Mabrey Maxi Dress

$134 to buy
$485 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ready for fun and sun in this colorblock maxi by Shoshanna. This dress will brighten up the room at your brunch or wedding event! Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring with these fun colors.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red, pink, and orange crepe de chine (100% Silk). Sleeveless. Crewneck. Open back with high neck button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 28, 2013
The dress fit perfectly!The color was so different then what anyone else wore and the pockets rocked
The high neck was incredibly flattering with a bit of open back created a sexy balance. The colors were bright and fun during the Fall season. The slight high front made getting around and walking stairs very easy. Also, the pockets were so handy! I could have my cell in one pocket and lipstick is the other :) I got numerous compliments all night on this dress and truly wish I could keep it. The customer service was amazing also. I originally received a dress too big but a stylist helped me find something new and perfect for my body and taste.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 26, 2013
Great dress!
Fits true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2013
Tough fabric for summer events
Received this as a replacement dress - it was pretty but the bust was a little tight and it was too hot and humid for the event (outdoor wedding in August) - I was too worried about sweating through the delicate silk fabric. Had it been May, I would have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 16, 2014
Awkward fit, not good for full bust.
Had swooned over this dress for a while but when it arrived I was very disappointed. Color is much more deep red than in picture and the fit was awful. I looked like a stuffed sausage. Sent back unworn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
perfect dress for a summer wedding
super-comfortable fun dress for a summer wedding - would recommend to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
March 3, 2014
This dress was very pretty. Fell nicely and the material was lovely!
Fit was great, especially the length. I'm not tall, so I was worried (with all long dresses!) that the dress would be puddling at the floor. It didn't. Pockets were a great detail! I'm glad I got the 2. . .I normally wear a 0, but the bust would have been too snug for a bra. It technically fit, but would not have been appropriate for the wedding. The 2 was nicely cut, but left enough room for proper underwear (and a normal bra is hidden perfectly, no need for a strapless). Recommend this dress!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2014
Tons of compliments, perfect for this color blocking season
The colors are stunning. Great way to show off fun shoes. The color in the middle is more orange-ish not a true red. Amazingly comfortable especially if you prefer fit top with room around the hips and thighs. I am 5'4" and wore the regular length with heels and it was perfect. LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 16, 2014
I didn't wear it.
The bust area was too small.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
April 2, 2014
This was a great dance to dance to the band in! Plus the bright colors were awesome.
I ordered the 10 & the 12 because I usually wear a 12. I was surprised that the 10 fit, especially in the bust. It was a great fit and such a fun dress to wear to the party that I went to. The colors were so bright and perfect for summertime.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 7, 2014
Colorful, comfortable maxi for any occasion
I wore this dress to an afternoon engagement party and it worked out perfectly. Colorful, comfortable, and received many compliments! I am always a size 6 in Shoshanna, but did order the 6R and 6L since I'm 5'10". I ended up wearing the 6L with flats and it worked out really well. I could have also rocked some wedges due to the longer length in the back of the dress, and it still would have works. The 6R was way too short in the front and clearly looked like it was just too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 18, 2014
I wore this dress to my baby shower at 30 weeks pregnant! I received SO many compliments!
I could have possibly used a size 8 but when I ordered the dress I was not sure how big my belly would be by then. Pre-pregnancy I would have probably been a 0-2 in this style as it has plenty of room in the hips. It was super cute and made me feel beautiful even at 30 weeks preggo! All night everyone asked where I got the dress! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Very cute dress
This runs pretty true to size, but it was the tiniest bit snug on my upper body. It is a beautiful and comfortable dress and I loved the pockets. I did not end up wearing this dress though b/c I didn't feel comfortable enough with the top. I'm in between sizes right now so it was a bit hard b/c the 14 dress I picked out was too large, so I went with this 12 and it was a bit too small. I would highly recommend it though - it's lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2014
Beautiful dress. Great material. Wish I could have had the regular size!
