Slate & Willow

Letty Dress

$45 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Searching for the perfect party dress? Look no further than this fit n flare by Slate & Willow! Black sequins in a super easy shape will have you feeling sassy and confident! Simply pair with kate spade new york's Disco Pansy Bib and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Stretch Sequins (100% Polyester). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Full skirt. Lined. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

219 reviews

Fit
Small 60
True to Size 131
Large 6
Photos 139
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 14, 2014

This dress was very flattering. I received compliments the whole night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous ordering a dress of RTR solely because I rarely have good online shopping experiences. Prom was around the corner so I went ahead and took the risk and ordered this dress. It came in and I could not have been more happy with with the beautiful dress. It was very flattering for my figure and I was receiving compliments the entire night. I am normally always a size 8, sometimes 6, but I ended up wearing the 10 only because of the length. It was a little bigger but the length of the 8 was way too short. I do not recommend this dress for tall people. I am only 5'5 and it was about mid thigh. Overall loved this dress and the RTR experience!
Erica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Loved this dress! My boyfriend was wowed and I got compliments all night long!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was perfect for an evening wedding. The fit was great and very flattering. The material is a little itchy, but nothing too uncomfortable. The material is a little heavy so maybe not the best choice if you're going somewhere hot. It was great for October in Nashville
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Comfortable and cute

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is flattering. Comfortable. And Cute. It is on the shorter side but at 5'5" it was perfect for me. If I were any taller I maybe wouldn't have been comfortable. I would rent again! Love RTR!
Niki
Age: 26
Oct 16, 2014

Lots of compliments and fun to dance in!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fun dress. Snagged a little at the arms but not an issue. I wear a size 4 and rented a 4. I have a larger bust and it fit great, but a little loose around my mid section. Dress on the shorter size so tall girls beware! First rtr experience and I will be back for more!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding. It was a little tight in the arms at first but loosens up through out the night. The length was short and fun. Very comfy all night! For sure would recommend!
Kailey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Oct 21, 2014

Perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very comfortable! The 6 was very tight in the chest area but the 8 fit perfectly and the length was perfect as well. I love this dress and would absolutely rent it again!
Kat
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 154 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Beautiful dress! So many compliments.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ended up wearing the 10 due to the length. This dress is extremely comfortable and was perfect for the bachelorette party I attended. Only negative side of this dress is the sequins under my arm continuously caught to my side and made it difficult at times to move my arms without pulling out multiple sequins. Very impressed with RTR customer service and the whole process, will defiantly be renting from them again.
Lily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2014

Perfect for a semi-formal party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my senior year homecoming dance. It was really nice and I got tons of compliments. I'm not a super tall girl, and it was a tad short. I wore super large heels with it, so that probably added to the length problem. Overall, it was a great quality.
mel
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 10, 2014

Perfect cocktail dress for a evening, fall, rooftop wedding!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress itself was gorgeous. So gorgeous, I want to own it. I received compliments on it all night long. It's definitely very short, so if you're not comfortable with short dresses, this is not the dress for you. I, personally, love short dresses. I have short legs so I need shorter dresses or I look frumpy. It was very complimentary for my shape. The only issue I had with it was that it was tight in my chest, shoulder and arm region. The arms felt like they loosened up through the night. I went on a juice cleanse prior to the wedding I was attending that I rented this dress for (because I'm always between sizes) and the 16 was too big (I was able to try it on in the Vegas store). No matter how many juice cleanses I do, my chest is not getting any smaller. Otherwise, the fit in the waist was perfect. You can wear a normal bra with this because the v cut in the back isn't too low. If you're smaller chested, you may be able get away without wearing a bra to help the tightness in the chest region. Even though the dress is sparkle city, it needs a touch of color. I wore a chunky turquoise necklace and rocked nude heels.
Ashton
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Everyone will notice you in this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt so cute in this dress! The skirt is super swingy - perfect for dancing! It was on the shorter side, but I'm only 5'1", so that wasn't really a problem for me. It would have been pushing it if I'd been a few inches taller. While the dress fit, it was a little tight around my bust and upper arms. I sized up for my backup dress, but that size was too loose in the waist and made me lose a lot of definition. But the tightness wasn't super noticeable! Overall, an amazing dress, and I will be renting again!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Age: 15
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

The dress was exactly what I expected LOVED IT

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect & I just loved this dress. I got complements all night
Julie
Age: 28
Nov 20, 2014

Fit like a glove, very comfortable, appropriate for a fall wedding, and super cute!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'2" and 110lbs and I wore a size 4. Runs a bit bigger but loved the dress! I want to buy it!
Kennedy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2014

very comfortable and easy for last minute cute outfit

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
the dress fit pretty well. my chest was snug but comfortable. the only thing is i'm 5'6 and wore 4 in heels and it was veryyyy short. i wore it to my high school sorority's spring formal
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Nov 24, 2014

