Shoshanna

Make It Rain Dress

$56 to buy
$580 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share
261 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(124)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171lbs
March 24, 2013
Perfect for a Glittery Night!
This dress fit great! I didn't have the problem that others said about it being heavy or pulling back against the neck. One thing I will say is that this dress is SHORT! I don't think I could have worn bare legs - luckily it looked great with black tights. I definitely had to watch it getting into and out of a vehicle. I ordered the 10 as the regular size and then a 12 as a back up. The 10 fit great and was blousy enough so I didn't try the 12. In hindsight, possibly the 12 would have been longer but I was worried it would look too baggy. It wasn't itchy and it has a lining so it was really comfortable! Overall very satisfied with the dress, condition it was in, and as always, the customer service of Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 25, 2013
Perfect Semi-Formal dress <3
I worn this for my sorority's semi-formal. I definitely stood out with all of the sequence and got so many compliments! I wore a kate spade pearl and bow necklace with it and carried the Kate Spade Wink clutch which I also got great compliments on:) It did run big, so I had to go down a size, which then left the arms a little tight. The tighter arms didn't bother me much though, and the dress was easy to dance in. I didn't want to ever send it back!
PeytonMarch 25, 2013
was it too long?
lizMarch 25, 2013
@peyton, it was the perfect length for my event after going down a size. however, the 4 would have been too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Not My Style
This is my personal opinion. The dress fit, but I looked like the incredible hulk! Made my shoulders look very broad, and it was unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2013
Comfortable & Attention Grabbing
I LOVE THIS DRESS! I was actually sad to send it back. It was my first rental from RTR and I rented it to wear to the ACM Awards in Las Vegas and it worked perfectly. It was so comfortable even after hours on and the emerald green sequins stood out in a crowd of a lot of black. I got comments on it everywhere we went. I tried the 10 and 12 and even being bigger on top, the 10 fit much better. On the short side (and I'm fairly tall) but did not bother me at any time, wore with dark hose & shoes and no problems at all. Would recommend in a heartbeat.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful color. Way too short for me.
Pros: The color is stunning. Cons: This "dress" is extremely short on a tall person. I rented the 4 and 6 but only got the 4. It was tight across my shoulders but more-than-ample on my hips. Had I worn it as a dress, I would not have been able to raise my hands above my hips without exposing my saddle bags...or more. I wore it with skinny jeans and got lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2013
A great outfit to wear to the Rock and Roll Hall of fame Induction Ceremony in L. A.
Beautiful color green. Lots of sparkle and fun to wear. If you plan to sit at all bring along a shawl to throw across your lap as the dress rides way up. Hangs loosely but looks great. I wear a six and it was plenty big to cover a pear shape figure. I also wore it with opaque black tights. You could wear leggings with it too if those are still in style I also rented the long drop green earrings buy Gerard Yosca and they were a perfect match.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2013
Stunning! Life of the PaRTY!!
The style of the dress is to fit a little loose. This dress was loose and Chic! I felt amazing!! This was the most FUN dress I've worn!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2013
Lots of positive feedback on the cuteness of the outfit
It does run small, so when I ordered, that fact was in the notes. I ordered a sixze dwn and it fit just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
May 1, 2013
great dress!
I wore this to a formal ball and loved it. The size 12 was the only one available for the date I wanted so I went with it. It was really baggy and loose but it turned out fine with the fit of the dress. I think the 10 or even 8 would've been much better, but I was still happy with the larger size. I was worried about it being too short, but it was actually really long. I "hemmed" it with double sided tape and it was just right. Lots of compliments. Beautiful color. I wore tights just because of the shoes I was planning to wear, but it also looked great without tights and nude heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2013
I wore this dress for my 25th Birthday dinner to one of the best restuarants in San Francisco!
What an amazing dress! It was perfect for my romantic birthday dinner at Gary Danko. It fit well and was great to wear with shear black tights and booties (great for San Francisco's cool weather). I got a ton of compliments at the restaurant and after from all the pictures! Would definetly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
May 22, 2013
Looked great and felt great, just don't raise your arms above your head...
Got the 0 and 2 and the difference in length between the two sizes is laughable. The 2 has at least six inches on the 0. The style is made to be loose-fitting and looked great. The smaller size fit better, so that's what I wore, but I did alter my original plan a bit and wore sheer black stockings instead of a nude leg, just so I wouldn't feel exposed if I lifted my arms. I actually preferred the black stockings look in the end, so it all worked out. I loved the rich color and sequin sparkle. Looked great on stage and at the after party. Gams, girl, gams! This dress makes them look like a million bucks! Very comfortable and an easy wear with a regular bra. Pleased with my choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 30, 2013
This is a really fun dress!
