Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Such A Knockout Gown

$80 rental
$960 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

627 reviews

Fit
Small 47
True to Size 517
Large 35
Photos 469
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

This black dress did not blend in at formal, it was gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It's perfect for an hourglass figure - hugs in all the right places. My only complaint would be that the front of the dress folds down and shows the lining. Other than that, it was perfect! It was so comfortable, I could have slept in it after dancing all night. I would highly recommend this dress.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Dec 9, 2012

Gorgeous black gown

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived in a timely fashion, fit well, and was in outstanding condition. The prepackaged return envelope made the process easy.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Very elegant and classic - can't go wrong with black lace!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little large in the waist and chest, although very fitted around lower half of body.
Carly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

I loved this dress! It fit me perfectly and it was so comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 4R and 2R. I am so happy I rented the 2R because it ended up fitting me a lot better. The dress was so pretty and comfortable to wear. It hugged me in all the right places. The zipper was hard to pull up but other than that there was nothing else that bothered me. It was beautiful and I got so many compliments on it.
Sheila
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Great dress! I got MANY compliments.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was well made, nice fabric, much more detail than you can see on the web site. The zipper was difficult both up and down, you will need help getting it done up. The fabric at the top of your bust rolled down a little, but was difficult to notice since it is black inside also. The bust runs small. The dress hugs you all over and feels good, comfortable. Overall a great pick! Very happy with it. I got many compliments for days.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Amazing Dress--Amazing Night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a fancy NYE party, and it was a huge hit with all of my friends--and strangers! I truly was "such a knockout," and my RTR experience was incredible! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jan 5, 2015

A amazing fit! Tons of complements, made me feel Like a princess

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
Wow what a wonderful dress, I rented 2 dresses, I searched 100s of dresses and found 2 that I had to have. Both were amazing. I got tons of compliments and I can't wait to use Rent the Runway again. It made me feel beautiful even though I'm not a size 2
Jillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding on New Years Eve.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was perfect for a formal affair.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

All of my girls used Rent the Runway! It was so fun seeing everyone's dresses!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVE this dress. Absolutely obsessed with it. For one, it's obviously gorgeous. It's lightweight enough that you don't feel weighed down. It's comfortable. And it's super versatile...you could wear this dress to pretty much any type of formal event. I'm a hard fit because I'm short with a smaller waist and big butt, but this dress is stretchy enough that I didn't have any issues at all.
Sarita
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Great experience!!! I already have another rental lined up!!!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time to use RTR and I was nervous! The dress (and back up) came in the day before my event and neither fit right. I called customer service and was advised of some other dress options that could be sent overnight and received by 10AM. I received my new dress at 9AM the next morning and it was PERFECT!!! I received so many compliments and was so comfortable the whole night! I used fashion tape to secure the straps and the little bit of fabric roll over at the top. The length was great with 3" heels.
Beth
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Good fit for people who sometimes find other 0s too loose

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got this dress overnighted to me when I was swimming in the 0 of my first choice. I had to wear the tallest heels I own to make the long work, I'm 5' 4.5". I have a small bust but was able to wear a dramatic push up bra by using garment tape to keep my bra straps in line with the dress straps.
LisaC
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Wonderful dress! So comfortable and it made me feel glamorous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such a great dress! I wore it for a Black and White Masquerade Ball. I was so thankful to be able to wear it without a bra because I really dislike strapless bras! The dress gave me enough support and was just the right cut...not too high or too low in the front. It was really comfortable for dancing! I am 5'4" and wore the regular length with 3" heels. If the heels had been any higher, the dress would have been too short.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

One of a kind gown for a special occasion

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal military ball. I was nervous about finding a dress that would be small enough for me, so I searched carefully for descriptions of "runs small" or "form fitting". I normally wear a 00P or xxs in all of my clothes. It is stretchy and form fitting so it worked out great. I wore 5 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The lace added interest to an otherwise simple black dress and I was the only one wearing it which is always a plus! The only downside would be the loose straps. They are double lace straps that insert at the same point on the front and then split to about a hand's width space apart when they insert on the back. Makes the back more interesting but they were kind of loose and I did have to keep readjusting them. It was also a little loose in the ribcage and waist area which kind of gave the illusion of a thicker waist than I have and there was a funny bunching thing happening at the end of the zipper on the back - all minor issues though. Overall, I loved my first RTR experience and was happy with my choice of dress!
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Stunning Dress made to walk the Red Carpet (or make you feel like you could)

