Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1638 reviews
Fit
Large
(120)
True to Size
(1063)
Small
(101)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
September 23, 2016
Loved it!
This dress was amazingly beautiful! Everyone stopped me to compliment the detail and the fit on this dress. This dress has to be worn with no bra- so just make sure you keep that in mind. The back on this dress is just stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
September 26, 2016
Loved it
Fit great, true to size! I wore the dress to my bachelorette party and it had the perfect amount of sparkle. It's also the perfect length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 5, 2016
Great last minute pick
I rented a different dress but I needed the back up size and RTR was not able to send it because of damage. They let me pick another dress and overnighted it to me. I am thrilled with this dress it was so much better! It fit perfectly. It is pretty short so if you are tall I do not suggest this dress. The back is completely open so you can't wear a bra so small chested is better too. I got a ton of compliments and was completely comfortable all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 32D
October 5, 2016
Sexy
I thought this dress was incredibly sexy but I was unable to wear it to the event for 2 reasons: First the dress was way too short. I am 5'8" and was showing way too much if I even moved a little bit, no way I could wear this even for a Vegas night out unfortunately so definitely too short for a family wedding. But the other reason I couldn't wear it was because it was damaged. The zipper wouldn't zip on the side (I could see where it was broken) and there were about 6 obvious tears in the dress. It looked like very worn out. The sizing was perfect, I'm a size 0 and the size 0 was a perfect fit. If I was a few inches shorter the dress would have been awesome.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
October 10, 2016
Many compliments and very comfortable as well.
The dress fit great, I'm 5' and weigh 122 lbs. size 2 fit me as well but It was a shorter on me so I went with the 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2016
Red carpet birthday look!
Loved this dress! The sides were a little loose right under the armpits with the open back, but fit was otherwise fabulous! Length was just right, since there was no petite and I'm on the shorter side. Many compliments while walking the red carpet! (Themed birthday party)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2016
Just enough sparkle and sass
I rented this dress at the last minute for my rehearsal dinner and I'm so glad I did! It stood out the way I wanted to as the bride :) but was extremely comfortable! At first I thought the 0 was too tight but the 2 wasn't tight enough to wear without a bra. I'm glad I went with the 0 because although I thought it might look too tight at first, the material is thick enough that you won't feel like it shows everything. The material had a little bit of stretch but was structured enough to be able to not wear a bra and feel like everything was held in place. The way the sleeves are cut makes it a little restrictive but I'm also broad shouldered. It didn't cause me to go up a size or anything like that. The dress is more nude color and sparkly than I was expecting but I'm so glad it was! It made me stand out. The sparkles are silvery and had the perfect amount of shine. The dress is short so be prepared. I really loved this dress and would rent again. It could be worn for so many different things!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 22, 2016
perfect fit!! got so many compliments!!
i recommend fashion tape for the back, but overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 28, 2016
Perfect for Vegas Dinner
I felt amazing in this dress and got lots of compliments! Wore this to dinner and drinks in Vegas to celebrate my parents anniversary. It wasn't too tight but made me feel like my hard work of working out was noticeable. Wore a sticky bra I got a Target because the back is open. Only reason I didn't give it five stars is the back puckered in the shoulders if I stood up straight (I have former swimmer shoulders). But definitely would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Weight: 189lbs
October 29, 2016
Sooooo pretty! Stood out to everyone that wore black or red!
This dress is amazing! I'm quite tall (5'9) and my biggest fear was that it was going to be too short, but that wasn't the case at all! The dress itself is quite roomy and will come up if you raise your arms or squat too low but other than that 10/10! Received to many compliments. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2016
I got married in this dress!
This dress was sheer perfection! Love love love it! Open back, cap sleeves...what else could a woman want.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
November 10, 2016
Felt absolutely stunning.
This dress wasn't one I thought I would ever pick for myself. Rent the Runway had notified me that a previous customer had not returned my original dress on time so I would be unable to have that dress. They requested that I pick my top 5 dresses as a replacement dress for my Bachelorette party. Little did I know I would received 3 of the 5 to pick from for the evening. This was my least favorite of the 3 received, but ended up being my favorite. Loved it! It's difficult for me with a 32 bust and being larger in my hips and waste to find something that fits absolutely perfect at times. I was unable to wear a bra with this so the top was a little loose and sliding off my shoulders. Overall this dress was fabulous!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
November 10, 2016
So many compliments!!
Great fit and super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2016
Rehearsal Dinner Dress for Bride
Wore this to my rehearsal dinner! Love the back of it! Armpits look funny when taking pictures because shoulders of the dress are very structured. Pictures don't do this dress justice, it is so beautiful in person!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
November 14, 2016
PERFECTION
This dress was perfect! It was comfortable yet chic! LOVED IT! No bra needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 15, 2016
The fit was amazing !
Loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was beautiful!!! It fits true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 21, 2016
Such a comfortable dress and received compliments all night!!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a formal for my business fraternity and got a ton of compliments. I usually wear a 2 or 4 so I rented both of those sizes. Both fit really well, but I chose to wear the 4 because I knew I would be eating and drinking all night and I'm glad that I did. I was so comfortable the entire night. I didn't wear any fashion tape on the back but I know that a lot of people did. I didn't have to wear a bra or any sort of cups either. It also is longer than it looks in the picture on the model which is great! Definitely recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2016
Perfect bachelorette dress
This was such a fun dress to wear for my bachelorette party! Like other reviewers stated, the shoulders did sometimes slip a little, but overall it was very comfortable and easy to wear. The color was also great in person, it had just enough shimmer to it. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 30, 2016
Pretty party dress!
