Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

893 reviews

Fit
Small 292
True to Size 526
Large 27
Photos 616
Lexi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super soft and stretchy which made it really comfortable. The zero was a good fit. The only problem was that because the material was so stretchy, the sleeves were a little puffier than I would like because of being on the hanger, but that was an easy fix! Just remember you need either sticky/backless bra or no bra at all because of the open back
gmama
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Petites! This ones for you!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Size 0 fit like a glove, but I wanted to eat and drink since it was my birthday after all! I wore size 2 and while it gaped just a little bit, and really just a bit, because of the open back, it was PERFECT for a beautiful Spring day! The colors are so easy to work with, pick any color for a shoe and you're good to go. I also rented some perfect earrings and bangles to go with it. I was on trend no doubt! Perfect dress for a perfect day of revelry in the city! Keep in mind that this is a mini dress, so long legged ladies be warned. Since I'm only 5'1" it worked great for me - mid-thigh! Great dress. I highly recommend!!
taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2015

I wore this during my bachelorette party dinner/drinks, it was the perfect dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size, I loved the backless detail. All around a very fun and comfortable dress. I was not crazy about the material.
Lynsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

Perfect party dress for my 30th birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such as fun, cute dress! I loved the back and the pattern and felt great in this dress. I did have to pull it down a few times when it rode up. I was able to dance in it though!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 4, 2015

Perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
Already wrote a GLOWING review with a frontal picture but had to post a pic of the back. Again, LOVE this dress. Fit me beautifully and I got compliments all night long. Wish I could keep it forever. Highly recommend! Worn with a Nubra.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Cute spring wedding dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering cut, photographs very well and received tons of compliments on the dress all night. Like many renters have states, the dress is short and tends to ride up so had to be very conscious of it while dancing. I also had to use fabric tape on the back to hold the shoulders up. Overall, very cute dress - just needed a few slight adjustments to make it work.
Diane
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Apr 8, 2015

Definitely a stand out dress! One of my all time favorites.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As noted in several other reviews the dress is SHORT, and it requires readjusting as you walk. Do not plan to walk up any stairs without having to hold the dress down as you do so. Despite constantly pulling the dress down, I LOVED this dress for the colors and open back. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone for a party or event.
Allie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Wore this for my rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! It was a little short, and did run a little small per the stylist notes. Loved it anyways!!
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

Conservative in the front and completely open in the back. I wore it to a art opening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size. I wore a sticky bra since the back is completely open. One of my favorite rentals! Got lots of compliments. The dress was very light weight.
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 11, 2015

Got SO many compliments - such a unique dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. I wore it for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. Not only was it unique (no one at the event had anything like it) but it was super comfortable. It does ride up a bit but not enough to be an issue, and the midsection was a bit loose on me but I pinned it and it was fine. Most of the reviews of people my size and weight said to go with a 4 or 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 and actually wished I had ordered the 2. Overall, I would definitely recommend it. I got so many compliments, it really made the event special.
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Received endless amounts of compliments and everyone wanted this dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress was a showstopper. I Received so many compliments all night... I am a true size 4 but wore the 6 for the length. I have a muscular build and the dress fit as tight as a body con dress would. The back was stunning.... Highly recommend this to anyone!!
kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Great dress. I wore it to a charity party and received many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The four was too large in the waist area, I ended up wearing the two. The length of the four was better than the two. The dress is perfect for a spring event. I paired blue suede fringe heals to complete the look.
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Dressed it down

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received this as a backup dress and it was okay. I knew the back would be low but even with fashion tape, the top didn't stay put very well and I had to wear a special bra (built into a leotard with low cut back). I wore a cropped cardigan over it, belted it, and threw on jeggings with flats for a more casual look since I wore this to a friend's birthday party. The dress is very short, which is why it practically worked as a long shirt! I liked the colors but the white looked a bit dingy. I think it looked better on the model.
Cat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Apr 13, 2015

Be ready to stand out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great colors, the dress itself is very comfortable. Definitely rides up so be ready to pull it down. Good fit and fun dress!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

