Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Make It Rain Dress

$30 rental
$580 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab that midnight kiss and start the countdown wearing this sequin sensation by Shoshanna. An emerald beauty to wear for a night of dancing and fun with friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green sequin. Three quarter sleeve. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Invisible center back zipper. Keyhole back with button closure. Lined. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

245 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 117
Large 106
Photos 170
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was absolutely thrilled with this dress. I wore it at 13 weeks pregnant and it was very comfortable. I'm short (5'0") and the length was perfect for me, although it might be a bit short for taller gals. Would absolutely recommend to a friend!
Nikki
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Mar 4, 2014

A great birthday night out with my hubby!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this to wear for my birthday night out with my husband! My birthday is the day before St. Patrick's Day, so the color was absolutely perfect to celebrate in! It is definitely on the short side, so I wore black tights with it, but I still loved the look! I went with the larger size so that I was able to move in it a little better without the worry of it creeping up too high! Overall, I felt AMAZING in this dress, and it was the perfect night!
Jenna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Fab dress with sparkle!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! I was 4 months prego and the shape worked so well!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Ease of service, selection and the compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The ft of the 6 was better on my torso and less "sacky" but was too short. The 8 was a little loose but was a much better length on me. The dress looked great and was comfortable except it doesn't breath well at all in the upper body. The warmth was great outside but in the crowded room I got pretty toasty.
Denise
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Mar 10, 2014

This was my first rental from RTR and I couldn't be happier! The hardest part was selecting a dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 4 months pregnant and too small for most maternity dresses and too big for most of my closet, so I tried RTR and I couldn't be happier. I received a ton of compliments! I normally wear a size 4, but ordered a 6 and 8 to accommodate the baby bump. I wore the 6 and it fit great! It was a little short for my pasty white legs so I paired it with black tights and black patent leather shoes. I felt comfortable and fabulous! I'll def use RTR in the future!!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Dress color was vibrant and style was fun & playful!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit true to size, and it was the 2nd time i rented it so you know i love it! The only downside is that i usually wear a 6, and while the 6 fit better, the length of the 6 was literally at the bottom of my bum cheeks, so god forbid i reach my arms to my hair and all that i have would be exposed! I found that while the 8 was more roomy around the middle, it was a great style & the length was much better! Wore with nude shoes & it was perfect!
RTR Customer
Mar 17, 2014

Sparkly and fun dress for dinner, show and dancing in Vegas

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Night out in Vegas. Boxy, comfy, loose.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

So much fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress but as other reviewers had said- it's short!! I sized down because that was recommended, but I wish I hadn't. I ended up wearing opaque tights. If I hadn't, I probably would not have sat down or raised my arms at all.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 18, 2014

Made my 30th birthday fabulous.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I could have worn the 8 or 10 but chose the smaller size -- it has plenty of room.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Incredibly fun showstopper. So many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got a 4 and 6. I ended up going with the 6 because it had a little more length and had a little more of a baggy, loose look (which I preferred). I wore this to a St.Patrick's Day party and then for a Girl's Night Out the next day. I was getting compliments all over the place! This is a fun dress. Bare in mind that this is a little short. I couldn't raise my arms without completely revealing my butt. It wasn't really an issue, though. Just had to be careful!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Killer dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Super rock star, attention getting, fun dress! Compliments all night, the color made my eyes match the dress. I wish I owned this dress. It totally rocks. Based on reviews, I went down sizes-in this case, the 2 fit; but was snug in the arms and shoulders. I could have worn my normal size 4 and been fine. And it is short-really short. Makes it even better!
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

great bump-friendly dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was a great bump friendly dress for a wedding. i'm 29 weeks pregnant and had no idea what size i would fit in so couldn't really go dress shopping as soon as i'd have wanted. it was great to be able to order this dress in 2 sizes and cross my fingers that one fit. the smaller size was perfect! i got so many compliments all night and the dress was super comfy.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Great dress! Perfect for seeing Wicked the musical!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress! Very comfortable and flattering. The only drawback is you can't raise your arms up too high or the already short dress hikes wayyy up. I wore black tights and soffe shorts underneath and was very comfortable. I received many compliments and felt great all night long. Perfect for a night on the town!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

