Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1172 reviews

Fit
Small 73
True to Size 853
Large 97
Photos 965
Livia
Top Contributor
Age: 22
Aug 18, 2014

First and best rental!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing to complain, fit great and looked great. Absolutely loved it and got compliments all might. Use fashion tape for the back though!
Madison
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2014

The perfect dress and no stress involved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and so comfortable.
Hollie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Classy yet sexy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my elopement. I wanted something that was classy yet not overly formal. This dress perfectly suited the occasion. I made an art deco style headpiece to accompany my dress, as well as a pair of earrings from express. I adored this dress, and it was a great fit for the day. The dress fit well enough and was true to size. My only complaint was that it was VERY difficult to keep the back taped down which ruined quite a few of my photos that day. If you are too curvy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I have hips, which would cause the dress to bunch up a bit more than I would like if I wasn't very careful with my movements. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dress and I loved it!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

Great dress for a bachelorette party!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This dress was pretty true to size. The 4 fit best on me and made the back sit just right. A lot of people said on their reviews that it was on the shorter side but it wasn't bad and it didn't ride up like other dresses. It was really comfortable and I got compliments all night. I would definitely rent it again!
Mandee Z
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 16, 2015

Received so many compliments! Looks great in photos

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress. It is a thick material dress that looks expensive. Everyone loved it. It was fitted on the bottom and fit my waist fine. The only thing was that the top was a little loose. It slipped off my shoulders a few times but nothing that I couldn't fix with double side tape. It may be because I didn't fill it up bust wise (I am a C cup). It came out great in the photos. I wore this dress to a day wedding. The backless was sexy but not too sexy. Quite appropriate for the occasion.
Briana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Beautiful dress, material stretches so size down

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and perfect for an outdoor summer wedding. The front is conservative and the back is playful. The dress is a little short and stretches out after you've been wearing it for a couple hours. I would definitely recommend fashion tape for the back and to keep the shoulders up. I wore a stickey bra but the dress is padded enough to go without. Wouldn't recommend wearing a strapless bra because the back is open. Received a ton of compliments.
Miki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Fun dress for my engagement party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the fit of the dress, although it would have been more flattering for me if there were a defined waistline. The dress is not as light colored as I thought it would be, based on other people's photos... it is definitely beige with a silver pattern. The length was good for a short person like me, it hit mid-thigh and wasn't too short. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, and felt really good in it!
Barbara
Age: 38
Jun 15, 2015

Amazing experience with RTR!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly! I order a 0 and 2 and the 0 fit great. Received many compliments. So much fun to dress up in something I would not normally buy for myself.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 14, 2015

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was unbelievably great! So many compliments, comfortable and easy to wear! I chose to wear the 0 because it was more form fitting, I have no hips and am very narrow. The size 2 was very close in size to the 0 as well. I wore a sticker bra to be more comfortable, but it wasn't necessary. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 12, 2015

Love love love!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
RTR made a big mistake with my order. There was a mix up with my backup size and I had rented this dress for my rehearsal/wasn't going to be home for the new package, etc. However, they were very good about sending me an additional backup for no extra cost and sent it to the hotel I was staying at for my wedding. I did end up wearing the size 4 in this dress and was very pleased. I got TONS of compliments and loves how it looked with my [spray] tan! :) I didn't wear a bra but used stickers instead. The back opening was a little risky but added some flare and fun! I would totally rent this one again!
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jun 12, 2015

Glitz

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you want a show stopper this is it. It's very glitzy and glamorous. Although the front is conservative it is very short and there is NO back. I would recommend tape on the shoulders. The sparkle gave me radiance as I was told a few times. The second most compliments I've ever received.
Kels
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

Gorgeous Door County, WI wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit well and was very flattering - loved the open back and didn't have any issues keeping the shoulders to stay up. The inner lining rode up a little after sitting through dinner but just needed a quick readjustment.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

