Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1422 reviews
Fit
Large
(46)
True to Size
(757)
Small
(370)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Bust size: 34D
September 12, 2017
This dress was so fun! My first time with an open back:)
Love love loved it! So comfortable and the fit was perfect. I'm petite with a large chest so I never thought I could wear something with an open back. I only used Hollywood sticky bra tape and I looked perfectly supported. Definitely would rent this gem again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2017
I do not wear the dress. Both sizes did not work.
Dress did not fit appropriately. Small at the bottom and too big at the top.
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Weight: 108lbs
September 5, 2017
Different and colorful dress that is super comfortable!
I rented this for my cousin's wedding Labor Day weekend and it was perfect! It was comfortable and great for dancing. I got a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
September 4, 2017
Love the dress! I would buy it if I could!
Totally great - Love everything about it! Would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2017
Perfect for bachelorette party!
Wore this dress out and about for my bachelorette party! I felt fun, bridal, and sexy with the pop of color and open back! Would absolutely rent again for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 23, 2017
Many compliments on this hot number!
Fit was perfect. Short dress, however, It worked out perfectly for the party I attended!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2017
Made a great vacation dress
This dress was so HOTT! I love the open back and the color on the front of the dress. The sleeves are kindof funky. They are like a bell capped sleeve, but trust me no one will pay attention to the detail of the sleeve in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 20, 2017
Fun, eye catching, and comfortable!!!
I could not have loved this dress more! The colors are amazing, the fabric is great for warm weather, and it fit like a glove!! Super comfortable and of course a million compliments all night! Many of the previous reviews discussed not having to wear a bra but I was skeptical about that. As someone who always (literally always) wears a bra, I actually did not have to with this dress. The fabric is thick enough and tight enough to the body that I had no problem at all, even dancing around all night. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who likes to stand out in the crowd. It's fun to accessorize too because of all the colors! I believe it was true to size and as a shorter girl I appreciated the shorter length. I would wear this dress a million times if I could!! RTR you have done it again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 19, 2017
My 21st birthday dinner dress
It was cute, but the colors in RTR's picture made me think it would be a little more vibrant in real life. Regardless, it fit comfortably and was flattering on someone as small as myself. Somehow, the hem kept riding up but it wasn't noticeable. I wouldn't rent it again, but I would recommend it to a friend that liked it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 30
August 18, 2017
It was a great dress, but it's a little short
It was a great dress, but it's a little short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Age: 28
August 17, 2017
Fun and Artsy
Loved this look. Chic and fun. My only complaint is, the waist was too big and I had to pin it so no one could see down my butt! You cannot wear a traditional bra with this because of the back, but I loved how sexy it is. I am 5'4", 110 lbs, 30" 23" 36"
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
August 16, 2017
Dress was bright and fun!!
The dress fit great. If you have a larger chest maybe go with the bigger size. It was alittle tight. I'm 5'1 and the length was fine but I can see if your taller how it would be short. Fun for a summer wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2017
Great fit & fabric
Such a great dress! The fabric is stretchy and incredibly comfortable. I wore it to a Gala in Boston- the dress was a hit! I'd absolutely rent again. It hugged in the right places and was forgiving in others. Very happy, once again, with RTR. I also want to add that I had to return a day late due to our flight... I emailed RTR and they waived the late fee. Great customer service put me at ease- and keeps me coming back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 15, 2017
Very short and tight!
I was a bit too pudgy for the dress sadly, but it was beautiful! Definitely need to be confident of your legs because it's very short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 10, 2017
I should have rented the zero
It was just too snug. I have a flat waste and long legs but my butt was a little too big for the double zero. Loved the design would just suggest sizing up to have a little more breathing room.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2017
Fun party dress
True to size. The 4 was a little looser in the mid section (which was nice for not sucking in all night) and it was a fraction of an inch longer. Lots of compliments. Easy to wear (no bra or one of those adhesive bras) but a little short for dancing the night away. But the open back was very cute.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2017
A+ dress for a Colorado wedding
This dress was great for a spring wedding! As others have noted, it does ride up as you move around so be prepared to do some tugging to keep it in place! Still, the open back and the colors are so cool, I thought it was worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 7, 2017
This dress is very cute and the paint details is really fun. The back has a weird fit. Short AF!
This dress does not have a lot of give and tends to ride up. The back has an interesting rectangular open shape but it gaped on me at hte bottom unless I yanked down hard on the skirt to keep it flat. I didn't end up wearing this dress because I was going to be sitting at a wedding and it looked bad from the back. The front abdomen area also sagged on me but the pattern made it hard to notice. I don't know if this was because the dress is worn out or it's a design flaw. It doesnt seem like the kind of dress that's supposed to have movement. It looks GREAT in photos from the front.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2017
Cute, but short!
I loved this dress, especially the low back, but it felt really short! I'm relatively tall, so I was definitely tugging it down all night. Everything else about it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
August 3, 2017
So comfy and cute
Dress was short but still tasteful. Loved the fit and material
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 2, 2017
Strange fit
This dress is really cool and I love the print. Unfortunately, the fit was really off. It fit well through the legs and torso, but was huge in the shoulders. I'm 5'2" and it was very short on me. I expected short, but I don't know how a taller person could wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 2, 2017
Amazing outfit to go see Hamilton!
Slightly loose in the top but was absolutely fine even though I have a small chest. LOVED the colors, so many compliments all night!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 31, 2017
Sexy Summer short dress event!!!
