Shoshanna

Primary Lace Dress

$30 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

It is wedding season and you're tired of wearing that boring black dress to the ceremony! Go with this Shoshanna vibrant lace party dress to kick up your style a notch!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted at the underarms
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red synthetic Lace (67.2% Cotton, 18.5% Nylon, 14.3% Rayon). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% Acetate). 37” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
211 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(162)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 8, 2013
GREAT Customer Service!
This was a backup dress that RTR sent to me after another dress did not fit. The size 12 was extremely large, and I would have needed the 10 for sure. The lace detail of the dress and the colors are beautiful. I will say this dress is not going to be the most sliming. The extra fabric under the bust, gives it a little fullness in the belly, but overall a classy dress. Would rent again in a smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 16, 2013
Found My Dream Dress
Ended up renting for a typical, but nicer date night, that turned into unforgettable lifetime event. As soon I as tried it on, I knew it was perfect (it has pockets!!). I felt so beautiful; its an effortless dress! Usually I'm not one to wear low v-neck dresses; I like to cover rather than accentuate, but this was perfect--not too high, not too low. Turned out, I got engaged the night I wore this dress and really, RTR, just helped make a uniquely momentous occasion even more special with this dress. Best rental ever!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
April 25, 2013
Material was a little uncomfortable around the shoulders but overall a great dress!
Fit a little snug around the shoulders so I would recommend sizing up to have a little more breathing room. Good price, great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013
Great dress for rehearsal dinner.
I wore this dress to my sister's wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was very elegant and I received a lot of compliments. I wasn't thrilled with the color. I was expecting a brighter red but in person it was pretty "blah". Dress does photograph well though. You could never tell by pics what color dress actually was.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
May 6, 2013
It fit perfectly and I was flooded with compliments
It was a little more snug in the bust and a little shorter than expected. However, it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I was really happy with this dress. It was my first rental and worked out perfectly. I wore it to a wedding and it was just the right amount of dressy. I ended up wearing the size 6 - I have a smaller upper half and the 8 was just too big all over. While the dress fit great it was SHORT. I am taller and sitting or bending in this dress had me blushing. I had to be really conscious that I was not flashing anyone, but otherwise the dress was light, comfortable and really cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 9, 2013
Great & memorable dress - so comfortable!
Loved this dress - extremely comfortable and can wear a regular bra, and the pockets are helpful! Definitely stood out among the crowd but was very on-trend with the lace. The neckline was gorgeous and would reco wearing big earrings/bracelet to compliment. Goes great w/ a navy blazer if the weather is a little chillier. Wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 18, 2013
Getting a BRAND NEW DRESS that no one had seen me in before!
My first RTR dress was super tight, so I was freaking a little about this one, but it fit like a glove and zipped easily. In the picture it looks like I have torpedo-boobs, but I swear it didn't look that way in real life! It was easy to move in and adorable. (Plus I loved the pockets!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
Cute dress, lots of compliments
I ordered this dress for my sister's graduation. Things I liked: The pockets, easy to wear a bra with, and I received lots of compliments. Things I didn't like: The arm holes seemed a bit small (even on the size 6, and I normally wear size 4), length was a tad short, and the fabric seemed a bit worn especially around the edges at the top. Overall, I would recommend this dress but beware of the small arm holes. It was the reason I had to wear the size 6, because the size 4 fit fine everywhere else. Thank you RTR for on-time delivery and ability to order a backup size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
Beautiful lace dress, really pops
This is a high-quality lace dress and the strawberry red really pops on the navy underlay. I only bumped it down one star because it is a bit on the short side, so I had to be careful on the dance floor and when I crossed my legs. Otherwise, it was fabulous. I got lots of compliments on it too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
ok
Not as cute in person as in the image. Chest and arm holes felt really tight but waist was huge. Lace seemed kinda cheap. Pretty color though. This was a back-up dress so ended up wearing a different style for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
Summer Wedding Stunner
I love love this dress!! I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 felt less "poofy" around my hips and really accented by curves. It looked great with nude pumps. I was able to dance all night and got loads of compliments. My co-workers all love Rent the Runway and can't wait to try it themselves after seeing my finds.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2013
I got so many compliments! It was a great conversation starter for the party.
