Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Lace Surprise Gown

$90 rental
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a black tie affair to attend? Rent this lady like Robert Rodriguez Black Label lace gown. Simple and chic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

191 reviews

Fit
Small 24
True to Size 149
Large 14
Photos 105
Teri
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Dec 8, 2013

I received lots of compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit true to size. I didn't have to shorten the length on this dress which is rare. I'm 5'1 and the 2P fit perfectly.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 16, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great! I am between and 8 and 10 so this fit perfectly. The quality was great and the dress was in good condition. Also ordered the berry color in same dress but the color was horrible and it looked cheap. The black was definitely the way to go. I received tons of compliments and it was so nice to just wrap it up and mail it off. I plan to be an RTR regular from now on.
Letitia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

I wore this to a formal event and was definitely a class act.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit as described. The length was perfect for my 4" heels. The slit was sexy but a little high for the event I was at but easily tacked to fit the event. Either way though it wouldn't have shown anything that should be kept private. Great service and would definitely use Rent The Runway again
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Couldn't wear because slit was too high

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The side slit was too high on my thigh to be appropriate for a wedding. This may be because my large hip/butt area kind of stretched it open more than it usually would be. The neckline was also really high. Just did not appear in person as nice as it looks online.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Neck is too high

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am pretty tall, have a long torso, etc. but this neck came up too high to be comfortable or very flattering.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 4, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding. Very comfortable, classy, and the slit adds some understated sexiness.
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

This was a gorgeous dress!!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really sad I had to ship it out this morning. It fit fairly well. It ran a tad bit smaller than I thought it would but the fit was superb. Word of caution for anyone with an athletic shoulder build. It sits almost flush to your neck unless you size up. I expected the strap to lay more on my shoulder than my neck. But I do have a very wide shoulder and I think this contributed to it. The belt that came with mine was the 8 but I needed th 10 to go with the dress - so I just pinned a diamond pendant to the dress over the belt spot and no one noticed. I'm 5'2" and wore 3 inch heels. The dress was the perftect length and the slit didn't bother me in the least. It's high but it wasn't indecent at all. Highly recommend this gown. I wore it for a Black Tie function and it was perfect.
Cecelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

Very flattering dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Flattering fit, flowy and drapey. However, I was disappointed to find that the dress I was sent had a tear in the lace on the shoulder. I ended up folding the lace under. Also I did not use the ribbon sash, which is really long and kind of awkward. It looked fine without it.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Ordered as backup - didnt wear. Beautiful dress but the slit was a little high for a military formal

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The waist was extremely tight and would have been bothersome at the end of the night. Would have needed to wear 3-4in heels for length to work. Ended up wearing my first dress pick, which was more flowy.
madison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Mar 2, 2014

I did not wear this, however it flattered my hourglass shape.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear this dress as it was my backup, however it was gorgeous and I wish I had a reason to wear it.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Age: 27
Mar 4, 2014

The fit was great, and the Angelina Jolie leg didn't hurt

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The one drawback to the gown was that the sash was missing when I received it, but that's the fault of the company, not the dress. It fit well and was VERY comfortable.
Claudia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 7, 2014

Did not wear dress for event

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was too big and did not fit correctly in the bust area or waist. After trying it on I realized it was too big and I could not wear it for a black tie wedding. I contacted customer service with RTR and Rachel TB provided amazing assistance! She spent 45 minutes via chat with me providing other options that would fit and be long enough.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

If you have a full chest this dress is not for you!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is not for full chested girls. It runs extremely small in the chest and waist area. Also this dress runs short as well.
Meg
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

had to return it- too short!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was disappointed. Had to return it and find something else to wear. Was too short (I am 5'7") also the belt looked like it had seen far better days.
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Better suited for smaller frames.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was really rooting for this dress. Thank God I got a back up. The split wasn't as bad as the other reviews claim. It was sexy nonetheless but I couldn't wear this in a 12R. I hate when your entire shoe shows standing still. Also, my DD bust didn't look so great in this dress. Sorry I didn't take a photo, I was rushing. So if you have similar measurements as I do, get the 12L.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 28, 2014

I'm only 5' 2" and with heels it was too short

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't love it
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 13, 2014

Did not wear.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty style, but both of the sizes I received of this dress were a bit tattered. While the main material was very flattering, the lace, specifically in the hidden slit could have been better maintained. Also, neither came with the velvet belt shown in the photo and the larger size had an exposed snap. Luckily my other dress from RTR worked beautifully.
Vjosa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Great dress but runs bjg.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs large and sash kept falling off.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Overall RTR service was amazing!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful but extremely long and did run a bit large! I did not have the same issues as other people in terms of the slit being too high, it seemed as though the slit on my dress had been sewn together so it hit me at an appropriate length. The overall dress was a bit too long, I wore 4inch heels and it still skimmed the floor (they didn't have a Regular size available so I opted to wear this anyway) Unfortunately, the belt that belonged with the dress did not come but RTR service was extremely accommodating in sending other dress options in case my original did not work out. All in all, will definitely use RTR again and rent this dress, just likely in a smaller and shorter size!
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Classic black dress with lovely details

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie charity gala with coworkers and it was perfect -- plenty modest enough. I am 5'6" and I wore the 8L because I have a larger ribcage, otherwise the 6L would have been perfect. I wore it with 4" heels and the bottom of the dress just grazed the ground. The lace trim looks nicer in person, and as others have said, the belt will not stay clasped. I just tied it and it looked fine. I didn't feel the slit was too high -- you need something to balance out the high neckline!
Mave
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Elegant and Flattering!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as a bridesmaid, and everyone looked great! It was good for large busted girls. Waist runs a bit small, so I had to size up.
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
May 12, 2014