I originally ordered the 12R and was super excited about this dress. Rent the Runway staff were so helpful when the 12R was damaged beyond repair and was not able to ship to me. They sent me a beautiful alternative dress, which didn't end up fitting but was much appreciated. I wish I was taller! The long was just way too long for me.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
May 8, 2014
Standard bra doesn't work
The dress looks lovely, and I wanted to wear it. The description says I should be able to wear a standard bra with the dress, so I didn't purchase anything special to wear with it. When I tried it on, the entirety of the back of my bra was exposed, and in fact, I would have needed to wear a low-back bra. I'm on vacation and got the dress to wear to a bridal brunch/rehearsal dinner so I don't have time to get a new bra. Luckily I brought a backup dress. I'll be returning this for a refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 8, 2014
Honestly don't think this dress could be more perfect !
The colors, the fit - everything about this dress is perfect. I wore it to a fashion show where most women wore LBDs. I stood out and loved it! Def wearing this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2014
Perfect for the occasion!
I rented this dress for an Indian wedding as I wanted something long, relatively conservative and bright (I knew I'd be the only woman not in traditional attire but still wanted to "fit in") . I wore a pair of peep toe wedges with a 2.5 inch heel and the length was perfect on me. I loved that I could wear just a regular bra too even though the back has a cut out detail that added a little something special! It was so comfortable and flowy and the fabric looked expensive. Absolutely perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 31, 2014
bright and colorful, a perfect outfit for summer.
I wore this dress to a food & wine festival. It fit snug, but still allowed me to eat :) For a maxi dress, it was a little shorter than I thought it would be (especially since I'm already short and I ordered the regular) and the armpit part dug a little, but other than that it fit great. I wish I took photos!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
June 2, 2014
The dress was perfect for a summer rehearsal dinner.
The fit worked but I needed heels. If I wore flats the back would have dragged. Very lightweight and comfortable fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
June 13, 2014
This dress fits well and was comfortable for an evening affair.
Great dress. Colors are awesome and pockets an added plus. The fit is true to size and I went braless, as there is a nice lining to keep the silk from being too revealing. It does fit true to size, but at 5'5" i found the 10R to be a perfect length (so taller ladies beware!).
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2014
This dress is perfect for a summer wedding!
I loved wearing this maxi dress for a summer wedding that I attended in Oregon last weekend. It was so comfortable due to the pockets and silk material. It was also formal enough to not feel like a sun dress, but casual enough to work for a day to evening wedding. I am 5'2" for reference and the 2R was just the right length. It fit true to size- I always wear a size 2. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 16, 2014
Fun summer colors
Perfect fit, length was perfect for heals or chunky wedges
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2014
Loved it! Perfect for beach wedding.
This dress is comfortable to wear and looks great on. Great for multiple body types. I think I would have given it 5 stars if the back had a larger cut out. I rented both the 2 regular and 2 long. I ended up wearing the long because it fit better around the arms and hit my torso in a more flattering way than the regular length. I would recommend sizing up if you have a larger bust.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 27, 2014
Too Short
I did not end up wearing this dress for the event (I wore an alternate RTR dress) as it was too short for me. I am 5'8" and it was a few inches off the ground without shoes...I thought it looked a little strange. The colors are really pretty and bold and the pockets are a fun touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2014
Afternoon outfit for a girls weekend in Chicago. Had to wear a jacket but great choice!
The button at the top was a little difficult to button, and the cinched/seamed portion at the rib cage fit a little tighter than the rest of the dress did (not quite proportionately). But overall, the dress was beautiful, the fabric was amazing, and it was extremely flattering, even with flats. The only real issue was that the weather was chilly and I had to cover up with a jacket too often!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
July 6, 2014
Not for me - Colors not very strong and not a great shape
This dress was just blah. I was expecting it to be something really fun and special, but it definitely wasn't, so I ended up not wearing it. Other people must have filtered/saturated their pictures, because the colors were not very strong in person. The shape was also unflattering - just kind of hung in some places and got really voluminous in others. Great experiences with RTR, but this dress just missed the mark.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
July 7, 2014
Perfect dress for a summer wedding
This dress was great. I could wear a normal bra! Super comfortable, I found it runs large as I usually wear an 8 in dresses, I ordered a 6 just in case, the 6 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2014
Stood out from the crowd in this colorful dress!
