Sachin & Babi

Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 6, 2012
.
I was looking for a dress to wear for my bachelorette party with my bridesmaids! I wanted something fun that would look great in pictures! This dress was amazing! I felt like a rock star and it fit great!! I ordered the size 2 and got the 4 as well. I didn't even try on the 4, as the 2 fit perfect! This dress was great for me because I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 7, 2012
I didn't want to return it!
I have a decent size bust, so it's hard to find the right fit with most dresses. This one fit me like a GLOVE! So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. My only "complaint" is the black ribbon would wrinkle and flip up a bit after sitting down for a while, but a little water put it right back in place. I seriously didn't want to return this dress, and I will most likely rent it again for another wedding at the end of the year.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 8, 2012
Super cute dress that got compliments from my friend's fiance to randoms at Lolla!
I wore this to a bachelorette party and ended the night at Lollapolooza (where I felt like I fit in with the artists!). Very cute. Like other reviewers, I felt like the rib cage area (around the black band) was really tight but the top area was loose.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2012
Loved it!
Great fit and fun dress. I received compliments all night!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
So flattering!
This dress is made so well. It is the most flattering dress I've ever rented from RTR and I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2012
AMAZING
I wore this for my own birthday night out and got a ton of compliments....I was also easy to find in a crowd. It was a big hit, and I am dying to rent and wear it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Although I was definitely not happy with the quality of one of the dresses I received, I had to change both my rental date and delivery addresses, and RTR could not have been more accommodating! Good customer service is hard to come by and I will not be forgetting the excellent service I received from the RTR staff.
Being new to RTR, I wanted to opt for a dress that got a lot of good ratings, increasing my chances of me liking and looking good in it, so I went with this eye-catching Sachin + Babi number. Definitely runs small. Trying on the 4 was too tight THANKFULLY, because the size 4 dress I received was FRAYING at some parts on the yellow skirt, making me question the whole dress-renting experience. Obviously, people have worn this dress previous to my own rental, but what company has the audacity to send a dress that is literally falling apart at the seams? The size 6 however, was in MUCH better condition, gently used. Very appropriate for a summer day-time wedding! I don't make a habit out of wearing yellow, so this piece is a nice step out of the box if you want to try something different!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 17, 2012
Easy to wear
This dress is stylish and easy to wear (easy to wear a regular bra, panties, etc and the straps don't slide off or anything). However, the top was a little big on me (just a little). Granted, I am small. I thought the detail on the bodice of this dress was really cool - edgy in a way, yet still a classy dress. I would recommend this dress. Also, it wasn't too long on me, which was great (I'm only 5'0" and always worry things will be too long).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Love this!
Amazing dress. Fun and flirty and good to wear on any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
You can't help but sparkle wearing this dress!
I rented this for an evening wedding. It was perfect and I had people coming up to me all night asking where I got it...I could never give away my secret though! It was true to size and the fabric has some give which is great. The yellow skirt really makes a pop and is super flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
Odd fit for me
This was my back up dress for a wedding. It is stunning in person and I was heart broken I couldn't wear it- it looks like a perfect combo of fun/classy. I'm pear shape, smaller bust, and the reviews said to order a size up- which for me would be a 6, since I normally wear a 4 in this cut dress. The kicker is the lining of the skirt was fitted more like a pencil skirt- there was no give, so while I could get it over my caboose, it looked hooker-tight across my bum. The top was slightly loose (not noticeably so) but I think going up to the 8 would have resulted in the top being too big. While it's recommended for pear shaped gals, I would be conscious of what type of pear you are- if you have a booty, be aware this might be tighter than anticipated. It really is a beautiful dress in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
Great Dress
Does not give in the lower body area at all... if you're curvy, go a size up! Great dress though!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved it!
Basically runs true to size, but a little tight in waste so went with larger size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 26, 2012
great dress, great details
great dress! great color, love the beading, but if you like your dresses to fit snug and show off your body this is not the dress for you. i wished it was a little more fitted of a dress but otherwise gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
loved dress but bad fit
I ordered in both a 6 & 8, the 8 was perfect through the hips but too big on top and the 6 was perfect on top but too small through the hips. Would love to buy the 8 and have tailored for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2012
Festive dress!
Loved this dress! Ordered it as a backup dress and ended up changing into this one midway through my holiday party. Such a fun dress and sure to get a lot of oohs and aahs :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
I felt amazing in this Sachin + Babi dress for my friend's wedding in August! It was the perfect style and taste level for the museum venue and weather. I received many compliments. Loved it!
This dress was truly stunning. The beadwork was in perfect condition, and the color of the skirt looked exactly how it did online. There was a slight tear in one of the skirt ruffles when I received the dress, but you were not able to tell. The 8 fit me thru the waist and bottom nicely, but the top was a bit big (I wear a B cup).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 29, 2012
Really fun dress with eye-catching pop of color. Good experience overall!
