Rachel Roy

Piece It Together Dress

$55 rental
$448 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feeling a little artsy? Get this cute collage dress by Rachel Roy for your next cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length -(on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length -(on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed cotton (79% cotton, 21% silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Square back. Exposed back zipped. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

166 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 130
Large 9
Photos 110
mkcena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 14, 2013

Absolutely LOVE this dress. I wore it to a garden party and received a million compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I normally wear an 8, but I ordered a 6 as a back-up and it fit perfectly. Like lots of other reviews, I wish I owned it. It was the right length, hitting between midthigh and knee length on me.
Kristina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 17, 2013

Great Dress for Wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was very true to size. I'm 5'7 and the dress was a tad too short for me, but it worked out great! Also ran small on me, so get the additional size just in case:) I Got so many compliments on it. Would definitely rent again!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 17, 2013

Perfect Fit, great colors, a little worn unfortunately

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, it fit absolutely perfect and was very flattering on. I wore the dress to a Kentucky Derby party and it fit the theme very well. Unfortunately, the dress appeared worn when it arrived, there were many areas where the threading was coming lose. It didn't have that recently purchased quality that I am used to with other RTR dresses. I would wear this dress again to another party, but I would be nervous about the condition!
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2013

Bright, colorful pattern made all the difference!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! it was so comfortable I could live in it. The colors are bright and vibrant and are sure to set you apart from the crowd. I wore this to a wedding and got a ton of compliments - someone told me I looked like I was straight out of "Mad Men" :) There are fasteners to hold your bra straps in place so you don't have to wear a strapless bra. The neckline is a bit tight so be sure to get your true size and not a size below.
taifgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2013

I got so many compliments on the dress. I chose to wear yellow heels! Super fun/

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits perfectly.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 23, 2013

Great dress, great night, great wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress and got lots of compliments on it. It was perfect for a summer wedding. I struggle with whether to give this dress a 4 or 5 star review, though. When I first opened it, I noticed a few snags on the tiny threads running throughout the dress. You can't tell unless you look really close, & once I wore it I could see why. The little threads catch on EVERYTHING. Unless you are a detail nut like me, I doubt you would notice or care. I still loved wearing the dress and would wear it again for sure.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
May 24, 2013

This dress brought color and cheeriness to a gloomy day

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm tall and this dress was the perfect, adorable mini-length for me so there was a flounce in every step. The print is striking and it's a super easy dress to wear. Perfect for day to night! No stretch in the material but still fit my larger chest
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
May 25, 2013

Beautiful, light weight and comfortable

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a Friday evening wedding. Didn't end up actually wearing it because the back up dress was more appropriate, but it was a hard decision! This I dress fit very nicely. I have big hips and I liked all the room I had and absolutely no clingy-ness. It was fitted at the high natural waist. I wore a size 12. At 5'6" and about 165 lbs, it fit well and was a perfect length. Beautiful bright fabric.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 28, 2013

A truly unique dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my college apt. mate's wedding, and it was such a stunner! No one else had anything like it, and it was very comfortable and stylish. Great material, didn't wrinkle on the hour drive to the church and reception. Definitely wear a strapless bra with this one -- it comes with those small strap-hiders in the shoulders, but they were a little finicky for me. Note: The capped sleeves showed a little of that crease by the armpits I hate to show so much, so I threw on a cardigan for the church and part of the dinner -- ditched it for dancing.
Dixie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Loved it! Very cool and fun party dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size 8 and 10 seemed pretty close to each other, so I opted for the slightly larger one, but both could have worked. You can wear a regular bra with this, as long as the straps are placed wide on your shoulders.
Diane
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Gorgeous dress, perfect fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Many compliments, comfortable dress, fit perfectly, wear a strapless bra because of open back. I wore this to my son's high school graduation.
L
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 6, 2013

Cute & comfy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric was much softer, more comfortable than I expected. The fit was great! Fit well through the bust and gave extra room at the hip. My only complaint is that the dress seemed a little worn, probably due to the nature of the fabric... I had to trim a couple threads that were loose.
Shelby
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Jun 9, 2013

Everyone commented on how beautiful the dress was. I could not have been happier! Cheers

