View From The Heavens Gown

$70 rental
$550 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Nicole Miller floor length gown will instantaneously bump your style up to royal status! A perfect choice for your next formal affair. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Deep Blue Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning fits many cup sizes, size up in backup for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust,Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in boning fits many cup sizes, size up in backup for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust,Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Cobalt crepe de chine (92% silk, 8% spandex). Strapless neckline. Boning in bodice. Lurex detail at waist. A-line skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
100 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size76
Small5
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 5, 2013
Loved this dress!
This was my first RTR experience and I was so pleased with everything. I got compliments on my dress all night and really felt like a superstar. I will absolutley be renting the runway again!
RTR CustomerMarch 4, 2013
Hey Kassi, how high were your heels to have the hem off the ground? thnx!!
kassiMarch 5, 2013
The heels I wore were the highest I owned, I want to say about 5 inches
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2013
This dress was perfect for a white tie ball!
Rented this for a white tie ball event. It fit perfectly throughout the body and length. I am 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels. The dress hit the floor as though it was tailored specifically for me! Also, it is a little darker than it looks on the website. It is deep, rich blue that would compliment just about any type of skin tone. Super comfortable dress. Could have worn it all day and night. Only downside: I have a skinny frame, and I am a 32B. I wore a padded strapless bra, but the top of the dress still felt a little loose. It never slid on me, and I didn't have to adjust much during the evening, so maybe it's just a personal preference. I just like my strapless dresses to be snug up top! Got MANY compliments throughout the night, and the dress really stood out! I definitely plan on coming back to rent the runway over and over again.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2013
LOVED this dress -- wore it to the Presidential Inaugural Ball in DC and it was the perfect choice.
The bust was a little large for me, but what I loved is that I'm 5'2" and the 6P length was perfect for me. The color is a deep royal blue which looks great on olive skin. Flattering on a curvy body and a striking color -- I felt like a princess!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 28, 2013
N/A
The color wasn't how it appeared in the picture, it was more purple than blue, but I like purple better so it was fine for me. There was a little issue with the side zipper, but other than that it was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
January 27, 2013
Designed for the well endowed
I rented this dress as my 2nd option. It's designed for women with bigger busts, so it was very large on me. The fabric is heavy and it felt like a choir robe.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 26, 2013
Lovely, graceful gown!
Wore this to one of the presidential inaugural balls in DC -- felt elegant and received lots of compliments. Flowy, easy to walk in. I'm 5'11" and wore short heels with this, perfect length. Only downsize was that I had to stuff/pad the bust a bunch, since I'm small-chested.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2013
Stylist Review
I loved the layered construction and shimmery belt- it really adds a different look to the dress. The built in bra was supportive so you didn’t need to wear anything underneath and the draped skirt was super flattering. The color is a little bit darker in person - more of a royal blue then purple. Still very pretty though!
RTR CustomerAugust 2, 2013
I'm more of Beyonce's body type-pretty fit but I definitely have hips like she does, so if it is a straight up and down dress I don't want it to look like a maternity dress on me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
The dress was beautiful. A perfect fit in size and for the occasion.
The slit wasn't as dramatic as I expected but the dress was still a hit. Beautiful color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2013
Very pretty, but runs long.
This dress is very pretty, the color is lovely and the overall feel and look is great. However, the dress ran long, so much so, that I had to keep picking it up and holding it when I walked. So if you are shorter, you will have to wear higher heels (I had 2 inch heels on and am 5'6") or maybe get a shorter length if one is available. Also, I am small chested and this dress was difficult for me to keep 'up'. I had to keep pulling it up to make sure it wasn't showing too much! Maybe size down one if you have the same issue as I do. ;-) Overall it was very pretty and great service on the part of RTR as always!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect dress for the theater
My husband took me to see the live production of Les Miserables for my birthday--and we were the best dressed people there. This was so elegant feeling. I'm tall (5'10) and in 3" heels this still touched the ground. It does run a little big--I was tugging it up all night. But a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2012
I received several compliments on my dress throughout the night. Great dancing dress!
The bottom of the dress looked like it had been dragged a little when I received it in the mail, but overall, it was in good condition. Beautiful color and great formal wedding (guest's) dress!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
Perfect dress for a formal wedding. My first time with RTR and I was extremely pleased.
