Rent the Runway

Preen

Blue Violet Cocktail Dress

$35 rental
$1298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this vibrant one shoulder Preen dress. Your ultimate cocktail dress for that fancy dinner party or charity event. Also, great for a wedding at anytime of the year. Pair with a bold cuff like the AV Max's Gold Hammered Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey(64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with pleating detail on shoulder. Ruched body. Exposed side zip. 38"" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

128 reviews

Fit
Small 104
True to Size 20
Large 1
Photos 61
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 1, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat. Got so many compliments. Caution: It runs very small. I'm usually a 0-2 in dresses but found the Medium to be a perfect fit. Works well with NuBra as suggested by RTR.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Amazing

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was one of my favorite dresses to rent ever. It fit like a glove and sucked you in so that you feel really thin. It does run really small, so size up for sure. It was a little tough to get in to, but once it's on it's comfortable and moves well for dancing. It's very sexy, but covers almost your whole body, so it's not too much. The back detail is really great.
mizusp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Effortlessly Sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Amazing dress and the color is stunning. Here is the catch: there is no, and I mean none what so ever, give to the material. Ladies, this is not the dress to insist you wear a size, this is where you go for fit. I am a gym rat and I was snug as a bug. Any smaller and it would have been a "only able to wabble, not walk" dress. Size up if any doubt and use style snaps to adjust but chances are, it will be perfect. I could have worn the medium and been just as happy. It does not need to be second skin, it is sexy as is. My husband called it the attitude dress: get the shoes, the fantastic earrings and bracelet, and your attitude- the best accessory of all.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Classy and interesting

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear an XS, and the S in this dress was tight but perfect. The only part that was difficult to zip was over my ribcage (not the bust - since the zipper stops just below the bust). I liked this dress, but did not love it on my body type. Although I felt pretty and the classiness of the dress brough me from an afternoon church wedding into the fancier evening reception, I didn't think a one-shoulder dress that covered my entire chest was the most flattering option for someone as petite and athletic as me. In short, it worked and it looked nice, but I probably wouldn't rent it again because of my body type.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Always amazing

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I love all of the Preen dresses. They are snug and sometimes require third-party zipper assistance, but once you're zipped in they are FABULOUS. This color was great - a bright indigo.
Mariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

shipping and returns

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
super cute dress but did not get to wear it. it was waaay too small. definitely go a size up. color is a deeper purple then photo. was sad that it did not fit.
Ingrid
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Neverending compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress could make a potato sack look good - it's just magic. It is very snug and the initial "putting it on" experience is a bit of a struggle, but once you have it on it is incredibly comfortable and forgiving. I would consider paying $1,000 to own this dress - I've rented it twice in different colors!
Samarria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Not what I expected

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, this dress did not fit me like it does the model on the photo. I could not wear it or the other size that was provided. Disappointing. However, the color was really pretty!
Mariska
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Beautiful color, flattering fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of this dress was very flattering. I fit into the small even though I usually wear an extra small, which wasn't available in this dress. The top part (the one shoulder strap) was a little big, though, and I had to use fashion tape to keep it in place, otherwise there might have been quite the wardrobe malfunction. But I received a lot of compliments and felt beautiful in this dress.
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Not worth it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress IS very slimming. It definitely gives you a defined waist line. However, there is no way to zip this dress up alone - so dont even think about it. It also does not stay zipped up since there is no top closure (on a $1,200 dress!). Also, I did not want to expose side-boob, so I needed to fashion tape the dress to my skin. Overall with the zipper and the tape, I didn't wear the dress because I didn't want to hassle at an event where I knew I would be dancing. Pretty dress, but not worth the hassle.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and received so many compliments about its interesting shape! Definitely get a size up, though. It runs small.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 2, 2012

Amazing - compliments all night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
really tight fit and will take at least two people to get you into this dress! But once it's on, fits like a glove and looks gorgeous.
brantley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it!
janet
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 9, 2013

Getting it right on time with a few minutes to spare thanks to the amazing customer service :)

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got a M and a L after reading that it runs small. I'm a size 4 normally, but a large barely fit me. It also kept shifting to the size and exposing my boob!
leor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

