Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Avril Dress

$40 rental
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

109 reviews

Fit
Small 47
True to Size 52
Large 10
Photos 37
Betty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit. I picked it for a formal holiday party. I'm a short girl so if the dress had fit, the dress would've been too long anyway. I couldn't zip the dress up all the way.
Cydnee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

Maybe a better Halloween costume!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a beautiful dress, but it ran ludicrously small and was a little joyless for a wedding. Went with backup dress.
Gillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Beautiful dress - wish it would have fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but the top is very small. I am usually a size 0 or 2 and I couldn't even squeeze my average sized chest into either. Unless you're small chested, I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even 2 sizes.
Kim
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2013

It was okay....

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a pretty dress. Great for a wedding or cocktail party. I fit in a 0. Always have but the size 0 wouldn't zip up. The zipper kept sticking where the top meets the bottom part. Didn't want to break it so I wore the 2 and it kept slipping a little so you always felt like you had to hold it with your arms and lift up. It's quite annoying when you are dancing! The top is great on a smaller bust as well. The heart shape complements you so well. So if a 0 is a little bit go for the 0. If you are normally a size 2 then it will be a bit snug, but if you run in between don't get the dress. I also have a smaller bust (A Cup) so I couldn't fill it out as much and so it was loose (size 2).
Tash
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Not for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress on the hanger, though the ruffles in the torso area definitely added an inch or two to my waist and made me look as though I had a belly that I don't normally have. I ordered the 4 and 6 - ended up wearing the 4 although I normally wear a 6. Again, the dress was beautiful nonetheless!
Jamie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

The dress came in perfect condition, ran true to size, and was perfect for the black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size, great condition, and looked even more beautiful than online.
Maria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

I felt amazing and everyone said I looked it. I would highly recommend this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well and was very flattering. It was comfortable enough to wear all night while dancing.
Abbey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Beautiful material....very light and whimsical!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm busty so the dress was too tight to zip up on the side (over my ribcage), so I had to go up two sizesin order to breathe and be comfortable. The larger size made my hips look large though because of the layers of material. I wasn't crazy about the way it fit me, but it was a gorgeous dress in person and I received compliments on the dress!
mrs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Runs small. Difficult to zip on the side. long for short girls

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4" so the length hit mid calf, which looked awkward. Dress runs small and is difficult to zip, I needed help. Zipper is on the side. This dress would be best for tall thin girls. The detail at the waist is pretty but just below the detail, the dress poufs out, making your belly appear larger than it is. I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the length but Customer Service is amazing at RTR. I recommend RTR!
Alli L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Wanted to love this dress....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to love this dress, but it did not fit my body at all. This dress isn't good for a skinny, straight figure like mine. It would stay up and probably would work better on someone that has bigger breasts. Beautiful dress beside the fit problem.
Meredith
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 2, 2013

I chose to not wear this one.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am really tiny all over . I ordered this in a size 0 and 2. I couldn't zip up the size 0. The 2 fit alright. The look of the dress is a bit prom like with a lot of extra material. I felt it made my mid section look thick which was unflattering. Probably better on a really thin taller person.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so beautiful. I ordered the 2 and the 4. I loved how the 2 fit and would have worn it, but the tulle was ripped in one of the under layers. I ended up having to wear the 4 which made me have to pull it up all night; it does fit very true to size. RTR customer service is the best. I called them and they completely credited the dress and apologized. Great experience and overall great dress.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

I love this website and use it frequently.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I run a size 10/12 but I had read that it ran small so I rented a 12. I actually am a 36 D on top but a very small waist and I had to lay on my side and have my date struggle to zip it. I felt like a stuffed sausage but I did receive a lot of compliments
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 11, 2013

Perfect for dancing, flattering, not fussy at all.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress. Was worried about renting it due to the reviews. I got the 4 and 6. I wore the 4, it fit fine, might have even been able to wear the 2 if I had rented it. Zipper was tough over the seam on the side, but not impossible at all, just as you'd expect a zipper near layers of pleated tool to zip a little stiffer. The dress moved great, was a creative formal look, very fun and stood out for everyone elses long dresses. It did not poof out too much or look very costume-y; looked very accurate to the model on me and just as i expected the dress to look.
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

As the fashion stylist for the closing night party it was a true representation of my work & style.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress does run small, especially through the bust and upper rib cage. It is very comfortable, elegant and edgy! I would recommend this to anyone wanting the glam/rock feel.
Alana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 3, 2013

LOVED IT

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fantastic, simple... but fantastic. Everyone stopped to look at me!! wait... maybe that is because I was late to this event!! But still!! haha lots and lots of compliments!!
Sandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 19, 2013

The dress was stunning! Contrary to the 'runs small' the sizes ordered were too large.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was for a Viva Las Vegas themed high school Prom. The sizes ordered were based on reviews that the dress ran small and consultation with the fit stylist. However, all were too large to be flattering. Unfortunately, the 'wearer' was not available in the 24 hour window for returns.
Hungirl
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

