Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Amanda Dress

$40 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get fab for your dinner date in this fitted lace sheath by Slate & Willow. The open back adds just a hint of sexy! Dress it up for evening with Ben-Amun’s Castile Statement Necklace and Whiting & Davis’ Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch lace (61% nylon, 26% Rayon, 16% Spandex). Crew neckline. Three-quarter Sleeves. A- line skirt. Open back with button closure at top. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

111 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 85
Large 3
Photos 74
Taylor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Loved this dress.. sexy while still being classy.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit my body really well, has some give, but not too much. I actually didn't wear a bra, as the dress lining is pretty thick and the dress was tight enough where it wasn't noticeable. Received a lot of compliments, highly recommend.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Great dress! Sexy, on trend, and a great fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a pary at a snazzy downtown hotel. The dress was unique enough that I didn't look like anyone else, but still on trend, stylish, and not outrageous. The fit was perfect, I am a pretty true size 8, and I ordered an 8 and a 10, but the 8 fit perfect! I would totally purchase this if I could afford it.
CHRISTINE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

The perfect dress, so many compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly! Can't wait to rent again
Mere
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

Sophisticated, sexy, and totally on-trend!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a benefit dinner and it was stunning! Although there were a lot of lace dresses there, the back of this one really made it stand out. The lining is soft but heavy enough that I felt comfortable going without a bra and knowing nothing was going to showthrough. Because I wasn't wearing a bra (although a backless bra would have worked), I went for the 4 over the 6 because it was just slighty tighter at the top and if fit better in the arms. Not much difference in length between the 4 & 6 - both hit upper thigh, which I felt was still appropriate becasue of the high neckline. he dress was form fitting, but not skin tight, so I felt sexy but still very comfortable. The dress itself was great quality - the lace was free of any loose threads/tears. My second RTR rental and it was another amazing experience! LOVED IT!
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2013

perfect fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size. Only one of the buttons on the back of the neck kept un-snapping but other than that great dress. Received several compliments!!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

LOVED this dress - tons of compliments. The back is also a fun surprise.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a super fun dress - the open back was just enough to spice it up. I got tons of compliments, and no one wore anything just like it!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Beautiful! This dress is a show-stopper.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove, stretchy, perfect amount of skin showing, short and sexy. No bra needed.
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 21, 2013

Great lace dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I attended a charity event in NYC and rented this dress in a 6 and an 8. I had rented a similar dress for NYE (it was Theory) so I figured I wouldn't risk getting a dress that may not look as great since I had already worn one that was similar. While I did prefer the fit of the Theory dress to this one, I loved that it was backless. However, I have a large bust and I needed pasties to lift up my boobs for this dress. The 6 and the 8 fit me, but the 6 held everything in tighter. I usually fluctuate between the two sizes so I'd say that the dresses fit pretty true to size. If I had to choose between the Theory dress I wore for NYE and this dress, I would choose the Theory dress. It just held me in a lot better. However, I did feel great in this dress and I received a ton of compliments!
Kayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

I felt like a hot mama!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a winner! I had to pick a new dress at the last minute after my original had rips in it...and I'm so glad I did! I felt amazing in this. It fit true to size and garnered sooo many compliments. This was my first time going out since I had my baby four months ago so I wanted to look hot...mission accomplished. Keep in mind it is backless; not a problem for someone with a small chest like myself but fair warning.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful for a fall wedding. I did have to wear a Nu Bra which did work but I was a little self conscious about. The dress would ride up when dancing.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Exceeded all expectations

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a vision for the dress I wanted to wear to a friend's wedding, and this dress was it! And it certainly didn't disappoint. There were several black lace dresses at the event but this one seemed to stand out. You can't go wrong with this dress!
Tatianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Nov 5, 2013

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a friends rehearsal dinner. It fit perfectly! So comfortable and the open back makes it unique. The sleeves on the arms were a little tight but overall it was very comfortable and flattering. Definitely recommend this dress for a fancy occasion. It has been my favorite one so far.
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Nov 10, 2013

Sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! I received a lot of compliments. It was comfortable and sexy at the same time! It is extremely low and the Victoria's Secret bra was not good even though it was low it was not enough. You need a backless bra and that's kind of tough for the busty girls like me!
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Perfect for a wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is absolutely gorgeous. My favorite was the back "cleavage". My boyfriend LOVED it and could not keep his hands off of me. The dress does run small and the buttons on the back kept popping open so I had to pin the back to keep it together. The sleeves are also tiny, so since I work out (and have minimal muscles), I had a hard time squeezing my arms in. Other than that, I loved the dress and received many compliments. I would definitely buy it if I could!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect for our Downtown LA engagement photos!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I could not have been happier with this dress for my engagement photos. It fit great and was very flattering. It is very form fitting and it did ride up a little when walking so I had to keep puling it down, but it didn't bother me too much. This dress fit perfectly for the look we were going for.
Jkwnyc88
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I attended the Spotify Christmas party on a date... this dress was perfect. I was slightly overdressed for the event, but I felt beautiful in the dress. The back is super sexy, but the whole silhouette is completely classy. I would absolutely rent this dress again. It was very comfortable :)
KAD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Gorgeous dress with keyhole back. I received many many compliments. Wish I could have kept it!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I couldn't have received more compliments and was so so happy with the dress!! The dress fit very well. i ordered a size 2 and 4; wound up wearing the size 4. The 2 fit except for that the arms/shoulders were rather tight (and i don't have broad shoulders), and with either size, the top snap would not stay closed and i had to pin it. luckily my hair covered it. it was so comfortable, not too short and very pretty. i was able to dance and party the night away at this wedding!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Very pretty dress! Sizing was a bit awkward for me

