Shoshanna

Barbara Dress

$30 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Brilliant florals will make a bold splash at your event. This dress by Shoshanna adds an artsy edge to your cocktail attire!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored ikat silk twill (100% silk). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
375 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(287)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 19, 2014
LOVE this dress! Great fit & received lots of compliments!
I absolutely loved this dress! The fit was great and I was really comfortable all night. The material is heavy enough to look/feel expensive, but it's not thick or too heavy. The cap sleeves can be a tiny bit restricting when you raise your arms, but it didn't bother me. The dress runs large, so size down. I usually wear a 4, so I ordered a 2 and 4, and the 2 was a perfect fit. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2014
Beautiful dress and lovely fabric!
I rented this dress for a friend's bridal shower and it was perfect! The fit was great! I was a bit worried with this being my first rental- as a pear shaped woman, sometimes dresses can be awkwardly snug in the hip area, but this dress fit wonderfully! I received a lot of compliments and I am excited for my next rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2014
Colorful, classy, dressy look
I am 5'5" 130 lbs. The size 8 fit well. the dress is comfortable, well tailored, beautiful fabric and pattern.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
January 26, 2014
Beautiful quality
I got many compliments from complete strangers! So beautiful and wonderful customer service. I might never buy another dress again! Thank you!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2014
I received so many compliments while wearing this that I actually bought it the next day!
It's nice and snug in all the right places, but it is a little difficult to move your arms around much, due to the fabric. I wouldn't suggest this dress for an event you would be dancing around. That being said, it is so flattering, and even flares out a little bit over your stomach, so there is no need for spanx.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2014
Great dress, great print, and so many compliments!!
Loved this dress! The pockets were super convenient and the fit was great! Like others have said the cap sleeves were a little uncomfortable while dancing but not too bad.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2014
Very cute dress. Loved it!
Fit true to size
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 3, 2014
Comfortable and SO CUTE!
This was my first experience with RTR and I am beyond impressed! The dress was perfect for the winter wedding I went to. The colors are gorgeous. The material is soft and comfortable. It's easy to wear and I could totally see myself dressing this up and down if I owned it. Totally recommend this dress for work parties, weddings, or bridal events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2014
Amazing fit
I just loved this dress. I own another dress by this designer so I knew the size would fit just fine, and the cut is so figure flattering!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2014
Perfect for brunch!
Absolutely loved the colors and the style of this dress. It was perfect for afternoon brunch for my friends birthday! It fit really well and the pockets are so fun! My only complaint is that it's a little hard to move your shoulders up and down because of the cap sleeves. Because of that I don't know if this dress would be ideal for dancing but I would highly recommend it for a dinner or a lunch!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
February 24, 2014
Really loved how this dress felt; fun, sexy but not like you are trying too hard.
The 0 was perfect fit for me, extra room in the hips but fit perfectly on top. I have kind of narrow shoulders and a rib cage so I could see how the 0 might be snug for some girls.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2014
Really fun party dress! Fit my figure perfectly.
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner. Love the dress. Great colors but a little short for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 26, 2014
stunning colors + great pockets!
wore it for a daytime formal work event and was able to look both professional and stylish at the same time. paired it with a bright blue patent leather belt to accentuate the waist. ordered both the 2 and 4, ended up going with the 2, pockets were a huge plus for carrying around lip gloss, business cards, and other essentials.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2014
Perfect for a wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was great. I ordered a 2 and a 4, and unfortunately the 4 was ripped in the arm area, so I wore the 2. RTR customer service was wonderful about handling the damaged dress that I received. They have such great customer service, which is why I keep coming back. The dress is tight in the arm area and makes it a bit difficult to dance in, but the length was perfect and the material was high quality. I received many compliments on the vibrant colors
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
February 27, 2014
It was comfortable and the colors were beautiful!
It was the perfect dress for my bridal shower!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2014
Wore this to a wedding, received many compliments!
This dress fits true to size, very comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
March 4, 2014
Beautiful dress that is also comfortable to wear all night.
Perfect dress for a work event. Both sizes fit but the size 6 was more comfortable. Loved the pockets. Very flattering . Would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 7, 2014
This was one of my favorite rentals yet!
This dress fit like a dream and was extremely comfortable. I felt it was true to size, but for some, maybe a bit large. The texture is slightly satiny, which made it formal enough for an evening event, but the colors and cut make it feminine enough for a shower or formal brunch. I would highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
March 10, 2014
Beautifully colored dress
I loved this dress and wish I owned it! The colors are stunning in person and the fit is very flattering. It was so fun to wear and I'll probably be renting it again for another event in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2014
Beautiful dress! Great fit!
Great dress- true to size. Fitted in the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 11, 2014
Super cute, received lots of compliments.
Thick material but does not stretch or give at all. Rides up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 11, 2014
The colors were great- the blue really made dress pop, and cap sleeve gave it extra detail
I am pretty Y shaped and always have to worry about shoulder width/bust and then length because I'm tall. This dress fit great! It was slightly loose (2 fit better in waist) in the waist but loved that because it was tighter around bust. Dress hit me mid-thigh, but plenty long to sit without showing too much. Would definitely wear again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2014
Beautiful dress-- great sleeves!
Loved this dress, but it does run a bit large. The sleeves are great-- not tight at all. Works well with a black blazer!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 176lbs
March 16, 2014
I wore this to a Garden party for my sorority. It fit amazingly and was perfect for the occasion.
Pros-perfect fit, pockets, and perfect length Cons-I had to return it
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2014
Loved this dress! Got many compliments on it for an outdoor March wedding in Florida.
