Shoshanna

Barbara Dress

$30 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Brilliant florals will make a bold splash at your event. This dress by Shoshanna adds an artsy edge to your cocktail attire! Pair with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Entrancing Emerald Necklace and Diane von Furstenberg’s Black Lytton Embossed Lizard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored ikat silk twill (100% silk). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Hourglass skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

349 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 278
Large 42
Photos 188
Mary Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

The color is beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a bridal luncheon. I wasn't a huge fan of the cap sleeves. They hit too high on me :( I ended up wearing a blazer over it and it still looked great.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
May 21, 2014

The colors were beautiful, i got compliments on it all night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only reason I had to go up a size was so my chest was more comfortable, but other than that everything was true to size.
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114 lbs
May 21, 2014

I wore this dress for my mom's backyard Tennessee wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size and the pattern and fabric was beautiful. I am a girl who loves to wear sleeves, but wasn't thrilled with how the cap sleeves made my arms look in some of the photos we took. In spite of this, the dress was awesome, I especially loved the pockets and would recommend it to other women for sure. If you are picky about your arms though, maybe skip this as an option as the cap sleeves aren't always flattering. This was my first RTR experience and I am so thoroughly impressed and can't wait to rent again.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 21, 2014

This dress was perfect for an early spring wedding. I even ended up matching the wedding party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit me like a glove! I got the 6 as a backup but the 4 was perfect! Loved the pockets of course! They are always an added bonus. WIll definitely rent this dress again!
annie
Age: 24
May 26, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it
Mairin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
May 27, 2014

Beautiful, fun dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my wedding shower and was very pleased with it! I had the perfect hat to go with it and just loved the entire look.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 28, 2014

Beautiful Colors!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress for a family wedding and it fit the bill - the colors are lovely and it's a flirty length but it has capped sleeves you can wear in church and in front of your grandmom. The colors have more gold than the picture suggests so I would wear with gold jewelry for sure. I would highly recommend for a winter/early spring wedding!
Chris
Age: 37
May 28, 2014

Loved but no longer in perfect condition

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually my second time renting this dress so I obviously loved it. It has a rip at the shoulder though in the sample I had, which was disappointing given rentals should be in near perfect condition or retired.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 29, 2014

I got do many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit true to size, and the color was great. It was really easy to dance in as well.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Wedding fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was long enough for my tall frame to not feel like I was at risk of showing the wold my underwear every time I bent down. Those cap sleeves have 0 give to them! It was pretty form fitting especially in the arms (I didn't even try to raise my arms above my head) even in the 6 (which was a little too baggy). Other than that I loved the dress and would completely recommend it to all my tall girls!
Kelleigh
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

LOVE THIS DRESS!! I received so many compliments! Professional, modest, yet super sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs very true to size. Cap sleeves are a little tight but still very manageable!
Blute
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 8, 2014

Lovely dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is really beautiful in person. The colors really make it. It worked well on my hourglass figure, but I did have to go with the 12 when I'm usually a 10. Lots of compliments, felt elegant all night!
BRIDGET
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Perfect dress for dinner with the Fam!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVED the dress! Comfortable & fun. Lots of compliments on the colors. You can dress this up or down, sandals and chunky bracelets or heels with crisp and clean gold accessories.
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Very versatile!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress looks great with a blazer. Wore for an interview and it was a fresh alternative to my regular black suits. It's a little tight in the arms, but was otherwise comfortable. I'd definitely rent this again.
Alix
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Great for a semi-formal work event!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Received a lot of compliments on the dress. Would definitely recommend renting this dress to others!
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Great dress for a summer wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and so well made! I typically wear a size 4 when it comes to tight fitting dresses but ended up wearing the size 2 since the 4 was too big in the waist and hips. Short but not too short for a wedding.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect Dress for Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner and it was PERFECT. Everything from the cut to the pockets was amazing. The colors are beautiful and the fabric lays great. I would rent this dress in multiple colors and patterns if they were available because the fit is that great. The only slight down side is that the arm openings can be a tiny bit small, but it wasn't a huge deal. This dress is my favorite rental yet!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32A
Jun 20, 2014

I wore this dress to my brother in law's rehearsal dinner. I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress for perfectly and was very comfortable!
Ciara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

This was my first RTR experience and it was great! I loved this dress and it fit really well.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a summer wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm normally a 2 and this dress fit true to size. I have wider hips so I was a little nervous that it would be tight in that area but it fit perfectly. The cap sleeves were great as well.
Jenna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