Perfect dress for a perfect night

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my engagement party/30 birthday. The fit was perfect with a beautiful open back! With all of my crazy running around greeting and hanging out with all of my guests, it was such a comfortable dress yet perfect for the occasion (rather occassionS I should say)
mbasista
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

I wore this for my bachelorette party and got a million compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This fit like a glove. You will need sticky boobs, though!
Dana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

Love this dress! I wish I could have kept it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable and fit perfectly. I got so many compliments on this dress. I am usually a size 2 or 4 in dresses, just depends on style and designer. The 2 fit the best.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

This dress... and the open bar.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVED this dress! I have a... bigger backside... so it was short, but so very cute and comfortable! Constant compliments and gorgeous in pictures! Highly recommend!
Melanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 10, 2015

I absolutely loved this dress! Would 100% rent again.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the high neck front and open back for a classy/sexy balance, though it is a little on the shorter side. It fit perfectly and also is slightly padded so I could have easily been comfortable without wearing a bra. Photographed beautifully and was so comfortable for the entire night!
AmyC
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Very comfortable, perfect dress for my sisters wedding in Vegas!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, very comfortable and got so many compliments!
Leslie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 7, 2015

Amazing in person!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding in Vegas and it was perfect. I was in between sizes and chose the smaller size so the back and sleeves wouldn't gap. It is on the shorter side, but I'm 5'1 so it was just fine. I chose not to wear a bra and the dress is lined well so I felt comfortable. Be ready for lots of compliments and questions where you got it!!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Great fit! Wore it to our venues tasting.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the color and fit, I'm tall and 34DD and I could go braless with it. Very nice shine embellishments. As others have posted the back can look a little weird but I forwent the fashion tape. My only complaint was the sleeves were kind of weird fitting on the bottom- def was a well worn dress I received although still in good shape. Would recommend!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jun 8, 2015

I wore this flirty little number for my rehearsal dinner-perfect for the bride & occasion!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was true to size and complimented my body type well. My only complaint would be that the back is so open, the sides sort of flaired out so I had to tuck some of the fabric in and safety pin it, but no one could tell! It's also pretty short but that didn't bother me as much.
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 31, 2015

Classy and comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit great and had a nice thick material that made it a pretty comfortable dress. Along the lines of what everyone else seems to say, you may need to use sticky tape on the open back.
AC
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 30, 2015

A must get dress for any party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing to wear! It is comfy and fun and sure to get you major compliments! The back is a show stopper and adds an extra wow factor. I wore it for a sorority formal and would totally rent it again for another event...wish I owned this dress, for real. You may want to put some fashion tape on the back just so it doesn't bunch when you bend down but that would be my only con.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 29, 2015

Everyone asked where I got my dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I did need a tan though. It's beautiful and shows off your back nicely. The length came right above my knee. The front bunched a little bit in the front, but I just kept pulling it down. I would rent it again! Super cute for a holiday party.
RTR Customer
May 29, 2015

Great price and fast delivery

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing!! Its very flattering to every body shape, as well as classy and sexy! I am 5'3 and 130 lbs the size 4 fit very well! What a great dress! It arrived right on time, however the only complaint I have is that the 2 sizes I received were slightly different colors...the lace was grey for both, however the underneath was blush for one and nude for another one. The dress still looked amazing in both shades!
Daniele
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
May 28, 2015

It was so unique and no one else had anything like it!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Dress runs true to size. I am petite so dresses for differently on me. The length and shape of this dress was just right!!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
May 28, 2015

The dress was absolutely stunning! I loved the open back and received compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly! I loved the color and loved that I was able to wear any color shoe with the dress. I was comfortable in it all night and I could not have asked for a more perfect dress for the event. It was classy but was also fun because of the open back. I loved loved loved this dress!
Olivia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2015