The dress fit perfectly, true to size. It was a bit too long- but I made it work. I would've preferred the 4R. Overall the color, style was perfect for a formal wedding.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2012
Feeling like a milllion bucks!
I wore this dress to my Fall Ball, and it's both extremely flattering and very forgiving, both of which I appreciated. After speaking to the fit specialist, I ordered the 4R and 6R, and was pretty sure that I'd end up wearing the 6R. Turns out this dress runs pretty large, so i ended up wearing the 4R and still had to tape the top of the dress so it wouldn't drop. Minor annoyance, generally a winner all around for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
WAY Too big
The design idea of this dress is gorgeous, but there turned out to be so many things wrong with it that I couldn't wear it, unfortunately. First, it is HUGE! I ordered my regular size 6, and I've worn other dresses by this brand before that fit just fine in that size, but this dress must have been a size 10 in reality! There was no way I could keep it up--even with stuffing the bra, etc., it was huge. Secondly, the seams on the inside of the bust had something wrong with them so that they were all messed up, and this made it look like I had stuffed the dress with cauliflower when it was on. Thirdly, the fabric just seems kind of cheap when you see it in person. The color is beautiful, and it could still be really pretty on you, if you got a size that fit and the seams on the inside of the bust were able to be flattened out. I'd say definitely order a smaller size than normal. I wish I'd tried a size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 22, 2012
I looked and felt awesome! Great length!
The dress was fitted on top and made my waist look tiny. However, it ran a little large and probably could have worn the 0 becuase I had to pull up my dress a lot. If you wear a pretty supportive strapless or dont wear a bra at all you should be fine depending on your cup size. I loved the way the dress flowed, perfect length for me, with gold and light purple platform heels (nine west) 4inches. The dress was a little worn, the bottom was frayed and looked like someone shorter dragged it around. It was barely noticeable. the dress wrinkles easily so sit correctly! Loved dancing in it, it was such a fun dress and wish I owned it! It photographed with the kenneth jay lane earrings perfectly, even though they are more navy and the dress is a warm purple. Get a smaller size esp if you plan on dancing a lot!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 15, 2012
Beautiful dress!
This was my back-up gown, since RTR told me that my original choice wasn't available. It was so beautiful and very flattering. The length was perfect for me with 2" heels. As the night went on, some of boning in the top started to poke out, but it wasn't anything I couldn't handle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 15, 2012
beautiful gown- got a ton of compliments on it!
very true to size and long enough for me to wear 5" heels with [I'm about 5'9] :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 13, 2012
Completely different than every other dress there
I wore this dress to the Marine Ball, and it was completely different than any other dress there. When I first pulled it out of the box and tried it on I wasn't too thrilled, but when I put it on and was all dolled up for the event I fell in love with the dress. The color is a lot darker than the way it is pictures on the model and it has more a bluish hue to it. The dress is very comfortable and wears well, but it is really long, and the top wasn't quite tight enough around my bust area.
AlliJanuary 3, 2013
I'm about the same size as you, just a little shorter...how was the length?
RhiannonJanuary 15, 2013
It was pretty long, I had on four or so inch heels and it was still a little bit too long, but not bad enough that I was tripping over it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2012
The dress was so flattering, got so many compliments on it
I normally wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress, the 2 was definitely too big in the bust area. Loved this dress, very easy to dance in and was very flattering
Teagan November 18, 2012
did you wear heels? if so, how tall were they?
cateDecember 10, 2012
I wore about 4 or 5 inch heels and am 5 7. The dress was long but wasn't dragging too much
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2012
Love, love, love this dress! I wore it to an Indian wedding, and received a zillion compliments.
This dress is SO easy to wear. The color is stunning, and it moves beautifully--super easy to dance in. It runs true to size, but it's definitely on the long side. I'm 5'4" and had to wear 4.5" heels just to keep it from dragging on the ground. Absolutely perfect besides that, though! You'll love it.
MarleenOctober 25, 2012
Beautiful dress, you wore it very well! I'm 5'4", as well...I'm always really concerned about ordering long dresses!!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×