Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$116 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(300)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 9, 2011
Cute, but short!

I thought this was a beautiful dress, however when I wore it to a work event it was a little short (and I'm not that tall...about 5"4.") I got away with it, and received many compliments on the dress. I loved it, just wished it was like an inch longer.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 10, 2011
Love this dress!

I rented this dress for a company Christmas party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and I recieved many compliments even a few days later. I am 5"6 and I did not think it was too short, I wore some very small fishnet hose and the combination really showed off my legs. I cannot say enough positive things about RTR and am wearing another dress tonight for a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
Elegant & Comfortable!

Wore this dress on a date with my husband & LOVED everything about it. It wasn't skin tight so it was perfect for a leisurely dinner! This would be a great dress for when you want be a little covered-up but still look sweet & sexy. Would rent this one again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2011
Boxy for big chests

I was a bit disappointed with this dress. After reading the rave reviews, I ordered it or my work holiday party thinking it would be a sure thing. Unfortunately, the lace had fraying, and threads were hanging down from the dress upon arrival. Despite the small damages, I tried it on anyway...I looked like a lace box! The waist does not dip in at all, so for hourglass girls with large chests, I don't recommend this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 13, 2011
Short and sweet

Loved wearing this dress. The 4 fit better in the body but was obscenely short, so I wore the 6, which hung looser as the dress is intended to fit. It was definitely short but I wore it with black opaque tights and never felt uncomfortable with it even at a coworker's Christmas party and out to dinner. Highly recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2011
lots of compliments

I ordered both the 8 and the 10..the 8 fit perfectly. I wore this dress to a work holiday party with patterned lace tights and booties and got tons of compliments. It was very comfortable and looked great all night! I wish I owned it to wear to other events!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2011
Loved this dress and got a million compliments!

I am obsessed with this dress! I wore it to an engagement party and paired it with black tights and a chunky RJ Graziano necklace. It is not form fitting, and fell a few inches above my knee.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 60lbs
December 18, 2011
This dress helped me celebrate my 25th birthday in style!

Such an easy fit and the lace was beautiful in person!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 21, 2011
Great dress

Wore this two nights in a row-- first for a date and then for a holiday cocktail party. It worked for both of them. Dress is short (I'm 5'2'') and I wore the 2 even though I expected to wear the 4. It was very comfortable and I could dance in it as well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
December 21, 2011
Worked great

I'm both short and a bit pear-shaped, so it can be scary to pick a dress without being able to try it on in advance. Part of why I picked this one is that it's not form-fitting, which makes it more likely that it will work. And it did! I wore this to a relatively conservative family wedding, and it was a great choice. Length isn't a problem with this dress for shorter ladies, and I got lots of compliments. Doesn't have much "wow" factor, but it's a solid choice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
December 21, 2011
Versatile & comfortable

Wore this to a busy late afternoon/evening of tree trimming party, ballet and dinner, and it worked well for all with small changes of accessories. Very comfy for running around in. Ordered the 6 -- my almost always size -- with a backup 4, and glad I did as the 6 was a sack, although the 4 was very short. (I am 5'5'' and 123 lbs.) Agree with a previous reviewer that the lace trim on sleeve had seen better days, but nothing horrendous.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 22, 2011
adorable!

Rented this for a friend's rehearsal dinner at an upscale restaurant in NYC. Received lots of compliments and was comfortable all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2011
Loved it and so did my husband

Wore to a special night out with my husband. He loved it so much, he offered to buy it for me. I think that speaks for itself!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2011
The moment when my fiancée had said I looked Beautiful , that was my RTR unforgettable moment

I wore this dress to an Engagement party/Holiday Party, the dress was a hit! Everyone complemented me on the dress, definitely will rent again. Beautiful color, nice lace and great fit. Thanks Rent the Runway.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 28, 2011
Cute and classy!

