitted. (I also had my hourglass-figured friend try on both dresses and it was a fitted fit on her too). However, it is still a beautiful dress and perfect for a night out with the girls.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Glittery, glamorous, show off your gams!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful. Oddly is way more "sequined" in real life than it appears in photos. The fit is a little loose but if you have hips you will soon notice there isn't much give, it is not stretchy. I ordered the 10 as well and the 8 fit much better. Shorter than I usually wear but was perfect for my 30th birthday!
Gina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Sep 27, 2014

So unique, a real standout!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall I loved the dress! It's so different from the typical dress for a wedding. The 2 fit as I expected, but it definitely was tighter than it looks on the model. I'm also not 6 feet tall and stick thin, so go figure. It was so easy to accessorize, because I only needed some earrings and black heels and a black clutch and I was ready to go. The only negative aspect was it was itchy under the arms and the material doesn't really breathe. It ended up being a hot day and I probably would have been more comfortable in a lighter dress. But I don't regret choosing it and I would definitely recommend it. Also good to note for fellow shorties, the dress was just the right length. I would imagine it would be REALLY short on taller girls.
Care_Freeeee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

It was so fun to play dress up for a black tie wedding! This dress was beautiful and classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Light weight and comfortable! A little scratchy on the arms towards the end of the night but not a deal breaker.
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Wedding Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit perfectly, was super comfortable, and looked amazing. The dress is sequins, which you can't tell from the picture, but it didn't change my opinion of it.
cassie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Oct 3, 2014

Love love love

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my Gatsby themed homecoming and I absolutely loved it! I got so many compliments on it and some people said I looked like Serena van der Woodson from gossip girl! I would recommend this dress to anyone and would totally rent again from RTR!
Jac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Oct 4, 2014

Fun dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Bachelorette party dress!! The dress was the perfect length and so comfortable! I gave it 3 stars because the dress I received was pretty worn into and there was holes in it... Not too noticeable.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Wow!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was SO obsessed with this dress and didn't want to take it off at the end of the night! I ordered the 2 and the 4 and even though the difference in size was pretty marginal, I wore the 4 because it was a little looser and gave me more of that shift dress look. The fabric is so beautiful in person and it just feels like a very well structured dress. If you're unsure of what sizes to rent, I'd recommend looking at the RTR user photos in the dress, instead of just basing it on their height/weight .. this is definitely one of those dresses that fits really differently depending on how you carry your weight. I know some other renters said it was pretty short but I'm 5'3" and it wasn't that short on me, probably because I wore the looser one. Definitely give this dress a shot, you won't regret it!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Fun sparkly dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was super easy to wear. No accessories needed. It was a little scratchy on the edges because of the sequins and it was hard to lift my arms up all the way since there was very little stretch. But overall I liked the dress and got lots of compliments. I will say that RTR is becoming pretty popular in my city and I saw at least 5 other sparkly dresses from RTR at this event. No repeats, though. Whew!
Alise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Sparkly standout at Barrister's Ball!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my Barrister's Ball, where the theme was roaring 20s. The dress was perfect and I received a ton of compliments! It fit tighter on me than the model. The size difference between the 6 and 8 is dramatic, the tighter fit was more flattering than the larger 8, which seemed much longer and looser. As you can see from the photos, this dress is very unforgiving if you don't like tight. One complaint, I realized the next day that the sequins-like material had rubbed against my inner arm and caused it to be a little chafed. Other than that, perfect dress, especially for a 20s theme.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Glam!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends wedding. I got tons of compliments on it from friends and complete strangers. My husband LOVED it on me. I felt that the dress ran true to size and I wear a 4. I was snug along the hips and I have average sized hips. It fit well across the bust. The dress is short, so keep that in mind if you have a long torso. Some people who also rented this dress mentioned that the sequins were itchy, but I didn't have a problem with that at all. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress!
Elsie
Age: 19
Oct 6, 2014

So many compliments!!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'1 and it was a couple inches long .. Had to pin up
Sb
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Nothing

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect dress for wedding. 100% positive
val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

The mother of the bride pulled me aside to say how much she loved the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits as stated. More of a shift dress than fitted style. Comfortable and able to wear a regular bra! Scratched under the arm a tad but not much. Great dress!
Rose
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

RTR score!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in October. It was perfect for the occasion, photographed well and didn't require many accessories. It was comfy for the most part (although I had some scratches on my arms from the sequins). I normally am a size 0 but opted for the 2 because it was a tad longer. Other than the length I saw no difference between the two sizes. This dress was pretty snug and did not fit like a shift at all. RTR is great! The ordering and returns are so easy!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit well and was so beautiful! I got so many compliments.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 9, 2014

Perfect dress to celebrate my anniversary

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress and didn't want to take it off. Fit perfectly and true to size 4. It was comfy and don't ride up or anything. Wore it for my 2 year anniversary and my husband loved the dress too. Would highly recommend and would rent again.
FWD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 16
Body type: Petite
Oct 9, 2014

Everyone said they loved the dress! It was unique and classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was true to size and comfortable ; not scratchy at all!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Most unique dress at the dance!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my senior homecoming and loved the dress! The fit around the bust was a little bit strange but it looked great, and surprisingly didn't ride up even though it was tight. It was comfortable and easy to dance in!
Evannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

the dress was a hit at my senior homecoming! everyone loved it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the size 4 dress fit well but it was a little short for my school's dress code. to get the full effect of a shift dress, i'd go with the size 6
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 4 and wore a 6 in this dress. The 6 was form-fitting...not lose fitting as pictured in the model. It's also sequin, which you can't really tell until the dress arrives. The scoop-back is really pretty and the dress photographs really well! The dress was comfortable, not too short and was a great pick for my night. Wore earrings and no other accessories because the dress speaks for itself!
LAURA
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Beautiful dress, flattering and comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my engagement party and I love it. I got so many compliments on it the entire evening. The sequins we're beautiful and just glam enough without making me feel like a disco ball. The fit was true to size and very flattering. It hugged my curves and had a little streach even with the thick coat of sequins.
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2014

