Pencey

Gold Rush Mini

$65 to buy
$520 retail
Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share
142 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(30)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2014
IMPOSSIBLE to take off.

I originally rented this dress for my work holiday party - but wasn't sure that it would be "form fitting" enough - I didn't want to look like a gold paper bag. In any case, the RTR Gods were looking out for me, because since the backup size ended up being damaged, I was contacted by RTR asking if I wanted another dress instead! They let me still rent the M Gold Dress but then sent me another style dress for the inconvenience (thanks again!). Anyway, I put on the Medium Gold Dress and it fit well. The bottom is tapered and while I won't say it showed off my figure, it was okay. I would definitely recommend this dress if you have some problem areas you're looking to hide. I took one awkward selfie, pictured here, before I went to take it off and try on the other dress. It took me twenty minutes to get the dress off. TWENTY. I have a large chest, but basically the dress could not come off of my shoulders and over my chest at the same time. I laughed, almost cried, and decided to try one more time before I was going to call my girl friend to have her help me pry it off, when I was finally able to get the dress over my chest. I would NOT recommend getting this dress unless you have the help of two girlfriends to get it off of you at the end of the night. It is a pretty dress - and great for holiday parties, but I wish there was a better exit strategy. No wonder my back-up size got damaged...

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
April 10, 2015
TINY!!!

I rented this dress for my sorority formal and it came and was literally a child size. I am usually a large is everything so I thought it would fit no problem. I couldn't even get it on my arms.. My friend that is usually a small/medium even tried it on and it barely fit her. Do not rent this dress if you have any sort or muscular/larger arms. Only a good dress for the skinny minnies.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2015
It was a gold colored party so I thought this dress would have been perfect based on the reviews

the arms were so tight I couldn't even wear the dress. The midsection was very large and the legs and hips were tight. Very strange fit. Even if I had ordered a 6 or 8, it wouldn't have worked. I couldn't even take it off without help. Very disappointed I couldn't wear it. I hope this honest review helps someone else.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 6, 2015
Fourth of July Wedding Winner

I ordered both the XS and S sizes. It definitely ran small due to the straight cut and sequined details, I'm not overly curvy however; I do have a 'bubble butt' so there was no way I could get the XS dress to fit in the hip area. The dress has VERY little give so if you are concerned about it being too small, order a size larger. For example, I probably could have worn a medium in the hips even though I'm a small top. PS This dress was almost impossible to get in and out of, even with help!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2015
Celebrated my birthday in this dress!

Definitely runs a little snug - I bounce between a 2/4 and rented the medium because it was the only one available. Fit perfectly but definitely put this on before you do your hair and makeup because it has to go over the head and is a snug fit. Perfect length and I am 5'9 but if you are planning to do a lot of dancing this might not be the right dress. The color is gorgeous - different shades of sequins (pure gold, rose gold, silver) so it looks fab in person and in pictures. Loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2012
Everyone turned their heads when I walked in!

I ordered the S & M in this dress because I never trust dresses with sleeves! I could barely get the S over my shoulders- but I wasn't surprised by that! Once I was in the M, I noticed that it was very tight across my shoulders and upper arms and I've never thought of myself as having broad shoulders. It is a gorgeous dress, but very very dressy. I went to a couple bars and restaurants with my mom for my 21st birthday in this dress, and EVERYONE.. I mean everyoneeee! looked at me when I walked in. Not sure if that was a good thing or a bad thing! I remember describing it to my sister as "burlap sacky" though and I definitely should've broken it up with a belt around the waist to show off my curves. Looks much better on the model if you're my body type!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
December 5, 2011
Goldie!

This Dress was amazing. I wore this for a formal Holiday Brunch and the cool thing was I was able to find something similar for my 4 year old which made it even more fun! This was flattering. I wore gold Kate Spade 4 inch heels and had a nice tan going. I wish this was in my closet full time I LOVEd it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 4, 2012
Super cute in person

I never had a chance to wear the dress as it couldn't get it over my hips. Not a good option for larger bottoms

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 17, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It is a great color and trim, perfect holiday dress.