I felt amazing in this dress! It was comfortable to move around in! I love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is a bit hard to get on and off, but it was beautiful! It is very comfortable! It fit amazingly! I received so many compliments!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

This dress is my favorite rental so far! It is absolutely stunning in person

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. The only potential issue for people with long torsos is that the dress might be a little short. The subtle waistline looked amazing and the sequins made even a simple black dress stand out. This dress looks great with a necklace! Overall, I highly recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Dec 4, 2014

The speedy shipping and the free samples that I got with my dress!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a semi formal and overall I really liked it and I would definitely rent it again the only downside to it was that it was incredibly short. And ill have you know that I am only about 5'2 so that is really saying something. Also I noticed that it is slightly tighter around the arms than I would like it to be but I am an athlete and I have a lot of muscle so that could have just been the problem.
Brianna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Danced all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pro- can be worn frontward or backward (I wore it backward for the v-neck look). I also liked that it was very short and pretty stretchy. No cons.
Lettie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

great sparkly dress for a holiday party

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a company holiday party with a cocktail attire dress code. It was a perfect choice. The crowd was youthful and fun, so the dress was a great balance: high neckline, 3/4 sleeves, a just low enough back and a short hem. Pros: the fit is true to size with just enough give. The material is not too clingy to make you self conscious. The V in the back is sexy while being high enough that you can wear a regular bra. The sequins are not cheap, tacky costume sequins. The construction of the dress was beautiful. Cons: As others have mentioned, this dress is short. A true mini! I am petite and didn't think it would be too short on me after I read all the reviews, but it definitely fell above mid-thigh. This was ok for my event, but I was a little cautious when I had to walk upstairs! I got a size up as back up but that really didn't buy me anymore length do I stuck with my size. Also as mentioned the sequins from the sleeve would sometimes catch on the bodice sequins. In all, I think this mini dress is well proportioned because of the sleeves and neckline. I paired with Slate & Willow Evening Primrose Necklace, Cara Gold Dress Me Up bracelet, Whiting and Davis Gold Mesh Glam clutch and my platform heels. I loved this look all together! #sequins #glam #mini
Lisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

The ease of getting a really cute fashionable dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
The dress was a little snug to put on, especially if you are a little larger in the bust. I am only 5'5.5" so it was not too short. I received so many compliments and it would be flattering on lots of different body types. This was my first RTR dress, but it definitely will not be my last! Thank you RTR!!
Jenn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect for a Holiday Work party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is my very first time using Rent the Runway and I was so impressed at the quality and fit of the two dresses I received. I normally wear a size 8, however some reviews suggested going a size down so I rented the 6 as well. The 8 fit perfectly, the fabric is stretchy and the over all shape of the dress is very flattering. I have a large bust, and dresses like this can sometimes draw a lot of attention ( with fabric obviously stretched to its limit... ) but this was a great fit! Would definitely wear again!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Not for me...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was my first fail with RTR, and unfortunately I didn't realize it before the 24 hour return cut off, but oh well. I didn't end up wearing this, or my back up dress, but thought I would review it anyway.I thought this dress looked cute in the review pics, but not for me. First, it does run small. I usually wear a 6 in dresses, got both the 6 and the 8. The bodice fit about the same (I'm small chested A/B cup with broad shoulders, athletic build), but the 6 was WAY shorter. The 8 was pretty short, and though I didn't mind the length, the cut of the skirt, in combination with the length and sequins made it look like a figure skating dress. I initially liked it for it's simplicity with a bit of sparkle, but in the end it just wasn't a good look. My husband (who is a pretty good fashion consultant) thought it looked too "young" like a "little girls dress".
RTR Customer
Dec 18, 2014

I felt so special and beautiful as Queen of Winter Formal court and this dress made that happen!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a 6 and it fit so perfectly I didn't even bother trying the 8 on! The dress was gorgeous and I loved everything about it. From the neckline to the sleeve length to the elegance of the sequins. I was a bit worried because of the length but I wore spandex and didn't have a problem at all. Definitely recommend this one for a special event.
RTR Customer
Dec 18, 2014

The dress fit like a glove!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, makes your arms look small.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Very fun sparkles and twirling skirt

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. The sparkles were perfect and the long sleeves made it a great winter dress. It ran really short (and I'm short) so I opted for the 6 for length. I wore with black tights and patent heels. Loads of fun to spin in
RTR Customer
Dec 21, 2014

Everyone loved this dress. I don't want to send it back.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This dress is so sparkly in person and beyond elegant. The unique cut for the bottom of the skirt makes it so unique and flattering . I had no complaints about the dress , although if you are taller there might be a problem with the length. It is fairly short. Everything about is stunning, and the dip in the back makes it all the more unique and fun!
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