Very pretty.. Not as bright as the picture though

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress runs small and is tighter than I expected.. but it's beautiful and I love the open back! It is short (especially when sitting down).
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Bachelorette Bash

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my bachelorette party. I did it last minute, so the size 6 was not available. I was a little self conscious of the length at first, but happy the night I wore it. I received many compliments and the dress was very comfortable. I loved the back too.
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Complimeennnnts!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it! Super bright, form fitting, surprising back. My only complaint is that it was shorter than expected-- would be better for a party or night out than a wedding. Would rent again!
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I got TONS of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I got TONS of compliments! Like other people said, it is tighter around the legs and looser around the shoulders, so if you are super curvy around your hips, it might hug tight. It was so comfortable though! The material is a light stretchy material-- not structured like it looks from pictures. I ordered the 6 and 8, although I'm usually a 2-4, and the 6 was perfect!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

I wore this for the opening night of a Broadway show I am working on. I got SO many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Some other people said the colors are darker in person, which is definitely true. I wore a 6, but would have definitely likes to have tried an 8 (the back up size wasn't ready for my order). I was working the event, so I would say that the one con was that the dress kept riding up on me, which I don't know if it's a testament to the size or the dress. I wore spanks underneath, but every time i took a step the dress would pull up (there were a lot of stairs at the party, so you can imagine how I kept tugging on it). All in all though, I loved the dress. Everyone complimented it and no one else had anything like it at the party. I would definitely wear this again, but to a party I wasn't running around at :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 18, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Beautiful, comfortable dress that I wore for my birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material is stretchy, and so it fit very well and was very flattering. Some other reviews stated they had issues keeping the sleeves in the right place, but I didnt have any issue with that. The back looked gorgeous, and the colors were bright and fun. Would definitely wear it again if I owned it!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Dress was such a hit. I sold rent the runway to at least 3 couples.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Does need some fashion tape in the back. And the hanging straps kept falling out. But overall., I loved this dress!
Inez
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Such a fun n colorful dress. The fit was great. Short n sassy! The back is the best part. Loved it!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6 but most RTR dresses I wear a 4. Thats the only reason I put runs large.
Megb
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great little dress for a fun night out. Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I hated to buy a new dress for a party we were attending so I decided to rent this one. Perfect fit and the print was so much fun. Having something backless made it a little more sexy.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great Dress! But not as expected.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well. I truly needed the size 6 but it was not available on my dates. The 4 ended up being a little short so I went with the 8 but was pulling on the shoulders all night to hold it up. The colors weren't as bright as I thought they would be but overall a fun dress with the Britney Spears concert in vegas!
Caitlin
Age: 27
Apr 24, 2015

This is a show-stopping dress for sure.. Wore it to our bridal shower and got non-stop compliments!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
My only complaints about this dress are about the sizing (which could just be my body type) and the hemline (which seems cheaply made). You can see in the picture that the hem does not lay flat.. I was disappointed because the rest of the dress is so stunning and "designer quality", but if you looked closely, the hem made it seem cheap. (Someone without hips might not experience the same problem!) I ended up wearing the 2, which is my normal dress size. However, my hips are much wider than my waist, and I felt like the dress was almost too small and stretched tight in the skirt (I had to keep pulling it down), while it was a little loose for me in the bust. It's almost impossible to wear a bra with this dress because of the back, and I am quite small chested.. Didn't quite fill it up! Last note is that the dress is really short for somebody with long legs! Since it was a bridal shower, I had to do a lot of creative sitting to not have a Britney Spears moment. This is a better dress for partying on the dance floor all night! ;) Overall, I was stoked that I chose the dress. I'm not sure if I would rent it again because of the aforementioned, but I am pleased with how it worked out for our special event!
RTR Customer
Apr 24, 2015

