Shoshanna

Hayley Lace Ruched Shift

$116 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Take center stage with this adorable Shoshanna ruched sleeve dress. With its gray lace detailing and shift style, you'll be the talk of the party. Step up your look by pairing the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - slightly fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted throughout hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Grey floral lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves with ruching detail. A line body. Scallop lace detail at hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(300)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 14, 2012
I don't think this is the best option for a more petite person but it is a cute, classic dress.

I actually ordered a different dress but ended up receiving this one because of a last minute complication. The dress is a lighter grey color as opposed to many of the pictures where it looks almost black. I loved the length (not too long at all) and the synched sleeves and lace bottom hem was super cute. The only complaint is that it is loose fitting and doesn't give any shape around the mid section which wasn't flattering for my figure. I think it runs large in general. For this reason I ended up going with the other option.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2013
short!

When I first put the dress on I was surprised at how short it actually was. I almost thought about returning it (I'm 5'7''). Then my fiance returned home, he loved it and told me to keep it. So, I paired it with a pair of opaque black tights and went with it. My original size I ordered, the 4 was just very baggy on me so I went with my backup size, the 2. It still wasn't very fitted, but thats the style. I'm glad it was just for a date night for NYE rather than a wedding when I would have been very concerned about dancing in it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 31, 2013
An Excellent First RTR Experience.

At the time of this wedding, I was heavier (probably...140?), but I found the dress fit to be very flattering to my post-baby belly. I'm 5'1" and loved the length on me, short but not too short - a nice juxtaposition to having your arms and chest all covered up. Got SO many compliments, from strangers even!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 1, 2013
Very classy but definitely not gray!

I rented this dress almost a year ago so I ant remember exactly which size I wore but I'm pretty sure it was a 2. The dress was purple, which isn't what I was expecting. It was pretty but not a show stopper. I received plenty of compliments, though. My only true complaint is that it looked pretty worn, even a year ago.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
Pretty!

This wasn't my rental, but I rented it for my best friend who is in this picture. Birthday gift for her! She looked great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 1, 2013
Shipping to my hotel in Vegas!

Would have loved the dress if it were one size smaller! I'm usually always a size 8 but this one should have been a size 6! Next time RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2013
Dress was perfect!

I was a bit worried about the length but it was not short at all. The dress runs a little big but overall it fit perfectly. The dress moves really well and was comfortable to be in for a long wedding day and a night of dancing! I received compliments all night!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
July 3, 2013
Fits perfectly and super comfortable!

Order a size down!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2013
Classy & Comfy

Fits a bit larger than other Shoshanna dresses - I'm usually a 10 in her strapless dresses and a 12 in sheath/a line dresses so I would recommend ordering your size and a size down as backup. The lace overlay is a gray-purple with a gray lining, contrasts nicely. On the shorter side but did not have any issues with sitting or dancing.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 29, 2013
Adorable dress.

This dress was adorable. A little big in the midsection but not enough to keep me from wearing it. I received compliments before even getting off the elevator. Like others reviewed, it would be short for someone taller, but it hit me perfectly mid thigh because I am on the shorter side.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
December 10, 2013
My favorite RTR dress so far!

I loved, loved, loved this dress! I ordered it as my original in a 4 (my usual size) with a size 2 as a back up. The 4 unexpectedly became unavailable, but they still sent the 2 so I thought I'd give it a shot. Luckily, it fit perfectly! It was fitted, without being too restrictive... such a classy and sexy dress! I will say that it was pretty short hitting mid thigh and I'm only 5'3"-5'4," but I paired it with tights and it worked just fine! The only negative about this dress is having to return it!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2014
LOVED this dress..

Wore it to a November wedding..could have worn a two if it was not so short and i am 5'1. Wish I owned it. Wore it with ruby red heels and got a ton of compliments!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 26, 2014
Loved the color. Goes with almost everything

I liked the color and the length. I am the heaviest in my mid section and it was still a little loose around my stomach, which I guess is a good thing. Overall, I loved the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2014
-

I ordered this dress as my "backup" and ended up wearing the other one I ordered. I would rent this for another occasion tho!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2014
This dress is gorgeous and classy!

