Sachin & Babi

Petal To The Metal Dress

$125 rental
$660 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Shine on in sparkles, dazzle them in lemon. This Sachin + Babi dress is for any fun girl who’s not afraid of a little sass. Pair with your favorite snakeskin clutch and start taking numbers.... Go with daring accessories like the Coralia Leets' Cerulean Droplet Earrings and stack Erickson Beamon's Continuum Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Not fitted - loose throughout skirt but may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Citrine and gray silk chiffon combo. V neckline. Beaded bodice. Black grosgrain ribbon at waist and at shoulder. Raw edge tiered skirt. Exposed back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(79)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 10, 2012
Loved!
I LOVED this dress and got a ton of compliments. It is a little more "conservative" meaning it is not super short/low cut but the sparkles make the top super cute. Definitely would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 19, 2012
From work to play!
I wore this dress with black tights, patented leather black round toe pumps and a black blazer to the office and then took the blazer and tights off for an event that evening (had to roll right from work to the event with no time to change so needed something like this that would work for both). There really wasn't much difference in the sizing between the size 6 and the size 8 (my backup size), as in very little difference, but the overall fit was good. I did not like the purposefully exposed zipper, I thought it made the dress look cheap, but aside from that I thought this was really cute. The skirt portion is definitely not the bright yellow seen in the picture, much more of a mustard color.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2012
HOW EASY IT WAS TO RETURN, HASSLE FREE SHIPPING!
Great stylish dress, got tons of compliments and I would definitely rent for a different occasion, highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
February 7, 2012
While wearing the dress to shoe shop, several women stopped and were eager to get involved with the selection process. I had many strangers compliment the dress while at the park.
I wore this for family photos taken in the winter. I hoped the bright yellow color would help, and it did. A very pretty dress that received many compliments. It was a little large on the top for me, but I am less than 100 lbs. and 5'1. It wasn't a big deal.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
February 21, 2012
FUN!
I wore this dress to a morning television event and it looked great with a blazer for the morning, and even better as a party dress without the blazer at night! The fabric was very soft and comfortable and fit my body type very well (I have a small bust and the dress made it appear bigger.) I would definitely recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2012
I love wearing dresses by designers that are new to me, and I can introduce them to my friends too. Icing on the cake, is when a guy can actually appreciate a high fashion dress!
I ordered this dress to wear to a friend's Dallas Bachelorette Party. I tried on the 0 first, and it was perfection. The tough metallic top paired with the bright wispy bottom was a great combo. I got so many compliments that night, and loved telling everyone that I was smart enough to rent, not buy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2012
This was so easy. You could spend hours shopping to find a dress that is crazy expensive and that you may not wear more than once. So glad I tried it and it worked out so well.
Absolutely loved this dress. Quality fabric and unique look. Looks way better in person than on the model. Definitely achieved the glamourous look I wanted for my 30th birthday. Zipper was a little cumbersome but fine after you got it up. If you are a smaller bust, plan for smaller size. Tried to wear the 2 but was a bit constraining up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2012
Bachelorette fun!
I got this dress for my bachelorette party and loved it. I'm usually a 4 or a 6 in dresses so I would say this was pretty true to size. The 4 was a little tight in the chest and hips. The photo is 3 of us our RTR dresses :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2012
Fits very tight
I loved this dress but it runs VERY small. I am curvy - size 6/8 , 34C and it was very tight and I had to return it :( RTR was very helpful though and sent a size 10 which was still too tight in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
May 7, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this to a friend's wedding in Vegas and loved it. Although the 4 fit better on top than the 6, the bottom was a little snug so I wore the 6 for some extra room. I got a ton of compliments! The yellow bottom is sheer to be sure to wear nude spanx or a slip. I'm tall so it was a little on the short side - which was just fine for Vegas!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
May 9, 2012
How confident I felt, just from a fabulous dress.
