Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
260 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 11, 2014
I loved this dress and got so many compliments! Great fit, length, and overall quality!
#bachelorette #stpattysglam
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 12, 2014
I was called a disco ball by my friends, but received many compliments as well. Is it VERY short!
I got both the size 6 and 8. The size 6 fit perfectly, except for the length! My husband thought the 8 looked baggy and loose but I had more dancing clearance. The 6 fit well but I couldn't raise my arms above my shoulders without showing my underwear. I also flip flopped between wearing black hose and shoes or no tights and nude shoes. It was decided to wear the nude and I'm glad I did. It pairs well with the nude shoes, the black was too dark and made it seem matronly and a little frumpy. The length is what keeps it attractive I suppose.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2014
Standout dress in a sea of sparkles
This dress was perfect for a friends "sparkle" themed bachelorette party. It was very comfortable to wear for 8+ hours including dinner and dancing. Because the dress is so short I wore a pair of black bike shorts underneath to make getting in/out of cars easier. The dress was long enough so they were hidden all night (standing/dancing/etc) unless I lifted my arms above my head.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2014
Got tons of compliments from friends AND strangers. The color looks great esp. when photographed.
I normally wear a 2 but ended up wearing a 4 because I have broad shoulders. The 2 for some reason was longer than size 4. Only con is the sequins are very prickly and they cut into my bottoms when sitting down. That's the only discomfort.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2014
St. Patty's Day!
Perfect for the party and very easy to wear. It is quite short so keep that in mind (I'd recommend either tights or something modest under the dress). The sleeves fit slim so although it runs large (generous through the body) if you have thicker arms, pay attention the the size. I loved this and would definitely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2014
Attention-grabbing (but SHORT) for my bachelorette party!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party in Chicago. My BMs said the dress made me look like Joan from Mad Men! I accessorized with my gold watch and a gold pendant necklace. I have broad shoulders but even so I felt this dress was inordinately tight in the shoulders. I am long-waisted and this dress was extremely short on me, to the point that my butt was on the chair when I sat down. Everything else about the fit was wonderful--the gown was swingy and fun.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 29, 2014
I wore this dress to a party where all the guests were required to wear green – it was perfect!
The dress runs large but is very very very short – I paired it with black opaque tights to avoid feeling too self-conscious
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 5, 2014
The glamour! Everyone was in awe of my dress! I felt gorgeous! :)
I usually wear a size 12 but the size 12 was way to big on me... The size 10 was perfection... Dresses are short but that's exactly what I wanted!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 10, 2014
Such a great dress for a friends 1920's themed 30th birthday!
Great flowy fit, but the arms run a little tight. It's such a fun dress and I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2014
This dress is fabulous! I liked it so much when I saw it go on sale I bought it!
Runs big, I am 5 feet and usually a size 4 and the 0 fit fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2014
I felt gorgeous while 9 months pregnant at my baby shower!
I wore this at about 9 months along at my baby shower and felt wonderful! Yes, it's short, but I am 5'9" and it was fine. I DID SIZE UP. I ordered the 12 with a 10 backup size. Both fit my bump, but the 12 was a bit longer so I went with that. When not pregnant, I normally wear a 4/6 so I really sized up for this, but with a 9 month bump that's what ya do! :) So if you are worried about it just size up. I got tons of compliments and felt wonderful. A great bump dress! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 4, 2014
Great dress for a night out!
I loved the dress and it fit very well. My only con, is that the lining does not hit the hem and it's a little painful to sit after a while. With that being said, its the perfect dress to dance in and I shouldn't have been sitting any way! I will def. rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
September 5, 2014
this was a charity gala benefitting Devereux Texas Treatment Network - New Orleans theme
The dress is big, but probably designed to be that way. Very short so smaller size would have been obscene. I bought some black brocade shorts / hot pants to wear underneath with thick black tights so that when I danced and raised my arms above my shoulders, I was covered. I wore very high platform suede black booties with beading on them - went perfectly together. Got a lot of compliments thought - beautiful shade of green.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 10, 2014
This dress was not my favorite. It was just all around too big. I did not end up wearing it.
I am more curvy I guess and this dress was just not flattering. I wanted so bad to LOVE it but it just wasn't good on my body style. I agree with another review that said if your tall and thin its perfect, just not what I thought it would be.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 18, 2014
This was for my 30th birthday
The dress is short, so raising your arms poses a problem, but the dress, guhh, it's soo lovely and fun. I personally like a short dress with long sleeves as I think it brings the sexy and classy vibe together. Got compliments throughout the night and wished I could have kept it forever. When you sit, the sequins do tend to dig into your leg, but beauty is pain right? I wore the 10 and didn't even try on the 8 because I figured it would be shorter and this was short enough. Had plenty of room to spare but definitely did not feel like a potato sack on. Don't do a disservice to yourself! Bottom line, get this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2014
Gorgeous color and fun dress!
