RVN

Scroll Down Sheath

$180 to buy
$525 retail
Stylist Notes

Step into something chic. This dress by RVN is the perfect choice for a birthday celebration! Make the gold detailing stand out with Alexis Bittar’s Lucite Talon Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and Gold Metallic intarsia knit (42% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 18% Nylon, 8% Spandex). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
221 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(120)
Small
(80)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 19, 2014
I wanted a special dress for my beau's Broadway Opening Night..I found it !

I read other reviews before getting this dress. The most helpful one was, step into it! It's very stretchy and 'spanxy', and it just wouldn't work going over my head.. Other than that, it fit well and it made me feel special and sexy..without being garish. It was /is quite elegant. My beau was so complimentary when he saw it, he admitted he was skeptical with me renting a dress.. and to be honest, I was a bit nervous about it too, (what if it doesn't look right??) but I did have a 'backup' - And then I realized I could have gotten another from RtR.. I recommend the dress for a fun party dress and recommend RtR! I will be a return customer when I get the chance or want to 'dress up' again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 28, 2014
I loved the dress and received a lot of compliments.

The dress fit really well. It was a little tight around the arms, but not too annoying since the material is stretchy anyway.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
March 28, 2014
Didn't wear it

Heavy thick material but runs small and tight .. I got it on but my legs were rubbing when I moved so I didn't wear it . I wanted to wear it because it was perfect for an academy awards party being l Black and gold .

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2014
Beautiful Details

This dress is gorgeous. The fabric was quite itchy, so plan to wear a full slip underneath. It runs really small, order two sizes up. If the dress is too tight it will ride up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Great for a Gatsby gala!

Tight but in a way that accentuates your best parts! My boyfriend loved it. Very comfy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 1, 2014
New Years Eve in NYC!

This was such a great dress! Absolutely loved how I felt in it and my boyfriend loved it ;) I'm usually a size 0, but when i was renting the dress a size XS nor S were available, so I rented a medium and it fit just fine! Still very snug, so the XS would have probably suffocated me! Loved this dress so much, was sad to return it haha!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
This dress is wonderful if you really want to look classy yet sexy.

The dress, first of all, runs small. It's a bit daunting trying to shimmy into it because there's no zipper, and the material is like spanx. It's great for holding you in though, and smoothes out and lumps while accenting curves. I got lots of compliments on my figure! My two complaints would be that it kept riding up during dancing (I kept having to pull it down throughout the night) and that the gold material under the armpits was scratchy and hours of dancing made the underside of my arms raw.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
Valentine's Day Dinner

This was really cute but the embroidery and material makes it appear more casual in person than in the photo. I wore this to Valentine's Day dinner with my husband with black hose and black suede knee-high boots. The ensemble was cute and not too dressy for a semi-casual dinner at a restaurant. It is EXTREMELY fitted. I usually wear an XS, and it fit fine, but was very tight. The material is thick enough to smooth out problem areas, and fit the occasion well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 15, 2014
Great fit

Pros- fits well, contours to you body. Gold detail is really nice. I'm usually a XS but the XS was too short ans the small fit perfectly Cons- there was a bump In the fabric right around my waste that would smooth out

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 16, 2014
While pretty, the dress was very tight and rode up so it was too short

The dress was very pretty, but if hadn't been so stretchy I don't think it would have fit at all. Even so, it was much tighter than I would have liked or would have chosen for myself. This is the first dress where I thought the sizing advice was off and I wished I had a larger size. This is particularly tight in the hip stomach thigh area. It also tends to ride up and I was constantly pulling it down. Overall, I had wanted a more conservative dress than this ended up being because of the fit. While beautiful, I wouldn't rent it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2014
Not for big busts!

This dress does not work for ladies with significant chests. Squished me flat - had to return! It's a great dress with nice thick material and a pretty print, but was totally not flattering on top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2014
Awesome time at the Manhattan Cocktail Classic!

This was sent as a backup for the dress I originally ordered because they ran out of my backup size. It was TIGHT. I am top heavy and even in a size up I wouldn't have been able to pull it off. Someone with a smaller bust would look phenomenal in this dress. Also, the glitter (not sequins, not beads) may be irritating for some with your arms rubbing it all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2014
It was an okay dress

So I apologize for my restroom selfie. I wanted a picture you could appreciate as a potential renter. The dress was beautiful. But, it was not my style. I have a long torso and it fit a bit awkwardly. I was at my boyfriends graduation - meeting plenty of friends and professors. I felt I had to tug it down, a lot, and that the over all fit was tight. To be fair, its a tight fitting dress, like wearing really, really thick leggings. I can't say people gushed over it. I got some compliments, nothing over the top. It is certainly not a dress I would care to own. Hope this helps. I have another rental coming in July; fingers crossed that will be a winner.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 23, 2014
Friend's Wedding

