Avril Dress

$129 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 22, 2014
It was very flattering helped hide my curves. Lots of compliments at the wedding I attended.

The bust was tight but I didn't pull up or adjust my dress once all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 8, 2014
I didn't wear this dress.

Unfortunately this dress was too small in the bust and I couldn't wear it for my event :(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 28, 2015
The dress was too small, but thanks to RTR I had another gown to wear on time

This dress runs small, so I won't even share a photo. I ordered size 12, and feel like the only way I could wear it if I went back to size 8. When that happens, I am definitely renting this one again!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2012

I normally wear a 4 or a 6 in dresses. The 6 BARELY fit. As in I had to zip it up below my chest and then shimmy it up until it was all the way on. I would definitely recommend having the backup size at least one size up from what you normally wear. (Although the 6 fit me, the 8 would have definitely been more comfortable.) If you get the right size, though, the dress is a dream. So fun!

kam10March 1, 2012
where are your shoes from??
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
April 5, 2014
Beautiful dress

This dress is beautiful... But the top is small. I usually wear a size 12 but this barely fit me. Fortunately for me, I have a small chest. Overall though, it was pretty comfortable once I got it on. The top has boning and very well lined so I didn't need a bra. Dress is very light and airy. Lots of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2011
Not for the bustier women

This dress is beautiful but if you're over a C cup, I wouldn't recommend. I am a 32dd and a size 2 waist, and this dress was not flattering on my body type.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 8, 2012
Unfortunately too small

I rented this dress for a black tie gala and had high hopes for the dress. The detailing on the body is lovely in person. Unfortunately the top is very tight. I'm a 32 chest and very small on top but still couldn't even come close to zipping the top -- I would have probably needed a size larger. Not sure how the proportions of the rest of the dress would have been affected though.....as some other commenters have mentioned, this dress has the potential to not look cute or whimsy but make you look puffy (especially us petite girls).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 11, 2012
Fun party dress

I rented this as a back-up gown for a ball. It was definitely a fun party dress, and I didn't think it was too poufy in the skirt at all! I felt it was a little too gothic for the event I was going to, so I chose my original, but I think this would make an awesome New Year's Eve dress. Very true what the other reviews say, bust is tight so order one size up!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2012
dont get it

The dress looked nothing like the picture. First of all it does run a size small. Then the one I got wasn't even black anymore but the color was washed out that it looked grey. The bust part was assymetrical in the top, I guess due to too many dry cleanings, so made the cleavage looked very strange. Overall, the dress had a look of poor quality, badly made, and it did not even fit. I sent it back and wore my own dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2012
Not for Short Girls

I rented this dress for a formal affair, but didn't end up wearing either size that I rented. I'm usually a size 0 so I rented the 0 and 2, and the fit was just not flattering on my short frame. The size 0 hardly zipped but the fit of the dress made me look like I was huge. Loved how this dress looked on the model, but just wasn't for me. Don't recommend for short girls. Won't stop me from renting other styles though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Ran very small particularly around the rib cage.

The roucing around the rib cage created a lot of problems for me. I ordered both a 2 and a 4 (usually fit fine into a 2) and could not get either zipped. I don't know if others had this problem but I typically don't have an issue with this so I don't know if it was me or the dress. Also, the fabric was not quite as high quality as I was expecting. overall had to return it and wear a dress I owned.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress - wish it would have fit!

Beautiful dress but the top is very small. I am usually a size 0 or 2 and I couldn't even squeeze my average sized chest into either. Unless you're small chested, I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even 2 sizes.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2013
Beautiful material....very light and whimsical!

I'm busty so the dress was too tight to zip up on the side (over my ribcage), so I had to go up two sizesin order to breathe and be comfortable. The larger size made my hips look large though because of the layers of material. I wasn't crazy about the way it fit me, but it was a gorgeous dress in person and I received compliments on the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Did not end up wearing it do to poor fit.

Very tight around the ribcage.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Tiny!

I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress as both the size I ordered and the backup size were to small. I'm confident one size up would have been right, but I wish I'd realized just how small the dress was. But if you can get the right size, it's super cute and I wish I could have worn it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2014
Super cute dress, great for twirling!

Little smaller than I had anticipated so good thing i ordered an extra dress in a size up.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 24, 2014
I actually couldn't fit in the dress. Borrowed one from my sister instead.

Snug as a bug in a rug! Too snug. And others have apparently been in the same boat, the zipper had trouble going up even when on the hanger, without a body stuffed inside.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 3, 2014
Daytime Emmys

I was attending a semi-formal event and thought this dress would be so much fun. But unfortunately, it didn't fit. I'm a pretty small person, and when ordering, I was only able to get the size 0 which is what I normally wear. But the 0 would not fit at all. Not even close! I'm 5'3'', 100 lbs, A-cup; and I could get the zipper up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear the dress, but it looks cute on the hanger! I'm giving it 3 stars because I still like the look of it, but just couldn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Princess!

I really loved this dress but ended up wearing a different one that I liked even better. This was a snug fit on me, but really beautiful. My only complaint (and ultimately my deciding factor) was that the fuller skirt and thick fabric up top seemed to incrementally bulk up my figure, and I wanted to show it off! Still, I could tell this was an exceptionally well-constructed dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 26, 2014
Runs small, and looks better on the model

I rented this for a wedding as a back-up dress. It ran small and was very tight. I opted not to wear the dress, and was glad I ordered a different option.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
September 21, 2014
Small fit

It was a beautiful dress but runs very small.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
This was my 2nd dress option

I liked this dress in the picture. However, when I received it, I did not like the material as much as I thought I would. I ended up going with my first dress option.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 2, 2012
Longer in person

I ordered this as a back up but decided not to wear it because it was not as striking as I imagined it. It ended up looking typical and the dress was longer in person. I am 5'6" but with long legs and this dress did not feel tea length when I put it on.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
Not very flattering

I rented this dress for NYE and was not entirely pleased with it. It ran true to size but it was bulky and I was concerned that I looked pregnant in it. People complimented me and it was fun to dance in but I've rented far better dresses from RTR. I wore my little Seychelles combat boots with it, to make it fun and comfortable.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 1, 2012
Beautiful!