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I saw this dress Online I immediately fell in love with it and knew I had to wear it to the Make A Wish Ball that I was going to. I ordered my typical size 6 and then the 8 as a back up. The dresses were delivered the day before the event and I put the 6 on and it fit me like a glove, like it was made for me. The dress was stretchy and was amazingly comfortable to wear- my only complaint is the same as other posters, where the top liner portion at top kept popping out, but I was able to reposition the top so that it was tucked back in.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

fits like a glove!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very stretchy, fits true to size! Lots of compliments! Can be worn with a strapless bra! Length is kinda short, I am 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and it was about 1 inch too short. Get the longer dress if you are taller than me!
Jillia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Compliments all night

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove. Got compliments all night and felt extremely sexy!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Feb 9, 2015

Gorgeous dress! Both 8/10R fit, but length of 8 did not skim the ground even with flats on.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
#glamorous #comfortable #sexy
RTR Customer
Feb 9, 2015

I loved this dress. I got compliments all night and felt so good in it.

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to use fashion tape to keep the top of it from folding over and to keep the straps in place because they were very long.
Kristie
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Fit like a glove.

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit. Photo taken without heels on. Ordered as backup for a wedding. Didnt end up wearing but would rent again for a future event!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Loved it

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting, hugs your curves, nice lace detail. Dragged a little for me so if you're on the short side you will need 5+ inch shoes otherwise it's a great dress!!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Beautiful dress... Comfortable and fun

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the fit... The fabric has a little stretch to it, so it was comfortable all night. The lace detail is really pretty. The length was just right with my heels.
Katy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a formal military event that I had to attend. First off, it is a really beautiful dress! Pictures do not do it justice. I am normally a 4R, and ordered this in a 4L based on the reviews. I'm glad I did! The 4R would've been too short. It was the perfect length. I also ordered my backup dress in a sz 6R. I really wish I would've ordered it in a 2 instead. It runs big! So if in doubt, order a sz down from your normal. It is also a little low cut, which can be revealing. The top also tends to roll down and show the lining (see photo). The straps were loose as well, and tape did not help that. Other than these minor hiccups, it was the perfect dress! Very classy and elegant. Comfortable. I got a lot of compliments! Would definitely wear it again. I was sad to have to send it back.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Mar 16, 2015

Classic, elegant, and flattering.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits like a glove, the stretchy fabric makes it pretty forgiving. Zipper sticks a little because of the lace so make sure you have a friend to help you get it on and off. Absolutely beautiful dress, classy and simple. Would definitely recommend it to anyone!
cassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Very Comfortable and easy to dance in.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect, I was able to eat and dance / party all night. I wore this to a wedding on Halloween and the black lace was just the right touch. The bridesmaids ended up being in black as well so I matched the theme!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

First RTR experience and it was great.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
5'4 / 145 lbs and ordered 6L and 8L as backup at the recommendation of others that the dress ran short. Probably could have work a regular, but heels worked great. Straps fit well, not too long. Dress has a little stretch to it, so while the 6 fit, I ended up wearing the 8 so I could enjoy eating and dancing :)
Brianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 21, 2015

Classy and sexy dress.

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was form fitting, yet very flattering. It hugged my curves in the perfect way and I felt wonderful in it. Although I was scared it would be too tight as I sometimes can wear a 6 and sometimes an 8, the 6 worked perfectly and it was so comfortable. I think it would have been too short if I had not ordered the 6 long, especially with heels, so I would recommend getting the longer length if you're on the taller side. Overall, great first experience with RTR.
Joselyn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

We went to an annual dinner for the Explorers Club at the Museum of Natural History!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great! Sucked everything in in the right places. A little tight across the bust, so I didn't wear a bra. I wore 4" heels and it just barely skimmed the ground. There was a tiny tear/separation from the lace and the lining near the butt, but not noticeable. I will definitely be using Rent the Runway again! Great service at the Flatiron location, but I'll probably preorder next time.
Francesca
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

The dress fit like a glove and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very form fitting, yet the material is stretchy so it's easy to maneuver in. I'm usually a size 10 in dresses since I have an athletic build (broad back and shoulders), but I wore the 12 for a little extra room for my back and chest. Overall the dress was gorgeous and hugged all the right curves, would definitely recommend for any special occasion.
Catie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Beautiful dress! Very sexy and classic

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like the other reviews said some fashion tape is necessary to keep the straps in place and the lining from the top of the dress from popping out. Overall the dress made me feel so beautiful, classic and saucy! Highly recommend! If you are on the shorter side some heels are definitely necessary! I rented it for prom and it was perfect and unlike anyone else's dress!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