I loved this dress! I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. A little short, but nothing a pair of black tights couldn't fix. Would be a great dress to own :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 29, 2011
Great winter wear

Perfect for a cold weather night out. Could be dressed up or down for day or night wear. More purpley color than expected, and ran a little big (I would have gone down a size if it was available). Pretty short - even for a 5'4", I definitely needed tights.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
January 3, 2012
I would have spent DAYS searching for the perfect dress, but RTR sent me options instead.

I normally wear a 10, but after reading the reviews I got a back up size 8. The 10 fit and looked nice, but the 8 looked way better. Many reviews stated that this dress is very short. It is short, but I'm 5'4" and it wasn't as short as it was on the taller ladies in their pictures. Like others said, the dress is a dark dusty purple. Very gorgeous. I wish I could afford to own this dress! I paired it with the Commando Black Opaque tights available from RTR. These tights are amazing. I normally wouldn't spend this money on tights, but they are so worth it. They are truly opaque! No stretching thin.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 4, 2012
Perfect Fit

Loved this dress! It fit perfectly and was true to size! This was my first time renting a dress and I will be doing it again in a couple of weeks for another function I have

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2012
Beautiful AND Comfortable!

This dress was beautiful on and so easy to wear. I wore it to a New Year's Eve event that I worked. Because it was a professional engagement (and I'm in my mid 50's) I needed to be somewhat concerned about the length. I ordered the 4 and the 6, ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was too short. The 6 gapped a little at the back of the neck however it still looked lovely on. It is dark plum and flattering to fair skin. The dress runs true to size. I received many compliments and would rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 11, 2012
This was an excellent pick for my boyfriend's 30th Birthday party in NYC! Not only did it look great, but it never felt uncomfortable as we danced into the wee hours of the morning. He knew how excited I was for my first RTR rental and said it definitely didn't disappoint. Thanks, RTR - for an unforgettable night!

Rented this dress for my boyfriend's 30th Birthday weekend in NYC. This was my first RTR rental and my overall experience exceeded expectations. The fit was true-to-size and the color was great for coordinating fun jewelry. The lace was not itchy in the slightest and it felt very comfortable and not too form fitting. The only down side to the weekend was having to return it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
January 11, 2012
Trut to Size - Loved it!

I wore this to a Rehearsal Dinner -- it was a beautiful dress! The lace was in great shape, it was very comfortable. It's not an extremely flattering dress because it's pretty straight but it's perfect for eating & drinking with still feeling comfortable. It in no way is too wide or frumpy. I'm between a 0 and a 2 and went with the 0 which fit perfectly. The only thing that bothered me was the lenght - it was about an inch shorter than what I would have liked considering it was a family affair. I definitely recommend for a date, party, or wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
January 19, 2012
Style and comfort!

I wore this dress to a family member's engagement party with black tights and black pumps. It was very comfortable and I felt stylish. I paired it with the Azaara Gold Disk Earrings from RTR which looked great, too. It fit true to size for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 22, 2012
My best friend loved the dress so much she rented it the next weekend and wore it exactly how I did

I rented this dress for a night out with friends in DC/Georgetown in January 2012. This dress was absolutely perfect for what I wanted-- flattering and trendy in a seasonally appropriate, classy way. I wish I had worn a big, statement necklace since black tights/heels make the outfit look a little dark, so maybe think about that ahead of time! The dress fits true to size and honestly, I didn't think it was the shortest thing ever. I highly recommend it!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2012
Made my birthday special!

I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was my backup dress as the main dress just wasn't doing it for me. My only problem is that it was a TINY bit to small on me. I should have know to order an 8. Other than that, beautiful dress and got tons of compliments. I wish I owned it!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
January 23, 2012
Amazing Dress!

A little short but was fantastic with tights. The neck line was beautiful and the dress was elegant yet edgy. A fabulous find!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 24, 2012
felt amazing in this dress!

I really loved this dress and it was perfect for the formal alumni event I wore it to. I ordered the 0 and the 2, the 2 was a little bit longer but the overall fit with the 0 was much better for my body type. I'm not super tall so it wasn't really short like some of the other reviews say. It's comfortable and the lace is amazing.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2012
Classic, easy to wear dress!

