Lace Surprise Gown

$179 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Have a black tie affair to attend? Rent this lady like Robert Rodriguez Black Label lace gown. Simple and chic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
212 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(160)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2013
Lovely dress and lace detail very nice. Belt was WAY too small and could not wear.
Wish I had gotten the long, which is very abnormal for me. Dress hit right at the tops of my feet so entire shoe showed. I got a size 4 and 6, and the 4 fit perfectly. The belt I received would likely not fit a size 2. It was WAY too small! I needed at least 3-4" more. The dress has a clasp on the front for the belt to hook to, so I had to find another belt to wear to cover it. Ended up working out find, but suggest you have a backup belt in case!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 20, 2013
loved the dress, I danced the night away
I have to say i loved the dress but the slit was way too high so i had to pin it and the belt was too tight it kept snapping off, so i had to pin that also. but once i did the dress was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2013
Luxurious and easy to wear!
I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding only 3 months after the birth of my son. Although I had lost most of my baby weight, I still had some curves that needed some de-emphasizing, and I wanted something that draped over my midsection. It was flattering and comfortable. I didn't feel the need to hide anything. I couldn't get the belt to lay correctly, so I skipped it in the end. Also, the slit was very high, but a quick safety pin fixed that. I am 5'6", but the dress was almost too short on with me with heels on. I'd recommend going for the longer size if you're on the taller side.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 24, 2013
Very elegant and simple
This dress was great. Extremely simple, but the lace detailing made the dress very elegant. I rented this as my back up dress, and I didn't end up wearing it, but it was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2013
Great dress hides problem areas.
I got the dress with out the belt so I had to add a velvet ribbon. Besides that I loved the dress. It was definately very worn so I wouldn't wear this to an afternoon outdoor wedding. But at night you couldn't really tell. I didn't think the slit was to high but I'm only 5'2. The dress was the perfect length with high heels. I wish I would have gotten the size 4. It would have fit up top better.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 8, 2013
I received lots of compliments on the dress!
Dress fit true to size. I didn't have to shorten the length on this dress which is rare. I'm 5'1 and the 2P fit perfectly.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 16, 2013
Loved it!
The dress fit great! I am between and 8 and 10 so this fit perfectly. The quality was great and the dress was in good condition. Also ordered the berry color in same dress but the color was horrible and it looked cheap. The black was definitely the way to go. I received tons of compliments and it was so nice to just wrap it up and mail it off. I plan to be an RTR regular from now on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2012
Classy
Love it, super comfortable.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 8, 2013
I didn't like the way it looked on me.
It was kind of boring. I guess I was expecting more.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 26, 2013
Gorgeous!
I loved this dress! It was so flattering. I ordered the 6L and 8L and ended up wearing the 8L. You do have to be careful with the slit when you sit down. The lace detail is beautiful I didn't want to sent it back. I wore the dress with an emerald pair of Kendra Scott earrings and 3 1/2 inch pumps. I will definitely use rent the runway again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 27, 2013
This was my boss's wedding and this dress really impressed everybody, I felt so elegant!
This dress is stunning but has an extremely high slit. I am also above average height so I had to wear the 10R because I wanted the length. It is true to size but the nice thing about it was the 10 wasn't too big and worked well. I also have a larger bust and for girls who are curvy this dress is classy and sexy in one. I would absolutely recommend this dress, I did not want to send it back!! I wore the sash fine, I read a lot of reviews that said it unclips easily and I had a different experience it worked just fine, I wore the ends down the middle to draw length to my figure.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 29, 2013
I wore this to a formal event and was definitely a class act.
Fit as described. The length was perfect for my 4" heels. The slit was sexy but a little high for the event I was at but easily tacked to fit the event. Either way though it wouldn't have shown anything that should be kept private. Great service and would definitely use Rent The Runway again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 2, 2014
Neck is too high
I am pretty tall, have a long torso, etc. but this neck came up too high to be comfortable or very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2014
Beautiful!
I wore this for a wedding. Very comfortable, classy, and the slit adds some understated sexiness.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 27, 2014
This was a gorgeous dress!!!
