Rebecca Taylor

Meteor Shower Gown

$185 to buy
$925 retail
Stylist Notes

Look radiant in this Rebecca Taylor meteor shower gown. Its sequin detail and midnight blue color is perfect for a formal wedding or black tie affair. Pair with the kate spade new york's Baguette Bridal Chandelier Earrings to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size with sweetheart neckline great for accentuating smaller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - smocking in back adds stretch to bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7" and taller).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy silk. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Silver sequin embroidery. Fitted waist. Pleated skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
751 reviews
Fit
Large
(421)
True to Size
(267)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
April 6, 2014
Sooo many compliments, so comfortable!
This dress fits a little large, but I have a very small bust. I'm 5'10" and ordered the long. It just hit the floor in flats, which was perfect for all the running around I had to do at my work's Silver Jubilee gala. Would not have been long enough with heels though. Got TONS of compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 6, 2014
This dress is stunning and I received compliments throughout the night. Truly one of a kind!
I am usually a size 10 and because the dress runs large, around the bust area, I ordered an 8L, but even that was a little too big. Be wary when it comes to ordering your size, but other than that this is a beautiful. I would order this dress again or from the same designer. It was so much fun to wear! This dress is stunning and I received compliments throughout the night. Truly one of a kind!
samacconApril 28, 2014
What inch heels would you recommend with this dress?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
The dress was flowy on the bottom and the top fit perfectly!
I tried on the 4P since I read that this ran long and it wasn't too bad even with my not so tall heels. I had tried on 6P in the stores that fit well so I went down a size. Then I tried on the 2R and the length was the same but it fit much more snuggly since I'm smaller up top and wanted it to stay put all night. And it did! As soon as I took my coat off, I noticed eyes on me and got compliments all night on the entire look. The necklance I got went so well with it! I was sad to take the dress off and didn't want to send it back:)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2014
Perfect for the night, got lots of compliments.
It is very flattering, fit perfect, worth the rent!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2014
Beautiful and unique dress - super comfortable!
PROS: perfect for a formal wedding - just enough sparkle, and really comfortable to dance in. CONS: it does run large - I normally wear a 4 in dresses. Also DON'T order the long if you are on the fence about it. I am 5'8" and the L size would have been a puddle on the floor even in 3 inch heels. Fortunately, I also ordered a regular length. The dress also made me feel a little "hippy" - I am pretty straight and narrow, so I think it's just the way it was cut. You'll also need some anti-static spray when you first take it out of the bag!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 9, 2014
Loved it! So elegant
Great fit, slightly long but heels made it work. Everyone loved the gown. Made for an incredible night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
April 12, 2014
Amazing!
So many compliments on this dress, I wore it to my school's benefit gala. Literally people came up to me weeks later and talked about how nice I looked. The dress was really comfortable. I was worried about it being strapless and falling down but it didn't move all night even after some dancing. I rented it with a Badgley Mischka necklace that paired with it perfectly. I have a bit of a tummy and it covered everything. Would definitely rent again! I felt like a princess in this dress :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131lbs
April 13, 2014
This dress was comfortable and gorgeous... but wear a bra
I felt amazing in this dress! The skirt's material was incredibly comfortable and, unlike other girls at my prom, I could actually breathe. After reading other reviews I ordered my size and a size down but I almost wish I had gotten two sizes down! The stretchy panel in the back made it easy to breathe and move, but I always felt like the top was about to fall down while I was dancing. I have a very small chest, so I didn't think I'd need to wear a bra, but in hindsight it probably would have helped keep the dress secure. I ended up holding the top of the dress up whenever I danced. The dress was also very long. I wore 3 inch heels and still had trouble walking up and down stairs without stepping on the dress. There is a surprisingly large amount of fabric in the skirt, which makes it very comfortable, but also susceptible to being stepped on. I received a TON of compliments for this dress and overall I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
April 13, 2014
Wore this dress to prom and I sparkled under the lights all night. :) Truly a beautiful dress!
Runs a pretty big I wear a 8-10 in dresses (depending on fabric). I ordered an 8 and it was still a little big on me especially up top! But overall an amazing dress and very comfortable as well!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 13, 2014
Couldn't have been easier to rent! Super comfortable dress made it easy to have a good time!
Loved this dress! It was comfortable and beautiful. Like others have said, it does run large. So I ordered a size down than I normally would and it was great. Only complaint was the very tops of the bust were a little large so I did have to pull it up frequently. Overall - couldn't be happier with my choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 13, 2014
Didn't wear
This dress looks great but I didn't end up wearing it. It ran big and had the most material I've ever seen in a skirt. I'm glad it was just a backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
April 14, 2014
The dress, the company, the feeling.
