Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1407 reviews
Fit
Large109
True to Size966
Small88
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
March 14, 2016
Cocktail event for young professionals
This dress fits true to size. I am petite and the length was perfect. So comfortable to wear all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 8, 2016
I wore it to a work Holiday party. Felt very glam in this dress but still work appropriate.
The straps/shoulder area was very loose and I had to keep pulling them into place. I still loved this dress despite that and was able to dance in it all nigh!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 8, 2016
Adorable, way too short for husband's work party
If I would have found this dress ten years ago, I would have worn it 1,000 times. It was just a bit too short for my husband's military function. It's super, super thick which was also an issue because it was summertime in Florida. You cannot wear a bra and the back is gorgeously open. It's a super flattering shade of gold, beige-y, silver. I wish I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
March 6, 2016
fun dress! Gold and silver tones.
I ordered a 2 and 4 and both fit. I wore the 4 because it drapped better. I have a bit of a butt so the the larger size allowed for a longer length and comfortable feel. The size 2 showed up a bit tattered which helped with the decision. This dress is backless and I wore a sticky bra- it actually was ok. I have two kids and am less than happy with the idea of not wearing a bra these days but would totally reccommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 3, 2016
This dress was so fun to wear and made me feel beautiful!
Great fit and very flattering, even for a shorter girl. Very elegant, but you can still move around and dance in it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2016
The dress was "sexy" without being too revealing at all.
I usually wear a 0 or a 2 in dresses, but recently i have gained some weight (hence why i wanted to rent a dress). I am 5'2" and weigh about 130 pounds. I definitely recommend the size 4 because the size 2 was far too tight on the backside. I was nervous about the back of the dress not fitting correctly and gaping, but it was perfect! I have a very short torso and it still worked. I am very full chested (30DDD) and it fit perfectly even without a bra. The dress was in great shape, and the return was incredibly simple. It worked perfectly for my formal event and got a lot of compliments! Definitely worth the price.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 1, 2016
It didn't look good on me
I didnt wear it. The area of the shoulders and arms was too big and didnt look good at all.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2016
Perfect dress for a cocktail charity affair!
I ordered this in an 8 and a 6. I went with the 6 even though it was just slightly more snug in the hips. With the 8, the back gapped a little. It is short, but so am I, so overall it was a wonderful fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
February 28, 2016
I was unsure about the blah color but I got so many compliments that made my night less worrisome!
The fit was great! I got a 4 & 6 and ended up going with the 4 because the sleeves kept falling on the looser 6. It is short so it made dancing tough. Also, the color was SUPER hard to match accessories with the beige and metallic. Because of the open back I didn't wear a bra (or anything else for that matter) and the material was thick enough that I didn't have to worry about the cold weather. I honestly didn't ever expect to stick out in this dress, but I definitely received more compliments than I have in flashier dresses!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 25, 2016
This dress was perfect for a formal dinner and I received lots of compliments.
True to size but you will need a backless bra and skin tape.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
February 25, 2016
Second time renting!!
I love this dress! I've worn it once to a formal charity event and this time to a I wore it to a yearly "black tie" party that no one really wears black tie too, just really formal short dresses. The sparkle in the fabric is just enough to get noticed without being over the top and still feels very elegant! The fabric and lining are soft and stretchy but thick enough to hide most of the "lumps or bumps" in the back area, even though the skirt fits tight. I'm normally a 4-6 and wore the 6 in this dress. The 4 fit better on top but was too tight in the hips. The 6 worked great even with the back being a little roomy. The open back is beautiful and comes up high enough that I was able to wear a pair of spanx without them showing. Not necessary but made me feel a little more secure. Nude or silver shoes are the perfect touch!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
February 22, 2016
Dress fit very nicely and ran true to size. I loved this dress!
The shoulder is a little padded and it looked weird on me at first, but once the back was taped the shoulders looked more normal. Other than that, I had no issues with the dress and would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 20, 2016
Wish I could have worn it - but really short!
Cute dress - husband was WOWed by it. But it was entirely too short to wear to the function we were attending. Bummer!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
February 17, 2016
I got engaged in this dress! It was beautiful and looks great in photographs.
I got the size 2 and 4. I am usually a size 2 but it was just way to short. I still thought the four was a little short when sitting down, but tights helped. The 4 also was a bit big in the stomach and shoulders but I was still able to wear it! I used fashion tape on the back which worked perfectly. All in all, felt beautiful and the RTR experience could not have been easier!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2016
Classic and flattering
I LOVED this dress and found it extremely flattering on. My only complaint was that the back had some gaps in where the dress was flush with the skin, but I think next time I would rent this in a size 6. For reference, my measurements at the time of this rental were 37-28.5-39.5. I received several compliments on the outfit and how flattering it looked - I would definitely rent this again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2016
Perfect Dress for Winter Wedding!
Dress fit perfectly. I ordered a petite because I am 5'1'' and 125 lbs. If I was taller the dress may have been too short. The material is thick. The dress was beautiful. The shoulders came out a little because the back is backless but it was just a matter of getting comfortable with it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 16, 2016
I felt like a million bucks in this dress! It was perfect!
Definitely fit true to size and a big takeaway here, but I was concerned about it being too light in color to wear to a wedding. Definitely not! It's more taupe/ tan/silver in real life. I have really saggy boobs from breastfeeding kids for so long (yay me) and so I def had to wear one of those sticky bras. It made the dress fit and look even better! I felt perfect and sexy all night while feeling classy as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
February 15, 2016
EH?
