Avril Dress

$129 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2011
Gorgeous dress but runs small!
I am usually a solid 6 in dresses. Sometimes I am a 4. I felt comfortable ordering the 4 and 6 as a backup. However, when I received the dress it was a bit tight and the zipper is the worst so I couldn't wear the dress. I would love to rent it again but I would need to order it in the size 8 (or just lose some weight..lol). Other than that, it is a gorgeous dress. I wish I could have worn it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
This was my 2nd dress option
I liked this dress in the picture. However, when I received it, I did not like the material as much as I thought I would. I ended up going with my first dress option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
SMALL
The style is great but order a size larger and the one larger than that as a back up or you won't be wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 2, 2012
Longer in person
I ordered this as a back up but decided not to wear it because it was not as striking as I imagined it. It ended up looking typical and the dress was longer in person. I am 5'6" but with long legs and this dress did not feel tea length when I put it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
January 5, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I loved the dress, but it runs very small. I am a 34DD and a size 2 waist and it wouldn't zip at all. I was very sad to return it. I ordered it for New Year's Eve and I really had my heart set on it. So make sure you order two sizes bigger than what you truly are!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
Not very flattering
I rented this dress for NYE and was not entirely pleased with it. It ran true to size but it was bulky and I was concerned that I looked pregnant in it. People complimented me and it was fun to dance in but I've rented far better dresses from RTR. I wore my little Seychelles combat boots with it, to make it fun and comfortable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2012
"You look gorgeous!"
This dress fit perfectly. I did take the advice of others and ordered a size larger than I would normally. I wore it on NYE and everyone loved it. It was so much fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2012
Having designer dresses delivered to my front door and trying them on in the comfort of better lighting in my own home!
Dress is beautiful. I could have been more comfortable in a size 6 but made the 4 work. Couldn't wear a bra, but the boning and ruching made it undetectable. Not friendly for larger busts. Was slightly longer on me than the model. Zipper is a little tricky. Got lots of compliments! See pics...
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
February 2, 2012
great dress!
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and received lots of compliments on it. As the other reviewers stated, it runs small, so I suggest going a size up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2012
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.
I absolutely ADORED this dress!! The picture of the model was what first made me fall in love with it, and I am thrilled to report I looked fabulous in it too! The other reviews said it ran small so I ordered a 6 and an 8 (even though I'm usually a 4 and 6). I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit perfectly! The chest area was curved and not quite like a bandeau (the picture made it look a little bandeau-ish to me), so it definitely accentuated my bust, but I still loved it. The length was perfect for me, but I'm 5'8 and I wore 5 inch heels - but it might look weird on shorter girls. I have quite the tooshie, but this dress hides it perfectly. This dress was fabulous and I got a ZILLION compliments! YAY RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2012
not my best look!
I wound up returning this dress and wearing one I already had in my closet. it runs very small. I'm usually a size 4 but I was unable to zip it, a size 6 would have been a perfect fit I'm sure. However I am 5 foot 1 inch and 125 lbs, the dress on the model is Tea length, but on me it was about 2 inches away from touching the floor. I also felt the dress made me look very wide, too much poofing at the waist. However I will say the dress seemed to be very well made and it is beautiful If you're a size 0-3 and 5 foot 7 or taller it would probably look amazing on you, but definitely not for us shorter girls
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 1, 2012
Beautiful!
I ordered the dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit snugly, as a strapless dress should, and looked great. But, the 0 had a small rip in the bodice fabric, and the bottom of the skirt seemed to be awkwardly hemmed or altered - the underlying slip fell lower than the overlying layers of fabric. The 0 was a no go. I then tried on the 2, and though it was not as snug as the 0, the structure in the bodice ensured that it would stay put. It looked great, was extremely comfortable, though not as flattering around the waist and chest as the 0 would have been. The zipper on both dresses struggled to get through the heavy fabric of the detail on the waist of the dress. In the end, it was perfect. I wore it with the Crystal Cluster Necklace and had my hair in soft, side swept up-do. I received many, many compliments. Note: My bust size is 30 B
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
The moment I walked into the building that the Prom was being held and all the girls who were wearing long dresses sitting down and just watching poeple because they could move around without people stepping on their dress and me jumping and dancing a lot was the moment I new I had the PERFECT dress.
