Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1001 reviews

Fit
Small 65
True to Size 776
Large 92
Photos 827
Hollie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Classy yet sexy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my elopement. I wanted something that was classy yet not overly formal. This dress perfectly suited the occasion. I made an art deco style headpiece to accompany my dress, as well as a pair of earrings from express. I adored this dress, and it was a great fit for the day. The dress fit well enough and was true to size. My only complaint was that it was VERY difficult to keep the back taped down which ruined quite a few of my photos that day. If you are too curvy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I have hips, which would cause the dress to bunch up a bit more than I would like if I wasn't very careful with my movements. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dress and I loved it!
Madison
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2014

The perfect dress and no stress involved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and so comfortable.
Livia
Top Contributor
Age: 21
Aug 18, 2014

First and best rental!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing to complain, fit great and looked great. Absolutely loved it and got compliments all might. Use fashion tape for the back though!
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

I got SO many compliments on this dress - I wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very well made. The fabric is thick enough to hide any lines and I didn't need to wear a bra with it. Either size would have worked but I was more comfortable in the 4 when I was sitting down. I'm 5'4'' and the length was perfect with 3'' heels.
RoRo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect for my wedding shower!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros - the dress looks amazing in photos - it's backless/ went without a bra - it's formal yet sexy - comfortable to wear Cons - a tad short be careful when you bend over
Monica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

I love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit me like a glove, the dress runs true to its size. I got some many compliments from people during the event at my college. The back of the dress is to die for. It was so comfy to wear that I didn't even need to wear a bra with it. I highly recommend this dress to anyone!
AO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Perfect for My Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the perfect choice for my rehearsal dinner. It was classy with the intricate design, and fun with the open back. I received many compliments and would definitely rent this again!
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Awesome Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So I actually did not end up wearing this dress to my Charity Event (I wore a different RTR dress),but this dress was a close second choice. The dress itself is gorgeous. It fit me perfectly on the top (I have broad shoulders) so i did not have any issues with the back being too loose (as other reviewers commented). My only hesitation for this dress was that it was a little short and a little tight on my butt. Like i said, I would have still worn this dress, if I hadnt chosen a different RTR option. I would definitely consider renting this dress again (perhaps for a summer time event). My Charity event was in the middle of February... a bit cold for a short dress like this!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

The dress was beautiful, elegant and simple. I felt comfortable and fit right in.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a bit lose for me in the back, not as fitted as I would like but I made it work.
Miranda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

I felt comfortable and pretty in this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was very comfortable, minus being a little on the short side for me. Also, I did notice that the actual dress color is quite a bit darker than in the picture on the website.
RTR Customer
Feb 25, 2015

Great fit and look

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. I wore a backless bra because I thought it looked better. You don't need one if you don't want to wear it. I got a lot of compliments on the dress (especially the back) and the RTR experience was really simple.
Katie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Felt like a movie star!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect! Got compliments all night long! Would definitely rent again and i'm sad to send it back ):
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

First time using RTR, and got so many compliments on the dress! Rented for an awards gala.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
After reading the reviews and seeing pictures online I really thought I could wear a 6...wasn't going to happen. This dress runs true to your regular size, if not smaller. I'm glad I ordered the size up, 8, and it ended up fitting perfectly. A lot of girls say not to wear a bra, but if you are curvy like me, a little something is needed. I wore a strapless/backless bra that was sticky on the sides- it works great if you don't want to go braless.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Mar 1, 2015

Gorgeous!!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress!! It was nice and thick so I didn't need a bra but a little short. I wore it for my birthday brunch and received compliments all day long.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Made me feel so special for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for my bridal shower. Everyone could not get over how beautiful it looked. I got compliments even days after! The 0 fit perfect for me. I did receive the size 2 as a back up and the dresses were two completely different colors. The 0 was more of an ivory and the 2 was more of a champagne color so I was really happy that the 0 fit so perfectly. The only problem with the 0 was the zipper. My guess is that the dress is just getting over used the the zipper is getting over worked. I needed 4 hands to get it past the seam. Wish I could have kept this dress though!!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2015

Absolutely perfect, was complimented all night!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal dance and it was perfect. I usually wear a 6 and that's the size I ended up wearing. Great length, not too short and very classy. The open back looked weird in some pictures but I didn't have great fashion tape, so I would be sure to get some of that! Hated sending it back, but I definitely recommend it.
Awanti
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

Got many complements on this dress!! Great length and fit through the midsection and hips.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only downside to this dress was the back. I was most excited about it but it did not stay down properly. I had to apply fashion tape and pins to help stay in place. Otherwise a great dress for many occasions and everyone loved it!!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Glamous and Fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my school's Gala. The dress fit great and I received many compliments. I felt glamorous and had a great time in it. I wish I could own it!
McCall
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Got so many compliments on this dress. It does run very short, only con. The back is awesome. It's really prettier in person and adds just the right amount of glam!
RTR Customer
Mar 16, 2015

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress and the fit. Wouldn't change anything about it. Great dress! It's fitted around the hips and thighs but not too tight. The lace and metallic design on the lace made it fancy enough, not too over the top.
Karina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Wore this dress for my bachelorette dinner and it was a hit!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I definitely stood out as the bride to be :) Size 2 was fitted throughout but seemed a little constricting around the arm/chest area. I'm a 34D So I wore my backup size 4 for comfort up top.
Jamie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 25, 2015