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits very true to size I also had rented a size 6 because I have been losing weight but it 8 was more comfortable.
Quinn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

Adorable dress, comfortable, great print

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was true to size, length was perfect, loved the back. I could wear a regular bra with it which was great. I chose it for a law school graduation and it was just the right dress!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

Every dress is different

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Since the fabric is so wildly patterned, every dress turns out slightly different. Mine had a little too much tomato color on the front for my taste. Otherwise, I thought the fit was very flattering.
Carley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Jun 15, 2013

wore it on the Today Show— people loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
great shape— A Line is flattering. and it has a cutout back but bra straps help you out.
KT
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Loved this dress for Day Party - Graduation Party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size. Fabric does snag with bracelets so be careful. But fabric and cut is gorgeous. I am 5-10, athletic build. I liked everything about it! Definitely a win!
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

Very comfortable and Great colors,

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this to attend a Braodway show and it was perfect. Vibrant colors and any shoes will work with it. Made me feel great, fun dress!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Perfect for an outdoor summer wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I enjoyed this dress, it was comfortable and fit true to size as many other RTR reviewers have noted. It was shorter than I expected, so if you are tall, just be careful :) It was fairly easy to wear a thin strapped bra. I paired it with strappy yellow sandals and retro blue sunglasses.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

Fun summer wedding dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was great! It was definitely fun, colorful and was a more comfortable material than I was expecting. I was worried about the length on a 5' 8" woman with heels but it didn't feel too short!
Keeley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

The unique pattern of the dress attracted much attention and many compliments at the wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was awesome!! I wore it to a wedding on Lake Michigan and got many many compliments! Many people said they loved it, that it was unique, and fit my shape well. I have a pear shape and tend to be smaller up top, so it worked well in making me look smaller on the bottom. Someone even asked where my waist was going! I usually wear a size 6 dress, so I thought it ran a little large given I wore the 4. Highly recommend!!
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Jul 21, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit really well, loved this dress!!
Lexi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress! Not only did it look good but it was comfortable as well!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is totally true to size and was the perfect style for my shape! I absolutely loved it.
stefanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

A dress you cannot pass!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love this dress! All day I received compliments from random people on the street and others from the wedding. This dress truly complemented my shape, which is rare. It hugged me in the right places and showed off my natural curves. I rented a 6/8 because I wanted to have room to eat and not feel bloated. The 6 was a perfect fit after all and did not squeeze me after munching on goodies all day. I completely recommend this dress for any occasion, it’s light and wonderful.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Aug 8, 2013

This was a gorgeous dress - the colors stood out, and it was very comfortable for dancing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I adored the colors on this dress, making it a very versatile piece. However, I'm only giving it three stars because -- as other reviewers have noted -- there are a number of snags all over the dress, leaving little threads dangling around the midsection and bottom. These threads were noticeable to me, but perhaps not others. Also, having read others' reviews, I was looking forward to having a dress with straps to tuck in a regular bra (the back is just open enough that bra straps show). In both sizes ordered, one of the straps was broken -- leaving me in a last-minute search for a strapless bra, which I thought looked a little funny with this particular dress. These are minor gripes, though, because I really enjoyed wearing the dress and was a little sad to send it away!
Shiva
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

So many compliments! Great colors and pattern. In LOVE with this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size and very comfortable to move in.
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Awesome dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented for my best friend's bridal shower, dress runs true to size, extremely comfortable. Got tons of compliments on the print. Wore it in March in New England so I threw on a cropped cardigan, and added skinny belt for an extra accessory (waist is cinched well, doesn't require a belt for shape) Would recommend to a friend!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 22, 2013

I wore this dress to my engagement party and received many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented both the 4 and 6 for my engagement party. The dresses arrived in good condition (although there were a couple of loose threads) and were true to size. It was a little shorter than expected but still appropriate for the occasion. This dress does NOT have a lot of room in the bust. It was too tight in both sizes (I'm a D cup) but the waist fit in the 4 - it was too big in the 6 - and the lining on the 6 was kind of poking out at the bottom which didn't look great so I decided to wear the 4. Although it was not perfect, I still received lots of compliments. I would recommend this dress for more petite women.
Brenda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 25, 2013

