Rent the Runway

Preen

Red Sandstorm Dress

$95 to buy
$1520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Bring out your inner tiger by wearing this red hot Preen dress. It is sassy and ready for you to wear it and take charge! Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Best for smaller bust sizes - very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen, hips and backside
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up again
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-10.

BUST: Best for smaller bust sizes - very fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen, hips and backside
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips so curvier women should consider sizing up again
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch bondage jersey((64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with two straps. Twist detail at shoulder. All-over ruching. Exposed side zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 20
True to Size 31
Large 1
Photos 28
DB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 17, 2011

This is a beautiful, sexy dress. It made me feel like a million bucks.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It's one of my favorite rentals ever. I usually wear a size 4 and the medium fit perfectly. I tried on the large just to see how it fit and the bottom half of the dress actually fit fine, but the top was huge. This is not surprising, given my pear shape. The dress is stretchy with thick, forgiving fabric. It's comfortable enough to sit down and have a nice dinner in. I did have to shorten my stride when walking though as the dress is tight all around, but it was no big deal. I got so many compliments on this dress. It was a huge hit. I wish I could keep it!
dasha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

awesome customer service

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Absolutely loved the cut and the color of the dress. I wore it in Vegas, on a trip with my bf and could feel men starting at me all night. Forgiving, comfy and beautiful.
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

I had just given birth to a baby in February and I wore this dress in April, it sucked everything in and people couldn't tell I had a 2 month old upstairs in the hotel room with Grandma.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you are looking for a dress to turn heads, look no further! This dress was amazing, I got so much attention in it and it fit perfectly!
Lydia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Great selection of styles and designers made my dress decision an easy one.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely the sexiest dress I've worn in a long time. It was perfect for an early afternoon wedding, sexy yet formal and classic. The red is an deep orange red, the fabric is thick and the rouging is perfect. I totally recomment this dress to anyone with an hourglass figure, the curves really show. I wore a "M" although the top was a little on the loose kind of fit, I could have worn a "S". The dress was fitted, and the lenght perfect (just above the knew, very classic)... Loved it, can't say enough of this dress.
Kat
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

I got tons of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! The stretchiness made the dress work like an extra pair of spanx. It was very comfortable and I got a ton of compliments!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

I felt amazing in this dress and got compliments all night!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lining of the dress pulls eveything in so that your curves are super defined and the ruching on the front hides any flaws. I just had my 3rd baby 4 months ago and was a little nervous to wear a fitted dress but this dress was perfect. It was really comfortable and I felt like I could dance and move around freely. The color is a really nice shade of red, I got compliments all night!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Flattering dress, strange neckline

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was sent to me as a back up dress when I thought my original package may not arrive in time for an event. Overall I thought the dress was flattering. Made my waist look tiny, there is definitely a lot more ruching that it looks like there is on the model. However I found the strap really strange and not all that flattering. Definitely a pretty and incredibly well made dress, just not my favorite.
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

gorgeous!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this as my second choice, it was stunning on but I ended up wearing the Preen Plaza dress instead. I did need help zipping it but it WAS AMAZING ON. would rent it again for sure.
JF
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Pretty dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in S as a backup to the Preen Plaza dress. This is a beautiful dress. It has a lot of ruching on it (a bit more than the picture shows). I ended up wearing the Plaza dress for the occasion but would have happily worn this one as well.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

I did not like this~ crazy fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I tried - great color but wow - this dress is hard to wear- I ordered two sizes in it and it would not work - there is a lot of fabric all in the mid section - I guess preen is not a great designer for me and my body. :(
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

The color, the fit, it was great! Compliments from men and women alike!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress is a bit of an effort to get into, but once you are in, your body looks great! The somewhat asymmetrical lines are actually quite flattering - at least for an hourglass figure. The dress does, however, minimize the chest area.
Vic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Love the color.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I couldn't get it over my hips, it runs way small. Order up!
Murr
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Someone thought I was part of a wedding party haha

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I enjoyed wearing this dress and it was especially nice because I was able to eat alot on the date and not have to worry about sucking it in later lol =) the zipper was a little finicky, however, and kept unzipping itself--not sure why, since the dress wasn't too tight (it was actually a little roomy).
Yolanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 8, 2013