Flattering fit, easy to wear!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a winner and Rent the Runway's process is smooth and foolproof. I did not get a photo unfortunately, but at 5'5", 146 lbs with an athletic build, the 8R fit perfectly, if not a little short. I wore 3" heels and it was slightly off the ground, so if you're taller than 5'5" order the long. This dress is fantastic for a variety of reasons: the fit of the bodice is modest, but so pretty, and works with a bra or not (I wore a strapless one); the side slit is sexy and makes the dress easy to more in. Best part is the cut/drape and belt detail; it's a slightly high waist which elongates the body and does wonders at hiding any excess tummy or hips. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that I ended up wearing the backup size I'd ordered (8), and they had only sent one belt (size 6). So, the belt kept popping off if I laughed of sat down too quickly, since it was a little snug and had only a snap closure (and no give - it's velvet). Beautiful gown and experience overall!!
spark16
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 14, 2014

comfortable, stylish

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit around the chest was a little big, other than that, it was beautiful!
Bry
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 17, 2014

I am a true 6. This dress is not. If you are curvy at all, do not rent. It will not fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very straight. If you are busty, this dress does not forgive in the back zipper. I rented a 6 as well as a 4, since I can usually go done since my waist is small. Neither of them fit. The 6 was so small I would have needed to go up to a 10 to fit in this dress. Keep this in mind when ordering. Although it didn't fit, it was a beautiful dress. If you are slim, this will be perfect for you.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Gorgeous, understated and comfortable.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I recommend the long if you plan to wear heels. The slit runs high, but can be fixed with a safety pin. Didn't 'hug' any unflattering body party (butt, hip, thighs) so no need for Spanx! Plenty comfortable to be worn all night.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Surprisingly Comfortable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous. I loved it- i did not wear it bc the other dress was a better choice for my figure- but it was lovely. The only thing I did not like about it was in the hip and groin area it was very loose and made the dress sort of too big for me although it fit perfectly everywhere else. Shockingly comfortable for a one strap dress and i am a size 4 generally 34DD.
Josette
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 19, 2014

The dress was great for my black attire wedding.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size. Perfect with a 3 inch heel.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Classic!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a simple but classic look that would be great for any formal affair! It was missing the belt, so I opted for another choice. They let me know that the dress would arrive without the belt, and they sent me another option just in case. If you have a belt to add, it is a great dress!! Just as pictured!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Not what I expected!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was not nearly as pretty in person. The top did not lay well and the slit came up WAY too high. It couldn't be pinned because then it was too tight to walk. The belt that came said it was a size zero when I ordered a size four dress. I ended to returning it and not wearing it.
Vicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Runs really small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs really small. I rented it for a wedding in Miami and really wanted the 6 as a backup based on reviews, but it wasn't available. I chanced it with the 4 and it was just a little too tight in the bust area for me. Also, I noticed the belt didn't snap together well and that had nothing to do with the dress being tight in the bust. A friend ended up wearing the 4R as her bridesmaid dress to the wedding we're in. She's 5'3" and 107 lbs. with probably a D bust and it fit her well to give you a sense of how small the 4 is. She skipped the belt because it was a hassle and we just safety pinned the dress so the clasp didn't show. Definitely size up ladies.
amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Oct 30, 2014

I don't remember because it was back in 2012.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The slit was SO HIGH up the leg. Up to the mid-thigh. FYI. Beware!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

did not like and did not wear.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
shorter than it seems and wide in the hips. Not a very flattering dress and ended up not wearing it. Also, not that this will make that much of a difference, but if you are younger this dress really will age you... I didn't feel age appropriate at all in this when I tried this on.
danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

This dress looks AMAZING on!!!!!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is my all time favorite dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Great choice

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress I wore was a 12R; however, the belt was a 14. The belt was a little large, and I had to fasten it with safety pins as the snaps were coming off. Overal, I really enjoyed the dress, it was my backup dress, and looked very plain on the hanger, but gorgeous on. The regular length was rather short, but I ended up wearing flats, so it worked perfectly.
Laura
Age: 30
Feb 15, 2015

This dress was perfect for my work awards gala.

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 8 fit great, but only the regular was available and I needed the tall for the length. Because of the style, I was able to wear the 10 long, so it worked out great!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Gorgeous, classy dress.

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually run between a size 0 and a size 2, and I ended up renting the 2P. While the length was perfect, the dress was still a bit baggy on me. Regardless, it was a perfect dress for a NYE wedding! Many friends complimented me and asked where I bought it from :) highly recommend it!
RTR Customer
May 3, 2015

Perfect fit, super flattering

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitely fits true to size. Similar to other reviews the slit was extremely high and I was self conscious of it while sitting at dinner. The length was perfect with 4.5" heels. I ultimately didn't end up wearing this dress because mine was missing the belt.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
May 18, 2015

cute dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
good fit, belt too small but used the size 2 belt. slit was WAY to high for me. I am 5ft 2inches and was not slightly embarrassed by how high the slit was. This was worn a few summers ago and I see now they have the slit height stated in the description.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
May 27, 2015

Odd fit, but gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this because the fit was so odd. The neckline is very high, and actually felt like it was choking me! This surprised me; I wear petite sizes, so usually necklines are far too big on me. I ended up going with my second RTR option; I didn't want to strangle myself in this!
CLJ10
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

Everyone loved my dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 2R and having the option of a 0R would have been nice but it wasn't available. My measurements are: 35-26-38. It fit well, it was a little loose in the chest area. The slit is high, so be careful if you're sitting during the reception!- I had to cover my leg with my clutch. I wore about 3 inch heels, be careful if your shoes have embellishments on them - mine kept getting caught on the dress. I also did not wear the belt provided, it didn't fit right, it was too loose on the smallest setting. I instead and an embellished sash I picked up at Charming Charlies.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×