Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2011
the fabric doesn't give. Normally I wear a 4 or 6 in dresses but the 6 wasn't very comfortable. I'm a D bust and the draping looked awkward in pictures. Not one of my favs.
AnnOctober 22, 2015
Hi, I'm wearing the size 00 in the picture!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
February 22, 2011
Ordered this for a winter wedding. Pretty dress. The 0 had room to spare and I am not always a 0. A few things were disappointing though. The color is a duller version of the color on this website. Not rich. Kind of washed out. All in all the dress looked better on the model than it did in person and on myself. But that was my experience ;) Wore some other 'rent the runway' dress to the wedding and that one worked much better.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 18, 2011
I wore this dress to a formal event and received so many compliments - it is perfectly elegant and the color is gorgeous. However, I would not recommend this dress to girls with hips. I am fairly straight up and down and had trouble wiggling it on over my hips, so I imagine that curvy girls could definitely struggle with it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 22, 2011
I was a little worried ordering this dress because of my height, but it ended up hitting just above the knee and was extremely well proportioned. I got both a 4 and a 6, and at 34B, the 6 ended up being a better fit (the shoulder draping was more flat) though it didn't pull me in at the waist as well as the 4 did and I needed double-sided fashion tape with the bust on the right. What other reviewers have to say regarding the strips is true - they're a lot more rugged than in the image, and protrude slightly fuzzily from the sides of the dress. They also seemed a little bent on the size I chose not to wear, probably just from the wear and tear of many rentals. It was still gorgeous and everyone at my event (the senior prom) loved it with my black hose, patent leather four and a half inch heels, and several sterling silver bangles.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2011
This dress looks 10x better on the model than in person. The folds aren't clean but rather frayed instead. I ended up wearing my backup which looks so much better. Disappointed with this dress, it wasn't flattering. I got a 6 and the 8 (I have very big boobs) and the 8 was far too big, while the 6 fit poorly - it was tight on my boobs and very big on my stomach area.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2011
This dress is pretty, but if you are at all between sizes then definitely order the size up. This dress came and it was really too tight for me to wear- it's very fitted and very very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
June 20, 2011
Knowing I was the best dressed at the whole wedding (with the exception of the bride and maybe my sister in law) but everyone else came in summer dresses
I liked this dress but wasn't in love. My biggest issue with it was that the side across my arm kept flipping up and bunching. I still liked it and it was beautiful, but hard to feel confident in it.
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 23, 2011
Quite a great dress! Not for curvy people, and untoned tummies will be quite obvious in this dress. Its much more dark red than the picky-red in the picture. Surprisingly it also works well for red heads (like me). It was quite complementary with my hair, and didn't clash. I wore it to my prom with gold shoes and Dark-red and gold earrings. It was definitely fancy enough, and i got lots of complements. I would absolutely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 1, 2011
very flattering dress! the ruffles along the midsection help diguise any flaws. on the mini side for tall girls!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2011
I wore this to a wedding and absolutely loved it! I have broad shoulders and a bit of a booty, so I ordered the size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the 6. I wore it with cream shoes and pearls and received many compliments. My only issue was in having to keep smoothing down the shoulder after raising my arm. Otherwise it was beautiful and the whole rental process was awesome!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2011
Unfortunately, I couldn't wear this dress because the sizes I ordered were so small I couldn't even get it on!! However, it did look "sophisticated" and the fabric was great. It also looked a bit shorter in person, but it was hard to tell from the hanger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 24, 2011
I received many compliments on this dress throughout the night and felt great in it.
Loved this dress! I wore it to a Semi-Formal wedding and received many compliments. The color is gorgeous and the tiers are very flattering. I was sad to return it. The one thing I would caution is that this dress has absolutely no stretch, so it limits the ability to move/dance a little bit. I went with my normal size, but girls who are a little curvier might want to size up.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2011
amazing on! i'm very short, and the dress fit perfectly. the length was just short enough. tons of complements.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 13, 2011
Beautiful dress & color, very sophisticated overall look. I wore this to my office holiday party - 18 weeks pregnant, and the layering in the dress is forgiving for the tummy area. Received many compliments. Only complaint was the top sash comes up and does not lay correctly, perhaps because I have broad shoulders, I had to keep pushing it down all night. Wore without hose in December and dress is just short enough to be sexy but not provocative.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and got many compliments. I'm 5' 4" and weigh 120 and ordered the size 4 and it fit perfect. It is fitted to your body and I had no extra room, so if you have bigger hips and bust I would recommend ordering a larger size. It was not as short on me as the woman in the picture. I would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 15, 2011
Classy without loosing a sexy appeal, this dress is amazing for any formal occasion!
