Nicole Miller

Square Neck Sequin Shoulder Dress

$75 rental
$420 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The perfect statement at any evening affair, this Nicole Miller style is beautiful and flattering on all figures. Shown here with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set and Badgley Mischka's Falling Leaf Earrings.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Product Details

Navy crinkle metallic taffeta. Square neckline. Sequin beading detail on shoulder straps. Cut out detail on back. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'8.5".

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 2, 2011

This is a fabulous dress. It runs true to size. The color and neckline are very flattering, and best of all the ruching is most forgiving. I'm short waisted and curvy everwhere but in the bust. Wearing panty hose or a firming garment that stopped at the waist would have given me that funny line across the middle so I purchased a great bra with adjustable straps, doctored one of my one of piece firming garments (the back of the dress is wide open so straps are a challenge) and wore thigh high hose. It's one of the few times I've stepped out looking and feeling like a total babe and I'd wear this dress again in a heartbeat.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011

Great dress. It's stretchy, so both the size 6 and 8 fit well. I went with the size 8 because it was a bit more forgiving to my curves. You'll need to make sure you have the right bra, but otherwise, I really enjoyed wearing this. I felt sexy and received several compliments.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011

This was my first RTR dress & I was nervous but dress came on time. This is definitely one of the older dresses in their collection & the material on both sizes seemed to be showing slight age from all of the cleanings. However, after putting the dress on, you never would have guessed it wasn't new. The dress fit perfectly and accentuated every curve that it was supposed to. I'm normally a 6 and didn't even bother trying on the 4 after seeing how perfectly the 6 fit. I was worried about how the straps would look since I feel like I'm broader up top but they were great. Wore this with a black strapless bra. Kept getting compliments all night about how great the dress looked. The sequins was slightly itchy but not enough to both me much. Couldn't be happier!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
May 9, 2011
All the compliments I received on how great I looked!

The dress looks super tiny on the hanger, but has a lot of stretch to it. I rented the 4 and the 6 because I was fluctuating between those sizes. I wore the 6 and it fit perfectly. This dress helped me disguise the fact that I carry my weight in my midsection and I got a ton of compliments. I am tall and it wasn't too short. I danced the night away at a wedding in this dress and loved every second of it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2011

This dress is fabulous. I wore it to a black-tie event and received compliments all night. It's obviously very form-fitting, but the stretchiness makes it very flattering as well. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2011

I absolutly love this dress. It has a little stretch to fit different bodies, but not look to tight. I was super happy to wear this dress and will be sad to send it back. I did find the color to be a little more navy blue as oposed to the gunmetal grey that appears in the photo.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 6, 2011

This dress was exceptional. Great cut, fitted yet comfortable, and extremely flattering - I'm very straight up and down and small-chested, and this dress gave me a figure (though I would imagine bigger chested girls may find the fit a little snug). True to size - I run from 0 to 4 depending on the designer, and the 2 fit perfectly. The dress is a beautiful navy color. Would 100% rent again!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2011

I loved this dress. I am tall and slender, but this dress is very forgiving and really gives you a great shape. I am a 4 generally, and I wore a 4 in this dress too. It fits true to size. It isn't too short either, which is hard for me at 5"8".

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
July 13, 2011

I selected "true to size", but when ordering, I'd suggest getting your backup size a size larger than you think you'll need. It's very fitted. This dress was very flattering and the color is a lovely navy rather than the greyish color it appears to be in the photo. It's also not as shiny as it appears- it's quite understated and classy. I'm only 5'6" and I found it to be just a little short for my event, as it's a stretchy fabric & rode up a bit when I moved. I was constantly yanking the hem down. That said, for a less-conservative event, I wouldn't have worried about it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 15, 2011
This dress is different from any dress I own or would buy. Using RTR allowed me to go outside of my comfort zone and wear a dress that looked so great. I felt beautiful all night!

Very elegant dress. I recently wore this to a wedding, and received so many compliments. It seems like this dress would look good on a lot of different body types. It was definitely tighter than what I am used to wearing, but the length made it not trashy looking. The color was a gunmetal gray mixed with navy. I wore nude heels and it looked great. I would recommend to anyone-- however I did wish I had tried a size bigger, just to see if I would be more comfortable... all in all though, no complaints!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
July 20, 2011

I loved this dress and received so many compliments on it, but it did have a tendency to ride up as I walked. Other than that, I loved it, it fit like a glove, and I felt super sexy in it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
August 1, 2011

This was my first time using Rent the Runway. The dress was fantastic - the size I ordered fit perfectly and the dress was incredibly flattering. The entire process was so easy - the dress arrived on time and it was so easy to send back. Overall great experience!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2011