Really fun dress for bachelorette party. I loved the top and the skirt is a fantastic pop of color. Lots of compliments but I must warn to fellow tall girls that it is very short. I stood most of the night but when I sat I did feel like I needed additional coverage. Good experience overall!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 1, 2012
Loved the color and detail
I'm petite and small-busted so found the top to be a bit big but not so big that I couldn't wear it. I loved the detailing on top and the color on the bottom so much that I figured it would hide the fact that it was just slightly loose. Great to dance in. I wore bright red lipstick and felt great all evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 30D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
September 2, 2012
Black Tie Wedding
I absolutely love this dress! I rented it 4 days before my event, I didn't know if it would fit or if I would like it in person but it was fabulous. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 3, 2012
Best dress ever
I wore this dress to a wedding. It fit perfectly. I was getting compliments all day. Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. If you are petite with a bust, this dress works great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 4, 2012
Not A Great Fit...
I wanted to love this dress however it was way too small on bottom:( I ordered this in a 6 & 8 since I'm usually in between sizes, and the 8 fit, however it would have been very uncomfortable for a night out on the town. Overall the dress is very cute, the yellow is a really pretty color and the bead-work on top is gorgeous. Unfortunately the next size was not available the weekend I was looking to rent, so I had to go with another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
July 2, 2012
Loved this dress!
Perfect dress for a summer wedding! So colorful and fun! The size was perfect and I'm sad to send it back
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2012
Great Dress
Would definitely recommend for a fun night out, everyone was aski. About it all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 13, 2012
Beautiful detailing, tons of compliments!
Wore this for my Bachelorette party and received tons of compliments all night long. Fit is definitely snugger in the bottom (no stretch) and a little looser up top. The size up wasn't available, but I imagine it would have been more comfortable in the skirt but too large on top.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2012
Great dress- very different
but the sequins started to rub/bother my skin under my arms from dancing throughout the night at the wedding. fun dress but be cautious about that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Great dress for a night out in Vegas!
Beautiful dress! The top gives it an edgy feel while the bright yellow really makes it stand out! The bottom has absolutely no give so if you are bigger on the bottom half, size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Great for 30th!
I absolutely love how the yellow contrasts with the top! such a unique dress! And so eye catching! It was perfect for my 30th! The sz 6 fit better up top, but I went with the sz 8 because I was already self-concious about how short the dress is. That is why I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5... because I would have like better if not quite so short. And as before, customer service was outstanding!! P.S./FYI (went with bigger sizes because I still had some baby weight on!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
September 20, 2012
Loved it so much that it has become my "go to" dress!
Fits true to size, perfect alternative from wearing a plain black dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 23, 2012
This dress fit right in at the museum party - it's a work of art itself!
I originally ordered a 2 and it was a bit tight around my hips. I called RTR and they overnighted me the 4 to have in time for the event (you just pay for the shipping). So easy! I wore this edgy-chic stunner on my birthday to a museum party, and it was perfect. A couple of beads were loose or missing from one side, but no one could tell. Plenty of room in the chest for busty ladies.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2012
The detail on the dress were awesome!
I got the 8 and 10 and they fit nearly the same but the 8 seemed to fit best. Great color and flattering shape. Everyone loved it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 25, 2012
Dress was pretty for a sunny daytime date, but I did not like the fit or style in person.
Dress runs small - particularly in the yellow skirt. Would size up. If you are looking for something a bit more dressy, this is not the dress for you. Originally purchased to wear out to dinner, but it is more of a daytime dress in my opinion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 27, 2012
Such a fabulous dress!
I wore this dress out for my birthday in February. I paired it with black tights and a black blazer because it's freezing in Chicago in the winter time. I got so many compliments, definitely recommend the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2012
I actually ended up sending this dress back.
This dress just fit awkward on me. In some places the 4 fit me, and in others the 6 fit me, but neither dress flattered my body style what-so-ever. I'm 5'5" and 120lbs. I have bigger boobs and a tiny waist, and this dress just did NOTHING for me. Maybe a tall and slender body would do well with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2012
The yellow skirt made the dress really stand out!
Runs small. I wore 1 size up. The skirt part of the dress has no stretch so fits tight to the hip. The top of the dress was slightly big, since normally I'm a size smaller. Overall dress fit well going 1 size up and was really fun and different.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
RTR came to my rescue just in time for a formal event.
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! I got compliments all night... the color is vibrant and beautiful. If only this dress were for sale, I would buy it! Definitely a winner!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
December 8, 2012
Fun and pretty dress that will get you lots of compliments!
This was my first RTR experience and it was perfect! I was attending a fashion show for Nicole Richie and was nervous I wouldn't have anything to wear that would match up to all the other girls there, so my friend recommended Rent The Runway. The dresses came on time and the size 2 fit extremely well. The dress is a little snug around the waist, but nothing a pair of Spanx can't help. I got a lot of compliments on the dress and really felt like I fit in with all the fashionistas there, definitely not something I could normally do on an intern/waitress budget! I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2012
I got so many compliments on the dress, everyone loved it and a few wanted to check out RTR after!
I am small chested, small waisted and wider hips. This dress fit my figure very well. WIth the band in the middle it highlighted my waist. Due to my small chest it was a little loose, but I am barely a 32B. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2013
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it felt very special. Got lots of complements!
The beading was in really good shape, and the skirt was very flattering and fun. Really liked this dress a lot and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 10, 2013
Gorgeous! So many compliments
This dress is BEAUTIFUL and true to size.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×