BIG NO!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was always a huge fan of preen from the editorial pics but on even a petite girl, the fit was WAY too small and even the right size was unflattering. I would say NO to this dress!
girlygirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Hot dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is a bit difficult to get on, however, once in it really holds you in. I rented the red in a small, which I ended up wearing. They sent the blue as a backup in a M, I guess because they were out of the red. The S and M both fit okay, but the ruching wouldn't stay in place for the M and I kept having to adjust, so I went with the small. I also really wanted to wear the red, since it was around the holidays. I got tons of compliments! You need a safety pin at the top of the zipper on the inside to keep it from sliding down, as some of the other reviews have said.
Camille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

gorgeous color and flattering style...but ran a bit small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
rented this for a date but I didn't end up wearing it. the bottom of the dress was a bit stretched out when it arrived and although stretchy the dress definitely ran small. I wear a size 6 and couldn't zip the dress up. My roommate who is a size 2 even had a hard time when she tried it on.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 29, 2013

Beautiful but tiny

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a XS/S and I could not even zip this up. Definitely order a size up if not two.
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Gorgeous, super flattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Followed the reviews to order a size up, which were totally correct. I am usually a size small and wsa definitely a medium in this. It is super tight -- requires two people to zip -- but looks fantastic and fits perfectly once zipped. Definitely a "wow" dress and one my husband said he wished I owned
Gillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Very flattering dress but runs small

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was beautiful! The colors is great and the tailored fit is very flattering on. However, it runs small in the bust and there was no hook to keep the zipper in place. I had to pull the zipper up throughout the night and it kept snagging on my skin causing scratches and irritation which was was visible in the strapless dress I wore the next day as a bridesmaid. Definitely order a size up and if you have a larger chest I would not recommend this dress.
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Runs incredibly small!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I read the reviews before ordering, so I ordered a Medium as my backup size. After attempting to put both dresses on, and crying because neither fit, I went back to the reviews and read that at least two sets of hands are needed to get into this dress -- and that is absolutely the case! Once on, it felt comfortable, but definitely order up one size, and up two sizes for your backup. Don't be discouraged if it doesn't fit without some extra help.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

Great dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My sister wore this to a wedding and got lots of compliments. Everyone loved it, she looked amazing. She is VERY thin and had a difficult time zipping up this dress. It was fine once it was on, but this dress is very tight fitting and she was stressed about whether it was going to work out.
TNY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 15, 2013

Disappointed.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looked lovely on all the other ladies, but it did not fit me... I usually wear a 2-4 or S-M, the Small that arrived was so cut so small, and I don’t think the medium would have even fit. I didn’t have time to receive a replacement size since I was traveling the next day. Also, the hem of the dress was buckling, it wasn’t very nice for the retail cost of the dress.
Nitrisha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 17, 2013

I was told I had on the most beautiful and sexy dress at the wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of the dress is very sexy. The dress runs small and it cannot be zipped up on my own. Other that I loved the dress and so did my partner. I wore the dress to an evening wedding so it was very appropriate.
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 25, 2013

Amazing dress, lots of compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs small. I normally wear a zero, and the small in this dress was tight. I'm sure the medium would have been too big though. The fabric is amazing and very comfortable! I could have worn this dress all day. I loved the style, especially the back. I received lots of compliments and felt like a million bucks wearing this dress! A must-rent!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Must be Twiggy to wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
They did not have a size large for me to order as a back-up, but the medium was not even a close call so the large would likely not have fit either. VERY small fit. I had to send it back and have RTR overnight me another style. Loved my back-up dress even more than this one and RTR customer service was excellent!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

Beautiful dress, tight fit

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really enjoyed the dress but did have some problems with the zipper. The dress did not have hooks on the top of the zipper and it kept creeping down and pinching me but I just added a safety pin and it was fine. Also, I would listen to the reviews that it runs a bit small. At 130 lbs and 5'6" the medium was a tight fit. Actually, I thought it might not fit at all but luckily with a little assistance we got it zipped up. Also, the color was more of a royal blue than I thought it would be but still loved it. All in all very glad I rented it and would have done it again given the chance.
LM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

