Pencey

Fierce McJagger Dress

$60 rental
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girls will be impressed with this edgy LBD, show it off by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Also available in cobalt.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black silk(100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(89)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 35
December 15, 2015
Perfect party dress! Fun and flirty!
So much fun and a perfect dress for a night out on the town!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2011
Great dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress. I usually wear a 6 but it was already rented, but the 4 fit perfectly. It was a little small in the chest so if you aren't comfortable showing skin there it might not be for you. I'm 5'4, 130lbs, 34C/32D
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2011
Beautiful but....
This dress looks amazing in the picture. It is very light weight in person, amazing but.... it fits funny. The cutouts hit your body in weird areas so that you cannot wear a bra with it. It also drapes REALLY low on your chest so that even if you wore petals, or a only in front bra, you would still see it. If it would have fit correctly with a bra, I would have worn it. But because I'm a little chesty, it didn't work out. I'm still totally in love with it though!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2012
FITS VERY BIG
I used the reviews of former renters to help my gauge what size to rent. I chose 2 and 4, given that my regular size is 2-4 usually. I have never in my life been a 0. However, I just tried on the size 2 for tomorrow's formal, and it is sadly too big. I would advise that you order a size or two down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2012
Got tons of compliments & felt so great!
I loved this dress! It was a little baggy on me though, so the slits were a little too revealing and I had to fix it quite a bit with tape, but once the tape was in place it was stunning! I wore it to my sorority's formal and got so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
April 11, 2012
Cute; Flattering; Comfortable
I loved the dress because I love dresses that are fitted on top and more flowy/forgiving on the bottom. I still wore a black, strapped bra with the dress and it camouflaged perfectly fine. My only issue was that the size 2 was a tad too large. My backup size was a 4, so that was much too big.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2012
I did not need to iron/steam any of the dresses I ordered. It was incredibly easy to return
I wore this to a formal though it would have been perfect for a cute date night. Its got a nice flow to it and the cutouts are perfect - not too scandalous. The neckline is rather plunging but I wore a beaded necklace to distract and surprisingly I was able to wear a real bra with it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2012
everyone loved it!
Loved this dress, but it runs very big. I ordered a 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 0. Even the 0 was too big, but I made it work using fashion tape. It worked out, but I would have liked it a lot more had it been tighter around my waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 30, 2012
Great Dress, But too short
This dress definitely runs big, i'm a 10 but rented a 6 and 8 and the 6 fit well. My problem is I am 5'10 and the dress was far too short for me to wear out. Also, the fabric is very thin but since it's summer that wouldn't have been a problem. If it was a little bit longer it would have been perfect!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 29, 2012
Such a great, easy dress to wear - size down though!!
I wore this dress for a boat cruise, and I loved it. Was nervous about the slits and fit, but I sized down and the cut was great. The sheer straps give the dress a sweet edge that tone down the sexiness.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Very sexy but runs large
This dress is beautiful, and I got a ton of compliments! My only negative is that it runs very large. I normally wear a 4, so I ordered a 2 and a 4, but I had to have a 0 sent for my event so that it fit. When it's too large, the panels on the side can slip down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
A unique look
Although this dress has no stretch, it fit perfectly. I didn't use any fashion tape with it, but came close to a couple of "wardrobe malfunctions". :) I'd suggest keeping some tape on hand if you notice it shifting during the night (where the cutouts are, it worked for me, but for some it could be a little iffy - no bra). I loved that it was a little longer than most dresses, so it balanced out the daring sides! Had a little trouble keeping the straps twisted evenly on both sides (one side was tacked better than the other), but no big deal in the overall look. Surprisingly light-weight material.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 21, 2012
Didn't FIT
This runs large! I couldn't even wear the dress because it was way too large on me. My friend wore it, and it was even big on her, so I was a little upset about that, but because it was just for an after party it wasn't a big deal
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
August 3, 2012
Easy to dress up with cute shoes!
