Shoshanna

Out With A Bang Dress

$55 to buy
$305 retail
Stylist Notes

Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 21, 2014
Didn't end up wearing

This is a cute, basic dress. Nothing too special. Fits well and looks good on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
January 26, 2015
Great LBD for a great price!

The dress is super cute! The pockets were awesome! :) The snaps for the bra straps were great and helped the dress fit a little better. Typically a size 0 would fit, but in this case I found it to be a bit big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2015
Perfect for Valentine's Day!

Perfect little black dress for Valentine's Day! The silky material elevates it from a boring LBD. I was sure I was going to have to go with the 8, but the 6 ended up fitting perfectly. I paired it with a silky blazer, red tights, and black booties. I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
March 13, 2015
Loved this dress...already reserved it again for my next event!

This dress fit perfectly! It was the perfect length and I loved that I could eat and drink without any worries! It was comfortable and I could have dressed it up or down! I've already reserved this dress again...loved it that much!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 2, 2015
Loved this dress!

Comfortable and flirty. Tons of compliments! Will buy if it goes on sale in a few months.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
September 20, 2015
Great party dress!

LOVED THIS DRESS- so many compliments and very comfortable. It was tight in the chest so I went with the 4.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2015
great little black dress!

This is the perfect little black dress! It fit amazingly, was comfortable, and I felt so pretty in it! I highly recommend if looking for that perfect simple, black party dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2016
I absolutely loved the pockets !!

This was a wonderful first experience with RTR! Overall everything was great and I got many compliments. I really loved the pockets which could hold my phone though out the night without falling out. I also thought the dress was a perfect length! The only problem was that the top was a little big but it ended up working out okay. Very pleased with this dress and will certainly rent again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
The dress came on time, looked beautiful, and the necklace was perfect!

I was worried about the length of the dress since I'm 5'9 but I definitely felt like it was long enough. The dress is very plain so I would suggested wearing some kind of statement jewelry. It's a little right in the rib area too so I did have to wear a size up. I loved this dress, it's so flattering and comfortable! What a great first RTR experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 1, 2016
This dress was amazing. It was comfortable, yet very classy.

I felt like it fit TTS. I typically wear a 0 in dresses and this 0 fit perfectly. I asked for an extra size 2 just in case. The dress was simple, but could easily be dresses up. I danced all night and never had any issues. I was able to wear a normal bra because of the bra clasps in the straps. Loved everything about this dress. My husband said he hoped I was buying it. I totally wish I could!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
February 6, 2015
Unfortunately did not get to wear. Ran small and was too tight to wear enjoyably to a wedding.

If it had fit, would of loved the dress! It is a great black dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 1, 2015
Classic LBD, with pockets!

Great classic lbd. The pockets were fun. The straps did run large and I have a full bust, 36 D. I kept having to pull them up and covert bra straps. Otherwise fun, cute dress u can dress up with jewelry.

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 6, 2015
I loved the fit to flare style of the dress.

I loved this dress. I ended up wearing the size 2 rather than 0. It was very tight in the top, ended up not wearing a bra. I would recommend sizing up! It was the perfect length, just above the knee. I wore colorful accessories to spruce it up! Can't wait to rent another dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2012
Classic

Ordered this as my back up- classic, easy LBD. Didn't end up wearing it but it's super comfy/flattering in the right places. Pretty simple but good to order as back up option. Runs a bit big- order your chest/bust size versus hip size.

AlissaNovember 16, 2012
How did you think the bust fit? I'm a 36DD and this *seems* like a style that normally works for me, but I'd like to know if you felt it was tight on you? Thanks!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
May 29, 2013
I ordered two dresses and I didn't end up wearing this one.

I didn't end up wearing this one because it was baggy on me. I ordered the 6 and 8, I should have gone with the 4.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
Nice dress, very comfortable!

The straps were too long for me. It ran a little big, I would have comfortably fit into a 6.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 19, 2013
Great fabric, Shoshanna runs big generally

The biggest problem I had with this dress is that it was short. I tried both the 4 and 2, hoping the 4 would be longer, but no. The dress is a little short for the rehearsal dinner that I wore it to, but it worked. Beautiful fabric, great with fun accessories.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 1, 2013
Classic LBD

The dress was very comfortable to wear. As recommended in the reviews, I ordered down a size since it can be bigger in the bust area. I absolutely loved the dress and it was fun to accessorize.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2013
Perfect LBD

This was my back up dress and I didn't end up wearing it. I found that it fit true to size through the bodice, but was very large on top. The cut and quality fabric make it stand out next to your normal LBD.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2013
Cute dress but fit was off

The dress was super cute. Classic look. It however just didn't fit my body right. Very loose up top yet still showed the armpit hang over. Length was perfect and material was very comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 14, 2014
I loved the fabric!

The fabric was great. It was slightly large in the straps so I kept having to adjust it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 12, 2014
Super cute dress!