The dress was beautiful perfect for a Caribbean hot outdoor wedding!!! The color on the dress was amazing. My only problem was that the dress was short, overall everything was perfect. Love the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
July 27, 2017
Rented for an outdoor b-day..didn't fit
Didn't quite fit over my hips (I have a large back ride) but the top part and open back were so fun and I definitely felt like nothing was going to shift around. Wish it had fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
July 24, 2017
Fun and artsy for a eclectic summer wedding
Pros: light weight material- good for a hot summer day Pretty colors and fun open back Other details: It was short on me and I'm only 5'3 The size 4 fit perfectly. I'm 36-26-36
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2017
One of my favorite rentals!
Gorgeous dress with vibrant colors. I received so many compliments on this one! Comfortable and breathable for warm summer days yet still fits like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 20, 2017
Cute, Sexy & Sassy!
This dress was so comfortable and easy to wear. I was in the HUMID city of New Orleans and this material was perfect - almost like workout material. As the other reviews suggest, it does ride up as you walk/dance, but it's a small price to pay to look this cute! Actually, with the humidity, the dress stuck to my thighs and butt so it didn't ride up while I was outside. I wish I took a photo of the back of the dress as it was my favorite part! I got tons of compliments, and gave credit to RTR! :) No need to wear a bralette or pasties... I'm a C and didn't feel like I needed the support as the dress was tight where it needed to be and held the girls in place. Plus, if you get cold, you couldn't tell due to the bright colors on the bust and torso! ;)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 19, 2017
Pretty but tiny
This dress was really pretty, and could have been dressed up or down.... if it had fit. I am usually a 6 or 8. Based on reviews and availability I ordered the 8. It was TIGHT around the bottom half and just long enough to cover everything. It fit, it just wasn't quite appropriate. I'd honestly probably go two sizes up but then I'm not sure how the top would fit. I am a 34D but I would have been ok with no bra in this in the 8 (it was somehow flattering that way) but the bottom was just too much.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 120lbs
July 19, 2017
Very fun dress to wear!
I wore this dress for a night out on vacation and it was perfect! It was pretty tight and kind of bunching at my belly so I had to wear spanx. I tried adhesive bra cups but liked it better with nothing - the material was thick enough and tight enough it was fine with nothing. It was short on me and I'm 5'3'' but I was looking for something short so I liked that! My husband thought it was cute and sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 18, 2017
Bachelorette party dress
I have been wanting to rent this dress for a long time. I will say though, I think it's cute in pictures than in person. I still liked it a lot, but the material wasn't as thick as I pictured and even for me, it was SUPER short. Fun dress overall though. Definitely wear a NuBra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 15, 2017
comfortable dress and fun with the open back.
This dress was fun to wear, I've never done an open back before. Both sizes fit and were comfortable. I went with the 2 just because the length on the 0 was a little too short for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2017
Great dress with a pop of color!
This dress was fun and flirty for a cocktail hour that I went to. The color is great and the back is sexy. It fit just perfect and the material is light. The dress is lined so I did not have to wear a bra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 10, 2017
Amazing! What a fun dress....
Fit great - super fun for a summer vibe. I wore a stick on bra and it worked perfectly. The shoulders stayed up all night too - I had read reviews that they fell down easily but I didn't have any problems.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2017
Fun and comfortable
The dress fits good. Stretchy material hugs curves, and very short. I have a long torso and wide hips so the dress was very short on me. I chose to wear a 4 instead of the 2 because it gave me a smidge more length in the back. But both sizes fit very well. Because it was tight and stretchy it tended to ride up a bit. Luckily we were sitting a lot so I didn't have to pull and adjust the dress too much. I also chose to wear a colored bra with a fun lacy racer back vs going bra less or wearing a backless bra. I felt supported and it still looked good! I would rent again. I got several compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
July 5, 2017
Beautiful dress but a little short
It was beautiful and different but I agree with everyone else about the shortness of the dress. I could of wore size 0 as well but it was shorter. The size 2 was a little loose in the top but still I was happy with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
July 5, 2017
Perfect sassy dress
I wore this dress to my bridesmaid luncheon the day before my wedding. The open back was beautiful and got so many complements!!! I am usually a size 0, but in this case the 00 was great. Just be aware for long-legged girls, it is short!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 5, 2017
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
This dress was really cute from the front, but unflattering in the back. I loved that the back was out, but it made my butt look really long.....not a good look. I have a longer torso and most jumpers don't look good on my either. So, if you are a person that looks great in jumpers, then get this dress. But if you are a taller girl with a long torso avoid it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 3, 2017
Semi-formal wedding
This is a pretty and fun dress with vibrant colors. I thought the dress ran true to size. The picture of the dress on the model can make the dress seem too short, but the length was perfect for me who's a bit smaller in height. I paired the dress with pink earrings (via RTR) and black heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2017
Fun, cute, hit the perfect note.
It is short, but not too short. I usually wear a 0, but chose to wear the 2 as it still for well and gave me a little more comfort with the length. The 0 was slightly more fitted, but then it slid up a bit more with movement. Great summer dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2017
Perfect for my event! Tons of compliments
Dress was so cute and comfortable! I wore a sticky bra since the back is low but I was still able to wear high waisted control underwear to keep things in place and it didn't show at all. The hem was a little wonky but no one could tell since we were moving around. It's definitely short- I'm 5'2 and I couldn't stoop without showing off too much. The paint pattern on the middle was very complimentary too!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×