I felt like Serena van der Woodsen.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so gorgeous and soooo comfortable! Absolute perfect combo. I am normally a size 2 and the size 2 fit like a glove. It is more sequincy than it appears in the picture but the sequins didn't bother my skin at all. A lot of other reviews said the dress was super short so I was really afraid because I have a long torso but it was a good/appropriate length! Overall, this dress is classy and comfortable. Be prepared for a lot of compliments through out the night! Definitely a must Rent!
Erin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Oct 19, 2014

Love RTR!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the way this dress sparkled! Runs small, I never thought I'd wear a 14 and even that was snug. Not what it appears to be on the model!
Jenny
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 19, 2014

How easy it was!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am normally somewhere in between a 4 and 6. I got a size 6 and it fit great! I'm short (at 5'3) and it was a good length. Wore it to a theatre gala opening and got lots of complements! I would recommend this and also would rent this again :)
RTR Customer
Oct 19, 2014

This was my first RTR experience, and it was a total success! Definitely doing this again.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was the perfect length and the perfect fit!! No problems at all, and it was comfortable to wear.
RTR Customer
Oct 19, 2014

beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a more athletic/pear shaped body, so the fit was a little tighter than it appeared on the model, but this was expected. The slip underneath the sequins is very comfortable and not scratchy at all. Very rarely did the sequins on the side of the dress rub against my arms. It was obviously well made and looked brand new. I received multiple compliments on it and I felt great in it!!
RTR Customer
Oct 19, 2014

Dressed this down with black tights and suede booties

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress--I normally wear a 10. The 12 was fitted. If I had wanted it to fit me like it did on the model I'd need a 14 (well, that or lose 50 lbs!). I dressed it down with black tights and suede booties.
Kyra
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Glitter and gold! This dress was amazing for the gold themed party I threw!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect! It stood out, it was comfortable and it photographs beautifully! It was the perfect length for me although I'm not that tall. I was organizing the event so I wanted something that was classy but still amazing. It is a bit scratchy under the arms but it was worth it!
Taylor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Wore this dress to one of my good friends' weddings & outdoor reception.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love love love this dress! It did not fit the way I expected -- the photo makes it look more like a shift dress -- but it was perfect for a fall wedding. It was form fitting and so flattering! I don't think I have ever gotten so many compliments in my entire life. The back is low, but not too low -- you can still wear a normal bra with it. They usually say size up in a dress, so I was thinking a 4 might be too small since that's my normal clothing size, but it fit like a glove. It was just long enough for someone my height in heels. I would definitely wear this again.
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Gorgeous design that looks amazing in photos

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the Gatsby look of the dress. It was entirely sequence, which I would normally shy way from, but they were small enough that it wasn't obvious or too over the top. It did make it a little uncomfortable to sit for a long period of time, but not unbearable. Dress was a little tight around the arms, especially since there was no give from the sequence, but overall pretty comfortable. Unless you have a super flat stomach, shape wear is DEFINITELY necessary.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Stunning dress for petite women!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love this dress! I wore it to a wedding. I was really nervous that it would be too long for me since I am only 4'10 1/2" (I had to add the 1/2 inch) but the length was perfect. It was so flattering to my body and I received a ton of compliments. I also think that it photographed extremely well. It was so comfortable and I was able to dance all night. The sequins do rub your skin a little raw under your arms but other than that it was a PERFECT dress for the occasion.
claire
Age: 16
Oct 20, 2014

I wore this dress to homecoming. It was an overall success

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was over all a success, however when I first tried it on it was a little big; it fit around the shoulders and hips but was weirdly big around the midsection. I'm not sure if this was the dress or me being underweight, probably the latter. There were also a few small holes in the back. These are mostly the cons of the dress but I really did like it and it worked well!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Very classy dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress, very classy. I would suggest sizing up to get more of a fit like the model in the pic, or else it will be much more form fitting. Overall, I loved it!
Kariss
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

dress was different than all other guest dresses, was comfortable, and true to size

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress did not have that shift style which is what I was expecting... However with the second size (2) i ordered it was a little longer and baggier
Lauren
Age: 27
Oct 21, 2014

The dress was perfect for a gatsby themed evening wedding at a downtown public library!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! I was nervous because they did not have a backup size available. I received tons of compliments!! I was worried that gold jewelry would be hard to match because the dress is a softer gold. I bought a bangle at target and it went perfectly. I would love to own this dress. It is a show stopper.
Meredith
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

The slip rides WAY up!!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While this dress was really pretty, and I got several compliments, i was constantly adjusting the slip that kept riding up to the tops of my thighs, pretty much exposing my upper thighs (and shape wear) through the sheer-ish, hole- y top layer that the sequins are on. You can see the top of my thigh through the skirt of the dress in this picture. My friends assured me it wasn't that noticeable, but it had me uncomfortable all night. I think the size 14 I rented might have been poorly made!
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

1920's Style Wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Usually I wear a size 4, however the 6 was only available. I ordered 2 different dresses just in case the 6 was not doable. It fit great! Perfect in the bust and in the belly. The 4 might have been a little too tight. The only thing about the dress that bothered me was that the bottom of the dress was a little stretched out. Like someone had been dancing a lot in it and stretched the fabric out. Other than that, I loved the dress and received many compliments on it!
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got plenty if compliments and never had to worry about being exposed or the dress riding up!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×