Sachin & Babi

Chrome Lace Sheath

$40 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Dress to impress at the party wearing this Sachin + Babi lace style. You'll be the most fashionable one there! Add a pop of color by adding the Oscar de la Renta's Emerald Confetti Cluster Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust; may be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to the sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer lace back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust; may be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to the sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer lace back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold lace with lurex threading (100% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

87 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 64
Large 5
Photos 52
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

The perfect amount of sophisticated and shimmery

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding this past weekend and it did not disappoint! After reading the reviews, I ended up ordering a 4 and a 6 based on some of the comments about the waist being too small - I had this issue also so sized up to the 6 and it fit perfectly. Other reviewers also commented on white tags that you could see through the lace - this could be the case. The 4 had tags at the top that could have been seen but on the 6, they were on the bottom and I just tucked them down into the dress. Anyway, still a gorgeous dress! I paired it with black nylons and pumps and it really looked fantastic.
CarolJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

I felt great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great. I received compliments all night. I never felt uncomfortable - that something was too tight, too short or just not right. No one else at the occasion had the same dress (which other women did have that situation). Thanks, I'll be renting another dress for a wedding we are attending in December.
Tracey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

I received so many compliments on this dress!!! I felt beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. It's sexy but definitely not over the top and perfect for a wedding. I wore a nu bra to fully expose the lace back which added just the right touch of flirtyness. You can move around with no worries of having to adjust your dress. I highly recommend!!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 10, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress that I wore to a work event. I got so many compliments and everyone was asking me where I'd gotten it. Thank you for another amazing rental!!
Claire
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

So easy to rent and return, great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the sparkly lace on this dress! It is a little snug around the waist band and the lacy back was kinda loose on me, but it still looked great and was comfortable. Great for a formal night time affair!
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Gorgeous back

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a black tie event - looks great with black tights and black heels. Great back - gorgeous with a black lace bra! Fit a little tight in the waist, bigger in the back, so had a weird effect going on, but got lots of compliments regardless!
hot mama
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2012

I wasn't able to wear this dress. Best for a very thin, straight & narrow figure with no curves.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I kind of suspected it after seeing the pix of other RTR clients wearing the sheath, but took a chance and ordered it anyway. The black ribbon waist band is very fitted and if you have even the tiniest curve in your belly or hips, this dress will accentuate it and you look a little...well...like a sausage. I think its not too flattering except for very thin girl. Pretty dress, but must have flat stomach and no hips. I am a petite size 4 and did not flatter me - even trying the size 6.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 3, 2012

Dress fit great and looked adorable on! I got lots of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I will definitely rent again from Rent the Runway. It was such an easy process!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Gorgeous, but couldn't use it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I REALLY tried to make this dress work. Fabric and cut are beautiful. Problems were related to the back. I didn't realize the back was lace, I thought it was illusion. I didn't have a proper bra and no bra was not an option. Also, because of the lace back, I couldn't wear any kind of pantyhose or shapewear. So although really beautiful, I went with my backup dress.
Em
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Did not wear dress...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I actually ended up returning this dress for fit. I was supposed to wear it to my boyfriends office Christmas party but it was too tight in the hips area and fit very well in the waist up. If you have a pear shaped body and are uncomfortable with dresses tight around the hip area, I would recommend trying a different dress. It was really pretty in person though - definitely more gold and the back was gorgeous.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

A little loose

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very beautiful dress. Do consider your options for a bra tho. Even a nude colored bra could easily be seen thru the beautiful lace back. I just wished it was a little more form fitting. It was a bit baggy so I opted for my other option. I really wanted to love this dress tho.
MM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My 22 year old daughter thought this was " too young" for me to wear to our big holiday party. All of my friends disagreed! It was perfect! The lace back gives it a bit more sizzle than a regular cocktail dress. It's one I'd love to own.
Dana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Fun, Flirty & Fabulous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a work holiday party. Fit, style, & color were perfect for the occasion.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Looks classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the style of the dress, but as others noted, the waistband was really tight. Also, for us shorter girls, I felt like the torso was too long for my body, which caused some rippling up the zipper in the back. Otherwise, it looked good -- most people couldn't notice these issues. One thing to RTR -- the second size I ordered had a big white tag down the sheer back that I would have wanted moved had I worn it. Fortunately, the tag for the size I wore had been discreetly moved.
Janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

sexy yet classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a black tie optional wedding. I loved how classy this dress looks from the front, and then surprises with the sexy open back. I wore with a nu bra. The fitting was pretty much true to size, maybe a little snug in the waist. I received many compliments.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Feb 23, 2013

Loved it! Everyone had wonderful things to say about the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size, comfy but elegant! great choice would rent again
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 21, 2013

Great dress for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the fit and detail of this dress! Just a warning to tall girls... the size 4 was just barely an acceptable length for a wedding so just make sure you feel comfortable showing a little leg.
kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Gorgeous, sexy dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress the back was really sexy and the colors were great for a night out! The only problem was that the top of the dress was too loose and I ended up having to wear my back-up size (4) because the 6 made my top seem baggy. Otherwise I loved it!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this one.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this one.
Madison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Oct 30, 2013