This dress is GORGEOUS!!! The picture on the model does NOT do it justice. I got so many compliments asking where it was from and that I looked amazing! The dress basically feels like a lightweight nightgown. So comfortable and the beading is truly stunning and very sparkly in person. It was a little long for me. In the future I will probably go with a petite size in long dressed. I got a 4 but really could have used a 2. They just didn't have the size I needed at the time. The back it like a ruched stretch material that the top not super tight and fitted like many strapless dresses so I would probably size down on the second size rather than up.
NaomiApril 14, 2014
how tall of heels did you wear?
AmyApril 15, 2014
I would say the heels I wore were about 4-5 inches. So it took me to about 5'6 or 5'7.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2014
Gorgeous, Comfortable & Bump Friendly!
I'm 33 weeks pregnant in the picture and this dress is completely "bump friendly!" The fabric is so comfortable and it held up around the bust area without falling down once! I got many, many complements on how gorgeous the dress was. I can't wait to rent another one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2014
Comfortable dress. I enjoyed my night.
Fit was perfect. Comfortable dress. Im 5'1 and I was concerned it could be too long but with the directions I read online I was able to pick the perfect fit for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 14, 2014
So lightweight and flowy! GORGEOUS!
This has to be my favorite dress that I have EVER rented from RTR!!! I don't care if you have to wear it to the grocery store, you HAVE to rent it! The detail in the dress is incredible! It's got this amazing flirty quality to it! I always get compliments on the dresses I rent from RTR, but this has to be my personal favorite and it photographs beautifully!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
April 15, 2014
so many compliments!
Ladies- this dress does run a little large- I am normally more on the 8 sz and got a 6- I think I could of even worn a 4. since the back stretches it gives plenty of give. loved the dress moved while walking as well...received many compliments! would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
This dress was absolutely perfect!
I wore it for my sorority formal and have never gotten so many compliments before, I didn't want to take it off! I'm definitely on the shorter side so it was a bit long, but with heels I hardly noticed. You will love this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 17, 2014
It was frustrating waiting for this dress to arrive but once it got here it was amazing.
Overall fit exactly like you would expect. the back is stretchy fabric so I would suggest going for the smaller size. Definitely order 1 day before you need it so you won't stress about delivery.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
April 20, 2014
Amazing dress
Beautiful dress. Received compliments all night. RTR experience was awesome.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2014
Love this dress!!!
The cons of this dress is the back is stretchy material and the dress i received was a bit stretched out so I had to pull it up all night! There was also a hole and some wear and tear to the dress from the multiple uses, but it was that noticeable. It's a beautiful dress and I got compliments all night! I got the 8 long because of my height and it was perfect length with flats or heels, just a little big in the bust area.
RTR CustomerMay 2, 2014
Considering you're the only review closest to my height-I'm six foot two and 17 yr old-how big was the 8? Normally I'm a 4 in dresses...I'm not too sure what to do: never got a dress online before
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 22, 2014
Looks exactly same as picture.
It fits perfectly but too long You need to wear super high heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
April 22, 2014
Long, flowy and beautiful dress!
I wore this dress as my bridesmaid dress for my best friends wedding. This dress is absolutely gorgeous. It was so fun to wear and I received so many compliments. I normally wear a size 12 so I ordered a 10L and 12L but ended up wearing the 10L, the dress sizes do run a little large. The bust of the dress isn't structured well and felt a bit uncomfortable, so a bra is a must if you are full-busted and maybe some fashion tape to keep it in place. This dress made my bust look HUGE, maybe it was the design that drew attention to that area. I ordered the "LONG" sizes based on previous reviews posted. I wore 4" heels and the dress barely touched the floor, so the "LONG" is a good choice if you're going to wear high-heels all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2014
Show stopping and elegant at the same time. So many compliments even 4 months pregnant with a bump.
Bodice is stretchy to accommodate a pregnant bump. Probably was about 145lb at the time. Super comfortable all night. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2014
Stunning gown!
Very low cut, lower than I was expecting, but flattering. Runs a bit long.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2014
Stunning and flowy, a dream.
I had rented another dress for my high school band formal but the event was canceled due to bad weather. Rent the Runway were so AMAZING, got me a dress for the next week at no cost to me! i could not be more pleased. Not only that but the dress was so gorgeous. I received so many compliments. I danced the night away in my flowy-ness. It is a little long so be warned. Also it runs a little big because of the back. Other than that it was everything i wanted. I am very pleased and i am about to order another one for my prom.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2014
Looked amazing on
You need to wear a strapless bra and use doublesided tape to stick the dress to the bra to make it look fitted and clean. Dress flows and moves beautifully. Can't the by pictures but it moves really beautifully. Super comfortable. Sparkles look nice at a formal event with dark lighting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
April 27, 2014
Beautiful AND comfortable!
Definitely runs large, so order your regular size and a size smaller. And since the dress is so flowy, you should order to fit your upper body. I ended up wearing a size smaller than normal, and it fit perfectly! It was a tad long, and I did have to pull it up a couple of times throughout the evening, but I got SO many compliments. It also looked great with cowboy boots, if you're into that. #texas
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 39
April 27, 2014
Lots of compliments...shows off the ladies.
