Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$40 – $75 rental?
$395 value
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1572 reviews
Fit
Large
(117)
True to Size
(1029)
Small
(98)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2013
Perfect combination of classy and sexy!
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding and received several compliments. I ordered a 0 and a 2 and ended up wearing the zero. I think I could have gone with either size, but since I am short I preferred the length of the smaller size. The dress does ride up a bit after sitting/dancing which was somewhat annoying, but overall I loved the dress and thought it was sexy with the open back without being too revealing for a wedding.
CourtneyDecember 11, 2013
Did you think the color was okay to wear for a wedding? Not too close to white?
AlexisJanuary 14, 2014
i am wondering the same thing. Is it too close to white to wear to a wedding?
CynthiaJanuary 22, 2014
I was wondering the same thing. It looks pretty close to white.
StaceyJanuary 23, 2014
Hello ladies! I actually wondered the same thing before I ordered this dress. I chatted with one of the style specialists on RTR who seemed to think it would be fine, but I did order a back-up dress just in case. It is a nude color with a silver lace overlay and is definitely darker in person that it looks in pictures. I ended up wearing it to a black-tie optional wedding and didn't feel like I was wearing something that would offend the bride at all, but I definitely think it's up to each individual person and their comfort level.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 21, 2013
The dress looks great on and is comfortable!
The dress fit well. I am typically a size 2 or 4 in dress sizes. At first I thought the size 2 sleeves would irritate my skin in the arms pit area, so I almost used the size 4, which was a little loose (too loose in the back to where I thought someone might get a sneak peak... if you know what I mean). The size 2 never did bother my sensitive skin and I had plenty of wonderful compliments on the dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress for homecoming it was absolutely stunning! I ordered a 6 and a 4 as the back up. I ended up wearing the 4 it fit great and was actually really comfortable!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2013
Very unique and elegant dress.
It was a little big on the top but beautiful. I got so many compliments all night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2013
LOVED this dress! The little stretch it has makes it so comfortable.
I wore it to a Roaring 20s charity benefit and it was perfect - the cut, the glimmer and I wore it with slate blue patent heels to pick up on the sparkle.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 25, 2013
I got engaged the weekend I wore this dress! It was perfect!
Fit was great, it's more silver-y than I expected, but the dress fabric/structure was quality and flattering
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2013
LOVED THE DRESS!!!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal and everyone loved it. I got so many compliments; it was classy with a subtle sexiness to it. I wore a 2 and it fit like a glove! Wish I didn't have to return the dress, absolutely loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 27, 2013
An Eye Catcher of a Dress
I was skeptical about the dress when I put it on, but I went ahead and wore it for my engagement party. I ended up loving it and got tons of compliments throughout the night. It was pretty short, but I felt okay about it because it's covered up on top. I was expecting the dress to be a stiffer fabric, but it was quite soft and stretchy. The only con was not being able to wear a bra with it, but I think it looked good. I'd consider renting it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 27, 2013
The sparkle factor and deep v in the back were gorgeous!
Style: I absolutely loved this dress! The lace was delicate and full of glitter, perfect for an evening fundraiser. The pattern was unique and the deep v in the back was sexy, yet appropriate. Fit: When I ordered, a size 8 wasn't available and from the other reviews I felt a 10 would fit me best. I probably would have been better off with an 8, but I liked it anyway. The skirt fit well, but the top was a tad big, along with the cap sleeve. Con: The cap sleeve was too big, but I doubt anyone noticed but me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
November 29, 2013
Big Hit!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I was worried about the color, but the nude works well with gold or silver accents. I ordered a 0 and a 2. I went with the 0 because the back would have been a little more loose with the 2. The 2 wouldn't have been much different though. This dress is beautiful and I was so sad when I had to mail it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 30, 2013
Stunning!!
This dress was incredible. I rented it for my engagement party and it was perfect! The V in the back is beautiful, while its still classy with the high front. I loved it, and got compliments all night. Such a stunner. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 5, 2013
OBSESSED WITH THIS DRESS!!
So flattering, so comfortable, so easy to wear, such a wow factor with the open back, sexy but not over the top. I wore it to a wedding in CA and it was absolutely perfect. LOVE!
CourtneyDecember 10, 2013
Did you feel it was an okay color for a wedding? I always worry about it being too close to white
ALJDecember 16, 2013
I thought it was close but in person it's very silver.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 6, 2013
People who loved this dress from the front were even more in love when they saw the back!
