Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Avril Dress

$40 rental
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

113 reviews

Fit
Small 48
True to Size 53
Large 10
Photos 38
Brklyn2LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 13, 2011

Gorgeous dress but runs small!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am usually a solid 6 in dresses. Sometimes I am a 4. I felt comfortable ordering the 4 and 6 as a backup. However, when I received the dress it was a bit tight and the zipper is the worst so I couldn't wear the dress. I would love to rent it again but I would need to order it in the size 8 (or just lose some weight..lol). Other than that, it is a gorgeous dress. I wish I could have worn it.
Rebekah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2011

This was my 2nd dress option

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress in the picture. However, when I received it, I did not like the material as much as I thought I would. I ended up going with my first dress option.
Paula
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

SMALL

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The style is great but order a size larger and the one larger than that as a back up or you won't be wearing it.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

Not for the bustier women

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful but if you're over a C cup, I wouldn't recommend. I am a 32dd and a size 2 waist, and this dress was not flattering on my body type.
Melee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 2, 2012

Longer in person

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as a back up but decided not to wear it because it was not as striking as I imagined it. It ended up looking typical and the dress was longer in person. I am 5'6" but with long legs and this dress did not feel tea length when I put it on.
Faryal
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress, but it runs very small. I am a 34DD and a size 2 waist and it wouldn't zip at all. I was very sad to return it. I ordered it for New Year's Eve and I really had my heart set on it. So make sure you order two sizes bigger than what you truly are!
cynloohoo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 5, 2012

Not very flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE and was not entirely pleased with it. It ran true to size but it was bulky and I was concerned that I looked pregnant in it. People complimented me and it was fun to dance in but I've rented far better dresses from RTR. I wore my little Seychelles combat boots with it, to make it fun and comfortable.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 10, 2012

Pretty but poofy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cuter on the model than it was on me. I'm small on top and something about the bodice made me look bigger (like wider) than I wanted too...better for larger girls who needs the bust support that this dress provides.
megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Feb 2, 2012

great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and received lots of compliments on it. As the other reviewers stated, it runs small, so I suggest going a size up.
Lara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Feb 8, 2012

Unfortunately too small

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie gala and had high hopes for the dress. The detailing on the body is lovely in person. Unfortunately the top is very tight. I'm a 32 chest and very small on top but still couldn't even come close to zipping the top -- I would have probably needed a size larger. Not sure how the proportions of the rest of the dress would have been affected though.....as some other commenters have mentioned, this dress has the potential to not look cute or whimsy but make you look puffy (especially us petite girls).
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 11, 2012

Fun party dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a back-up gown for a ball. It was definitely a fun party dress, and I didn't think it was too poufy in the skirt at all! I felt it was a little too gothic for the event I was going to, so I chose my original, but I think this would make an awesome New Year's Eve dress. Very true what the other reviews say, bust is tight so order one size up!
amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutely ADORED this dress!! The picture of the model was what first made me fall in love with it, and I am thrilled to report I looked fabulous in it too! The other reviews said it ran small so I ordered a 6 and an 8 (even though I'm usually a 4 and 6). I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit perfectly! The chest area was curved and not quite like a bandeau (the picture made it look a little bandeau-ish to me), so it definitely accentuated my bust, but I still loved it. The length was perfect for me, but I'm 5'8 and I wore 5 inch heels - but it might look weird on shorter girls. I have quite the tooshie, but this dress hides it perfectly. This dress was fabulous and I got a ZILLION compliments! YAY RTR!
Becca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 3, 2012

not my best look!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wound up returning this dress and wearing one I already had in my closet. it runs very small. I'm usually a size 4 but I was unable to zip it, a size 6 would have been a perfect fit I'm sure. However I am 5 foot 1 inch and 125 lbs, the dress on the model is Tea length, but on me it was about 2 inches away from touching the floor. I also felt the dress made me look very wide, too much poofing at the waist. However I will say the dress seemed to be very well made and it is beautiful If you're a size 0-3 and 5 foot 7 or taller it would probably look amazing on you, but definitely not for us shorter girls
laura
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 1, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit snugly, as a strapless dress should, and looked great. But, the 0 had a small rip in the bodice fabric, and the bottom of the skirt seemed to be awkwardly hemmed or altered - the underlying slip fell lower than the overlying layers of fabric. The 0 was a no go. I then tried on the 2, and though it was not as snug as the 0, the structure in the bodice ensured that it would stay put. It looked great, was extremely comfortable, though not as flattering around the waist and chest as the 0 would have been. The zipper on both dresses struggled to get through the heavy fabric of the detail on the waist of the dress. In the end, it was perfect. I wore it with the Crystal Cluster Necklace and had my hair in soft, side swept up-do. I received many, many compliments. Note: My bust size is 30 B
Steph
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 6, 2012

dont get it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked nothing like the picture. First of all it does run a size small. Then the one I got wasn't even black anymore but the color was washed out that it looked grey. The bust part was assymetrical in the top, I guess due to too many dry cleanings, so made the cleavage looked very strange. Overall, the dress had a look of poor quality, badly made, and it did not even fit. I sent it back and wore my own dress.
Rosie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Lots of fabric

