You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Kaleidoscope Cut Out Dress
Rental $40 Retail $1390
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
With a lustrous texture and chic cutouts, this sensational Proenza Schouler dress is definitely a style that makes you take notice. Paired with Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings for a seriously unstoppable look.
Chat with a Stylist
Multicolor metallic tweed. Crew neckline. Cutout detail at shoulder. Ribbed inserts on side. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - ribbed inserts allow some stretch in bodice though fitted in bust so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow at hips so consider sizing up one or two sizes for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos13

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Mar 5, 2014
Elegant and sparkly!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Just like the other reviewers, I thought this dress ran small and has no give in the fabric and was tight in the hips and a little too loose in the waist. But it is a beautiful dress, wonderful metallic tweed fabric.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Feb 11, 2014
The dress was beautiful, and I received tons compliments through the night
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Its a beautiful woven fabric, but does not give and runs a little small. It sat very tight at the hip, and sadly the next size up was not available. It was not the most comfortable dress I have worn, but it was worth it!
Roxanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Dec 30, 2013
Pretty and surprisingly comfortable
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as an option for New Year's Eve, but I ended up choosing to wear another dress. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the fabric of this dress, both the color and texture were better than I had predicted. It wasn't as dressy looking as I was hoping for though, and I had read reviews saying to size up, so I ordered the 10 when I am usually an 8, and I wish I had just ordered an 8 because the 10 gave my body no shape. In the picture I am holding the extra fabric in the back to make it look more flattering. This would be a nice dress for a work function, maybe I'll find an occasion to order it again, next time in size 8.
tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Nov 6, 2013
Not my favorite RTR dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 ran rib-crushingly small in the waist, and while the 8 was comfy in the waist, there was a ton of extra fabric in the belly area, which was unflattering. So, comfort, or flattering??? I went flattering, and took off the dress the moment dinner was over... The dress wasn't nearly as shimmery in the evening light, and the length was a bit matronly on my shorter 5'4" frame. I felt more like a politician's wife than a not date : ( I still love you though, RTR!
kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 24, 2013
Fun party dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my 10 Year High School Reunion - I obviously wanted to stand out from the crowd (LBDs everywhere) and look great. This dress was definitely fun (love the color and cutouts) but it fits a little weird. I usually wear a 4 or 6 in dresses, but I almost wish I had gotten an 8. The hips were super tight, but the top (including the black cinched in section) was pretty baggy. I don't have huge boobs, maybe if I did this would fit better. The dress kept shifting around my hips and the side seam would end up in front, so I was constantly adjusting all night. I'm glad I wore it but it's by no means my favorite rental.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4341
Apr 30, 2013
Perfect fit and really stands out!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits really true to size, no stretch in the fabric though so I'd recommend going one size up for a backup. Beautiful dress and fun to wear!
Ivana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Apr 23, 2013
Super fun sorority party, with a very fun dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received a size 0 and a size 4, unfortunately the zipper of the 4 was broken, so I had to go with the 0. It was SUPER tight, and the material does not have a lot of give. It was perfectly comfortable while standing and dancing, but very short while sitting. I would've definitely preferred a size 2, so make sure to get your real size! I wore it with nude strappy heels to play off of the blush color in the fabric, and a simple gold bracelet and a bag with gold hardware! I did get a ton of compliments on it, and I loved how much personality the dress had!
Danae
Top Contributor
Age: 30
Canonical User Type: 1511
Nov 22, 2012
Loved the colors!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for new years. The material was a little different than I expected, but overall it fit great and looked great as well.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jun 13, 2012
Beautiful!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a summer wedding. I received a lot of compliments. The fabric feel like linen and the shiny part is threading woven into the dress. The only problem I had was that it was narrow in the hips and it had no stretch. I loved the color!
Wande
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Sep 4, 2012
I was very pleased with this dress. It paired great with accessories and a blazer that I already owned.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing.. I suggest going a size up. I am 5'8", 130lbs, and I ordered the size 4, which I found to be too tight. Nonetheless, I looked great in it, and received major compliments. I paired it with a black blazer, and some structured black heels, to keep up with the futuristic edge look of the dress. Minimal jewelry. My first Proenza dress and I would DEFINITELY go back for another..
