Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Such A Knockout Gown

$80 rental
$960 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
762 reviews
Fit
Large37
True to Size607
Small53
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 6, 2016
Stunning! Sexy but Elegant
This was my first time using RTR, for a military ball. The first dress I'd ordered wasn't what I expected at all, and looked so frumpy I could've cried. I called RTR and the wonderfully patient woman on the phone went through my favorites with me to find a last minute one in my size. We picked out this one and it was PERFECT. My boyfriend's jaw literally dropped when I opened the door wearing it (I thought that was just a cartoon thing!). I got several compliments during the ball, especially on how classy I looked in it. Despite being all lace, it's sexy but not provocative, and really complimented my slender (lanky?) figure. RTR has amazing customer service, don't be scared to call if your pick isn't perfect, it worked out beautifully!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
February 4, 2016
I adore this dress! It's beautiful, comfortable, and elegant. I would definitely rent it again.
I needed a last-minute dress for a gala in NY, so I went to the RTR storefront on 18th street. I'm including the picture from the dressing room since my pictures from the gala are dark and don't do it justice. I really didn't know exactly what I wanted, aside from the fact that I wanted to wear black. The stylist who was helping me was super nice and she had a great eye - I hadn't even seen this one, so I'm glad that she took the initiative to pull it out. This dress was exactly what I needed. It fit like a glove and the petite size was perfect with my modest heels. I'm only 5'4" so a lot of the other dresses I tried on were way too long. I'm usually a 6, so the sizing was accurate. What I loved above all else was how comfortable this dress was. It was a snug fit, yes, but it really sucked me in in all the right places and yet didn't feel too tight or constricting. I could move, dance, (and eat!) without feeling like I was going to burst out of the seams. I think it's ideal for those with an hourglass figure. I have a small waist and wide hips/butt. I usually shy away from something this form-fitting, but this dress was so flattering that I didn't even need to wear Spanx. I got so many compliments at the event, and even at the store when I was trying it on. Even my mom - who thinks everything is "too tight" or "too sexy" - said it was classy and beautiful. If you have a formal event to attend, this dress will NOT disappoint!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2016
Two size options is key. Wet with the smaller option for this dress.
Hugs curves perfectly. So comfortable I fell asleep in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 1, 2016
Tons of compliments and so comfortable
True to size! Very comfortable. Loved this rental! Very Parisian.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a work holiday party and it's quite glamorous. The lace is gorgeous and it's forgiving and slimming. I would completely rent this again, but NOT for a work function. Anyone who has any sort of cleavage will have the girls on display. While the dress wasn't entirely inappropriate, I wouldn't suggest it for anyone attending an event which needs to be on the slightly conservative side. I had to fly in for the party, and was able to drop this off with the hotel concierge instead of schlepping it back home with me. That was a serious win since I then had so much extra room in my bag for the flight home! I had an easy first RTR experience and would gladly do it again!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
January 31, 2016
Ravens banquet 2016
Great dress, flattering on tummy area as it has some spandex in it. The straps were a little long. Over all really, really comfortable I didnt feel like I was wearing formal wear
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
January 28, 2016
Unfortunately my event was cancelled due to snow storm Jonas so I didn't get to actually where it
Unfortunately my event was cancelled due to snow storm Jonas so I didn't get to actually where it but I tried it on. Overall beautiful dress with a good amount of stretch if you want to flaunt your figure in something tight but super comfortable!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 25, 2016
Stunning Black Tie Dress
I loved how glamorous I felt in this dress. The bottom has a "swishing" effect as you walk. I wore a regular bra and did my best to hide the straps to add more cleavage, but most people would probably want to wear a strapless bra or cutlets. I had to keep pulling the top of the dress up to cover my bra (despite securing it in the dress). I ordered the Regular size so that the dress would accommodate 4" heels - This worked out perfectly and the dress was about an inch off the floor. The dress has beautiful lace details but can't see them well in photos.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 16
January 24, 2016
Dance all Night
I ordered a 0P and 2R. I'm usually a size 2, but because of my height, I ended up on wearing the 0P. The 0 was a bit big on me in some parts, but it was an overall great fit. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 18, 2016
This was a KNOCKOUT dress. If you don't want to be the center of attention, keep looking. =)
I'm 5'7, athletic build and the girls are DD's. I rented the 8R and 6L. Usually wear an 8 but the 6 fit me perfect. A little loose actually but most likely from all the previous rentals? This dress was incredible and so gorgeous. So classy and so very sexy. I got compliments all night long at the event I was at. I was complimented walking to and from the restroom and even in the restroom. It is a center of attention...feel like you are the only woman in the room type dress, so be prepared to have all eyes on you, at all times. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 16, 2016
Sexy dress!