My date was great as always and the event was in Charleston which made it even better!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great, lots of compliments that night and weeks after from family and friends. The four fit the best for me & was super comfortable all night long!
Holli
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Apr 14, 2014

Loved wearing this dress that was fun, not too formal, but still felt glamorous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitely runs a little large in the waist/body. I ordered a 4 & a 6 based off of the reviews. The body of the 4 fit me the best, but it was way too tight in the arms/chest area. I went with the 6 and was comfortable the whole night. Got a ton of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Apr 14, 2014

Super cute and super short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had to go with tights because it was just a bit too short. I had also ordered an 8 and that was upwards of two inches longer than the 6. But it was boxier so I went with the more fitted one.
Suttiluk
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 176 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

I got a lot of compliment and when I walked in people look at me and smile!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is really comfortable and really nice color!!! Dress is not too short for me... All my friend They all said it suit me well with my hair ... Feel like a star of the night
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Lots of compliments!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
#ChannellingMadMenMegan; Runs a little small in the shoulders but is great for bigger hips and to hide any stomach flaws.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Wore this for my bachelorette party - I loved it!!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
So comfortable, very flattering and fit well. I wore it with tights due to the weather. Wish u could keep this! Also photographed very well.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

This dress is money! Sexy, flirty, comfort: all that a date in NYC with dinner and broadway can be !

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This pretty dress fits and looks just as it appears in the picture online/on the app. So easy to wear and so glamorous all at the same time. Was given a complement as soon as I walked into the restaurant. Love, love, love. Will shop Rent the Runway forever. When I received did have a slight imperfection on inside seam with both sizes. Called RTR to inform and they offered to overnight a new dress right away. Perfect service on top of everything else. So impressed!
Kasey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

I got a compliment from every girl in the room!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress in itself is great. I wore the dress in the size that I regularly wear. If your looking for a dress that is modest or longer, do not pick this one. We were in Austin and went out afterwards and I felt great, but it was a tad short. The sleeves were pretty tight but it wasn't uncomfortable. Overall would absolutely rent this again!
Aly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Wonderful night in Vegas in a wonderful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the PERFECT Vegas dress! Ran pretty true to size, maybe a little shorter than expected but that's not a bad thing for Vegas :)
Mandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 9, 2014

The dress was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Oddly enough, the size 2 was about 1.5 inches longer than the size 4 so I wore the 2. I love the small cutout of the back of the dress. It was a hit! Gorgeous color and sparkle!
RTR Customer
May 10, 2014

I was stunning in a Vegas setting !

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I knew I couldn't wear a 0, so I preceded to get a 2 and 4. It's very true, everything shows when you lift your arms too high and it rises if you bend over even a little. I wore it with nude heels and I looked stunning.
RTR Customer
May 11, 2014

What made my night unforgettable was the dress for dress for sure

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit so well and was the perfect length for me!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
May 11, 2014

I loved this dress and got so many compliments! Great fit, length, and overall quality!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
#bachelorette #stpattysglam
Kara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
May 12, 2014

I was called a disco ball by my friends, but received many compliments as well. Is it VERY short!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got both the size 6 and 8. The size 6 fit perfectly, except for the length! My husband thought the 8 looked baggy and loose but I had more dancing clearance. The 6 fit well but I couldn't raise my arms above my shoulders without showing my underwear. I also flip flopped between wearing black hose and shoes or no tights and nude shoes. It was decided to wear the nude and I'm glad I did. It pairs well with the nude shoes, the black was too dark and made it seem matronly and a little frumpy. The length is what keeps it attractive I suppose.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 15, 2014

Standout dress in a sea of sparkles

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for a friends "sparkle" themed bachelorette party. It was very comfortable to wear for 8+ hours including dinner and dancing. Because the dress is so short I wore a pair of black bike shorts underneath to make getting in/out of cars easier. The dress was long enough so they were hidden all night (standing/dancing/etc) unless I lifted my arms above my head.
Vanessa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 18, 2014

I felt pretty hot!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got compliments all night and it was truly magical! The dress was a little bit short on me, but I loved it either way.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
May 26, 2014

