Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
394 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(297)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
November 24, 2012
Well made and attractive dress.
I really like the lace and the length. Unfortunately, the color was all wrong for me so I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
I've rented this dress twice and even searched online to buy- it's versatile and so flattering.
I'm 5'6" and the dress hit mid-thigh... not too short but not too conservative. I've worn once to a party and rented again for a rehearsal dinner. I usually wear a 10 in skirts but a medium or 6/8 in dresses depending on how tight on the butt. I ordered both the 8 and 10, the 8 fit beautifully. Received countless compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 26, 2012
Easy to dress up or down
I wore this dress for my engagement photos. I chatted with a stylist and she actually help me pick it out. I ordered a size 6 and 8 but ended up wearing the 6. I noticed in some pics the waist line was not flattering:-( its up and down, no curves. if you style it right you can play around with it by adding a belt and tights:-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
The free backup size really saved my experience!
A very forgiving and flattering fit, but very short! The 2 fit my overall frame more nicely but I would've exposed everything if i bent over.... so I ended up going with the 4 instead. Received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 29, 2012
Great dress for a party- not a wedding if you are tall
This was a little small, but not too small. I am 5'8 and this dress was very short on me to the point where it wasn't appropriate for a wedding. If I was going to a fun party, yes this dress would be perfect! It is super sexy and the color was this smokey ash grey.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2012
I wore this dress for date night, celebrating our 4th anniversary!
The dress fit really nicely, I got the 2 and the 4 since some of the reviews mentioned it being baggy....I would usually wear a 4. In this case the 2 fit well also, but was a little too short. If I had worn tights I might have been able to get away with it, but in this case I decided to opt for the slightly longer 4. It was very comfortable, and just the right amount of dressy for the romantic dinner date. Could easily be dressed up or down depending on the occasion, with the right shoes & accessories!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 1, 2012
Loved this dress!
Ran a little large. I thought I would be a 6 but a 4 would have probably been better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2012
Great dress, would highly recommend!
The dress fit perfectly, I probably could have even worn a size 2. This dress gave me a little extra room but was by no means "baggy." I wore this dress to my work holiday party and received numerous compliments! I had read the reviews before purchasing and was concerned that it would be too short for the occasion but, it came to my mid thigh so there was no problem at all. It is a classy dress that I would definitely rent again! Thx!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 7, 2012
I knew the dress was a hit when I stepped out of the car and heard a stranger say WOW!
I loved the fit of this dress. It fit slightly loose in the middle but did not look baggy. Very comfortable. I had to run around throughout the evening greeting guests and going from table to table. It was nice not having to worry about a wardrobe malfunction. The short length made it sexy. The charcoal grey color is very pretty. I ordered both the 0 and 2. I wore the 0. The lace around the edges looked a little worn compared to the size 2 but not too visible in the evening. I received compliments all evening. I highly recommend this dress if you look good in the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 8, 2012
Great dress!
A bit boxy but a great color and style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
Sexy yet classy
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I rented it for my boyfriend's sister's birthday party at a nice nightclub. I wanted something that wasn't too overly sexy, but still showed enough skin to not look boring. To keep it looking "fun" I wore it with large, funky earrings and wore my hair down in loose curls. The length is very short, so I wouldn't recommend it to someone much taller than me. I was nervous about how it would fit in the bust--I'm a 34E and so I have a very hard time finding dresses that fit. It ended up being fine, and I could wear a regular bra which was nice. The one thing I wasn't crazy about was that in the picture the lace overlay hangs down beyond the lining, and it wasn't like that on me. Still a gorgeous dress, and I would highly recommend.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2012
Great dress!!
Love love loved this dress!! I wore it for a birthday party and it was perfect for a night out. It has a great fit that gives you room to move without being shapeless. Also, the lace fabric helps hide any imperfections. I am on the shorter side and this still felt like a pretty short dress for me so I wore dark tights. All in all another great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 14, 2012
I don't think this is the best option for a more petite person but it is a cute, classic dress.
