Shoshanna

Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
261 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 19, 2013
Super Short
I wore this for NYE. I had to wear the 8 instead of the 6 because the length. I'm not that tall, so if you're taller you may want to size up because of how short the dress is. The fabric was very nice and the fit was loose and comfy. Loved it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2013
so many compliments!
loved the color and shininess of this dress! i got so many compliments throughout the night. only thing is, it was a little shapeless so i felt like i was relying on the beauty of the dress and not how it made my body look. i'd rent again, though!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2013
the perfect dress to wear for an evening wedding!
It definitely runs big, so I would order a size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
January 4, 2014
The way this dress made me feel and look!
I loved the fit. It looked great. Got lots of complements!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2014
Sparkly without being over the top
Loved this dress - so comfy! It does run large because of the cut, so I went with my backup size so it wasn't quite so sack-like. It is SHORT - ended up having to wear leggings under it, which worked as it was a "Studio 54" themed fundraiser, and I had some sparkly leggings that fit right in. Added a chunky bracelet and ring, and was good to go!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 1, 2014
I loved this dress!!!
The dress did run big, but I am short so the smaller size was not too long. It also had a hole in the lining, like a giant hole where the arm meets the dress, big enough to put my arm in. It really didn't effect the dress so I wore it anyway, RTR was awesome about it, they actually refunded my money which was really beyond what I expected. Overall great experience. This brand is usually small, so it's great there were so many reviews telling me about the size.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
March 7, 2015
Cute dress, too short
The description says the dress is mid-thigh on a 5'5" model? I am 5'3" and it was unwearably short as a dress. It's a tunic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2015
Not a fan
Huge and loose, way to big for a two and completely shapeless. It looked like I wearing a big bag. Not for petite girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 19, 2015
Great for a Post Baby Body!
Very forgiving yet flashy...but tall ladies beware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 2, 2012
Could not wear the dress but it was so beautiful!
My shoulders were too broad for the dress and the arms were tight. Great dress though!!!!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2013
Lots of positive feedback on the cuteness of the outfit
It does run small, so when I ordered, that fact was in the notes. I ordered a sixze dwn and it fit just right.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 25, 2014
I loved this dress as soon as I opened the box!
I got the 8 and 10. The 8 fit throughout the body but the sleeves were ridiculously tight. I could not even raise my arms over my head. The 10 was nice and flowing throughout the body and the sleeves were comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2015
Great dress for a baby bump!
I wore this dress 32 weeks pregnant (8 months) to my baby shower. I usually wear a size 2 so I ordered a size 4 & 6 in the dress and ended up wearing the 6. I probably should have ordered a 6 & 8 because it does run very short but the 6 was fine. I just showed a little leg while sitting and opening gifts ;) The dress was a hit, I got tons of compliments and the color is really pretty in person. Would recommend to any mamas-to-be that want to have a little sparkle on their special day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 26, 2015
The color of this dress was beautiful.
I wore this dress to a "roaring 20's" work holiday party and received so many compliments. The color of this dress was so beautiful, but it was definitely short and the arms were almost uncomfortably tight. I was disappointed because I wanted to wear sheer tights, but had to wear opaque. If you don't have long legs and have skinny arms... rent this dress! Otherwise I wouldn't recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 3, 2014
Great Dress; if you're under 5 foot 4 with toothpick arms
At 5 foot 9 the only way I could wear this and not "pull a Brittany" would require pants. I have shirts longer than this dress, and there was just no way I could wear it out of the house. Additionally, the sleeves on this are very narrow. If you have built arms, like I do, you will have issues pulling the dress over your biceps. I was really disappointed not to wear this dress to a holiday party as the color is absolutely stunning, but really only good on more petite women.
ElizabethApril 1, 2014
I see that it's short, but this color is gorgeous on you!
MichelleApril 10, 2014
Thank you, Elizabeth! I am hoping for more in this color, but made for ladies with long legs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2014
I got a compliment from every girl in the room!
The dress in itself is great. I wore the dress in the size that I regularly wear. If your looking for a dress that is modest or longer, do not pick this one. We were in Austin and went out afterwards and I felt great, but it was a tad short. The sleeves were pretty tight but it wasn't uncomfortable. Overall would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 16, 2015
REALLY short
This dress is HEAVY and SHORT. Best for petites in the wintertime. I didn't end up wearing it so I sent it right back, and RTR's customer service was great, as always.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
The picture is unfortunately not an accurate portrayal of what I received.