This was my first time renting, and as soon as I tried on the dress I knew that I was hooked! I ordered this dress for a ball (cocktail attire) and the dress came in perfect time for my event and fit perfectly. I felt great in the dress, and the compliments I received all night made me feel even better! People were loving it (and so was I)! I hesitated on renting this dress because it looked almost white in the picture, but it is actually a nude dress with a silver overlay. The fabric and fit were perfect. I ordered a size up for my second size, but I didn't end up needing it since this dress runs true to size. The dress also went perfectly with the Slate & Willow Full Bloom Earrings that I ordered, but unfortunately didn't get a good picture of that night. All in all, I couldn't have been happier!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
December 6, 2013
Comfortable & Looks Great!
I received a multitude of compliments when I wore this dress to a fundraiser dinner. The only thing I had to do was use some double sided tape on my shoulders so that it would not slip as the back is very open.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2013
It was the perfect dress for a cocktail party!
I typically wear a size 2 dress. I have a smaller upper body and a curvier lower body. The 2 was way too tight on my lower half and was a tad tight on the upper half. The 4 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2013
Great dress! Better in person, I wore it for my rehearsal dinner!
Love the back of dress, and details!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 8, 2013
Great, sparkly holiday dress!
I really liked this dress, it was very comfortable and flattering. The open back is a really nice touch. I felt it ran true to size. Probably not the easiest dress to wear for those with larger chests. I ordered a slightly larger size because I didn't want it to be too tight around my hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2013
Being semi-overdressed but knowing this was still the PERFECT dress. Loved it!
The fit was PERFECT! I am 5'3.75 inched and weigh 110lbs. I wore Calvin Klein gold shimmer hose, and went with light gold accessories. The lace was stretched or torn on one of the cap sleeves so this definitely did not look new, but you would have to really analyze the dress to notice. It was the perfect mix of classy and sexy and it was a huge hit. I think I may have converted a few other attendees to Rent the Runway!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2013
love this dress so much!!
this dress was perfect for a dressy cocktail party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 11, 2013
I am an intern for RTR, and this is one of the dresses we had at our trunk show event.
I really have nothing negative to say about the dress! It fit great, and the sparkle and shine is perfect for the holiday season. Thanks RTR!
PauletteFebruary 8, 2014
is your necklace from RTR?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2013
Love this dress. I want to to buy it!
Dress fit me perfect. A little bit of the lace was missing on part of the sleeve.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
December 15, 2013
IT was gorgeous- pretty in the front and the open back was really sexy.
No bra, but the fabric is really thick so it didn't feel uncomfortable. I loved the thick fabric for the winter. I was really warm and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 15, 2013
So simply and elegant..backless was so sexy!
I rented this dress for a Corporate Anniversary Casino Night in the city. The dress was simply and elegant with this overlay of silver shimmer. It photographs great and the backless aspect makes it so sexy! I was really worried being I'm a 34DD and not wearing a bra, but the dress is nicely lined and it was not an issue at all. Can't wait to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2013
This dress was even more beautiful in person than online!
I rented this dress for my sorority's winter formal and I was worried that the sequins would be too much but it had just the right amount of sparkle which gave it the perfect accent. I wore nude heels that were about 3 inches and the length of the dress was perfect, not too long and not too short (I didn't have to pull it down at all during the night). I did not wear a bra because of the open back and because of the thick but comfortable fabric, you couldn't tell at all. Perfect rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2015
Great dress and extremely comfortable!
I didn't want the dress to fit too terribly snug, so I got the size 4 and 6. Size 4 ended up working perfectly for me. The dress was so comfortable to wear, and I received compliments all night. Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2013
Everyone commented on how stunning I looked all night!
It fit well, but was a little loose in the back for me. The length was just right and the silhouette was perfect for my body type.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 131lbs
December 17, 2013
Wore for my rehearsal dinner & drinks after- Perfect for the event & TONS of compliments!
This dress is amazing. It is "sparkly" enough but still subtle and beautiful. I wish I had a pic of the back, the back MAKES this dress. Everyone thought this dress was amazing and I got tons of compliments. I used one of the "nu-bra" sticky bras and it worked out perfectly. The only downfall about it was the sleeves were kind of awkward. I can't decide what it was exactly, but I didn't feel 100% comfortable with the cap sleeves. I am 5' 6" 130 lbs 36D and the 6 fit me like a glove.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 18, 2013
One of a kind!