I ended up wearing another dress to my event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful and very flattering dress. However, the dress was simply the wrong size for me. If it had been in the right size, this dress would have been a wonderful choice! A very comfortable and flattering dress, though it was too small for me. Very pretty!
heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Cute little black dress for dinner and a show.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented for a Broadway show and dinner/drinks after. Super cute and sparkly, but not in a flashy way. The arms were a little tight but not uncomfortable or difficult to move in. I really liked this dress.
Claire
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Rented this for a graduation party I threw for myself. Perfect amount of sass and sparkle!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because there is no zipper! I had to squeeze it on over my head/chest and then do my hair. There's no reason a dress this nice has to be pulled on like a hoodie! Ridiculous. As a result, I had to wear the 8 instead of the 6. The 6 fit...but it was a pain to get it on!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Not for those who hit the free weights at the gym!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit perfectly through the waist but is incredibly tight through the shoulders and in the arms. Definitely not for those who hit the free weights at the gym! So disappointed that I wasn't able to wear this for NYE.
Kirstie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jan 4, 2015

Perfect for a New Year's Eve Gala!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Red Carpet Gala on New Year's Eve. It was great for the event; like everyone else, I was extremely sparkly. A few things: like another reviewer said, the dress is sized more like a junior's dress; I normally wear a 6 and could barely squeeze into an 8. It IS really annoying to have to take the dress on and off over your head; not easy if you're tired at the end of the night and just want to put on PJs. The ability to wear the dress as a v-neck instead of a v-back was a plus; the dress would have probably gone back otherwise! The sequins do get caught on themselves, and it's annoying, but it's a minor issue. Last, as others have stated, it is extremely SHORT. If you are over 5'5, plan on wearing volleyball shorts. Other than that, I received compliments all night and felt like a princess! I wore it with the Star Light Star Bright necklace, and it pulled the entire look together very well. Also, RTR customer service was wonderful; they made everything a breeze!
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and fun. I wore it for NYE and got tons of compliments - not tacky but still sparkly. I love the length of the sleeves and it was super flattering!
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 17
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

I felt absolutely amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sequins gets caught on everything, especially my curly hair. It was a bit short in the back but that may just be because I'm not very accustomed to wearing dresses. Sleeves are a bit tight.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 36B
Jan 20, 2015

I rented this dress for Homecoming. The theme was Hollywood and this dress was perfect!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit true to size but is short as expected.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

Everything about RTR is amazing

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect. I cannot say enough about how amazing it was. I originally rented the 6 but I ended up wearing the 8 because I felt more comfortable in it. This dress is so comfy and cute. I would suggest wearing some spandex with it because it is a little bit short, but I didn't mind. Occasionally the sequins got caught on each other under the armpits, but it really wasn't a big deal. This dress is fantastic.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Awesome Birthday dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Loved this LBD. Rented for my 24th birthday. Dress does run a little short but for the occasion it was fine but something to keep in mind depending on the occasion. A little snug getting it on but once it is on it fits like a glove.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

This dress was very flattering and fun! But it is SHORT. Very comfortable, perfect to dance in!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very short. I'm only 5'1" and it was just past mid thigh on me. Stretchy material is forgiving and sleeves are a great length. Can be worn with a normal bra which is a huge plus.
Rachael
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 14, 2015

I wore this to a fraternity philanthropy event.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you have a narrower ribcage I'd suggest sizing down for this dress. Based on other reviews I ordered a 6 as a back up size (I'm normally a 2/4), and I definitely wish I had the option of the 2, as there was some extra fabric on the 4. I loved the way the skirt sat on the hips, as it provided lots of swingy volume without emphasizing anything. The quarter sleeves were perfect for a winter event, as it was still dressy but provided a bit more coverage, especially for bustier girls. The dress was the perfect length, short but nothing too scandalous. I'd definitely wear this one again!!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Perfect NYE dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's family's huge NYE party in LA and it was PERFECT. I got compliments all night. The lower cut back and shortness help it feel sexy, while the high neckline and sleeves make it conservative enough to wear to a party with a bunch of old-school Italians (haha). I paired it with the Lilly Pulitzer Sweetheart Necklace and the Lauren Merkin Gold Eve Clutch. My only possible complaint would be the shortness; I am only 5'4'' (but pretty long waisted) and this was almost too short for my comfort when I put heels on. The flowy-ness of the skirt makes up for this well, though--just takes some getting used to. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
RTR Customer
Feb 18, 2015

Loved how the dress sparkled, and I got tons of compliments. I felt pretty and comfortable all night

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally got a different dress, but it didn't fit so I got this dress as a back up, and it fit pretty well, and was the perfect length for someone as short as me. The arms, however, were a tad bit small and might not be the best for people with muscular arms. Overall, I was very happy with the dress and I was glad I had rented it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

This dress was gorgeous! I got compliments on it all night!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was true to size! If you have a big bust I recommend going a size up because it was alittle tight in the chest area. With a great pair of heels and simple jewelry it was a great wedding outfit. I will definitely order from rent the runway again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×