RVN

Scroll Down Sheath

$180 to buy
$525 retail
Stylist Notes

Step into something chic. This dress by RVN is the perfect choice for a birthday celebration! Make the gold detailing stand out with Alexis Bittar’s Lucite Talon Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and Gold Metallic intarsia knit (42% Polyester, 32% Viscose, 18% Nylon, 8% Spandex). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
219 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(80)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2014
Could not be more perfect for my evening at the Aladdin Broadway opening!
Overall I loved this dress. I received so many compliments on it through the night that I wished I could keep it forever! When I first noticed that it did not have a zipper I was a little worried about getting it on as I had an up-do for the evening. However this dress stretches wonderfully and I was able to slip it on from the bottom up. It fits snug and hardly moves throughout the night. I had to pull it down a few times but overall it was a dress I didn't have to worry about and I could just enjoy my evening. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 28, 2014
I loved the dress and received a lot of compliments.
The dress fit really well. It was a little tight around the arms, but not too annoying since the material is stretchy anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2014
Didn't wear it
Heavy thick material but runs small and tight .. I got it on but my legs were rubbing when I moved so I didn't wear it . I wanted to wear it because it was perfect for an academy awards party being l Black and gold .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
April 2, 2014
so comfortable!
Although a little difficult to get on (stretches, no zipper), once it was on it was very flattering and SOOO comfortable! It was great for a night out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2014
Beautiful but Uncomfortable
This dress fit like a glove. Its very form fitting so I would say go a size down. I usually wear a medium and I rented this in a small. The only problem was that the stitching detail is very itchy on the inside. I was literally scratching my sides all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2014
Perfect little black dress for a night out in New Orleans!
This dress was one of the best dresses I've rented!! I loved the gold detail in the top area which was perfect for a night out! The fit is tight- it is a stretch like thicker material, so it hugs your body pretty well! Super comfortable, I actually forgot a few times that I had such a fitted dress on because it was that comfortable! I ended up wearing earrings and bracelets only as there is no need for necklace due to the fancy top. If you are super conscious about tight fitting dresses, I'm not sure how comfortable you would feel in this dress. I also loved that I could wear a normal bra (no need for strapless or low back, etc. I'm always impressed with RTR. I tell all my friends about them, b/c I have not had a bad experience yet! Keep it up! P.S. I wish I could own this dress, AWESOME LBD
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2014
Beautiful Details
This dress is gorgeous. The fabric was quite itchy, so plan to wear a full slip underneath. It runs really small, order two sizes up. If the dress is too tight it will ride up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 11, 2014
I wore this dress to a Great Gatsby themed party and it was perfect!
This dress was beautiful. I rented the extra small and small and ended up wearing the size small. The dress ran true to size and fit snuggly. The material enhanced my curves. I am 5'2", 118 pounds and a 32C. The size small fit beautifully. It did ride up while I was dancing but I was able to discreetly fix this issue. I loved this dress and received multiple compliments at the event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2014
Fit the theme perfectly!
This dress was so fun, and made me feel great. The material is thick, and very body con. I was worried that it would run long on me based on the model picture since I'm about 5'3'' and 3/4, but the length ended up being no problem. (It rides up) The small was a bit more comfortable in the arm area, but it had some iron/dry cleaning stains so I went with the XS. I got tons of compliments throughout the night, and I would definitely recommend this dress for a semi-formal/formal event!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2014
Perfect dress with a little sparkle
Fit great in all the right places. I wore it for an engagement party and got so many compliments all night. Was flattering fit but not to short at all! Great pick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2014
Beautiful fit!
While I decided on a different dress for my event, I'll definitely keep this one in mind for a future event. It fit like a glove and the gold detailing looked beautiful.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Great for a Gatsby gala!
Tight but in a way that accentuates your best parts! My boyfriend loved it. Very comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 29, 2014
I wore this dress for a night out while vacationing in Hawaii.
The dress is made to fit tight so if you are looking for a dress that is form fitting this is the one! The customer service team was so helpful and let me know that I could ship the dress back from Hawaii. Great night with a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 1, 2014
New Years Eve in NYC!
This was such a great dress! Absolutely loved how I felt in it and my boyfriend loved it ;) I'm usually a size 0, but when i was renting the dress a size XS nor S were available, so I rented a medium and it fit just fine! Still very snug, so the XS would have probably suffocated me! Loved this dress so much, was sad to return it haha!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 3, 2014
Wore this for my twins baptism and felt great! Really hugs the body in all the right spots.