I ordered the dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit snugly, as a strapless dress should, and looked great. But, the 0 had a small rip in the bodice fabric, and the bottom of the skirt seemed to be awkwardly hemmed or altered - the underlying slip fell lower than the overlying layers of fabric. The 0 was a no go. I then tried on the 2, and though it was not as snug as the 0, the structure in the bodice ensured that it would stay put. It looked great, was extremely comfortable, though not as flattering around the waist and chest as the 0 would have been. The zipper on both dresses struggled to get through the heavy fabric of the detail on the waist of the dress. In the end, it was perfect. I wore it with the Crystal Cluster Necklace and had my hair in soft, side swept up-do. I received many, many compliments. Note: My bust size is 30 B

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
The moment I walked into the building that the Prom was being held and all the girls who were wearing long dresses sitting down and just watching poeple because they could move around without people stepping on their dress and me jumping and dancing a lot was the moment I new I had the PERFECT dress.

I love this dress. I wore it to my Senior Prom in May and it was comfortable and I got a lot of complements on the dress. I was out all night and had no trouble dancing and sitting. I wish I could own the dress. I honestly was the perfect dress for the prom.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
prettier in photo

I rented this dress for a gala event and ended up wearing the backup dress because this one is very... witchy. It looks like something Stevie Nicks would wear and that is not the look I was going for. Perhaps it is less voluminous in the smaller sizes but for me it was a LOT of black chiffon.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 22, 2012
Fun and elegant

I loved this dress! I rented it for a wedding, and it was perfect for the occassion. The color, fit and material were very elegant and the flowy skirt was a lot of fun. The bottom is very full, so it can add curves if you are a skinny person. I did find that the dress itself was kind of bulky, so if you are a thicker person, it may not be the dress for you.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
September 27, 2012
cute dress but was too big

i ordered this as my main dress, and was advised to order a size up, and for my backup size to be one size up from that, since a lot of the reviews were saying it ran small, especially if you have a larger bust. i was so bummed because i am normally a 2-4, and i had ordered the 6 and 8 per RTR stylist recommendations , and the 6 was just too big, the bust itself was large and i was shocked because i am a 34 d, so that usually isnt a problem. i wish i had ordered a 4, the dress was very cute otherwise. i recommend ordering your normal size , and the none size up if you are nervous. !!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2012
Very pretty

This dress was very nice, I am taller so it's nice to have a dress I don't have to worry about being too short, and I adore a fuller skirt. It hit right below the knee for me, the fabric and design was nice and elegant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
party dress!

very fun and flirty! tea length. no bra needed: my breasts were busting out of the top but not uncomfortably so.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
The complements I received on my dress were endless!!

The dress fit true to size. The detail is subtle yet fun - I love the rouching on the bust, and the accouterment at the waist. I would wear this dress again and again. I have yet to find another formal dress that could top this for me. As a curvy woman, it was great to find something that highlight my bust and waist!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress was nice and matched my mask perfectly with the black feathers on the waist.

the 4 was tight fitting, but perfect for my small bust and the bottom of the dress is wide, so it's not a problem with large hips. I figured that the dress would be longer than on the model, but it also looked puffier than expected. It's better to be really skinny to look great with this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
Something different and fabulous for a masquerade holiday party

I wore this to a work holiday party. I don't usually wear strapless dresses, but I had no issues with this sliding down. The only issue I had with this was the trying to get the zipper up on my own. I think the 6 would have fit if someone else could have zipped it for me. Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's beautiful and very well made.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 22, 2012
Pretty dress, awkward bust.

I wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Very nice for formal occasions. The bust was ok in size. I'm small chested for a size 8. However I think there should be more in the bust area to keep it from running down. I hate having to tug on it, which I did a lot through out the night. During the rehearsal in church I kept my jacket on since the bust had a tendency to sag a little. Consider a sweater or a wrap to be conservative.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2013
The dress came in perfect condition, ran true to size, and was perfect for the black tie wedding!

Fits true to size, great condition, and looked even more beautiful than online.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2013
Loved it!

This dress was so beautiful. I ordered the 2 and the 4. I loved how the 2 fit and would have worn it, but the tulle was ripped in one of the under layers. I ended up having to wear the 4 which made me have to pull it up all night; it does fit very true to size. RTR customer service is the best. I called them and they completely credited the dress and apologized. Great experience and overall great dress.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
March 5, 2013
Hearing my best friend say she was getting a Natalie Portman vibe from me

Fit was awesome, very comfortable dress. Wore to spring formal with Zara heels. Love it!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2013
Perfect for dancing, flattering, not fussy at all.

LOVED this dress. Was worried about renting it due to the reviews. I got the 4 and 6. I wore the 4, it fit fine, might have even been able to wear the 2 if I had rented it. Zipper was tough over the seam on the side, but not impossible at all, just as you'd expect a zipper near layers of pleated tool to zip a little stiffer. The dress moved great, was a creative formal look, very fun and stood out for everyone elses long dresses. It did not poof out too much or look very costume-y; looked very accurate to the model on me and just as i expected the dress to look.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
March 17, 2013
It was absolutely beautiful. Wore to my senior prom!!

Got so many compliments on the dress!!

View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×