Fit perfectly and true to size. People loved it, and I really loved the fact it had pockets!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2014
Great colors, unique but not too out there, comfortable for a long day.
Loved this dress. Received so many compliments and it really photographed well. Very comfortable for a long day - I was in this dress for 12 hours for one wedding! I had been looking forward to wearing this dress for months as I planned for this event, and it definitely met my expectations. Fit was true to size. I was not able to wear a normal bra with this dress because of the back, but invested in a strapless/backless because I knew i would use it later and that worked well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 26, 2014
Fabulous dress
Loved everything about it...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
September 21, 2014
Bright and fun, yet comfortable
Was a back up and ended up wearing it to the rehersal dinner. Great choice for a comfortable, fun, dressy or casual event..
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
November 20, 2014
Fun, colorfull dress great for a summer rehearsal dinner.
Many compliments!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2013
All three of the dresses I ordered came damage free and perfectly on time just how I had expected!
It was a bit big around the waist but that was bound to happen because I am slim for my height! But over all it was very comfortable and fun to wear! It is shorter in the front at the bottom than it is in the back and you have to wear a slip because it is a bit see-through. The opening in the back required a low-back bra. The dress received tons of compliments and it was super easy to dance in!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 179lbs
March 9, 2015
This was a great choice for an outdoor wedding! Color is stunning. Very comfortable.
If you are in between sizes I recommend going down a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2015
Bright dress for Spring/Summer
I rented this dress for a cherry blossom celebration, so the colors were great. The dress was extremely vibrant and the way the dress flowed was fun. The fit was not right for my body type. The skirt is full and it made my hips look a bit larger than they are. It was a fun dress for a Spring day, but not my favorite dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 18, 2015
So fun - colors are amazing!
I loveeed this dress! I wore on a wine tasting date and everyone loved it. Got lots of compliments! Can definitely be dressed up or dressed down. Will definitely rent again.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 27, 2015
great colors, comfortable, and easy to wear.
This was an alternate dress hastily selected at the last minuet after receiving an email one day before my shipment that my first choice alternate was no longer available. Sadly my first choice didn't fit and I had no choice but to wear this one. I don't hate the dress, it just wasn't quite the same as the one I really wanted to wear. I have a long torso and I felt the waist on this dress was not flattering on me. It was not empire waist-ed or sitting on my true waist , so I felt like it made me look heavy, but really that is my only complaint. As many others mentioned it was nice to be able to wear a normal bra with this dress and it still felt elegant with the open back. Pockets on a dress are always a plus! Perfect for your phone and a lipstick. The color was truly beautiful and bright, a real stand out in a crowd. It was appropriate for the wedding we attended as it was on the more casual side. If it is a fancier event I'd probably select a different dress, unless you really want to dress it up with fancy jewelry and shoes. As for jewelry I also rented a coral/orange pair of Kendra Scott earrings. I already knew I would love them because I own them in blue and black. The orange was the perfect color to match the little patch or orange on the dress. Shoes- I wore a very small wedge and it was just enough to keep the back of the regular length dress from dragging on the ground.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 4, 2015
Bright color and fun shape
I was afraid it would be a little muu-muu fitting but it isn't. It was comfortable and lightweight, if maybe a little snug on the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
July 1, 2015
Gorgeous, comfortable dress!
I received many compliments on this dress! I wanted something semi-formal and comfortable for an outdoor summer wedding. This dress fit like a glove and draped beautifully. I felt so stylish, yet relaxed. This dress could be really great for a formal or informal event. Plus the colors are fun.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2013
Amazing, striking, fun and comfortable dress!
I rented this dress for a black tie gala and it definitely stood out as one of the more festive dresses of the evneing. It runs true to size but it is also a forgiving dress for an event where you are having a sit down meal. It has pockets too and I really can't over-stress how comfortable it was to wear. Definitely wished I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 19, 2013
I loved this dress! It was comfortable - even pockets, yet dressy enough for a formal event.
The dress was true to size. Since I'm only 5'1" the empire waistline fell closer to my true waist which worked well. The dress wasn't too long. I wore platform shoes which made it a good length for me.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×