Slate & Willow

Amanda Dress

$53 to buy
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Get fab for your dinner date in this fitted lace sheath by Slate & Willow. The open back adds just a hint of sexy! Dress it up for evening with Ben-Amun’s Castile Statement Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch lace (61% nylon, 26% Rayon, 16% Spandex). Crew neckline. Three-quarter Sleeves. A- line skirt. Open back with button closure at top. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
161 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2013
First time ever!

This was my first time renting from RTR, I got the promotion to try on three dresses for only a penny and I was so happy with the delivery. But on to the dress.. I have smaller boobs (when not wearing a bra) and since you cant wear a bra with this it really flattened me out. So that wasn't great. Length was way too short for me. Beautiful dress but just not right for my body type.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 18, 2013
Perfect for a wedding

The dress is absolutely gorgeous. My favorite was the back "cleavage". My boyfriend LOVED it and could not keep his hands off of me. The dress does run small and the buttons on the back kept popping open so I had to pin the back to keep it together. The sleeves are also tiny, so since I work out (and have minimal muscles), I had a hard time squeezing my arms in. Other than that, I loved the dress and received many compliments. I would definitely buy it if I could!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2014
Very pretty dress! Sizing was a bit awkward for me

I got the dress for my boyfriend's Christmas party. I had originally ordered another dress but was unable to get another size. I spent 20 mins on the phone with RTR customer service and they proved to be extremely helpful and patient with helping me pick out another dress. This dress arrived the next day but came in extremely late. I loved the look of the dress but the arms were very tight but not to the point where I was uncomfortable. My main issue with the dress was although the front of the dress fit perfectly the back was not form fitting to my body regardless of the size. So I was cautious about my posture most of the night to be sure that the dress wasn't sticking out on the sides. It was a great dress, just not meant for my body type.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 13, 2014
Didn't wear this

Sleeves are very tight. Dress has no give at all and the whole backless thing was a bad idea for me 36D - no bra was not an option. Even if my backless bra worked I wouldn't have worn because I didn't find it flattering. Better on athletic types not of much for curvy girls.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2014
Pretty dress but runs small.

This dress runs small especially in the arms. It is a pretty dress but I ended up not wearing it since it was too tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2014
Loved the dress! Very flattering! Was perfect for a night out in Vegas. Got tons of compliments!

Fits a little on the small side. I typically wear an 8, but the 10 fit perfectly. Has a slight stretch to it. Kind of short, but not too bad for a place like Vegas!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 31, 2014
Beautiful dress, but snap-button closure on back not strong

I loved the fit of the dress overall, but whenever I sat down and slouched the tiniest bit, the snap-button closure would come undone. I safety-pinned the back closed and it wasn't tight at all; just the right fit. I think the snap-button is a little too lose (even when I went to a different size).

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2015
1 yr wdg anniversary--gifted Ruth's Chris dinner, free Shania Twain tickets & a winning Vikings game

I got a 4 and a 6. I am a 4 in most items but this dress was a little too tight in the 4 so I went with the 6. I'm not used to wearing such tight fitting clothing, so I wasn't sure I liked it, but then received a lot of compliments so I knew it looked good! :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 13, 2015
Loved the lace!!

Loved the lace - Got a lot of compliments on it. I had to wear the size up because of the length. This dress is pretty short. Since i had to go up a size the bust was unfortunately very loose. I didn't have a problem with the snaps as others have reviewed.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
November 17, 2015
Cute dress, runs small. Didn't end up wearing it as it was my back up dress.

Snaps on the back come undone easy, short fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 15, 2016
Just ok

Not a great fit- the sleeves are really tight and it's really short. Overall cute dress but there are better RTR options.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 1, 2016
Great for work party

Was perfect for a work party in Boston! Fit rue to size & easy to move around in. As expected from reading previous reviews, the back needed to be safety pinned because the snaps were pretty useless. Sleeves were snug (material didn't stretch) but this was only really noticeable when putting the dress on. Wore an adhesive backless bra for support just in case, but probably could have just as easily gone without one. Would definitely wear again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Age: 26
April 21, 2016
Wore for a bachelorette party in vegas

Tight on the arms, buttons on the back weren't great. But Aside from that fit really well, very flattering and comfy

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
December 20, 2013
Pretty dress!

