Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1045 reviews

Fit
Small 316
True to Size 597
Large 32
Photos 732
Lexi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super soft and stretchy which made it really comfortable. The zero was a good fit. The only problem was that because the material was so stretchy, the sleeves were a little puffier than I would like because of being on the hanger, but that was an easy fix! Just remember you need either sticky/backless bra or no bra at all because of the open back
Tara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 22, 2015

LOVED this dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding rehearsal! I got so many compliments on it. The back made it so original and I loved the colors. The 2 was still a little loose, but the length and fit around my waist was perfect.
Jacalyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 22, 2015

The open back was super sexy! The pattern was very fun and earned lots of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
The Material was much more stretchy and thin than I imagined. It was very form fitted on the bottom but the pattern helped cover up any imperfections. If you have a smaller upper frame this dress isn't for you. There is nothing connecting the back so if you are small up top the dress feels like it might just come off. This dress rides up a lot while dancing!! This is NOT a great dancing dress at all but if you want to just stand there and look good this will work for you!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 20, 2015

Bold, sassy, colorful, sexy...the perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has been one of my favorite rentals, I loved it! The fit felt true to size and was so incredibly flattering. The length is a little shorter than I thought I would be comfortable wearing, but it was a cold night so I had on pantyhose and that helped me feel better about it. The colors are so vibrant, it could really match any color accessories. I ended up wearing this dress to two weddings, and got so many compliments from my husband, my friends, other wedding guests, and random strangers on the street. I was comfortable enough in it to dance all night, and never had any problems with the dress riding up or shifting. I will definitely rent this again!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 20, 2015

Hot!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this out for a hot night out in Miami and it was fantastic. I danced the night away and it stayed nicely in place, without any tape at all. I'm very small-busted, but even without a bra it didn't look bad because the dress itself is so visually stunning that you really don't notice the chest but instead are drawn to the way it makes your legs, butt, and back look. It's also so easy to pair with shoes and a clutch because of all the different colors in it. Overall, it was so much fun!
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 17, 2015

Wore this for my husband's art gallery show. Was a hit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
For all the ladies that are built like a 13 year old boy...straight up and down, the size 2 fit me perfectly everywhere but the chest. I had to purchase a backless padded pushup bra to fill in the chest area. Once I did that- dress looked AMAZING! I am very flat chested. A 32AA pretty much sums it up, but with a bra- this dress is just perfect. I liked it so much that I'd love to buy it!
Rita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Gorgeous

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Everyday
The dress is beautiful. The zipper was ripping so it was hard to zip but once it was on it was a marvel. The dress went from school, to the mall, to date night with a change of shoes. The light material was perfect for the hot, humid Dallas summer west her. I'm hiding a baby bump BUT the dress wasn't having it. It accentuated my little bump well.
Randi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Jun 15, 2015

The dress needed some smoke and mirror magic to achieve the right fit - but it was well worth it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color of the dress was gorgeous! The only downside was the bottom and top of the dress where disproportional. I wear a 32C bra and the top was so roomy that I had to invest in a backless bra to fill it in. The bottom of the dress was a little tight and kept riding up so if walking down a long hallway or anything I had to readjust halfway through. Despite the annoyances the dress was worth it, I felt so beautiful!
RTR Customer
Jun 15, 2015

Perfection!

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beyond perfect! Colors, style and fit. Great for us short girls who don't have much on top. I used the sticky bra since the back dipped low. So many compliments and perfect for a summer outdoor wedding.
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 14, 2015

Sexy and unique, although a little short.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered a size 0 and a size 00. Both fit me, and could be worn without a bra (I put bandaids on for critical cold coverage, if you know what I mean), however the shoulders for the size 0 were a little looser, and when sitting down, I could see it would be easy for shoulder to slide down. I ended up wearing the size 00. I'm not tall (5'3) and this dress was fairly shortly (mid thigh), such that my husband was a little surprised. Small breasted girls need not worry; this dress is perfect for us! I'm a very flat-chested 32AA, and this dress was still flattering. In fact, I thought it made it easier not to wear a bra. It also accommodated my wider hips and butt. I wish I owned this dress! Note: This can also be worn as a "top" with a dark skirt for a daytime look! I loved the design so much, I paired this dress with a black circle skirt for a brunch date with friends, and I got many compliments.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 13, 2015

I received SO many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 and wound up wearing the size 0. The material on this dress is a little stretchy so it was a little loose but SO comfortable. The sleeves are a little poofy which I did not realize on the website photo. Overall it is a great dress!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

Amazing, comfortable, colorful party dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This was a last minute replacement dress and I'm more happy with this one! The colors REALLY stand out and I got so many compliments on this dress-I didn't want to send this back. It looks like a work of art! Wore to a wine tasting and it was VERY hot that day, the fact that it was white, short, and backless all came in handy. I wouldn't rent this if you're busty or tall-it's definitely a MINI and you can get away with a Nubra AT MOST. I went bra less and was fine due to the high neck which balances it so it's sexy and not trashy. Love this one-a great summer in Fort Lauderdale dress!
Kelsee
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

This dress definitely stands out!

