Opening Ceremony

Against Playground Rules Dress

$75 rental
$550 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be that daring but flirty fashionista when you walk into the party wearing this eyelet Opening Ceremony dress. Short and cute to bring out your inner sporty girl.Go with a flirty necklace like the kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace to play up your style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra (nude undergarments recommended)
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra (nude undergarments recommended; no slip under eyelets)
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White cotton eyelet. Boat neckline. Scalloped hemline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
March 10, 2012
didnt fit
it was not made for someone my size. it was too long, too big, just did not look good on me at all. i couldnt wear it. It wasnt the dress's fault. Im just very small.
JOIE0628March 23, 2012
i read your review after ordering this dress and it freaked me out (all for no reason). turns out, the dress just arrived and i completely disagree with you. i am smaller than you, about 4'11 and 95 pounds and an A-sized bust. it is SLIGHTLY loose at the top and in the waist, but it's nothing a cute colorful belt can't fix. i added one to cinch the waist in and it's perfect. the length is great too (by no means does it look like it does on the on the 6 foot model of course) but it hits about an inch or two above my knee when belted. LOVE THIS DRESS and so happy i don't have to send it back and search for a new dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 26, 2012
Rustic Chic Engagment Session
This dress does run a little large, but I found that because my bust is a 34C, I couldn't go down to the size XS. I embraced the fit wasn't as fit to the waist, but if it bothered someone, they could always add a belt. It really was the perfect dress to create the romantic, rustic look I wanted for my engagement session with my fiance. You can see photos at this blog post: http://www.mariannewilsonblog.com/tiffany-bryan-baseball-diamond-and-rustic-shoot/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 19, 2012
The white dress was bridal and the eyelets, scalloped hem, and brown accessories was just the "farm casual" look I was going for! It fit perfectly at my barn wedding rehearsal. My dad said I looked like a pixie bride!
This dress is so cute, but I think it runs slightly large. I ordered a S because I was worried an XS would be too small in the bust (I'm a large C/small D), but the S ended up being too large in the waist and gapped a bit at the shoulders. I wish I'd had the backup size! But I belted it and it worked out really well - my bridesmaids even said it just looked better with a pop of color definition at the waist, even if it had fit well. The length is short, but thats how I like it, its great for short girls like me. The material is thick enough that it isn't technically see-through, but I did feel like it was necessary to wear a slip/shorts underneath because the skirt was so swingy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Rent the Runway, once again, delivers on everything.
I rented this for a day I knew I was going to spend outside in the sun with my boyfriend for hours. The size I wanted (M) wasn't available for the dates I needed, but I went ahead and ordered the large thinking it'd probably be close to fitting and I could cinch in the waist with a belt, and against the rest of the billowing it'd make my waist look even smaller. However, when I received the dress, every aspect of it was huge on me so I couldn't even do that. The dress is gorgeous. It's the epitome of a perfect white sundress in crisp cotton. Even with the eyelet patterns (which are super adorable in person) you could probably get away with wearing a matte nude (whatever color your nude may be) bra, or strapless bra. The skirt is fuller than most, but it offsets the shortness of the skirt and see-through eyelets in a really nice way. I'll probably re-order this in a small or medium.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 19, 2013
Loved the white and details
It is very short and because it's not fitted, you need to be mindful of it. I usually wear an 8/10 and the dress was large. I had tried to order a back up medium but they were out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2013
Cute for casual!
Cute dress but the fabric looks kind of cheap in person and I had to wear a belt to bring it in at the waist since it was pretty large on me. I would only recommend this for a very casual event, and even then there might be better options...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 12, 2012
Too Short
This was my back-up dress that I was going to wear, and ended up being way to short. I'm a size XS/S and felt it was uncomfortably short and see through. I'm 5'3".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 14, 2012
OK dress...
I was really excited about wearing this dress for my sorority's pref day. Many of the comments said you don't need to wear anything under it, but I think you definitely do. If I had rented this for an outdoor event, I probably wouldn't have worn it because I'd be too nervous it would be see through in the sun. Also, this dress has clearly been rented too many times this summer. It arrived with a spot of dirt or something on the left chest and one of the cutouts was ripped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
October 5, 2012
The flare skirt and sheath top are very flattering.
Runs a bit small, so order one size up. Also is unlined, so consider a nude slip underneath.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 6, 2013
Unfortunately did work :(
I rented this dress for my college graduation and it looks great on the model! However... It is very short, I am 5'8 and it barely hit me mid thigh. Also the top is see thru so I did not know what you could wear under it to fix that because a bra and a bandeau just didnt seem fitting to this occasion. Wish I could say it was great! :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2013
LOVE THE DRESS, WISH I DIDNT HAVE TO SEND IT BACK!