LOVED the stretchy material, I felt extremely comfortable in this dress all night and danced the night away in this sexy lacey dress! I wish I wore a more padded bra, however, since the dress formed to my body & made my chest look flat. I guess that's just me though, not the dress' fault... :-) The lace on one side of the sleeves did fall down quite a lot though, which was annoying. But I had to wear 1 size bigger (a 8L instead of 6L) since they didn't have 6L available, so I kinda new that was coming. Bottom line is... don't wait until the last minute to get your dress!! You'll get stuck with something you don't 100% like. Overall though, I did get a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
January 16, 2016
Beautiful dress, fit me like a glove, the lace is delicate and flattering
It fits true to size, it's beautiful
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 12, 2016
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve masquerade ball. Perfect!
This dress is very comfortable! However, if you have hips and/or a butt, size up! I am normally a 4, so since I sized up the straps were a bit long. Easily fix though! I love how it's a bit see-through at the bottom, very sexy dress!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 11, 2016
Loved this dress. It fit in all the right places, sucked me in and was very figure flattering.
Perfect length for my 5'5 frame with a 3.5" heel.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2016
Very comfortable and looked great! I got so many complements.
Thankfully the 2L fit because the zipper broke on the 4L. Even the zipper on the 2L wasn't the greatest - very touchy - but I got it on and off and that's all that matters.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2016
This was my backup dress I didn't end up wearing, but was so stunning!
The dress fit just perfectly, very slimming but showed off curves at the same time! The lace details of the dress were gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2016
Company party was awesome. Next time I will definitely choose two sizes just in case.
The dress was too tight in the bust area so I did not wear it to the function. If I had remembered to order a back-up, I would have worn it. The dress was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2016
Baby bump friendly!
Awesome dress! Very elegant and expensive looking. The material is quite stretchy, which made it surprisingly baby bump-friendly and super comfy all night long! It's not easy to make a pregnant lady feel beautiful and sexy, but this dress did it! I would assume this material would also be accommodating to different body types because of its stretchy-ness, so don't be afraid if you have ample hips or booty. It may not be the best choice for the large chested ladies (unless you don't care to show a lot off). It nicely emphasized my small bust though! (I'm usually an A cup but I'm probably more of a B in the photo). I'm about 5'6", and like most of my previous RTR rentals, this dress (8R) hit the floor in bare feet. So as usual, I needed to wear short kitten-type heels. I'm always afraid to order the long though, because I don't want to be forced to wear uncomfortable sky-high heels (I love to dance) For reference, I would typically order a size 4 and a 6 backup from RTR and my pre-preggo weight was 128. In the photo, I am 21 weeks pregnant and have gained about 6 pounds. The 8 fit wonderfully. The stretch would probably make several different sizes work though
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 30, 2015
Loved It
This was great on an hourglass figure. I feel like the color and lace minimized my belly, while the neckline and clingy-ness were great on my curves. Boyfriend also loved it. ;)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 55
December 24, 2015
I needed a dress for my daughters wedding, and my daughter suggested RTR.
I am 5'5", and a busty 124 pounds. This dress was a third choice for the evening, as the first two were damaged or unavailable just days before the event. I had to squeeze into this dress ( think a 4L would have fit better but it wasnt available) and had to hide the girls so I didn't look so va va voomy. The length was perfect for 5 inch heels. It was very comfortable though and I danced alot and I got lots of complements!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Super stretch and perfect without a bra! Lots of cleavage tho ;)
Straps were perfect for me because i have a larger chest- smaller chests may need to tack it up. Wore 2 inch wedges and it dragged just a little.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
December 19, 2015
Felt fantastic!
Such a beautiful dress with beautiful lace details. Very comfortable and classy... With a little bit of sexy. I think it fits small, especially around the hips. But I am a little curvy. It was a little big around the waist but I couldn't size down because of the hip area. But all around beautiful, very comfortable, and I felt great! I agree with the other reviews that you need tape to hold the lace up at the top, otherwise it folds down and you see the lining. Would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
December 19, 2015
Very comfortable and loved the fit! Received tons of compliments
Only con was that the top slightly rolled over so I had to get fashion tape to hold it in place
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 18, 2015
Perfect fit ! Amazing dress
The fit is perfect ! Color and lace detail is beautiful ..... Cons .. The dress looks a bit worn out
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 16, 2015
Beautiful dress. Very light and comfortable. I highly recommend it!
Was a little tight around my bust. Didn't need to wear a bra. Problems with the zipper, however, I rented this dress for two different events and both had issues zipping up.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 15, 2015
I got this dress for a James Bond party to dress as Vesper Lynd. It worked great!
The dress itself is very tight, but its slightly stretchy which is nice. The zipper was in really bad shape, so I actually could only unzip it halfway and then had to pull it over my head. The straps were also a bit long as other reviewers have mentioned but they managed to stay up. I will say that I'm rather busty and so this dress was bordering on scandalous. It's not a low v, but the overall rise of the top of the dress is pretty low. I had to pin it to my strapless bra to make sure it didn't show. Additionally, I ordered the long, and it hit an inch above the ground when I was wearing 3 inch heels. So not very long at all. Finally, I ordered two sizes, and the 6L came with a stain on the front. Fortunately the 8 was a better fit, but that was definitely disappointing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 15, 2015
Great customer service!!!!
