Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$42 – $60 rental?
$395 value
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1537 reviews
Fit
Large
(115)
True to Size
(1018)
Small
(94)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
November 13, 2016
LOVED this dress!!
true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2016
Rehearsal Dinner Dress for Bride
Wore this to my rehearsal dinner! Love the back of it! Armpits look funny when taking pictures because shoulders of the dress are very structured. Pictures don't do this dress justice, it is so beautiful in person!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
November 10, 2016
So many compliments!!
Great fit and super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
November 10, 2016
Felt absolutely stunning.
This dress wasn't one I thought I would ever pick for myself. Rent the Runway had notified me that a previous customer had not returned my original dress on time so I would be unable to have that dress. They requested that I pick my top 5 dresses as a replacement dress for my Bachelorette party. Little did I know I would received 3 of the 5 to pick from for the evening. This was my least favorite of the 3 received, but ended up being my favorite. Loved it! It's difficult for me with a 32 bust and being larger in my hips and waste to find something that fits absolutely perfect at times. I was unable to wear a bra with this so the top was a little loose and sliding off my shoulders. Overall this dress was fabulous!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2016
I got married in this dress!
This dress was sheer perfection! Love love love it! Open back, cap sleeves...what else could a woman want.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Weight: 189lbs
October 29, 2016
Sooooo pretty! Stood out to everyone that wore black or red!
This dress is amazing! I'm quite tall (5'9) and my biggest fear was that it was going to be too short, but that wasn't the case at all! The dress itself is quite roomy and will come up if you raise your arms or squat too low but other than that 10/10! Received to many compliments. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 28, 2016
Perfect for Vegas Dinner
I felt amazing in this dress and got lots of compliments! Wore this to dinner and drinks in Vegas to celebrate my parents anniversary. It wasn't too tight but made me feel like my hard work of working out was noticeable. Wore a sticky bra I got a Target because the back is open. Only reason I didn't give it five stars is the back puckered in the shoulders if I stood up straight (I have former swimmer shoulders). But definitely would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 26, 2016
The perfect dress for my bachelorette weekend!
The fit was great! I'm 5'0 and 102 lbs, so most dresses tend to run long on me. This dress was the perfect length for my small frame since it runs short. The cut of the waste and the open back were very flattering; I got tons of compliments! A fun dress with just the right amount of sparkle. The sleeves fell every so often, but it wasn't a big deal at all. I can't wait to wear this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 24, 2016
Fun to wear
Wasn't sure if this was going to be too short since I shy away from short professionally, but for a cocktail-attire wedding this was perfect. It IS short, but it didn't ride up too much. The shoulders slip sometimes (while dancing), and as you can see from the photo, the lining does show sometimes (see right shoulder). But it made me feel glamorous, it was easy to accessorize (I wore gold strappy sandals, though the dress is actually silver and tan; a range of colors would work), and I got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 22, 2016
perfect fit!! got so many compliments!!
i recommend fashion tape for the back, but overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
October 20, 2016
Lots of shimmer with this dress!
The dress itself was very beautiful. I rented both the 6 and the 8. The 6 felt a little small but the 8 was way to large on my top since I don't have much going on up there. I did get a lot of compliments. Dress is actual beige with silver sparkles and thread. In some pictures it did come off as looking white. Dress was really short; I kept having to tug it down everytime I moved which made it uncomfortable. but the back was gorgeous and the structure of the dress made it a worth while rental.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2016
This dress was perfect for the occasion- modest, but still super glamorous!
The only weird parts of how it fit was in the shoulders. The back is more open, and I didn't quite have the boobs to fill out the front, which made the shoulders of the dress slip down. I taped them in back and it was fine. Overall, fit perfectly in the hips, great length, didn't ride up at all. Just a bit loose in chest area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2016
Just enough sparkle and sass
I rented this dress at the last minute for my rehearsal dinner and I'm so glad I did! It stood out the way I wanted to as the bride :) but was extremely comfortable! At first I thought the 0 was too tight but the 2 wasn't tight enough to wear without a bra. I'm glad I went with the 0 because although I thought it might look too tight at first, the material is thick enough that you won't feel like it shows everything. The material had a little bit of stretch but was structured enough to be able to not wear a bra and feel like everything was held in place. The way the sleeves are cut makes it a little restrictive but I'm also broad shouldered. It didn't cause me to go up a size or anything like that. The dress is more nude color and sparkly than I was expecting but I'm so glad it was! It made me stand out. The sparkles are silvery and had the perfect amount of shine. The dress is short so be prepared. I really loved this dress and would rent again. It could be worn for so many different things!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2016
The dress is beautiful without being too loud. I received many compliments on it.