This dress was Perfect for the Valentines Party.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's was a very fitting dress that was snug enough to embrace your curves but Not tight enough to be uncomfortable.
Katy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

Knockout dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really did love this dress. It's fun and whimsical and I received many compliments on it. Be sure to order your size and the next size up, if available, because it runs small. I'm usually a solid M, which was all that was available at the time I rented it, and it fit, but barely. It was very tight and somewhat restictive.
Beth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Loved This Dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little stretchy material so the fabric was giving, but still very flattering. Very Comfortable. I Loved it. The color was a great Red.
Joanna B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 6, 2013

The perfect red dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is simply stunning. It's very flattering, curve-hugging and the asymmetrical halter makes it edgy. The dress does run small, I typically wear a size 4 or small in dresses. I went with the medium, it was very tight through the hips but the large was too large on top. It was tight, but not so restrictive that I couldn't dance.
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2013

Didn't wear it

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't end up fitting at all , was very small
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
May 15, 2013

Absolutely stunning!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress definitely runs small. I normally fit into a small but couldn't squeeze into it without compromising my ability to breathe! Thank The Lord for the safety net RTR gave me! The medium fit stunningly and emphasized my body in all the right places. I wore this dress to my company Christmas party and received so many compliments! I highly recommend this dress!
candy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 7, 2013

Made me feel like a bombshell!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit like a glove and kept everything where it should have been comfortably :) Only con was the zipper was VERY noticable.
jiepper
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

The best service

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was not my first choice. I tried on this red dress and it didn't quite fit right the first time. My husband didn't like it. I tried it on again two days later and it fitted fine. It's my favorite dress of all time. The material is so nice. The dress is flattering and hide all of your flaws. The dress is very unique and unlike any other dresses at the wedding reception. It was a perfect evening for me. I felt sexy and hot in it. I didn't want to return this dress at all.
Joss
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

asymmetry of sleeves did not work for me.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
pros- great color cons- weird sleeves
Gayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Perfect Fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is extremely stretchy. I loved it! It flattered my curves in all the right places and held in my tummy when I ate. I felt like I had built in spanx! It is very red. I received many complements. It is a very nice dress.
DeAynni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

i love this dress i got many complements!! very form fitting and sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm usually a small but this dress is very tight i wear a 2 and im about 113 but i felt very comfy in the medium
Meryl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

It looked fantastic and I really like the style of it! Looks just like the picture.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only pro to this dress would be some of the folding details in the midsection. They aren't tacked down so sometimes it was hard to tell if I had them going the right direction or if they shifted around while dancing.
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Good for someone with a long torso

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved the fabric and color of this dress but the proportions were off for me. The distance between the strap and the top of the bodice was longer on the dress than on my body, which made the strap stick out in a funny way. It was also very fairly loose on the top and too tight on the bottom. I have worn the one shoulder Preen dreses and they have worked better for me, but this dress would be great on someone who was taller than 5'8" and had a long torso and big bust. The fabric would definitely hide a tummy if that is something you are worried about.
KatieC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Great color and fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I was wary to rent only because I have rented other Preen dresses and they are SUPER tight! While this dress was very formfitting and a little tough to zip - I felt like it was a classy, figure-flattering tight as opposed to a hoochy-mama tight. The length was really good for a tight dress (I'm tall so I didn't want it too short) and my only complaint is that is was a little chest- flattening. You do get some cleavage out of out but it has a little bit of a smashing effect. Not enough to make me dislike the dress and I felt great in it for NYE.
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Sexy but uncomfortable

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The pros of this dress are that it's stretchy and holds everything in like you're wearing a dress made of spanx. It's also a beautiful red color, perfect length, and made of high-quality fabric. However, the neckline and straps didn't work well on me. They were way too big, and I had to tuck the straps into my bra in order wear the dress. Also, this was the most uncomfortable dress I've every worn. Granted, I should have read the reviews and ordered a large, but I have a pretty tiny waist, and I could hardly breathe or eat in this dress. I think it's because I'm so short, the dress didn't fit my proportions correctly even though the length was fine. The last complaint is that the zipper doesn't have a hook and eye enclosure at the top of the zipper, and it will start to unzip itself. My husband loved this dress, and the pic looks good, so 3 stars.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Weird sizing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I did not wear this dress- I ordered an S and would have ordered an M for backup but it was not available. I normally wear a size 4. I could barely zip up the dress and once I did it did not look good on me. It was too tight in the hips and too loose up top; and I am NOT pear shaped. Not sure who this would work on- maybe a busty girl with very slim hips?
Daniele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

