Preen

Perfect Plum Dress

$175 to buy
$1,400 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(80)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 19, 2013
too small.

too small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
January 22, 2013
Fabulous and classy dress!

I rented this dress for Vegas trip. It does run super small. I normally wear a size 2 and the M fit like a glove. The material is super stretchy and hugs every curve. I loved this dress and felt beautiful in it. Would definitely rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 20, 2013
Do not rent this dress!

This dress was absolutely dreadful. I am a true size 0 and often times a 00. The XS and S would not go past legs. It was also not as pretty in it's structure in person. The folds would not fold in the right direction, the one strap was too long, and the skirt was out of sorts. I was very disappointed and will never rent this designer again. PS - I only gave it one star because I had to. I did not have the option of selecting zero stars.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Gorgeous dress -- so incredibly flattering!

Runs VERY small! I had a very hard time zipping up the Small (Medium wasn't available). However the fabric is pretty stretchy so thank goodness it worked! I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 8, 2013
Pretty dress, but may be a little too sexy for a wedding

I ordered this dress as a back up and I thought the fit was just a little too sexy for the wedding I was going to (black tie optional at a country club). I have a bigger bust so it just seemed, short, tight, and low cut - not my style for a formal classy wedding. Overall, it was a pretty dress, but I also had some issues with the fabric in the front folding awkwardly. I probably wouldn't order this again for a wedding, but maybe for a more social affair (like nye) with friends.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2013
Great Fit! Shows off Curves!

I had ordered two sizes and had to wear the bigger size. I also had to wear it with spanx under because if not it wouldn't close and I am usually a size 4. Thick material and not too stretchy. But overall, I loved it!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
May 20, 2013
So glad we have the option for a back up dress! I really needed it with this dress.

The concept of this dress was supposed to be amazing but I didn't realize that the model wearing the dress is a lot taller than me. I'm 5'2" and the shoulder strap was too long. The length of the dress was past my knees and it really does run too small. I weigh 100lbs and had to really try to get the dress to zip up (and then the zipper kept on coming undone). If you are still set on getting this dress understand that you should get a size larger and two sizes larger as your back up. And if you are on the shorter side you will have to pin the shoulder strap to fit. And at the end of the day...why pay so much when you have to deal with so many issues? I suggest a different dress all together to avoid the frustration.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 20, 2013
Unfortunately didn't work out

I was disappointed with this rental but it wasn't anything to do with rent the runway- it just didn't seem to work for my body. I had a wedding I was looking forward to and had my eye on this dress for months. I usually get a back 2nd dress option just in case but I'm always so pleased with my RTR choices I didn't think it was necessary this time. As everyone says the dress runs small and is quite form fitting. I got an XS and S- I wish there was an in between size because that would have been ideal. The S just didn't look quite right and the XS looked better but wouldn't have been comfortable for the night. The strap was quite long for me but could have been pinned- it was just another thing I would have had to deal with. For some reason my chest looked really flat in it and if I wore a bra with it I would have had to do a lot of taping. In the end it just seemed like there were too many things that didn't fit right that I would have had to fuss over throughout the night so I decided to borrow a friend's dress instead. I love RTR and I'm sure if I had called and had more time before the wedding they would have shipped another dress out to me ASAP. I'll rent from them again I will just be smarter about choosing a back up dress if it's a designer that I'm not used to wearing. Beautiful dress overall though.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2013
Awesome dress! Beautiful color! Amazing customer service!

Very impressed with the rental: ) I would listen when reviewers say "runs small"!! I ordered a medium and a large as a backup. Unfortunately, the lg was damaged from a previous renter, so I crossed my fingers for the md. I was in luck! The dress was definitely snug but the stretch in the material and the ruching made for a flattering fit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 9, 2013
Didn't love it

Believe the reviews. The dress runs small. I normally wear an xs/s and couldn't get the s to zip so I wore the M. The strap is also super long which is pretty annoying. I had my eyes on the dress for a long time and while I liked it, I didn't love it.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2013
I didn't want to send it back! Stunning Dress! Amazing experience!

I have to start out by saying that RTR has the best customer service. The dress I originally rented was returned in poor condition so RTR sent me the size up. It arrived Thursday (my event was Saturday) and was too big. I sent them an email Thursday night and touched base on the phone Friday morning. They shipped me this dress (I wanted the Preen originally but it wasn't available) overnight and assured me it would arrive by noon on Saturday. It did and it was perfect! It fits exactly the way it has been reviewed. Very small. No matter what, you will likely need someone to help you zip it. The material is thick (bonus!) and very stretchy so you need the extra hands to hold it together, lined up while you zip. Once in, it was like a glove. An amazing, figure-perfecting glove! I still can't believe everything worked out. I was one happy girl! Thanks RTR!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 15, 2013
To say it runs small is an understatement....

