Pencey

Dance to the Beat Dress

$50 rental
$334 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be that sexy and daring girl at the party by wearing this insane dress by Pencey. Accessorize with edgy jewelry like Chan Luu's Rocker Wrap Bracelet and Dannijo's Liat Collar to finish off the ultimate look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - entire sides and back are exposed with slits
HIPS: Very fitted - jersey fabric is fitted on backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra if worn with fashion tape to secure bra in place- NuBra recommended due to side and back slits
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black jersey. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Cut-out back. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(48)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2012
sexy
my husbad just loved this dress so so much!!! he keep asking me to buy or rent the dress again!!1 super sexy dress. it was almost winter , so i wore the dress with black lacy tights . AMAZING FIT
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 20, 2012
Everyone's jaw dropped when they saw the back of my dress! It was the best.
This was the hottest dress I've ever worn, and everyone loved it! It fit perfectly, and I even got away with wearing a black lace bra underneath it. When the dress occasionally rode up, it looked like the lace was part of the dress and made it even sexier!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2011
Size down, this dress runs big but looks amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2012
Love.
Favorite dress I've ordered from RTR.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
Didn't wear this one...
Not for girls with no boobs - you need something up top to fill out the dress and make the back look right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 21, 2012
Came off like a superstar in this one, all winning!
This dress was so flattering and slimming, my fav rental by far. Loved the material, the cut, the fact that I could wear a regular bra with it. I love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 4, 2012
A weekend in Vegas celebrating our engagement..
This dress was amazing! It fit true to size and I got so many compliments all night! Definitely recommend the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
Amazing dress!
Wore this on the finale of Bachelor Pad 3, I had bought expensize shoes I wanted a hot black dress that was also trendy and would show off the shoes and this dress couldn't have been better. The sleeves are long but I liked that. Thick Jersey material so it doesn't show everything but it's definitely fitted. You need tape so your bra doesnt show but thats about it. Might have to buy this dress, best LBD ever :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 16, 2012
Def make sure your wearing spanx...Not as flattering on the belly as I would have liked!
Overall awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2012
Great twist on LBD! It was a crowd favorite - I wish I could buy it!
Better to plan on wearing this without a bra. It goes up kind of high in the back to the point where a bra shows.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2011
Love this dress! Can be worn with tights to make it not so revealing. Runs true to size and fabric is very stretchy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2011
Great dress! I normally wear a size 4, but I ended up wearing a size 2 in this. The cut outs fit better with the smaller size and the sleeves weren't as long. Length was perfect and I was able to wear a regular bra even with the fun back. Definitely pair this with a big necklace.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 6, 2011
I wore this in Vegas, and since the weather wasn't super warm, this dress was perfect. I wore it with some leopard tights and heels. Really cute.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
May 3, 2011
I loved this dress so much that I am considering renting again (with a different crowd/in a different city, of course). My typical size is 0/2, and I wore the 0 for a more form-fitting look and shorter sleeves. It caught me a lot of random attention. I think the bare back is what makes it sexy, even though the back of my strapless bra was showing. It wasn't too long or short, and can be easily hiked up to a particular length if you like. Easy to move around and great for use on the dance floor. Don't hesitate on this dress cause of the long sleeves; it accentuated the slim look even more.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2011
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to my friend's prom and I thought it looked great; it was super flattering. It is super short though and I did have some people say I looked trashy (but harsher). I'd still get it again, it made me look great. Arms were long on me though, which wasn't a problem but I have really long arms.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 14, 2011
This picture doesn't do the dress justice -it's straight up unbelievable. Really flattering and somehow classy despite the amount of skin that's shown.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2011
I'm a 32B, 115lbs and all legs. I'm usually a small in Bebe dresses or size 2 in juniors but rented a size 0 according to other reviews and it fit beautifully. This dress got lots of compliments throughout the night. I have a tattoo up my side and it gave a peek-a-boo show but didn't reveal too much. Definitely worth renting! http://bit.ly/ku2L6Y
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 23, 2011
I just received this dress today and I tried it on (I ordered a 2 and a 4, although i'm usually a 4 I am definitely going with the 2) and I don't want to part ways with it! It is so sexy, flattering, comfortable and conservative all at the same time. I DEFINITELY recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 13, 2011
I wasn't in love with this dress. It was too big in the top for me (length wise) with my petite frame. But it's a great choice if your looking for something "backless" that you can wear with a normal bra.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2011
Wore this dress on a night out in Vegas. Very sexy and flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 6, 2011
The dress was amazing. Everywhere we went, I was complimented.
I wore this out for a friends birthday and it was perfect! Both the 0 and 2 fit but I went with the 0 because the sleeves were a bit shorter and it fit a little better with the cut out in the back. The fabric is very stretchy and form fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
Very pretty sexy dress needs to be worn to a fun event and for sure the right crowd. I would rent it again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2011
This dress is beautiful. The sleeves are a bit tight and long and the length is perfect. I have love handles so I felt weird showing my back, but this dress is nice.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
I rented this dress for my birthday and it looked great. Most reviews said this dress ran large but I found it to run a bit small. Not sure if it's because I have a large bust but smaller waist/hips that it fit weird. Anyway, I ended up ordering a 4 and 6 (I'm usually in between sizes) and the 6 fit perfectly. Very cute and you can wear a strapless bra with it too!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2011
This dress is very sexy! It is very form fitting and short. I was a little self-conscious. I paired it with tights as another reviewer mentioned and that toned down the dress and the fact that it is sooooo short. When I walked it just covered my crotch, and I am not that tall! You also need the tape that RTR sends with the dress. They forgot it with my order and my bra kept popping out in the back.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2011
.