Got this dress as a back-up for a party but ended up loving it so much that I dressed it down with black tights and flat boots and wore it to work. It's also super comfortable! I got so many compliments on it that I wish I actually owned it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2012
In love with this dress

This dress was amazing. I ordered this dress and it fit perfectly. I am 5'5 and it was not too short. Its fitting but not tight on my body so it was so flattering! I wish I owned this dress, it was gorgeous!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2012
Perfect

This was my first time renting from this site and had such a wonderful experience. I absolutely loved this dress and wish I could have kept it! I took the advice of most reviewers who said this dress ran a little big and ordered my normal size, 4, as well as a 2. I ended up going with the 2 as it was a little more form fitting and a little shorter in length (I was looking for something more suited for a night out). The 4 was a little more boxy and was a little too overwhelming for my body shape. This dress was stunning and is perfect for someone who is a little more body concious as it does not hug all your curves. This dress is also more of a plum color than navy. I paired it with a big chunky necklace, which I also rented (Cara Accessories "Bring it On Necklace), and it was a perfect match! Definitely recommend renting this dress - you will not regret it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2012
Great dress!

Love this dress, got lots of compliments and felt great. I'm 5'6" and as others have said it is short, but I felt comfortable without tights (although I couldn't really bend over) - I think the short length balanced out the long sleeves nicely though. Dress was a beautiful dark greyish/purple, wore it with grey suede pumps and pink accessories, felt very feminine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 16, 2012
Beautiful!

This is a very classic dress, but the lace overlay makes it very special. I loved it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
February 22, 2012
LOVED it

I absolutely loved this dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and though the 4 fit a little better (I like things short) the 6 actually came in black which I liked much better on. I wish I owned this dress.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2012
Out the the Theatre

This was a great dress, and perfect for going out!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2012
Wonderful

I wore this to a winter wedding in St. Louis. Loved the fit. It was a bit loose throughout the body but the 2 showed a little bit of cheek. It is short but I was comfortable dancing all night (I did have on hose though for a bit more coverage.) Got lots of compliments all night.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
March 2, 2012
Great Dress

I have a very difficult time finding dresses that fit. I'm a normally size 8 (usually a 10 in dresses though) and ordered both the 8 and 10. I was swimming in the 10 and wore the 8. I probably could have even gotten away with a size 6 but the 8 looked good. I paired it with black tights and black heels. You don't need a lot of jewelry with the dress either. I wore some bracelets and stud earrings. The dress was extremely comfortable and figure flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2012
Amazing little dress!

I wore this dress to a museum opening in NYC and absolutely loved it. Runs true to size, very flattering if you want to show off the legs--but know that it is super short! Not for a super conservative occasion. But I highly recommend it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2012
Bridal Luncheon

I wore this for my bridal luncheon (in December) and it was gorgeous! The fit was amazing and the fabric and overall tailoring of the dress was great! I'm so glad I picked this and wore it! I wore it with black tights and black booties.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
April 2, 2012
I Want to Own It!

i wore this dress for an internship interview. I loved the way I felt in the dress. Everyone loved the dress and wanted to know where I got it from. The color and style is so universal; it could basically be dressed up or dressed down. I'm usually an 8 but it was a little big so I put on a cute belt. It landed about 4 fingers up from my knees. I would defiantly recommend this dress to anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
Lots of Compliments!

This dress was a great choice for a dressy party. The fit is just as you expect, and if you have big boobs, the best part is that you can wear a regular bra. Although, as other reviews point out, it is a bit short, since the dress is so covered up elsewhere, the length gives it some sex appeal. Also, I tend to usually wear either a 4 or 6, depending on the fit, and this dress is on the bigger size, so if you're in between sizes, size down.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 20, 2012
Loved it!

I thought it was true to size but quite roomy in the midsection... Short, but flattering for me with my short trunk....I liked the quality of the lace for an inexpensive rental fee...Covers your arms enough...no pressure to tan.... I went in a different direction... Sheer silver tights, pewter pumps and sparkly jewelry....huge hit!

See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×