Pencey

Gold Rush Mini

$35 rental
$520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night. Go with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins(100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

126 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 83
Large 10
Photos 67
Gabby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

I wore this to my engagement party and was the undeniable STAR! This outfit made me feel gorgeous and special from head to toe!!!!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this statement sheath - attention-grabbing and fun. Runs true to size and easy to pair with earrings and bracelet.
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

I wore this dress on Halloween to dress up as a "gold digger." I accessorized with a shovel around my waist.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. I wore it for Halloween but liked it so much I wanted to rent it again to wear when it wasn't as a custome.
anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 27, 2011

Loved it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress out to a nice birthday dinner and absolutely loved it. I have a little bit of a tummy and thought the shift would cover it, but I needed some Spanx to help.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 23, 2012

Everyone turned their heads when I walked in!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered the S & M in this dress because I never trust dresses with sleeves! I could barely get the S over my shoulders- but I wasn't surprised by that! Once I was in the M, I noticed that it was very tight across my shoulders and upper arms and I've never thought of myself as having broad shoulders. It is a gorgeous dress, but very very dressy. I went to a couple bars and restaurants with my mom for my 21st birthday in this dress, and EVERYONE.. I mean everyoneeee! looked at me when I walked in. Not sure if that was a good thing or a bad thing! I remember describing it to my sister as "burlap sacky" though and I definitely should've broken it up with a belt around the waist to show off my curves. Looks much better on the model if you're my body type!
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

The dress fit perfectly and looked so fabulous in photos!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress couldn't have been more perfect for my birthday celebration.
Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 20, 2012

Overall, the experience was flawless. I had questions about the fit of the dress so I called the customer service number and all of my questions were answered! Everyone commented on how glamorous and classy the dress was...definitely recommended!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a party and it was absolutely perfect. I am typically a 6 (a 4 on a good day), and the medium fit perfectly. I was comfortable all night dancing. The dress is heavy enough to feel luxurious, but not so much so that you can't move around and enjoy yourself. This is my favorite dress I have rented out of 3 rentals!!!! It's not something I would typically have in my closet, which made it a really fun dress for the evening!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 14, 2012

I LOVED this dress! It looks amazing on and everyone wants to know where it is from.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. It looks great on and I got so many compliments when I was out wearing it. Everyone asked me where I got it and I loved telling them "Rent the Runway."
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 2, 2012

Turns out great in pics and comfy. Sequins were not a problem, comfort-wise.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Turns out great in pics.
Victoria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

I got so many compliments on this dress by just going out on the weekend!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit is true to size, but it was a tad long since I am only 5'3
Jen in Texas
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

It was fun to sparkle all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It looked very slim through the waist on the model in the picture. I was disappointed that it didn't fit me like her, but then again, I am a 44 year old mom :) I felt like it was a little boxy, but the fun of being so shiny and sparkly all night outweighed that :) I did get LOTS of compliments on it. That is always fun!
MaryLynn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Loved the packaging the dress came in!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Received many compliments on this dress! It fit kind of large, even the extra small. The arms of the dress were very tight, though. Defiantly will be renting from here for many upcoming occasions! ;)
Bri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

I definitely made a statement, just not the one I wanted to make.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
To be fair, the dress was amazing. However, it was too small and the style of dress was not flattering for someone with my figure. Nevertheless, for all women under a size 8 with small breast, this dress would probably look great on you. However, if you are an average sized girl with big boobs, you may want to pick another dress or you may end up looking like a life size version of Sponge Bob like me :-/
Kim
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Great standout dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was slightly hesitant to order this dress in fear that the sequins would be overwhelming, but I was wrong! This dress was amazing! The short sleeves and shift fit of the dress offset the sequins and kept it feeling classy. I would love to wear this dress again!
andréa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

the best shift dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress and recieved so many compliments! it is comfortable and so eye catching. I was excited when I recieved the dress and it went beyond my expectations. It was such a fun and easy dress great for the holiday party I attended.
LP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

I wore this to a December wedding and several people complimented me. It was perfectly festive!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The sleeves were a little small relative to the rest of the dress.
E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

I LOVED this dress. I rented it for a New Year's Eve Party. I really didn't want to send it back!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was really comfortable. I paired the dress with a pair of blue suede heels. The contrast worked so well and I got so many compliments that evening. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect for an over the top NYC wedding in an antique gallery. I loved the dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5"8' so the small fit my body better, but was too short. I wore the medium which is looser & not fitted, but longer.
lindsay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 30, 2013

Shined at the party!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit is very true to size. Color was just as I expected and the packaging was great. Very pleased and can not wait to rent from the runway again!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 25, 2013

This was my first time using RTR and I absolutely LOVED it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dressed fit perfectly although the arms were a bit on the tight side in comparison to the rest of the dress. Overall it was wonderful and I received so many compliments throughout the entire night! Will definitely be using RTR for my next party!
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Feeling fabulous on my birthday even with a cast!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's a little tight in the arms, but not uncomfortable! The small felt a little too small for me, but the medium was definitely too big so I think the fit was just different than I expected! Overall I am SO happy with this rental, I got a ton of compliments and this dress looks amazing in photos!
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 20, 2013

