Pencey

Dance to the Beat Dress

$50 rental
$334 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be that sexy and daring girl at the party by wearing this insane dress by Pencey. Accessorize with edgy jewelry like Chan Luu's Rocker Wrap Bracelet and Dannijo's Liat Collar to finish off the ultimate look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - entire sides and back are exposed with slits
HIPS: Very fitted - jersey fabric is fitted on backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra if worn with fashion tape to secure bra in place- NuBra recommended due to side and back slits
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black jersey. Crew neckline. Long sleeves. Cut-out back. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(48)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 30, 2013
The perfect dress for NYE 2012, It fit great, and I got compliments all night long!

I was out for New Years Eve/my birthday so I wanted to look different and fabulous and I think I nailed it with this dress! With the side slits and the back open you feel just the right amount of sexy . I got compliments from guys and girls all night long, and I would definitely reccomend this dress to anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2013
Sexy and chic twist on the LBD

OVERALL REVIEW: I wore this dress for my birthday and it couldn't have been more perfect. I wanted something that looked classy and chic, yet sexy and this dress hits all points. I paired it with the Pirate Treasure Necklace by RJ Graziano. UNDERGARMENTS: Others have complained about what bra to use but I didn't have a problem at all (and I'm well endowed!). I wore a regular black bra (just in case the dress rode up around the cut outs and my bra became exposed - although that was never an issue). What I did was shorten the straps as far as they could go so the back part of the bra band was much higher on my back than usual. This way, the top of the opening in the back didn't expose my bra. Simple solution - no need for NuBras! I will say that I chose to go commando, but that's not entirely necessary. You'd probably be fine with a good pair of no-show panties. Also, the length was likely a little longer on me than most, since I'm on the short side, so taller girls probably wouldn't feel comfortable without underwear. Others have mentioned the need for shapewear. I didn't feel I needed it because the rouching in the front of the dress is very flattering and forgiving. SIZE/FIT: Overall, the size seemed perfect. I'm usually between a 2/4 in dresses and while I could have probably gotten away with the 2, the 4 seemed to cling in all the right places without being skintight and unflattering. As others have said, the sleeves are very long (note: I have short arms), but they just bunch a bit at the bottom, making them look rouched like the front of the dress. So not an issue at all. From the front, the cutouts are perfectly sized so you're not showing too much skin. The back is obviously exposed, but not at all in a trashy way. The material of the dress itself was incredibly comfortable (it's a little thicker than jersey).

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
I felt GREAT in this dress!

The dress fit perfectly, runs true to size. The dress is sexy in an understated way. One tip is that you definitely can't wear a bra with it though, so if that is something that concerns you then I definitely would not rent this dress. Otherwise, it's great! I loved it so much that I bought it online in blue (they aren't selling the black anymore).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2013
The dress was amazing! I rented it for my bachelorette party and I got compliments all night long!!

I was looking for the perfect lbd for my bachelorette party. After reading the other testimonials on fit and shape, I decided to go with a size 4 (which is what I usally wear). I'm tall, so I wasn't sure if the dress was going to be long enough or where the cutouts would hit on my back. The dress came the night before the party and I didn't have a backup so I was nervous. I ordered a backup size of 6, just incase the dress ran small. I tried on the 6 first, and it was a little baggy. I tried on the size 4 and it was perfect! For being as tall as I am, the dress is super stretchy and came to about 3 inches above my knee. The back cutouts were just the right amount of sexy, without being too flashy. I wore a normal bra with this dress, I just shortened the straps. I also work seamless underwear, and you couldn't see any lines. Obviously the more you move, the more the dress rides up, but it was never to the point where it was uncomfortable or annoying. I am going to Vegas in a few weeks, and I will definitely be renting this dress again!!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2014
I got a ton of compliments on this dress. So comfortable and fit like a glove.

I got a ton of compliments on this dress. So comfortable and fit like a glove.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2014
the dress.

Fit perfectly.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2014
Loved the dress - fit great and very comfortable!

