Pencey

Gold Rush Mini

$35 rental
$520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night. Go with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins(100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 82
Large 10
Photos 64
Anushka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Hanging with the RTR girls!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party: Cocktail
LOVE! It's a pretty easy fit and fun when paired with a long necklace. I wore an XS and am usually a 2. Can be styled many different ways to dress it up or down.
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Feeling fabulous on my birthday even with a cast!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's a little tight in the arms, but not uncomfortable! The small felt a little too small for me, but the medium was definitely too big so I think the fit was just different than I expected! Overall I am SO happy with this rental, I got a ton of compliments and this dress looks amazing in photos!
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 20, 2013

I felt so good in this dress and received so many compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my school's Sadie Hawkins dance. I regret wearing my hair in a stock bun, but I certainly do not regret this dress choice! It was a little less tight then I though it would be, but it worked out great! When I was dancing, the sequins sometimes got caught on other people, but other than that I have no complaints!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I wore this to an RTR fashion show. It was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress runs a little big, but not obnoxiously. There's a built-in slip underneath so there's no need to worry about itchy sequins. It's a modest dress, but still chic.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Apr 14, 2013

The dress fit great and perfect for formal!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Usually the dresses run big on me but this dress fit perfect and everyone said it was their favorite dress at our sorority's formal
ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Apr 28, 2013

My Bday!! I wore it to Formal and it looked absolutely gorgeous!! i got so many complements!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A little tight on the arms.
Alli
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
May 21, 2013

I wore this for my Bachelorette Party in the Spring.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I recieved so many compliments! I think the best part about this sparkly dress other than the fact that it's so different and cute is that the bar tenders couldn't miss me! As soon as I stepped up to the crowded bar, mine was the next order taken! Fantastic!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

These sequins made me stand out

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was awesome. So incredibly sparkly; it was definitely an attention grabber! Other reviews said that it was tight in the arms, but I really didn't experience that. The only negative is that my hair kept getting caught in the sequins, so maybe plan on wearing your hair up. Overall, great dress!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

Wearing this dress for NYE

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for New Years! Very warm for that time of the year and comfortable to dance the night away in!
Meghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Got a ton of compliments but runs small!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a medium, size 6 or 8, but the large in this dress was a bit tight across the thighs and in the arms. I got a ton of compliments on it. The sequins are actually different shades of gold and looks great. The dress was comfortable and not too short.
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

My dress full of glitz was perfect for the night.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the style of this dress - it was perfect for the Marine Ball I went to with my 83 yr old father. A little conservative but still a lot of fun. The smaller size fit best my only complaint was the slip that was attached was hard to keep in place. It was fun, eye catching and I felt like a million bucks. My father loved it too.
Genesis
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

comfortable dress to be in all night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was very comfortable to be in all night. I rented it for New Years and I don't regret it!
abc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Great party dress- sexy but not skanky.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore this dress for a vegas work conference that fell on my birthday. it was sparkly enough to celebrate my birthday in vegas, but classy enough to still be appropriate for a business-related party. don't try this on alone if it is even a little tight-- the sleeve cut and sequin material make it impossible to take off without assistance. although the small fit great while on, i had to track down a stranger to help me get out of it-- EMBARRASSING!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 30, 2014

Love the dress! Tons on compliments!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a 1920s themed party. I typically wear a 6 but chose the large because I wanted it a little loose to go with the theme. A medium probably would have worked. I am only 5'3 and the length was fine on me but for someone tall it may be short. Love all of the sequins. I will probably be renting this again!!!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Super cute!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first, I was concerned that this dress wasn't formal enough for my event, but after I arrived I received a lot of compliments about how cute the dress was. It fits more like a tunic even though it looks formal in the picture. It fits true to size and I probably could have worn the Small. I loved how sparkly it was, the color and shine is just like the picture!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
May 22, 2014

I wore this dress for my birthday dinner. It was comfortable and made me stand out on my day!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
A little long (but I'm short) and looser fitting than I expected, but since I wore it to a nice dinner where I wanted to enjoy all of the delicious food it was perfect!
Lynnell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
May 30, 2014