I usually wear a size 00, size 24 jean etc. This dress runs SMALL!!! Neither the XS or S worked. The color is also a little blah, a little gray purple. I rented this during the summer so it just wasnt what I wanted. I would recommend if you're going to try this dress to go TWO sizes up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2013
Felt like a star!

Very tight fit which is great! :)

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
December 29, 2013
beautiful dress, but runs very small. wore backup

runs small. I were xs, but could not get xs zipped up in this dress.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
LOVED this dress. I felt confident and pretty - constant compliments throughout the night!

Pros: it was a gorgeous color (pretty true to the picture), tight (in the right way) - keeping everything "in place" without feeling like I was suffocating, the fabric bunched in all the right places (hiding potential problem areas after eating too much cake :-) ), I could wear a normal strapless bra, and both my girl and guy friends LOVED it! Cons: the zipper gets caught so you need to be careful, but other than that - zero complaints. I would absolutely rent this dress again (or buy it if I could!).

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
March 20, 2014
I have yet to wear a dress from here, but I'm still open minded to the possibilities

Did not fit at all... Very disappointing considering I'm a size 0

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 19, 2014
It was the perfect balance between black tie and semi-formal! SO many compliments.

It was much tighter than expected. The zipper did not have a hook to help keep it up and the one-shoulder sleeve was too big so I had to fashion tape it to hold it in place. Other than those things, it was a surprisingly great dress (my back-up plan ended up being my first choice).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 15, 2014
Very small

I usually wear an XS but couldn't even get this zipped up. It runs very small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
May 16, 2014
I did not wear the dress

I'm a tiny person, and the XS would not even zip up. It would have been a great dress, but order a size up. The straps were long.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
June 8, 2014
Received some compliments on the dress. Beautiful and wedding appropriate.

Wore this dress to a wedding. It looks and makes you feel beautiful. I thought from the reviews it was hard to zip because of the zipper itself, but it was hard to zip because the dress is so skin tight. I probably could've gone a size up. I also had to pin the shoulder strap because it was so long.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92lbs
June 30, 2014
I loved how PERFECTLY this dress fit!

I rented this dress for my boyfriend's exgirlfriend's wedding. I was nervous from the start because of my relationship to the bride; however, this dress made me feel fantastic and beautiful! Because everyone claimed it ran so small, I was worried it wouldn't fit since I only ordered the XS. But it fit perfectly! I had to tweak the strap because it is unnaturally long for a human being but other than that, it was the perfect dress/DID NOT WANT TO GIVE IT BACK! I picked it up from the store in NYC and everyone there was so helpful! They also altered the strap within 15 mins (for free) and answered all my questions. I'm so glad this worked out so well because it was my first time renting a dress at all! Thanks RTR <3!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
July 23, 2014
I got a lot of compliments with this dress

Ran small but it stretches! Only problem is there was not a hook on the dress so the zipper would come down a little bit

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
April 15, 2014
Felt beautiful

Very tight

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 9, 2014
Great dress but didn't fit me correctly, had to send both sizes back

Wish it would have worked!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 14, 2011
feeling like a princess :_)

I was told by a stylist that this dress runs small. I normally wear a 0 or xs, so I ordered a xs and a small as backup. I could not get the xs on, it was so tight. The Small was challenging to zip, but once it was on, it fit perfect! The dress was stretchy and very comfortable. Loved it!!! Thanks RTR!!!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 13, 2012
My favorite RTR rental so far

This dress is SO flattering. It cinches your waist and sits at a perfet length on your thigh. It hugs in all the right places. I received so many compliments!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Loved this dress on!

I ordered this dress thinking I would wear the small based on the other reviews saying it ran small but ended up wearing the medium. It is very stretchy fabric so it is kinda a struggle to get on but once it is on it stays in place and looks great! Highlights curves and hides problem area's very well! You definitly need to have fabric tape to hide bra-or just go without if you can!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
Beautiful, sexy dress. Wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner.

Fit runs small - I wore a medium when I usually always wear a small. I'm 34/28/37. VERY fitted but looks good on. Slimming. Got lots of complements. Paired it with a white cardi at night when it got colder. Wore it with nude wedges to dress it down a little.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 20, 2013
Sexy, flattering and wedding-appropriate!