It is definitely short, if you lift your hands too far above your head it might get a little scandalous. Because its so short the fact that it is on the baggier side is not an issue. Its a great dress for a party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
Fabulous dress for Christmas time girls-night-out
This was such a great dress for the holidays. First off, it's beyond cute with an amazing shade of green, the length is pretty sassy (for sure on the shorter side) and the key hole feature in the back added a little sex appeal with out making it trashy or overdone. The best part of this dress is that it looks super hot and you can eat all you want because of the lose fit - can a girl ask for more? I don't think so. I wore this with black tights and patent black pumps because I live in Chicago and it was f-f-f-f-freezing outside. The arm length was great although the sleeve ran kinda tight. But so many redeeming qualities about this dress I had to give it 5 stars. I'll definitely rent again for a holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
Fun & sparkly dress for Las Vegas!
The dress is short and sexy. It is meant to be baggy and fun. If it wasn't for the length, I could have worn the size 2. It was very comfortable and not scratchy to wear like some sequence dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 1, 2013
Ran larger than expected
I rented this dress for a concert. Yet it was too large and was slightly box-y. Beautiful color, but I did not like the fit.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 21, 2013
I rented this dress from my cousin's Bachelorette party and LOVED it - felt like a million bucks!!!!
The dress definitely ran large. I ordered the 10 and the 12. I was thrilled that I could fit into the 10, however, I couldn't raise my arms as the sleeves were too tight (guess I need to start pumping some iron). I wore the 12 and felt great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2013
How helpful the staff was helping me choose the right size.
The fit was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2013
I ordered this dress for a photo shoot for a model and wore it after myself too! It was super fun!
It is VERY short and while my 19 yr old model rocked it, I added leggings and worn it as a tunic. I felt much more comfortable this way. I worn the 4 to give a little more length, but the 2 fit better in the torso/bust. If you are short or young, go for it. If you are taller or a little older, then a pair of opaque tights might help.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 183lbs
October 13, 2013
I felt like a star on the red carpet. I got so many compliments from men and women.
I loved this dress!!! I ordered a size 12 and although the 12 and the 10 fit, I ended up wearing the 12. The length was perfect for me since I'm on the short side...I wore 4 inch heals and it fell perfect. When I tried on the dress the sleeves were a bit tight, but on the day of the event it was fine. I guess the initial try on stretched them out a little. I'm now accepting all party invites because I will never have the excuse that I have nothing to wear...Thanks to RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. It was perfect and I received so many compliments.
It runs a little large but the dress is just stunning! You will feel beautiful all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
Fabulous green color and awesome, flattering fit. Will be renting for the holidays!
Someone left a seam in the dress but once removed the length was perfect. I would recommend sizing up for a backup because it's tight in the arms/shoulders. Still wearable. Loved it!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2013
Amazing color, amazing dress
it's short, so be prepared to wear tall heels or opaque tights. loved the relaxed/sexy look of this for my bachelorette party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Comfortable Party Dress!
Runs pretty large. I received two sizes and one had been hemmed up at least 3 inches - way too short. The other was the perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
November 11, 2013
I tried it on at Henri Bendel and took it home the same day
It is very cute, but very short! I wore this dress with biker shorts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
Perfect birthday dress!
Loved this dress!! It was super easy to wear, I was even able to eat a full 3 course dinner! I couldn't lift my arms over my head because the dress would ride up, but the length overall was perfect on me because I'm short. The sizes run large, I wore a 2 and I usually take a 4 or 6. I got tons of compliments during the evening!! So sad I had to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Body type: Apple
November 15, 2013
Great party dress!
This dress was exactly as advertised. I'm 5'11 and was pleased the dress wasn't too short - if anything it was an inch or two longer than I'd hoped. The waist was very loose - very comfortable. Beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2013
Loved the deep green and the shimmer of this dress!
The color and shimmer of this dress was such an eye catcher, I definitely stood out all night! It was short and I was at a fancy bowling party so opted for leggings under it (which was a good call since I think the sequins would have irritated my thighs. I wore this with a belt and received many compliments. It was a warm dress though so if you plan to be dancing or somewhere warm I wouldn't recommend it, otherwise it was fabulous!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 4, 2013
Beautiful dress. Perfect for Vegas!
Sparkled like a gem! Thank you RTR
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 6, 2013
Gorgeous, super comfortable dress!