The only downfall for me was that the sleeves were a little tight. I am petite in build and found them to be restricting, so can't image that this dress would be fitting for someone with a little big larger or muscular arms.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2013
Fun sparkly party dress

This was a fun dress to wear to my friend's big b-day bash party. It is pretty comfortable. Easy to sit in and easy to dance in. I normally would wear a medium, but I wore the large due to the fact that I have broader shoulders and as other reviewers stated, the shoulder/sleeve area runs small. The large also gave me a tad bit more length so it wasn't a mini skirt, but a normal short skirt. I loved that it is loose in the middle so my "pooch" is hidden. Overall a fun, sparkly dress for a fun night out on the town.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 1, 2013
so cute! Runs small

Such a cute dress, rented it to wear on New Years Eve. I wanted to love this dress so much but wish I had rented a size up because it was so tight on my butt!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2013
Small in the arms and a bit unflattering

The arms were tight. The middle did not lay flat and made the appearance of a tummy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
September 3, 2014
Super Cute But With An Unfortunate Experience

First of all, when people say that this dress runs small, it REALLY runs small. Tried it on immediately after receiving it... looked absolutely great in it... but when I tried to take it off, definitely got stuck. There's no zipper so you have to pull it over your head and when I went to pull it off, it got stuck on my arms. Had to call my boyfriend who was at work to help me out of it. While I crack up about my experience, and thank god I wasn't in a dressing room trying this on, it was kind of a bummer to send it back before I could wear it out. I gave it 4 stars because regardless of it issue, it looked great. The dress fit well everywhere else but the shoulders and it made me look very slimming... I would have taken a picture, but I didn't have much of a chance. For those who normally wear a size medium, step it up and get a large.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2017
Did not end up wearing

Very tight in the sleeves

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2011

I would rent this dress again! Comfortable to wear. Short, but not too short. Very glamorous, like a vintage 60's mini.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party: Cocktail
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2011
Hanging with the RTR girls!

LOVE! It's a pretty easy fit and fun when paired with a long necklace. I wore an XS and am usually a 2. Can be styled many different ways to dress it up or down.

AshleyOctober 20, 2011
How far off the ground did the dress fall? I will be wearing mine in FL - so no snow - and I'm also 5'7" and plan on wearing 3" heels. It is for my engagement photos so I want to make sure to get the right length!! Thank you!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 2, 2011

A very flattering dress, even on my short frame. The lining made it stand apart from other sequin dresses and also made it much more comfortable!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 16, 2011
I wore this to my engagement party and was the undeniable STAR! This outfit made me feel gorgeous and special from head to toe!!!!!!

I love this statement sheath - attention-grabbing and fun. Runs true to size and easy to pair with earrings and bracelet.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2011
I wore this dress on Halloween to dress up as a "gold digger." I accessorized with a shovel around my waist.

Loved this dress. I wore it for Halloween but liked it so much I wanted to rent it again to wear when it wasn't as a custome.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2011
Disco Ball

I rented this dress to wear to my company's Christmas party. It was certainly a showstopper and everyone loved the dress. One thing to note, the dress is short! Especailly if you have long legs! So make sure you know how to sit gracefully and I would advise not bending over to pick things up or lifting your arms high in the air else you risk exposing your bum. Also, the lining is smaller than I expected and fits much tighter than the rest of the dress, but it was not so horrible that it bothered me all night. Other than that I loved the dress. It is a great combination of sassy and classy- loud but not too flashy b/c of the high neck and sleeves. Perfect party dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2011
Loved it!

I wore this dress out to a nice birthday dinner and absolutely loved it. I have a little bit of a tummy and thought the shift would cover it, but I needed some Spanx to help.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Full Bust
January 3, 2012
Party Dress!!!

I wore this to a Christmas party with "festive cocktail attire" and received a ton of compliments. It's such a fun dress and really easy to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
January 5, 2012
Christmas Sparkle

This dress was a hit at my Christmas party. The small was a little snug in the chest so I wore the medium.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2012
Great dress!

