Lace Surprise Gown

$179 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Have a black tie affair to attend? Rent this lady like Robert Rodriguez Black Label lace gown. Simple and chic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
212 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(162)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2015
Everything was perfect!
Was a perfect fit. Ran true to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 32
February 15, 2015
This dress was perfect for my work awards gala.
The 8 fit great, but only the regular was available and I needed the tall for the length. Because of the style, I was able to wear the 10 long, so it worked out great!
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 3, 2015
Perfect fit, super flattering
This dress definitely fits true to size. Similar to other reviews the slit was extremely high and I was self conscious of it while sitting at dinner. The length was perfect with 4.5" heels. I ultimately didn't end up wearing this dress because mine was missing the belt.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 7, 2015
Quick and fast arrival and return.
I wanted to order both the size 0 and 2. I typically wear a size 2 and in this case RTR did not have the 2 available so I figured I would give the 0 a try. The length was perfect but the top was a bit tight for me under my arms. But I made it work and no one would have noticed anyway. Received a ton of compliments and it was perfect for the black tie wedding I was attending. So glad that the dress came with a slit down the side, definitely helped when dancing. The belt was cute but I wish it would clip more securely with a belt loop instead of with the snaps. All in all, perfect for the occasion.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2015
No hassle dress
Great fit belt was not delivered with dress. Length was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2016
Beautiful dress!
The fit and length were perfect: the only issue I had is that the sash is worn out and the snaps would not hold - I eventually just took it off
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 10, 2016
This dress was so elegant and perfect for my company's gala event. I loved it!
The only tricky part about the dress is the tie that goes around the waist, some of the snaps are a little bit flimsy, but other than that it was wonderful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
February 11, 2016
Perfect dress for my black tie event! I can't wait to rent again!!
This was my first time using RTR and I was a little nervous. They didn't have my back up size available, so I went with the one size and it ended up fitting perfectly! I had to pin the belt, but the belt added a lot to the dress. I had to wear a shorter heal in order for dress to be correct length. But over all, this dress was perfect! I chose RTR because I a had a black tie event coming up and no time to shop. Plus, not a lot of good shopping options for a gown in the town I live in. RTR gave me so many beautiful designer dresses to choose from. It was so much fun and such an easy process!! I can't wait to use RTR again!! I had a lot of compliments on the dress!! I was sad to send it back!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
March 28, 2016
Loved the dress!
I ordered a 12 R because the reviews said that you should order the regular if you are 5'6 or below and I am 5'5. I could've easily gone with a Long though as it was just a bit short. Luckily I wore short heels and took them off during the reception so it ended up being a good dancing length! RTR also forgot to add the fabric sash so I went without it. You can't really tell but it would've added something a little extra
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 15, 2015
So classy and elegant all in one! Received compliments all night :)
This was my first purchase and I was quite nervous but the dress was wonderful! Not only did it get delivered right on time I got a bunch of compliments. I'm usually a 00 but the 0P for great. It didn't come with the belt shown but I didn't need one. It was very classy and elegant all in one. The slit made the dress extra sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 17, 2015
The fit was amazing
I'm an athlete at heart (. 4 years in college and still a coach) the fit was a true 8. The length was great with 2 inch heels. Down side.. Someone never returned the belt so it didn't make it to me either. I don't know if I would have loved it or hated it but I went without it. Got tons of compliments. The slit wasn't an issue but then again I'm only 5'3 on a good day. Awesome rental, would have bought it if I had the chance!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 7, 2016
Pretty and simple
Didn't like how it wasn't as long as the picture displayed. It was a super high slit that I had to keep adjusting when I sat down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
December 7, 2011
Great dress; a bit too short
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding and felt very appropriate and elegant in it (with the high slit helping me also feel a bit sexy). My only problem was the length. Many reviews talked about how super long it is, but I'm 5'11" and the 4L was definitely too short for me to wear any sort of heal.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 13, 2013
Elegant and effortless
This dress hits you at the waste and then is pretty loose fitting so it makes you look tiny. I received many compliments from the women at my husband's event (spoke lots of renttherunway praise!). The slit is high - be ready to get your Angelina Jolie leg ready or get some double sided tape. The lace was a little beat up from repeated wear. All in all elegant dress that was effortless to wear. Very happy with it!
AllisonMay 3, 2013
HI Missy! I'm pretty much the same portportions as yourself and ordered this dress for an event in a couple weeks. Being pint sized, I'm worried about the length a little. What size heels did you wear?
MissyMay 8, 2013
I had 3 inch heels and it worked fine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
June 18, 2013
Sleek, simple, sophisticated!
I had 3 days notice to find a dress for a black tie gala with my husband's company. RTR to the rescue! My style is pretty classic and this elegant dress fit the bill perfectly. I rented the 0R and the 2R and ended up wearing the 0R, athough I am a 2-4 in most clothing (the 2R was a little too loose at the top). Being just 5'3", I was nervous about the length of the dress, but with 3" heels it came just to the top of my foot and looked fine. Others mentioned the slit being too high - it is very high on the leg, but I pinned it closed a bit lower it as this was a business event. My only complaint is that the belt did keep poppping open - I am very petite with a narrow torso and it still popped off the snaps when I sat down. I ended up removing the belt by the end of the night. That being said - this dress was an amazing rental - if the belt bothers you, I suggest pinning a brooch on the snap where the belt attaches to the dress, or wearing your own belt with it. I would definitely rent this again for another event! I highly recommend this dress for ladies who are larger on the bottom, smaller on the top, like me - I have a petite yet muscular frame and this style really worked for me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Seeing my husbands face light up when he saw me in this dress.
The length was great--I probably could have gotten away with the 10R, but the 12 gave me a bit more room in my chest, though it was a trifle big. The ribbon that is pictured was not sent with the dress, however, and when I contacted RTR they said they didn't have any in the warehouse. I was able to find a replacement in time on my own, but the ribbon really ties the look together. Get more ribbons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2014
Did not wear dress for event
Dress was too big and did not fit correctly in the bust area or waist. After trying it on I realized it was too big and I could not wear it for a black tie wedding. I contacted customer service with RTR and Rachel TB provided amazing assistance! She spent 45 minutes via chat with me providing other options that would fit and be long enough.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2014
Overall RTR service was amazing!!
The dress was beautiful but extremely long and did run a bit large! I did not have the same issues as other people in terms of the slit being too high, it seemed as though the slit on my dress had been sewn together so it hit me at an appropriate length. The overall dress was a bit too long, I wore 4inch heels and it still skimmed the floor (they didn't have a Regular size available so I opted to wear this anyway) Unfortunately, the belt that belonged with the dress did not come but RTR service was extremely accommodating in sending other dress options in case my original did not work out. All in all, will definitely use RTR again and rent this dress, just likely in a smaller and shorter size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
September 18, 2014
Surprisingly Comfortable
This dress was gorgeous. I loved it- i did not wear it bc the other dress was a better choice for my figure- but it was lovely. The only thing I did not like about it was in the hip and groin area it was very loose and made the dress sort of too big for me although it fit perfectly everywhere else. Shockingly comfortable for a one strap dress and i am a size 4 generally 34DD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
March 1, 2015
Gorgeous, classy dress.
I usually run between a size 0 and a size 2, and I ended up renting the 2P. While the length was perfect, the dress was still a bit baggy on me. Regardless, it was a perfect dress for a NYE wedding! Many friends complimented me and asked where I bought it from :) highly recommend it!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2015
For the tall, leggy ladies
I rented this dress but decided to go with my backup. It's a gorgeous dress, but I needed to be taller for it to work. The main detail, the split, didn't fall right on me, and so you didn't even notice the split unless I physically tugged it ioen. Who wants to do that all night? Without that detail working for me, the dress ended up looking really blah. I decided to go with my other dress that had a lot more sparkle and pizazz.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2013
Not flattering returned the dress right away
This dress made me look pregnant and hides the figure
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 18, 2013
RTR provided me with excellent customer service, HIGHLY recommended!
RTR unfortunately forgot to include the belt, which made the dress unwearable without it but they provided me with exceptional customer service recovery! As for the dress, I wasn't thrilled with the fabric, it looked a little cheap for such an expensive dress. I thought the fit was a tiny bit big in the waist so do keep that in mind if you're thin and petite, as I am.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2014
Great dress but runs bjg.
Runs large and sash kept falling off.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 14, 2014
comfortable, stylish
Fit around the chest was a little big, other than that, it was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2014
did not like and did not wear.
shorter than it seems and wide in the hips. Not a very flattering dress and ended up not wearing it. Also, not that this will make that much of a difference, but if you are younger this dress really will age you... I didn't feel age appropriate at all in this when I tried this on.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2011
Gorgeous dress but it runs small, especially in the top area. Otherwise I have no complaints.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2012
Perfect for A Black Tie Affair
I wore this to a black tie wedding and got lots of compliments. Overall, I was pretty satisfied with it, but unfortunately the velvet belt that came with it was not adjustable so I wasn't able to use that. I was a little disappointed but overall, it wasn't a bad dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
I wore this to a white tie event.