This dress looks so good on and is very comfortable. I will be wearing it to an event tomorrow and I'm pretty nervous because it tends to ride up as you walk and it's already so short. I wouldn't really recommend this dress for a night out dancing or doing something where you'll be moving around a lot, because like I said it does ride up and just doesn't stay in place overall very well. Although this may be because I needed a 2 instead of a 4, it was unavailable at the time. Definitely go with the smaller size because you want it to fit closer to your skin to keep it from moving around so much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2011
fab party dress
Must have for a super hot and sexy fit, the material feels amazing and is pretty comfortable I would recommend to anyone
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 1, 2011
My boyfriend loved the dress and the cut out was perfect for a party.
The dress was perfect. I could wear a normal bra with it. Only down side was the dress slide up at times revealing my bra, but I wore a black one and you couldn't tell. Overall best LBD ever.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2011
Everyone was drooling over this dress!
Such an insanely hot dress! Wore out to friends birthday party. Can wear a bra which is a perk. Watch out for panty lines. Go with RTR's commando panties.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2012
Every where we went that night people said "I love your dress!"
I loved this dress and got tons of compliments on it! Fits true to size (i wear 2-4 and chose the 4) although I would suggest some double stick tape to hide your bra. Material is super comfortable and easy to move in. I would buy this dress that is how much I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 23, 2012
Hot Hot HOT
I wore this dress out in Vegas and got so many compliments! I am 5'5, 105 lbs and I wore the XS, which fit perfectly. It's not too short and I liked the cinching on the sides (over the thigh area). The sleeves were tight, but not in a bad way. The cutout in the back is large (which I loved), but I was still able to wear a regular bra with it. Pair with a statement necklace, some bright heels and/or bag and all eyes will be on you!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 1, 2012
AMAZING Dress!!!!
I wore this dress for a birthday party at an NYC hotel penthouse. Perfect dress for this kind of venue - and I got compliments all night!! Super sexy, easy to wear, and you can wear a bra with it! LOVE.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2012
So cute, so comfortable!
I wore this for my birthday last year, and it was the perfect dress. It was so comfortable and all though the skirt rode up every once in a while, (too much dancing!) I absolutely loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
July 14, 2012
I just love when I wear something and I KNOW its hot before the 1st compliment is given...this dress ooozes sexy thx again RTR!! xoxx
my 1st look for the night of events celebrating my 30 (yes...incase my face doesn't tell you- I was feeling FINE from the wine) this dress ROCKED!!! It fit like a glove and the compliments from strangers poured all night! I loved this dress and would rent again! Being able to wear a bra was extra great too! The sleeve are a little long, but the rouching that occurs gives the dress an added touch of texture.
GenesisMarch 17, 2013
U are my size.. N there is only sizes 4 & 6, i usual wear a 2, but a 4 will work? It fit perfect?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
August 10, 2012
Cute, but wasn't built for me.
I rented this dress for one of the nights out when I was in Vegas. I loved the quality and style, but it didn't fit right. The arms were too tight, and the back rose up too much and exposed my bra very obviously. I can't go w/o a bra, so this was a no go for me. I absolutely loved it and disappointed it didn't fit, but RTR has a great return policy so it wasn't an issue. I just wore a dress I already owned for my night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2012
super cute, but long torso
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's birthday party. I was so excited for it, however I was unable to wear it because the torso was very long for my short little body. I am 5'2" and usually wear a size 2, but in the size 0 in this dress, the cutouts were at my hip bones! Definitely too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Perfect for bachelorette party
Great dress for bachelorette night out. A little difficult to wear without a bra showing in the back but other than that it was a lot of fun. It's pretty slinky material (almost like bathing suit/shiny spanx material) but not too short that I felt totally exposed. If you're leaning towards renting it I say do it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2013
GREAT DRESS!!
I loved this dress. I wore it out for my birthday and got so many compliments. It's a nice little twist on a little black dress. I decided to wear the dress in a 4 when I'm usually a 6. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 30, 2013
The perfect dress for NYE 2012, It fit great, and I got compliments all night long!
I was out for New Years Eve/my birthday so I wanted to look different and fabulous and I think I nailed it with this dress! With the side slits and the back open you feel just the right amount of sexy . I got compliments from guys and girls all night long, and I would definitely reccomend this dress to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2013
Sexy and chic twist on the LBD
OVERALL REVIEW: I wore this dress for my birthday and it couldn't have been more perfect. I wanted something that looked classy and chic, yet sexy and this dress hits all points. I paired it with the Pirate Treasure Necklace by RJ Graziano. UNDERGARMENTS: Others have complained about what bra to use but I didn't have a problem at all (and I'm well endowed!). I wore a regular black bra (just in case the dress rode up around the cut outs and my bra became exposed - although that was never an issue). What I did was shorten the straps as far as they could go so the back part of the bra band was much higher on my back than usual. This way, the top of the opening in the back didn't expose my bra. Simple solution - no need for NuBras! I will say that I chose to go commando, but that's not entirely necessary. You'd probably be fine with a good pair of no-show panties. Also, the length was likely a little longer on me than most, since I'm on the short side, so taller girls probably wouldn't feel comfortable without underwear. Others have mentioned the need for shapewear. I didn't feel I needed it because the rouching in the front of the dress is very flattering and forgiving. SIZE/FIT: Overall, the size seemed perfect. I'm usually between a 2/4 in dresses and while I could have probably gotten away with the 2, the 4 seemed to cling in all the right places without being skintight and unflattering. As others have said, the sleeves are very long (note: I have short arms), but they just bunch a bit at the bottom, making them look rouched like the front of the dress. So not an issue at all. From the front, the cutouts are perfectly sized so you're not showing too much skin. The back is obviously exposed, but not at all in a trashy way. The material of the dress itself was incredibly comfortable (it's a little thicker than jersey).
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×