NOt my cup of tea

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really excited for this dress... At the time i was 120lbs and a size 0/2 and ordered a Medium and it was still too small. It also just wasn't flattering..
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Sexy dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous!! As everyone else mentioned, this dress does run a little small. With that said though, the material was stretchy enough that I was able to wear a small, which is the size I normally wear. The side zipper is definitely hard to zip up, and I had to have my husband help squeeze me in the dress. Once zipped, the dress fit like a glove and did not feel small at all. It was just hard to get into, especially around the ribcage area! I ordered a small and medium and the small overall fit me better. I have a small chest and I didn't want the top to be baggy. I would definitely recommend this beautiful dress!!
AL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Beautiful color, runs small

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a cocktail party. I only got one size and wasn't able to wear it, because it was tight around the chest area. I wasn't able to zip the dress all the way up, however it fit perfectly elsewhere. I recommend getting a size up to what you usually wear (depending on your chest/ upper body build as well). The color is beautiful, and this would be a fun dress to wear to a cocktail party or a girl's night out. I recommend getting two sizes if your like it, so you can see what fits best.
Michelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Surprisingly easy process and fun to wear a new-to-me dress for the night.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs VERY small. I'm usually a S/M and ended up wearing the L - it was still a bit snug for my tastes. My husband loved it even though I felt a little uncomfortable. The neckline/bodice is very flattering and the color is gorgeous.
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

RUNS VERY SMALL

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I attempted to wear this dress for a party....unfortunately, the only size available was a Medium and they didn't have a Large as a back-up size. I tried on the medium and could have pulled it off, but it was very snug and I was concerned that once I put a piece of lettuce in my mouth, the dress would just be too tight. The ironing job on this dress left something to be desired because once I put it on, the hem crease was out of whack...although this could have been because the dress was too tight on me. I would love to try this dress again....but in size Large.
Bessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

So Flattering!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. I rented the red Preen dress of similar fabric and this one didn't disappoint, either. These dresses are so fab. and super flattering. I usually wear an 8 (or a large 6) and the medium was tough to zip, but it worked. The zipper tended to fall, so I put a safety pin as a "bar" under the zipper so it wouldn't fall down. Great dress.
Desiree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 31, 2014

Small fit as everyone says... beware the zipper.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely needed 2 friends to help zip this up but once it was on it looked amazing. Would have given it more stars if the zipper hadn't fallen a bunch of times and left little nicks all over my side.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 13, 2014

Sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Super sexy with subtle side-boob! The men at the wedding particularly liked this dress. Although this dress in holds you I wish I would have wore spanx because you can see everything!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2014

Beautiful looking dress BUT..

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress I could tell would of been great on but the sizing is crazy small! Order 2 sizes bigger than what you normally would wear. This was my first choice, but had to go with my backup dress because neither size fit. I'm around 110-115 lbs. I usually wear a 2 or a 4, but probably could have used a 6 or 8 in this dress. The dress did look beautiful and would of loved to have worn it if I could of.
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

I loved the color and how easy this was!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and the color. I'm an athletic build, but I'm small up top and a bit bigger on the bottom. I'm usually between a 2-4. I was surprised I fit in the 2. It was very fitted but comfortable. It was a bit tight across my rib cage (not my chest) and I had to have someone zip me up. Once I was zipped up, it was perfect. Despite it being tight across my ribs, it was actually really comfortable and fit well with my body type.
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Just like the other reviewers said

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Yup, this dress was so so small. I managed to get into it with help from my boyfriend. Once I was in it, it really was a great dress. RTR didn't have a M which was my preference, so I took the risk in ordering. The color is beautiful, but I probably wouldn't rent again just because of how tight it was. It was very pretty on, but the tightness was a one time thing!
chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Wore secondary dress...thankfully I got one. Ugh for this dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Did not like the way this dress fit me. I went up a size...it does run small. Hugged in the wrong places for me and fitted large in the chest area.
Ei
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Didn't end up wearing it, wore the same dress in light blue

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
RUNS VERY SMALL! I had a backup dress that I ended up wearing, but this dress was extremely elegant. I wore the exact same dress in light blue from RTR, in the same size, but it fit differently because it had been worn several times before (I think). And thus, easier to get on than this one, which was very new. Definitely go up a size. Very dramatic silhouette, and the top neckline is gorgeous.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×