I really loved this dress, although it was hard to find a bra that would work with it. I got the 0 and 2 since I read that it ran large, but the 0 was even larger than the 2... hm. So needless to say, I wore the 2. It's a cute dress though. Thin material was great for summer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 14, 2012
Tons of compliments on this dress!
I read that this dress runs large so I ordered the 0. Super sexy and comfy. You can still wear a bra. If you have a larger chest you will need to secure it onto the bra so it doesn't show on the sides.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 22, 2012
Loved but too big
I was very excited to wear this dress and read the reviews about how it ran bigger. That was an understatement. I was very baggy even with the size 0. I still ended up wearing it with some fashion tape because I didn't have another choice being on vacation in vegas. Other than the giant size, the dress was extremely comfortable and flirty. My husband loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2012
Perfect for Vegas
The dress runs a bit big as I usually wear a 4. The cutouts are sexy and adorable and I was able to wear a regular black bra with the dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 6, 2012
The packaging was amazing, and I loved the goody bag! The simplicity of the arrival and return cannot be beat!
This dress is adorable. But did not work for me. I am very slender, and the fabric cutouts hung on my mid-section, it was almost comical. Thank goodness my crafty sister in law is beyond amazing with fashion tape or I would have been in serious trouble. It looked about 2 sizes two big. She was able to pull the entire back in with fashion and two-sided tape and secured it well enough that it lasted through a night on the dance floor with only a few adjustments! I have a decent chest, but it did nothing to up my cleavage - no bra worked and I did not have time to purchase a nu-bra. Because the cutouts were so large around my middle, the straps were very loose and could not pull my chest up (I have implants and they are already perky, but this did nothing to enhance them). All in all I recommend it completely if you have more to fill it out! Not for the super slim. Frst time renting and the experience was wonderful. I will just need to rent teeny tiny body con from now on :-)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 10, 2012
Runs large
This dress runs very large and double sided tape is a must. That said, it was cute and fun to wear, glad I ordered the size 0 for backup though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2012
fun dress
fit is great. Could wear a real bra with it (straps and all). lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress it was so pretty! WARNING: Runs large.
I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 8 was so big; the 6 was just right. It was such a light weight material which made it great to dance in at the reception and I received so many compliments on it! I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Fit great, super comfortable!
Great dress, runs pretty big so definitely order a smaller size!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
this was my back up dress, but ended up not wearing it.
This dress was too big. Didn't fit me well at all, so ended up not wearing it. I usually wear a size 2 or 4. This dress was a 2 and still too big. Especially in the straps (if you're small chested like me, this is a problem). It was also large around this sides. I could have easily taken it in about 1.5 inches on each side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
.
I really wanted to wear this dress but the waist/top cut out part was WAY too big. I ordered the 0 after reading that it runs large and if I had more time I could have fashion taped it to make it fit but I was in a rush that night and sadly couldn't wear it :( it was such a pretty dress and made of great comfy, flowy material but ridiculously loose at the top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Super cute, flattering dress for a night out!
Loved this dress and got lots of compliments while wearing it! Definitely runs small so be sure to order a back up size. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that since it was big on me it was difficult to wear any type of bra and the cutouts didn't lay flat all night. Probably doesn't help I was dancing up a storm :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 2, 2012
Super flattering and comfortable! Would recommend going a size down
Ran a little big, but made it work!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2012
Fun but not too flashy!
I only had a couple issues with this dress - it ran a bit big in the top so I had to wear a bra, which you could clearly see. I tried 3 different ones and you could see them all! The cutouts are in just the right places to flatter a pear shape, and I got tons of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2012
OBSESSED
I have rented this dress 3 times, and I am absolutely obsessed with it. The cut outs are very flattering, as is the flowy skirt. It definitely runs slightly large though, the 4 was perfect for me. Especially because the bust area needs to be fitted, since you cannot wear a bra. I used a little fashion tape on the sides of the bust area to make sure that the dress didn't move at all during the night.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
October 4, 2012
Dress was too big and I couldn't even wear it.