Fit was a bit snug and the dress isn't the most comfortable . Fabric of dress is hard but it looks flattering on most body types
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
May 6, 2014
Most beautiful and comfortable dress I have rented! Got compliments all night.
I am in love with this dress. It fit perfectly and the pattern is so beautiful. It was very comfortable to dance in all night and it is just formal enough for a cocktail party. Perfect sparkly little black dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
This dress is wonderful if you really want to look classy yet sexy.
The dress, first of all, runs small. It's a bit daunting trying to shimmy into it because there's no zipper, and the material is like spanx. It's great for holding you in though, and smoothes out and lumps while accenting curves. I got lots of compliments on my figure! My two complaints would be that it kept riding up during dancing (I kept having to pull it down throughout the night) and that the gold material under the armpits was scratchy and hours of dancing made the underside of my arms raw.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
Tight and really flattering!
I loved this dress. It was pretty tight, but I felt like it was ok for the wedding I was at, especially since the fabric is thick, the neck is high and it has cap sleeves. It does ride up, but it was fine, especially if you are shorter like I am. The fold scrolls are really beautiful! Like another reviewer said, there is no need to wear spanx under this dress. It is a little itchy, but it didn't bother me at all. Definitely not at all a typical LBD. Wish I could have kept it! Would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 12, 2014
Valentine's Day Dinner
This was really cute but the embroidery and material makes it appear more casual in person than in the photo. I wore this to Valentine's Day dinner with my husband with black hose and black suede knee-high boots. The ensemble was cute and not too dressy for a semi-casual dinner at a restaurant. It is EXTREMELY fitted. I usually wear an XS, and it fit fine, but was very tight. The material is thick enough to smooth out problem areas, and fit the occasion well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 15, 2014
Great fit
Pros- fits well, contours to you body. Gold detail is really nice. I'm usually a XS but the XS was too short ans the small fit perfectly Cons- there was a bump In the fabric right around my waste that would smooth out
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 16, 2014
While pretty, the dress was very tight and rode up so it was too short
The dress was very pretty, but if hadn't been so stretchy I don't think it would have fit at all. Even so, it was much tighter than I would have liked or would have chosen for myself. This is the first dress where I thought the sizing advice was off and I wished I had a larger size. This is particularly tight in the hip stomach thigh area. It also tends to ride up and I was constantly pulling it down. Overall, I had wanted a more conservative dress than this ended up being because of the fit. While beautiful, I wouldn't rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2014
Beautiful design but too short!
I have a long torso so even though I am only 5'7 this dress felt wayyyy too short on me, especially since I was wearing it to a black tie optional wedding. I was expecting it to be closer to knee length and I felt like I was constantly pulling it down all night to get it even to fingertip length, which is why I went with the M over the S. I do think the S fit me better through the upper body, especially since I have a smaller bust/waist but I wanted more fabric to feel comfortable. That being said, if you are a shorter or very petite body type, I would highly recommend this dress!! The pattern is beautiful and it was very easy to dress up for a formal event. I wore a chic black blazer over the dress for the ceremony and small earrings but I didn't feel the need for much jewelry because of the gold shimmery design, which was also super flattering. The bodycon fabric lent itself to a pretty comfortable but chic look (sorry about the bad lighting in the picture!). Overall, great dress but bad fit on me so I would not rent again but would recommend for a different body type.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2014
Not for big busts!
This dress does not work for ladies with significant chests. Squished me flat - had to return! It's a great dress with nice thick material and a pretty print, but was totally not flattering on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2014
Wore this dress to the symphony
This dress is less of a standard sheath dress than I thought it would be - it's made of a stretchy, figure-hugging material. Regardless, It was a fun twist on a little black dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
May 25, 2014
I've never felt more beautiful and more relaxed in a dress then I did tonight!
Not once did I feel the need to pull up or pull down; the dress fit like a glove and was beyond comfortable! My favorite part was the fact that the dress was it's own statement, making accessories easy to pick! I will remember this dress fondly as my first RTR experience :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2014
Got so many compliments. Dress was so flattering!
Would definitely recommend this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2014
I got tons of compliments on this dress! It was perfect for the occasion.