Wore this dress to a winter formal, loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the lace & zipper in the back of the dress. Long enough for someone tall to wear.
LEWK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2013

gorgeous dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
didn't end up wearing it but it is a beautiful dress
Tay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Pretty sheer back dress for a holiday affair

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit similarly to how it looks on the model -- tighter sheath dress with a defined waist. I think the fit was true to size -- the 2 was just a little too small, but the 4 fit just fine. The back is what makes the dress -- it's sheer with a funky zipper going up it. Overall, dress fit nicely and had a nice gunmetal/goldish shimmer to it. I thought it was a tad bit short for a more formal affair (more of a party dress), but still got a lot of positive feedback. What I really didn't like was the bottom of the dress -- the lining is not attached to the outer fabric, so there was a lot more tugging and adjusting that occurred all night. I would have given this dress four stars if the lining was better.
shirtgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Pretty dress, but didn't fit

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am 5'1" and 110 lbs. I usually wear a size 2 in most dresses and have always ordered a size 2 from Rent the Runway and they've always fit. This dress was so pretty when I took it out of the box, and I was excited to wear it. However, it was way too tight in the waist (and I will mention that I have a flat stomach and a small waist) and snug around the hip/butt area. Too bad, because I really wanted to wear it. This was my backup dress, so I didn't order a second size. Next time I'll order the 4.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 8, 2014

FUN DRESS

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for New Year's. Very cool color and style. The lace on the size 2 definitely showed a little wear but otherwise the dress was in nice condition. The black lining does show below the hem and I didn't like the look of that so I pinned it up. Much, much better after that. It really does run small, especially in the waist, so the 2 fit perfectly. Overall, a very nice and fun dress.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Interesting fabric, festive dress for a wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This rental worked out OK, but wasn't my favorite. I found the waistband to be particularly tight (even though the rest of the dress fit fine), so it made my stomach feel bigger than usual. I was also having trouble with the hem - was coming undone after multiple wears so it didn't look finished.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Great dress for a wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a winter wedding. Was happy because I wanted to wear black, but this dress gives a bit more interest than a plain black dress. Loved the sheer lace and the fit was great. Length was perfect for me being 5'1". Would definitely recommend!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 13, 2014

Beautiful but I did notice small holes!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress overall but there were a couple small holes in the back because of the delicacy of the lace. They were small and no one notice so I still wore it and received several complements! Would rent this again.
Tomarra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2014

The dress was tighter than what I would have liked- I am usually a 4-6 but 8 might have fit best.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Just tighter than expected in waist
Claudine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 15, 2014

Forgiven material

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This was my back up dress, did not wear the dress because I needed something with more sparkles, but I usually wear a size 4 and this dress on size 6 was actually fitting ok. I love the way that attaches to your body giving you a nice silhouette.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Sep 23, 2014

I did not end up wearing this dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress, except for me the back kind of ruins it. I would have had to find/buy a special stick on bra or something bc the open, lacey back. I tried it with a black bra and felt like it looked a little trashy.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Beautiful dress for a wedding, little short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fun to wear, the slip underneath was longer than the overlay so it was a constant battle of pulling the top layer down to match it...other than that it was fun and comfortable!
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

Tons of Compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I have a small waist but larger hips and the beltish feature around the waist looked great on me. The fabric was very cool looking.
Gina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Not good for short people

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I"m petite and ordered both a 4 and a 6. The 6 fit better for my bust, but the 4 was a perfect fit every where else. Due to my short stature, the back zipper bunched up terribly when I tried on the 6. Unfortunately the 4 was on the small side and I wasn't comfortable on how it fit me. I felt like I needed to have a longer torso with the 6..
-
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 11, 2014

Dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress- but should have gotten a size smaller.
IRIS
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

got a lot of compliments on the dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
loved the lace in the back of the dress.
Katelyn
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Sparkly and Sexy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress! As others mentioned, the waist band does not have much give, but I thought it was fine. My zipper stuck a little bit but I got it sorted. I loved the back of this dress. I usually don't wear things super form fitting (which this definitely was) but I got a ton of compliments on it and my girlfriends all said it did great things for my booty. 4 stars instead of 5 because of the lining sticking out below the lace overlay. I ended up safety pinning it up all the way around, which was fine.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2015

Good party dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 6 but ended up wearing the size 8. I have a smaller waist and bigger behind and hips. The dress was really comfy and very flattering.
Katelynn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Jan 5, 2015

SIZE UP, LADIES!!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
I needed the 6 in this dress for sure. The 4 fit me and zipped but it wasn't flattering at all. I think the bigger size would have worked. The sparkly material is so cute though, and the lace is just the right amount of sexy without being too much. The hemline (as others have mentioned) does bug because the overlay rides up . I was tugging on it and I only had it on for a few minutes. There was also a tag in mine as others mentioned.
Chrissy8
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Sexy details with the exposed lace back. Wore it for a date night and loved it.
Mallory
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

I LOVED that the back of the dress was all lace! Wore my hair up so everyone could see!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fit was amazing. It is perfect for someone pear-shaped like myself. I ordered the 4 with a 2 as a back-up and ended up wearing the 2 because the four was too big in the chest. I went to an event in the dead of winter, so I wore it with black tights and heels and it was great! I was comfortable all night, and even did a little dancing.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×