The color of this dress is a true emerald green and was eye catching without being over the top. I wore this with understated makeup and minimal accessories and let the dress be focal point of my look. It was quite comfortable and not too heavy given all the sequins. It is short so leggier ladies should take note. On my frame, the length was fine but I would have been uncomfortable had it been any shorter. That said, this was a very fun dress that was perfect for the venue and all the dancing I did. Wearing something loose and comfortable made the evening that much more enjoyable. This dress drew lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2014
Beautiful dress, but the fit was all over the place!
I rented this dress in a size 0 and a size 2 for a formal wedding. The 0 fit overall, but was WAY too short. There was no way I would have been able to dance or even sit in this dress without completely exposing my underwear, and I am not a tall person. The 2 fit like a tent, but was a good 6" longer than the 0. It almost seemed like the 2 was mismarked, because there was such a noticeable jump in size between the 0 and the 2. I ended up returning the dress without wearing. Disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
Perfect green shine for a sorority reunion
Jazz up with heels, sheer black stockings, and a long blingy necklace
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 7, 2014
Sassy and fun
Loved this dress! It is very striking and good for those with a tummy, booty, or hips. The lining was very comfortable except it did not go to the bottom of the hem so there was a little scratchiness at the bottom. Nothing too annoying though. I recommend renting if you are petite. Still a mini but not too short. If you are tall you may feel overexposed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2014
SO much fun and apart from the bride's dress I think got the most compliments of the day!
As every reviewer has said, this dress is SHORT, but not in a slutty/sleazy way at all. I'm 5'9" and it only became a problem when I raised my arms (totally necessary as I wanted to dance!!) - so I paired it with leggings instead and a pair of black suede booties. I'm sure that black opaque tights would work too, but I wore it to a "barn wedding" (in Portland in October) so I was trying to dress it down a little. That's not to say it HAS to be worn with tights, it doesn't, but if you want to dance or raise your arms AT ALL and remain unexposed to your belly button, wear SOMETHING. I had zero problem sitting in it - it didn't crawl up at all. It is definitely boxy and roomy, I got the 6 and easily could have worn a 4, but the 6 was so short I feared a 4 would be at my waist. It's comfortable, but also can get very warm. It's seriously such a gorgeous color in person, overall it's a knockout dress. I've never received more compliments on something I've worn - though I'll admit, most people just assumed it was a longer shirt rather than a dress ;-) Still, my fiancé wanted to know how much it was to buy because he LOVED it so much on me. Rent this ladies it's super fun!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
October 13, 2014
Amazing dress!
I love everything about this dress. I read all of the reviews and selected my normal size and a size smaller based on the info of the fit of the dress. I ended up going with the 4 solely due to the length. It is a short dress. The 2 fit better overall, but I was more comfortable with the length of the 4 as it was worn for a family party. I also needed something a little "drapey" as I'm 4 months pregnant. So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments! I can't wait for my next occasion to use RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2014
So many compliments!
I was absolutely thrilled with this dress. I wore it at 13 weeks pregnant and it was very comfortable. I'm short (5'0") and the length was perfect for me, although it might be a bit short for taller gals. Would absolutely recommend to a friend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 16, 2014
N/A
Runs pretty short. I am usually a 4, but I'm 7 months pregnant so I ordered a 6 & 8. Ended up with the 8 because the 6 barely covered my rear.
Mkp04October 19, 2014
Courtney, I'm also pregnant (23 weeks) and I'm a wedding singer, so I need dresses every weekend! So glad to find another preggo to help me find dresses that fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 117lbs
October 22, 2014
So many compliments!
This isn't your run-of-the-mill sequin dress; this is high-quality material that looks like shiny liquid when you put it on. It is very forgiving for those of us who have had children and still have a few extra pounds, but anyone over five feet should be concerned about the length. Since the sleeves are tight, arms over your head = everyone sees your undies. I'm under five feet, so this came off as a very sophisticated choice. I normally am a size 6, but wore the 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
Wonderful dress! Very comfortable worn at 7 months pregnant to a friends wedding. The dress was rather short so I wore it with black tights. Wish I owned this dress to be worn again! I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 27, 2014
This dress was super glam. I wore it for my karaoke birthday party- felt like a star!
I am 5'4, around 120 lbs. I wore the zero- it fit exactly as it should. It was super short, but I just wore proper underwear and sheer black tights. I wore it as a party dress. The 2 also fit- it was much more loose, and could be worn to a formal event. The 2 is also quite a bit longer than the zero. Also, this dress is well-made and comfortable-- even in the more snug size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 30, 2014
LOVED it! Easy to wear, easy to accessorize , just short enough to turn heads
Oh my goodness the RTR staff is amazing!! I had ordered two completely different dress thinking my even was black tie. I found out around 5:00 on a Friday (of course) that the event was cocktail . I got on the phone and the NICEST woman helped me change my order and got it to me MIRACULOUSLY in time for my Saturday night function . I wish the rest of my life was managed my RTR staff!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 12, 2014
My engagement party! It was a blast.