It was so nice to wear a designer dress for the fraction of the price!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great, it was slightly tight in the arms, but nothing unbearable. I got so many compliments on the color and fit of the dress. It was very comfortable and I was able to dance the night away with no problems!!
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Fun print! Classic fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding. I loved the print and overall fit. The cap sleeves were a bit tight on my shoulders, but not enough to be uncomfortable. Very happy with this rental!
Elyse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Perfect dress for a date night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit really well. The top was fitted and there was plenty of room in the hips. Perfect for someone with a smaller upper body. The fabric and print were both beautiful. I definitely would rent this dress again!
Simone
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress had a lovely pattern, perfect for a spring/summer wedding. Major bonus points for the pockets.. I was able to keep my phone and lipstick tucked away and you couldn't even tell. I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 fit very well, but I would say this dress runs large so you should size down. I could have gotten away with a 0 for a more fitted waist. Overall, I was very happy with my rental!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Such a fun print that made it stand out at my event because it was so original!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Good fit overall except tight in my arms. I loved the print and got tons of complements on the dress and it was so comfortable!! I would recommend this dress!
kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Great fit fun dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress it for great and was super comfy. I was able to wear normal undergarments which made my night!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

This dress is pretty conservative and little tight, but the print is beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you don't have a small chest/rib cage area - this is going to be TIGHT. The arm holes were also a little small, as well, I couldn't fully lift my arms up. The material of the dress is hot as h*ll, so if you are going to be in a church with no AC or outside for cocktails/ hors d'oeuvres in the summer, I would honestly suggest another dress. I did not find that this runs big at all, but maybe, like I said I don' t have a tiny upper body. However, it's not all negative... The print is really beautiful, but not as shiny as it appears on the model, the fit of the skirt is nice and tulip like. It has pockets, which is always fun. I think this would work better for an indoor event, and maybe not a wedding because of the restrictiveness of the dress - limits dance moves and limbo capabilities.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

Super flattering and easy to wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wish I owned! Paired with a white bib necklace and nude pumps. 6 and 8 fit fairly similarly - wore the 8 for extra length.
Darcey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

I rented this dress for a summer wedding. I loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs true to size and really highlights your waist.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Beautiful Pattern

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and form fitting. I ordered a 2 & 4 and went back and forth between the two before deciding on the 2. I received many compliments and it was the perfect dress for a spring wedding. My only complaint was the cap sleeve was a bit constricting while bustin a move on the dance floor.
ALNS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 13, 2014

Fun Print and Shape - Lots of Styling Options

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has a really beautiful print and fun shape with pockets. I added yellow shoes/belt with silver accessories, but it really could be styled a multitude of ways. The only reason I didn't give a 5 was due to fit. You could probably size down for the fit in the body, but (like other reviewers have said) the top is snug. I would advise anyone who doesn't have a tiny upper half (arms and bust) to go true to size or size up. Overall, a solid rental.
Martha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Jul 17, 2014

Such great colors! Perfect for a baby shower!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved everything about it. Great material and great colors.
Jill
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jul 18, 2014

The dress fit really well, but the cap sleeves could be a bit restricting.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit -- even on someone who is 5'2.
Veronica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Super cute, wedding-appropriate dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit pretty true to size, I was more of a size 8, but the skirt part was a little tight, so I chose to wear the 10. It was very comfortable to wear, has nice thick fabric and is very flattering. Great colors!
KJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Unique & Comfy Watercolor Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a semi-formal wedding at an Art Museum and it was the perfect, unique dress to fit the affair. The dress fit like a charm and I ended up wearing the smaller size because it was more form fitting. The only downside of the dress is that the top of the shoulders fit a little tight and make it difficult to throw your hands up on the dance floor. All it all, it was a very comfortable fabric and the material is really pretty and memorable in person.
MCPDX
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Beautiful and classy dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and classy look. The colors are beautiful and pop in a crowd. I appreciate the cap sleeve, which was a little tight. All Shoshanna dresses nip in the waist so you look trim, but consider sizing up if this is a thicker area on your body or your straight up and down. I'm 5'8" and it was short, but not too short for a wedding. The fabric of the dress is a cotton blend and it did not overly wrinkle, but did not have stretch.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

The color and print are amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so fun! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and felt super cute! RTR didn't have the size 2 available so I ended up wearing the 4 which was a little big on me in the waist, but still looked great. I think I would have liked the fit of the 2 better though. The colors are so pretty and really made my green eyes stand out! Definite plus!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Comfortable and a real pop of color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! It fit well, really stood out (in a good way) at the garden wedding I attended, and let me get my dance moves on! Thanks, RTR!
allison
Age: 31
Jul 30, 2014

Great fit, Great print!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect snugger on top and a line on the bottom. The print was amazing and goes well with all accessories. Would definitely suggest to rent this dress!
Mallory
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Great pattern, but uncomfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything about this dress is great -- pattern, fit -- except the extremely uncomfortable (and unflattering) cap sleeves. They are super tight and made my arms red from chafing!
RTR Customer
Aug 2, 2014

Loved the way it fit on me! Felt beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything fit great!!! Because I'm a little shorter, the 4 was a little long so I shortened it a little for the event. Other than that, loved the synching at the waist and tailored feeling!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×