PERFECT NYE Wedding dress... Flattering, comfortable, and just overall gorgeous!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 2L and 4L knowing I'd want the fit to be very close. The 2 fit but had longer straps for some reason so it was tight in the chest (which would have been good) but the neckline hit so low I felt like my chest was popping out. I chose to wore the 4 - even though it was a bit looser it was still very form fitting. The stretch in the fabric made it easy to dance in and eat dinner without worrying about sucking my stomach in all night. The black lace made it easy to accessorize - which I went with big statement earrings. Didn't notice much different between the 2 and 4 in length, but both were long enough to wear 3 inch heels but not too long that I was tripping over it at any time
Denyse
Age: 26
Apr 10, 2015

Wore for formal engagement shoot & felt so glamorous!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Other
This dress is even more beautiful in person. The lace makes a simple black gown elegant and memorable. It's definitely form fitting and will accentuate all of your curves! It fits pretty true to size but as other reviewers pointed out, it is a little tight in the bust. For women with bigger breasts, it might be a good idea to get one size up for a backup. Also, as a few other reviewers mentioned, the lace on the neckline does seem to fold over some but it wasn't an issue for me. All in all, it's a gorgeous dress and I would definitely recommend it!
Lena
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Great fit and length. Rent the long if you're going to be wearing heels and you're over 5'6 like me!

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. The fit, the lace, the length. The flare at the bottom really made the dress and everyone complimented me and asked where I got my amazing dress. I rented both the 4L and 6L in case the smaller size didn't fit but I think it ran perfectly according to size (I normally wear a 4). I would definitely recommend this for a winter wedding or formal affair. My first RTR dress and I can't wait to rent more!
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Black Tie Wedding-First RTR Experience...Beyond Perfect!

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 0R and the 2P. They fit very similarly other than the length. The 0 was too short for heels--(even with my 5'3 height), so I wore the 2P because the length was great for 3 inch heels. The dress fits like a glove, it's sexy, comfortable, and flattering in all the right places. If you are taller than 5'3, DEFINITELY get the dress in a long size. Overall, this was a perfect first experience. I loved the dress more than words and I cant wait to rent again!!
lindsay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great dress , got several compliments

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
The top lining around the chest area kept rolling over, I used fashion tape and it stayed up All night.
Iyana
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Dress fit well and was amazing throughout the whole night

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was amazing I didnt want to return it however i did find that the dress ran a little short i ended up wearing sandals even with the L size I ordered the 10L and the 12L but ended up wearing the 12L to have more room it was comfortable and i was able to wear it all night at my sororities formal without wanting to get out of it. the zipper is a little tricky but just have a friend there when you are getting ready so they can help you. I know a lot of the other reviews talked about the straps being lose or the bust rolling down but i didnt have the strap problem but i simply used dress tape to keep the bust up. Overall this dress is a 10 i was obsessed and got compliments all night!
ellenic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Fabulous dress for a fabulous evening!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! It's amazingly comfortable, the straps were great too. My only complaint is the neckline, not sure if it was stretched out but the lace kept folding over & the lining would show. I'm probably the only one who noticed it. Overall, it was a fabulous dress & I would rent it again.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Felt beautiful and sexy in this dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish there was a little more room in the bust and I thought the straps were a little bit long, I wish there was a way to tighten them. It's got some stretch to it in the body and spanx did me well!
Molly
Top Contributor
Age: 29
Apr 28, 2015

Received many compliments throughout the evening - classy with a dash of sex appeal.

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove! I'm 5'7" and the L was perfect with 2 inch heels - if you're tall, size up on the length. The gown was gorgeous; the lace and the slight train made for a nice twist on an otherwise straightforward black gown. This dress also made my otherwise small chest seem more va-va-voom, but in the best of ways. Only con was that the zipper was tough. Not because of a tight fit but because of the lace - had to have my husband help out!
Jing
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Fits like a glove

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'5, 116 lbs. normally wears a 0 or 2. The 0L fit great. This dress is elegant yet sexy, a simple cut yet very intricate lace work, and the fit is incredible. If you want to look like Nicki Minaj this is NOT the dress for you. This dress is more like the styles of Heidi Klum or Angelina Jolie.
Tika
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

First formal affair as an Army Officer's wife!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous! The picture most definitely does not do this dress justice. The pattern and layout of the lace on this dress is just wonderful. I usually wear a 4 so I ordered that size and a 6 for my back-up size. The 4 fit me like a glove but I'm rather tall so it stopped at my feet and with heels on you could see the bottom of my shoes. The six covered my shoes but was a little too baggy. I decided it wasn't too big of a deal if people could see my shoes and went with the 4. The dress looked stunning and was still extremely comfortable and I was able to move around as freely as I wanted. I felt like this was a very classy dress for my first formal event as an officer's wife and I was even told I looked stunning many times throughout the night.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×