Pencey

Butterfly Kisses Dress

$45 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

93 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 27
Large 63
Photos 53
Shannon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2012

Perfection!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and loved it! This was my first rental from RTR and I am hooked! Not only was the dress beautiful, the fit was phenominal and the reviews from the other gals were extremely helpful! Yes the dress runs large and the side cut outs could show potential "underboobage" but nothing a little fashion tape couldnt fix! Thanks RTR...i will def. spread the word!
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 23, 2012

Love! Feminine, Sassy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented for a college fraternity formal on a boat. Silky fabric was definitely formal enough, but the side cutouts made it a little flirty, perfect for the event. The cutouts are small and subtle though, and the neckline is not as low-cut as it looks in the photo; so if you want something super sexy, this is not the right dress for you. Runs a bit large, as reviewers have said. I went one size down for my backup size, and it fit perfectly (normally I wear a 6, but the 4 was better). The straps show off toned shoulders and arms, the ruched torso emphasizes a small waist, and the full skirt hides wide hips or large thighs. Fabric is thin and light, kept me cool despite 80+ degree heat at the beginning of the evening. Length was long enough that I didn't need to worry about bending over, but short enough to be sassy & classified as "mini". The twists on the straps become a little untwisted over time, but just a little and you can easily twirl them back.
Chloe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

The cute outs made a really cute dress a little sexier

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really well. It is way prettier on than on the hanger. I didn't have a problem with my bra showing, just wear a strapless one and you will be fine.
Damara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Fun and Flirty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress. I loved the fit. The cutouts on the side make in sexy and flirty but the mid thigh length makes it dressy enough for a wedding. I wore this with a strapless bra
Viv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Aug 20, 2012

Cute and Sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a sorority formal and it fit perfectly! The dress itself it super cute and the cutouts give it a little edge, which I loved! The only tricky part was the bra situation. My strapless bra kept sneaking out, but double-sided tape definitely helped!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 22, 2012

I received a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a bridal shower. I am typically a 4 or a 6 but i read the reviews and orders a 4 and a 2. They only sent the 2 but it worked out because it fit great.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

I've never been told so many times how LITTLE I looked! This made me feel amazing.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love to dress up, and this is the perfect dress to rent if you're looking to try cut-outs. I don't usually wear tight dresses with cut-outs so this was a perfect balance in between scandalous and tight on the top, with an A-line skirt that was very flattering.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 8, 2012

Average rental

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Really cute dress but runs REALLY large. I usually wear a 4-6, (more on the 4 end 6 only for butt-hugging dresses) and I got a 0 and it was still a little big! I managed to make it work with some dress tape in places, but without it the dress would buckle out at the neck and the waist band on the sides drooped. I was cute and I got compliments, but not the best fit... especially if you're any smaller than me. (34'-25-38' last time I checked)
Rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I got so many compliments and the cut-outs made it cute and sexy but not over-the-top!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit! I got the four just in case but the smaller size was better- I didn't have to worry about falling out- which is good since I had to go sans bra! I'm about 34C so I was concerned about that but didn't have any problems with the girls ;)
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Comfy and Chic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a friend's bday dinner/night out. It's very comfy, though the dress ran a tad big. RTR as always has great customer service and I actually fell in love with the dress from trying it on at their showroom in NYC.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Loved this dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am usually a size 4 in dresses so I rented a size 4 and size 2 since so many of the reviewers have commented on how large it runs. I ended up wearing the size 2 and probably could have gone down to a size 0. The dress was a success and I will definitely use Rent the Runway again:)
korrin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Fall Homecoming

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my fall homecoming and everyone loved it! I got compliments about every aspect: the cut-outs, color and florals on it. I felt comfortable and beautiful in my dress which to me, is the most important part about a dress!
Jin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

literally every single person i saw complemented the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it runs a bit large and the ribbing kept it from laying flat against my ribcage, but the cutouts on the side are perfectly placed and so, so flattering! wore it with a nu bra and didn't have to worry about mishaps all night. loved that it wasn't supershort- kept it on the classy side of sexy. paired it with a dark blue leather jacket and sky high pumps and went from a birthday dinner to a club, then to a house party! this dress fit in perfectly at all three places. i absolutely recommend that you rent it.
Hayley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 20, 2013