This dress is really nice!I There were some fit issues but I am partly to blame. I am pregnant and ordered before I started to show so things fit a little differently than they might have before. The snaps that keep the top part closed above the cut out kept snapping open so I had to be careful about how I sat. I don't have particularly broad shoulders either so Im not sure why---hence 4 not 5 stars. My husband really liked it! I really recommend getting a backless bra and booty booster spans depending on how naturally curvy you are.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
May 1, 2014
Really sad because I couldn't wear it

So I absolutely am obsessed with this dress and I'm sad I could not wear it. This dress is super stretchy everywhere EXCEPT the arms. Because of this when I put the dress on it did not fit on the arms and made the rest of the dress fit poorly on my body/ride up. I was really sad that I was unable to wear this. The team at RTR has FABULOUS customer service so they helped me find an alternative.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
January 8, 2015
Too short

I rented this dress for a work holiday party. The dress was cute and comfortable but I am 5'9 and have very long legs so it was a little too short to be wearing around my co-workers.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2016
Overall the dress sized a bit small but the style was perfect for a NYE cocktail party.

This dress was perfect for NYE. I ordered the size 4 and size 6. The size 4 was a bit too tight in the arms - I workout, so I have muscular shoulders and arms. The size 6 fit great. The length was short enough to feel like a party dress for NYE and the open back was eye catching.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2013
Loved this dress.. sexy while still being classy.

Fit my body really well, has some give, but not too much. I actually didn't wear a bra, as the dress lining is pretty thick and the dress was tight enough where it wasn't noticeable. Received a lot of compliments, highly recommend.

JaimeSeptember 24, 2013
Pretty dress..was it fairly short?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 7, 2013
Great dress! Sexy, on trend, and a great fit

I wore this to a pary at a snazzy downtown hotel. The dress was unique enough that I didn't look like anyone else, but still on trend, stylish, and not outrageous. The fit was perfect, I am a pretty true size 8, and I ordered an 8 and a 10, but the 8 fit perfect! I would totally purchase this if I could afford it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2013
The perfect dress, so many compliments

Fit perfectly! Can't wait to rent again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2013
Sophisticated, sexy, and totally on-trend!

I wore this to a benefit dinner and it was stunning! Although there were a lot of lace dresses there, the back of this one really made it stand out. The lining is soft but heavy enough that I felt comfortable going without a bra and knowing nothing was going to showthrough. Because I wasn't wearing a bra (although a backless bra would have worked), I went for the 4 over the 6 because it was just slighty tighter at the top and if fit better in the arms. Not much difference in length between the 4 & 6 - both hit upper thigh, which I felt was still appropriate becasue of the high neckline. he dress was form fitting, but not skin tight, so I felt sexy but still very comfortable. The dress itself was great quality - the lace was free of any loose threads/tears. My second RTR rental and it was another amazing experience! LOVED IT!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2013
perfect fit

Runs true to size. Only one of the buttons on the back of the neck kept un-snapping but other than that great dress. Received several compliments!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2013
LOVED this dress - tons of compliments. The back is also a fun surprise.

This was a super fun dress - the open back was just enough to spice it up. I got tons of compliments, and no one wore anything just like it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2013
Beautiful! This dress is a show-stopper.

Fit like a glove, stretchy, perfect amount of skin showing, short and sexy. No bra needed.

LilibethOctober 20, 2013
Would you say its stretchy enough to fit over a pregnany belly? I'm hoping to use this as my birthday dress but I'm currently 6 months. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 23, 2013
I felt like a hot mama!