This is a beautiful and comfortable dress that i highly recommend. It was actually my alternative dress and I am happy that I ordered it. Length was just right with 4in shoes and I am close to 5'9". I am chesty and the bodice is large. I used tape to help keep it up. Zipper is tricky at the transition from skirt to bodice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect Night, Perfect Dress
This dress was perfect but ORDER DOWN AT LEAST 1 SIZE. The dress is super lightweight and flowy. The only bad part is the wait for the dress to actually arrive. My date to prom had to get his tux a couple weeks in advance so the colors were a little off. We got tons of compliments and the dress spoke for itself!
BelleApril 30, 2014
i ordered this dress for my prom too! what height were your shoes, im also 5'3 and want to make sure the dress doesnt drag.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
April 27, 2014
So many compliments!
The dress was really pretty for my formal. The top was really stretchy so I used tape to hold it up. Up close you notice the wear and tear on top but you can't from normal view and pictures which is all that really matters :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
April 28, 2014
Stunning! It looked beautiful both in person and in pictures. Endless compliments the entire night!
The fit was great. Rebecca Taylor normally runs on the larger side so I purposefully ordered down a size. The top area was just a tad too big, but that's if I'm being very picky. The dress was very figure flattering. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 28, 2014
Felt like a Hollywood star!
The top was very stretched out with no support but nothing that a good strapless bra and fashion tape couldn't fix! The dress was just a little too long and had to pick it up when walking up stairs. Overall it was beautiful and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for a Winter wedding!
This was a really fun dress to wear to my friends wedding in January. The 8R was the right length for 1 - 3" heels on my 5'5" frame, though I wore flats underneath. I would highly recommend this dress, but if you are small chested, i would rent a size down. The back is stretchy, and the 8R was loose on me up top. It's a good thing I had a bulky strapless bra to help fill up the space, otherwise it wouldn't have stayed up!
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
April 28, 2014
Too loose but beautiful dress
I rented this dress as my backup in case the other one didn't fit well. When I tried it on, it was far too lose (4R) and didnt fit very snugly. I'm pretty busty (34C/D) and this dress made them look saggy and bulky. I would definitely reccomend this dress for a smaller-chest. But the dress itself was beautiful. Gorgeous color and the sparkles were breathtaking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 29, 2014
Maid of honor dress that really stood out
The dress was beautiful! The only problem was that it runs pretty big. I usually wear a 10/12 and I really needed an 8. I wore a 6 that one of the other bridesmaids had rented as her second size and wasn't wearing. Fashion tape and pinning are a must for a bigger busted girl! There are no cups in the dress for any shaping, so I had to tape up the top so it didn't flap open. Otherwise, the dress is beautifully made and photographs wonderfully.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 30, 2014
Beautiful dress, just be careful picking a size
I was desperate because of course I decided to rent at the last minute.... I ended up getting two sizes bigger than what I wore thinking it would be easy to pin. With my luck, I failed to read all the other reviews seeing that the dress runs big to begin with. I had to use like a million safety pins & an extra hour trying to make this dress fit. After all of the struggle the dress was perfect. The sparkle is just enough! I would definitely size down for this dress. It's actually not as dark as it looks in the pictures either. It's more of a rich blue. It's gorgeous!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 3, 2014
Sooo many compliments!
I wore this to my sorority's formal, and I absolutely loved it. I ordered the 2R and the 4R, but ended up wearing the 2. It fit really nicely, and wasn't too tight, so I was comfortable dancing all night. The movement of the dress makes it really fun - the skirt is super full! It was a little long. I planned on wearing flat sandals and ended up needing to wear 4 1/2-inch heels for the dress to be close to the right length, and all night I was worried (especially on stairs) about tripping and ripping the dress. But all in all, I was so glad I ordered this dress! One of my sisters even wore the exact same one, but we both got complimented all night and it suited each of us despite our different body types. Definitely would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 3, 2014
Shimmer & Flow- this dress is not flashy but stands apart.
The fabric is beautiful and absolutely hangs like a dream. The top stays put and has enough elastic not to pinch. It's plenty long- maybe even a little too long. Heels are a must.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 4, 2014
GORGEOUS dress!!!
This was the perfect prom dress!! I got so many compliments, and I felt like a legit princess all night. Nobody could have guessed this dress was rented, it looked and felt brand new! The dress does run large, so definitely get a size down, and the bust area is a bit loose. I feel so amazing that I only $70 on my dress when some people spent $500 on theirs, especially since you only wear your prom dress once! I am for sure renting from here again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2014
Sparkly and elegant.
It runs extremely small. I'm normally a 6 or an 8 and the 2 fit, albeit snugly. It's a simple, pretty dress. It doesn't steal the show but you look elegant and put together.
See more reviews:
8 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×