I wore this for a senior formal and absolutely loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable and flattering and fits pretty true to size. Such a cute dress!
meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit like a glove, except under the boobs where the first slit is.... overall it looked great and wasr rally comfortable!
TaTa12
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Such a FUN dress! The length was great, neckline too, the slits were just a pop of excitement.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Fashion tape is needed unless you don't mind the occassional under-boob pop out. The 4 fit and slits were a little smaller (b/c the waist sat a little higher) ... the 6 waist fell closer to my hips. Simple jewelry was perfect.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 20, 2013

This dress made me feel GREAT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had been looking at this dress for a long time and I was so happy with my choice! It definitely does run large, even with the right size the cutouts were still loose. I loved the pattern on the dress and it was so comfortable. I would recommend wearing a strapless bra though. Overall, wonderful dress, unforgettable night.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 1, 2013

This dress was extremely flattering and I got a lot of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very comfortable and runs a little large. I did try on the size 6, but the straps kept falling off my shoulders. Overall I loved the dress and I wish I didn't have to send it back!
MKP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 6, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Rented this for our date weekend out of town, and complete strangers made a point to come up and compliment me on it! I found it to be a tad larger than most 0's are - but a hidden safety pin at the back was all I needed to make it a tad more snug. I loved renting it!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 29, 2013

Great dress for vacation!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I spent the Memorial Day weekend with my husband in DC, and decided on a whim to rent a dress for the day. Loved this one - it was a little chilly on the day I wore it, but it was perfect with a cardigan and pashmina! The cutouts made it where I couldn't wear a bra without it showing, but I felt fully supported (and I'm a 34-D). I could have worn the 4 or the 6, but the 4 provided much more support (in the 6 i was afraid I'd provide a show through the cutouts). Definitely would rent again!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Wish I could've had two size options on this one

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress - especially the fabric and print - but the cutouts just did not sit right on me. I ordered it as my second $25 option (so I didn't have the option to order 2 sizes) for a wedding and ended up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner. I think the 4 would have fit much better for the sake of the cutouts.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

flirty without being too much for a girl's night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this as for o a 1920s Great Gatsby viewing party. I thought the dress was great, although I did have to use fashion tape to make sure the top cut out didn't overexpose me. The dress was light and flowy at the bottom and was great to wear!
angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Comfy breezy dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have only give 4 stars to this beautiful dress just only because it was a bit long from what i expected. But other than that... super comfortable.. the pockets were really convenient for the quick trip to the bathroom to retouch the lipstick w/o having to carry my whole clutch. Got a lot compliments. Great dress overall. Love your amazing service RTR. looking forward to play dress up again. Angie C
Noni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 18, 2013

Super Cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a daytime wedding in Las Vegas, and the lightweight material was perfect for the 109 degree day! The dress runs large. I normally wear a size 2 and the 0 was great, though I wish the cutouts would have hugged my waist more. I also had to use fashion tape to make sure I was fully covered under my bust. Despite these very small issues, I loved the dress. It was fun, easy, but had a little sex appeal as well.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Wish I could have purchased this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for my sister-in-law's wedding in Las Vegas. Since Elvis would be performing the ceremony, I needed something fun but still wedding appropriate. This dress was PERFECT! I am VERY pear shaped and this dress hugged all the right things and minimized my hips/butt. Very comfortable and lightweight (it was 106 degrees in Vegas...). I got compliments all night from family and guests! Runs very small. I usually wear a 4-6 and rented this dress in a 0 and 4 (no 2s available). The 4 was really not much bigger than the 0, but the 0 felt perfect in the chest and torso, so I went with it (and felt great about wearing a size 0 again!). Definitely recommend this dress, and REALLY wish I could have bought it!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 15, 2013

