Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2010
I loved this dress!!! It fit great (with a little room to spare). I wore it to a wedding over the weekend & I got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2010
Very comfortable dress, wore it to a night wedding, black high heels, no hose, diamond studs no necklace because dress itself makes a statement it self... would recommend!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2013
They made sure to take care of all the necessities, and you get a free bag!
The ends were frayed a bit, but I loved the dress overall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
I LOVED this dress!!!
got it right on time and it was perfect!! i used this dress for homecoming and i got SO many compliments. the color was so pretty and i loved how the tiers looked. the only thing was is that it's tight at the bottom and is a little restricting making it harder to dance in but i managed. Rent the runway is the shnazzz
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
A little long.
I wore this dress for a holiday party. It fit well, but was a little longer than I would have liked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this dress and I would rent it again! I got dozens of compliments when I wore it to a wedding. The dress is very flattering and worked very well on my petite frame. It did not slip down and kept its shape very well. The dress is lined and perfect for a winter or fall event!
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 35
December 12, 2010
I rented this dress for a wedding and ended up not wearing it. It's not made for hour glass/curvy women I think. The top was larger than the bottom of the dress...so if you've got a butt, it really hugs you in the skirt and then gapes at the top. It was also hard to walk in...so I couldn't imagine dancing in it very well. Also, there's a rubber lining strip along the top (I guess to help it stay up), but it's frayed and falling apart. Just trying it on, several pieces flaked off. I think it's a pretty dress, but I thought it was an awkward fit.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 35
January 25, 2011
The dress was cute but I received a damaged dress. A section of the layers on the front of the dress was torn and I wasn't able to wear it. The customer service I have received after I immediately called them to notify them of the damage has been the worst customer service I've ever experienced. It's been almost a month since my rental and I haven't been able to get anyone on the phone (or email) to resolve it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Body type: Petite
March 6, 2011
You can't tell by the picture, but the fabric on the tiers looks "shorn". Not a negative, just an observation. Other reviewers said the color of the dress was more vibrant in person, but I disagree as you "get what you see" on the website. This was my second choice dress that I didn't wear due to it being too tight in the hips and loose in the waist. It is very short too, and this would be fine if I were not 45 years old. Good dress for someone with narrow hips and great legs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2011
i love this dress! i wore it to my friend's wedding and received numerous compliments. the dress was in good condition, the strap stayed in place all night long, and i didn't need to wear a bra. i weigh 123 lbs and i ordered both a size 4 and 6 and despite the 4 fitting ok on the top, because i have hips the bottom didn't fit so well. so i wore the 6, and even with that one i had a difficult time pulling the bottom past my hips once i put the dress over my head. damn my hips! :p
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 15, 2011
the one thing that is not shown well in this picture is that the bands of the dress are frayed, not sure if that is just from wear and tear or meant to be there but it still looks nice. Also the dress is much more wine colored that the maroon color shown. Overall I loved the dress and the 2 fit perfectly but it was definitely different from what i expected
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 16, 2011
Did not cinch at the waist for me so it left me looking boxy. Also the one sleeve hit at an odd point of my shoulder (my shoulders are somewhat broad). The materail isnt very stretchy at all so this dress is pretty much hit or miss.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2011
Very pretty dress, runs very small! I am usually a 2/4 so those are the sizes I rented but yikes, could barely squeeze into the 4! If you have a large bust or curvy hips, renter beware. I am a 34D and the one-sided shoulder was very constricting. I would recommend the dress but would caution renting a size up, wish I got the 6!
LauraOctober 22, 2015
how high is your heel in the photo?
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2011
Color is GORGEOUS! I am a solid size 6 and was disappointed that this dress was a bit snug in the hips. Also worth noting, its a tad short on the taller girls like myself so be ready to rock some leg-action or have hosiery to make it more conservative depending on the event you're going to.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2011
Even with wearing the larger size i rented, this dress was too tight on my thighs. I have small thighs, but a larger butt and it made the dress too tight on my thighs to sit down for long periods. great dress if you only sit for a short time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2011
Lovely
This was actually my back-up dress so I didn't wear it that day but I am absolutely going to rent it again because it is really pretty, really flattering, and just all around lovely.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2011
Very Flattering
I wore this to my company's holiday party and I loved it! The shoulder strap did go over my shoulder like the model's, I know some reviewers mentioned it didn't for them. I am petite and do not have broad shoulders, maybe this dress isn't the best fit for broader shoulders? It fit great, the fabric didn't have much give but I wasn't at an event where I needed a lot of give in my dress so it was fine and looked great! I do have shorter legs and was worried about the dress being a little too long on me (I like things real short) but it was fine with 3" heels (my feet were not by the end of the night though!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
August 17, 2012
Stunning!
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was the perfect little number for an evening wedding. I am a little busty so the 8 didn't fit quite right. I went up a size to accommodate. Thank goodness they will send you 2 sizes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 17, 2012
Winter style
Not a very flattering shape, more of a winter shape. I returned this dress without wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 11, 2012
Fantastic fall color!
Great dress! Received soo many compliments. The overlapping detail is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it because it was fancier than I expected.
The dress was too dressy for the wedding I attended with my boyfriend. It also made me look a lot wider from the front than I expected based on what I'd seen with the model. I was glad I ordered a size up, but would have worn the size 6 to the wedding, if I had worn it at all. I looked way better from the side, and felt self conscious looking at myself from the front because the ruffles added a lot of volume. The ordering experience and delivery experience with RTR was great as usual.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2012
I did not wear this dress.
Unfortunately this dress didn't work out for me. The fit across the bust and stomach accentuated my curves in an unflattering way because of the horizontal layered fabric. I did not end up wearing this dress for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Cute but frayed ends weren't for me
Fit was tight but held everything in place. Color was beautiful and the thickness of the dress makes it great for fall or winter events but the frayed edges of the layers made it look a bit sloppy on me. The dress was also shorter than I expected, hitting at mid-thigh level.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Body type: Petite
December 28, 2012
The ease of picking and receiving a dress. The whole process is worth it!
The fit of this dress was perfect for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2013
Great service, great dress
Fits true to size, very little give, so order a size up. Perfect for fall/winter due to material
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 24, 2013
Cute, but not a great fit
This dress looked darling on the website and other women, but it was way too short on me. I felt it would have been great for someone younger. Very small in the ribcage/bust. I did not end up wearing it. Beautiful deep, bordeaux color.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2013
Love the color, flattering cut
top part didnt lay flat very well, but I did wear the dress without a bra and I have a large chest. Even after ironing the top part flat it still kept bunching up with is why i gave it 4/5 stars. not a good dress to dance in because it doesnt have much stretch but if you will be sitting or standing this is perfect. i love the deep burgundy color. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was perfect :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
May 22, 2013
CHIC
The dress looked better off than on, it was slightly bigger on my frame, so I ended up wearing a different RTR dress. All-in-all it is a very sophisticated, classy option, wish it had fit right!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2013
Pretty dress, not for me unfortunately!
I loved the dress, the color was a deep maroon but the one should look just wasn't for me. The ends of the layers were really frayed as well.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2013
My husband's mouth dropped when he saw me.
The dress fit perfect. I knew that it ran a little large so I ordered a size down.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful New Orleans wedding
The fit was spot on for what I usually wear. I'm 5'7" and 120lb. and it was maybe a little loose and a little long? Overall, I was very happy. The weight of the fabric was perfect for a slightly chilly evening wedding.
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×