Loved it! I got so many compliments on this dress. The sleeves and cut of the dress balance out the loudness of the sequins for a perfect look! The fabric is a bit heavier than usual due to the sequins, and it was a little big at the top, so it didn't seem as fitted as it looked in the photo. Regardless, I was very pleased with this one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2012
NYE

I ordered and S and M because I was worried about the length-- usually wear a small. I ordered this for NYE and I was slightly disappointed because the gold was intense and I was thinking it would be a more subtle champagne-y hue based on the picture. I also think I was between sizes as the medium looked like a bag on me. The small was a little tight in the shoulders and arms, a little awkward to move in. I wore the small because it looked more like how it looks on the model than how the medium did. Length was good overall, definitely got compliments and it is a fun dress!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2012
The dress fit perfectly and looked so fabulous in photos!

This dress couldn't have been more perfect for my birthday celebration.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2012
Overall, the experience was flawless. I had questions about the fit of the dress so I called the customer service number and all of my questions were answered! Everyone commented on how glamorous and classy the dress was...definitely recommended!

I rented this dress for a party and it was absolutely perfect. I am typically a 6 (a 4 on a good day), and the medium fit perfectly. I was comfortable all night dancing. The dress is heavy enough to feel luxurious, but not so much so that you can't move around and enjoy yourself. This is my favorite dress I have rented out of 3 rentals!!!! It's not something I would typically have in my closet, which made it a really fun dress for the evening!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2012
Wear it to get noticed

This dress is amazing. I usually wouldn't wear this type of dress size I have a larger rear and it seems made for very stright-bodied women. However, I couldn't resist. I ordered both a M and L and the M was perfect because it hugged my rear and (with spanx) didn't ride up. I received so many compliments from my friends and strangers. My only cautions are it did sometimes make my stomach look larger than it is, but that is the nature of this non-hugging dress and also the sequins are kind of killer. If you're going to be dancing all night, prepare to have a few war wounds on the insides of your arms. Would totally rent this dress again!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2012
Prom was fabulous!

Prom could not have been better! This dress was not only a perfect fit, there were no other dresses even closely resembling it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 20, 2012
fantastic bling :)

wore it to a day at the races and a bridal shower on the same day a real treat ! definitely would recommend !!!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2012
looks great

I loved this dress. I wore it to a casino night and it was a big hit. I normally wear a size 4 and have a bit of a pear shape to me. the underlying layer was a bit tight but the top layer covered it up nicely. the M was way too big.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 24, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress by just going out on the weekend!

The fit is true to size, but it was a tad long since I am only 5'3

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 26, 2012
It was fun to sparkle all night!

It looked very slim through the waist on the model in the picture. I was disappointed that it didn't fit me like her, but then again, I am a 44 year old mom :) I felt like it was a little boxy, but the fun of being so shiny and sparkly all night outweighed that :) I did get LOTS of compliments on it. That is always fun!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131lbs
October 3, 2012
I wore this the night of my bachelorette party. It was definitely eye-catching.

Such a fun dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Sparkle Overload

I'm a sucker for anything with sequins, but this dress was a little too much for me. Also, the dress gives you no shape.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2012
Super cute for a fun night out!

A little tight so I couldn't comfortable raise my arms but the 2 did fit okay. It was short and very shiny so I thought it was quite appropriate for the fundraiser I was attending but otherwise very cute!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great standout dress!

I was slightly hesitant to order this dress in fear that the sequins would be overwhelming, but I was wrong! This dress was amazing! The short sleeves and shift fit of the dress offset the sequins and kept it feeling classy. I would love to wear this dress again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2012
Bachelorette Party Bling!

I wore this dress for my bachelorette party - it fit perfectly and I got a lot of compliments! Definitely THEE perfect dress to wear to spend your last night out as a single lady!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
January 10, 2013
I LOVED this dress. I rented it for a New Year's Eve Party. I really didn't want to send it back!

This dress was really comfortable. I paired the dress with a pair of blue suede heels. The contrast worked so well and I got so many compliments that evening. I would definitely rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 30, 2013
Shined at the party!

The fit is very true to size. Color was just as I expected and the packaging was great. Very pleased and can not wait to rent from the runway again!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×