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for graduation. More conservative in the front but with the low back it was great to wear out afterward. The splash of colors definitely gets attention and I received a lot of compliments. The length was perfect for me but might be short on taller girls. I did use fashion tape to keep the shoulders in place and that worked well. The 4 stars is because the hem on the 00 laid a bit odd. Not sure if that's how it is supposed to be but I felt like it did not go well with the rest of the dress and it's excellent tailoring.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

I was told I was the best dressed guest of the wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a Memorial weekend wedding and loved the fun print and open back. I received numerous compliments (even from the bride!). I typically wear a 0, but when I tried on the 0 I ordered it was very tight across the legs/hips so I wore the 2 (which was a little big across the chest). Overall the dress was a hit and I was very happy with my rental.
caierston
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

This dress is spicy!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress!! A heads up, it is mighty short. I have long legs but I'm not that tall and it fell mid thigh. It was fitted but comfortable in the 00, and the shoulders would be a bit loose on someone without broad shoulders. Definitely a head turner!!
Karen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Loved the dress and got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a friend's outdoor summer wedding and it was a huge hit. I felt that it fit pretty true to actual size. I wore it with blue heels which added a nice bit of color. I would recommend this dress and will definitely be renting it again. This was also my first dress from Rent the Runway and I was so impressed by everything! I told everyone at the wedding they need to use it!
RTR Customer
Jun 8, 2015

Amazing, fun dress for a night out with the girls!!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
A little tight fit for what I'm use to but the size 6 fit awesome! Loved this dress!
Zina
Age: 29
Jun 8, 2015

Perfect dress to watch a triple crown win in :)

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress I got a thousand compliments on it from complete strangers both girls and guys. It was so comfortable and easy to wear. I could've done the four or two but I'm small up top so went with the two.
Kristin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 3, 2015

Super fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The design on this dress was so fun, vibrant and stood out in the crowd. It is form fitting but the design distracts from any mid section flaws. The dress is very short - and the cap sleeves mean that when you raise your arms, it hitches the dress up even further. I had to be extra careful when dancing ;) If you've got long legs or aren't comfortable with a mini-skirt length... you've been warned!
Jamie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

This dress added color and fun into my event experience. Straying away from the usual black colors.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the dress and got so many compliments as well. The colors of the dress come out fabulous in pictures! The only thing I recommend is to use fashion tape for the shoulders, as they slipped off very easily. Once you use the fashion tape, it made the dress absolutely perfect! I found that the dress did ride up a lot, so just beware of that little problem. Other then that, the dress was a hit and I would definitely plan on ordering this dress again.
LaCania
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 1, 2015

The colors in the dress are very pigmented, and bright! Good fabric!! Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is short...so if you long legs or do not feel comfortable showing your legs beware, but its not to short. The full coverage in the bust balances the shortness out in my opinion. The back of the dress is awesome! Would rent it again!!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

It was the perfect dress for a beach wedding. I loved it so much that I slept in it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had my eye on this dress for a long time but was slightly nervous to rent it because of some of the negative reviews, however I am SO happy that I did. The dress fit me like a glove. It is on the shorter side as many other reviewers stated, however I didn't feel like it was "too" short on my 5'4 frame. It does ride up a bit, but after a few cocktails I couldn't care less. I pretty much always wear a 2, and this dress was no different. I ordered the 0 as my backup size but didn't even try it on since the 2 fit so perfectly. As other reviewers said it does fit more snug towards the bottom, but the material is stretchy so I actually liked that part of it. Definitely rent this dress - you will not be disappointed!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
May 31, 2015

Dress was perfect for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Length was great for a petite girl but it will ride up. I am extremely athletic with a muscular build so if you have smaller shoulders or back it might require fashion tape as stated in other reviews. Fit is flattering and open back is incredible. Fabric is thick enough as to not require a bra.
Jill
Age: 29
May 30, 2015

Great dress!! I felt like a million bucks. Lots of head turns and compliments.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
The dress was definitely tighter than I expected, pretty short too, but I'm only 5'2" so the length was fine for me. I still have a little post baby stomach pooch and almost thought it was too tight, but it's really comfortable, so glad I wore it! Just size up!
MS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
May 27, 2015