This dress was super cute, but I found it ran a little large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Body type: Petite
September 29, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering.

I rented this for my daughter to wear in a wedding. Being on the shorter side, 5'3"-5"4", the dress was a lot longer than on the model, hitting right above the knee, but for a wedding it was appropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2013
I got complements on the dress all night long :)

The dress does run small so I definitely recommend ordering a size up for the second size. I didn't have any problems with the sleeves falling down as others mentioned. The neckline is fun but still modest and the length is perfect. I wore it for a sorority formal and had an amazing time dancing around in this dress. I highly recommend it because it is the perfect LBD.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 29, 2013
The ease of renting a dress

Overall, this dress runs small and is not for the large-chested crowd. I am a 38 DD and the top on this dress was definitely tight. I chose this dress as my second pick and when receiving the package, I realized that I couldn't not wear it. The straps of the dress hid bra straps and had snaps to keep the straps in place. The fabric was soft and had a slight-sheen to it. It also had pockets! This dress was the one where everyone was asking where I got it from, so you might be a walking advertisement for RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 8, 2013
A great spin on the LBD!

Loved the pockets and the silhouette of the dress but he dress fit was very small so ladies with a D or bigger, beware, the dress is very tight in the chest area. Great length and can be dressed up nicely with a great necklace or big chandelier earrings.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2013
Fall Wedding

I wore this dress to my co-workers wedding. Overall it fit the atmosphere and I got a lot of compliments. This dress had ZERO stretch to it. I have rented other dresses by this designer and they too had little to no stretch however, I had to wear the 8 (it was still quite snug) when normally I can wear this designers 6 but opt for the 8 to be comfortable. I would have been more comfortable in a 10.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 16, 2014
Not for busty gals

I was a little underwhelmed by this dress. It was a little longer than I had wanted and the top was a little too tight for my chest. I ordered a 4 but it looked frumpy, so I ended up wearing the 2 instead. Overall, was it fine? Yeah. Would I rent it again? Probably not.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2014
Shoshana runs small in the chest

Didn't wear because it didn't fit in the chest. It was a cute dress though

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2014
I loved this dress! It was the perfect little black dress!

This was perfect for a wedding I recently went to. I got a lot of compliments on it, and the pockets are so convenient (finally...a place for my iphone!). I am normally a size 6, but had to wear the 8 because the bust was too tight (I am 34 C/D). I also love any dress that I can wear a normal bra with, so I was happy. The clips to keep your bra straps from showing were also very convenient. The dress was starting to show some wear, but only if you looked really closely. Overall, I was very happy with it. It was very flattering - gave just a little bit of cleavage and cut in at the waste nicely. I would definitely recommend it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 177lbs
April 2, 2014
I didn't end up wearing this dress

Length was fine but way to tight in the chest area. I could zip it up but couldn't breath!

AlyceApril 2, 2014
what sizes did you try?
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2014
Amazing fabric

Go a size up. Amazing fabric. I would love to own this!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 3, 2015
Excellent dress, tight in the bust.

If you are busty but petite, this may not be the dress for you. It's very small up top!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 13, 2015
Easy and cute. Love that it's fitted on top and is roomier below the waist.

This definitely runs small, as others have mentioned. I typically wear a 4 or a SM. This dress is just quite fitted around the ribcage, so it was difficult to zip up. Luckily, I'd ordered a 6 as back up, which was still close to snug on top (in a nice way... shows off your assets!). It was very comfortable and roomy on the bottom, which was perfect for a night of drinking after dinner. It is a bit short, so if you're shy you may want to wear this with tights. The texture of the fabric feels fancy, but not over the top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
March 2, 2014
It was classic and paired with standout jewelry

I usually wear a size 0 but had to go a size up for this dress so that my bust would fit. I have a large rib cage. This meant that dress ended up slightly larger in the middle and bottom and just right on top but I figured that I needed to breathe. It was perfect for the rehearsal dinner.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 26, 2014
Great material and detail Small bust area

Great material and detail! Loved it. Was a little tight in the bust and didn't really give complete coverage.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2015
Great dress for any occasion!

I was hoping to wear this dress for an evening co-ed bridal shower but since it didn't come in time, I ended up planning a girls night out to get the use out of it! It does show off the "girls" a bit...maybe too much?

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2013
Cute LBD

Cute dress for a wedding. Total party dress with a more full skirt and low cut enough so it balances out the skirt.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 12, 2013
Cute fun dress. Flares more than picture.

This dress was super cute and fun. Super tight in the bust. Once I lost the bra it was fine. Thick enough fabric you don't need one. More flare than shown. I wore it with red heels and a long sparkly necklace.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
love this dress; has pockets!!

the 6 was too tight in the waist for me so the 8 was perfect. love that this dress has pockets. The straps were a bit too loose on me but they didn't fall off my shoulders or anything. i love that this dress has small button straps to hold your bra straps in. Will definitely rent again!

See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×