Photographs beautifully.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a photo shoot I styled and photographed. It was a sophisticated nautical theme and the sequins added texture to the shoot and the creme trim added something different than the typical sequin number. It photographed well and I was happy with the result. My model rocked it ;o)
Morgan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Jun 3, 2014

Best friends wedding!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My original dress did not quite fit right/work. Rent the runway has amazing customer service and got me this new dress delivered to my hotel just in time! I couldn't have asked for a better experience! The dress was perfect. All the bridesmaids wore different gold sequin dresses. It was perfect!
RTR Customer
Jun 7, 2014

Perfect Dress for any special occasion!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. Not too tight or loose. The sequin on the dress looked amazing and only got better as day turned into night.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 22, 2014

Fits a little funny but pretty & unique !

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very loose in the waist and the band on the bottom doesn't stretch so the snug part is the bottom - wouldn't recommend for pear shape. Also there isn't a zipper so I had a hard time getting in and out of it. Lots of attention for how unique it was! The sequins are actually all different colors. Shows off legs but long enough to dance all night - great length
Lynzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Sparkles Galore!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
So if you have boobs or arms that are human shaped, get a large. Definitely does not allow a lot of room there. But the dress has a nice comfy liner and looks positively awesome. I feared it might be heavy and make me look chunkier but it was just fabulous
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

This dress was show stopping! I received so many compliments and I felt awesome in it.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit overall was pretty true to size. It is a short dress and the sleeves were much more snug than I had thought they would be. That is why I went with the Large. I am normally a size 8 or 10. I have hips and a chest so I decided to go with a looser fit. That is what made the dress more elegant. Anyway, this dress is show stopping and super fun! I recommend!!!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Wore for a bachelorette party in Vegas, the sequins stood out!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Arms were a little tight and the mid-section was loose. Otherwise, fun dress!
Ciera
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Wore this to Beyonce concert, when the lights go out, you stand out!! Loved, so did everyone else :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The chest area was a little tight, I had to wear a bit to cinch in the waist a little as well. Overall it is a sort of boxy fit, so playing with the material/accessorizing is a must.
liliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Birthday Celebrations for a Middle Child!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
You'll be noticed in this dress - that's a promise. If you're anything like me and love attention, especially on your birthday, this dress is for you. It's very comfortable - I made it through a seven dish tasting menu without growing uncomfortable or feeling too constricted even once. After dinner, I sang and danced late into the night. Perfect dress from start to finish. I went with the large because the arms on the medium were a bit too tight for comfort. So, if you have a great combination of broad shoulders and muscle/fat-baring arms - a larger size is recommended. Overall a great choice!
Katarina
Age: 27
Jul 24, 2014

Dress is amazing! If u wear something like this everyone will note it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Im 5'5 130lb and size S was perfect For me. The dress is amazing! I got a lot of compliments and it was hard for me to return. I wanted to keep it.
Burgess
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

I wanted to stand out...and I did!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This stunner was comfortable to wear all night. I wore this for my engagement party/couples shower and wanted a fun alternative to a white dress. Highly recommend!
Brittany
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

I got so many (good) head turns that I felt like Beyonce or J.Lo!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was obsessed with this dress as soon as I saw it on RTR and it was the PERFECT dress for my 23rd birthday! The dress is classy, sexy and you can't go wrong with something that sparkles like that! The sparkles are actually gold and pale pink so I would recommend nude or a bright colored shoe (I wore red). I ordered both the Medium and Large after reading multiple reviews, but felt the Large fit better in the sleeves and for the style of the dress. I would recommend going up a size if you have bigger arms but overall, I absolutely loved the dress and would most definitely re-order!
Claire
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Loved this dress! Wore it as a bridesmaids dress. So elegant.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Little tricky to get into because there is no zip. I got dressed before hair and make up. Absolutely loved it though. All the bridesmaids wore nude shoes.
Kelsey
Age: 25
Oct 19, 2014

