Rent the Runway

Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

356 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 281
Large 56
Photos 132
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2011

Such a cute, versatile dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered this in a 6 and it fit perfectly. Really cute dress, looks great with heels or boots.
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Nov 27, 2011

Great dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! I wore it to my cousins wedding with black tights. Got compliments all night long! I normally wear a 8 but the 6 was perfect. Highly recommend this dress!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fabulous dress for curvy women!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a photoshoot with my best girl friends, and it was very flattering--I am a curvy girl by nature (boobs and butt, but also a tummy and not a lot of hips), and this dress made the best out of all of it. Notes: it runs short (I'm 5'2" and it hit mid-thigh), you can wear a bra with it, the boat-neckline is perfect for accenting dramatic jewelry, and the sleeves have a bit of ruching at the elbow for visual interest and comfort. I wish the waist were a little more defined, but overall it was a gorgeous dress that looked great with heels and flats.
Kari
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Due to Hurricane Sandy RTR substituted this dress for the ML Monique Lhuillier, Your Moment Sheath

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Size 8 & 10 are essentially the same. The 8 was a bit tighter in the arms but overall not much difference in the bust and hips. In my opinion the length was a bit too short for a 50 year old. Disappoint as the ML Monique has a very pretty open back and is longer in length.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Great dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Wore this for my husbands 40th birthday. Everyone loved it! It fit awesome, wish I could buy it!
Brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2012

Stepping Up a Date Night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I received many compliments all night in this dress, even from strangers! This dress was great for a night out at the comedy club with lots of friends and family! I dressed it down a little with boots so it didn't have as fancy a feel. I definitely thought a chunk colored necklace went well.
MINU
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Wore this for my housewarming party and it was a hit! It stayed comfortable and looked great!!!!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly! I was running up and down stairs for my housewarming party, getting things setup and this dress was so comfortable to wear and I got soooooooo many compliments on it, with people asking me where I got it. They couldn't believe it was a rental and wanted to know more about RTR. It is a bit short, so I did wear it with sheer black tights, which really made the dress pop out more! My fave dress!
shonte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Easy to dress up or down

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my engagement photos. I chatted with a stylist and she actually help me pick it out. I ordered a size 6 and 8 but ended up wearing the 6. I noticed in some pics the waist line was not flattering:-( its up and down, no curves. if you style it right you can play around with it by adding a belt and tights:-)
Lindsay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Love the lace

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly! Runs true to size. Great color and style, very versatile. Pair with some awesome heels and you can't go wrong.
Shandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Pretty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This wasn't my rental, but I rented it for my best friend who is in this picture. Birthday gift for her! She looked great!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

I wore this dress for date night, celebrating our 4th anniversary!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress fit really nicely, I got the 2 and the 4 since some of the reviews mentioned it being baggy....I would usually wear a 4. In this case the 2 fit well also, but was a little too short. If I had worn tights I might have been able to get away with it, but in this case I decided to opt for the slightly longer 4. It was very comfortable, and just the right amount of dressy for the romantic dinner date. Could easily be dressed up or down depending on the occasion, with the right shoes & accessories!
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Awesome dress, I would definitely recommend it! Tons of compliments all evening.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in a 6 and 8 and ended up wearing my true size, 6. I am 5'5" and 135lbs. and would recommend sizing up if you are taller because this dress is short! I considered wearing tights but opted for bare legs. I would rent this dress again, I got tons of compliments all evening and everyone kept asking where I got it! This was my first experience with RTR and I am so pleased! I will be back again. Overall great experience.
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Need another reason to rent this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I adore this dress! I wore it for my wedding rehearsal and received a ton of compliments. I could have worn the size 2, as it fit perfectly but was extremely too short. The size 4 was perfect, aside from being just a bit loose. I would rent this dress over and over again!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 24, 2012

Night out in NYC with my daughter!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My daughter invited me to the Launch Party for Rent the Runway's "Our Runway!" It was an incredible night on the town with my daughter who now lives in Manhattan, and this was the dress that sparked my love for RTR!
Georgina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

short!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
When I first put the dress on I was surprised at how short it actually was. I almost thought about returning it (I'm 5'7''). Then my fiance returned home, he loved it and told me to keep it. So, I paired it with a pair of opaque black tights and went with it. My original size I ordered, the 4 was just very baggy on me so I went with my backup size, the 2. It still wasn't very fitted, but thats the style. I'm glad it was just for a date night for NYE rather than a wedding when I would have been very concerned about dancing in it!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

I really liked this dress and it looked great on!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 fit me perfectly except it was way too short. Thankfully the 4 was a good fit and didn't look too big on me and was a bit longer so I didn't feel exposed. :)
Jeni
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the fit and style. Perfect for a night out in Vegas! Very happy with RTR and will definitely rent a dress again.
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Perfect Party Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This sweet 16 party had a dress code of silver, grey or white, so I rented this and paired with dark tights (winter time). It was really comfortable and classy looking. The party was an amazing time! I really don't think you could go wrong with this dress for any occassion, very flattering yet not too much or too 'showy'.
Sara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

I rented this for our wedding shower. It was perfect; i felt good and i got so many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I joined RTR but hadnt rented a dress until i got a promo coupon for my birthday and figured why not?! I found this super cute dress and it arrived right on time. The 10, which i normally wear, was a bit tight and very short. The 12 fit well but had a rip on the sleeve. I went with the 12 and luckily because its lace, the rip wasnt very noticeable. I paired it with a long gold necklace from Stella and Dot and my Michael Kors watch, plus nude heels. I felt great and it was so fun to have a "new" dress!
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a very easy, comfortable dress to wear to a winter wedding. I recieved so many compliments on the dress and am still getting compliments when people see the picture on my desk. I am very happy with my RTR experience!
Krystle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 22, 2013