I think I ordered this dress in a size that was too large? The directions said to size up so I did. I'm not sure what happened but I was not impressed. The quality was not as nice as it appeared in the picture (lace not as cute, sparkles not as sparkly) Really glad I had a back up!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 11, 2016
I got engaged in this dress!!!!
I picked a size up and it was perfect! It was short, but I am only 5'4" so it really was the perfect length! I absolutely loved this dress and would suggest it to anyone who likes to show their back and legs! I wore this for a Christmas Party in December!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
February 11, 2016
I will be renting again!
I rented this for a date night with my husband in DC and I felt so gorgeous in it! The back was great-I'm small chested and was able to get away without wearing a bra. It does get a little short when you sit if you're taller. Would definitely rent again in the summer when I could wear it out without covering the back with a coat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
The dress was gorgeous! I got compliments all night on it.
However, it does run snug in the hip area, so I went a size up from my normal size. The back still fits well, so even going up a size, the back still fit well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2016
Great choice for NYE!
Chose this dress for NYE and I loved it! Only downside was it was a little short! The 2 fit well but I went up to a size 4 for length (but I still had to be very careful). Other than that no complaints, beautiful dress, oh and the back was my favorite part!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 7, 2016
Cutest. Dress. Ever.
I got this dress the morning of my bachelorette party; originally I selected a different dress but it just wasn't flattering. I spoke with a stylist--who's name I wish I remembered--and she highly recommended this dress and guaranteed it would arrive on time. It did and it was perfect! Great length if you're petite--in 5'2--and the back is adorable. It is also surprisingly comfortable!! I felt like it was pretty true to size as well; I'm almost always a 2. I wore big drop rhinestone earrings with this and they were perfect. I had such a fun night and got a million compliments on the dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
February 7, 2016
Perfect fit and dress for New Years!
This dress fit well and no backless bra was needed (I wear a C cup)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
February 6, 2016
Fun night!
Perfect fit
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 6, 2016
Easy shipping and returns
I am 5'4 and 105 pounds. Went with the size 0 and it fit perfectly! I have pretty narrow shoulders and was expecting to have to use fashion tape for the back but ended up not needing any! I got a lot of compliments on the dress and will definitely be ordering from rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2016
I couldn't love this dress more if I tried! The back is just stunning and totally makes the dress.
So many compliments! The back and shoulders fit me a little big, but that's because I have tiny shoulders. The dress fit me really well everywhere else, but I did have to keep pulling it down all night! I would have been fine without a bra, but I felt more comfortable using stickies. Love the material and pattern on the dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 31, 2016
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It was so perfect! So comfortable. I felt great it in!
I read in some reviews that body tape might be needed to hold the back down. I didn't do that and it did hang a little, but to me, not enough to take away from awesomeness of the dress! The fabric was thick and the dress was well made. I rented the 10 and the 8. I ended up wearing the 8 because the of the back being too loose in the 10. But it still fit great. Normally, I am a 10, so maybe it runs just a tad large. Overall, LOVED IT. Would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2016
Classy and sexy!
Loved this dress! It's classy and conservative in the front, yet sexy in the back. The size 8 was too loose so I went with the 6, which still felt a little loose in the back, especially while sitting down. Overall great dress, received a lot of compliments! Fast shipping and easy return. Would highly recommend this beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
January 28, 2016
Did not end up wearing.
This dress is SHORT, I sized up after reading the other reviews because I knew it was short, did not realize how short! Did not end up wearing because it would not have been appropriate in any setting!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 26, 2016
Dress was Gorgeous! Very chic and classy with the open back being just enough for the simple dress.
Wore a size 2 being true to size. Very comfortable. You don't have to worry about too much jewelry because this dress is just enough. Very simple and chic and the open back is so perfect! You will LOVE
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
January 26, 2016
This dress was PERFECT!!! Definitely need to get a sticky bra of some sort and fashion tape.
True to size, the dress is a beige tone with silver highlights. Shoes could either be nude or a gold/silver combo. Would definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
January 23, 2016
Wearing to my Vegas wedding!
I rented this early to test out for my Vegas wedding. I knew I'd like based on reviews but wanted to make sure I loved it. And I did ! I'm renting again for my wedding and can't wait to wear it! Pictures will come then! Fit is perfect. I'm 5'2, 101 lbs. Perfect dress for second and last wedding!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
January 21, 2016
Wore it for valentine's day! Really fun to wear
I debated between the 0 and 2 - went with the size 0 sans bra. Fit fine and was fun to wear! Flattering. Great material
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 19, 2016
Gorgeous dress!!! Fit perfectly. Love that it was practically backless.
Sleeves were a little frayed
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 19, 2016
Beautiful for a bride-to-be
This dress is absolutely gorgeous and so comfortable to wear. The only negative is that it wrinkles incredibly easily, which was a bit of a bummer during my engagement shoot. Also, I wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone who needs the support of a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2016
Gorgeous! I received compliments all night!
Only con was that I couldn't wear a bra
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
January 17, 2016
Fit perfectly. Felt like all eyes were on me the whole night.
No cons. We were indoors and outdoors. Felt great the whole time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
January 15, 2016
So many compliments!
It's short, but amazing. Can't wear a bra so make sure to have a backless, strapless one available. Materials are torn because of being over worn, but overall -- great dress! The back makes you feel sexy without showing too much!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 13, 2016
Awesome party dress!!!
I absolutely loved this dress! I read a bunch of reviews and ordered a size up (i am normally a 6) and the 8 fit well and i felt like i had enough length. I wore it to a holiday party and received compliments all night on it. The back was sexy, yet appropriate for the function I was at with the high front and cap sleeves. I felt amazing in it all night. I would 100% rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×