Great fit and perfect length for my short frame. I should've invested in a backless bra because it is not super flattering without one in the front. However, I thought the dress was great and the open back made it unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2016
Gorgeous dress and comfy!
Loved this dress! Super comfortable and easy to move and dance in. I loved that it was conservative from the front and showed a little skin in the back. I'm 5'7" 120lb and the 0 fit perfectly. It was almost too short for me since I wore it to our company holiday party but otherwise perfect! You will get lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 26
December 10, 2016
Great dress
This dress was a total hit. I got so many compliments on it. It's a really nice, I just wish I got a size down. Based on the other reviews I thought I'd be a 4 but I think a size down would have fit better. For short girls-the back might be a little big. Overall though I am happy with my rental would recommend to others.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2016
The perfect dress for my formal Christmas party!
I wore this dress to a formal Christmas party. It fit great. I tried on the 4 and fit as well but made it much shorter so I went with the 6. Overall, I loved this dress, got compliments on it all night. I was able to dance in it all night and feel beautiful the whole time. I wish I could of kept it. I will def. be renting again from RTR!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
December 13, 2016
The back was a total show stopper!
I rented this for my husband's company party and the next day, he said everyone was talking about this dress. I loved how it was cut high in front by super low in the back! I'm a bodybuilder so it's hard to find things that fit over my wider back/shoulders so open back is the way to go! The 2 fit perfectly but I actually think I could have worn the 0 to make it a bit tighter. I was a bit nervous that the sleeves would fall off, and I think if it was a bit tighter it would have been better. But overall it was lovely and I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2016
The perfect dress for my company holiday party!
This dress was so beautiful and amazingly comfortable! The fabric is gorgeous, has a bit of stretch so it's easy to dance in! I got a million compliments the entire night! Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 20, 2016
Perfect for holiday party!
I wore this to a company holiday party and t worked great. The open back was a nice feature of the dress and it isn't too snug so I felt like I could breathe and walk around. The one thing to keep in mind is the dress is pretty short so be careful bending over!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
December 26, 2016
Beautiful dress!
Great length on me which is hard to find for shorter people. If I slouched a little it would slightly fall off my shoulders so just made to stand up and sit up straight but that wasn't a big deal. Loved the way it fit, very flattering! And the fabric was very pretty in person. Would definitely recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2017
So easy and cute!!
Dress runs short so went up a size to add length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2017
SEXY!!!!! Short.
Very sexy, fits beautifully. Very flattering to those with toned lower body. Didn't wear because it was too short for occasion. But loved it and will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2017
Great Holiday Party Dress!
I wore this to a Holiday Party and loved the glitz and glam of it. I used a sticky bra (love the cut out of the back) and paired it with black heels. Got many compliments on it. I would rent your usual size and for the back up size, I would go up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 30, 2017
Champagne Life
Worn to my grad school fraternity formal. This dress is so beautiful on. I got compliments all night! It is form fitting but forgiving and really accentuates your curves. Use fashion tape for the back! Such a showstopper!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
February 2, 2017
Sparkles All Night!!
This dress fit great! I have rented a few dresses and even though this wasn't my favorite, I received a ton of compliments. The dress is short but I liked the length. When I sat down for dinner it does ride up but other than that I was very happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2017
Loved this dress! Was so comfortable and it fit like a glove! Perfect for my nieces Quinceanera!
Just so perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2017
Love the backless!
Beautiful dress. Lots of complements. I went with no bra, so the dress does flatten you up too a bit once it's on. Overall, very pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2017
Beautiful dress
Super comfortable, a little on the short side and I'm 5'4". The silver overlay really stands out, very flattering even though it's fitted. I received complements all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2017
Elegant and sexy dress!
This dress is fantastic! The material is somewhat stretchy and extremely comfortable. I wore the 6 because the fit is very short and the 4 was too short for my event. I received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2017
SO cute but SO SHORT
Loved the dress...super flattering and beautiful. However this was SO short I couldn't wear it. (Even to a wedding in Atlantic City...which is saying a lot!!) I'm 5'6, 130lbs, 34D. I would've worn the 4 if it were longer. Fit great besides the length. Would be perfect on someone more petite!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
February 25, 2017
Stunning dress
I wore this for a Friday night cocktail ball for a work function! I ordered the 4 and got the 2 as a back up size. Thankfully I did because the 4 was was too large on my narrow upper frame and kept falling down. The 2 fit perfect and was very comfortable. It is on the shorter side even for a short person like myself but is so flattering. I got a ton of compliments, my husband loved it and it is now one of my favorite RTR dresses!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 1, 2017
Gatsby Couples Shower
I loved this dress. I would say it is pretty true to size. I am a curvy girl so although the 8 fit great, the 10 gave a little more length to not be uncomfortable. Very comfortable and gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
March 7, 2017
So flattering
This dress is a little short, but I loved it! I wore the bigger size to help remedy this problem!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 14, 2017
Made my birthday celebration extra special
I absolutely loved this dress! I rented this dress to celebrate my birthday at a Winery. Being a mom, I rarely ever have moments to dress up so I really wanted to go all out and this dress really made me feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 41

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×