Slate & Willow

Amanda Dress

$53 to buy
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Get fab for your dinner date in this fitted lace sheath by Slate & Willow. The open back adds just a hint of sexy! Dress it up for evening with Ben-Amun’s Castile Statement Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black stretch lace (61% nylon, 26% Rayon, 16% Spandex). Crew neckline. Three-quarter Sleeves. A- line skirt. Open back with button closure at top. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
161 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(104)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2014
Sexy dress. Lace fit beautifully. No bra needed home run for me :)

Fit true to size. Adorable dress yet sexy

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2014
The dress was elegant, sexy and comfortable!

I wore this dress to a fancy, southern wedding and I felt sexy, yet elegant. I got so many compliments on the dress. The back and sleeves are gorgeous. It's also a very comfortable dress so it was easy to dance in. If you have long legs, this dress will show them off beautifully!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2014
Loved this dress!

Overall this dress was perfect! Loved all the lace and the open back added a sexy feel. The length was perfect on me but I'm short (5'2''). The only problem with this dress was that the buttons in the back kept unsnapping so I had to safety pin it closed. Great dress! Would definitely rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2014
I did not wear this dress.

I was unable to wear this dress as the buttons at the top near the neckline popped anytime a bent my shoulders forward. This was unfortunate as I loved the look and the backless option. Another note is that this dress is very mini, a bit too short for a wedding. If you are over 5'7" plan to purchase panty hose that don't show the black portion near the top.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2014
Elegant dress with a sexy back.

The dress fit really well. I am usually a size 2 but the sleeves were too tight so I went with the size 4. The size 4 did not look that much bigger on me. The dress was comfortable and the perfect length. However, it might feel too short if you have longer legs. I was able to dance away all night :) Overall, a great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Great fit!

I wore this dress to a charity event and loved it! It was pretty short on me but totally fine with black tights. This was my first rent the runway experience and I'll definitely order again!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Always more than satisfied with a RTR dress!

They aren't lieing when they say the sleeves are a bit snug no matter what size you wear. While it is hard to find a happy medium with both comfortable arms and a nice fit throughout the rest of the dress, it is totally worth the tight feel! I really liked this dress, and especially the open back feature it offered. Add a statement necklace to complete and you're set!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 13, 2014
Didn't wear this

Sleeves are very tight. Dress has no give at all and the whole backless thing was a bad idea for me 36D - no bra was not an option. Even if my backless bra worked I wouldn't have worn because I didn't find it flattering. Better on athletic types not of much for curvy girls.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
March 16, 2014
December evening wedding at an old, elegant hotel in Baltimore.

The back latch was a little loose as the thread was pulled and almost detached. I noticed this the night before so I was able to adjust it a bit. The dress itself did not stretch or give any so it was a little tight across my bust but it didn't affect the fit too much and wasn't noticeable. As a short girl, the length was perfect. A couple of inches above my knees.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 16, 2014
An amazing night with amazing friends!

This dress was amazing! It fit great and I got a ton of compliments. It fit pretty true to size but was a little short. I am usually a 4 but wore the 6 to give myself the little bit of extra length. Also, one of the neck snaps on the 4 wouldn't stay snapped so the 6 was just the better choice for me.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
March 25, 2014
I wore this for V- Day and I received so many compliments! The back of the dress is amazing!

I am very petite and short but the size 0 fir perfectly. The length was perfect. I didn't have to worry about pulling it down all night. The open back was my favorite part of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 6, 2014
Loved the back to this dress and pattern! Wish I was able to wear it

Never ended up wearing this. Too short for my liking and touched the hips wrong. I only had one size and might have done better with the bigger size for length and a little more give

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 15, 2014
Love the fit, elegant dress!

Great material, beautiful back, perfect length and fit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 19, 2014
Feeling confident all throughout NYE

Fits true to size. Comfortable. Show stopper. What more could you want?

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 22, 2014
Great dress!

Fit is great as it stretches, the back is super sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 28, 2014
Very flattering.

I wore this for a 1920s speakeasy-themed party. It was super flattering. My only complaint is that the back was slightly loose, but it wasn't a big deal.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
May 1, 2014
Classy dress, but the open back gives it some unexpected fun!

I was very pleased with this dress. It was perfect for a "Black and White" fundraiser we attended. It was comfortable and classy, and the open back gave it a surprise element of fun!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
RTR was a great experience. They were very helpful and the customer service was exceptional.

The dress was beautiful and I loved wearing it. Only complaint was the snaps in the back would not stay closed. I had to safety pin the dress or I couldn't have worn it. Lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2014
Fun birthday dress!

I rented the 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the 4. I loved this dress but I have to it was a bit short for me at 5'8". The 6 didn't afford much more length and looked too big and boxy at the waist. I wore this dress for a birthday dinner so it worked. But if it had been too and event where I was dancing and lifting my arms up a lot, it may not have worked as well! I added a pop of color with the Kate Spade Pink Hot Chip Necklace.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
Really bummed I couldn't wear it.

