Slate & Willow

Alissa Dress

$30 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for chic simplicity in this draped mini by Slate & Willow. Eye catching and super flattering, this dress will get you noticed everywhere you go! Pair with kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Earrings for easy going out glam.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection with little to no give
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend fashion tape to close deep V.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% rayon). ¾ length sleeves. V-neckline. Faux wrap with ruched pencil skirt. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

188 reviews

Fit
Small 70
True to Size 100
Large 3
Photos 67
Tb
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

This is my second experience and I just love how easy it is.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the small but would have liked to have worn the med for the length and more comfort but the small fit best on top. I used fashion tape to hold the top in place and it stayed all night. Great going out dress.
Mariangel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

This was my first dress rental and though the dress ran small, I loved it, sexy without being trashy

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
On top the dress fits fine, it low cut but that can be fixed with some fashion tape. It's cinched around the waste which makes it a bit tight, but it's very forgiving and comfy. Very fun!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

We had so much fun with Rocky at the Las Vegas showroom picking dresses out for Hakkasan!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit beautifully and hugged all my curves. It looked much better on than on the hanger. The only downfall was that it needed major boob tape to not fall out.
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Classy, yet sexy - want to buy this!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is by far my favorite, not only on RTR, but of all dresses I've worn to parties, weddings, cocktail hours and events. Is classic in its design and simplicity, but will get you noticed all night. It appears short, but it does not slide up. I got out of a towncar, slid into booths, sat on stools and it never slid. And, I have hips! I did not find the top to gape, but I did use double sided tape because 'my girls' tend to slip. This is the first dress I wrote and begged RTR to buy because I did not want to give it back. I want to wear it every day!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 18, 2014

Clean dress arrived early in the day. Great communication/tracking via email

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It is short. I'm 5'4" and we called it middle-aged mini. I went conservative and used a few safety pins to keep the dress closed in the front and wore a regular bra. Loved the loose top to help hide my slight pooch.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 19, 2014

Great, comfortable dress for a night out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore a lace cami underneath but definitely still need double stick tape or a safety pin to keep the top closed.
LM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Great fabric! So fun

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got this as a backup dress and I Love this dress. The arms were a little tight but everything else was awesome! Wore for a bachelorette and while it slid up a bit, it was so fun. Would definitely rent this again!
Hannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

First time renting from RTR, and loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! Perfect amount of coverage and some sexiness too. I did use a safety pin ofcourse to hold the front closed. I ordered a M and L because of previous reviews about it running small and being short, and I am pretty tall. However, the L would have been way too big! Also, it did run up a bit, but that would happen with any dress that form fits on the bottom. In all, I am glad I rented it, and it made me feel great :)
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Sexy yet conservative

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday party. I wanted something a little sexy but not so much that I looked out of place. I rented the Medium (which is my normal size) and the Small. The top of this dress is almost like a wrap dress so it's very gaping. The bottom is gathered a little so it hides a lot. Everything on this dress has give except the waist so the small was a little hard to get over my head. Here's the breakdown. Small: fit really well on top. No fashion tape needed, no safety pins. I had planned to not wear a bra and the small would have been perfect because the top covered everything. However, when I walked the skirt rode up a lot. Medium: bottom didn't ride up as much when I walked (still did a bit) but the top was showing everything! I ended up safety pinning the top a bit so there was still cleavage but not a ton. And did end up wearing a bra. I figured I'd rather someone see my bra than an accidental nipple slip out! This wasn't my favorite dress I've rented but it was very comfortable and fitting for the occasion.
Ammu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Loved loved loved this dress - sexy and classy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome to celebrate my 21st birthday! It's easy to wear (no zippers or buttons) and you can pin it differently to close up the v neck as much or as little as you want. It's really versatile and the fabric is great. You will definitely need fashion tape though!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

I didn't love this dress, but it was fun to wear for a night. Not great for my body type.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was ok. Definitely not my favorite rental. It looked fine with some fashion tape to close the open top (definitely necessary!), but I was pulling down the skirt part all night and it was a little too short for my comfort. The top was enormous on both sizes, which is why I didn't wear the size Medium instead of the Small. Probably not the best dress for someone like me with more of a pear shape.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

This dress helped me earn the nickname "Legs" at my 10 year high school reunion. A+