I actually ordered a different dress but ended up receiving this one because of a last minute complication. The dress is a lighter grey color as opposed to many of the pictures where it looks almost black. I loved the length (not too long at all) and the synched sleeves and lace bottom hem was super cute. The only complaint is that it is loose fitting and doesn't give any shape around the mid section which wasn't flattering for my figure. I think it runs large in general. For this reason I ended up going with the other option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Wore this dress to a Christmas gala.
This dress would be very short on someone tall. I am petite so it was a bit higher than mid thigh length on me. The fit was perfect. I wore it with bare legs and neutral peep toe pumps. I felt beautiful in it and would highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
Easy to wear!
I wore this dress for a winter wedding. Overall, the fit was perfect, but it is a little short, so I ended up wearing the 6 instead of the 4. It's such a simple dress and easy to wear, but I still felt like a million bucks in it - I could definitely see myself wearing this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
Loved it!
the only reason i didn't give it 5 stars was the scoop in the back of the neck - just didn't love it per personal preference. but it was comfy, perfect length, and i loved the color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
December 17, 2012
perfect holiday party dress!
I usually dress pretty conservatively so I stepped a bit out of my comfort zone for this one. I wore this for a Christmas party and was able to dance without breaking a sweat. It runs a little short though so those of you who are tall like me (I'm 5' 8"), raising your arms up above your head is not an option! But it was a really comfortable dress and was told by a few people that I looked hot! I want to rent this one again!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Old creepy man did a double take and said, "Nice Dress!"
The dress is a little short, I had to think twice about throwing my arms up in the air while dancing. But overall, it's a comfortable dress, cute and simple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 24, 2012
Night out in NYC with my daughter!
My daughter invited me to the Launch Party for Rent the Runway's "Our Runway!" It was an incredible night on the town with my daughter who now lives in Manhattan, and this was the dress that sparked my love for RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Great fit--dress was beautiful!!
Dress is true to size. I ordered a size 0 and 2 and wore the size 2 for length purposes as I was attending a formal awards event with family. I'm 5'4 and it was a perfect length with heels. Loved the dress! I'd absolutely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 28, 2012
I ordered this dress for my husband's company party and it was absolutely perfect! Thanks RTR!!
Overall this dress was perfect for my husband's company party as it was both classy and conservative. The fit was great and I agree with some of the other reviews, that if you are tall (I am 5'10) the hemline can be a little short so be careful when you sit down:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2013
short!
When I first put the dress on I was surprised at how short it actually was. I almost thought about returning it (I'm 5'7''). Then my fiance returned home, he loved it and told me to keep it. So, I paired it with a pair of opaque black tights and went with it. My original size I ordered, the 4 was just very baggy on me so I went with my backup size, the 2. It still wasn't very fitted, but thats the style. I'm glad it was just for a date night for NYE rather than a wedding when I would have been very concerned about dancing in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
January 2, 2013
Cute dress
I ordered this as a back up dress. Fit nice but I went with my orginal choice. Would rent this again though. Looked very cute on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
I really liked this dress and it looked great on!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 fit me perfectly except it was way too short. Thankfully the 4 was a good fit and didn't look too big on me and was a bit longer so I didn't feel exposed. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
Loved this dress.
This dress was comfortable and stretchy where you need it to be. Fit just as you would expect a shift dress to fit. It was not too short and the perfect dress for a chilly New Year's Eve.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2013
short but gorgeous - the color is a purple/blue and the dresses have def been worn multiple times
short but gorgeous - the color is a purple/blue and the dresses have def been worn multiple times
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
January 12, 2013
Great dress!
Loved the fit and style. Perfect for a night out in Vegas! Very happy with RTR and will definitely rent a dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Perfect Party Dress!
This sweet 16 party had a dress code of silver, grey or white, so I rented this and paired with dark tights (winter time). It was really comfortable and classy looking. The party was an amazing time! I really don't think you could go wrong with this dress for any occassion, very flattering yet not too much or too 'showy'.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2013
I rented this for our wedding shower. It was perfect; i felt good and i got so many compliments!