The dress fit good but I didn't like how my little tummy pooch looked in it. I think the lace accentuated it. It definitely hug every curve!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
June 13, 2014
The snap on the very top is useless.

I put this dress on and loved the fit of it from the chest down. As soon as I snapped the top snap and then moved a centimeter, it would just pop off. The snap seemed like it had been very worn down, and unfortunately did not want to stay snapped. I would have loved to have worn this dress! I received it on a Tuesday night for a Saturday night event, and it gave me plenty of time to return it back to RTR. I can't say enough great things about RTR customer service. They immediately sent me a replacement dress and also sent me a free accessory for having to stress about getting a dress in time. I'm writing this review on a Friday morning, I received the replacement dress last night and will wear it to my event tomorrow.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2014
Pretty dress but runs small.

This dress runs small especially in the arms. It is a pretty dress but I ended up not wearing it since it was too tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
June 29, 2014
Beautiful dress indeed, but Didn't get to wear.

This dress is gorgeous, for true to they size, but there is a button on the back that would not stay in place anytime I moved meanwhile doing my makeup, it got out of the little loop . So I thought it would be so difficult to wear it,so I ended up wearing something of my own. I think RTR need to replace it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2014
Greatest dress I have ever rented!

This dress is amazing I wore it to a red carpet event and it was red carpet worthy!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
October 7, 2014
Love the dress

The fir was kind of stretchy...wish it held me in more.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2014
Pretty dress.

Comfortable

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Weight: 125lbs
September 7, 2014
Sassy and cute!

This was a dress a stylist recommended for me as a backup. She sent me two styles and I ended up choosing the other style but I want to order this again because it was so cute!! I wish I owned this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2014
"Best dressed"

I was hesitant to choose this dress because I was afraid it would be too "simplistic" - as I've worn black lace before. However, make no mistake -- this dress is anything but simplistic. It's fun and comfortable and sexy all at the same time. I got multiple compliments on it and was told by a girl I've never met that she thought I was "best dressed" at the wedding. I wish I got a photo of the back of this dress because it is by far the best part. I normally wear a 6 so the fit is pretty spot on. Keep in mind that you may want to figure out your strapless bra options ahead of time (I chose to wear one, although a bra isn't 100% necessary with this dress).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 16, 2014
Great dress for a fall wedding!

The dress hugged in all the right places. The opening in the back is sexy. Lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 9, 2014
I rented this dress for my daughter for a formal event

She loved the fit! It wasn't skin tight so she couldn't breath, but it fit her body like a glove. She said the arms are very tight, but it wasn't bothering her the whole night. My only complaint was that the buttons in the back tended to pop open, we had to safety pin it closed. Other than that, it was a perfect dress and very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 18, 2014
After a friend came up to me and said he loved my outfit so much he wished his date wore it =)

The buttons in the back were terrible and weak so I had to safety pin them in order to keep the dress from coming undone!!! This dropped my stars down to 3

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2014
Great dress

I am 5'10" and the dress was a little short for me but still appropriate. Surprisingly comfortable and sexy. Many compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2014
Loved the dress! Very flattering! Was perfect for a night out in Vegas. Got tons of compliments!

Fits a little on the small side. I typically wear an 8, but the 10 fit perfectly. Has a slight stretch to it. Kind of short, but not too bad for a place like Vegas!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 22, 2014
I LOVE this dress.

Fit to the T !!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 22, 2014
When someone came up to me asking where the dress was from!

I ordered this for a wedding. It didn't look like the dress in the picture and I think it looks a lot different from the review pictures and mine. The 2 had an awkward fit, making me look like I had hips but the 4 fit in the body but it gaped in the backless dress so I had to wear the 2. I felt uncomfortable the whole night :( I've rented better dresses before.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139lbs
October 29, 2014
Compliments all night!

This dress runs true to size. I got a 4 and 6 just in case the 4 didn't fit, but it fit like a glove! The arms weren't tight at all, I had plenty of room to move around. I got compliments all night! The dress was absolutely gorgeous! The buttons in the back of the dress do pop very easily! Nothing a safety pin couldn't fix :) I will be renting from here again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 2, 2014
Gorgeous & comfortable dress! Perfect for a fall wedding!

Loved the fit! The open back was an awesome feature to an already gorgeous dress. Depending on your bust size/how comfortable you are you could definitely get away with not even wearing a bra. I wore a backless bra just to give me some shape. =) received many compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 21, 2014
It was really short for me...I'm 5'8"

I loved it with tights...my husband wasn't too crazy about it but I will rent it again :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2014
The open back was a standout.

Although I have a larger chest, I was able to go bra-less and danced all night long. I paired the dress with nude pumps and let the dress speak for itself/ Got so many compliments throughout the night. The material is form-fitting, though, so be sure you're comfortable with showing off your curves!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
December 7, 2014
Great dress! Would rent again

Fits true to size

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×