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got the dress for my boyfriend's Christmas party. I had originally ordered another dress but was unable to get another size. I spent 20 mins on the phone with RTR customer service and they proved to be extremely helpful and patient with helping me pick out another dress. This dress arrived the next day but came in extremely late. I loved the look of the dress but the arms were very tight but not to the point where I was uncomfortable. My main issue with the dress was although the front of the dress fit perfectly the back was not form fitting to my body regardless of the size. So I was cautious about my posture most of the night to be sure that the dress wasn't sticking out on the sides. It was a great dress, just not meant for my body type.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Compliments the whole night long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner for an October wedding and it was perfect! Just enough coverage to be good for the weather and the back was just sexy enough to work for the event! Loved the ooos and ahhhs i got from both guys & girls on the open back!!
Cortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Sexy without being obvious!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was amazing! I wore the 2 but probably could have worn the 0 (I got a 4 as my backup, oops!). The material is thick and stretchy. I didn't get a picture of the back but it was really beautiful and open. The dress was a little shorter than I thought it would be but not scandalously so. My boyfriend said this was his favorite dress so far (this is the third one I've rented). I have nothing but good things to say about this dress and RTR!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

Sexy dress. Lace fit beautifully. No bra needed home run for me :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size. Adorable dress yet sexy
Genevieve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

The dress was elegant, sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fancy, southern wedding and I felt sexy, yet elegant. I got so many compliments on the dress. The back and sleeves are gorgeous. It's also a very comfortable dress so it was easy to dance in. If you have long legs, this dress will show them off beautifully!
Leesmeesh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

The open back was a standout.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Although I have a larger chest, I was able to go bra-less and danced all night long. I paired the dress with nude pumps and let the dress speak for itself/ Got so many compliments throughout the night. The material is form-fitting, though, so be sure you're comfortable with showing off your curves!
Annette
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Great dress! Would rent again

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Gorgeous dress, but just too tight for me!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and wish I could have made it work but the 8 was just too tight on the hips and thighs and the 10 was not available. The material is stretchy and comfortable and fit great for my smaller mid section. The open back is sexy but beware almost your whole back will be exposed. I had lingering tan lines from the summer and it didn't look right. Wish I could have worn it thought because it was really nice.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Great Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is really cute. If it was just a tad longer for us tall girls, it would be perfect. I just feel like super short and open back is a little much for anything other than girls night.
Lo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 28, 2014

Wanted to keep it!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress!
jessschlosser
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Beautiful dress, but snap-button closure on back not strong

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I loved the fit of the dress overall, but whenever I sat down and slouched the tiniest bit, the snap-button closure would come undone. I safety-pinned the back closed and it wasn't tight at all; just the right fit. I think the snap-button is a little too lose (even when I went to a different size).
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a work holiday party. The dress was cute and comfortable but I am 5'9 and have very long legs so it was a little too short to be wearing around my co-workers.
Sharon
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

perfect dress to make you feel sexy

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for my birthday celebration. The back of the dress is just breathtaking. no need for cleavage or lots of leg to feel sexy, the back of this dress does it all. Unfortunately they only had a size 14 available and it was too big.. being rather large in the chest in order for me to go braless i needed something that had a little more hug to it. the 12 probably would have been a better fit. Im hoping ill have another occasion to try this one out again.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 20, 2015

Great for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for a winter wedding! I wore it with black tights and heels since the reception was during January in Massachusetts. I decided to wear the 6 since my shoulders are pretty broad and the snaps on the 4 kept coming undone when I moved my arms, plus the 6 added a little extra length. I also used a small safety pin in the back to avoid any major wardrobe malfunctions!
Devin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

2nd dress didnt wear out....

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Runs large...I could have easily sized down maybe even two sizes... It was to formal for my outing...deff a business party dress. The open back makes the front very loose. So its hard to wear a bra that wont show but with out a bra you have no support with that dress...still a lovely dress with a very appropriate length.
bailsrn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 24, 2015

Beautiful wedding overlooking the city skyline at night, topped off with a snow storm

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first rental and I loved it! I received many compliments on the dress and my boyfriend absolutely loved it, and he is very picky. I ordered a size 4 and 6, because sometimes I need to go up a size in address to accommodate the upper portion of my body. They both fit rather nicely, I ended up wearing the 4 because it was a little bit more form fitting. The dress is a little on the short side, but mainly when sitting or raising your arms to dance. The cut out back was great, it laid nicely with no gaps - I was able to wear the backless Braza bra without the adhesive wings showing. I would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 9, 2015

Unfortunately I didn't wear the dress...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a beautiful dress and fit well except for the buttons at the top. I have never had issue with my shoulders being too broad but for some reason the buttons kept popping open so I could not wear the dress.
ashlynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

Loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great overall. The other reviews were right in saying that the back snap did not stay togehter. I ended up having to pin it, but otherwise the I loved the look and fit of the dress.
Al
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

The back was flawless- it's classy and sassy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sleeves fit tight but not too tight, back buttons do easily come undone but a safety pin does the trick. Even with the button problem, I loved this dress. It was the perfect mix of classy and sassy and the back is beautiful. Got compliments all night. Do I have to return it?
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 4, 2015

I'm 5'3" and it was short on me!!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
This dress would have worked if I didn't have curves and didn't think that I would have to bend at any point during the night. The dress itself was comfortable but I couldn't handle the thought of how much leg (and rear) I was showing!
Brittany
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2015

This dress is HOT!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this little gem for dinner with my boyfriend after I passed the bar. I loved that the dress showed my back off a little. It was sexy and sophisticated. I got lots of compliments on it throughout the evening.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 12, 2015

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a large booty so this ran a little short in the back
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 14, 2015

Men complimented me on this dress when I wore it out in vegas.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Date
Want to own this one. Sexy as heck.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×