I love this dress. I wore it to my Senior Prom in May and it was comfortable and I got a lot of complements on the dress. I was out all night and had no trouble dancing and sitting. I wish I could own the dress. I honestly was the perfect dress for the prom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Lots of fabric
This dress looks much better in the photo. In real life, the skirt is super full, a bit witchy/Halloween-ish and hits at a weird length. It didn't look as elegant as expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
prettier in photo
I rented this dress for a gala event and ended up wearing the backup dress because this one is very... witchy. It looks like something Stevie Nicks would wear and that is not the look I was going for. Perhaps it is less voluminous in the smaller sizes but for me it was a LOT of black chiffon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 22, 2012
Fun and elegant
I loved this dress! I rented it for a wedding, and it was perfect for the occassion. The color, fit and material were very elegant and the flowy skirt was a lot of fun. The bottom is very full, so it can add curves if you are a skinny person. I did find that the dress itself was kind of bulky, so if you are a thicker person, it may not be the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Runs small
I am really happy that I ordered two sizes in this dress - the 6 did not fit at all, but the 8 was a perfect fit. Really unique dress in person but difficult to see the details in photographs.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
Gorgeous dress....but small
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! The picture does it no justice. I was 3 months post-baby #2 so was hoping the dress would work for me.I rented it in an 8 but the backup in 10 was not available so I was hoping the 8 would fit but as many of the members wrote it runs small. The dress has an extremely fitted bodice that cuts just at your natural waist. If you have a larger chest than size up 2 sizes! I would recommend ordering your first size one size larger than what you normally wear and the backup 2 sizes up. I had to return it...which of course was hassle-free. I also lost 20 pounds since so I'll be renting it again and this time I better fit into it! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2012
I spent the whole night twirling around on the dance floor, and the dress moved right along with me. It was the perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner this past weekend. As soon as I put it on I felt like I was Carrie Bradshaw about to take on the streets of New York City. I am glad I listened to the other reviews, because yes the dress does run a little small. (I usually wear a size 0-2 and I wore the size 4). The 2 may have fit too, but it might have been a little too snug. Anyway I was so thrilled that I rented this dress, and did not want to take it off!! It made me feel so glamorous and classy at my rehearsal dinner, and I got tons of compliments! The dress is very well made, and comfortable!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2012
This dress runs extremely small.
I usually wear a 4 (sometimes a 2). I ordered a 4 and a 6 (for backup). I couldn't even zip the 6 because it was so tight in the ribs and chest. You must have a very small chest and a tiny frame (narrow rib cage) to wear this dress. It is beautiful, though.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
September 27, 2012
cute dress but was too big
i ordered this as my main dress, and was advised to order a size up, and for my backup size to be one size up from that, since a lot of the reviews were saying it ran small, especially if you have a larger bust. i was so bummed because i am normally a 2-4, and i had ordered the 6 and 8 per RTR stylist recommendations , and the 6 was just too big, the bust itself was large and i was shocked because i am a 34 d, so that usually isnt a problem. i wish i had ordered a 4, the dress was very cute otherwise. i recommend ordering your normal size , and the none size up if you are nervous. !!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2012
Very pretty
This dress was very nice, I am taller so it's nice to have a dress I don't have to worry about being too short, and I adore a fuller skirt. It hit right below the knee for me, the fabric and design was nice and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
party dress!
very fun and flirty! tea length. no bra needed: my breasts were busting out of the top but not uncomfortably so.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
The complements I received on my dress were endless!!
The dress fit true to size. The detail is subtle yet fun - I love the rouching on the bust, and the accouterment at the waist. I would wear this dress again and again. I have yet to find another formal dress that could top this for me. As a curvy woman, it was great to find something that highlight my bust and waist!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress was nice and matched my mask perfectly with the black feathers on the waist.
the 4 was tight fitting, but perfect for my small bust and the bottom of the dress is wide, so it's not a problem with large hips. I figured that the dress would be longer than on the model, but it also looked puffier than expected. It's better to be really skinny to look great with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
Something different and fabulous for a masquerade holiday party
I wore this to a work holiday party. I don't usually wear strapless dresses, but I had no issues with this sliding down. The only issue I had with this was the trying to get the zipper up on my own. I think the 6 would have fit if someone else could have zipped it for me. Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's beautiful and very well made.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
December 15, 2012
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit.
