Out With A Bang Dress

$40 rental
$305 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Update your look! Rent this fun and flirty Shoshanna LBD for your next special event. A great dress that works for all shapes and sizes. Simply pair with accessories like Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Crystal Cluster Necklace.

Also available in Red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black bengaline (52% acetate, 48% cotton). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size116
Small19
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 14
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2016
I absolutely loved the pockets !!
This was a wonderful first experience with RTR! Overall everything was great and I got many compliments. I really loved the pockets which could hold my phone though out the night without falling out. I also thought the dress was a perfect length! The only problem was that the top was a little big but it ended up working out okay. Very pleased with this dress and will certainly rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 6, 2015
I loved the fit to flare style of the dress.
I loved this dress. I ended up wearing the size 2 rather than 0. It was very tight in the top, ended up not wearing a bra. I would recommend sizing up! It was the perfect length, just above the knee. I wore colorful accessories to spruce it up! Can't wait to rent another dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
December 4, 2015
Perfect little black dress w/Pockets!!!!
This dress is super cute only downfall is they didn't have it available in a size 6. I ordered in a size 4 hoping for the best and while it zipped I kinda had to force it because there is no stretch near the rib cage. Soooo disappointed because this dress is perfect!! Will def be renting again in a size 6 for my next party. Ugh really wanted to wear this!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 29, 2015
Perfect bridesmaid basic black dress
Ran a little small, usually wear a 0 and wore the 2 back up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 10, 2015
Great LBD
I wore this for a fall wedding, simple and comfortable. Best part... it has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2015
great little black dress!
This is the perfect little black dress! It fit amazingly, was comfortable, and I felt so pretty in it! I highly recommend if looking for that perfect simple, black party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2015
The perfect little black dress!
This dress was wonderful! I typically wear a 4 but I wore the 6 because the straps seemed a tad tight on my shoulders in the 4. It has pockets which I love! Great dress! I will be renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2015
Great fit!
Loved this dress! Shoshanna never fails to flatter. Loved the cut and material! Ended up wearing the 2 instead of the 0 because it was a little tight around the ribcage when I sat down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
October 13, 2015
Easy and cute. Love that it's fitted on top and is roomier below the waist.
This definitely runs small, as others have mentioned. I typically wear a 4 or a SM. This dress is just quite fitted around the ribcage, so it was difficult to zip up. Luckily, I'd ordered a 6 as back up, which was still close to snug on top (in a nice way... shows off your assets!). It was very comfortable and roomy on the bottom, which was perfect for a night of drinking after dinner. It is a bit short, so if you're shy you may want to wear this with tights. The texture of the fabric feels fancy, but not over the top.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 11, 2015
Beautiful and Comfortable!
This dress was perfect. Exact size I normally wear and would be great for any event. Also, it has pockets!! Amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
October 8, 2015
It was a fun night with family
The dress looked worn and should probably get taken out of the rotation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 29, 2015
loved this dress!
this dress fit me perfectly!! not sure how well it would work on someone with a larger chest but lucky for me i don't have that issue! loved the pockets too!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
September 20, 2015
Great party dress!
LOVED THIS DRESS- so many compliments and very comfortable. It was tight in the chest so I went with the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2015
didnt do anything for me, short, good for younger women. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It just wasn't that flattering or special on me. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2015
Great dress for any occasion!
I was hoping to wear this dress for an evening co-ed bridal shower but since it didn't come in time, I ended up planning a girls night out to get the use out of it! It does show off the "girls" a bit...maybe too much?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 3, 2015
Excellent dress, tight in the bust.
If you are busty but petite, this may not be the dress for you. It's very small up top!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 27, 2015
I just love shoshanna. The best for big busted girls
I can trust Shoshanna dresses to run either slightly large or true to size. I have a large bust with a small rib cage, Shoshanna never fails to give me a pretty classic looking fit. I have rented this dress in every available color and can not get over how much I love the fit. Nips in at the waist just right with a strong material that almost shimmers in the light. I have a lower belly pooch even though I am skinny. Shoshanna dresses always tend to help a sister out and cover that up for me.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2015
Perfect dress to wear to a wedding!
Loved this dress! I normally wear a size 2 or 4 but other reviews said it ran a bit small so I decided to order the 4 and the 6 as a backup size. I almost wish I ordered the 2 instead. The 4 fit but was slightly big on top. I am very small chested so I'm just thinking the 2 would have fit better. Overall it was the perfect dress to wear to the wedding I had to go to. It was super cute on and the length was perfect too. Not too short or too long and it has pockets (which I'm kind of obsessed with on dresses!) Definitely would recommend this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 2, 2015
Loved this dress!
Comfortable and flirty. Tons of compliments! Will buy if it goes on sale in a few months.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2015
The dress came on time, looked beautiful, and the necklace was perfect!
I was worried about the length of the dress since I'm 5'9 but I definitely felt like it was long enough. The dress is very plain so I would suggested wearing some kind of statement jewelry. It's a little right in the rib area too so I did have to wear a size up. I loved this dress, it's so flattering and comfortable! What a great first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2015
Great formal dress
Fit true to size, great shape, not too low cut - great for any formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
March 13, 2015
Loved this dress...already reserved it again for my next event!