I wear a size 2/4 in dresses, and the 4 was the only size available. I had to have it though! It felt just a little too baggy, but I added a belt and it made my waist look a little more defined. I would definitely rent the dress again in a size 2 OR 4. It would be flattering on any body type. The blue underlay definitely stands out more than it does on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
June 9, 2013
Ok dress but not my favorite RTR moment
Very nice wedding dress, conservative and pretty but not a huge wow factor
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
June 19, 2013
Summer wedding perfection!
Rented this dress for a wedding in Texas. It was comfortable, cute, and overall fun to wear! Dress runs true to size.
BritniSeptember 10, 2013
Where did you get your adorable necklace? I'm renting the dress soon and I love your look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 23, 2013
wish i could buy it!
i loved this dress. the color was a little more muted than in the photo. the 4 fit me perfectly which is one of the things i love about shoshanna dresses -- the sizing is so consistent. it was really comfortable, too! i'm sure i will rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 30, 2013
Perfect for a summer country club wedding!!
This dress was great! Although it was a last minute selection after the first dress didn't fit it actually worked out great! It was really comfortable and I got SO many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 7, 2013
Lots of compliments...perfect RTR experience as usual!
I LOVED this dress...the detail and color is adorable, and fits really nicely. I received TONS of compliments and so many girls asked me where I got the dress. The fit is definitely true to size. RTR is always so easy, as I had a super busy month leading up to the wedding and no time to go shop for another dress. This came straight to my office and was so convenient...RTR customer service is so helpful...love them! -AK
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2013
My saving back up dress
Size 6 wasn't available, so I squeezed into this. Comfortable, made my little boobs look great. Looks expensive. Well tailored too. It was a nice color too. Not a show stopper, but it did the trick. Added bonus, pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2013
It was the perfect dress for a Sunday afternoon wedding
I got tons of compliments on the dress. The detail and color are great. I wore it with a fascinator which was a great touch for the British wedding I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 4, 2013
Beautiful dress!
This dress is really pretty. Unfortunately, the 4 suddenly became unavailable and I was only able to get the two which was a bit snug in the top, but not too bad. The dress does flare out slightly at the waist, so I think it might be a better fit on someone with a straight figure rather than curvy like me. The red with the blue underlay is gorgeous. I love the pockets too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 8, 2013
Floral Formal Frock
This dress is quite sweet and really suited for conservative semi-formal occasions. I didn't wind up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner I rented it for because the 0 runs big, and I didn't have the bust or waist to fill it out. I would also add that the material and cut don't lend an expensive feel- so this one is best for a less formal occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2013
Sexy and casual
I felt so girly in this sexy lace dress! The pockets are a definite plus!!! My original size (12) wasn't available so I gave the 10 a chance and it fit perfect, probably better than the 12 would have. I love the cinched waist - it was very flattering. The cleavage was just enough too. I wish I owned this dress! I wore it wit nude colored heels to make it sexy but not too much like gold opened-toe heels might (I wore it during the day). Also, I took the stylist's advice and paired the dress with Kendra Scott Darby Mirage earrings and I was glad I did. Would definitely rent both again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 14, 2013
Cute Dress - Needed to Rent Sooner!
I really loved the colors of this dress, but wasn't in love with the fit. Unfortunately, the dress was in high demand and I had to order a size smaller than I usually wear. The 'V' neck in the front is very modest. It had pockets (which is awesome) but that caused it to billow out slightly in the tummy - I think a larger size would have prevented this entirely. RTR was extremely helpful when I called and explained my situation. They gave me a merchandise credit towards my next RTR rental! RTR FTW!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 17, 2013
All the amazing compliments!
The dress is fabulous. The colors are fun without being too much. It's such a relief to finally find a dress that fits over my DD chest. It does a beautiful job nipping in the waist for an hourglass shape. I wore this to an outdoor summer wedding, got compliment after compliment, and danced all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2013
Great color, with the red lay overlay on top of the black.