I wore this dress to a charity event a week after having a breast reduction, so I had to wear a grandma bra and needed a dress that could cover it up and still look cute. This dress was perfect for what I needed. Super comfortable and got lots of compliments. The fit was true to size. My only advice is to use fabric tape (or wear a black bra) since it did sometimes ride up a tiny bit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 7, 2011

Loved this dress.Looked adorable.Fit perfect.Was very comfortable too.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2011

This dress was amazing! A true show-stopper that was also very comfortable. Great for date night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
A night of fun with my best friends!

I wore this dress to a birthday party in NYC in March and I would buy this dress to have and wear over and over again - I loved it. It is a perfect LBD with a little special detail. I love that it is backless but you can wear a normal bra with it, and the length was perfect (it is gathered on the sides).

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was amazing! So comfortable and looked great on...wish I had a full body shot of it!

The bra situation was a little tough but found a great backless stick on bra and made it work. Highly recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
HOT!

I rented this dress for my 10 year high school reunion. At first I was a bit intimidated because it is pretty revealing for my taste, but I made it out of the house! I felt great in this dress and would totally rent it again. I loved the cut outs, it shows just enough! I am pretty tall and teh dress rides up a bit, so I didnt find myself pulling it down quite a bit.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 9, 2012
Loved the dress, got SO many compliments! Just wish I could keep it now!

The dress is a little tight in the stomach and it started to ride up a bit when I was walking around but it wasn't anything I couldn't handle. Some other reviews mention wearing spanx but I didn't and I felt fine. It was also hard finding a bra to wear because the top part cuts off too high to wear a normal bra so I ended up having to go without one. I wore the dress to my sorority's christmas party which is usually pretty formal and even though the dress itself isn't super formal I was able to dress it up with nice jewelry, also from RTR. I got so many compliments including some from sisters of other chapters. It's super cute and really comfy. I absolutely loved the dress and would definitely rent it again in the future.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2013
I felt like the belle of the ball at my 21st birthday party!

The dress fit perfectly! The material was great because it was thick enough to hide minor imperfections, while still being comfortable. I was a little nervous when I first tried it on, because the back seemed more open than I thought it would be. I also had to wear a NuBra because a regular bra showed in the back. However, I still felt great! This dress was AMAZING and I would absolutely rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2011

I wouldn't recommend this for someone with broad shoulders like myself. I really needed the smaller size but couldn't fit it because I am too broad across the chest. The dress is extremely comfortable, but be warned the material is thin. I wore this to Vegas and still felt kinda naked.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
May 26, 2011

LOVED the dress, BUT read on...I wore this dress to a bachelorette party and I looked amazing. The fit was perfect, sexy cut, and I didn't have to worry about adjusting it all night. HOWEVER, when the size 2 and size 4 arrived they smelled HORRIBLE. I guess since it is a longsleeve dress the girls before me were very sweaty, but it smelled like a football player wore it with game pads on. I had to febreeze it twice and stuff dryer sheets in the pits and let it sit for a day and night before it was any better. I am sure RTR drycleaned them, but they really needed a thorough washing. It would have been nice if someone had noticed the stench before sending it to me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
June 15, 2012
Ridiculously hot

If I were five years younger and still had a social life, I would buy this in a heartbeat. It is seriously sexy and very comfortable. Perfect for a pear or hourglass figure. I ordered the dress in my normal size and loved the fit and length. Had I ordered down, I think the tighter and shorter fit would have been too much with the cut-outs. Only problem: the dress bunched up throughout the night. Simply pulling down on the hem of the dress didn't solve the issue -- the skirt sprung right back up. I guess you have to work the fabric from the top of the skirt down through the ruching to lengthen it again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2012
4/5

Runs a little short (I'm 5'9") and while the 0 fit my waist better I had to go with the two for length. Even then it was a little short, a little above mid-thigh.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 31, 2013
Absolutely Loved This Dress!

Simple and sexy. Several people asked me where I got it and complimented the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!

I loved this so much I wanted to keep it. Classy yet sexy. Loved the open back cut.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×