7 months pregnant and it still made me feel lovely!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress - only con subtracting a star is that the sequins dug into the backs of my thighs when I was seated. Otherwise, great dress!
Mollie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Stand Out Dress for My Bachelorette Party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great shift dress, very flattering on any body type! Definitely a mini dress, but it was perfect for my bachelorette party, or would be for any party night! Everyone loved it...still get complements on it months later.
Jihan
Age: 32
Aug 5, 2014

The glamour! Everyone was in awe of my dress! I felt gorgeous! :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 12 but the size 12 was way to big on me... The size 10 was perfection... Dresses are short but that's exactly what I wanted!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Classic mod look with black tights and platform heels!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my dressy, downtown engagement photo shoot. I love the swing shape of the dress and the length...it's short! But so am I! It was the perfect mod look with my opaque black tights, platform heels and heavy bangs. We did a themed shoot on rooftops and with downtown skylines and it was absolutely perfect. Can't wait to see the final engagement shots! Would absolutely rent this again!
Tegan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Such a great dress for a friends 1920's themed 30th birthday!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great flowy fit, but the arms run a little tight. It's such a fun dress and I received so many compliments.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

I felt gorgeous while 9 months pregnant at my baby shower!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this at about 9 months along at my baby shower and felt wonderful! Yes, it's short, but I am 5'9" and it was fine. I DID SIZE UP. I ordered the 12 with a 10 backup size. Both fit my bump, but the 12 was a bit longer so I went with that. When not pregnant, I normally wear a 4/6 so I really sized up for this, but with a 9 month bump that's what ya do! :) So if you are worried about it just size up. I got tons of compliments and felt wonderful. A great bump dress! :)
RebDeWinter
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

this was a charity gala benefitting Devereux Texas Treatment Network - New Orleans theme

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is big, but probably designed to be that way. Very short so smaller size would have been obscene. I bought some black brocade shorts / hot pants to wear underneath with thick black tights so that when I danced and raised my arms above my shoulders, I was covered. I wore very high platform suede black booties with beading on them - went perfectly together. Got a lot of compliments thought - beautiful shade of green.
liz
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

This was for my 30th birthday

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is short, so raising your arms poses a problem, but the dress, guhh, it's soo lovely and fun. I personally like a short dress with long sleeves as I think it brings the sexy and classy vibe together. Got compliments throughout the night and wished I could have kept it forever. When you sit, the sequins do tend to dig into your leg, but beauty is pain right? I wore the 10 and didn't even try on the 8 because I figured it would be shorter and this was short enough. Had plenty of room to spare but definitely did not feel like a potato sack on. Don't do a disservice to yourself! Bottom line, get this dress.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Oct 7, 2014

Sassy and fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It is very striking and good for those with a tummy, booty, or hips. The lining was very comfortable except it did not go to the bottom of the hem so there was a little scratchiness at the bottom. Nothing too annoying though. I recommend renting if you are petite. Still a mini but not too short. If you are tall you may feel overexposed.
veronica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

so fantastic getting to rent an awesome fun sparkly dress that i know i would only ever wear once!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
the color and sparkle was so much fun to wear to a wedding. I felt fabulous! however, the short length kept me a little cautious on the dance floor. the 2 fit better up top, but dancing would have been nearly impossible, so i went with the 4, even if it was on the baggy side. better safe than sorry!
CC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

SO much fun and apart from the bride's dress I think got the most compliments of the day!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As every reviewer has said, this dress is SHORT, but not in a slutty/sleazy way at all. I'm 5'9" and it only became a problem when I raised my arms (totally necessary as I wanted to dance!!) - so I paired it with leggings instead and a pair of black suede booties. I'm sure that black opaque tights would work too, but I wore it to a "barn wedding" (in Portland in October) so I was trying to dress it down a little. That's not to say it HAS to be worn with tights, it doesn't, but if you want to dance or raise your arms AT ALL and remain unexposed to your belly button, wear SOMETHING. I had zero problem sitting in it - it didn't crawl up at all. It is definitely boxy and roomy, I got the 6 and easily could have worn a 4, but the 6 was so short I feared a 4 would be at my waist. It's comfortable, but also can get very warm. It's seriously such a gorgeous color in person, overall it's a knockout dress. I've never received more compliments on something I've worn - though I'll admit, most people just assumed it was a longer shirt rather than a dress ;-) Still, my fiancé wanted to know how much it was to buy because he LOVED it so much on me. Rent this ladies it's super fun!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×