I am 5'8" and the dress was a little short with heels in the long. I wore it anyway. Also, the dress runs small. I wear a 2L or a 4L normally, but the 2 was too tight in the waist and even shorter than the 4. The velvet bow snaps on and after a large meal, it unsnapped a couple of times on me. The slit is very high and it was inappropriate for the event that I attended so I had to tack it in place with fashion tape and pins. Overall, I received many compliments on the dress and it looked great, but I was not comfortable in it knowing that the belt could unsnap at any point and the tacked slit could come undone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 24, 2013
Very elegant and simple
This dress was great. Extremely simple, but the lace detailing made the dress very elegant. I rented this as my back up dress, and I didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 27, 2013
This was my boss's wedding and this dress really impressed everybody, I felt so elegant!
This dress is stunning but has an extremely high slit. I am also above average height so I had to wear the 10R because I wanted the length. It is true to size but the nice thing about it was the 10 wasn't too big and worked well. I also have a larger bust and for girls who are curvy this dress is classy and sexy in one. I would absolutely recommend this dress, I did not want to send it back!! I wore the sash fine, I read a lot of reviews that said it unclips easily and I had a different experience it worked just fine, I wore the ends down the middle to draw length to my figure.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 27, 2014
This was a gorgeous dress!!!
Really sad I had to ship it out this morning. It fit fairly well. It ran a tad bit smaller than I thought it would but the fit was superb. Word of caution for anyone with an athletic shoulder build. It sits almost flush to your neck unless you size up. I expected the strap to lay more on my shoulder than my neck. But I do have a very wide shoulder and I think this contributed to it. The belt that came with mine was the 8 but I needed th 10 to go with the dress - so I just pinned a diamond pendant to the dress over the belt spot and no one noticed. I'm 5'2" and wore 3 inch heels. The dress was the perftect length and the slit didn't bother me in the least. It's high but it wasn't indecent at all. Highly recommend this gown. I wore it for a Black Tie function and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2014
Ordered as backup - didnt wear. Beautiful dress but the slit was a little high for a military formal
The waist was extremely tight and would have been bothersome at the end of the night. Would have needed to wear 3-4in heels for length to work. Ended up wearing my first dress pick, which was more flowy.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
March 12, 2014
had to return it- too short!
Was disappointed. Had to return it and find something else to wear. Was too short (I am 5'7") also the belt looked like it had seen far better days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 30, 2014
Elegant and Flattering!
I wore this as a bridesmaid, and everyone looked great! It was good for large busted girls. Waist runs a bit small, so I had to size up.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 17, 2014
I am a true 6. This dress is not. If you are curvy at all, do not rent. It will not fit.
This dress is very straight. If you are busty, this dress does not forgive in the back zipper. I rented a 6 as well as a 4, since I can usually go done since my waist is small. Neither of them fit. The 6 was so small I would have needed to go up to a 10 to fit in this dress. Keep this in mind when ordering. Although it didn't fit, it was a beautiful dress. If you are slim, this will be perfect for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
May 24, 2014
Process was great, dress was just OK
Ordered this dress literally three days before a last minute black tie gala. It arrived without the belt which was very disappointing. The 0L was not as long as expected - I didn't need the L bit that's all that was available; however the R must run short as I'm 5'4" and the L worked fine. Dress runs small and by end of the night I ft suffocated at the waist and shoulder. It really it a lovely dress but doesn't photograph well to capture all the detail. I had no issue with the leg slit, it wasn't that high, I wore to a work event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 3, 2014
Perfect for Black Tie Event.
While neither size came with the belt, I was able to wear the 10 without it. It was very comfortable and look great for the wedding. The 8 fit but was snug, I thought it would have been uncomfortable. I wore short heels and I thought it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 20, 2014
Runs really small!
This dress runs really small. I rented it for a wedding in Miami and really wanted the 6 as a backup based on reviews, but it wasn't available. I chanced it with the 4 and it was just a little too tight in the bust area for me. Also, I noticed the belt didn't snap together well and that had nothing to do with the dress being tight in the bust. A friend ended up wearing the 4R as her bridesmaid dress to the wedding we're in. She's 5'3" and 107 lbs. with probably a D bust and it fit her well to give you a sense of how small the 4 is. She skipped the belt because it was a hassle and we just safety pinned the dress so the clasp didn't show. Definitely size up ladies.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 30, 2014
I don't remember because it was back in 2012.
The slit was SO HIGH up the leg. Up to the mid-thigh. FYI. Beware!
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×