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Dec 19, 2011
Great Christmas pictures!!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
There is glittery threading woven in through out and it looks great in pictures! The only downside is it is not stretchy at all! Order a size up if you have larger hips.
Fat_Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Oct 10, 2010
Designer dresses available at affordable prices!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is fierce in person!! Beautiful variegated colors. I wore this to a wedding with black heels and minimal jerwerly, let the dress do the talking! Runs very tight thru the hip area!!! I always wear a size 0, good thing I order the free backup size...I wore the size 2 instead because it was more comfortable sitting. I would highly recommend this dress if you want to impress!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Mar 5, 2014
Great Dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as my second style for a November wedding. While I ended up wearing an Herve Leger dress to the event, this dress was so great! I wish I would have had two weddings to wear it to! The cut-outs are chic but nothing too flashy. The fabric is sort of reminiscent to a tweed so it's a tad heavier than some other fabrics but it's not too short and it fit great!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 2522
Dec 22, 2013
Pretty!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress for a wedding, and while I wasn't crazy about it, I got a ton of compliments. It grows on you. Beautiful colors, the material was a bit odd but thick so it held everything in real well. I would recommend ordering a size up if you're a size betweener.
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Oct 21, 2013
Beautiful Color Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my anniversary but I couldn't fit in :( I was so dissappointed because I really liked the color but I couldn't even close the zipper ... def runs small and the back up size was not available. :( I will advise to order one-two size up if possible especially those lucky lady out there that have been blessed with wide hips :)
Johanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7441
Jul 29, 2013
The fabric of this dress makes it more of a fall or winter dress in my opinion.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was very tight around the hips and thighs and had no stretch. I knew it likely wouldn't work but gave it a shot anyway. Even if the dress had fit, I probably wouldn't have worn it in the middle of June in 100 degree heat as the fabric seems much better suited for cooler weather!
JC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Jun 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, but not for me
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a unique and beautiful dress, but did not fit me right. It scrunched and clumped around the waist and was hard to get into. I didn't really like the fabric. There was some confusion in the delivery to the hotel so I ended up wearing one of my own dresses to the birthday party I was going to.
Mira
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2233
May 19, 2013
Perfect!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my prom. It was beautiful -- the fabric is stunning up close, and it translates really well in photos. The only problem I had with it was that the fabric is a bit thick. As previous reviewers have noted, the dress fits tight in the hips, but it was flattering. I would order a size larger than you normally get -- I'm a 0 and wore a 2, which fit perfectly except for the stomach. It was loose around my stomach, though, and occasionally bunched up in pictures. No problems with it riding up though. Very comfortable too. In general, I LOVED this dress. It was interesting without being out-there, and was exactly what I wanted. I was so, so happy with it, and would absolutely recommend it.
Leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4334
Apr 22, 2013
did not wear it! thank god I had another (better) RTR dress!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
fabric was almost tweed, which was very deceiving from the picture. it also ran very large, and hit my leg almost down to my knee--and I'm not a short girl! I got a size 4, but I should have gotten a 2 or even 0! The dress was not at all what I thought it would be, in a bad way.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Apr 8, 2013
Loved the shine!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress definitely runs small, so definitely get a size up as your extra. I loved how there was a metallic hint running through the tweed. It made for an amazing shine in the light!
Jenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Feb 28, 2013
Loved the material and the colors!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am a size 0/2 but the woman said to order a 2 because it runs a little small. However, I am a size D chest and there was noooo room for them whatsoever. There is not much give. However, needing to breathe was unnecessary because I looked fabulous.