This dress is a winner! I had to pick a new dress at the last minute after my original had rips in it...and I'm so glad I did! I felt amazing in this. It fit true to size and garnered sooo many compliments. This was my first time going out since I had my baby four months ago so I wanted to look hot...mission accomplished. Keep in mind it is backless; not a problem for someone with a small chest like myself but fair warning.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 28, 2013
Beautiful dress

This dress was beautiful for a fall wedding. I did have to wear a Nu Bra which did work but I was a little self conscious about. The dress would ride up when dancing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
Exceeded all expectations

I had a vision for the dress I wanted to wear to a friend's wedding, and this dress was it! And it certainly didn't disappoint. There were several black lace dresses at the event but this one seemed to stand out. You can't go wrong with this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
November 10, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!

This dress was perfect! I received a lot of compliments. It was comfortable and sexy at the same time! It is extremely low and the Victoria's Secret bra was not good even though it was low it was not enough. You need a backless bra and that's kind of tough for the busty girls like me!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2013
Beautiful dress!!

The dress was beautiful, I loved the fit! Unfortunately you can't really lift your arms or the whole dress goes up too, so dancing wasn't an option. My first experience with this service, and I'll def rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
December 2, 2013
Perfect for our Downtown LA engagement photos!

I could not have been happier with this dress for my engagement photos. It fit great and was very flattering. It is very form fitting and it did ride up a little when walking so I had to keep puling it down, but it didn't bother me too much. This dress fit perfectly for the look we were going for.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
December 11, 2013
The dress was amazing !!! I wore it to my husband's Christmas party ...a lot of compliments!

The dress was beautiful ! The fit was great except in the sleeves..... It was tight! I do have an athletic build, so it was understandable. The back is open , so I wore a "stick on bra" , and it worked great ! I ordered both sizes 0 and a 2, the 0 had a better fit for me !

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2013
Loved it! Got lots of compliments.

Fit true to size, very comfortable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2013
Such a comfy dress, I felt great all day/night and everyone loved it!

The only thing I had to do was safety pin the top there was only clip buttons on the back which kept coming undone, needed to have a hook and eye or something more sturdy.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress with keyhole back. I received many many compliments. Wish I could have kept it!!

I couldn't have received more compliments and was so so happy with the dress!! The dress fit very well. i ordered a size 2 and 4; wound up wearing the size 4. The 2 fit except for that the arms/shoulders were rather tight (and i don't have broad shoulders), and with either size, the top snap would not stay closed and i had to pin it. luckily my hair covered it. it was so comfortable, not too short and very pretty. i was able to dance and party the night away at this wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2014
Compliments the whole night long!

I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner for an October wedding and it was perfect! Just enough coverage to be good for the weather and the back was just sexy enough to work for the event! Loved the ooos and ahhhs i got from both guys & girls on the open back!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2014
Great dress, but shorter than I was expecting!

Great dress! Very complimentary - the back makes this dress! I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. The size 4 fit better, but I felt it was too short, so I went with the size 6 instead. I got a lot of compliments. The dress is great - great lace, great fit, just too short on me. I had to tug it down quite a bit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 17, 2014
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE

This dress is amazing. Fit is perfect (runs true to size), comfortable, sexy....I just loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2014
Beautiful dress, but wasn't appropriate for my event.

The dress was beautiful, it hugged in all the right spots. But because of how tight the dress fits with the open back it became too sexy for my event very quickly. I had to wear something else, but I would definitely recommend it if it's for a date with your man just not a company christmas party... haha

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2014
Sexy without being obvious!

This dress was amazing! I wore the 2 but probably could have worn the 0 (I got a 4 as my backup, oops!). The material is thick and stretchy. I didn't get a picture of the back but it was really beautiful and open. The dress was a little shorter than I thought it would be but not scandalously so. My boyfriend said this was his favorite dress so far (this is the third one I've rented). I have nothing but good things to say about this dress and RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2014
Sexy dress. Lace fit beautifully. No bra needed home run for me :)

Fit true to size. Adorable dress yet sexy

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×