Looked great but not perfect

Size worn: OO
Rented for: Other
The dress fit nicely on my frame and, as other reviewers have pointed out, really accentuates the back. My only gripes were that the white strings (used to hang the dress) were constantly peeking out and required constant attention and the shoulders were pretty ugly and a bit limiting in terms of movement. As others pointed out, it is also VERY short and does have a tendency to ride up when walking. It does, however, travel well and accentuates a curvy figure. I think that overall it worked for what I had in mind, but I doubt I will rent it again.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 27, 2015

Fun dress! Got tons of compliments. Love the back!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is a short dress, and I went for a 0 which was fine, but I could have worn a 2 as well.
Ariel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2015

Great color! Amazing back.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! The color was amazing, it was comfortable and i got compliments all night. It was really short for my height, but other than that it was amazing!
Genevie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
May 21, 2015

Fun! Colorful! Sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for San Antonio's fiesta! It does ride up like other reviews have said but other than that it's great! It was fine and easy to deal with. The back is a sexy surprise!
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 20, 2015

HOT dress for HOT times

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This was the perfect little dress for a night out in Miami. Loved the multi-colors and open back. Could go with practically any color shoes or accessories. The length on me was perfect since I'm only 5'2", but think it could be a little too short for taller girls.
Rex
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
May 18, 2015

Wowza!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Other
Love love love the dress! Super forgiving fabric and print for a curvier girl! I wore this for my college graduation and it was perfect for the warm and humid weather. Definitely short, I spent a lot of time pulling it down despite my efforts of using boob tape to keep it down. Thank goodness I had my graduation gown to cover how high it rode up during the ceremony.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 18, 2015

Stand Out in the Crowd Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a luncheon fundraiser for the American Heart Association. It was perfect because it had red in it but not all-over red like most people wear. The pattern is amazing and everyone loved it! The 0 was pretty short and road up a bit when walking around, but the 2 was too big on top to go bra-less (with this dress being backless you couldn't wear a bra). Other than it riding up it was fantastic and I wish I could keep it! I stood out among the red outfits and received several compliments.
Claire
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2015

Beautiful design

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
The dress was a little on the small size which I knew so I sized up for my back up and ended up going with the 8. Rides up and is short on tall girls
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
May 18, 2015

"Walking art"

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the paint splatter look of this dress! I received many compliments but my favorite one was from 2 of the bride's aunts that I met at the wedding... They told me they loved the dress and that I looked like "walking art!" It was a fun dress for a beautiful wedding. I rented the 00 & the 0. The 00 fit PERFECTLY but I couldn't wear it because the zipper puckered as if someone had repaired it poorly. The 0 fit well enough for the most part but didn't fit as well as the smaller size... I had to use extra fabric tape but it all ended up fine. I always recommend ordering 2 sizes.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 18, 2015

Sorry for the goofy pic!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! It was so classy and unique, the compliments never stopped. It runs a little small, but not that noticeable. Would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 16, 2015

perfect for graduation

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. The only problem i had with this dress was the length. It was a little too short.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 16, 2015

Compliments all day!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! I said that it runs true to size because I'm assuming that on anyone with a tad more weight would fill in the dress the appropriate way. I'm 5'7 and 108 lbs so it makes sense that the dress was a bit big. Didn't wear a bra but I wish I had worn a nubra only because it would've helped fill in the top. The colors are gorgeous and this dress can be dressed up or down. I wore it for my graduation during the day with sandals and then at night (pictured) with heels. Such a pretty number and people complimented me all day!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2015

Flattering and easy to wear.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Flattering, easy. Pretty colors. Short enough for short girls.
Diana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 14, 2015

Length was a very important factor when considering what to rent. It was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is for the shorties who want that perfect fit. Being a petite lady, I need to be wary of length and proportions and this dress got the job done. Now to actually wear it out! Will return with more details!
Thea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 14, 2015

Light stretchy material that was perfect for an island wedding!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is a bit short and can't be worn with a bra but it was comfortable and easy to dance in.
Laney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
May 13, 2015

Great rental for Junior Prom

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looked great and I felt beautiful. It does run tighter around the hips and looser around the waist, which caused it to occasionally ride up but it was not annoying at all. The sleeves do have a pleat in them which is hard to see in the pictures. Also the sleeves felt loose when I sat down, again not a big deal. The colors are darker than I expected so wearing my black heels (STEVE MADDEN - Jillyy) over a nude or other color heel looked good. Overall it was a great rental and worked perfectly for the occasion (pictures and dancing).
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×