Super classy and sexy at the same time. I wore this dress to a fall wedding and felt like a million bucks. I got a ton of compliments and didn't want to return it. The layering of the fabric hides imperfections without making you look thick because the dress is impeccably made. The wine color is amazing on any skin tone. This is a fabulous dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2011
This dress was PERFECTION!
This dress was BANANAS! I got so many compliments on it and I still am. You can't tell in the picture, but the strips are a little frayed at the end, which in my opinion made it even hotter. It runs a little small, especially in the shoulders. I am not overly broad, but it was a little tight under my arm. All in all I was very happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2011
I got this dress for a wedding, where I was also doing a reading during the ceremony. I was quite excited to wear it, but was a little disappointed with the fit. While I do think it is true to fit (I wear a 2 or 4 and ended up wearing the 4) it was very tight on my butt/thighs, but a bit loose on top even with the built in bra cups. I was a little concerned with the length given the tightness, but was still able to have fun on the dance floor. I did, however, get a ton of compliments on it even if I was a little mixed on the overall fit on me. I styled it with black sling back heels and a great pair of dangly earrings, also from RTR, which I loved! The dress by itself has enough style that you really don't need much to make it glam.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
October 4, 2011
I liked this dress and it looked pretty nice. My only complaint was that the tiers that go across the shoulder would flap up and I felt like I had to fix them a lot. I also ordered the Herve Leger Watercolor dress which I thought was a lot more comfortable.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2011
I rented this dress and chatted with a fit specialist. I rented a 4 and a 6, as those are typically my sizes. This dress had little to no stretch, so the 6 fit better than the 4. But the part that overlays on your shoulder doesn't stay down, and the top was a bit large on me. I didn't end up wearing this dress. I was a little disappointed as it didn't look like it does in the picture, not just on me, but even on the hanger. It's a little frayed, and much heavier a material then I imagined. Not my favorite dress. But I definitely can't wait to try and rent something else - the process was seamless!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2011
Love this dress! Wore it to a fall wedding, and ended up wearing the 2. I am 5'3'', and am about 110 lbs, but the 0 wouldn't go over my hips (which are NOT big). Got lots of compliments, however throughout the night, I had to flatten the shoulder down every time I lifted my arms. Also, you can't tell from this picture, but at the edge of EVERY SINGLE tier on this dress, it is slightly frayed. It is supposed to be like that, however it startled me.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 6, 2011
This was my 1st choice dress and I did not end up wearing it. Not to say that this dress wasn't beautiful, because it is. It just didn't fit me right in the midsection area. I'm usually a size 3 and I ordered the size 2. It was just a little loose looking but the dress is beautiful.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
October 12, 2011
A very pretty dress - nice, rich fabric. I usually wear a 2P but could not get the 2 over my hips! The 4 fit fine - I'm an A cup, and the bust area could have been a bit snugger, but it was not noticeably too big. The dress was comfortable. The top ruffles flipped up when I lifted my arm but just needed some smoothing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2011
nice dress that i could wear for a special occasion
I wore this for my sorority semi formal. I am 5'7 and about 130 lbs and the 4 fit perfectly. It was a pretty good length hitting about midthigh, it made my legs look really long. The only thing i didn't like was that the layers of fabric were frayed on the ends as well as a patch of fray on the front of the dress. Other than that it was great, I got tons of complements, and was easy to dance in. Looks great with gold/nude shoes as well as black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2011
This dress is beautiful. Exactly the color and style it shows in the photo. However, it fit me very strangely. I don't consider myself to be all that curvy, but I began to feel that way in this dress. I rented a 6 (my usual size) which was very, very small. The 8 looked substantially larger, so I was still hopeful. The length and mid-section fit wonderfully, but the top was HUGE, and I am a 34C. Then the bottom hem was TINY. I don't think I would have been able to walk up steps without ripping it. I was so excited to receive this dress but sadly I was unable to wear it. May work great for those who are petite or slim and narrow, but not if you have curves (that you may not even know you had!)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011
fits great, true to size, looks just like it does in the picture, wore to a wedding & got so many compliments. only problem was it looked a little bit worn but still great and will definitely use rent the runway for all other special occasions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2011
I loved having the opportunity to wear Robert Rodriguez - beautiful dress that looked brand new!
