Rachel Roy

Piece It Together Dress

$66 to buy
$448 retail
Stylist Notes

Feeling a little artsy? Get this cute collage dress by Rachel Roy for your next cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length -(on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed cotton (79% cotton, 21% silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Square back. Exposed back zipped. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
230 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(165)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2015
Cute and colorful dress
Good fit. Have to wear with a strapless bra....
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
February 26, 2015
I wore this dress for engagement picture and it was BEAUTIFUL!
The dress was absolutely beautiful, perfect colors for outdoor engagement pictures. It does run pretty tight in the chest area and I am pretty tall so it was a little short for my standards.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2015
Loved the colors and look of the dress
Absolutely loved this dress!! I typically wear between a 2 and 4... And the 4 fit perfectly. I rented this for a trip to Mexico and it was very comfortable and I received so many compliments. Will be renting it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2015
Loved the fabric and colors, did not like the fit.
This smooshed my chest in a very weird, lopsided way. The condition of the dress was not so great either. The lining fell well below the hem in the front on the size 8. The original size 4 I got (which didn't fit at all) seemed to be in much better shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 5, 2015
Fun, colorful & perfect for a night on the town!
I wore this for my best friends birthday. It fit great for a larger bust and it's not too short. I was nervous because I don't like overly short skirts, but this fell a few inches above my knees. I will definitely rent this dress again. I danced all night and never felt restricted! I cannot wait to rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2015
Too short!
This dress was too short for me, had to use it with leggings in order to be able to walk and move!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2015
Super comfortable material
Dress was shorter than I'm use to but received many compliments. Loved the colors and pattern.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
May 24, 2015
Very colorful. I wore for an evening wedding in a farm setting.
A good dress for a "pear" shape as the top is on the smaller side but worked well for me! Lots of loose threads.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2015
Obsessed with this dress and it was the perfect dress to wear for my birthday brunch!
This dress fit perfectly and is incredibly flattering! It is the perfect length too. The print is really unique and I got so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2015
I loved the print of the dress. It was a little snug but I really ended up liking the dress!
I'm typically between a 6 and 8, mostly due to my large bust size (34dd). I thought it looked great in pics but I probably would have passed on buying it for myself. The print looked great and I got lots of compliments! One complaint was that the lining on the front of the dress kept poking out, which didn't happen with the size 6. Overall, I had a really positive first RTR experience and had a great time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 10, 2015
Beautiful pattern!
I got so many compliments in this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding outside. The only downside I found was what many other reviewers noticed: there are lots of loose threads on the dress which can be bothersome. Otherwise great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 30, 2015
Vibrant, Fun and Flirty
The dress is fabulous! I had fun with the colors. I was nervous because of the reviews I read, saying the dress is too short or the back is too low. IT'S NOT! The dress was the perfect length for a summer wedding, and the back wasn't low at all. I'm a tall girl, and this worked perfectly. I got tons of compliments. Another successful RTR rental!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
September 20, 2015
Such great colors that pop!
I think this dress fit true to size. I received lots of compliments about the color and style. The fabric was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding and was great to dance the night away in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
March 9, 2016
Too small and too young for me
I rented the 10 through my Unlimited membership and found it to be too small - I couldn't get it zipped past my rib cage. Even if it had fit, I probably wouldn't have worn it though. The fabric is very lightweight than I expected; more appropriate for summer. The length was a bit too short for me as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2016
Very cute!
The dress was cute and perfect for a brunch/breakfast date. However the bust was tight. I'm only a 36b and it was tight!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
March 28, 2016
The perfect spring dress
The dress looked a little worn out and the back zipper kept opening throughout the night but overall it was a beautiful dress and I received a lot of compliment
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2016
Pretty dress.
This dress was comfortable and flattering. I have a little tummy pouch and it hid it well. My only problem with this dress is I have a large colorful back tattoo and with the backless part and all the colors in the dress it made it too busy. Also you need to wear a strapless with it. Pretty dress though would be great for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 31, 2015
Loved this. Got so many compliments!
Fit great. Loved it. Wish I could own it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2016
Too small and couldn't wear it.
This was really pretty and I really wanted to wear it but the size 4 was way too tight
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
August 3, 2016
So many compliments
Perfect fit. I'm typically a 4 and this dress was no different. It was a great length for my somewhat petite frame as well. I received so many compliments on the style and color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2016
Fun print.
Great party dress. Perfect mid thigh length. Unique print. Would rent again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 14, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this dress. I wore it to a garden party and received a million compliments.
I normally wear an 8, but I ordered a 6 as a back-up and it fit perfectly. Like lots of other reviews, I wish I owned it. It was the right length, hitting between midthigh and knee length on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
Fun summer dress!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner for my friend's wedding and it was great. The only catch is that it is a little short, so I went up a size so it would be a little longer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2013
The unique pattern of the dress attracted much attention and many compliments at the wedding!
This dress was awesome!! I wore it to a wedding on Lake Michigan and got many many compliments! Many people said they loved it, that it was unique, and fit my shape well. I have a pear shape and tend to be smaller up top, so it worked well in making me look smaller on the bottom. Someone even asked where my waist was going! I usually wear a size 6 dress, so I thought it ran a little large given I wore the 4. Highly recommend!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 3, 2013
