Madeline Sheath

$60 – $80 rental ?
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1511 reviews
Fit
Large
(114)
True to Size
(1012)
Small
(92)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2016
Easy to wear, subtle but fun
I wore this dress to an awards show party and it had just enough sparkle and fun with the back cut for a Hollywood event, without looking like I was trying too hard. It was easy to wear because the fabric had stretch - though the back did gape a little at times. I wore a stick-on bra and tried to keep great posture. The color was a nice change from black and navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2016
Perfect dress that is both sexy and classy.
This dress fit perfectly and was just as described. It was sexy with the open back yet still classy. I wore this to a fundraising gala and received several compliments. I LOVED wearing this dress and will definitely be renting from RTR in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2016
Worn to an outdoor wedding at a vineyard - great dress, but hot material for the summer!
Fit amazing, wore the 0 but ordered both a 0 and a 2. 2 would have been a little too big. Dress was amazing, got so many compliments but was thick material to be outdoors in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
September 15, 2016
Summer outdoor wedding
I wore this to a summer outdoor wedding and it was great! I little short but I felt beautiful!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2016
Elegant, classy and great for an outside wedding
I ordered size 6 and size 8. I should have ordered the 8 and 10. The 8 fit but I would have been more comfortable in the 10. The great thing about this dress was I did not even have to wear a bra with it. It was a tad tight around the tummy area but my Spanx helped. Mine were black and you could not see thru the dress. I received so many compliments on this dress. This dress fit rather snug but still gave some room for me to hit the dance floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2016
Amazing Evening
I was really hesitant about ordering this dress for my friend's wedding because of the color. Looking at the pictures on RTR, I couldn't tell if it was white, cream, or any other color that would make it inappropriate to wear to a wedding. I decided to take a chance and rent it anyway and I'm really really glad I did. The color is more of a tannish/nude with a silver overlay. The dress is stunning and I received a ton of compliments on it. I definitely recommend this dress. Usually I wear a 6 or an 8. I wore an 8 in this dress due to length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2016
Bachelorette!
Great fit, super comfortable. Wore a sticky bra since the dress is backless. It was exactly what I was looking for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
September 10, 2016
Great NYE dress
Loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 6, 2016
Great Dress!
I felt this dress runs true to size..it was a good length on me and I am pretty tall, I didn't have to wear a bra at all and the back pretty much stayed put! I didn't use fashion tape. I got tons of compliments and felt so comfortable dancing in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 2, 2016
This dress is perfect.
I'm in love with this dress. Wearing it for my wedding after party and can't wait! It's a very comfortable and forgiving material. The back is gorgeous. I was concerned about the cap sleeves because I'm normally very self conscious about my arms but it didn't draw any extra attention to them. I would recommend sizing up for a larger bust, the width of the bust area is slightly small and if your bust was slightly large and pulled the dress your armpit would awkwardly show. PERFECT for hourglass ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2016
Fun dress!
Comfortable. Cap sleeves create a defined shoulder. Low cut back and flirty length make the dress fun, while the soft neutral color keeps it toned down. Beautiful in person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Weight: 135lbs
August 29, 2016
Great dress, great date, great people, great venue.
The dress received a lot of compliments and everyone wanted to know where I got it. It was very short when I sat down, so I was careful with that. Dress fit every true to size and the back wasn't as low as I thought it would be. I recommend this to dress to everyone.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2016
The back was stunning!
I wore this dress to my junior homecoming, and got so many compliments on it. Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
August 24, 2016
Sexy, Sparkly and Fun!
True to size. I wore a size small with a nubra and it fit like a glove. LOTS of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 24, 2016
Lots of compliments!
I'm usually a size 0, but I went with the 2 because the 0 was uncomfortably short. The low, open back was my favorite part of the dress! My only complaint would be the quality of the fabric. Not that anyone else noticed, but there were a few snags and the lace trim looked worn.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 24, 2016
Perfect for an outdoor wedding
This dress was for an outdoor wedding on the water. I received multiple compliments. The color was really beautiful and fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
August 23, 2016
Beautiful dress for wedding
My first RTR. Very pretty dress! I received a lot of compliments. I was in between size 0 and 2, but decided to go with the 0 because the 2 was slightly big on top. The 0 was form fitted at the bottom and when I danced it was a little short, but overall it was a great rental! I'd recommend it.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
August 23, 2016
Perfect fit
This dress fit perfect and I had a ton of compliments. Downside was that I noticed a small hole in the front of the dress about an hour before I was leaving. No one could notice but I knew it was there and it made me a bit self conscious. I would highly recommend renting this dress still.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 22, 2016
Beautiful and true to size! Wish I could have purchased this dress!