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everyone loved the dress, the fit and pattern were great for a fuller figure like mine. It really does fit true to size (I wear a 10,12).
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2013

Perfect for an outdoor summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I wanted something different than your typical LBD, and this was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding I attended. The fit was pretty true to size - the four fit perfectly! I wore a strapless bra with it, since my straps on a regular one stuck out in the back.
Iris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Great dress! I got many compliments from strangers and friends.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this dress for my vacation to Seattle. I usually wear a 4 but I tried on the 2 and it fit perfect. The 4 would have worked but the waist was looser on me. If you have a large bust going a dress size up would be wise. The dress itself is a great pattern and very soft material. There is a slip underneath which was good because I went on the ferry and it was very windy. I wore dark blue flats that matched the cardigan and turquoise earrings from my mom. I would definitely rent this dress again but I hope that Rent The Runway either retires their older dresses or mends them. (See note below) Cons: This dress must be worn a lot because there was a rip inside under the armpit, fraying throughout the dress, and the clasp that holds the bra strap on one side was missing.
Shantrell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only "con" that I would write about this dress is that it's a bit tight in the bust area but other than that I loved the dress and I received lots of compliments. My sister wore the Kate Spade Carol dress and she loved the material and the fit.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Flattering and modern

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Did wonders for me and hid my hourglass hips. Tons of compliments at the baby shower I went to and from my guy friends I met up with later that night. Perfect day to night dress. Changed my heels and voila, I was ready to go. A little shorter than I expected, but looked great.
Jeanette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

Gorgeous Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove, definitely a great dress used it for a summer wedding. Received tons of compliments.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Sep 18, 2013

Cute dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I know other reviewers said this dress fit true to size (I am a size 8 normally), and I couldn't even zip up the size 8! The 10 was still even a little snug around my ribs, so I opted for the 12, which was too big, but I made it work with some fashion tape strategically placed. It very well could just be my body type that caused me to go up two sizes from what I normally wear;! But, I still think this dress is adorable, and I got several compliments on it!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 1, 2013

Fantastic daytime brunch/party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is great for all pear shaped ladies. I can't imagine it working out too well with someone with a larger bust. I was afraid it was going to be too short, but it definitely wasn't a problem. Something I did notice as a problem was how the cut lays at your shoulders. I just felt like it made my arms look more masculine.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Great print!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Really flattering fit, runs just a little large. Wore this to a rehearsal dinner .
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Versatile Dress for Birthday Brunch, Broadway, and a City Dinner

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wanted a dress that I could wear for the whole day, from brunch to a Broadway show to a nice dinner with my husband. This was the winner. I had tried this on in the showroom previously and really liked the way it fit and knew I would have to rent it someday. The colors are so fabulous on this dress. I wore it with black tights and a black sweater but you could get funky and wear colored tights if you wanted! The fit of the dress is very flattering, though there is NO stretch. I could have worn the 4 but went with the 6 because I thought it would be more comfortable for all day wear. The length hit me at mid-thigh. I found the shoulders to be a little long for me, but I do have a shorter torso than average. I also was disappointed that the bra strap snaps were broken in both the 4 and 6, and they are very important if you don't want your bra straps showing out the back of this dress. I did also find the fabric to have tiny thread pulls like other renters have mentioned, but they didn't bother me and I don't think they were noticeable to anyone else. Overall I was very pleased with this dress.
CYT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Dec 10, 2013

I attended a day time luncheon. The dress fit perfectly and just brightened the room!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I attended a day time luncheon. The dress fit perfectly and just brightened the room with all the colors. I wore it with sling back grey python platform shoes which lengthened my legs. (There was also grey in the dress which made the shoes work perfectly.) Wear a strapless bra. Would rent this dress again for sure. In fact, I loved it so much I tried to find it online so I could buy the dress. :-) This is a great staple for a gal like me who attends a lot of events.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Unique and comfy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really unique and fit true to size. I wasn't sure I loved it at first, due to the neckline, and I felt it made me look a bit broad, but I got tons of compliments, nonetheless. It was one of the most comfortable dresses I've rented from RTR, and for an outdoor summer wedding, was nice. The colors are very vibrant and it goes great with a bold or nude pump. Overall I was happy with this dress, not sure I'd wear it again though.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×