I didn't have to worry about pulling the dress up or down. It stayed in place.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Very nice thick stretchy fabric, no need to wear spanx. I did wear a strapless bra, but if you were a bigger size you may go without. The hem hit right at my knee. Recommended classic stylish with an asymmetric collar. Nice touch.
Rose
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Flattering, beautiful dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a semi-gala event where I had to make a speech! I definitely have a stomach and was nervous to get a dress so form fitting. Although the dress fit a bit tight, the rouching made it look perfect. The red was a great color and the asymmetrical sleaves really made it unique. I got a LOT of compliments on it!
Rosalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Stunning Dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I looked very sexy, my husband couldn't stop telling me how great I look lol! I loved that it hides little imperfections even without spandex!
Hamna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Got lots of compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
fits great, really sucks you in. the ruching is very thick though, and might be a little bit much if you're very petite. the dress is a great true red and stands out in a crowd.
Carleen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

I loved this dress so much---I wanted to keep it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My first RTR experience and I couldn't have been more pleased. This dress is a show-stopper for sure! I ordered up (large), based upon the reviews but ended up wearing the medium (my normal size). It's definitely a vavava-voom dress that hugs all the curves in all the right places---the ruching was killer and adds a lot of drama. Love the vivid orange-toned red...great for olive or tanned skin. Decided to add a pop of color with the earrings (also RTR). My only criticism of this amazing dress is that the side zipper does slide down during wear (dress needs a hook/eye) and that if you plan to dance, be prepared for the dress to ride up a wee bit.
Agata
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Felt like a movie star

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress is gorgeous! I felt like s movie star all evening. Received many compliments. As others reviewed the dress runs small in the hips, I normally wear S(4) but opted for the M. The top was loose but not too bad, no issues with the zipper!
Betty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

Saved by this dress!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The day before I was to receive my selection I got an email letting me know that the dress I originally ordered had been damaged and could not be sent. The stylist at RTR automatically sent me another two dresses hoping that they would be something I liked. Although both dresses where beautiful they were not appropriate for the wedding I was attending, so on friday I spent a couple of hours going back and forth with the stylist and we decided on this dress. I truly appreciated their dedication and patience with someone who didn't have a plan B dress and was just a bit concerned. I received it the morning of the wedding. And it was absolutely amazing. The fit was true to size and it truly looked amazing. I would order it again in a heart beat! Thank you to everyone who made me getting this dress a huge success!
Suzanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Hot, hot, hot!!!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Other
This dress is hot and unique... Definitely a show stopper. It is snug so if you have boobs and/or hips, you may need to size up. I wore this for a photoshoot and the medium size was perfect for that, but I wouldn't have been able to wear it to an event because it was a bit snug and would be difficult to sit down in. (For reference, I am 5'9'' and normally wear a size 6-8 in dresses.) Also, there is kind of a weird piece that bunches over your stomach. It photographed well, but it was a bit awkward. Still an awesome dress!!!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Did not fit in all the right places

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was considering returning this dress vs. wearing it, but I loved the color and the party was the next day. I was disappointed with this dress. The material was awkward, bulky and ran way too small in the waist. I am normally a size 4 and I had to wear a size up (I chose a medium). While the Med was still really, really tight in the waist (and I have no hips, mind you), it fit better than the small in that area. The downside with selecting the medium, it was too BIG in the chest area. I was constantly adjusting my top all night. I felt like the dress wore me vs. me wearing the dress.
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

n/a

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: I love how the dress really sucked everything in! At first when I tried it on I thought it was too small but once you get it zipped (side zipper + tight = difficult) it felt nice being pulled in. Keep in mind the tight/snug fit throughout the dress was a Pro for me. It wasn't tight in a nasty way. Cons: The top fit a little loose compared to how snug fitting the rest of the dress is. Although the straps give it that "different" look, I felt it was a big strange. Overall, I got this dress for the spanx type fit as I wanted to be able to eat and feel comfortable and not feel like I looked fat or bloated after my meal. For that reason alone, I was happy with!
lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

This was so tiny it would not zip

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
You should not have many curves!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×