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit. I picked it for a formal holiday party. I'm a short girl so if the dress had fit, the dress would've been too long anyway. I couldn't zip the dress up all the way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 22, 2012
Pretty dress, awkward bust.
I wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Very nice for formal occasions. The bust was ok in size. I'm small chested for a size 8. However I think there should be more in the bust area to keep it from running down. I hate having to tug on it, which I did a lot through out the night. During the rehearsal in church I kept my jacket on since the bust had a tendency to sag a little. Consider a sweater or a wrap to be conservative.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 23, 2012
Maybe a better Halloween costume!
This was a beautiful dress, but it ran ludicrously small and was a little joyless for a wedding. Went with backup dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2013
It was okay....
It is a pretty dress. Great for a wedding or cocktail party. I fit in a 0. Always have but the size 0 wouldn't zip up. The zipper kept sticking where the top meets the bottom part. Didn't want to break it so I wore the 2 and it kept slipping a little so you always felt like you had to hold it with your arms and lift up. It's quite annoying when you are dancing! The top is great on a smaller bust as well. The heart shape complements you so well. So if a 0 is a little bit go for the 0. If you are normally a size 2 then it will be a bit snug, but if you run in between don't get the dress. I also have a smaller bust (A Cup) so I couldn't fill it out as much and so it was loose (size 2).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2013
Not for me
Beautiful dress on the hanger, though the ruffles in the torso area definitely added an inch or two to my waist and made me look as though I had a belly that I don't normally have. I ordered the 4 and 6 - ended up wearing the 4 although I normally wear a 6. Again, the dress was beautiful nonetheless!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2013
The dress came in perfect condition, ran true to size, and was perfect for the black tie wedding!
Fits true to size, great condition, and looked even more beautiful than online.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty dress for a petite body
I liked the design but it looked awkward on me as a size 6. I can usually squeeze into a size 4 but this dress runs a tad small. I felt I looked larger in it. Made my hourglass figure looked straight because the top part of the dress is pretty thick and straight. I think this dress would look a lot better on someone who’s tiny, size 2 or smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
Runs small. Difficult to zip on the side. long for short girls
I am 5'4" so the length hit mid calf, which looked awkward. Dress runs small and is difficult to zip, I needed help. Zipper is on the side. This dress would be best for tall thin girls. The detail at the waist is pretty but just below the detail, the dress poufs out, making your belly appear larger than it is. I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the length but Customer Service is amazing at RTR. I recommend RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117lbs
January 31, 2013
Wanted to love this dress....
I really wanted to love this dress, but it did not fit my body at all. This dress isn't good for a skinny, straight figure like mine. It would stay up and probably would work better on someone that has bigger breasts. Beautiful dress beside the fit problem.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 2, 2013
I chose to not wear this one.
I am really tiny all over . I ordered this in a size 0 and 2. I couldn't zip up the size 0. The 2 fit alright. The look of the dress is a bit prom like with a lot of extra material. I felt it made my mid section look thick which was unflattering. Probably better on a really thin taller person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2013
Loved it!
This dress was so beautiful. I ordered the 2 and the 4. I loved how the 2 fit and would have worn it, but the tulle was ripped in one of the under layers. I ended up having to wear the 4 which made me have to pull it up all night; it does fit very true to size. RTR customer service is the best. I called them and they completely credited the dress and apologized. Great experience and overall great dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2013
I love this website and use it frequently.
I run a size 10/12 but I had read that it ran small so I rented a 12. I actually am a 36 D on top but a very small waist and I had to lay on my side and have my date struggle to zip it. I felt like a stuffed sausage but I did receive a lot of compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
March 5, 2013
Hearing my best friend say she was getting a Natalie Portman vibe from me
Fit was awesome, very comfortable dress. Wore to spring formal with Zara heels. Love it!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2013
Perfect for dancing, flattering, not fussy at all.
LOVED this dress. Was worried about renting it due to the reviews. I got the 4 and 6. I wore the 4, it fit fine, might have even been able to wear the 2 if I had rented it. Zipper was tough over the seam on the side, but not impossible at all, just as you'd expect a zipper near layers of pleated tool to zip a little stiffer. The dress moved great, was a creative formal look, very fun and stood out for everyone elses long dresses. It did not poof out too much or look very costume-y; looked very accurate to the model on me and just as i expected the dress to look.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×