I got asked about this dress all night at a friends wedding. Amazing fit! Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 10, but the 12 fit better for the occasion. I am 5'8 and the 10 felt way to short, but the 12 fit great! The entire RTR process was easy and wonderful! I was so sad to send the dresses back.
Blakely
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Perfect for semi-formal!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It fit like a glove and was super comfortable! The fabric was sturdy and supportive, and the shiny top layer was just stunning. Got so many compliments! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely be coming back!
Marissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

It glimmered in the light and looked lovely, without taking attention from the bride.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear either an 8 or a 10 in dresses depending on style, cut and brand. For this occasion I ordered both sizes. The material of the dress is thick and kind of sweater like. It was good because I didn't have to wear a bra or anything underneath to hide any flaws. The silver detailing is way more evident in person than on the model, so though it is beige, the silver really shows up. When I tried the dresses on the 8 seemed a little tight and the 10 felt just right, so I decided to go with the 10, but as the night wore on the dress became stretched out and a somewhat baggy. This photo is closer to the end of the night, and you can see how loose it was. The open back was lovely, but I should have worn fashion tape to get the sides of the opening to stay snug on my back. I was originally going to wear this dress to the wedding ceremony and reception, but decided to wear it to the rehearsal dinner instead, since it was a little less formal than the other dress I bought. I would say that because I was seated for basically the entire night is what contributed to the stretching of the dress. However, I think all of the problems could have been solved had I gone with the 8 instead. I would consider ordering again, but definitely going with the smaller size.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Perfect for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
It was a great color and the back was beautiful. My only complaint was that t was pretty loose up top and and ran large. I would rent this again and was great for my height.
DEVON
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 30, 2015

I wore this to a charity event/fundraiser and it was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 4 but after reading some of the other reviews I decided to also get the 2 for a backup and I am so glad I did! The 4 fit just fine but the 2 made it even more flattering. The fabric has enough stretch to it that you don't feel uncomfortable at all. I received SO many compliments at the event and after. I highly recommend this dress for a cocktail event or wedding! It was amazing!!!!
Leah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

Sexy and fun!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and it was perfect. I'm 5"10 so it seemed a little short at times but overall it made me feel really sexy- it's a great dress if you want to show off your legs :) I was worried that I would feel too uncovered with the back being open but I really felt great. I had read in some of the reviews that the sleeves tend to want to slide forward but this wasn't an issue for me, the fit was perfect. The dress is tan/nude colored but the details on the dress are actually silver so you can wear silver or gold jewelry which I think it's perfect. I wore it to an inside night wedding but I think it would work perfectly for a daytime or outside wedding as well.
cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

I wore this dress for my bachelorette party in Vegas. Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit is comfy and it has a gorgeous back. No bra needed if your a small chested lady like me. I'm 5'8 and it was short but not too short. I wore 3 inch heels and it was perfect.
Carolina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 4, 2015

Stunning dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is the perfect dress! I wore this for a law school dance and got lots of compliments. Very comfortable and sturdy fabric. Not too short although I was worried that it would be. Definitely need sticky bra for this.
Beka
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

The moment I realized it FIT!! :)

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party & it was gorgeous! I am pretty petite so I was nervous it wouldn't fit...it was the tiniest bit loose and I had to use double-sides tape to keep the back from flaring out, but it was totally worth it for this dress. Also, be sure to buy a backless bra!
Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Apr 6, 2015

Sexy but classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a special dinner out with my husband. Because of the low back I couldn't wear a bra but it worked with some stand alone cups fine. He really liked the dress. The short length makes it sexy but the style is classy.
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Great backless dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit well and I got a lot of compliments on it, especially the open back! If I wore it again I might get some tape so the back fit a little better, but it was fine without it.
Ashton
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am 5'2 and 127lbs. I am thicker on my bottom half and smaller up top. I wore a size 6 in the dress and it fit perfect. I loved the back of the dress the most. I bought a pearl/nude/silver pump and it went with the dress well.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

This dress is beautiful! I wore it to a fraternity formal and I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a 6, but I could wear the 4 without a bra because of the tightness and the thick material so I went with that. It was definitely short, but I'm 5'2 so that wasn't an issue for me. The color is definitely more nude/champagne than white/cream
Elizabeth
Age: 27
Apr 9, 2015

I wore this dress for my bachelorette and it was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's classy and sexy at the same time! The short length + lace + v-cut back = Winner.
Liz
Age: 17
Apr 9, 2015

I got endless compliments and felt sparkly on the dance floor!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The dress is even prettier in person and pictures enhance how glam and shiny it is. It fit well minus the back being loose- kinda hard to dance with! It made it feel like it was falling off of me and slipping off my shoulders. So so pretty other than that and would be perfect for something where you're staying relatively still.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Beautiful photoshoot!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress! Wish I could keep! Felt great in it, perfect length and love the open back! Love! Only con was my sleeves kept falling but would rent it again anyway! Worth it!
Abby
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

The dress was comfortable and makes you shine!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the six and the eight but went with the six because it fit much better in the chest area. I loved the dress and got tons of complements. It looks really great with a tan!
Jenny
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Easy to rent and fit was impeccable!! I felt beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
While sitting down the sleeves felt a little loose but it wasn't a big deal at all. The comfort of the dress was unbelievable!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Classic color/design, with a great open back.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everyone LOVED this dress. For those over 5' 8", it is a bit short, but the lining and dress itself has a bit of weight, so it doesn't really ride up. I was able to dance all night and felt very comfortable. I also didn't need to use any fashion tape on the back, but have wider shoulders so I may recommend that you have some on hand just in case. Will definitely be on my repeat list.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×