I wore this dress for my Savannah, Georgia Bachelorette Party! I walked around town to oohs and ahhs

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered an XS because the S was not available and it was a little tight around the thighs and I was unable to lift my arms very high :( I would say to look for another dress than try and go down a size if you're unsure. However, the dress was so fun and I got so many compliments throughout the night! I was nervous about trying RTR, but everything arrived on time and looked great :)
S
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

A great choice if you don't have a 21" waist.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful & comfy. Perfect for a long night of dancing. I received lots of compliments!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Nov 19, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress on the app and loved it even more in person. I got compliments all night

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a small in a dress, but the extra small fit just right. It was hard to take on and off, but fit perfectly when it was finally on. Looks great in pictures! Was definitely more than pleased with it and did NOT want to return it
JRO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

A stand out.

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Other
Seemed to run just a bit big. Wore for a family holiday dinner. Comfortable yet elegant and sassy. Would totally rent again. Recommend!
Brett
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

IMPOSSIBLE to take off.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I originally rented this dress for my work holiday party - but wasn't sure that it would be "form fitting" enough - I didn't want to look like a gold paper bag. In any case, the RTR Gods were looking out for me, because since the backup size ended up being damaged, I was contacted by RTR asking if I wanted another dress instead! They let me still rent the M Gold Dress but then sent me another style dress for the inconvenience (thanks again!). Anyway, I put on the Medium Gold Dress and it fit well. The bottom is tapered and while I won't say it showed off my figure, it was okay. I would definitely recommend this dress if you have some problem areas you're looking to hide. I took one awkward selfie, pictured here, before I went to take it off and try on the other dress. It took me twenty minutes to get the dress off. TWENTY. I have a large chest, but basically the dress could not come off of my shoulders and over my chest at the same time. I laughed, almost cried, and decided to try one more time before I was going to call my girl friend to have her help me pry it off, when I was finally able to get the dress over my chest. I would NOT recommend getting this dress unless you have the help of two girlfriends to get it off of you at the end of the night. It is a pretty dress - and great for holiday parties, but I wish there was a better exit strategy. No wonder my back-up size got damaged...
hennhead
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Fun & Comfortable Party Dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It was very comfortable and perfect for my company's holiday party. I ended up wearing the large - the medium was a too tight for my bust. I had so much fun in this dress and would definitely rent it again!
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

I wore this dress for my golden birthday party and it was perrrrrfect!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a little shorter than I expected, but not awfully short. The under-layer may be a little tight around the hips if you have any sort of butt. Overall I was really happy with this dress!
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Fun and comfy!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Party
Be prepared to stand out in this dress! I'd never worn a sequin dress before and decided to go for it for a holiday party. Since the dress stood out on its own, I kept it simple with the hair and accessories. It was super comfortable but made me feel incredibly sexy at the same time. The husband can be a tough critic, and he definitely approved.
Korilala
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

So comfortable and fun to wear

Size worn: L
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I would say as with all designer dresses it runs a bit small. I'm normally a medium but I ordered the large and it was perfect. I did not experience what others have said in their reviews as far as having trouble taking the dress off. I got tons of compliments on it and it was so comfortable I didn't want to take it off! No need to suck in or skip dinner, as it was a roomy fit in a flattering way.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Looks shine-tastic with a microphone!

Size worn: S
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my karaoke birthday party and it couldn't have been more perfect! It shined under the lights and I felt like a diva! I got a million compliments. It was comfortable to rock out in all night. I felt fantastic in this dress. I carry my weight in my arms so it's worth noting that if you have thicker arms it does feel a little snug. And echoing what others have said, you'll need to do your hair after putting on the dress because there is only the little clasp at the neck.
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

I wore this dress for my 23rd birthday in DC. It was the perfect party dress for the birthday girl!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall, I thought this dress was very comfortable and well made. I would say it fits true to size, but definitely tight about the thighs/hip area. I think it is the perfect dress for any sparkly occasion!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×