I have been wanting to rent this dress for the longest time and am so sad to have to send it back! Based on the reviews I ordered a small, but the dress has NO stretch so I could barely zipper it over my chest. While some people say it is good for a chest, I have to disagree. I would size up not down in this dress if you go for a back up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
May 11, 2013
The most amazing graduation dress!
I rented this super cute dress for my graduate school graduation. Although it ended up being unseasonably cold and rainy, this dress would have been ideal to keep cool under the hot and humid Southern sun. The fabric is thick enough so that it doesn't feel cheap or like you're going to show anything, but still manages to be breezy and comfortable. I wore a nude colored slip underneath just in case, but you probably could get away without one. I just found that the eyelet holes were larger than I expected and you could see a bit of my bra through them. The small was the absolute perfect size, but word to the wise -- if you are a messy eater, eat breakfast before you put on a white dress! So I had to squeeze myself into the XS, which worked OK but was a lot less comfortable. I was surprised at how tight the armholes were. Lastly, the length of the dress was pretty short, but not obscenely so on someone of my height (5'3"). Overall, amazing dress, would absolutely rent it again for a bridal shower, horse race, or anything like that.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2013
Too Short!
I wasn't impressed with the quality of the dress. The eyelets were not lined making the bust area see through. It also was shockingly short, I'm 5'6 and the small did not cover me at all. Luckily it was my back up so I didn't have to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2013
This was a see through dress that came up to my hips.
It was WAY too short (and I'm short) and the whole top part is see-through. I did not end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
Not for the Large Chested of us...
I couldn't even get close to zipping it up with my Cs. But the rest of the dress would have been way to large... but if you're an A or B cup girl - this dress is adorable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 14, 2013
It was too small and revealing.
I wasn't able to wear it because both sizes did not fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
Loved the dress but the zipper would get stuck every time I zipped it up.
Dress fit perfectly the only thing was the zipper constantly for stuck from it being worn I guess previously. But definitely would recommend this dress I wore this for my graduation :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2014
Perfect for the occasion!
I wore this dress for my sailor's homecoming. It was perfect because it is made for a more informal occasion. I wore it with a gold belt, gold sandals, and a navy blue cardigan. I felt beautiful and comfortable. As other people mentioned the dress is very short and I wouldn't recommend it for taller women :)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2015
I won Senior Homecoming Queen and this dress made me feel like true royalty :)
A little short // simple, yet elegant // great dress for an event in the summer
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
June 13, 2013
The white dress was perfect for a summer party! Sweet and fun!
The baby doll style of the dress was perfect with or without a belt. The dress was a little short, especially if you're tall, so heels probably wouldn't be a good idea if you're on the taller side. I loved the dress for my birthday and it can be dressed up or down!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
Adorable, but had a bum zipper
I absolutely adored this dress! I rented it for a vacation to Cape Cod and it was the perfect way to dress up a casual beach evening. My only issue was the zipper - which was busted. I was able to make it work (with a little help) but I'm sure this was an issue with my dress specifically - not across all available. Overall, I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 14, 2012
Fun, flirty dress
Great dress... fun & flirty. You'll need a slip underneath it though. I purchased a slim, nude slip and it turned out to be a perfect dress for a white party I attended.
EllieMarch 18, 2012
Was it really see through? Also I am the same height where did it come mid thigh or was it long?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2012
perfect fit
short but that's how it's supposed to fit, was tight in all the right places and extremely flattering. it has a high neck so looked great being a little short. flared out just enough, not too much. wore it with black strappy wedges, looks great with a tan!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2012
Love RTR
I rented this for my school's Alumni Weekend and it was perfect for this. Lots of compliments! Someone reviewed that they had to wear a slip but I just wore a nude bra and underwear and it was fine even outside in the sun. I wore it with Jack Rogers during the day, but would've looked nice with wedges too. Really cute!
youcMay 8, 2012
do you think this will be long on me? i'm 5"2.