I usually wear a size 4 but after reading other reviews for this dress I ordered a 2 and 0 however the dress was still too big. The sides of the dress hung and didn't fit snug to my waist. There is boning in the dress and for some reason it was curved away from my body instead of with my body. Due to the boning being curved I couldn't not wear a bra because you would see through the side of the dress through to the bottom of my chest. I would not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2012
Fun and flattering dress
I got this dress as a backup for New Years but I ended up wearing the other one. This dress is a adorable and very flattering but it was just a little too revealing for the party I was attending. I normally wear a size 2 but they only had a 0 or 4 available when I rented it but the 0 ended up fitting well so I think it runs a little large. I would definitely rent it again for a vegas trip or bachelorette party.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 19, 2012
The Dress!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity's formal and absolutely loved it! I was worried about the cut outs being too revealing but it ended up being just the right amount of skin. I was also able to wear a normal, black bra with it which was definitely a plus. Loved it overall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2012
This dress is AMAZING!!!! :)
I LOVE this dress!! It looked great, felt great, and looked fabulous. I wore it to my friend's masquerade birthday party and it was a blast to wear and is a good dress if you are looking for something you can dance in. It's a good length: not too long, not too short, and works well without a bra. It runs large, though. I was worried I wouldn't fit into a size two but since the reviews said it runs large I got the zero and the two and wound up in the zero. :) Rent this dress it's FANTASTIC!! P.S. please ignore my strange big brother in the picture :))
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
Super cute!
I really liked this dress. It was very cute and I got lots of compliments. However, the dress was big! The 0 was fine, but I definitely recommend ordering your size and one size down. Also, I have 32C or D's (kinda in between sizes) but I would recommend this to girls with a smaller chest to get this (A or B). The top slit was a little close for comfort.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Too big!
This is a beautiful dress that I rented for homecoming, unfortunately it was way to big and I had to send it back! I am usually a 2 or a 4 and even the size 0 was hanging on me. I wouldn't call myself a tiny or petite person so I was a bit surprised. Just to be safe, I wouldn't rent this if you are a size 2 or smaller. I also wouldn't recommend this for women with smaller busts.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2012
Sexy, easy, fun dress!
I have worn this dress in every color and am OBSESSED with it. I wore the orange to my birthday, the black on New Years eve, and the purple to a friend's birthday. It is the perfect sexy LBD without being TOO sexy because despite the cutouts and low neckline it has a full skirt. This dress runs very big, so even though I'm normally a 4 I wear the 0 every time and it fits perfectly. Probably wouldn't recommend for someone super petite!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 20, 2012
So simple and easy, the dress came really quickly & with everything to send it back!
The dress ran a little large and it's slightly difficult to wear anything underneath it (even a NuBra) but overall it was super comfortable and great to wear with any color shoes or accessories! A little bit longer than I had expected I'd say about mid to lower thigh length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 24, 2012
Disappointment
Not only was this dress HUGE, it looked nothing like the photos... beware. I was really disappointed in the type of fabric. The stock photo is misleading.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
November 26, 2012
I paired the dress with Bagdley Mischka earrings and a curly side pony for a fun formal look
I felt the dress ran a little big, I found the 2 to NBC a little roomy but the zero was a bit too tight so I wore the two. It still was a cute fit although I could not wear a bra.
MoniqueAugust 24, 2013
Wedding
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Definitely helpful to have a free second size!
Was looking for something to rent for my 25 birthday party, but because it was my first time renting I was a little nervous. Since I'm still a student in law school I was also looking for something on the cheaper end! I was happy with how this dress looked, definitely flattered, but wasn't as "stand-out" as I wanted to be for my birthday. Nothing against the dress, just not quite what I was looking for. Also, I am normally a size 4 but actually wore the size 0 for this dress -- definitely size down!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
Fun dress for my bachelorette party!
I rented this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect for the occasion. It was fun, showed a little big of skin, but nothing too crazy. It does run large, so definitely go down a size or two.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×