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looks much better in the photo. In real life, the skirt is super full, a bit witchy/Halloween-ish and hits at a weird length. It didn't look as elegant as expected.
roo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Aug 20, 2012

prettier in photo

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a gala event and ended up wearing the backup dress because this one is very... witchy. It looks like something Stevie Nicks would wear and that is not the look I was going for. Perhaps it is less voluminous in the smaller sizes but for me it was a LOT of black chiffon.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Fun and elegant

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I rented it for a wedding, and it was perfect for the occassion. The color, fit and material were very elegant and the flowy skirt was a lot of fun. The bottom is very full, so it can add curves if you are a skinny person. I did find that the dress itself was kind of bulky, so if you are a thicker person, it may not be the dress for you.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Runs small

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am really happy that I ordered two sizes in this dress - the 6 did not fit at all, but the 8 was a perfect fit. Really unique dress in person but difficult to see the details in photographs.
Jo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Gorgeous dress....but small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! The picture does it no justice. I was 3 months post-baby #2 so was hoping the dress would work for me.I rented it in an 8 but the backup in 10 was not available so I was hoping the 8 would fit but as many of the members wrote it runs small. The dress has an extremely fitted bodice that cuts just at your natural waist. If you have a larger chest than size up 2 sizes! I would recommend ordering your first size one size larger than what you normally wear and the backup 2 sizes up. I had to return it...which of course was hassle-free. I also lost 20 pounds since so I'll be renting it again and this time I better fit into it! :-)
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

This dress runs extremely small.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4 (sometimes a 2). I ordered a 4 and a 6 (for backup). I couldn't even zip the 6 because it was so tight in the ribs and chest. You must have a very small chest and a tiny frame (narrow rib cage) to wear this dress. It is beautiful, though.
Sal
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

cute dress but was too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i ordered this as my main dress, and was advised to order a size up, and for my backup size to be one size up from that, since a lot of the reviews were saying it ran small, especially if you have a larger bust. i was so bummed because i am normally a 2-4, and i had ordered the 6 and 8 per RTR stylist recommendations , and the 6 was just too big, the bust itself was large and i was shocked because i am a 34 d, so that usually isnt a problem. i wish i had ordered a 4, the dress was very cute otherwise. i recommend ordering your normal size , and the none size up if you are nervous. !!!
AMY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Very pretty

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very nice, I am taller so it's nice to have a dress I don't have to worry about being too short, and I adore a fuller skirt. It hit right below the knee for me, the fabric and design was nice and elegant.
FIT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Too long for me!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, but ended up not being able to wear it. The dress was entirely too long for me (I'm 5'6'') and there was so much material, it completely overwhelmed my frame. Pretty dress, just not a great fit or me.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Too much material at waist and stomach

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Im a lean person and this dress made me look very wide. The extra fabric hangs from the belly button, and is not flattering. It is a sheer material and not fluffy life the picture suggests. Perhaps on someone shorter this would look better. Thankfully I rented a back-up dress.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Not for Short Girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal affair, but didn't end up wearing either size that I rented. I'm usually a size 0 so I rented the 0 and 2, and the fit was just not flattering on my short frame. The size 0 hardly zipped but the fit of the dress made me look like I was huge. Loved how this dress looked on the model, but just wasn't for me. Don't recommend for short girls. Won't stop me from renting other styles though!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Ran very small particularly around the rib cage.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The roucing around the rib cage created a lot of problems for me. I ordered both a 2 and a 4 (usually fit fine into a 2) and could not get either zipped. I don't know if others had this problem but I typically don't have an issue with this so I don't know if it was me or the dress. Also, the fabric was not quite as high quality as I was expecting. overall had to return it and wear a dress I owned.
Cortney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Empire waist was not flattering

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't realize when I ordered this that it was an empire waist. I looked pregnant in it, so I didn't wear it. Plus, the zipper was very difficult to zip up (even when it was just on the hanger) and the clasp at the top of the zipper was broken in both sizes I ordered.
Betty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit. I picked it for a formal holiday party. I'm a short girl so if the dress had fit, the dress would've been too long anyway. I couldn't zip the dress up all the way.
Cydnee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

Maybe a better Halloween costume!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a beautiful dress, but it ran ludicrously small and was a little joyless for a wedding. Went with backup dress.
Gillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Beautiful dress - wish it would have fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but the top is very small. I am usually a size 0 or 2 and I couldn't even squeeze my average sized chest into either. Unless you're small chested, I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even 2 sizes.
Kim
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2013

It was okay....

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a pretty dress. Great for a wedding or cocktail party. I fit in a 0. Always have but the size 0 wouldn't zip up. The zipper kept sticking where the top meets the bottom part. Didn't want to break it so I wore the 2 and it kept slipping a little so you always felt like you had to hold it with your arms and lift up. It's quite annoying when you are dancing! The top is great on a smaller bust as well. The heart shape complements you so well. So if a 0 is a little bit go for the 0. If you are normally a size 2 then it will be a bit snug, but if you run in between don't get the dress. I also have a smaller bust (A Cup) so I couldn't fill it out as much and so it was loose (size 2).
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×