This dress is gorgeous. I loved the midi length because I am 6'3. I can only recommend.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I recommend it to tall girls.
courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Perfect Dress for Auction

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit great. Comfortable. Easy to wear. Got lots of compliants. Wore with black shoes.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148 lbs
May 9, 2013

Comfortable and chic! So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely fabulous - if you're going to an event, and you're worried about comfort, wear this dress. It fits true to size, it's VERY flattering, and the fabric feels great (not too heavy). It also hides any "tummy" issues. My creds say that I am 148 lbs but I'm approaching 160 right now, and the dress still fit wonderfully (so perhaps the dress actually runs big? But I didn't notice!). I would recommend this dress to ANYONE, but I would take special note that I have a small bust, and the fit on top was snug (in a good way). If you have a larger bust, I'm not sure it would fit properly.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 16, 2013

gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY. I usually wear a size 8 and read the reviews, so ordered a 10 and 12 as a back-up. Neither of them would zip (I'm 5'4, 140lbs, 34DD). Had to send both sizes back.
Buck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 19, 2013

The ability to return and get a credit for next time.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Both the size 2 and 4 did not fit. I typically wear a 0-2 in street clothes.
D NYC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

The Femmys

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress ran small and looked beautiful but, not very comfortable.
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 5, 2013

Gorgeous dress! Did not end up wearing it do to poor fit.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very tight around the ribcage.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Tiny!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress as both the size I ordered and the backup size were to small. I'm confident one size up would have been right, but I wish I'd realized just how small the dress was. But if you can get the right size, it's super cute and I wish I could have worn it!
sarah70
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 12, 2013

I wore this dress to a celebrity cocktail party and was the belle of the ball!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress and good for any figure. I liked the edgie-ness of the dress
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Thank you to the great staff for sending this as a back up dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ok, so full disclosure I didn't wear this dress out because it really wasn't the style I was going for once I saw it in person. The fit was nice and comfortable and it was definite dancing material.
Marilyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Didn't end up choosing this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Kind of an awkward length for me since I'm 5'3... plus it was large!
yaayet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Oct 23, 2013

cute

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I think the dress runs just a tad large, it was super comfortable and flirty but I had to keep pulling it up all night. However, it might work well for someone who has little fuller chest than me, I am 32B. Cute dress though and would get it again
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Not Perfect, but still worked out!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, but when it arrived it was too big and the material was super thick! I was unable to wear this, but luckily RTR allowed me to return this dress for store credit!
RDE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

didn't wear this dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Didn't wear this because it seemed a little "too young" for me. I'm 39 and I felt it works for anyone 30 and under. Oddly, if it had been shorter, it wouldn't have seemed as awkward. My husband said it was too "Stevie Nicks!" I went with dress #2, my choice. Hubby won't have first choice next time. I know what fits me best and this wasn't it. But, it is a great looking dress!
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 21, 2013

Pretty dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Good structure. Pretty dress.
Lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 21, 2013

Flirty, pretty, and just a little rock n roll!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress to my friend's formal wedding. The length is very fun and unexpected, plus the black tulle makes it a little edgy. My only tiny complaint was that the appliqued flowers at the waist were a little crushed from the mailing.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 14, 2014

Super cute dress, great for twirling!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Little smaller than I had anticipated so good thing i ordered an extra dress in a size up.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Not in love...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. Runs small and wasn't very flattering on me. The top bodice runs extremely small. Be warned! I ended up wearing a different dress
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Love. Love. Love.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! However, it ran a bit big and the sizes I odered did not fit :( Wish I woould have rented a 0. Quality - fabric - form - all fab!
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

A beautiful designer dress for very little money.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was beautiful. Felt more secure using the body/clothing tape in the front and back. Needed help with the zipper. Dress was for a Sweet 16 party which turned out to be less dressy than indicated. My mom said she would definitely rent again as this was the best way to get a great dress without spending a lot of money. The embellishment was not centered properly around the dress.
Lisa
Age: 40
Feb 20, 2014

Beautiful dress! Loved the fit- I'm 5'8" and it was a great length.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks prettier in person; I didn't think it showed up well in photos.
mk79
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

I actually couldn't fit in the dress. Borrowed one from my sister instead.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Snug as a bug in a rug! Too snug. And others have apparently been in the same boat, the zipper had trouble going up even when on the hanger, without a body stuffed inside.
Joan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Daytime Emmys

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was attending a semi-formal event and thought this dress would be so much fun. But unfortunately, it didn't fit. I'm a pretty small person, and when ordering, I was only able to get the size 0 which is what I normally wear. But the 0 would not fit at all. Not even close! I'm 5'3'', 100 lbs, A-cup; and I could get the zipper up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear the dress, but it looks cute on the hanger! I'm giving it 3 stars because I still like the look of it, but just couldn't wear it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×