Lots of complements

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
True to size. Ran a bit tight on the hips and loose at the natural waist. Lots of compliments, though I do wish this were made of a more sturdy fabric. Fabric is thin and would be cheap looking if not for the pretty print. I am wearing sandals in the pic, but this went best earlier in the day with colored closed-toe pumps-- anything but black.
Kaylea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 111 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Love the colors and design!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Flattering design and colors-- the softest and most comfortable material. Love the open back! Ended up not wearing it but will rent again for sure!
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Unique dress for a fantastic night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Could have worn a 0 but besides that this dress was perfect and so unique! What a great fit. Would 100% recommend.
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 132 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well overall, but was a little short. Normally size 2-4 depending on the dress but went with the 4 because it was pretty form fitting and short. Might have wanted to try a 6. Was worried about the back not staying but had no problem at all and was able to dance and not have any issues. Would definitely recommend this dress loved the colors and style, received lots of compliments!
Chris
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Felt flirty in this eye catching colorful dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a size zero , I am 5'6" 110lbs. I ordered a size 2 because all of the reviews had stated that it runs short and it does. If i raised my arms the dress will raise as well. I wore the dress to an Art Exhibition. I would definitely not wear this anywhere I had to dance. Overall, beautiful stand out piece. Definitely Reccomend.
Liliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Gorgeous stand-out dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great. I have slightly wide shoulders so the sleeves didn't fall off and I didn't need to use any fashion tape. But I didn't like the look of the cap sleeves, they're a little awkward. And from some of the other comments, I tried to iron the bottom of the dress, but it still didn't make it straight. Colors are vibrant. Perfect from afternoon to evening. I did also have to pull my dress down quite a bit, but the length is perfect. Wore a Nubra with it.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Wore this to an annual horse race/outdoor spring party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I rented it for a local horse race where most people wore fun hats with their dresses. Unfortunately, the weather didn't hold out and I had to add a blazer to keep warm. As the other reviews describe the dress is definitely short. I loved the open back and wish I didn't need to cover it up. I am normally a size 4 and that is the size I wore. The size 6 was longer, but was too loose in the back/bust area and would've required tape to stay flat. One review described the material as a "pillow case" and I would 100% agree. It was thin and sleek, but not sheer or see-through. It didn't need many accessories, and I received tons of compliments throughout the day!
Madalyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Unexpected in a sea of black

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really loved this dress, especially the back! I tried the 2 on first and didn't even touch the 4 because the 2 fit like a glove. Other reviewers mentioned having to adjust the shoulders so as not to fall down, I expected this before I received the dress and was prepared with fashion tape. A couple pieces on each shoulder to secure and I never had to touch it again. Survived much movement, dancing and even taking a jacket on and off! Really liked this dress, would rent again!
Stefani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Super fun dress for a fun occasion. Got tons of compliments. Runs short so be careful tall girls!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The first thing that surprised me was actually the fabric. I was expecting something more structured but it was comfortable so I was fine with that. The 6 fit great in the body and bust but was wayyyy too short, so I went with the 8. You can't really wear a bra with this so if you have to size up, make sure you have enough shoulders/chest to hold it up. All in all I loved the dress and got a lot of compliments on it.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

Perfect for a rehearsal dinner...LOVED it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a fairly formal rehearsal dinner. I was hesitant for 2 reasons - 1. I was worried there would be too much white in it and 2. They only had the larger size available. Well I'm glad I went ahead and ordered it, because the white was very subtle, and the larger size fit perfectly! I loved the open back (couldn't wear a bra) and got so many compliments on it.
Dina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 1, 2015

Fun and comfortable dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and really liked it! It's a light/thin (not sheer, though) material so it was really comfortable to wear all night. Colors look the way they do in the photo. This dress runs true to size. The 2 fit me better, but I wore the 4 so I wasn't feeling too restricted. If you're in between sizes, you could go with either most likely!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
May 2, 2015

Fit perfectly and so comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Perfect for classy, yet sexy
Yulia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 2, 2015

Nice and comfortable dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to the Kentucky Derby event and received many compliments. It was very comfortable to wear, however it does run a little small.
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 3, 2015

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This dress was very short on me, but I had to wear it anyway because it was so pretty. I'm very small on top, but larger on the bottom. I was constantly pulling down the dress because it kept riding up. I probably would have liked to try the size 6 to get a bit more length, but it wasn't available. Overall I loved this dress and got a lot of compliments, I just wish it was a little bit longer!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×