The size 6 dress fit perfectly for my 5'3, 145lb athletic frame. It was form fitting and I did not have a single issue with it. I have a larger backside so the dress hit mid thigh, which was perfect. I think if someone had a thinner frame, it would be longer. The back of the dress is completely open so you can't wear a bra. It was not an issue as the dress keeps everything snug and set. I danced the night away and had no issues with movement. I would suggest getting a more form fitting size as the sides of the dress are what hold up the back so if it's not fitting from the shoulders down, the sides of the back of the dress can sag and bunch. That is what happened when I put on the size 8. Beautiful dress, made well and on the thicker side (3 layers of fabric) . I would rent again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 37
October 15, 2016
Flattering dress with a subtle shine. Very comfortable and beautiful.
Fits nicely but just a touch short. Would not recommend it for a work event.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2016
Red carpet birthday look!
Loved this dress! The sides were a little loose right under the armpits with the open back, but fit was otherwise fabulous! Length was just right, since there was no petite and I'm on the shorter side. Many compliments while walking the red carpet! (Themed birthday party)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
October 10, 2016
Many compliments and very comfortable as well.
The dress fit great, I'm 5' and weigh 122 lbs. size 2 fit me as well but It was a shorter on me so I went with the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 6, 2016
Really cute! Sexy open back!
Would definitely rent this again! Really cute and comfy as long as you don't mind going without a bra! I'm 5'7 and have long legs and felt the length was perfect. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
October 6, 2016
Just perfect!
This dress is a no brainer. It's elegant, yet has a sexy open back. The color is perfect and the silver shimmer makes it dressy enough for a wedding. I'd definitely rent this again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2016
Sexy
I thought this dress was incredibly sexy but I was unable to wear it to the event for 2 reasons: First the dress was way too short. I am 5'8" and was showing way too much if I even moved a little bit, no way I could wear this even for a Vegas night out unfortunately so definitely too short for a family wedding. But the other reason I couldn't wear it was because it was damaged. The zipper wouldn't zip on the side (I could see where it was broken) and there were about 6 obvious tears in the dress. It looked like very worn out. The sizing was perfect, I'm a size 0 and the size 0 was a perfect fit. If I was a few inches shorter the dress would have been awesome.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 5, 2016
Great last minute pick
I rented a different dress but I needed the back up size and RTR was not able to send it because of damage. They let me pick another dress and overnighted it to me. I am thrilled with this dress it was so much better! It fit perfectly. It is pretty short so if you are tall I do not suggest this dress. The back is completely open so you can't wear a bra so small chested is better too. I got a ton of compliments and was completely comfortable all day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 27, 2016
Stunning outdoor wedding. The rain wasn't even a buzzkill!
Perfect fit. I was almost worried it was a little short, but it worked out perfectly! Great for dancing, didn't need to wear a bra, and wasn't constantly worried about how the dress looked on me. Felt amazing and got so many compliments! The color was also perfect! More of a silver/taupe color and worked great for the wedding. Ordered the size 2 and size 4, went with the size 2. I'm 5'4" and 120 lbs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
September 26, 2016
Loved it
Fit great, true to size! I wore the dress to my bachelorette party and it had the perfect amount of sparkle. It's also the perfect length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2016
Fun rehearsal dinner dress!
The back is fun and flirty. Wish I would have worn a stick-on bra, but worked OK braless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2016
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress for bachlorette party. It was thicker than expected but I was fine with that since it was a chilly night. It fits great and doesn't hug so close to the body that you feel uncomfortable. The back was great and I wore a strapless bra and just pushed the back down. It worked and no one noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
September 23, 2016
Loved it!