I knew I would love this dress just from all the great reviews by others. It is just such a unique dress that commands attention at an event. I recieved many compliments at the wedding and from others who saw pictures from the wedding. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 20, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this dress for a friend's bachelorette party in Vegas and loved it! Great fit, very comfortable and I received several compliments on the style. I definitely recommend it. I went a size up because the size 4 was tight across the backside.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2012
Beautiful Dress
This dress is amazing! It will look beautiful on you!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2012
I accidentally ordered my dress 4 days before my event. I called and spoke with Erica on the phone, she was so nice and understanding and arranged so I could send the dress later than expected. It was hassle free, great experience!
I ordered a 6 & 8. The 6 was bit snug on the bottom so I went with the 8. I had to use some fabric tape (that RTR sent as a sample) on the sides of my bra because the top was a little awkward without it. That is my only complaint about this dress. It was gorgeous and unique and received many compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 30, 2012
Fabulous, flirty, gorgeous!
Love, love, love this dress! I wore this dress to a close friend's wedding. I ordered both the size 2 and 4 because I wasn't sure which size would work for me. I am 5'4 and 119lbs. The 4 fit comfortably on the bottom but was loose for me on top, so I went with the 2. It was short, but not too short, and snugger on my rear (I have a booty!) but was still flattering. I got SO many compliments on this dress! Strangers approached me in the bathroom and told me how much they loved it, and how unique it was. My friends also obsessed over it and told me it fit me like a glove. The wedding photographer even asked my friend and I (also wearing a bright color) to pose for a few photos for his website. Just a note, the skirt looks bright yellow in the photo - it is bright yellow but appears a bit darker in person, with an almost greenish hue to it. Still beautiful! This was my first Rent the Runway experience and it went off without a hitch. Am already thinking of what other weddings I have coming up... may rent a 2nd time! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 4, 2012
The RTR experience was great, customer service was excellent!
The dress fit beautifully and was very slimming. It was a nice length on me but I'm 5'3" maybe short on taller girls. Got lots of compliments, and will be renting again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
June 5, 2012
Phenomenal
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore the size 4 because the size 2 fit, but it was a little snug. I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend this dress for a special occasion if you want to stand out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
June 11, 2012
Great dress
I usually wear an 8 but have been inching toward a 10 lately. I ended up wearing the 10 in this dress. I needed the bigger size to fit my curvy rear and bust. I would recommend some nude shorts or spanx underneath since the bottom is slightly sheer. I received many compliments -- this dress is certainly and eye catcher.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 19, 2012
Gorgeous. Wish I owned it!
I wore this to my company's launch party. It was fun and flirty, but not too revealing or sexy. Fit very well -- slightly tight across the top. Would definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2012
Everyone kept complimenting the fun beading and colorful skirt! I danced all night!!
I got so many compliments on this dress! So fun and very comfortable! The fabric of the skirt has little give, so if you have a booty consider going a size up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2012
Seeing my best friends light up when I "unveiled" myself at the party!
Absolutely loved the dress, worked perfectly for my going away party and my friends kept commenting how stunning it was on, perfect for a summer evening or bachelorette party. The 8 felt more stretched out and loose than the 10 so I went with wearing that, but the top definitely runs a little big, since it has the metallics and beads to weigh it down. I will definitely be renting again, such a simple process and great looks to go for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2012
My Fiance kept telling me how great the dress was and that I should keep it because it looks so great!
This dress was 1. absolutely gorgeous, 2. totally different and 3. absolutely gorgeous. I wore this this past weekend for an outdoor wedding. Everyone commented on how different and fun the dress was. I felt so great in it as well. I hope I have another occasion to rent this dress for in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 3, 2012
Pretty dress, runs small
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, but unfortunately it was too tight in the skirt for me to wear. This brand must run small overall. The top fit well for my bust, but the skirt was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Loved it!!
Loved this dress - bright fun bottom with the gorgeous sequin top - all one piece. I received so many compliments on this dress the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 25, 2012
Everyone commented on how unique and fun this dress was.
This was such a fun dress! Very fitted in the lower half so I'd say it's true to size or go up one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 6, 2012
.