After my first dress did not work out, RTR overnighted me this dress. It was PERFECT for my engagement party. It is forgiving so I didn't mind eating and drinking, and I felt great in it. Also, I don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit, from men and women. I am very petite -- only 5'0, and I think that's why this shift is the only one I've ever tried on that looks great on me...it is VERY short. Paired with opaque black tights, I didn't worry, but I don't know if I would wear it with bare legs--it's a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2014
super short!!
this dress is super cute - but also super short! I ordered the size 2 because reviewers said it ran large... the 4 would have been way too boxy throughout the body of the dress, but it might have given me an inch in length. basically I couldn't even raise my arms without the dress raising up to my butt. not really the look I was going for. would have been great had it actually been a little longer. for reference, I'm only 5'4, so if you're tall, I'd recommend wearing some pants with this!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2014
Stood out at the rehearsal dinner.
Looked great with tights and black booties.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 25, 2014
I loved this dress as soon as I opened the box!
I got the 8 and 10. The 8 fit throughout the body but the sleeves were ridiculously tight. I could not even raise my arms over my head. The 10 was nice and flowing throughout the body and the sleeves were comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
December 2, 2014
Absolutely loved the color and felt very glamorous.
The dress is a little bit large. I could have probably gotten away with a 2. I typically wear a 6 in most dresses. Really loved it and got a ton of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 10, 2014
So many compliments!!
This is an AMAZING dress!!! I ordered a size 8 and 10 and ended up wearing the 8. It's supposed to flowy, which is why you can get away with it being short! I wore it to a winter wedding with black tights but could have worn it without tights if the weather was warmer. I got SO many compliments on this dress- everyone was asking where I got it! The color is great and it feels luxurious, not like a cheap, tacky, sequin dress. I didn't think it felt small or tight in the arms and shoulders, and I do have broader shoulders. You won't regret renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2014
The perfect Christmas party dress!
I absolutely loved this dress. The shift makes it super comfortable but it lays really well and the short length makes it flattering. I like short but if that makes you nervous be warned that its very short. However I loved it! I also don't think I've ever received so many compliments on an outfit. Was fun, and made me happy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 18, 2014
Amazing statement dress
This dress was perfect for my holiday party. I got tons of compliments all night. The only thing that I would tell you to watch out for is the length. I went up a size because the 2 was WAY to short. Other than that I loved everything about it. Super comfortable too!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
December 18, 2014
Received numerous compliments
I wore this dress at our company's holiday party. I received numerous compliments both from men and women. I am 5'1' and the dress went down to mid thigh so it was the perfect length for me to show off my legs but not too much. I found it a little snug in the arms though. I have an apple body type and it was perfect. I like the fact that it wasn't tight around the tummy area. I am glad I rented this dress but I somehow wished I didn't have to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 29, 2014
Dress was gorgeous; tons of compliments. Super comfortable, as well.
Dress was very short ( I'm 5'8") but with opaque tights, it worked just fine. Shift style, falls straight down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 31, 2014
Great dress! Everyone said I looked like a mermaid!
Definitely size up if your tall! I'm 5'9' and if I bent over or raised my arms, it wouldn't have been good. But I loved the dress so that tiny little detail really didn't matter to me. Just a warning: if you're planning on wearing your hair down, the sequins really make it hard because my hair kept getting literally stuck on the dress and I'd have to rip it out of the sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2015
GREAT dress! Comfy, sexy, and classy all at the same time!
Loved wearing this dress. It was short, but I put some black shorts underneath just for peace of mind. I didn't really need them. The dress is comfy (the sequins aren't itchy at all), and I loved that I never had to worry about "holding it in," or wear any of those darned spanx! The dress gets its sexiness from the length and the color. If you've got great legs, and you want an easy dress, this is the one. The 0 fit me perfectly - I didn't even try on the 2 that came with it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123lbs
January 7, 2015
Cute sparkly dress for a NYE wedding
I ordered the 6 and the 4, and ended up wearing the 4. I am 5'6" 123lbs and usually a size 6, but I felt the 4 fit better. The dress is supposed to be a looser fit, but the 6 was just a little too lose for my liking. I paired the dress with black booties, black opaque tights, and a leopard clutch and got a handful of compliments. I would have preferred to pair the dress with sheer black tights, but the thigh control portion of my tights peeked out under the short hem of the dress, so I had to go with opaque. All in all, it was a cute little new year's eve dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×