Usha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3531
Feb 11, 2013
The dress is amazing but size up!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is very fitted in the legs and stomach with very little give. I am usually a 2 - ordered a 2 and a 4 and would have preferred a 6 instead.
francesca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3221
Nov 14, 2012
the night was full with fun with my girls and i was very pleased that i didn't have to worry.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it fit perfectly!i absolutely loved how it wasn't too short for my birthday dinner.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 9, 2012
I did not end up wearing this.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is really more tweed -- the picture shimmers more than it actually does. It also was really boxy and not a great fit.
shells
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 7, 2012
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a 2 or 4 and the 4 fit perfectly. I thought the material was great for an outdoor wedding since it was a bit heavier weight. The material is beautiful with the mix of colors and metallic sheen. It's a really sexy dress without being over the top. I loved it!
AR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Sep 17, 2012
This dress didn't work for me.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered my usual size and the size up based on the reviews that the dress is slim, both were much much too tight. I could barely get the larger size over my hips which is unusual as I am very petite. The stylists were helpful in getting me something else in time for my event, though.
Alex
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Sep 10, 2012
fun party dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the torso is a bit short in the dress, but was great overall. material not what i expected- thought it would be "smoother" but was more textured that the picture shows.
Kait
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Sep 9, 2012
Loved it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful. I'm 4'11" and it came to my knee. I got so many compliments on it!
LZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Sep 6, 2012
Very pretty, but a little smal
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fabric on this dress, but it was really tight. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and I should have ordered a 6 in this style.
Chavon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3332
Sep 3, 2012
Pretty But Small
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is beautiful but ran small around my thighs
uptown-downtown
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5532
May 25, 2012
Small on bottom, but hot!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is very fun and unique. The black stretchy side panels are more prominent than they appear in the photo. The dress is made of a wooly fabric and is fully lined, so its warm. And it runs very small through the hips- if you have a curvy rear, this dress might not work for you. I ordered a size up, and the dress was a little tight on the bottom (still ok) but the top was a little loose (I'm smaller-busted). As an alternative, I love the Lela Rose Galaxy Tweed dress which I also rented- a much more generous fit and very similar fabric, but a more conservative cut.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4443
May 24, 2012
Great dress, unforgiving
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous but definitely runs small and is not forgiving. Wouldn't recommend for a wedding if you want to move around and dance! Wish I could've worn it!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2333
Dec 14, 2011
Such an amazing dress!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for the Christmas party. It fit a little small in size 0 throughout the rear so I'm glad I ordered size 2 as well. I received lots of compliments. I felt so classy and sexy all night.
Gabrielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3441
Nov 17, 2011
Dress looks worn
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric of this dress looks a bit too worn to wear to any event. I would not recommend renting this dress.
T
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1331
Nov 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I rented it-couldn't even wear it-The material was too Bally for me to den wear-it looks too used.
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2332
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I am usually a 0 and for this dress a 2 fit me perfectly. I absolutely LOVED wearing it and felt like a supermodel.
jellybean
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2422
Jun 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was just okay! I wore it to a wedding and while the fabric is stunning in person I felt that the cut of the dress was just so-so.
JG
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Mar 17, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress was weird. I'm 105 lbs, 34C and it was tight on my hips and chest but too loose on my waist. The fabric was also fluffier than I expected.
RTK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5523
Feb 24, 2011
Overall fit: Small
The dress was a bit of a disappointment. I would recommend this dress to those who are petite because the proportions are off for a curvy person like myself. I'm a size 6 and I could barely fit into a size 8 for this particular dress. The dress was also a little loose in the bust even though the waist area fit snugly. The look wasn't flattering and the material was a bit cheap looking in person.
NT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 3, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I was SO disappointed with this dress. It looks much better in the picture. First, I think the fabric looked cheap. It's almost like a tweed & in the picture it almost looked like it's be stretchy & metallic-y. Not the case. It also looked very worn. Also the fit was ALL wrong. I usually wear a 4 & ordered a size up but it still did not work. The top fit fine, but the bottom was very loose (and I have a plump :) butt) so I was shocked. Also, I'm 5'5 and it hit just above the knee so it wasn't as short as I was expecting. All in all, I would not recommend this since there are so many other amazing dresses to choose from.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress