Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(297)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 29, 2011
Great winter wear
Perfect for a cold weather night out. Could be dressed up or down for day or night wear. More purpley color than expected, and ran a little big (I would have gone down a size if it was available). Pretty short - even for a 5'4", I definitely needed tights.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
January 3, 2012
I would have spent DAYS searching for the perfect dress, but RTR sent me options instead.
I normally wear a 10, but after reading the reviews I got a back up size 8. The 10 fit and looked nice, but the 8 looked way better. Many reviews stated that this dress is very short. It is short, but I'm 5'4" and it wasn't as short as it was on the taller ladies in their pictures. Like others said, the dress is a dark dusty purple. Very gorgeous. I wish I could afford to own this dress! I paired it with the Commando Black Opaque tights available from RTR. These tights are amazing. I normally wouldn't spend this money on tights, but they are so worth it. They are truly opaque! No stretching thin.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 4, 2012
Perfect Fit
Loved this dress! It fit perfectly and was true to size! This was my first time renting a dress and I will be doing it again in a couple of weeks for another function I have
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2012
Beautiful AND Comfortable!
This dress was beautiful on and so easy to wear. I wore it to a New Year's Eve event that I worked. Because it was a professional engagement (and I'm in my mid 50's) I needed to be somewhat concerned about the length. I ordered the 4 and the 6, ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was too short. The 6 gapped a little at the back of the neck however it still looked lovely on. It is dark plum and flattering to fair skin. The dress runs true to size. I received many compliments and would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 11, 2012
This was an excellent pick for my boyfriend's 30th Birthday party in NYC! Not only did it look great, but it never felt uncomfortable as we danced into the wee hours of the morning. He knew how excited I was for my first RTR rental and said it definitely didn't disappoint. Thanks, RTR - for an unforgettable night!
Rented this dress for my boyfriend's 30th Birthday weekend in NYC. This was my first RTR rental and my overall experience exceeded expectations. The fit was true-to-size and the color was great for coordinating fun jewelry. The lace was not itchy in the slightest and it felt very comfortable and not too form fitting. The only down side to the weekend was having to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
January 11, 2012
Trut to Size - Loved it!
I wore this to a Rehearsal Dinner -- it was a beautiful dress! The lace was in great shape, it was very comfortable. It's not an extremely flattering dress because it's pretty straight but it's perfect for eating & drinking with still feeling comfortable. It in no way is too wide or frumpy. I'm between a 0 and a 2 and went with the 0 which fit perfectly. The only thing that bothered me was the lenght - it was about an inch shorter than what I would have liked considering it was a family affair. I definitely recommend for a date, party, or wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2012
Style and comfort!
I wore this dress to a family member's engagement party with black tights and black pumps. It was very comfortable and I felt stylish. I paired it with the Azaara Gold Disk Earrings from RTR which looked great, too. It fit true to size for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2012
My best friend loved the dress so much she rented it the next weekend and wore it exactly how I did
I rented this dress for a night out with friends in DC/Georgetown in January 2012. This dress was absolutely perfect for what I wanted-- flattering and trendy in a seasonally appropriate, classy way. I wish I had worn a big, statement necklace since black tights/heels make the outfit look a little dark, so maybe think about that ahead of time! The dress fits true to size and honestly, I didn't think it was the shortest thing ever. I highly recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2012
Made my birthday special!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was my backup dress as the main dress just wasn't doing it for me. My only problem is that it was a TINY bit to small on me. I should have know to order an 8. Other than that, beautiful dress and got tons of compliments. I wish I owned it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
January 23, 2012
Amazing Dress!
A little short but was fantastic with tights. The neck line was beautiful and the dress was elegant yet edgy. A fabulous find!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 24, 2012
felt amazing in this dress!
I really loved this dress and it was perfect for the formal alumni event I wore it to. I ordered the 0 and the 2, the 2 was a little bit longer but the overall fit with the 0 was much better for my body type. I'm not super tall so it wasn't really short like some of the other reviews say. It's comfortable and the lace is amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2012
Classic, easy to wear dress!
Got this dress as a back-up for a party but ended up loving it so much that I dressed it down with black tights and flat boots and wore it to work. It's also super comfortable! I got so many compliments on it that I wish I actually owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2012
In love with this dress
This dress was amazing. I ordered this dress and it fit perfectly. I am 5'5 and it was not too short. Its fitting but not tight on my body so it was so flattering! I wish I owned this dress, it was gorgeous!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2012
Perfect
This was my first time renting from this site and had such a wonderful experience. I absolutely loved this dress and wish I could have kept it! I took the advice of most reviewers who said this dress ran a little big and ordered my normal size, 4, as well as a 2. I ended up going with the 2 as it was a little more form fitting and a little shorter in length (I was looking for something more suited for a night out). The 4 was a little more boxy and was a little too overwhelming for my body shape. This dress was stunning and is perfect for someone who is a little more body concious as it does not hug all your curves. This dress is also more of a plum color than navy. I paired it with a big chunky necklace, which I also rented (Cara Accessories "Bring it On Necklace), and it was a perfect match! Definitely recommend renting this dress - you will not regret it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2012
Great dress!
Love this dress, got lots of compliments and felt great. I'm 5'6" and as others have said it is short, but I felt comfortable without tights (although I couldn't really bend over) - I think the short length balanced out the long sleeves nicely though. Dress was a beautiful dark greyish/purple, wore it with grey suede pumps and pink accessories, felt very feminine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2012
Beautiful!