I hated to send this back! It was perfect for the occasion, which was a party at the Ohio State University's president's house. Yes, it was very short, but because it was so loose, it was not remotely trashy (just don't lift your hands over your head or everyone will see your bum - no O H I O's for me). It is definitely sized large. I usually wear a size two and I took the zero. The two looked wayyyyy too big and even though it was longer, I still opted for the zero. I even had a few friends ask me if I could have taken another size down (not possible). I wore this with sheer black tights and black heels that were not too tall, but not kitten heel either. I had a black clutch purse that went perfectly. I would recommend this mostly to boyish body types. I did not wear a bra (rarely necessary at a 32AA, but I tried it with a super enhanced pushup bra I have and it didn't fall great. I also recommend to wear your hair up or to the side to show off the gorgeous keyhole in the back.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
December 8, 2013
Beautiful but not as flattering as I'd hoped
This was my "main rental" but I actually ended up wearing the Milly "Sienna Sequin Stripe Dress" instead. In my opinion, this runs large. I was swimming in the 12 (and I typically wear a 12 in Shoshana). The 10 fit but I didn't think it was particularly flattering. The length was great -- I don't mind a short dress, as I think my legs are my best assets -- but it didn't do much for the rest of me. I liked that it hid my gut, but it felt a bit tent-like. I think this would like best on someone very thin, even though that seems a bit counter-intuitive for something so forgiving. Ultimately it was too shapeless, for me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 16, 2013
lovely color, but...
A bit too short in either the 4 or 6 and too baggy for my liking, but a truly beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
September 24, 2014
Perfect dress for New Years!
As always the RTR process was amazing. It was the perfect length and warmth for Texas winters. I am 5'7 so this would definitely be a mini on someone 5'9 or taller
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2013
Terrific dress
I got the 8 and the 10 the 8 was perfect but was very very short so I wore 10 which was big (although the dress is designed to be loose) but a decent (still short but not obscene) length. Beautiful color.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 27, 2013
loved it
loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2013
Amazing dress for my baby moon in New Orleans!
The dress runs large, as pre-pregnancy, I wore a 6. At almost 6 months, I was thrilled to fit an 8 and was swimming in the 10. I am petite, so it didn't feel very short. I loved it, felt great in it and hated to return it. The sequins on the seam got a little uncomfortable to sit in at dinner, but I wouldn't change anything else! Love!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
January 2, 2014
Beautiful dress for ringing in the New Year!
Wore this for New Years Eve. Loved the deep green... surrounded by so many black dresses, it really popped! Comfortable and easy to dance in all night. As for the fit--I got the 4 and the 6 (I'm usually between these sizes depending on the style of dress). Arms were tight on the 4, but I preferred it because I liked the shorter length. I have a large chest (32DDD--not even an option on my RTR profile!) and one con for us busty ladies is that it just hangs off your chest making you look a bit larger than you are. I wore a minimizing bra to offset that a bit. Wore this with my vintage mink coat and leopard heels. All in all a fantastic dress for ringing in the New Year!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
January 2, 2014
The color was gorgeous and the sequins made it absolutely perfect for New Years eve.
It is a great slinky dress and I would have gone with the 6 had it not been for the length. It appeared that it had been hemmed about two inches (both 6 & 8). I went with the 8 just to forgo any unwanted mishaps. Pros: Tons of compliments!! Great weight so it laid nicely which is especially important since it is not a body contour dress Gorgeous color Cons: Length on the size 6 was pretty short-I am 5'5 and if I raised my arms it came almost over my butt. (I do have a long torso) It was perfect for New Years Eve!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2014
Fabulous!
I rented this dress for a NYE wedding. The color is awesome and the fit was super flattering, which surprised me considering it is a shift dress. I did pair it with opaque tights because even on me it was short, but I would rent it again in a heartbeat if I had a reason to, I LOVED this dress! Got tons of compliments as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 10, 2014
Great for a Vegas wedding!! Short, but fun and flirty!
I rented this dress for a friends wedding in Vegas and it was great. It was my back up dress and it was fairly short, even for me at 5' 4". While it was short, it was so comfortable and because it was a little on the loose side, it was great to show some leg. I sometimes have issues with dresses being tight in the arms and this dress was not at all that way. Because it was my back up dress I didn't get to try it on in another size to compare. Overall, I was very happy in the dress and felt it was great for a night on the town in Vegas celebrating!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 27, 2014
Cute!
I didn't end up wearing this, but I liked the dress. It is very short, and sort of frocky, so if your arms aren't too big, you can probably go a size or two down. Would have worn it, just liked another option better.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×