Absolutely beautiful on!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a club/cocktail night during commencement week to celebrate my final days as a college student and it was the best investment I've made to date! I am usually a size 0, but at first I opted for the size 2 because my chest is larger than my frame. Because it is open back, the dress did not hug my body the way I wanted it to. The size 0 ended up fitting my body a lot better but because the material is thick and there is not a lot of give to it, my chest was quite snug but bearable. I highly recommend this dress, the compliments did not stop all night! If you are contemplating sizes, I would suggest taking RTR's offer on reserving two sizes; one being your typical size, and one being a size larger. PS- Don't take your photos half way through the night like I did. The photo I provided does not do it justice!
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 28, 2015

Most favorite dress of all time!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I LOVE this dress. I would buy it in a heartbeat! It is so beautiful in person and the back is to die for. It fit well and ran true to size. I wore it to a Broadway play and paired it with blue suede pumps. Looked awesome and felt amazing! I did wear a Nubra with it and it worked out just fine. Will be renting again...
StasiaBee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 26, 2015

I wore this dress for my Great Gatsby themed bridal shower. I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 2, but I went with the 4 as it was a big longer. The 2 was a bit snug at the waist and caused the dress to ride up. Definitely use fashion tape for the back. I did according to the reviews, and didn't run into any issues. Dress is more of a nude color, but the silver lace really jumps out. Wished I could keep it!
Jessica
Age: 30
May 24, 2015

The entire experience was a success! Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
I received countless compliments on this beautiful dress! I will definitely be using RTR again!
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 24, 2015

Engagement Party Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress. I ordered it for my engagement party and received so many compliments. The silver detailing and scallops were adorable! I am usually a size 2, but for this dress the 0 fit a bit better. The material is heavier than I expected and does not stretch very much, so keep that in mind when sizing. Also, I have narrow shoulders so the sleeves were a bit too puffy, but I really had to search to think of something it needed to improve upon. Great find!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 23, 2015

Dress is a tad small but overall fit is good. I received compliments all night on this dress.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Love the dress but definitely on the shorter side.
AO
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 21, 2015

Very comfortable for a wedding with a lot of dancing.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little loose in the back, don't need a bra, could be tighter around the waist. Very comfortable and easy to dance in. Not too white to wear to a wedding.
Mary
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2015

Awesome dress for bachelorette party.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! Perfect for my bachelorette and got so many compliments. I did use double sided tape for the back just to be safe and absolutely had to wear the 10 vs. the 8 for length I am 5'7 and the 8 was way too short, felt like I couldn't sit or dance without the dress riding up way too high. Other than that, awesome dress rental! Very comfortable and super cute.
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2015

Great Fit & Details!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! The dress fit very true to size and was comfortable to wear. I was a little concerned about the cut out in the back since I have a larger chest but the dress fit so well that I was perfectly fine with sticky cups. The lace on the dress was slightly worn but you could not tell when the dress was on.
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 18, 2015

Love this dress! Received so many compliments throughout the night!! It is so beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was somewhat true to size, I usually wear size 2 to 4 so happy I ordered a 0 and 2 for this dress because the 0 fit much better!
RTR Customer
May 17, 2015

It was a stunning dress. I loved the detail & elegance of it.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. I actually think the 6 may have fit a little better. Because of the cut out back I couldn't wear a bra which for me was fine. I'm 5'3" with long legs so at times it felt a little short and had to adjust a lot if it were to ride up. I received a lot of compliments on this dress. I loved it.
christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
May 13, 2015

Still getting compliments on this dress! Elegant in the front, fun in the back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm sad to say I failed to get a picture of the back side of this dress, its open back and such a beautiful and fun dress! The front made it elegant enough for a wedding, but the back side made it more fun. The fit was great and the style worked for someone with some curves.
LKH257
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2015

Stunning & Comfy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit amazing and looked so great on. I got a million compliments. It was a little short, but showed off my legs well. I didn't wear a bra with it because of the open back, and it looked great still. It was very comfortable and looked great in person and in pictures.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×