This dress was amazingly beautiful! Everyone stopped me to compliment the detail and the fit on this dress. This dress has to be worn with no bra- so just make sure you keep that in mind. The back on this dress is just stunning.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2016
Easy to wear, subtle but fun
I wore this dress to an awards show party and it had just enough sparkle and fun with the back cut for a Hollywood event, without looking like I was trying too hard. It was easy to wear because the fabric had stretch - though the back did gape a little at times. I wore a stick-on bra and tried to keep great posture. The color was a nice change from black and navy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2016
Perfect dress that is both sexy and classy.
This dress fit perfectly and was just as described. It was sexy with the open back yet still classy. I wore this to a fundraising gala and received several compliments. I LOVED wearing this dress and will definitely be renting from RTR in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2016
Worn to an outdoor wedding at a vineyard - great dress, but hot material for the summer!
Fit amazing, wore the 0 but ordered both a 0 and a 2. 2 would have been a little too big. Dress was amazing, got so many compliments but was thick material to be outdoors in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
September 15, 2016
Summer outdoor wedding
I wore this to a summer outdoor wedding and it was great! I little short but I felt beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2016
Love this dress and the open back!
Rented this dress for a fancy dinner at six-seven in Seattle. I felt awesome and boyfriend said men watched me walk through restaurant. The fit runs big I wore the small. Back does do a little hanging open thing on the sides but I didn't use tape and I felt it wasn't that noticeable. Pretty short and open back better for warm weather. I am 34b and wore no bra. I have so many dresses in my hearts but I'd still like to rent this one again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2016
Elegant, classy and great for an outside wedding
I ordered size 6 and size 8. I should have ordered the 8 and 10. The 8 fit but I would have been more comfortable in the 10. The great thing about this dress was I did not even have to wear a bra with it. It was a tad tight around the tummy area but my Spanx helped. Mine were black and you could not see thru the dress. I received so many compliments on this dress. This dress fit rather snug but still gave some room for me to hit the dance floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2016
Amazing Evening
I was really hesitant about ordering this dress for my friend's wedding because of the color. Looking at the pictures on RTR, I couldn't tell if it was white, cream, or any other color that would make it inappropriate to wear to a wedding. I decided to take a chance and rent it anyway and I'm really really glad I did. The color is more of a tannish/nude with a silver overlay. The dress is stunning and I received a ton of compliments on it. I definitely recommend this dress. Usually I wear a 6 or an 8. I wore an 8 in this dress due to length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2016
Bachelorette!
Great fit, super comfortable. Wore a sticky bra since the dress is backless. It was exactly what I was looking for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
September 10, 2016
Great NYE dress
Loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 6, 2016
Great Dress!
I felt this dress runs true to size..it was a good length on me and I am pretty tall, I didn't have to wear a bra at all and the back pretty much stayed put! I didn't use fashion tape. I got tons of compliments and felt so comfortable dancing in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 2, 2016
This dress is perfect.
I'm in love with this dress. Wearing it for my wedding after party and can't wait! It's a very comfortable and forgiving material. The back is gorgeous. I was concerned about the cap sleeves because I'm normally very self conscious about my arms but it didn't draw any extra attention to them. I would recommend sizing up for a larger bust, the width of the bust area is slightly small and if your bust was slightly large and pulled the dress your armpit would awkwardly show. PERFECT for hourglass ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2016
Fun dress!
Comfortable. Cap sleeves create a defined shoulder. Low cut back and flirty length make the dress fun, while the soft neutral color keeps it toned down. Beautiful in person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Weight: 135lbs
August 29, 2016
Great dress, great date, great people, great venue.
The dress received a lot of compliments and everyone wanted to know where I got it. It was very short when I sat down, so I was careful with that. Dress fit every true to size and the back wasn't as low as I thought it would be. I recommend this to dress to everyone.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2016
The back was stunning!
I wore this dress to my junior homecoming, and got so many compliments on it. Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 39

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×