As other's noted, it is tight, but stretchy. I was wondering how in the heck everyone pulled it on from the feet up, but it is pretty easy to stretch. I didn't have much difficulty with it at all. My skin actually got a little irritated from the material rubbing all night, and the gold thread rubbed a bit where the under side of my arms hit the dress, but overall the fit was nice, flattering, and I didn't have any strange lines and the shape the dress created was nice. I liked where the top of the dress hit my shoulders and it was really nice to be able to wear a normal bra. I didn't think the dress was too short, just a few inches above my knee. It was sexy without being revealing.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 8, 2014
Loved the dress. Received many compliments!

I ordered a small and a medium. The medium fit perfectly. The small was just a bit too tight on my bust. It was very comfortable and I felt great in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 8, 2014
Gold design on front looks better in person than in photos.

Super pretty gold pattern on the front that looks much better and is more noticeable in real life than in photos. I rented this as a back up dress for a semi-formal work function, but ended up wearing another dress I rented and let a co-worker borrow this one. (We are the same height/weight.) It is super tight and form fitting. It pulls overhead and has no zipper. The fabric reminded me of a wet-suit, but thinner. It is tight but will really pull you in.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2014
Dress for a wedding or night out

The dress was comfortable but it was a little suffocating in the boob area, even tho I wore a medium. I'd wear it again, great for a wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
July 23, 2014
Super convenient, gorgeous dress

This dress was absolutely beautiful. I got a ton of compliments. I'm a size 4 or 6 though and I rented a medium which was for size 6-8 and it was skin tight. It looked great but order your size and one above as a back up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
August 4, 2014
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday and it looked great! So happy I got this dress.

I usually fit into a medium in dresses, but the large fit perfectly. They actually had to send me a different dress for the medium sized since the girl who wore the i ordered had damaged it, but it didn't end up mattering since the large fit perfectly. I am really happy with the dress. It wasn't itchy at all, and it was perfect for a birthday celebration.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 18, 2014
Stretchy, form-fitting and loved the detail!

I loved the detail on the dress with the gold that really (literally) popped from the dress. The bottom of it was kind of weird as it almost looked like it wasn't sewed right, and kept riding up on me, so I had to keep pulling it down all night. The dress is very form-fitting, so if you don't like a dress that is super tight to your body, don't go with this one. I did receive a ton of compliments though!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2014
Always ok to be overdressed for your own birthday...

It does run small- I'm comfortable in a 4 and sometimes a 2 but definitely needed the medium. It's super tight, but because of the dark color, it hides a lot of what you might be worried about. It rode up a little, but wasn't too short on my 5'4" frame so I stopped noticing it. The gold detailing is very fun and makes the dress feel kind of glam (though the material and fit are more casual). Probably better for fall/winter events but I was fine in an air conditioned room!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2014
I usually wear a small-medium..

I rented a medium and I felt it was still too tight. It just wasn't flattering on my body unfortunately.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 5, 2014
Classic dress!

Its a slightly thick dress and is tight. In dresses I usually wear a XS, but S was perfect for this dress as it will likely hug you no matter what. It was comfortable and I could move well in it but it was a tiniest bit scratchy (from the gold seams). Overall, great dress, but if you are going to a summer wedding with no air conditioning, you might want a more breathable dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 22, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on this dress. I was also comfortable in it all night.

material was somewhat heavier and clingier than I expected. I usually wear a Medium and this medium was more of a fitted dress, yet still flattering. the large I also ordered was a little too long as well as baggy and since the material was so thick it looked funny. I say chose one true to your size just be prepared for a form fitting dress with heavy material.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 25, 2014
Love, Love Love This Dress, But it does run small

This is the perfect elegant dress. It's sexy without revealing too much anything. Unfortunately, it runs small and due to damage to the size medium (my back up size), I was forced to wear the small. The spandex is very forgiving and helped hold everything in place, despite feeling a bit like a sausage all evening. I wore it to a Captain's Table dinner on our cruise and felt elegant and beautiful. I will probably rent this again for the company Holiday party.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 26
October 27, 2014
This dress was perfect for an elegant wedding look! It worked perfectly in the industrial space

It fit just a tad snug, but hugged all the right places. The embroidery scratched my arms just a little but not enough to bother me! I absolutely loved this look!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 29, 2014
Worked perfectly for a fall wedding!

