Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large24
True to Size94
Small16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2011
I love this dress! Even more gorgeous in person! It fits like a glove and is so flattering! I'm small and the length was perfect for me, and didn't even have to wear a bra with it. I wore this to a formal with black peep toe pumps and it was perfect for the occasion! It's sparkly and so well made! I noticed that a lot of reviews mentioned the hanger straps but i didn't have any problems with them. The zipper is a little tricky, but i liked it because it was hidden on the side and you couldn't even tell it was there. This dress looks gorgeous in pictures and I received so many complements on it! I would definitely rent again! It was so easy and worked out perfectly!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2011
Fit great and was perfect for the Holiday party I wore it to very festive and sparkly! I do agree the hanger straps were a huge pain and had to tell a friend anytime she saw them pop out please tuck them in! The only other thing that should be known is you either need a really amazing strapless push-up bra or have a bigger chest to fill out the top of the dress even with the 0 that I wore there was a lot of room for the chest! Overall a GREAT dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2011
I really loved this dress, I ordered my normal size and a size up because of all the reviews I read. However, I felt it ran pretty true to size all over. My only issue with this dress was the hanger-straps, they kept popping out all night, so taping them down is a definite must cause it got super annoying making sure they were tucked in. Otherwise, I got lots of compliments and its a super cute dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2011
Absolutely gorgeous dress in person. However, if you have any curves whatsoever I do not recommend this dress for you. The side zipper was very difficult to get up, even on the hanger. The dress was tight through the hips,thighs, butt, and loose up top (and I'm a 34C). There was also a piece of bulging material (probably from the boning in the sides of the dress) that just wouldn't stay down. The hanger straps also kept peeking out of the top, very annoying. thank goodness i rented two dresses because this one was too tight and uncomfortable even in the larger size. I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller LBD, it was PERFECT...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2011
The dress is pretty and I definitely felt cool wearing it because the only other dress I've worn over like $300 was my wedding dress but it bunches up funny where the zipper is and the inside straps really are a nuisance (as the other reviewers said). Also, it was too big in the bust for me (I'm a small B).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2011
The dress is absolutely gorgeous,and I received TONS of compliments; however i did have problems with the zipper. It would get stuck about halfway and you have to fidget with it a bit. The side with the zipper looked a little lumpy and was not smooth against my hip unless i smoothed it out which was ALL Night. Also, the hanger straps are WAY too big and were constantly poking out. I would recommend using tape to ensure they don't pop out. Other than that, it looked great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2011
Like everyone else - I got a LOT of compliments on the dress. It was perfect for NYE and I also second some of the other comments before me. The zipper bulged on the hip on both the 4 and the 6, and the dress was tight on the hips (tight on the 6, too loose everywhere else on the 6). I ended up wearing the 4 and the hanger straps were SO frustrating. But overall, the dress looked great just be sure to tape down the straps!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2011
This dress was a disappointment. It looks beautiful here, but I ordered a size two, and a backup of a size 4. All I got was two size fours. I had to wear a size 4 because I didn't have anything else, it was huge. The two dresses looked COMPLETELY different. One of the dresses had zippers where the gold was and the sequence was a copper instead of the color you see advertised here. It looked as if it was a knock-off to be honest. The dress is huge in the top and it is an awkward length for anyone below 5'5. If the dress was properly delivered to me in good condition and the correct size maybe it would be different. Also, the body of the dress was poking out of both dresses the entire night digging into my skin. I only recommend this dress if they are more careful with what they send out to you than they did for me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 3, 2011
This dress was for my daughter 27, and I have to say that when she put it on there was a bunching of the sequins in between the fabric panels on the side. She has very slim hips but both the size 0 and the 2 did the same thing. The zipper on one was broken and to make matters worse, there was a small hole on the side seam. I give the dress a 3 star rating but I give customer service 5 stars!!! They had a new dress here in a day and sent some incredible earrings as well! New Years was saved!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2011
I loved wearing this dress. It was my first RTR dress and I received a ton of compliments on it. The only real downfalls of this dress are the placement of the hanger strings and the scratchiness of the sequins. My left forearm looked like it attacked by a cat the next day. I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
I was a little disappointed in this dress. I agree with the other posters that the hanger straps continually pop up and the top fit a little big. Also, the side where the zipper was didn't lay flat around my hips.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2010
I LOVED this dress and received so many compliments! I agree with one of the posts below that the hanger straps are huge and constantly pop up--definitely use fashion tape or something to keep them out of sight. The dress was a little tight in the hips and loose up top, but still looked gorgeous in photos.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2010
Overall, quite pleased with the dress...but only if I had a little, cropped jacket on. There are some TERRIBLE hanger-straps on this dress right along the bust-line that constantly popped up, really distracting from how beautiful this dress is. I thought about cutting them off but was scared about the consequences! I would recommend it, it's very well made and runs true to size, and got a lot of compliments, but heads up!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2010
This dress runs a little small if you have any hips! I ordered a 6 and an 8, but went with the 6 (the 8 fit better around the hips, was too big everywhere else). The zipper was a little tricky (even on the hanger), but I was able to get it up with a little effort. Going to the bathroom was pretty difficult, as this dress doesn't have any sort of give to it. I rec'd SO many compliments on this dress. I always know I'm wearing a knock out dress when random women come up to you and compliment you (we all know how catty some women can be!). Overall, I was very pleased with the dress.
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×