I joined RTR but hadnt rented a dress until i got a promo coupon for my birthday and figured why not?! I found this super cute dress and it arrived right on time. The 10, which i normally wear, was a bit tight and very short. The 12 fit well but had a rip on the sleeve. I went with the 12 and luckily because its lace, the rip wasnt very noticeable. I paired it with a long gold necklace from Stella and Dot and my Michael Kors watch, plus nude heels. I felt great and it was so fun to have a "new" dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 16, 2013
Loved this dress!
This was a very easy, comfortable dress to wear to a winter wedding. I recieved so many compliments on the dress and am still getting compliments when people see the picture on my desk. I am very happy with my RTR experience!
MARIAFebruary 16, 2013
The lace makes you look sophisticated, but its just short enough to be flirty for the occasion. I dressed it up with suede pumps...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
Comfortable, flattering, light, beautiful.. the list goes on and on! I'd rent it again and again!
The dress was great! I work at a school and needed to chaperone a formal dance. I was worried the dress would be too short (but let's be real, I couldn't drop it low anyway). It was great- light, comfortable, but still cute and not matronly! The fit was awesome (it hugs you in all the right spots, and falls a little looser in common problem areas). All in all I LOVED it.. when I told everyone it was from RTR, no one could believe it! That's how everyone at work started to rent too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 18, 2013
Classy and elegant, this dress really wowed for my sorority formal!
I paired the dress with nude pumps and earrings; the neckline of the dress is high enough that you don't need a necklace (but you can totally wear one if you want to). The leaves were a great length - they hit just at the elbow, and the skirt was flirty and short but long enough. I'm 5'2'', so I usually have trouble with skirts on dresses being too long, but this one was perfect. I would totally rent this dress again - I actually wish I could buy it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 22, 2013
Classy yet flirty
I wore this dress to a bachlorette party dinner. I dressed it up with bright turquoise suede pumps and it was a hit! The lace makes you look sophisticated and lady like but its just short enough to be flirty for the occasion. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 31, 2011
This is a very cute dress. Not too fragile like lace can be sometimes. I got tons of complements when I wore it out for a girls' night. Also, the fit is pretty much as pictured on the model (though not quite as short, though thats probably because I'm 5'4). Seemed true to size, and was tight enough to be cute and flattering, but loose enough to be comfortable. I'd definately reccomend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
Very pretty dress, perfect for a cocktail event or wedding. It's definitely on the shorter side, and while it's not tight it's form-fitting enough that if you have a tummy you'll need some spankx!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2011
Unfortunately, I rented the 6 and the 8 - but only received 2 8s! They were really helpful at Rent the Runway though - and very apologetic. This was a great dress for a work event: equal amounts of stylish, but still classic, so I didn't feel overdressed. The lace at the hem was a little frayed though, but otherwise a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2011
LOVED my experience with RTR - I've already been back since!
The lace is absolutely gorgeous, although on the hanger, the dress looks lackluster. But I paired it with sparkly earrings and some killer heels to emcee a local event. I got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2011
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. It fit great all over, although it was a tiny bit loose in the back at teh neckline. It was almost too short but it worked. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 19, 2011
This dress is GREAT. I loved it! It was super comfortable and perfect for a fall wedding. I am tall, so it was a little short without tights. I ordered the 8 and the 10- the 8 fit well but was a little short, the 10 was looser and, as a result, a bit longer so I went with that. I wore a gold, green, and grey necklace and I got SO many compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 19, 2011
I love this dress. The shape is flattering, the lace is super feminine, and the color is great on any skin tone. I ordered an 8 and a 6, and chose to wear the 8 since my bust is 36D. I wore this for an engagement party with strapy flats to dress it down a bit. The length is great, and it is a perfect replacement for the little black dress. I will definitely rent this dress again!
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×