What looks to be slightly loose on the model was in fact a muu muu on me. I was very disappointed with this dress and would have appreciated a tip to wear a belt! I was forced to wear another dress from my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 29, 2012
This dress was amazing and I received compliments from absolutely everyone! Bellissima!
It was super comfortable with the fit. However, I was planning on wearing no tights with it like shown on the model. However, if I raised my arms up the dress exposed EVERYTHING. I'm not sure if it's because I am tall or they way its sown. But the black tights still looked good. I absolutely loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
December 12, 2012
Perfect holiday party dress!
This dress was a lot of fun to wear and very flattering. I wore it to our office holiday party and received lots of compliments. I'm 5'7" and it was definitely short on me, but I wore it with tights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2012
A classy dress in a gorgeous color- you will sparkle and shine from the sea of LBDs!
Wore this to a holiday party, ordered a 10 and backup size 8 since others advised the dress runs large. Although the 8 fit, it was sooo SUPER short, even on my 5'3 frame! I'm talking barely mid-thigh. Since I knew I would be dancing at the party, I didn't want to be self-conscious about flashing my booty if I raised my arms or bent too far. Wearing tights was not an option in 80-degree South FL weather, so I wore the 10. It was a good fit, albeit a little looser in the waist/hip area. I felt like I had the best dress at the party- very holiday appropriate in the green shade and classy but still fun to wear- the dress sparkles beautifully. I can see any woman from her 20s to her 60s rocking this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2012
Perfect for a Christmas cocktail party!
I loved this dress! The color is GREAT in person. Def a show stopper. I'm normally a 4 or 6 depending on the designer and I had to go with the 6 because of how tight the arms were. Also I'm 5'2" and the 4 was so short! The 6 was short, but that's what I was going for. I didn't end up wearing tights, but it might have been a good idea because you will reveal your bum if you reach up too high for a hug or some killer dance moves. Also... I guess because the material is so thick it had retained the smell of someone else wearing it in the armpits. It didnt necessarily smell bad, it was just weird to me. I didn't find that the dress runs large. It's true to size and is beautiful! Perfect for a cocktail party around the holidays with moderate hugging and toned down dance moves. Sorry pics aren't clearer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2013
The BEST dress I have ever worn
This dress is incredible. It was a little short, so if you're worried about that I would order a size up. I wore it with black tights because of the season, but it would look great with or without. Definitely would order again! Wish I still had it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
January 21, 2013
RTR was a great experience. Very easy to use, and I was sure no one would have on the same dress.
The color of this dress was so beautiful that I received a lot of compliments on it. The dress is heavy and tends to fall back which made the neck choke me a bit. I had to keep pulling it back down in the front. Other reviewers mention that it was short, but I found it to be the perfect length. It is full coverage up top, so I was glad to show some leg. Also, I found it runs true to size. I always wear a 10 and ordered a 10 and an 8 because of the reviews. The 8 was too tight in my bust and arms to ever be considered comfortable. I wore the 10 and was overall comfortable and happy all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2013
Fabulous dress! I felt like a million bucks. Great fit and great quality.
I wore this dress in Las Vegas for the Miss America 2013 pageant. It was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and it was a flawless experience. The dress arrived on time, it fit perfectly and I felt like a million bucks in it. I paired the dress with gold heels a gold beaded/sequin clutch, gold bangles and drop earrings. The dress runs true to size. I would definilty recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 14, 2013
Dress I chose for my rehearsal dinner. Was amazing!
fit true to size - im short and it was still pretty short on me but fit like a mini dress should. loose and comfortable around the waist and arms - not going to be figure flattering but that's not the style of the dress. really perfect for a big night out and standing out in a sea of black cocktail dresses. i felt great the night before my wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2013
FABulous party dress!
I felt amazing in this mini dress! It was a show-stopper. We were celebrating my 40th Bday in Vegas at the Marquee nightclub. A perfect dress for the occassion. I want to own this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 24, 2013
The color of this dress is a stand out!