PROS: This is a beautiful dress and is well made. As others have stated, the back of the dress takes it to the next level. Walking down the street after I first stepped out of the house, the first person I passed complimented me as did numerous others throughout the evening. The best part about this dress is how comfortable it is. The material is thick and also stretchy. To feel beautiful AND comfortable is sometimes a rarity, but not with this dress! CONS (for me): I would say the fit in the shoulders is a little awkward. For my height, I have pretty muscular/broad shoulders and typically find that most dresses or shirts are tight in this area for me. However, on this dress they were still a little loose. Without a back, I imagine that there isn't much else that could be done to fix that. Also, I felt the dress was a little long for my stature. This is no surprise at 5', but just so others know, it hit me just above my knee. In retrospect, I should've ordered a size 0 as my second size. Lastly, the color is more of a neutral/dirty tone than I was expecting. The base of it is definitely a taupe color and the pattern is silver. I would've preferred a lighter/brighter base as it did make me feel a little washed out on my olive skin tone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 19, 2013
Perfect for my company's Holiday party!
I got so many compliments on this dress, and I love telling people about RTR! I was originally not supposed to receive this dress until the day of my event because it was unavailable, but I called to check if they could get it to me earlier, and they did! I was so happy with the customer service! The dress itself is beautiful! The front is conservative, while the back is low. I loved the cap sleeves and the silver detailing. I wore it with nude colored shoes and silver earrings. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because there was a small area of the overlay mesh that was slightly damaged. However, I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
This dress is amazing, it fit me perfectly, and I got so many compliments throughout the night!
The only con (which wasn't a huge deal) was that the shoulder caps were a little too big, but RTR added fashion tape in my shipment which totally fixed the problem. This dress was perfect!
Mary Ellen December 20, 2013
What shoes are you wearing? They look perfect with that dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 20, 2013
Perfect coctail event dress, especially for the holidays. It is more tan than white in real life.
It fits a little loose in the chest area since there is no back.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2013
This dress was a hit!
I rented this for my engagment party and I loved it! Being petite the back did gap some but with some fasion tape everything staeyed in place. Since I usually flex between two sizes it was great that i was sent two sizes. The dress itself was in great conditon and it was even prettier in person. I would highly recomend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 23, 2013
Great for a Christmas party but could be worn for any season!
I ordered a 0 and a 2. I didn't bother trying to the 2 on because the bottom is pretty fitted and the top was a little big since I have narrow shoulders. The material is stretchy so even if it is a little tight it won't feel like it. I got a ton of compliments and everyone LOVED the back of the dress. I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
December 24, 2013
SOO many complements
Absolutely LOVED this dress. I got so many complements on it and even random Facebook messages asking where I got it from! The other reviews really helped me decide which size to get! Highly recommend.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Beautiful open back!
The dress is absolutely fabulous! I wish that it'd be more hugging around waist to flatter the hourglass figure :):).. Otherwise, it was a great choice! xxoo
blakelyApril 18, 2014
do you think its too casual for a prom?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 26, 2013
Loved LOVED loved this dress. I got so many complements on it! The RTR team was helpful too.
I always have to size up for dresses. I wear an 8-10 in jeans but I ordered a 12 in this dress and a 14 for backup. I ended up needing the 14. It fit well, but was loose in the shoulders because I'm so short. I would definitely recommended it for curvy girls. Even though I am big-chested, I still made it work, even though it's necessary to wear a Nu-Bra (or no bra) with it.
MarthaJanuary 9, 2014
I am considering renting this dress. Is it possible to see a full length picture. I am also 5'1 and about 150lbs with a 36D chest. I would really appreciate it. Thank you!
SarahJanuary 17, 2014
Hi! It sounds like we are about the same size. I don't know how to upload another photo so email me at Dobard.sarah@gmail.com and I'd be happy to show you some full-length pics!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 27, 2013
This is a gorgeous dress that can be made work function appropriate with a blazer.
The dress was beautiful, but I'm a size 2, 32D cup and the dress didn't fit me right up top at all. Definitely more suitable for girls who are more slender up top to show off the open back
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2013
Shipping was just as planned and i loved the fashion tape included!
Cons: It just did not work for my body type i have slight broad shoulders and i felt like i was football player with the capped sleeves. I just didn't feel flattered in the dress at all and i just didn't end up wearing the dress that night. Pros: it was a very pretty dress and i really did love it when i saw it on rent the runway, but just not for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2014
Perfect NYE dress
I wore this dress to a huge NYE party at a hotel in DC. Loved the dress and the fit. It was really comfortable and such a fun dress for the even. I got compliments all night on it! The top was a little big but the 0 definitely would've been too tight or small for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
Lots of complements for NYE!
This dress was super flattering and very fun to wear. I had to use fashion tape to fix some gaping in the back and the inner-most layer was a little tricky to keep in place (there are 3 layers, so even when the inner-most one rides up, you are still fully covered - it just creates some weird bulkiness). Otherwise, it was perfect! I loved it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 40

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×