Really sad I had to ship it out this morning. It fit fairly well. It ran a tad bit smaller than I thought it would but the fit was superb. Word of caution for anyone with an athletic shoulder build. It sits almost flush to your neck unless you size up. I expected the strap to lay more on my shoulder than my neck. But I do have a very wide shoulder and I think this contributed to it. The belt that came with mine was the 8 but I needed th 10 to go with the dress - so I just pinned a diamond pendant to the dress over the belt spot and no one noticed. I'm 5'2" and wore 3 inch heels. The dress was the perftect length and the slit didn't bother me in the least. It's high but it wasn't indecent at all. Highly recommend this gown. I wore it for a Black Tie function and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 12, 2014
Very flattering dress
Flattering fit, flowy and drapey. However, I was disappointed to find that the dress I was sent had a tear in the lace on the shoulder. I ended up folding the lace under. Also I did not use the ribbon sash, which is really long and kind of awkward. It looked fine without it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2014
Ordered as backup - didnt wear. Beautiful dress but the slit was a little high for a military formal
The waist was extremely tight and would have been bothersome at the end of the night. Would have needed to wear 3-4in heels for length to work. Ended up wearing my first dress pick, which was more flowy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
March 4, 2014
The fit was great, and the Angelina Jolie leg didn't hurt
The one drawback to the gown was that the sash was missing when I received it, but that's the fault of the company, not the dress. It fit well and was VERY comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 7, 2014
Did not wear dress for event
Dress was too big and did not fit correctly in the bust area or waist. After trying it on I realized it was too big and I could not wear it for a black tie wedding. I contacted customer service with RTR and Rachel TB provided amazing assistance! She spent 45 minutes via chat with me providing other options that would fit and be long enough.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
March 12, 2014
had to return it- too short!
Was disappointed. Had to return it and find something else to wear. Was too short (I am 5'7") also the belt looked like it had seen far better days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2014
Loved the mix of soft and sexy with the lace vs. the high slit!
Fit was flattering. It accentuated the right curves. The belt was missing but I had my own to recover. Length was good with 2.5 in heels. I felt very comfortable and glamorous :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
April 13, 2014
Needed a dress one week before this event. It was magic!
Perfect fit, comfortable, and as pretty in person as the pictures. Got the dress on time (day before) and comes with pre paid envelope to send it back. Super easy process. And fun. Do it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect first experience with Rent the Runway!
The dress was comfortable, classy, and just sexy enough with the thigh slit on the side. I usually wear a 2 but the dress runs a bit small. The 4 fit perfectly and I am so happy Rent the Runway lets you pick 2 sizes just in case. My only complaint was the dress did not come with the belt that was pictured - but it was not the end of the world. Overall loved the dress and will be using Rent the Runway in the future!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2014
Overall RTR service was amazing!!
The dress was beautiful but extremely long and did run a bit large! I did not have the same issues as other people in terms of the slit being too high, it seemed as though the slit on my dress had been sewn together so it hit me at an appropriate length. The overall dress was a bit too long, I wore 4inch heels and it still skimmed the floor (they didn't have a Regular size available so I opted to wear this anyway) Unfortunately, the belt that belonged with the dress did not come but RTR service was extremely accommodating in sending other dress options in case my original did not work out. All in all, will definitely use RTR again and rent this dress, just likely in a smaller and shorter size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
Classic black dress with lovely details
I rented this dress for a black tie charity gala with coworkers and it was perfect -- plenty modest enough. I am 5'6" and I wore the 8L because I have a larger ribcage, otherwise the 6L would have been perfect. I wore it with 4" heels and the bottom of the dress just grazed the ground. The lace trim looks nicer in person, and as others have said, the belt will not stay clasped. I just tied it and it looked fine. I didn't feel the slit was too high -- you need something to balance out the high neckline!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
April 30, 2014
Elegant and Flattering!
I wore this as a bridesmaid, and everyone looked great! It was good for large busted girls. Waist runs a bit small, so I had to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2014
Loved the dress!
The dress fit perfectly. The only thing I can complain about is the belt loops. I'm not sure if a belt was missing or if they are there. Overall loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
May 12, 2014
Flattering fit, easy to wear!
The dress was a winner and Rent the Runway's process is smooth and foolproof. I did not get a photo unfortunately, but at 5'5", 146 lbs with an athletic build, the 8R fit perfectly, if not a little short. I wore 3" heels and it was slightly off the ground, so if you're taller than 5'5" order the long. This dress is fantastic for a variety of reasons: the fit of the bodice is modest, but so pretty, and works with a bra or not (I wore a strapless one); the side slit is sexy and makes the dress easy to more in. Best part is the cut/drape and belt detail; it's a slightly high waist which elongates the body and does wonders at hiding any excess tummy or hips. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that I ended up wearing the backup size I'd ordered (8), and they had only sent one belt (size 6). So, the belt kept popping off if I laughed of sat down too quickly, since it was a little snug and had only a snap closure (and no give - it's velvet). Beautiful gown and experience overall!!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2014
I am a true 6. This dress is not. If you are curvy at all, do not rent. It will not fit.
