Shoshanna

Barbara Dress

$30 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Brilliant florals will make a bold splash at your event. This dress by Shoshanna adds an artsy edge to your cocktail attire!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored ikat silk twill (100% silk). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
375 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(287)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
May 11, 2014
Great Print!
The cap sleeves are a little restricting. I wish I had gotten one size smaller, but overall cute dress, stood out from the normal wedding attire.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
May 12, 2014
Very large, fabric thick
I rented this dress as my back up dress. I found it to be very big and the fabric too thick for a summer wedding. The sleeves felt and weird and it looked frumpy on me. The colors are pretty and they are not as bright as the picture shows. Pretty dress, but it was big and not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2014
This was my back up
I didn't end up wearing this - I rented as a back up/rehearsal dinner dress and it was very unflattering. I'm typically a 2, but it wasn't available, so I ordered the 4 and it was much too large - larger than a normal 4 I felt like. Color was pretty though!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 27, 2014
Great dress! Love everything about it!
It was a tad larger/roomier than i would have liked but it still worked out great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2014
Pretty Dress
Very pretty in person, not so much in pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful print, good for rehearsal dinners, etc.
Sadly, this was a little too big on me. I wore it anyway, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone on the smaller side of a size 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 6, 2014
This dress is for you if you want to look older.
The dress looks cute on the model, but I am just an ordinary woman who wears a size 4 (or a 2 on a good day). The dress looked very... dark and matronly. I just couldn't pull it off. Maybe when I'm fortysomething this would look more appropriate on me. Also, Size 4 was way too big. If you really want to try this out, maybe order your second dress in a smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
July 29, 2014
Great dress!
Very comfortable and fun. The colors were vibrant and even better in person. The sleeves were a nice touch. The dress was also a great length - not too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2014
Fun and classy dress with pockets
This dress is really cute and comfortable. I found the arm holes cut a little funny and think it helps to size down for this dress so it fits nicer. The print is really vibrant and lovely in person. Because I couldn't size down, I ended up using a backup dress for my event, but this would be lovely to rent another time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 1, 2014
Birthday dress!!
Wore this to the Standard Beergarden for my birthday. Definitely needed the 10, but it was unavailable. Got so many compliments, and photographed beautifully. It did get a little wrinkled on the skirt from sitting for a while, but no big deal. I wore it with a big statement necklace and grey booties. So easy and fun. Will definitely rent again, or another Shoshanna dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 5, 2014
Loved this dress so much. I want to buy it.
It was a little loose on me but I added the belt and it looked perfect. I was worried about the little sleeves because my arms are more muscular than most but the sleeves fit great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
November 6, 2014
Beautiful Colors!
Loved the dress and the color. It was the perfect mix of classy and fun. It was fitted in the waist, but felt like it ran a bit big as I had to belt it. It still looked good though. For reference, my waist is about a 24 and I felt like this may have been about an inch too big?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2014
Totally cute dress. Wore it for Thanksgiving.
I would have rather had the 6, but they were out. The 8 fit fine, but was a little lose around the middle and for me, a little long (I'm short). So I just flipped up and taped the hemline the 1 inch and it was perfect. Felt feminine and comfy. Perfect for daytime brunch, afternoon event, etc. I loved having pockets as well. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
Artful colored dress
I rented this dress for a young professionals night at an art museum, and I selected the dress for its artistic print and color. The colors were pretty, and I made it more wintery by wearing black stockings, heels, and a blazer. I'm sure this dress would great for a spring or summer event! This dress is roomy in the bust and hips (my largest areas), so I fit in the 2. This dress did not stand out to me as being of fine fabric, quality or design compared to the other dresses I have rented, but rather this dress was cute and nice enough for the event I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 30, 2015
Very comfortable dress
This was my back up dress and thank goodness. The first dress was too small for me. I am 5'9" 165lbs. I have broad shoulders and even though this was a size up from first pick I still felt it was loose in the shoulders and waist. I would have preferred to wear an 8 in this. The dress is comfortable and breathable. It rained on the day of the wedding and I was assisted in coordinating, setting up and tearing down, cleaning and of course dancing. It got a little wrinkled at the waist but overall it held up nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2013
loved the color, cap sleeves and the surprise of pockets!! it was perfect for a fall wedding
It ran a little large around the waist. I used a belt which helped sinch in the waist a bit and it worked perfectly. It was comfortable and easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2013
Vibrant Beautiful Dress
This dress was stunning in person. The colors were vibrant and really striking. As other reviews noted, the dress runs rather large on the top and the cap sleeves are a little restricting when trying to move. I would recommend sizing down as the back up. But overall I would rent this dress again because it was so comfortable and beautiful to wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 4, 2014
Perfect for a winter work party!
This dress was great - super comfortable and just beautiful in person. The colors are gorgeous! I wore this to a work holiday party, and it was the perfect pick - conservative enough but still fun, and comfortable! It was slightly bigger than a normal 8, so I wore a skinny black belt with it, a chunky necklace, black tights and pumps. I highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 16, 2014
Great dress for a summer wedding
Beautiful dress and so well made! I typically wear a size 4 when it comes to tight fitting dresses but ended up wearing the size 2 since the 4 was too big in the waist and hips. Short but not too short for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 27, 2014
Loved this dress!