Shoshana dresses always run a little small on me, so I wore a size larger than normal. I think this dress would have been more flattering if the neckline were a little lower. It's actually sort of a high v-neck. Overall enjoyed wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
August 19, 2013
Got many compliments on the dress
The dress was a little hard to zip into on my own....needed a little help. The lace along the neckline curled inward but with the help of some double sided fashion tape, it stayed put. I loved the darting under the waist camouflaging my tummy. I was a little worried about the length being too short but since my legs are short anyway, it was a perfect length. It was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 19, 2013
Beautiful!!
I LOVE this dress so much! I wore a size 0 and this was very comfortable! I wore gold strap 4 inch heels, and rented the ANTON HEUNIS, Budding Blue Cluster Earrings with the dress. I love the pockets. It was nice to put my cellphone in the pocket and slip it out to take pictures easily. I received compliments all night. This was a fun dress, easy to put on and dance in. I was sad to return this dress as I wish I owned it! Rent the Runway never fails for me! Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 27, 2013
Fun dress
This dress was a solid choice. There was nothing amazing about it. I gave it 3 stars because there is a Nicole Miller dress that is very similar that I like much more. The lace on the chest would not lay flat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2013
Great dress!
This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial. This dress was great - super cute, good fit, and comfortable! You could pair a belt with it, but I think I actually preferred it without a belt. It was a on the shorter side, but not too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
September 14, 2013
The color and style were great!
I was a little disappointed in the quality of this dress because it seemed to have been pretty well worn out. Maybe it was just that it had been used and dry cleaned so many times? Careful when you sit down, as it is pretty short. Great dress, many complements, but size 6 was old looking and tired.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2013
Perfect for Wedding
The fit was a bit awkward on the bottom, puffed out at waistline and wasn't entirely form fitting. But overall, very comfortable and easy to dance in :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
September 23, 2013
Classic and eye catching comfortable dress!
The navy underlay and red lace is a really pretty combination. It's a great dress if you're petite and/or have a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
September 24, 2013
Got lots of compliments on the dress.
Fit true to size. It was a little tight under the arms and was shorter than I expected. Still loved the dress though and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 3, 2013
The whole experience was great. The dress fit like a glove, the shipping was easy and timely.
Fit was great. Runs a bit small, I ordered a 2 an 4 (luckily) as the 4 was just perfect. Got complements all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2013
Perfect!
This dress was comfortable and stylish. Perfect for a wedding in NYC. I actually expected to wear the 6 just because I've been feeling fat lately, but ended up fitting into the 4 just fine. But the 6 would have been fine in a pinch. I considered wearing a belt with this dress, but it didn't really need anything else. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2013
Fun and comfortable
I wore this for my bridal shower and was showered with many compliments. Great fit and so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2013
The style was not flattering but the lace was beautiful!
I think that the style of the dress wasn't very flattering on my body. The bottom half of the dress ended up looking too round/bubble like and didn't really look very slimming or flattering (in my opinion). That being said, it was comfortable and the top fit just fine. The lace was beautiful and I really liked the red. It looks kinda dim in the picture, but I would say it's more of a darker red and the navy underneath looks closer to black. Overall, probably would not rent it again but I thought the RTR process was great and will try another dress in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2013
The red over the navy made this a very unique dress. Lots of compliments!
The fit was a little tight in the rib area - I wear a 36B but was able to wear the 6 without any problems. Loved the contrast of the blue with the red. The picture on the model makes the red look a lot brighter than it actually is - it's bit more subdued, but also very pretty. It was very comfortable, with pockets and easy to dance in. Love Shoshanna dresses - they really work well for shorter girls like myself - I am 5'3" and this is a short dress so it works for me!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 4, 2013
Backup dress I didn't wear- cute, but too short
This was a backup dress that I ordered and I did not end up wearing this one. The other one was just more appropriate for the wedding I was attending. I will say, it's a very cute dress that is flattering to pear shapes. I loved that it had pockets! The red is an orange-y red, which did not bother me. The dress was WAY short, though. I'm 5' 10", so that's not surprising, but fair warning to other tall girls out there!
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×