This is a very classic dress, but the lace overlay makes it very special. I loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
February 22, 2012
LOVED it
I absolutely loved this dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and though the 4 fit a little better (I like things short) the 6 actually came in black which I liked much better on. I wish I owned this dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2012
Out the the Theatre
This was a great dress, and perfect for going out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2012
Wonderful
I wore this to a winter wedding in St. Louis. Loved the fit. It was a bit loose throughout the body but the 2 showed a little bit of cheek. It is short but I was comfortable dancing all night (I did have on hose though for a bit more coverage.) Got lots of compliments all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
March 2, 2012
Great Dress
I have a very difficult time finding dresses that fit. I'm a normally size 8 (usually a 10 in dresses though) and ordered both the 8 and 10. I was swimming in the 10 and wore the 8. I probably could have even gotten away with a size 6 but the 8 looked good. I paired it with black tights and black heels. You don't need a lot of jewelry with the dress either. I wore some bracelets and stud earrings. The dress was extremely comfortable and figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2012
Amazing little dress!
I wore this dress to a museum opening in NYC and absolutely loved it. Runs true to size, very flattering if you want to show off the legs--but know that it is super short! Not for a super conservative occasion. But I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2012
Bridal Luncheon
I wore this for my bridal luncheon (in December) and it was gorgeous! The fit was amazing and the fabric and overall tailoring of the dress was great! I'm so glad I picked this and wore it! I wore it with black tights and black booties.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
April 2, 2012
I Want to Own It!
i wore this dress for an internship interview. I loved the way I felt in the dress. Everyone loved the dress and wanted to know where I got it from. The color and style is so universal; it could basically be dressed up or dressed down. I'm usually an 8 but it was a little big so I put on a cute belt. It landed about 4 fingers up from my knees. I would defiantly recommend this dress to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
Lots of Compliments!
This dress was a great choice for a dressy party. The fit is just as you expect, and if you have big boobs, the best part is that you can wear a regular bra. Although, as other reviews point out, it is a bit short, since the dress is so covered up elsewhere, the length gives it some sex appeal. Also, I tend to usually wear either a 4 or 6, depending on the fit, and this dress is on the bigger size, so if you're in between sizes, size down.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 20, 2012
Loved it!
I thought it was true to size but quite roomy in the midsection... Short, but flattering for me with my short trunk....I liked the quality of the lace for an inexpensive rental fee...Covers your arms enough...no pressure to tan.... I went in a different direction... Sheer silver tights, pewter pumps and sparkly jewelry....huge hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2012
Cuter in person!
I wore this dress out to dinner for my birthday, and it was perfect. A few younger girls at the bar after even complimented me on it, which was a great ego boost ;) I really liked the fit, and liked that it was short enough to show some leg, in a tasteful way, but still feel sexy even with the high neckline.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 30, 2012
I wasn't expecting to get so many compliments from a dress that is so comfortable to wear!
I was going to order an 8 and a 6, but after reading reviews, I decided to order a size down. So I ordered a 6 and a 4, fully intending to wear the 6 since I'm more of an hourglass shape (full bust and full hips), but because this is a shift dress, the fit is a bit more loose. Both sizes fit, but the 6 was kind of falling off my shoulders and felt much roomier than the 4. So in the end, I wore the 4 and I never even felt like I needed to be sucking in my stomach. Even though the shape is forgiving, it's still very sexy, mostly because of how short it is. I was at a cocktail party event where I knew I would be standing most of the time, so I wasn't as worried about the shortness. The color is more of a dark purple. This whole process was so easy. I also loved that they included a little sampling of fashion tape for you to use for free. Very thoughtful.
MissyOctober 27, 2012
did it stretch at all? like could you pull it down if it was needed?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2012
Perfect Little Navy Dress
I wore this to a friend's birthday dinner and it was perfect for the occasion. To avoid being too dressy, I paired it with dark grey tights, cognac knee-high boots, and lots of layered gold jewelry. Tons of compliments all night long, as per usual with RTR!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 6, 2012
Best rental yet
This dress was so flattering and comfortable - a little short, so probably not great for a family affair. I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2012
Classy and fun!
Wore this for a night on the town - dinner & drinks, Broadway show, more drinks and karaoke. It was perfect every step of the way. Great dark plum color that you can accessorize with anything. The fabric has give in it which means for those of us with hips, you can wear the size that fits your chest & waist best. Great for hourglass figures. Runs true to Shoshanna's sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2012
So many compliments!
I needed something simple yet classic for a baptism. This dress was true to size and looked great. Perfect for the event! Definitely recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
RTR photo shoot with the bride!
I wore this to a wedding and got lots of compliments. If anything it runs a little big, but not too much. I am 5'6" and was worried that it might be too short, but it wasn't. I also thought it was actually very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 15, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this dress for a date night with my boyfriend. Last minute plans came up, and the date did not happen ... but I tried to keep the dress for an additional few days, because I was bound & determined to wear this dress!! But, someone else had it reserved & I was not able to extend my rental. I will be renting this dress again in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
August 16, 2012
Great Dress!
Loved the fit. I actually rented it twice. Fits true to size and is super flattering
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress, a little short
I rented this for a dinner date, and I absolutely loved it. Only issue is it was a tad short, I wouldn't suggest it for a wedding because there is no way you can dance in it. I usually wear either a 2 or a 4 and the 2 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
Stunning.
This dress is simply stunning and made me feel amazing. I wore it to a friend's rehearsal dinner and received complements all evening. The color is fabulous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 17, 2012
cute
very cute dress. was a little worn but def cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Favorite dress
I got so many compliments when I wore this dress to a NYC wedding. The fit was great and the material wasn't as hot/stuffy as I had expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Favorite dress
I got so many compliments when I wore this dress to a NYC wedding. The fit was great and the material wasn't as hot/stuffy as I had expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Favorite dress
I got so many compliments when I wore this dress to a NYC wedding. The fit was great and the material wasn't as hot/stuffy as I had expected.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×