Wore this dress for a Quincenera party. Got lots of compliments. This a really nice and classy dress. Very flattening too. I suggest to wear it with tights for fall/winter parties. It's perfect to pair with pumps. I just have to commend rent the runway customer service. You guys are amazing! I got an email a day before my delivery that my back up size (size 12) for this dress has been damaged and can no longer be delivered to me. So Madison from RTR told me to choose 5 different dresses at any price, and she will check which one is available, and she will send it together with my first choice of size for this dress. Madison was so patient to help me look for other back up dresses because my first 5 choices were not available. She was so kind to find and suggest similar dresses for me. I did choose a back up dress from one of her suggestions, and she was so kind to send me 2 different sizes just to make sure that I have something to wear for the party. So all in all, I got 3 dresses. :) Eventually, I did wear my original choice of dress, which is this gorgeous grey Shoshanna dress. I was just so thankful to Madison and RTR for a superb customer service. :) You guys really make sure that your clients get to have a beautiful dress for a special event. Thank you again Madison for all the help! Keep it up guys!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
February 5, 2015
I loved the look of this dress! It was perfect for my event!

I felt like it runs a bit on the large size. I wished I had gone a size down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2012
When I got home, my hubby commented "You looked really great tonight - that dress and jewelry worked really well." He's usually not the one to make such a point, so I felt like a Cinderella!

I wore this dress to the NYE dinner party with friends. Ordered a mystery bling and it came with the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster Necklace, so I wore them together (got compliments on the necklace, too). The dress is perfectly lovely. On my 5'4" petite frame, the length was great, but for taller girls it may be short. The fit is roomy - I got both size 2 and 0; in 2 I was shapeless and swimming in it, in size 0 it was OK but wished it was a bit more fitted. (Had a giant course dinner, so it worked out great to hide any pouch.) The dress was a little beaten up, and it didn't seem it had been cleaned thoroughly as it had a strong perfume odor. So I had to air it out for a day to wear it (ew), but got a coupon as an apology from RTR. Everyone including my husband said I looked really pretty in the dress - provided it's clean I'd rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
I got a bazillion compliments! Loved pairing it with my fav cowboy boots!

It fit beautifully. I am a true six and it might have been a tad large. Very flattering cut and drape though!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 7, 2012
Need another reason to rent this dress!

I adore this dress! I wore it for my wedding rehearsal and received a ton of compliments. I could have worn the size 2, as it fit perfectly but was extremely too short. The size 4 was perfect, aside from being just a bit loose. I would rent this dress over and over again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2013
PERFECTION

I am in love with this dress. I rented it for my engagement pictures, and I initially rented a 4 & a 6 (I usually wear a 4 in Shoshanna dresses but I wasn't sure how form fitting it was so I rented a size up also). The 4 fit but it was a little looser than I wanted it to be, so I called customer service & they overnighted me a 2, which fit PERFECTLY. (I'm 125 pounds and a 34D). The dress is short - I'm only 5" and it was pretty short on me - I loved the length but I can't imagine how short it would be on someone who was tall. All in all it was super flattering, and I think it would flatter most body types. I would suggest ordering a size down as your backup size. The neckline was conservative without being TOO old-fashioned, and the lace detailing was even more gorgeous in person. I would DEFINITELY recommend this dress - I didn't want to send it back. As soon as I get our pictures back I'll post them :)

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 25, 2013
Nice Dress, good for adding accessories

I rented this dress for a wedding. It was a little plain so I added a belt and necklace to it. I got a lot of compliments on it. I loved the short length and the lace fabric, especially the arms. I also liked the scoop in the back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
Comfortable yet glamorous!

Loved this dress! It was comfortable to dance in yet I still felt great! The material was light so this dress can be worn through the spring and fall without being too hot. This dress does run large so size down for your backup size. I usually wear a 4 or 6 and wish I had the 2 to try on ( the 4 felt a little loose but wearable ) the length was just perfect but may be short on tall gals. I paired this dress with " putting on the ritz" necklace by Kate Spade for $15! Another successful experience with RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
July 19, 2014
Cute shift!

Wore this to my engagement party. Very flattering and just the right amount of "dressy." I have short legs, so didn't have to worry about it being too short.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
January 29, 2012
Very short!

This dress was absolutely beautiful, but it does run short. Very short! It also does run large. I wear a two in everything and the zero was too big!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 28, 2012
Loved this dress!