I felt so good in this dress and received so many compliments!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my school's Sadie Hawkins dance. I regret wearing my hair in a stock bun, but I certainly do not regret this dress choice! It was a little less tight then I though it would be, but it worked out great! When I was dancing, the sequins sometimes got caught on other people, but other than that I have no complaints!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

I wore this to an RTR fashion show. It was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress runs a little big, but not obnoxiously. There's a built-in slip underneath so there's no need to worry about itchy sequins. It's a modest dress, but still chic.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2013

Small in the arms and a bit unflattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The arms were tight. The middle did not lay flat and made the appearance of a tummy!
Kendra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

Loved it! Glam, but not over the top.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great for a more lowkey birthday party at a bar, rather than a club. A couple people actually came up and complimented the dress and I felt sparkly for my birthday, but not like I was awkwardly dressed for Vegas. Mostly true to size, but the arms might be a little snug? But the size up was a bit baggy...so I'd try both if your arms aren't sticks. Overall, a great experience.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Perfect Birthday Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was amazing - no jewelry was needed, as the dress spoke for itself. I've never has so many compliments before.
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Great for a Spring wedding

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am normally a 4/6 and ordered the small and medium in this dress. The dress is a pull-over-head type situational and doesn't have a zipper so I couldn't maneuver easily into or out of the small so I wore the medium. I belted it with a skinny silk sash that matched the cream edges to bring it in since it was flowy from having to wear the bigger size. It made it look that much cuter and I received many compliments!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Too small....and too large?

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The small was uncomfortably small but the medium was too big and boxy to look at all attractive. I ended up returning and with a winter storm in effect I couldn't get another dress overnighted to me. However, customer service was very helpful!
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2014

This dress is beautiful, but I don't think it was right for my body type.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had bunching in the stomach area, which made me self conscious all night but maybe thats because I'm not all that tall. I just felt like it didn't hug my curves enough. It was a little itchy when sitting, however (and unrelated) it looks short but was the perfect length all night!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 29, 2014

Wore this dress to a holiday cocktail party.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Received many compliments and dress also looks great photos!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
May 30, 2014

The dress was really fun! Perfect for a bachelorette. I liked it and would rent again.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tight around the arms - kind of hard to get on and off.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

LOVE!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Can't go wrong with glitter!!!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Sparkly fun for bachelorette party

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was an ah-mazing dress for my bachelorette party. Sparkly, fun, and short (but not too short!). Actually, the underlining helped keep the dress from moving into "danger, your ladybits are showing territory" when dancing, which is an issue I've had with other shift dresses. The only thing I didn't love about the dress was how stiff it is...but I guess that's the price to pay for a dress covered in sequins. The stiffness made the dress a little challenging to get on, but once it was on it fit perfectly.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Super Cute But With An Unfortunate Experience

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
First of all, when people say that this dress runs small, it REALLY runs small. Tried it on immediately after receiving it... looked absolutely great in it... but when I tried to take it off, definitely got stuck. There's no zipper so you have to pull it over your head and when I went to pull it off, it got stuck on my arms. Had to call my boyfriend who was at work to help me out of it. While I crack up about my experience, and thank god I wasn't in a dressing room trying this on, it was kind of a bummer to send it back before I could wear it out. I gave it 4 stars because regardless of it issue, it looked great. The dress fit well everywhere else but the shoulders and it made me look very slimming... I would have taken a picture, but I didn't have much of a chance. For those who normally wear a size medium, step it up and get a large.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Oct 1, 2014

The star of the photoshoot!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm a photographer, and use Rent the Runway primarily for wardrobe options. I found this dress for a fun, modern elopement editorial I was about to shoot, and it worked perfectly! The only note the model made was that it was not stretchy at all, and didn't have much give. Not necessarily a bad thing, just something to keep in mind! Overall, this was a fabulous little dress, and everyone has been commenting on it!
samantha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Nov 17, 2014

Lit up the room

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a million compliments on this dress. It definitely stood out in a room full of black dresses. I loved the fit and the comfort of this dress. I highly recommend it!!!!
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got complements all night. I usually wear an XS, but the XS was booked. I tried the S. I was so glad I did - I think it fit perfectly. The XS may have been a little small. The S was relatively snug on my hips but still fit nicely. Not too tight. The dress was short, even though I'm not a tall girl. I thought the length was perfect with the high conservative neck.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Woah small!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Wow this dress ran small. Dress was made up I a few tones of sequin, so it was very pretty. There isn't too much to even say about it besides how tight it was. Do not rent if you have a large bust. Dress does not have a large zipper or any stretch, I had to be yanked out of it.
Joelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Great dress for a rehearsal dinner! Fun without being over the top with family around.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable to wear all night long, be careful of wearing a jacket or sweater over it because looser fabrics can snag on the sequins if layered over the dress.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

THE PICTURE DOES NOT DO THIS DRESS ANY JUSTICE! IT'S SO GLAMOROUS.....

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
DRESS RUNS TRUE TO SIZE, IT'S A LITTLE LONGER THEN ILLUSTRATED IN THE PICTURE. IT SHIMMERS AT EVERY POINT.
Jamie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

this was a perfect upscale work party at the ritz! Not too overwhelming!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
good length, mid thigh
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×