Flirty and sexy and versatile. Really wish I could own this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a casual dinner rehearsal for a wedding. Loved it! I wore a normal bra although it did peak out the top slit at times...a smaller busted girl may not have issues. I ordered the 2 and the 4 and I honestly couldn't tell the difference between the two. So, it fit true for a 4, but big for a 2. Overall, great dress!
Isis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Flirty and fun dress. The size 0 is more like a size 6.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! To help with fit, my measurements are 34DD(if u measure around my bust its 35)-27-39 and I wore a size 0 and IT FIT PERFECTLY. I have never, ever worn a size zero in my life. But this was perfect. I didn't have to tape anything and the cut-outs fell perfectly as on the model. And my waist is between 27 and 27.5. I wore this to dinner with a cropped leather jacket and combat boots. It is not for a formal affair, as it has a more party or semi-casual feel (because of the material and the cut-outs). I also didn't have to wear a bra and it cupped and supported my bust beautifully.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress ended up looking great and is a beautiful dress/fabric, however, it was not without a lot of work. I had to safety pin it in several locations to get it to fit since it runs so large. I had read other reviews on here saying it ran big but I had no idea it would be that much bigger! Thank goodness I am skilled with a safety pin :) Even after safety pinning it in several spots, it was somewhat obvious if you really looked at it (fabric was bunching where I folded it, you could see the fabric not line up). Dress is still very pretty but if you want a good fit, this is dress may not be it.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Lovely pattern. Comfortable material. Watch your girls!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited when I saw this dress. I am a huge fan of floral, so I thought it was perfect - especially with the cuts on the sides! It's also super comfortable. The only issue I had with it was that I thought that my bra was going to show near the slits if I moved too much, but I was fine. I got sizes 2 and 4, thinking 4 would be fine because that's what I usually am, but the 2 was perfect! I matched it with a pair of coral peep toe pumps. Can I just buy it? I want to wear it all the time!
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Such a fun dress to wear and so comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has been my absolute favorite. It was the perfect dress to wear to any event and so comfortable. The pros-it fit true to size with a little room in the rib cage area. The cons were that the strings used to hang up the dress kept coming through the side slits. If I owned the dress I probably would have cut them off. The size I wore was a 6, but I feel like I could have worn a 4 in it.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Gorgeous dress, Great fit, Lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for the rehearsal dinner of a wedding that I was in. It was a total hit. I wore the smaller size so that the cutouts hit in the right spots, but I had to go bra-less (the bra would have completely shown).
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2014

I was kinda disappointed when it arrived!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It ran very very big if should of got a 4 or even a 2. The only way to make this fit better was to pin it. It looks gorgeous on the girl but on me, don't think I could pull it off! I suggest getting the size you wear an a size smaller.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
May 12, 2014

Love this dress - sweet and cute, but not overly so because of cut outs.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 2 and 4. The size 2 was a bit short (waist line hit above my waist since my torso is long), but it hid my bra better. The size 4, overall fit better, but I had to tug the dress a few times to conceal my bra from peeking out of the cut outs. Regardless, none of this was problematic. I loved the dress. I like the subtle style of it, except for the cut outs, which added just enough flare/edge/attention, and it was very light and comfortable.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 25, 2014

Perfect for a Sunday garden wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: it has pockets!! It was cute, light, and fit the occasion perfectly Cons: it runs HUGE, and the first cut out showed a little bit of underboob on me! Overall, I liked it, got compliments, and it was super comfy
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Great fit; lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding. I'm only 5'2", and even with heels, the slits weren't too revealing.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 12, 2014

Perfect dress for a hot August day on the East Coast!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Both sizes fit comfortable but given the location of the cut outs the smaller size did a better job of hiding certain body parts. I definitely would rent this again and this dress led to at least 2 other friends renting from RTR now.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

A lot of fun, loved the cut-outs!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was loose. I had to pin the fabric above the cut-outs to my bra. But it was super cute once I got it pinned.
Janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Lightweight, flowy and subtly sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was another WIN for RTR! The dress definitely runs large. I usually wear a 4. I could have worn a 0. The 2 fit great in my waist but the chest area was a bit loose at the top, exposing my chest if I bent down, so I recommend fashion tape. I wore a Nu Bra with it since you cannot wear a regular bra due to the cut outs. It was a very comfortable dress to wear all night, lightweight and gave a sexy feel without feeling vampy, which made it wedding appropriate. I'm 5'2" and it was a good length, so if you are on the taller side, I'd be cautious.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 7, 2014

This dress was so fun to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 6, the size 4 fit much better. The dress just needed a little fashion tape and I wore a strapless bra without anything showing. It was super comfortable and easy to move it. I wish the color would have been more vibrant- it seemed a bit worn and faded.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Great dress for a summer date!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress! Neat design. Goes great with gold jewelry!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×