This dress fit perfectly! It was the perfect length and I loved that I could eat and drink without any worries! It was comfortable and I could have dressed it up or down! I've already reserved this dress again...loved it that much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 2, 2015
Cute LBD for any occassion
I rented this a few weeks ago for my friend's bachelorette party in Charleston. It was really comfortable and super cute for a night out dancing. It runs true to size and is perfect if you're looking for a simple black dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2015
.Beautiful dress. Very classy while still being fun for a party. Loved everything about it. Perfect
Fitted top. Bottom gives u room but not to puffy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 16, 2015
Perfect for Valentine's Day!
Perfect little black dress for Valentine's Day! The silky material elevates it from a boring LBD. I was sure I was going to have to go with the 8, but the 6 ended up fitting perfectly. I paired it with a silky blazer, red tights, and black booties. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
February 6, 2015
Unfortunately did not get to wear. Ran small and was too tight to wear enjoyably to a wedding.
If it had fit, would of loved the dress! It is a great black dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 3, 2015
I'll be a returning customer!
I could go on and on about this dress. The fabric is a little thick, so it was perfect for this formal winter dance that I went to recently. I absolutely loved how the dress had pockets and the bra strap fasteners! The fit was amazing, it was a little big in the bust but it wasn't bad. I wore the size zero and I usually wear a 00/0. It was the best first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 1, 2015
Classic LBD, with pockets!
Great classic lbd. The pockets were fun. The straps did run large and I have a full bust, 36 D. I kept having to pull them up and covert bra straps. Otherwise fun, cute dress u can dress up with jewelry.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2015
Great LBD for a great price!
The dress is super cute! The pockets were awesome! :) The snaps for the bra straps were great and helped the dress fit a little better. Typically a size 0 would fit, but in this case I found it to be a bit big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 9, 2015
Classy but casual
This dress is a great length and fit well overall. It was a little tight in the ribcage area because the material has no stretch, though I was sitting for the majority of my time wearing this. It's a thicker material which made it great for a cold New Year's Eve. I loved the pockets and the snaps under the shoulder straps to keep my bra straps covered. It's a simple but classy dress that was exactly what I wanted
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2014
I officiated my friends wedding in this gorgeous dress!
This dress is SO CUTE. LOVE LOVE LOVE will rent it so many more times!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 21, 2014
Didn't end up wearing
This is a cute, basic dress. Nothing too special. Fits well and looks good on.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
December 18, 2014
Simple, black dress in a pretty classic fit
I ordered a similar dress to wear to my firms holiday party. A few days before, it turned out that they didn't have my spare size in my first choice dress. Instead, the rent the runway stylist sent this option. I wasn't a big fan if the fit. The quality of the fabric was great and the sizing was pretty true to size. However, the shape and overall look was very baby dollish. It didn't look much like it does on the model.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2014
The dress was very comfortable all night and the pockets were a total plus.
I had just had minor surgery and was not in a place where Spanx would work and this dress was very comfortable without Spanx as it was fitted to just under my ribcage, then came out. I am a solid 6 on the bottom but either a 6 or 8 on the top and I really needed the 8 in this dress, however the bottom was quite loose and literally any size would have worked. So I would say go for the size you need on top. The length was perfect for me. Hits about 2 or 3 inches above the knee. Felt a little breezy in the back due to the loose cut, but I am pretty sure nothing hung out! I felt like the straps were a little long for my torso, but I could wear a normal bra (YAY!) and it had those bra strap clips so it didn't feel uncomfortable once I was fully assembled. As far as style goes, it is a fairly understated and plain dress, although the fabric was really high quality. I was wearing it to an evening, semi-formal event at my daughter's school and it worked well for that, but it was not flashy at all. It would have looked cute with a blingy belt, but I didn't have one or feel like shopping for one. Or you could get away with a GIANT necklace with this dress. If you have a great figure or are good at rocking the Spanx, this dress might feel a bit "boxy" to you. I didn't think it was the hottest dress I have ever worn but it was elegant. I would rent it again, but probably as a back up dress to give something more fabulous a try. This was my first RTR rental and it was a breeze. Came on time, dresses were clean and ready to go, easy to return.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
November 11, 2014
so fun!
great fit. the pockets were a nice surprise. really easy dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 9, 2014
Great LBD
Fit well, skirt laid off body enough to be flirty but not too much volume that you felt like a cupcake. All in all a simple and comfortable LBD!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2014
Looking fab for one of my best friend's Sweet Sixteens! Dress was easy to dance in and have fun!
This dress fit perfectly! I wore the size 0, which is my usual size. A nice highlight were clips in the straps of the dress which held your bra so that it didn't show. Also, pockets were a fabulous surprise! I wore the dress with the AV Max bracelet and other silver accessories. Perfect for a wonderful Sweet 16!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
October 27, 2014
Solid back up dress
Didn't end up wearing because although it was nice, there was nothing extra special about it, and I went with my first choice. Normal fit, solid back up choice.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 25, 2014
Amazing fabric
Go a size up. Amazing fabric. I would love to own this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2014
Perfect LBD!
I rented this for my anniversary dinner and it was perfect! My friend rented the same dress and wore it as a bridesmaid's dress. I was worried it would be short on me but it wasn't!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×