This dress is very straight. If you are busty, this dress does not forgive in the back zipper. I rented a 6 as well as a 4, since I can usually go done since my waist is small. Neither of them fit. The 6 was so small I would have needed to go up to a 10 to fit in this dress. Keep this in mind when ordering. Although it didn't fit, it was a beautiful dress. If you are slim, this will be perfect for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
May 24, 2014
Process was great, dress was just OK
Ordered this dress literally three days before a last minute black tie gala. It arrived without the belt which was very disappointing. The 0L was not as long as expected - I didn't need the L bit that's all that was available; however the R must run short as I'm 5'4" and the L worked fine. Dress runs small and by end of the night I ft suffocated at the waist and shoulder. It really it a lovely dress but doesn't photograph well to capture all the detail. I had no issue with the leg slit, it wasn't that high, I wore to a work event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
May 30, 2014
Incredible dress! Sexy yet sophisticated, with a perfect fit.
The entire experience was wonderful from beginning to end. This was my first rental, and now I expect to use RTR regularly. I got tons of compliments, felt totally comfortable, and really enjoyed the night in this dress. The side slit is a bit high, so if you think you'll be uncomfortable, simply consider pinning it. Otherwise, FANTASTIC! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 3, 2014
Perfect for Black Tie Event.
While neither size came with the belt, I was able to wear the 10 without it. It was very comfortable and look great for the wedding. The 8 fit but was snug, I thought it would have been uncomfortable. I wore short heels and I thought it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2014
This dress was stunning for a black tie wedding! Very flattering and elegant.
I usually wear a 4 and I wore the 4R and it fit like it was made for me. If you're taller than 5'2" and planning to wear 3 inch heels or greater, you may want to consider the extra length. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress was borderline short! The way the dress lays in the center is very flattering and forgiving. The lace detail was beautiful. I didn't wear the velvet belt because the wedding was in May, and it seemed a little wintery. The only complaint I had involved the belt loop and button attachment for the belt because I chose not to wear it. The button was in an inconspicuous position and I put a safety pin in the belt loop and it looked fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2014
Great dress & bracelet
Everything fit perfectly, except the strap on top of my shoulder was a little tight. But at least it was secure! I'm 5'8 and wore about 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. It came with a belt, but because it was of velvet material and the wedding was a spring/summer wedding, I chose not to wear it. Still looked good. I wore this dress for a black tie wedding and felt very elegant. Got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2014
Simple, non-fussy dress that looks and feels glamorous.
The fit was great! True to size. I'm 5'7'', and the L length was perfect with 4 in. heels. I have more of an hour glass figure, and the dress highlighted that in a classy way. The dress allows you to wear a supportive bra without having to fiddle with it the whole night. Slit is VERY high, but I loved it. I had to pin it just a little so no accidents happened, but the slit takes the dress to another level, where it would be very simple otherwise. My one true complaint is that the ribbon belt pictured was not included when I received the dress. I had to improvise with a piece of ribbon I pinned to stay in place. This was my first time using RTR, and I was very impressed with the results and ease of return.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
July 20, 2014
Beautiful dress - great for black tie wedding!
Love this dress! I am sometimes a 12 and sometimes a 14 and am glad I went with the 12 - it fit perfect! I went with a regular length based on reviews but if I ordered again, I would order a long instead of a regular as the length was just a tad too short for my preference (contacted RTR for a long but wasn't available and I didn't want to select a new style as I love this dress!). I was originally a little worried about the high slit but it was great - just had to be careful with sitting (just t first to adjust). Loved the lace detailing on the neckline and on the slit. Didn't end up wearing the belt - didn't think it added much. Arm hole was a little big with extra fabric on the side. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2014
Gorgeous, understated and comfortable.
I recommend the long if you plan to wear heels. The slit runs high, but can be fixed with a safety pin. Didn't 'hug' any unflattering body party (butt, hip, thighs) so no need for Spanx! Plenty comfortable to be worn all night.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 17, 2014
The dress arrived early and fit perfect even though my second size was not available.
Loved this dress! Didn't come with the belt shown in the picture but still got a lot of compliments without it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 141lbs
August 28, 2014
THE DRESS !! felt so good
This dress was just simply amazing. it fitted perfectly and was extremely elegant. I had A LOT of compliments and recommend it. very beautiful
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
September 2, 2014
Sophisticated glamour
This dress is beautiful and I felt very glamorous wearing it. I received many complements. The lace and bow details give it the sophistication and feminininity. The bow is a part of a belt that snaps on and it's very easy to figure out. Fortunately, I ordered two sizes because one dress (4R) came with a belt that was missing one of the snaps. It was very easy to walk and dance in. I only wish I had known the split was so high. It was fine walking around but when sitting, my hip was exposed. Thank goodness for the appropriate bikini underwear and a pashmina I carried.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×