I loved, loved, loved this dress. Perfect fit and true to size. I'm on the petite size and often have a hard time finding dresses that fit right in length, hips and chest. The back of the dress is super sexy without being too scandalous. I received a ton of compliments. I would most definitely rent this dress again. Pros: True to size Beautiful Extra lining so no need for a slip Cons: Need dress tape Need backless bra Had signs of pulling and overall wear
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2016
For my anniversary dinner, I absolutely loved it
The fit was perfect, shorter than I thought , but it fitted like a glove .
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 14, 2016
GORGEOUS. If I could wear this every night I would. It was stunning, I got compliments all night.
Fits true to size. I would go a size up just in case.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 9, 2016
Very beautiful dress; a little bigger than I expected
a little baggy around my stomach
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
August 8, 2016
I wore it to a birthday party. Loved the dress, got many compliments that night!
I am 5'3 about 100 lbs. Usually wear size 0 in dresses. Overall I liked how the dress fit me. the only thing I was not able to wear a bra, but the dress is made with a very thick material so it was fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
August 6, 2016
Homecoming!
First rental and all around great dress. Sophisticated but very pretty and fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2016
Great dress for a wedding
The back was a little loose so you may need fashion tape. Great for petites because it runs short. I did realize that there was a little hole in the outer lace layer right before I left the house but it wasn't noticeable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
August 1, 2016
it was fabulous !
still a tinny bit baggy but super cute!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
August 1, 2016
Gorgeous dress
Dress fit perfectly - beautiful open back. I wore this to my wedding rehearsal and received so many compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 31, 2016
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night!
Fit was short, fitted and open back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2016
Perfect bachelorette party dress!
Trying to find the perfect non-white bachelorette party dress, I fell in love when I came across this dress. The back was so much fun and my favorite part of the dress! Definitely need a nubra if you plan on wearing a bra. I used fashion tape to hold down the back of the dress. Other than that, the dress fit perfect and I received a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 27, 2016
Rented this dress last minute for a wedding. Runs true to size!
Great dress! Not too short, no problems with it shifting in the front despite being backless. It tended to ride up a little but not too much. If rent it again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
July 24, 2016
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. Perfect for a party!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. Since this is an open back, the 4 was too big in the back and the sides kept puckering. The material in the back on the size 2 dress laid a little bit better so I wore that one. I lucked out and did not need a bra with the 2, but I did use fashion tape around the back. It's a little bit short, so I wear flats with this dress. Loved it for my engagement party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
July 24, 2016
Compliments All Night Long!
Great dress for a summer wedding! As other reviews have said, the open back does bunch a little, but if that doesn't bother you no problem! I didn't need a bra and felt very comfortable all night!! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
July 21, 2016
Beautiful AND comfortable!
Fits perfectly. I wear a size 2 at Banana and JCrew, but this worked great at size 4. For as short as the dress looks in the product photo, I was surprisingly never worried about length during the event. So many compliments, would wear it again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
July 21, 2016
Tons of compliments!!
I rented this dress for my birthday date night out with my husband to one of our favorite fine dining restaurants. I received a ton of compliments all night long from several women of varying ages!! Super classy… And comfortable too!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
July 17, 2016
Favorite!!! Bachelorette party in Boston
LOVED this dress. I wore it for my bachelorette party in Boston. I felt classy and sexy at the same time. I was comfortable all night long. Because of the backless aspect, you cannot wear a normal bra. I chose to go braless as the dress is thick and I felt offered enough coverage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
July 14, 2016
Red carpet and party hybrid dress
I truly loved this dress! I ordered it for the ESPYs so needed a dress that was formal yet sporty. The dress fit nicely around the chest but a little bit around the waist, but overall it was comfortable and received a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2016
Rehearsal dinner stunner
This dress was great for our rehearsal dinner. The open back is a sexy surprise. The lining showed at the bottom so that was frustrating, material was thick enough that no bra was needed
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2016
Great 1st RTR experience
First of all, I was amazed and excited when I got the box with both of the dresses. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and didn't even try the 6. The dress runs true to size. I got many compliments on the dress. It was very comfortable and light. Now, let's talk about the open back... I love dresses with open backs and to be honest, this was one of the reasons why I picked this dress. Based on the dress review, I got the fashion tape and only had it on for less than an hour. The fabric kept sliding away and I felt uncomfortable being worried about the tape showing, so I decided to just remove them and enjoy my dress. Yes, the fabric opens a little bit but it's not a big deal. It's a beautiful dress, and I will use RTR for future events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 6, 2016
Perfect for my Wedding Rehearsal!
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner and it was a show stopper! I got a ton of compliment and felt like a million bucks in this dress. It is so easy to wear, I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 4, 2016
Classy fun
5'2, 120 lbs, hourglass shape, 32C bra size Great dress. I wore size 2. I have a big butt so the 0 ended up getting caught at my hips. Beautiful dress. Ended at my mid-upper thigh. I did not feel the need to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 38
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×