I was nervous because other reviewers mentioned that this dress has little give for girls with hips. While this is true, I wore my usual size (and ordered one size up just in case) and it fit like a glove! I wore with nude shoes and drop earrings and got tons of compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2011
Great fit!
This dress is perfect and simple, especially with some big earrings and silver pumps. I wore it for homecoming at my school and loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2011
Great for fall!
I had a fall wedding to attend and this fit the occasion perfectly. The other reviews are correct, if you have any kind of hip, you should go a size up. I ordered the 4, but I couldn't even get it past my hips. The 6 fit well on my hips and waist and was a little big up top, but nothing that made me worry I would have some kind of "slip". The layers are more feathered then the picture gives off, so if you worry about any kind of horizontal stripes, I would skip this one.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2011
I loved it!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a high school friend's fall wedding and felt beautiful in it. I thought the fit was pretty true to size but slightly big on top (I don't have a very big bust). Still, it wasn't off by much and I was able to wear the dress comfortably. ps: I wore it off-the-shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2011
I felt amazing:-)
I rented this dress for my office Christmas party and it was a hit! Beautiful dress - I received non-stop compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2011
This dress was perfect to complement my outrageous glittery gold pumps!
I wore this dress to a semi-formal/holiday party and it was perfect! I loved the color for the time of year (fall/winter) and my dress was unlike anyone elses'! One note was that if you have bigger hips it may not be the best choice- the dress was tight around my hips which as fine but it was a little shapeless through my torso. Also note that the little layers are frayed at the bottom; I think they're supposed to be that way but it brings down the look slightly. Overall no regrets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
Feeling really good in what I was wearing...I was dancing all night and felt beautiful!
I absolutely loved this dress and I wore it to a Holiday Party last December. I recommend getting the size you normally wear in a dress and also the size up if you can just so you have options. I liked it a little tight and I got so many complements on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
this dress wasn't available to be delivered until the day of my event and it came right on time and fit perfectly. i had no worries about wordrobe malfunction.
I wear a size 4 in pants and got the 4 in this dress and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2011
Comfortable yet flattering
Wore this dress to a co-worker's wedding where I wanted to wear something fun, yet somewhat appropriate for people I'd be seeing back at work on Monday! The dress was incredibly comfortable and even hid my food baby pooch after dinner. Fit was perfect, and not too tight. Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
The whole night!
I loved this dress - looked so classy in pictures and I got tons of compliments. The only thing misleading about the picture shown is that the pleats are a bit less polished in real life.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2011
It was a nice surprise dress as I was just planning on wearing it for backup!
I actually rented this dress as a backup dress to another RR Black Label dress (Celebration Swept Dress). It was so cute though, that I had to wear it out to a dinner date. My only complaint about this dress is that the fabric doesn't give much and the sleeve didn't go over my shoulder like it does on the model. I have broader shoulders from being an athlete, but it just looked like it was a sleeveless one shoulder dress on me. It was still cute, but just not like I thought it would look from the picture. My measurements are 34-27-35 if that helps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 5, 2011
Pretty dress!
I wore this at a Christmas party and really enjoyed it. It was a little to short on me due to my height and thicker thighs/hips. I was worried about ordering this dress and not having it fit over my hips. Luckily, I barely squeezed into it and it looked perfect on me. It's very fitted. I liked the fabric layering of the dress; It has tiny frays on the ends. Overall, I am glad I chose to rent this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2011
Worn in an Outdoor Oct Wedding
I love this dress! I ordered it in a size 8, and a size 10 as a backup. And the size 8 fit perfectly! The length was perfect, and the dress hugged my curves in all the right spot. I received so many compliments from other guests and my in-laws as well, which if you knew if my in-laws, means a lot.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 18, 2011
Classy dress works for petites
Size 0 fit well. I'm 5'2 105lbs. It's short, so might not be great for someone tall. Overall very classy, nice material. The one-shoulder top is very flattering and stays put. I didn't wear a bra. Horizontal pleats have a short fringe which doesn't show well on the pic. Also the style doesn't show off a slim waist, but would hide a thick waist. But it's a pretty dress, got lots of compliments. I would recommend to a friend!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×