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The sleeves are definitely snug, as is the skirt (I wear a 6 or 4 and had to do a little shimmy for the skirt). Otherwise, it's very comfortable and so much fun for dancing! (Don't forget tape for the neckline if you want to wear a regular bra. It's so low!!)
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Classy and Comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was stunning! The material was light weight enough that it wasn't too hot for a daytime wedding and the cut was very flattering. It really shows off your curves while still being tasteful. The medium and small fit similarly but I went the small for a tighter "skirt". Definitely don't be afraid o size down with this one. *The hollywood tape is a must as it is very low cut...I mean down to your belly button low.*
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs small. Order a size up, the front drapes low will need stick tape which I used and it worked very well!
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Perfect dress for a bachelorette party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was the perfect choice for one of my good friend's bachelorette party! I ordered the dress in an xs and s, but ultimately decided on the xs because I am more petite on top and the s felt like it was hanging off of my shoulders with too much fabric under the arms. I would have given this dress 5 stars, but as many other ladies point out, it is completely open in the front unless you pin or fashion tape the dress. (I ended up using a safety pin to close it). However, it was nice to be able to control how low I wanted the dress, so some might see this open front as a perk. I felt completely comfortable through a night out dancing and did not have any problems with the skirt riding up. Got lots of compliments on the dress and the girls were so surprised to hear about RTR!
odile
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

NYC

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
sleeves very snug.. Definitel purchase the tape from RTR for 10 bucks. I wore a deep plunge bra and needed the tape. Im a 38 DD. The bottom of the dress is a little snug but Comfy.. I dance all night in it.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Pardon the selfie but woohoo!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Hi Ladies--Please excuse the selfie and the duck lips (yikes!!!) I rented this dress for a party--I wanted an LBD with some sass and that's what I got. This dress highlights the right places and plays down trouble spots (for me it is my "muffin top" under where my bra hits on my back). I looked classy, weather appropriate (it was February in Chicago!), and felt hot. A must-rent for the curvy ladies.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 16, 2014

I felt fun and sexy for a burlesque birthday!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the dress to wear if you want to show off your legs! Super snug and comfy. If you are large busted I recommend you wear a tank top underneath or pin the front in someway otherwise it will be open for all the world to see. I used a bobby pin to keep it closed. I'm def renting this again!!
jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

Easy to wear, very classy!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this to a very nice steak house for my anniversary. It didn't move or ride up which was nice. The front opening was very revealing so I kept it shut with a sequined bobby pin, you couldn't even tell. I felt sexy and classy, great rental!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The perfect little black dress. I wore it paired with stockings, thigh highs, and a tank underneath to make it appropriate for a family party but this dress could easily be a sexy date night or Vegas outfit. Fit was perfect and I only wish I could where it everyday!
Jane
Age: 26
Nov 10, 2014

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress seemed to fit a little snug especially for those with a little bit of a booty. Sleeve are quite snug in the armpit region and make for an awkward fit. The front of this dress is completely open so unless that is the type of dress you are looking for be prepared to use either fashion tape or safety pins. Otherwise I found this dress to be quite comfortable and received a lot of compliments on it!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Perfect Bachelorette Party Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this as a guest to a bachelorette party and it was perfect! I took other reviewers advice and purchased fashion tape as the front does not stay closed. If you want to keep it in a certain place, definitely get some tape. The fit was great, tight but sexy, and the sleeves helped keep me warm for a chilly night out, I didn't need a jacket. I loved the dress so much that I'm considering renting it again for another party I have in January. You won't be disappointed!
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Age: 33
Nov 14, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Perfect to dress up an occasion that could go either way...dressy or casual.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Not for me

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
Very tight in the arms and very large in the bust. I could have made it work with fashion tape, but ultimately decided to return the dress.
Annie in SF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Flattering, comfortable & sexy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect dress for my birthday party. It was warm enough for a cold evening but not too warm for dancing after dinner. The ruching on the bottom made it form fitting and flattering. The material was just the right weight, which added a slight structured feel. I pinned it on the higher side (the natural neckline goes to just above your belly button!), and paired it with a fun necklace (also rented). I wore black tights and pumps. I've rented this dress twice. It's definitely a go to for many occasions.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Wasn't the dress for me

Size worn: L
Rented for: Party
Based on the reviews I ordered a large even though I'm usually a 6-8/Medium, but it was still snug in the bottom. Also the split top is all the way to the belly button, just as another reviewer said so you have to pin or tape it. I just wasn't happy with the way it draped after trying to pin a couple of times. Fabric is nice, sleeves were snug. The length was a tad too short- just under my bum. Too bad - I love a dress with sleeves!
Mar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Flawlessly sexy on a moments notice

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
Rented this as a backup and after loving and wearing my first choice dress on a Friday night, didn't expect to need this one even thought it was very cute. Saturday I found out I needed to be ready to go to a nice bar for a birthday with about 15 seconds to get ready. I tossed on this dress, pinned the top closed and even though my hair was dirty and I had no time to touch up makeup I applied in the am, I looked and felt amazing in this dress. So sexy with zero effort. Absolutely made the night for me!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Great NYE dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I think this dress looks better without tights, but it was so cold out, I had no choice. You definitely need tape to keep dress in place, the dress is super low cut! Wore to a NYE event at my parent's country club and it was comfortable to dance and move around it. Random tip, don't wear self-tanners with this dress! It seeps through the fabric and I was constantly checking/cleaning it, which has never happened to me before. Overall, I was very happy with the fit/style of this rental!
Stacey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