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Uracha, this dress is 34'' from shoulder to hem so it will be a bit longer on you than pictured.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 22, 2012
People really liked the dress and I felt really good wearing it. It wasn't too revealing and I felt comfortable in it
I liked the dress a lot. I loved the material, it wasn't too thin. I'm 5'5 and the dress was not too short. The boat neck does create a little bump in the front and in the back. The material wasn't see through. If you wear a white bra and white underwear, you'll alright.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
July 16, 2012
love RTR speedy and well packaged service
This dress is adorable with or without a belt/accessories . I did find it to be a bit on the short side (I'm 5'7) . Definitely needs ironing once you receive it and the material is slightly hard. Not sure I would rent again for this price. I paired the dress with Kate Spade's Cut to the Chase Necklace which was fun and colorful - would definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
July 19, 2012
My favorite rental ever
This dress is my FAVORITE rental to date! I was afraid as to if it was going to look okay because I felt like it was for girls with a smaller build but the dress worked out great--was a perfect length and the cut out detail is so unique, it makes the dress one of a kind.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
Bachelorette Party Dress!
This dress is adorable but INCREDIBLY SHORT! If you bend over at all you will be showing more than anticipated. Slightly snug in the chest but fine with the right bra.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2012
Adorable but way too short!
I rented this dress in an XS and S for my rehearsal dinner. I normally wear a 2 in dresses. I was able to fit into both sizes. However, this dress was WAY too short on me. It only came to about an inch below my behind, and not even mid thigh. I ended up returning it for a refund. Please beware of this dress if you are 5'5" or taller!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 12, 2012
shipping this dress to my event in Florida made packing very easy!
only thing to note is you will need proper under garments as it's a bit see thru! I wore a slip, nude bra, and added cute little belt and worked perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
easy and casual.
i was a little nervous to rent something from this designer especially because the sizing is lettered rather than numbered. BUT, it was perfection for a casual summer bbq. it is super short and i wore high waisted shorts underneath. others mentioned it is see through and it is important to note that this is only wear the eyelet is so a nude bra does work. a slip isn't absolutely necessary. would be perfect for vacations or casual rehearsal dinners held in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
easy and casual.
i was a little nervous to rent something from this designer especially because the sizing is lettered rather than numbered. BUT, it was perfection for a casual summer bbq. it is super short and i wore high waisted shorts underneath. others mentioned it is see through and it is important to note that this is only wear the eyelet is so a nude bra does work. a slip isn't absolutely necessary. would be perfect for vacations or casual rehearsal dinners held in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 18, 2012
Lovely dress
Wore this dress for graduation. It was super confortable even in the Virginia heat under my robes. I wore nude undergarments and had no trouble with it being too sheer. If you have a smaller bust I would get your extra dress one size up as I could see it being a little tight across the bust.
zareenJune 27, 2013
omg so adorable on you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 29, 2012
Not a dress for tall women.
I was so excited to rent this dress for our western themed engagement party. When I tried it on, I realized that it would be impossible to wear due to how short it was on me (about 11" above my knee). At 5'10, it looked as if I was wearing a bathing suit cover up, instead of a country dress. I think this dress would be perfect for anyone who is height is below 5'6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 27, 2012
This dress is AMAZING! felt like a million bucks!
This dress is AMAZING!! I felt like a milllion bucks, and definitely was a stand out in a crowd of beautiful girls!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 24, 2012
the unique silhouette!
The fit was great, although it would probably not be as good if I wasn't so flat chested. Beware if you're bigger busted!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2012
I rented this dress for a music festival in August and it was perfect!
I had rented the small and XS sizes- the XS was too tight in the chest area but the small fit great. It is a tiny bit see-through but nothing major. The material is a little stiff but the dress has such a great silhouette to it. The detailing on it is super cute too. Definitely a great party dress. I also had rented a necklace but decided to go with wearing a belt around the waist to cinch it in more- it would've looked too cluttered with a big statement necklace. My suggestion would be to wear either a great necklace or a defining belt with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Perfect for my bridal shower!
Rented this dress for my bridal shower and received lots of compliments! The dress is definitely short (and I'm 5'1"), so I wouldn't recommend this for anyone much taller. It's also a little sheer, but it was perfect with a nude bra and white half slip. I usually wear a size 2 or 4, and the XS fit perfectly. Would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2012
Not for Me
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. I ordered the xsmall and the small. I was so excited when I received them! But then I tried them on and realized that they were way too short. I could not wear either one. And I'm only 5 foot 3! I had to go buy a dress for the shower.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2012
It turned a lot of heads, needless to say I felt very satisfied feeling sexy yet conservative.
The bust area is perfect for a big bust, I'm a D cup and it fit me very nicely. Hugs the body in the right locations.
LauraFebruary 5, 2013
Looks great on you. I am a 32DD. I usually wear a size 2 as well. Was the bust snug, or did you have some room?
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×