Ordered size 8 and 10 in this dress. Both sizes fit my hips/waist and I would have chosen to wear the 8 (more form fitting) but the top would not zipper (I have a large chest, 38DD). If you are smaller on top than I am, I would choose the 8!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2014
Very comfortable and beautiful unique design and color.
Dress fits true to size. The capped sleeves were a little tight but everything fit perfect. I received a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend. Perfect for a spring/summer affair. Shoshanna dresses are the best! Would purchase this if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
March 18, 2014
Flattering fit and great colors for early spring wedding!
Some people mentioned the arms being tight for dancing but I didn't feel that way. I paired with the black wrap when we were outside for the cocktail hour and black pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2014
Perfect dress for a late winter wedding!
I am bottom heavy but this dress does flare out slightly at the bottom so it was a perfect fit at my waist and in my hips. Such a great texture and rich colors. LOVED IT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 18, 2014
It was too big but my friend wore it and loved it.
I'm usually between a 10 and a 12 and since the reviews said to size up, I went with the 12. It was a little too big in the waist for me, and I thought it made me look a little bigger there without a tight fit. I definitely could have made it work, but my other dress was a great fit so I went with that. A friend of mine wore it to the rehearsal dinner and she looked great in it (she's more of a pear shape, if that helps). The photo is of her. I love the colors and pattern. I will probably rent this again in a size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2014
Great dress!
I wore this dress for an engagement party in March, and I received SO many compliments. I paired it with black patent leather pumps and a chunky blue and gold necklace that I already had. Based on the reviews I read, I decided to go with one size up as my back up size, and that was definitely the right call. I fit into the 8 though it was just a little snug around the hips (due to my pear shape), but the 10 was just too big on top and in the waist so I ended up wearing the 8. The colors are beautiful, and looks just like the picture. I definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2014
Really cute pattern, would be appropriate for just about any event!
The dress was a cute, light-weight fabric in a fun print. The cut wasn't terribly flattering in the midsection since there was a lot of gathering and fabric there, but it worked. The only major downside was that the capsleeves were really tight and uncomfortable- they left red marks on my upper arms and I was unable to raise my hands above my waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 22, 2014
The fit, feel and colors of this dress were great.
I got this dress just in case I didn't like the fit of one of the other dresses I rented. I loved the look of this dress and it was incredibly comfortable. I would rent again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2014
Beautiful colors, great fit!
Wore this dress to a friend's bridal shower. It had a great tailored fit and the colors were wonderful. Definitely would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 23, 2014
An edgy dress for a special work event
I decided to use RTR for a work banquet. I wanted a business appropriate dress that was still fun and unique enough to make the evening feel special. And I wanted to spend only about $30. This dress completely fit the bill! I love the bright almost watercolor-like florals and the simple, lady-like shape. I felt covered up but still fashion-forward! I also loved the cap sleeves, which help give the dress a more work-appropriate vibe. The fit was great, definitely true to size. Not too short either, a perfect fit for petite women! All in all, I felt really great in this outfit, and perfectly on point for my work's special celebration! See more on my blog at http://www.bureauofchic.com.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 25, 2014
This dress was ultra flattering and I am still getting compliments on it.
The fit was great and it was super comfortable. It was perfect with tight and blue suede shoes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
March 26, 2014
Great colors, lots of compliments but a tad large in near the waist.
I rented this for a spring cocktail party I was hosting and the colors were perfect and I received a lot of compliments. The dress didn't look baggy at all because of the structuring, however it would have been a slam dunk if it were 1" smaller at the waist where the dress flares out. All things considered it worked out very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 26, 2014
Wore this to my grandmother's memorial service--it was exactly her favorite colors! Perfect.
Fit: I am usually about a size 4 and this size seemed generally a good fit. I didn't get a backup size, but it's possible I could have even fit a size 2. The dress was generally comfortable. Pros: THIS DRESS HAS BIG DEEP POCKETS. I didn't take a purse with me when wearing this dress. I easily fit my cell phone, wallet, and a few make-up items in the pockets without it being visible at all from the outside. Cons: I did find I couldn't raise my arms very high though because of the shape/cut of the sleeves, and had a little bit of a hard time getting in and out of a car because of the cut of the hem/skirt portion. For most of the regular wear though, the fit and movement were just fine. (I didn't get any pictures that showed the dress well on the day of, so these pictures were all taken the next day.)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
March 27, 2014
Bright and Pretty!
I really loved this dress. I never wear patterned dresses. I always go for a LBD. I was very happy that I decided to try something different. The bright colors are very pretty but, not in an over the top way. This dress was comfortable and fit true to size. It is the perfect choice for anyones upcoming spring or summer party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
March 28, 2014
Super cute and fun dress!
Great dress. Wore it to a day wedding. Pretty colors. Like other reviews, would agree that sleeves are slightly tight. Very flattering dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2014
Perfect dress for a bridal shower!
Let me first say this dress is incredibly soft and comfortable to wear. The fit is a bit strange but I am also proportioned weird. The 6 fit me perfectly through my waist and on top however through my hips it was tight so it puckers a bit making it bunch in the midsection (which no one wants). I went 8 which had a bit more room in the hips so it smoothed out the puckering I had in the 6. The top was much larger which I was able to cinch the waist w the use of a belt. This is a great dress for a pear shaped woman however if you are an "extreme pear" like me (34B, 29 waist, 41 hips) you may need to size up and use a belt to bring your waist in.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×