Great dress! I got many compliments from strangers and friends.
Rented this dress for my vacation to Seattle. I usually wear a 4 but I tried on the 2 and it fit perfect. The 4 would have worked but the waist was looser on me. If you have a large bust going a dress size up would be wise. The dress itself is a great pattern and very soft material. There is a slip underneath which was good because I went on the ferry and it was very windy. I wore dark blue flats that matched the cardigan and turquoise earrings from my mom. I would definitely rent this dress again but I hope that Rent The Runway either retires their older dresses or mends them. (See note below) Cons: This dress must be worn a lot because there was a rip inside under the armpit, fraying throughout the dress, and the clasp that holds the bra strap on one side was missing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 29, 2013
Great print!
Really flattering fit, runs just a little large. Wore this to a rehearsal dinner .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 30, 2014
Fit in the top but large throughout waist and hips / skirt. Somewhat frayed (definitely well-loved.)
Because i'm 5'4" and petite, it was a bit big on me, both length and width. Either true to size or a little big for a 0. Definitely roomier in the waist and hips, so it would be very flattering on a pear-shaped body type. The dress itself had some loose threads and was a little worn-looking, but looks great in pictures. Styled with a light turquoise necklace from RTR and l loved the look together. Wish it fit better and was in better shape, but I still got a lot of compliments, so overall, I'm happy with the rental.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 30, 2015
such a fun dress for an outdoor wedding!
this dress was a little difficult for someone with a larger chest. the 6 fit perfectly everywhere but up top and the 8 was perfect up top but too big everywhere else. i ultimately went with the 6 (even though i was a little bit squished). it all worked out though and overall i loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2013
Great dress, great night, great wedding!
I absolutely loved this dress and got lots of compliments on it. It was perfect for a summer wedding. I struggle with whether to give this dress a 4 or 5 star review, though. When I first opened it, I noticed a few snags on the tiny threads running throughout the dress. You can't tell unless you look really close, & once I wore it I could see why. The little threads catch on EVERYTHING. Unless you are a detail nut like me, I doubt you would notice or care. I still loved wearing the dress and would wear it again for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2013
I got tons of compliments on this fun dress. I wore it to a museum event
It is a little bit big on top, but otherwise the proportions are great and it's fun and vibrant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 22, 2013
Cute but a tad short for my work event.
Unfortunately the size 8 zipper was broken - but the size 6 was too short for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 17, 2013
Great Dress for Wedding!
Dress was very true to size. I'm 5'7 and the dress was a tad too short for me, but it worked out great! Also ran small on me, so get the additional size just in case:) I Got so many compliments on it. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 1, 2013
fantastic dress
I have a full bust so the size 10 was a bit tight, the 12 fit better, not tight at all, but some people prefer a really tight fit, very classic, structured look, not too short but the hem hit above the knee. I wore it with zebra kitten heels and a chunky green necklace.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
June 7, 2013
Loved this dress! It's fun and perfect for a Spring/Summer wedding
It ran a bit small in the top/chest area so I went with the bigger size. I ordered the 8 and 10 and while the 8 fit, the 10 was just a little more comfortable. I usually wear between a 6 and an 8. I'm 5'3 about 137 llbs. There's not a whole lot of give to this dress so the bigger size was the better fit for me. Overall I loved this dress it was perfect for what I rented it for and I got a ton of compliments. It's fun and flirty and it complimented my shape. Definitely would recommend this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 7, 2013
Fun summer wedding dress
I thought this dress was great! It was definitely fun, colorful and was a more comfortable material than I was expecting. I was worried about the length on a 5' 8" woman with heels but it didn't feel too short!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 7, 2013
Never actually wore it.
I got this dress as a back-up for another dress. I got it in a 6 and an 8 (after reading the reviews that it runs large). I felt quite the opposite -- I fit in a size 8 but it was snug, particularly in the bust area. Also, the design of the print looked as if there was a stain right above my crotch that was like greenish-brown. It looked like someone threw up all over the dress. Just something to be aware of. Cute dress for someone with a smaller bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 3, 2013
Great dress, but didn't fit!
I rented it for a business conference and when I received it, the fabric and dress was way more classy than expected. I am 20 weeks pregnant and at 16 weeks, I was able to fit in a size 6 (pre-pregnancy dress size). So I felt confident that if the 6 didn't fit, the 8 would. I was wrong. My bust size had grown from a 36D to a 38F. The dress fit over my baby bump and left enough room so it didn't look like I was popping out of it. The waist was perfect and gave me shape. However, it wouldn't zip in the bust area. I was totally excited to wear this dress but I'll wait until post-pregnancy to rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 2, 2013
Fun dress for a fun night!
This dress was great for the wedding we had in late October. I wore a JCrew navy blue cardigan over it. I am 5' 6" and the skirt was a little shorter than I would have liked (no bending over!). I attribute that to my extra junk in the trunk though. It was also a little too tight on my chest, but the cardigan helped cover that up. Overall though, it was a fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2014
Beautiful, unique dress
I loved this dress so much. The only problem was that this particular one probably needs to be retired. It looked well-loved and the threads were a bit frayed all over. Other than that, it was awesome. I got a ton of complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 9, 2014
Bright and fun...definitely made me stand out!
I wore this to a cocktail attire wedding in Big Sur, and I thought it was just a little too informal for the event. Fit was fine (I can run anywhere from a 6 to a 12 in dresses, but chose to order the 8 and 10 and the 10 fit fine), but it was 2-3 inches shorter than what I feel comfortable in. I was definitely self-conscious dancing, but times we were sitting it was fine! In summary, fine for a wedding that you think is at the casual end of "cocktail attire," but probably not for one that approaches the formal end.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×