Zipper had room but wouldn't zip. At 29 weeks pregnant, this was super flattering. 1 am 135 pre pregnancy and 155 at the time of this and I should have gotten 1 size up for extreme comfort, but 8 would have worked. Long would have also been preferred. Just wish zipper worked!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
December 14, 2015
I LOVED this Dress; So elegant and Comfortable
I loved this dress. It fit perfectly hid any little imperfections that always drive me nuts especially in the mid section. It was comfortable and you can move and dance in it. I got a lot of compliments on it too. I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 13, 2015
"Black tie" holiday party
PROs: very flattering dress, comfortable, ordering R was the perfect length (right about floor length wearing no shoes, and still able to wear 3 or 4 inch heels without dress looking too short) CONs: Bad Zipper and Dress Lining Folds Over - the zipper was really bad on both sizes i got - i ordered the 2R and could've squeezed into it I think, but the zipper kept getting stuck on way up and I didn't want to force it and risk breaking the dress; same with the 4R, bad zipper but the dress was bigger so my roommate was able to get the zipper up eventually, but then the straps were a little too long for me. Had to have my roommate unzip the dress too because of the zipper. - dress lining on the boobs kept folding/rolling over - might have been fixable with double stick tape, but i didn't have any so just had to wear the dress with the lining showing. My friends said it looked like the dress was supposed to be like that, but it definitely wasn't supposed to be and it was bothersome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 13, 2015
So flattering and comfortable!
This dress was great! I usually wear a size 2 and got the 0 as my backup after reading the reviews and I'm glad I did. The material is thick and flattering and super comfortable and stretchy. I am 5'4 and the regular length was perfect with 4 inch heels.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2015
Felt stunning all night!
I rented this dress for my senior prom, and it fit like a glove! I'm pretty self conscious when it comes to tight-fitting clothing, but this dress only accentuated the good parts of my body, and covered the parts I don't like as much. I got the long size because I wore 4 inch heels, and the length was just a centimeter or two short, but not noticeable at all. The lace detail was beautiful, and although it doesn't show in all of the pictures, in person it's gorgeous. I got compliments on it all night, and I didn't want to return it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
December 6, 2015
Beautiful dress for a beautiful night.
Overall I was very happy with the dress, however it arrived a day late. My husband LOVED it. The dress fit me perfectly, hugged every curve.The straps were a little loose and the back was hard to zip because of the fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
December 6, 2015
This dress was perfect for my engagement shoot - old Hollywood glam style!
I loved this dress, the lace detailing was beautiful, the straps were a very nice detail, the fabric was forgiving - very stretchy and form fitting. PERFECT! Perfect length, made the 'girls' look nice without being too much. Worked perfectly with a strapless bra. Loved it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 4, 2015
Loved this dress - would rent again!!
Wore this for a black-tie holiday event. It was form-fitting and flattering while still being very comfy! Note to my fellow small-chested ladies - make sure to wear a strapless bra underneath, or the material around the bust will bunch a bit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 4, 2015
the roaring 1920s!
The entire process of renting, receiving, and shipping the dress and necklace was a total breeze! I put on this dress and I felt like a million bucks! The dress is very snug ( I'm in between a 0 and a 2) I ordered a 0, i should of went with a size 2 but the 0 did work :) The length was perfect I wore a two in heel with this dress and it was just skimming the floor. The lace detail was perfection, all in all a perfect night, and the perfect necklace and dress for the occasion! rent the Runway has another satisfied customer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on how form-fitting this gown was and I loved it!
It was a great look but required Spanx and limited strides. My heels also kept getting caught in the train but it may be because I am only 5'4".
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2015
Customer service was great w/helping me find a replacement when the one I ordered became unavailable
I chose this dress after trying it on at the storefront (the original dress I ordered was returned late or damaged and I didn't like the replacement they chose for me). This dress fits like a glove and pictures don't do it justice because they don't show the subtle detailing that makes it even more flattering. I'm either an 8 or 10 in RTR gowns and the 8 fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this dress and will probably be renting it again in the future. Not only is it gorgeous but it's also the most comfortable dress I've ever worn!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
November 25, 2015
very flattering and many compliments!
fit true to size- a bit form fitting but very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
the details are beautiful and high quality
I ended up not wearing this dress but I rented it for prom and it was a close call between this and another. It is sooo flattering and hugs all the right parts of your body. In the end I only chose the other dress because it was much more extravagant and I wanted to make more of a statement for my senior prom. I highly recommend ordering this!!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 23, 2015
Gorgeous dress with a few small problems.
I usually wear an 8 or 10, I ended up being a 10 in this dress. It looked great and I got tons of compliments. CONS: The straps were a little long, so I had to pin them. The lining also kept folding over at the bust, so I needed double sided tape. I had trouble with the zipper because it wasn't sewn on straight, so I had to pull it over my head. Overall, how gorgeous it was totally outweighed the few little problems with it. I would wear it again.
See more reviews:
1 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×