I decided to go with my backup medium size instead of the small because it was a bit longer and more comfortable for walking/dancing. Fabric worked well for a fall afternoon and night since it was a little thicker. Would definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
November 3, 2014
Loved this dress! Was sad to have had to return it.

Overall fit does run small. I ordered the small and medium and ended up with the medium. The material WILL stretch though! I was able to "step" into the dress instead of pulling it over my head. This was my first rent the runway experience and I was definitely pleased with the results!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 5, 2014
Form fitting and flattering

Loved the design of the dress but it was a bit tighter than expected. Thankful that two sizes were sent. It was a bit too tight and clingy for me to wear to my nieces wedding so I wore this to the rehearsal dinner instead. When the bottom was pulled down it looked great. I just didn't like having to pull I it down after sitting when it would ride up. Overall I liked the dress. Maybe should have requested a small and medium vs xs and small

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2014
Felt great!

i loved this dress! it's a little snug but very comfortable and sort of sucks in at all the right places. Wore it for new years and it was perfect.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2014
The dress did make me feel slim and glamorous!

Very tight and fitted, runs a little small but the fabric does stretch and fits large busts

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2014
Stunning dress!

FIT - Dress runs a little small, but I had picked up on that from other people's reviews and ordered a medium and large. I tried the large on first and it fit like a glove so I didn't even bother trying on the medium. PROS - The fabric is thick so it was great to wear to a winter wedding. Thickness also helps smooth out everything. The gold pattern and detail is GORGEOUS and stunning and I felt like a million bucks in this dress! So unique. CONS - Although the dress is a nice length, it does ride up a bit and I was pulling it down when I was on the dance floor. Also, the inner part of my arms were a little irritated from rubbing up against the gold detail just under the armpit area. Not bad, but I definitely noticed. ADDITIONAL - From these photos, I thought the gold detailing was all beaded, but it's just thread (still beautiful!!). Also, there is no zipper on this dress, but the fabric is stretchy so it's easy to pull over your head. Overall I LOVED this dress and would definitely recommend to anyone!!! (PS My bestie Dana in the blue is wearing another RTR dress - Yigal Azrouël Ian Se Beijing Dress) <3

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2014
Tight and Sexy

I don't normally wear dresses this tight, because my posterior is well-endowed. However, the thickness of the material and the craftsmanship of the dress allowed it to feel appropriate for the occasion. It's thick but very stretchy, so I was able to dance without the dressing riding high. I would definitely recommend getting this dress, but just know it's going to be form-fitting but not trashy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 63
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2014
Looked classy and elegant

Dress retained an odor upon arrival. Metalic details in fabric made it uncomfortable and fit was very tight but it looked really pretty, It is hard for me to get a good fit with rentals as I am very short and a bit chubby so this dress was a good choice.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 15, 2014
I wore this dress for a formal holiday party.

It was snug and I needed someone to help me get into the dress since I did not have a larger backup size. Once I was in it though, it felt fine and I received a lot of compliments. It rides up since it is a stretchy tight fit, but that did not bother me

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2014
Awesome holiday dress!

The gold detail is lovely in person! It's hard to tell from the pictures, but the gold scrolling is a metallic gold thread (not glitter, so you don't have to worry about sparkles rubbing all over the place). I found it to be slightly shorter in person than it appears in photos -- I'm 5'7" and it hit me at least 1-2 inches higher than it does on the 5'10" model in the product photos. Also, it DEFINITELY runs small. I'm typically a size 0 and I could barely get the XS over my head. Thankfully, I had the size small as my back-up size, but even then it was very tight -- probably the tightest dress I've ever worn. However, the quality and thickness of the material prevented it from looking tacky or ill-fitting. I would recommend putting on the dress before doing your hair or applying deodorant, because there's no zipper and pulling the dress over your head is no easy feat. However, once I had it on, it was surprisingly comfortable. All in all, I would definitely rent this dress again, despite the initial difficulties pulling it on. The gold detail looks great in photos.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2015
Loved that the dress was sexy yet modest, perfect for a work event.

Fits snug but is super flattering once on. Received compliments all night! Felt very comfortable but did ride up a bit when I walked so had to adjust it frequently.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2015
A little short for me but otherwise gorgeous dress!

I loved wearing this dress!! It was a little short for me, I'm 5'10" and it was a little short. It's also VERY tight but the fabric is very thick and stretchy. It feels like it is holding you in and is very comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 2, 2015
Unique, fun dress!

I found that I could fit into either the S or M but felt more comfortable in the S. This dress will show flaws, so I wore spanx underneath despite the fitted nature. I received tons of compliments!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2015
This dress was great!

It fit super well. The fabric was thick, so it sucked everything in. It also was very tight.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×