very flattering, va va voom dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Sleeves and skirt part are very tight, top is loose fitting. I used the reveal bra and it worked great with this dress.
Kristen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Effortless! Accessories will make it your own! The perfect LBD!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
The dress came just in time! I overnighted it for a New Years Eve Party. I put the dress on and it fit wonderfully, with the exception of the fully open top! Like I mean, COMPLETELY open. Fashion tapes or pins are 100% necessary when wearing this dress, regardless of your size. However, you just get the freedom to pin the dress, wherever you like and make it your own....whatever is comfortable for you. Also, I did love that it was simple, so I was able to use accessories much more than I normally would, with a huge statement necklace, earrings and silver heels. I may not have had the sequin dress I wanted, but I surely created the sparkle!
Maggie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

Perfect

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fashion tape is a must, but got lots of compliments on simplicity and cut of dress. Arm sleeves are a little tight if you have an athletic body, but still works. Order size you think would fit as well as size up because it may be tight. Overall, great dress and would love to own it
Margot
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

sexy and fun dress, but fashion tape a must

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Definitely snug in the lower arms and hips. No give in the arms, but fabric around hips does stretch. Super plunging and loose neckline. You will need fashion tape unless you are okay with the world viewing the entirety of your boob and stomach area. I taped it low to show a little cleavage but not feel naked. Wore tights and boots as it is January and I was walking outside a good bit, but dress would look great with a colored heel.
Ashlee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Fun and sexy - easy to dance in.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a night out dancing in San Francisco in January. It was nice to have the long sleeves in the cold! I ordered a size small with a medium for back up. I found that the skirt on the small was a little shorter than I would have preferred, but the top on the medium was way too open, so I went with the small. RTR was kind enough to include some fashion tape, which is an absolute must with this dress! The thing I liked most about this dress is that, with the help of the tape, I could choose how low cut the top was, and I never felt in danger of a malfunction. The sleeves were a little tight at the shoulder/armpit, as other reviewers mentioned, but I didn't find it to be uncomfortable. In fact, this dress was very easy to dance in and lots of fun to wear!
Andrea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 14, 2015

Very easy and excellent customer service

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Runs short
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Feb 14, 2015

Cute on the butt :)

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
Loved the dress, very flattering from all angles. Fit well, comfortable, except for somewhat tight sleeves, but that wouldn't keep me from wearing it. I actually didn't end up wearing the dress for my event because it was ridiculously cold that evening, so I chose something with long selves and more warmth. However, had the weather been warmer, and the event been conducive to a short, sexy LBD, I would have worn it. Felt very cute/sexy in it.
Deana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Just enough sexy!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Date
I wore this in Vegas for a Valentine's dinner with my husband. This dress was perfect! It fit beautifully, and you can select how much cleavage you want to show by pinning up the front. I am on the shorter side so I didn't need to worry about the length, it stopped a few inches above my knee, and it didn't ride up the whole night.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Beautiful, sexy dress - perfect for night in Vegas!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. I got tons of compliments and my husband said it was one of the sexiest dresses I'd ever worn. It was very flattering and comfortable to wear as well. Wish I owned it! Other reviewers were right in that it is very low cut and somewhat large on top. I used A LOT of fashion tape and wore a very low-cut bra. If you wanted to make it more modest, you could always wear a tank underneath; oh ever, fashion tape may still be necessary to keep the top where you want it. One thing to note is that this dress is VERY short. (I'm 5'7").
cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Sexy but fashion is a must

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress to wear for my birthday dinner with my husband. The dress is very short and the front is completely open. You must wear fashion tape with this dress. This picture may not show how short the dress is, but it's very short. The dress is pretty but I wouldn't rent it again. I had to adjust the front all night to ensure that it wasn't too revealing. The necklace is also rented. It's stunning in person but it kept folding in and wouldn't lay flat on my chest. However, the overall RTR experience was amazing as always.
Ivelise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

Perfect date night dress!

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a date night to celebrate my birthday. We went to a new trendy restaurant and I felt amazing. I rented the small and medium and the small fit perfectly. It was sexy enough where I felt good, but I didn't feel overexposed. I used fashion tape to adjust the front to where j felt most comfortable and I was good to go. The dress was comfortable to wear and I would definitely recommend. On a side note...I have to give a shout out to RTR customer service. My original rental was delayed by UPS and would not have made it in time. I called customer service and they were willing to overnight me any dress available. Luckily, my original choice was still available, so I was good to go. Thanks RTR for being amazing like always!
Thea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

This dress made me feel comfortable and put together.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a bit surprised how the dress fit on the small side. It was the perfect choice for a small and intimate Valentine's Day wedding and the transition to a casual dinner after. I taped the bust so my girls stayed put without having to adjust all night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×