Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2013
Beautiful rich color and a pretty good fit. I got lots of compliments.

Not much give to the fabric, which is good for hiding flaws, but not always the most comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2013
Beautiful dress

I wore it for my fiancé's brothers wedding and loved it. It was a beautiful dress, wonderful fit. A little short but I am tall.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2011
success!

Fit very well, wore to dinner with my boyfriend and he loved it too!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2012
Awesome I loved it

Fit great a tad snug around the top but otherwise perfect

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
March 2, 2014
Comfortable, form fitting, and hides your imperfections. Perfect dress for the Casino Night party!

Fit like a glove, very comfortable and stayed in place well. The small tiered layers hide any imperfections I was trying to hide. Received many compliments, wish I could've kept this one in my closet!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress looked great on, but it was surprisingly thick layers of fabric. Not the most comfortable

Fine for fall or winter, but too heavy/thick for summer event.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2011

Love this dress...picture does not do justices....looks very elegant

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2011

I felt great in this this dress. I wore this dress to a November wedding and felt very season appropriate and stylish. The color was great and I felt very sexy.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2011

I loved this dress! I wore it for Valentine's Day dinner and I got many compliments! Very comfortable. You may want to go one size up if you have bigger hips.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2011

I wore this to a fraternity formal and it was perfect! i absolutely love this dress! I am 130 lbs and I wore a size 4. I wore it as shown but my hair was down!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2011

This dress was very pretty. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a black tie optional wedding. As others explained, the layers on the dress are not clean cut like they look in the photo, they are slightly frayed, but I didn't mind it. I'm 115 lbs and wore a size 2. Great dress overall.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2010

I loved this dress!!! It fit great (with a little room to spare). I wore it to a wedding over the weekend & I got tons of compliments.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2010

Very comfortable dress, wore it to a night wedding, black high heels, no hose, diamond studs no necklace because dress itself makes a statement it self... would recommend!!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2013
They made sure to take care of all the necessities, and you get a free bag!

The ends were frayed a bit, but I loved the dress overall!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
I LOVED this dress!!!

got it right on time and it was perfect!! i used this dress for homecoming and i got SO many compliments. the color was so pretty and i loved how the tiers looked. the only thing was is that it's tight at the bottom and is a little restricting making it harder to dance in but i managed. Rent the runway is the shnazzz

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
A little long.

I wore this dress for a holiday party. It fit well, but was a little longer than I would have liked.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2010

I absolutely loved this dress and I would rent it again! I got dozens of compliments when I wore it to a wedding. The dress is very flattering and worked very well on my petite frame. It did not slip down and kept its shape very well. The dress is lined and perfect for a winter or fall event!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 36
January 25, 2011

The dress was cute but I received a damaged dress. A section of the layers on the front of the dress was torn and I wasn't able to wear it. The customer service I have received after I immediately called them to notify them of the damage has been the worst customer service I've ever experienced. It's been almost a month since my rental and I haven't been able to get anyone on the phone (or email) to resolve it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Body type: Petite
March 6, 2011

You can't tell by the picture, but the fabric on the tiers looks "shorn". Not a negative, just an observation. Other reviewers said the color of the dress was more vibrant in person, but I disagree as you "get what you see" on the website. This was my second choice dress that I didn't wear due to it being too tight in the hips and loose in the waist. It is very short too, and this would be fine if I were not 45 years old. Good dress for someone with narrow hips and great legs.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2011

i love this dress! i wore it to my friend's wedding and received numerous compliments. the dress was in good condition, the strap stayed in place all night long, and i didn't need to wear a bra. i weigh 123 lbs and i ordered both a size 4 and 6 and despite the 4 fitting ok on the top, because i have hips the bottom didn't fit so well. so i wore the 6, and even with that one i had a difficult time pulling the bottom past my hips once i put the dress over my head. damn my hips! :p

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 15, 2011

the one thing that is not shown well in this picture is that the bands of the dress are frayed, not sure if that is just from wear and tear or meant to be there but it still looks nice. Also the dress is much more wine colored that the maroon color shown. Overall I loved the dress and the 2 fit perfectly but it was definitely different from what i expected

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2011
Very Flattering

I wore this to my company's holiday party and I loved it! The shoulder strap did go over my shoulder like the model's, I know some reviewers mentioned it didn't for them. I am petite and do not have broad shoulders, maybe this dress isn't the best fit for broader shoulders? It fit great, the fabric didn't have much give but I wasn't at an event where I needed a lot of give in my dress so it was fine and looked great! I do have shorter legs and was worried about the dress being a little too long on me (I like things real short) but it was fine with 3" heels (my feet were not by the end of the night though!)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
August 17, 2012
Stunning!

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was the perfect little number for an evening wedding. I am a little busty so the 8 didn't fit quite right. I went up a size to accommodate. Thank goodness they will send you 2 sizes!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 11, 2012
Fantastic fall color!

Great dress! Received soo many compliments. The overlapping detail is very flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2012
I did not wear this dress.

Unfortunately this dress didn't work out for me. The fit across the bust and stomach accentuated my curves in an unflattering way because of the horizontal layered fabric. I did not end up wearing this dress for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Cute but frayed ends weren't for me

Fit was tight but held everything in place. Color was beautiful and the thickness of the dress makes it great for fall or winter events but the frayed edges of the layers made it look a bit sloppy on me. The dress was also shorter than I expected, hitting at mid-thigh level.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
December 28, 2012
The ease of picking and receiving a dress. The whole process is worth it!

The fit of this dress was perfect for me.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2013
Great service, great dress

Fits true to size, very little give, so order a size up. Perfect for fall/winter due to material

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2013
Love the color, flattering cut

top part didnt lay flat very well, but I did wear the dress without a bra and I have a large chest. Even after ironing the top part flat it still kept bunching up with is why i gave it 4/5 stars. not a good dress to dance in because it doesnt have much stretch but if you will be sitting or standing this is perfect. i love the deep burgundy color. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was perfect :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2013
Pretty dress, not for me unfortunately!

I loved the dress, the color was a deep maroon but the one should look just wasn't for me. The ends of the layers were really frayed as well.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful New Orleans wedding

The fit was spot on for what I usually wear. I'm 5'7" and 120lb. and it was maybe a little loose and a little long? Overall, I was very happy. The weight of the fabric was perfect for a slightly chilly evening wedding.

See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×