The dress fit well and was very form fitting. It did tend to ride up, so I had to keep pulling it down, but overall I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2014
Awesome time at the Manhattan Cocktail Classic!
This was sent as a backup for the dress I originally ordered because they ran out of my backup size. It was TIGHT. I am top heavy and even in a size up I wouldn't have been able to pull it off. Someone with a smaller bust would look phenomenal in this dress. Also, the glitter (not sequins, not beads) may be irritating for some with your arms rubbing it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 6, 2014
Felt curvy and confident!
Both the M and L fit but I went with L for a slightly more conservative look. Hugs every curve--very sexy but not slutty! Beautifully simple cut with interest added from the gold detailing. Quality fabric and construction. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 7, 2014
I couldn't keep my eyes off her the entire evening - Proud husband
This dress hugged my wife's body perfectly. She wore the medium because she said the large was a little stretched out at the bottom. It rode up a bit (no complaints) but it wasn't too much to take away from the classiness of the dress. Will be renting again in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 8, 2014
Perfect dress for small frame!
RTR sent me this dress after my original rental did not fit and it was the most figure flattering dress I've ever worn! I have a naturally small frame and this dress showed off curves I didn't even know I had! My husband actually used the word "stunning" and I didn't even know that word was in his vocabulary! I would rent this same dress in a heartbeat... It runs true to size and looks more sparkly in person than the pictures. Thank you RTR for another amazing dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 8, 2014
I picked this dress for a dinner party with my husbands Navy squadron.
I was very happy with it! Its very flattering and sexy but still classy and although its super tight (like another review said:the dress acts as its own spanks) it wasnt innapropriate or anything. My husbands super conservative and still thought it looked great. Im usually a 00 or 0 or xs. I got the xs and s. I couldve totally wore the small but chose the xs because it fit just slightly better. Would def recommend! Its the perfect lbd and could be dressed up or down.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 159lbs
June 16, 2014
Wonderful dress. I could have worn the Medium though. Great for an evening out.
The material is amazing, but I did need to wear a bra. The fabric is amazing though.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect designer/perfect dress
This dress is so comfortable and extremely flattering. Makes you look very skinny!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2014
It was an okay dress
So I apologize for my restroom selfie. I wanted a picture you could appreciate as a potential renter. The dress was beautiful. But, it was not my style. I have a long torso and it fit a bit awkwardly. I was at my boyfriends graduation - meeting plenty of friends and professors. I felt I had to tug it down, a lot, and that the over all fit was tight. To be fair, its a tight fitting dress, like wearing really, really thick leggings. I can't say people gushed over it. I got some compliments, nothing over the top. It is certainly not a dress I would care to own. Hope this helps. I have another rental coming in July; fingers crossed that will be a winner.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
June 21, 2014
I was at my friends prom, and seeing all the beautiful dresses and goregous people made it magical!
I love how the dress fit to my body! It was a tad bit difficult to put on and take off, but when wearing it, it felt like a glove!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
June 23, 2014
Friend's Wedding
As other's noted, it is tight, but stretchy. I was wondering how in the heck everyone pulled it on from the feet up, but it is pretty easy to stretch. I didn't have much difficulty with it at all. My skin actually got a little irritated from the material rubbing all night, and the gold thread rubbed a bit where the under side of my arms hit the dress, but overall the fit was nice, flattering, and I didn't have any strange lines and the shape the dress created was nice. I liked where the top of the dress hit my shoulders and it was really nice to be able to wear a normal bra. I didn't think the dress was too short, just a few inches above my knee. It was sexy without being revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2014
The dress is absolutely stunning! Very well made, love the craftsmanship. Worth every penny :)
The dress is stunning. I really like this dress, if could buy it I would. I would suggest going with a size up just to be safe as the dress go on very tight. I actually thought the medium I ordered as the extra size was the small. I thought the small was too small, but in fact was perfect. I do suggest putting the dress on before doing your hair or makeup! Its not easy to put on at all. I would highly recommend this dress. I got compliments all night. Love love love.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 7, 2014
Very form fitting but still incredibly classy
I wore this for my 25th birthday and I felt great in it. The dress was very form fitting but was very comfortable. It did not ride up when I walked. I would definitely rent from this brand again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 8, 2014
Loved the dress. Received many compliments!
I ordered a small and a medium. The medium fit perfectly. The small was just a bit too tight on my bust. It was very comfortable and I felt great in it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×