Classy yet flirty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachlorette party dinner. I dressed it up with bright turquoise suede pumps and it was a hit! The lace makes you look sophisticated and lady like but its just short enough to be flirty for the occasion. I would definitely rent this again!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

An Excellent First RTR Experience.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
At the time of this wedding, I was heavier (probably...140?), but I found the dress fit to be very flattering to my post-baby belly. I'm 5'1" and loved the length on me, short but not too short - a nice juxtaposition to having your arms and chest all covered up. Got SO many compliments, from strangers even!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 5, 2013

SEXY,SEXY

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very sexy. I wore the 6, while the 8 fit, it was a little large in the waist and bagged a bit in the back above my bottom. I felt like it was short, but with the tights, it was do-able. Plus, winter in MN...you need to wear tights. Wore this for my 43rd birthday party...out for dinner and dancing. It was a comfortable fit and the shape held up all night. The sleeves do run a bit tighter, but I would order the size that you typically wear and a smaller size, for the bagging issue.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Dress fit perfect. Great for the occasion.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Pretty. Feminine. Appropriate for any occasion. Love!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented this dress for Valentine's Day -- and it was seriously the perfect winter date dress. I rented the 4 and the 6, and the 4 was a bit more of the body-hugging fit I was looking for. The 6 was more of a body-skimming shift style. Beware, tall ladies: it's a little shorty-short -- so I wore it with black tights; the dress is more of a greyish-purple than a black or silver. Super cute. Felt amazing all night & didn't feel too over-the-top during VDay dinner. Yay!
Nadine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

So easy to rent and return; loved the dress, would definitely rent another!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall the dress fit really well. It was a bit short, but tights look great with it so it worked out not to be an issue. It feels good, is flattering and very classy. It was perfect for going out and celebrating my birthday, even in the middle of February in Minnesota. Its a perfect dress for cold weather season.
Ramona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

My boyfriend loved this look!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really wanted to try the lace trend, and this dress did not disappoint! I belted the dress as others suggested and wore opaque tights with booties since this was a casual date night.
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Perfect for a formal event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable dress. I wish that I could buy it! Great length and fit. The color was perfect.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Simple, classy, elegant.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Wore this for a mid-day wedding. It is a simple dress that doesnt need a lot of dressing up because of the lace. Great fit to it. I ordered a 4 and 6...wore the 4. Fit is slightly loose through waist making it very comfortable but would recommend sizing down on this one. I must say though that at 5' 2" I dont often say things are too short for me but this dress was a little on the short side when sitting. Overall, great rental and would wear it again.
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Mar 25, 2013

Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits perfectly and so comfortable!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
May 19, 2013

The dresses always come in great condition!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVED this dress, one of my favorites that I've rented so far, wish I could own it! Perfect for a bachelorette party! Wore with sheer black tights and black platforms. Was true to size, comfy, sexy, but not revealing too much. Would love to rent this again or look for in another color! You won't be sorry with this!
helen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2013

Love love loved this dress! Cannot wait to rent again!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to my cousins wedding and received a ton of compliments! The dark grey color was fantastic, despite I would have rather more of a spring-like lighter color. Very flattering and most importantly comfortable. I rocked this and danced the night away. True to size and sexy yet formal as well. I think it'll be flattering for any body type. You will not be sorry!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 7, 2013

I wore this to my cousin's wedding. I felt so sophisticated. I wish I didn't have to return it!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
No complaints
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 3, 2013

Fits perfectly and super comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Order a size down!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

Favorite dress EVER (other than my wedding dress)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I want to own this dress. It is amazing. I loved the fit. I loved the length. I felt that it managed to be both conservative and risque at the same time since the length is a little short. The fabric doesn't really have any give to it but I found that the four fit me well--which is my usual size. Those with a larger bust may have to size up a little bit since the dress was a little narrow through the chest.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

I received so many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While there wasn't a huge fit difference between the 8 and the 10, there was a small tear in one of the lace sleeves of the size 8 so I went with the 10. The length was perfect and the dress looked very classy. Can't wait to use RTR again!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Perfect outfit :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was my first RTR rental and I am obsessed. I am so indecisive and browsed the dresses for a couple hours before deciding on this one, so many great options but I am so happy I chose this one! I ordered the 0 and the 2, but I didn't even try on the 2 as the 0 fit perfectly. I chose one of RTR's necklaces to pair with it so I had one less thing to worry about. I wish I didn't have to send either back!
Alexandra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2013

Loved the color and the lace detailing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the sleeves and the overall fit was great. The 2 was a little short but the 4 just made me look boxy. Because the scalloping on the dress was so great I skipped the necklace and went with chandelier earrings instead. A hit!
Sanibel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2013

Classy & Comfy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fits a bit larger than other Shoshanna dresses - I'm usually a 10 in her strapless dresses and a 12 in sheath/a line dresses so I would recommend ordering your size and a size down as backup. The lace overlay is a gray-purple with a gray lining, contrasts nicely. On the shorter side but did not have any issues with sitting or dancing.
Tori
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Cuter dress in person!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This wasn't the dress I originally picked, but instead it got sent to me last minute when my choice was suddenly unavailable. Although I was skeptical about the dress from pictures alone, it turned out really cute! I added a ribbon as a belt to make it look like I had more curves but it would've been fine without it too. Because I'm tall, it was fairly short on me, but not to the point where it was inappropriate (especially because it fully covered me on top). I wore it to a rehearsal dinner, and everyone loved the dress! I got asked multiple times where I got it from and my boyfriend was almost mad that I didn't own it to wear it again. :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×