This dress had a lovely pattern, perfect for a spring/summer wedding. Major bonus points for the pockets.. I was able to keep my phone and lipstick tucked away and you couldn't even tell. I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 fit very well, but I would say this dress runs large so you should size down. I could have gotten away with a 0 for a more fitted waist. Overall, I was very happy with my rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2014
I loved the print!
I loved the print but the size 6 was a little big on me. I didn't get two sizes because I rented two dresses at once and the other I wore to a wedding. The dress was very comfortable but the sleeves were a tad bit restrictive. But overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 15, 2013
Great structured dress!
This was my back up dress in case my first choice didn't fit (luckily it did!). The 6 was a little big but It had great structure to it. Awesome dress for a any function!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
Beautiful colors.
Didn't end up wearing it because the zero was too large. I've read this is a problem with Shoshanna :( Shame because the dress is beautiful.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 6, 2013
The dress was perfect for my husband's company holiday party. It was comfortable and fit perfect.
The dress ran a little small, I think, but the size I received was perfect because I had a chance to try on the exact size at the Bendel's show room. It was fully lined and didn't require any special undergarments or shapewear. I felt fabulous in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2014
Great party dress.
I am usually a 6 in Shoshanna dresses, but had to take the 8. I felt the 6 was too tight across the thighs. The tops fit almost identically. There was a bit of "poufing" in the waist stomach area, but I think this was due to the pocket placement. It probably would have fit fine if there was a small slit in the back, but there was no give in the material. Overall, it looked great, stood out and was fun to wear. Only problem was it was hard to raise my arms while dancing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
April 20, 2014
Liked it but didn't love it.
The colors were much duller in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 22, 2014
I'm 5'10, this dress too short to be comfortable unless legs under a table. Not for a church.
Very short, and the bubble portion of dress exaggerated hips
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 14, 2014
The colors of this dress were perfect and the fit was very flattering. Looks GREAT in pictures!
This dress was perfect for the rehearsal dinner I wore it to. It was bold enough to make me stand out but subtle enough to not take attention away from the bride. I wore the 12 in this dress because the 10 did not fit me in the chest area. It fit in all the right places so I did not have to fidget with it or readjust anything the whole dinner! (which is rare for me)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Beautiful, fun dress!
I rented this dress for my wedding shower and was very pleased with it! I had the perfect hat to go with it and just loved the entire look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2014
I wore the dress to my sister's engagement party and it was just the right style for the event
This dress is gorgeous! However, the sleeves make it difficult to move your arms, so if you plan on dancing, consider a bigger size. Also, the hem at the bottom is a bit tight, which made sitting a bit difficult. However, it fit great while standing around at the engagement party and I received lots of compliments on it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 8, 2014
Lovely dress!
This dress is really beautiful in person. The colors really make it. It worked well on my hourglass figure, but I did have to go with the 12 when I'm usually a 10. Lots of compliments, felt elegant all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
June 9, 2014
Short
In my opinion, shoshanna runs short every time. I ended up wearing the four for length, but it was a little too loose. The two fit me but was too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2014
Loved this dress, wore to work and then to a charity event...added a belt to cinch the waist
bottom was a little tight in the 4 so I wore the 6 and added a belt to take in the extra fabric...I have a smaller top portion.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
July 6, 2014
God so many compliments on this dress!! It fit great and was very comfortable!
The dress fit great. I ordered an 8 and a 6, but typically wear a 6 in dresses. I ended up going with the 8 because it was a bit tight in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
July 14, 2014
Cute dress but a little on the snug side, even after sizing up.
Tightly fitted through the shoulders and waist. Looks great when paired with a leather jacket.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 235lbs
August 1, 2014
Lovely Dress! Excellent Service! Didn't fit :(
I loved the quality of the dress! It was even more vibrant and beautiful in person than it was on the model. Soft material. A little tight on the arms as other users have said. However, I couldn't wear it because it was smaller than I expected. Ordered a 10. The dress was short and it was tight around my hips. I am a curvier woman, particularly in the booty area. It wouldn't even zip up all the way. Make sure your back up size is a size up rather than a size down from your normal dress size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2014
Dressy baby shower
I wore it with black tights and flats to dress it down it bit. Beautiful print, lovely fabric, well-structured dress. I am 38D though, and this was way snug on top. Also - definitely requires a necklace to draw the eye down a bit, as it's a high neckline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 22, 2014
Beautiful dress, very vibrant colors. Pockets are always a plus!
I thought this ran a little small through the hips. The 6 was too tight to lay smoothly but the 8 was very comfortable. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2015
If you want something professional and pretty
I rented this dress for a professional function and intentionally paired it with a black blazer (as well as black tights as it was snowing). I received many compliments. I didn't have many issues with the cap sleeves as many other renters had mentioned, but I did wear a size up as I usually wear a 4. This is the type of dress you wear when you want to make a modest statement.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2015
The necklace was the best part of my rental.
I Usually wear an 8 because of my bust. I am a petit person, but am a bit overweight at the moment, so the 10 was tight around my bust and my arms had limited range of motion . The dress fit my event perfectly... I attended a political seminar's evening event at a 5 star resort. Th3e necklace was my favorite part.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×