This dress was stunning! I was complimented so much in a room where people were wearing evening gowns! The color is spectacular. I would have loved to have worn the 8 but it was simply too short. The 10 was also short but not lewd. I would highly recommend this dress. I don't think this dress would be good on a shorter girl. I think it definitely looks good on a girl who's a bit taller because of the boxier shape to it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 25, 2013
Wore to my bachelorette party in Vegas!
I ordered a 6 but they sent me an 8. This dress is so pretty. Loose fitting, but really short. I was actually glad to have the 8 for a little extra length (if I put my hands straight up in the air, my entire bum would show). I wore tights FOR SURE! It was very comfy and I felt sparkly and fab.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2013
Absolutely beautiful dress! Flattering, stunning,and many compliments from men and women
The length was perfect if you have nice legs. Very flattering to a curvy body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171lbs
March 24, 2013
Perfect for a Glittery Night!
This dress fit great! I didn't have the problem that others said about it being heavy or pulling back against the neck. One thing I will say is that this dress is SHORT! I don't think I could have worn bare legs - luckily it looked great with black tights. I definitely had to watch it getting into and out of a vehicle. I ordered the 10 as the regular size and then a 12 as a back up. The 10 fit great and was blousy enough so I didn't try the 12. In hindsight, possibly the 12 would have been longer but I was worried it would look too baggy. It wasn't itchy and it has a lining so it was really comfortable! Overall very satisfied with the dress, condition it was in, and as always, the customer service of Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2013
A great outfit to wear to the Rock and Roll Hall of fame Induction Ceremony in L. A.
Beautiful color green. Lots of sparkle and fun to wear. If you plan to sit at all bring along a shawl to throw across your lap as the dress rides way up. Hangs loosely but looks great. I wear a six and it was plenty big to cover a pear shape figure. I also wore it with opaque black tights. You could wear leggings with it too if those are still in style I also rented the long drop green earrings buy Gerard Yosca and they were a perfect match.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2013
Stunning! Life of the PaRTY!!
The style of the dress is to fit a little loose. This dress was loose and Chic! I felt amazing!! This was the most FUN dress I've worn!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2013
I wore this dress for my 25th Birthday dinner to one of the best restuarants in San Francisco!
What an amazing dress! It was perfect for my romantic birthday dinner at Gary Danko. It fit well and was great to wear with shear black tights and booties (great for San Francisco's cool weather). I got a ton of compliments at the restaurant and after from all the pictures! Would definetly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 30, 2013
This is a really fun dress!
It is definitely short, if you lift your hands too far above your head it might get a little scandalous. Because its so short the fact that it is on the baggier side is not an issue. Its a great dress for a party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
Fabulous dress for Christmas time girls-night-out
This was such a great dress for the holidays. First off, it's beyond cute with an amazing shade of green, the length is pretty sassy (for sure on the shorter side) and the key hole feature in the back added a little sex appeal with out making it trashy or overdone. The best part of this dress is that it looks super hot and you can eat all you want because of the lose fit - can a girl ask for more? I don't think so. I wore this with black tights and patent black pumps because I live in Chicago and it was f-f-f-f-freezing outside. The arm length was great although the sleeve ran kinda tight. But so many redeeming qualities about this dress I had to give it 5 stars. I'll definitely rent again for a holiday party.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2013
How helpful the staff was helping me choose the right size.
The fit was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2013
I ordered this dress for a photo shoot for a model and wore it after myself too! It was super fun!
It is VERY short and while my 19 yr old model rocked it, I added leggings and worn it as a tunic. I felt much more comfortable this way. I worn the 4 to give a little more length, but the 2 fit better in the torso/bust. If you are short or young, go for it. If you are taller or a little older, then a pair of opaque tights might help.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 183lbs
October 13, 2013
I felt like a star on the red carpet. I got so many compliments from men and women.
I loved this dress!!! I ordered a size 12 and although the 12 and the 10 fit, I ended up wearing the 12. The length was perfect for me since I'm on the short side...I wore 4 inch heals and it fell perfect. When I tried on the dress the sleeves were a bit tight, but on the day of the event it was fine. I guess the initial try on stretched them out a little. I'm now accepting all party invites because I will never have the excuse that I have nothing to wear...Thanks to RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
Fabulous green color and awesome, flattering fit. Will be renting for the holidays!
Someone left a seam in the dress but once removed the length was perfect. I would recommend sizing up for a backup because it's tight in the arms/shoulders. Still wearable. Loved it!
See more reviews:
4 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×