I was looking for a dress to wear for my bachelorette party with my bridesmaids! I wanted something fun that would look great in pictures! This dress was amazing! I felt like a rock star and it fit great!! I ordered the size 2 and got the 4 as well. I didn't even try on the 4, as the 2 fit perfect! This dress was great for me because I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 7, 2012
I didn't want to return it!
I have a decent size bust, so it's hard to find the right fit with most dresses. This one fit me like a GLOVE! So comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. My only "complaint" is the black ribbon would wrinkle and flip up a bit after sitting down for a while, but a little water put it right back in place. I seriously didn't want to return this dress, and I will most likely rent it again for another wedding at the end of the year.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
August 8, 2012
Super cute dress that got compliments from my friend's fiance to randoms at Lolla!
I wore this to a bachelorette party and ended the night at Lollapolooza (where I felt like I fit in with the artists!). Very cute. Like other reviewers, I felt like the rib cage area (around the black band) was really tight but the top area was loose.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 12, 2012
Loved it!
Great fit and fun dress. I received compliments all night!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
So flattering!
This dress is made so well. It is the most flattering dress I've ever rented from RTR and I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2012
AMAZING
I wore this for my own birthday night out and got a ton of compliments....I was also easy to find in a crowd. It was a big hit, and I am dying to rent and wear it again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Although I was definitely not happy with the quality of one of the dresses I received, I had to change both my rental date and delivery addresses, and RTR could not have been more accommodating! Good customer service is hard to come by and I will not be forgetting the excellent service I received from the RTR staff.
Being new to RTR, I wanted to opt for a dress that got a lot of good ratings, increasing my chances of me liking and looking good in it, so I went with this eye-catching Sachin + Babi number. Definitely runs small. Trying on the 4 was too tight THANKFULLY, because the size 4 dress I received was FRAYING at some parts on the yellow skirt, making me question the whole dress-renting experience. Obviously, people have worn this dress previous to my own rental, but what company has the audacity to send a dress that is literally falling apart at the seams? The size 6 however, was in MUCH better condition, gently used. Very appropriate for a summer day-time wedding! I don't make a habit out of wearing yellow, so this piece is a nice step out of the box if you want to try something different!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 17, 2012
Easy to wear
This dress is stylish and easy to wear (easy to wear a regular bra, panties, etc and the straps don't slide off or anything). However, the top was a little big on me (just a little). Granted, I am small. I thought the detail on the bodice of this dress was really cool - edgy in a way, yet still a classy dress. I would recommend this dress. Also, it wasn't too long on me, which was great (I'm only 5'0" and always worry things will be too long).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Love this!
Amazing dress. Fun and flirty and good to wear on any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
You can't help but sparkle wearing this dress!
I rented this for an evening wedding. It was perfect and I had people coming up to me all night asking where I got it...I could never give away my secret though! It was true to size and the fabric has some give which is great. The yellow skirt really makes a pop and is super flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
Odd fit for me
This was my back up dress for a wedding. It is stunning in person and I was heart broken I couldn't wear it- it looks like a perfect combo of fun/classy. I'm pear shape, smaller bust, and the reviews said to order a size up- which for me would be a 6, since I normally wear a 4 in this cut dress. The kicker is the lining of the skirt was fitted more like a pencil skirt- there was no give, so while I could get it over my caboose, it looked hooker-tight across my bum. The top was slightly loose (not noticeably so) but I think going up to the 8 would have resulted in the top being too big. While it's recommended for pear shaped gals, I would be conscious of what type of pear you are- if you have a booty, be aware this might be tighter than anticipated. It really is a beautiful dress in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
Great Dress
Does not give in the lower body area at all... if you're curvy, go a size up! Great dress though!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved it!
Basically runs true to size, but a little tight in waste so went with larger size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
January 28, 2013
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it felt very special. Got lots of complements!
The beading was in really good shape, and the skirt was very flattering and fun. Really liked this dress a lot and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 10, 2013
Gorgeous! So many compliments
This dress is BEAUTIFUL and true to size.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×