I wore this to a fundraising dinner. I am usually between sizes and wore the smaller size. It is definitley not a form fitting dress. I am a 5'6". The dress is short, but not overlly short. I felt the short length was a nice balance to the more modest top portion of the dress.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 19, 2012
Size 8 is obviously "used"

In the dim light at home, I thought this dress was great. The 8 fit perfectly, and even though I noticed a snag on the side of the dress, it was easy enough to pull back through the lace. I even called RTR about it so they would know I had received the dress this way and they were very helpful, even offering to reimburse me to take it to a tailor. I declined, saying it would be fine to wear. However, when I went to go put on the dress for my date night (in a well-lit bathroom), I realized that wasn't the only snag. There was also pilling on the dress in the normal wear spots (under the arms and along the sides). Overall it wasn't that big of a deal - it was just normal wear and tear on the dress and not what I would consider "damage", but as a first time RTR renter, I suppose I just hadn't expected to receive something so obviously used. I should mention that when I got home, I compared the 8 to the size 10 that I hadn't worn, and the size 10 looked like it was in much better shape. I guess it just depends on how many rentals the dress has been through before you get it.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 4, 2012
Classic but Fun Dress

Was really happy with this dress. I am tall and the dress was shorter than what I'd normally wear, but I though the length was a nice way to offset the modest neckline and keep the look fun. I normally wear a size 8 but ended up wearing my backup size 6. The dress is a deep purple and the color is more beautiful in person. One perk is that it's not tight at all in the midsection, so you can eat and drink up all night without feeling self-conscious. I felt super comfortable all night, but if you're on the tall side, be mindful as you get in or out of your seat to avoid scandalizing anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2012
Should've gotten a smaller size.

Fit a little on the larger side. I normally wear between a 6 and an 8 and I think a 4 would've fit much better. I ended up not wearing the dress. I think it's more of a fall dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Gorgeous Dress

This dress was great for a beach weekend, but was a bit long on me (i'm quite short). It also ran pretty large, so my backup size also didn't fit quite right. I still got some compliments, but I enjoyed my backup dress more than the original I had hoped to wear. I think it would have been pretty a size smaller and perhaps for a date night, rather than a night out on the town.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Perfect dress for any occasion, wonderful fit!

I wore my backup size which was the smaller size. The larger size was baggy in the back and at the bottom. Wonderful dress would def rent again and again!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
January 16, 2013
perfect for a night out in Las Vegas!

This dress runs large, I ordered a size 4 and 6, needed the 4.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
June 2, 2014
Million bucks! Still want to own.

Perfect

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
September 29, 2014
Pretty dress but not show stopping

I thought the dress was very...pretty. I didn't end up going with it because I wanted something a little bit more 'wow' this dress didn't hug any of my curves and both sizes felt baggy, or dumpy...which I thought was hard to do with my body because there's a lot to hug.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2015
Love the length!

I loved the short length which spiced up the otherwise classic dress. I was worried the dress would be tight over my hips but it wasn't an issue. I wore this for a charity event to stand out from the black dresses without going overboard. The gray is darker than I expected but still lovely.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 25, 2016
Love the dress. It's very flattering.

Ran on the shorter side. Sleeves can be tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 3, 2016
Form fitting and flattering

Wore this dress for an evening wedding. Overall it's a very pretty, form fitting and comfortable dress. Perfect for a wedding or a bridal sower. My only minor con is that the dress is a tad bit shorter than I was expecting. I'm 5 foot 1 and the hem hit mid-thigh. If you're looking for a little more length or if you have fuller hips you might want to go one size up.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2016
Gorgeous Shoshanna Dress!

I rented this dress for a wedding and I absolutely loved it! My first size was a 6 which is my normal size, but I ended up wearing the back up size 8 dress. The size 6 fit but was a little too short to feel comfortable. The dress itself was in great shape - there were a few threads at the hem that were loose, but overall it was a beautiful dress! The charcoal gray color and the pattern of the lace are gorgeous. My first Rent the Runway experience hit it out of the park!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2016
Endless compliments and ridiculous comfortable!

I am typically a women's medium in tops and a size 6 for dresses. I ordered the 8 based on the reviews of it being short, with my backup as a 10. I went with the 10 so it wasn't skin tight and I had room for comfort. I was able to wear a regular bra which is a must for me and it was perfect. I was able to wear a decent size heel as well as not constantly pulling it down. I fit in the 8, but since this was for a "work" holiday party, I wanted to be a bit more conservative. For my first RTR experience, I'm hooked. I have another party in January and can't wait to find another dress. My dress was supposed to arrive on a Wednesday for a Friday party, and it arrived the Monday of that week. HUGE plus!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
Such a cute, versatile dress

I ordered this in a 6 and it fit perfectly. Really cute dress, looks great with heels or boots.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2012
Received compliments all night!

I'm usually a 10, but I always request the larger 2nd size just in case. I'm glad I did bc this dress was more fitted across the hips than most this style. i wore it to a wedding as a bridesmaid where we all got select are own grey dress and this one stole the show.

See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×