The color and style are fabulous. The dress glows without looking flashy. While very fitted, the rutching is forgiving and the dress is thoughtfully tailored. It's awesome to dance in. Overall fab dress and perfect for a semi-formal party! A few fit/style notes: * best to pull a strapless bra down low on your back (unless you're lucky enough to rock a nubra or nothing at all!) * agree with everyone. Go a size up. I usually wear XS but S was great * it's definitely longer on me than the model. It reached just above my knees, though I'm 5'2 * I had to pin the one-shoulder strap in the back to shorten it * I DEF had to safety pin the top of the zipper, as it would have popped open and slid down without reinforcement * it bunched up a little big around my waist, as I'm a bit more slim-hipped

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2013
Great party/clubbing dress!

I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. It is definitely tight. I usually wear a size 6 & was able to fit into the small with some help zipping it up. It's made for a taller person. The separate strap in the back didn't really show on me because I'm shorter (5'3"). It just looked like it was connected to the rest of the dress. Also, the shoulder strap was long and was falling off, so I folded it & pinned it with a safety pin. Otherwise it's a great dress. It was very flattering and accentuated my curves in all the right places.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 21, 2010

This is a beautiful dress and if you get the right size, it's very flattering. I'm usually a XS or S since I'm pretty petite (5'0, 34C, 108lbs) but the S barely fit me. Also, for smaller girls, beware of the one shoulder strap - it's way too long but there's a way to tuck it in the back strap to make the dress work. Overall, it's a great dress, especially if you're on the taller side, but be sure to get 1-2 sizes up!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
September 27, 2010

I wear a small or x-small so very disappointed that I could not wear this dress for my event. I am 32C, 115lb. Order at least 2 sizes up. Strap is also very long and needs to be adjusted...otherwise, cute dress that I would have loved to wear.

Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2010

I was overly excited to receive this dress in the mail and both sizes ran wayy smaller than I expected. I finally got the medium size on but there was no was going to move the rest of the night. (Usually I fit in a small in dress, size 2-4). I have larger hips which is where it was the tightest.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2011

I absolutely loved this dress. It does run small, but I was able to rent a small and it fit perfectly - it just took a little work to get the dress zipped up. If you have someone to help you, it should be no problem! Once I had the dress on, it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments. The only problem I encountered was the strap that went over my right shoulder - it was a bit too long and tended to flap a bit instead of holding taut. It wasn't a huge, obvious problem though and the dress still fit beautifully. I'd definitely rent it again!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 26, 2011

I just received this dress and was more than upset to find out the fit is nothing like what it looks like online. Im very very slim with no curves and i had difficulty even zipping the S. its much longer than it appears and very awkward in the bust if you aren't full figured.

NoelleJanuary 26, 2011
were you able to wear heels?
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
June 23, 2011

LOVED wearing this dress!! be weary that it does run on the small side. I'm typically a size 4-6, small bust, and i still had a tough time zipping up the top part (ordered a S). once it was on - with the help of a friend zipping this baby up - it looked amazing and the compliments kept on coming!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2011
GORGEOUS

Absolutely loved this dress! Definitely red carpet worthy. This dress does run extremely small. I am a true 0 and always wear a size small. I definitely needed some assistance zipping the dress up. The dress does have some stretch but not much. I wanted to order the medium as my backup size but they didn't have it available at the time. The small fit but I would have felt a little better knowing I had a back up size. Rent the Runway was so organized delivering my dress and made it so easy to ship back. Overall, I had a great first experience with RTR. Will definitely rent from them again.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2012
Nice dress, way too small

I'm usually an XS and for some brands an XXS so I thought I would be fine with an XS in this dress. I was wrong. I couldn't even get the dress to zip. It eas a very beautiful dress and I wish I was able to wear it. If you get this one, be sure to get a dress one size larger than what you normally wear OR order both sizes to ensure you'll have one that fits.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 23, 2012
Gorgeous Dress

I absolutely loved this dress. After sizing up, the fit was perfect. I had to use some tape to keep it in place, and it worked out well. This dress was great for formal.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2014
Great look

This dress was great although it ran a bit small. The sleeve was long and a bit annoying because it kept falling off my shoulder. The dress overall fit well even though the zipper proved to be a problem- it always unzipped itself! I felt pretty in it but at the end of the day I felt like it was more annoying than it was worth.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×