I wore this (with the AV Max Hematite Glitzy Glam Earrings) to a wedding and as soon as I told the bride congratulations, she exclaimed "Oh my god, I love your dress, where'd you get it?" First compliment of many from the evening. The dress fits great and though it does ride up a little bit, it was never too short. I'll agree that the color and 'shininess' are not quite the same as the photo, but it was a great dress and wonderful experience for a first rental!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 31, 2011

I wore this dress to a wedding and it was sexy, yet not inappropriate. I received a lot of compliments on it throughout the night. The only problem I had with the dress is that in the picture it looks silvery-gray and when I got it it was navy blue. It is my fault for not reading the product details but I feel like the picture was misleading. The fit was perfect for my body-type, but it does ride up, and that causes a bunch up of fabric in your lower back, so you do have to pull it down a lot. Overall the dress was perfect for a wedding.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2011

This really is a gorgeous dress and originally my first choice outfit. The color is a steely dark blue (much more blue than the pic shows)-think Infinity dark blue. I'm broad shouldered and this didn't make me feel like a linebacker, I felt feminine and classy. Since I'm short, the dress came to my knees which is perfect for me. FYI, this is a really body hugging dress. I have hips and this felt very comfortable, but then it sucks right back in by the knees. The ruching and sheen of the fabric is not forgiving, even with spanx! Also, I'm on the light tan side (skin color like the model-I'm latina) and have dark hair but the color sort of just was blah against my skintone, while in the pic it sort of pops. I ended up looking more muted/serious than I wanted to, if that makes any sense. Very classy, respectable dress great for more serious occasions. I did not wear this out but I didn't foresee any issues with the sequin detail at the shoulders and back, it's very subtle & pretty

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 29, 2011

Perfect for hiding hips/stomach, the rouching is amazing. The sequins dig a little and the color is not steel grey like it looks here but a midnight blue. It's a gorgeous dress though!!! highly recommend for evening weddings/formal affairs.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
October 3, 2011

This turned out to be a great dress. It was true to size. I'm typically a size 6, but ordered a size 8 since I own a Nicole Miller dress in that size, which fits as well. I did not wind up needing the 8. The dress looked very glamorous and the back is what got me sold on it in the first place. It did not disappoint in real life.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2011

I'm a curvy lady and I saw a friend of mine in a Nicole Miller dress similar to this one and it hugged her curves perfectly. So I order this one for a black tie wedding and it was a hit. It just slide over my curves. The material is stretchy and so it hugs everywhere and is perfect for people who want to show off an hourglass figure. Plus, the gathering hides any creases...but I wore spanx with it anyway. I got SOOO many compliments and felt fantastic. I will br renting Nicole Miller dresses again in the future!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2011
I felt amazing!

I ordered this dress as my back up and ended up wearing it to my husband's annual company party. Note that the color is a navy blue and not gray, like in the picture. This worked out well for me because my husband was wearing a navy tie. The dress fit like a glove - very true to size. I did wear spanx and a strapless and all the imperfections were hidden and smoothed out. The ruching on the dress is very flattering and body hugging without being slutty. I am 5'3 so the dress hit right above my knees, which was more than appropriate for the event. I paired with gold shoes and earrings and a sleek ponytail and it looked amazing. I'm so happy I decided to rent instead of buy another dress that I'll never wear. Thanks to RTR!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2011

Lovedddd this dress. I got lots of compliments and I felt great all night. I ordered a size 2 and 4 and wore the 2 with no problem. This was my first time using rtr and would def use it again.... It was so easy.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011

Great dress! Fit really well and was very complimenting! Very comfortable for a tight dress. Usually take a 4 in dresses but sized up to the 6.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011

I loved, loved, loved this dress!! So flattering....wish I could purchase it! It did ride up a little, but I would just do a small adjust whenever I got up from sitting. I wore this to a wedding and received so many compliments...my husband especially love it :) Such a wonderful experience with my first rental!!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011

I was a little worried about renting this dress since it's an older one but it arrived in perfect condition and fit like a glove! I wore it a wedding so went a size up which was perfect, fitted but still conservative enough, especially with a dressy cardigan over it for the ceremony. It was my first Nicole Miller rental & I will definitely be renting her dresses again!! Amazing dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2011
My fav RTR dress so far!!!

I absolutely LOVED this dress. I was expecting a gunmetal color but was surprised when it showed up as navy blue. (I didn't read the description before renting.) But it fit perfectly in all the right places and was a big hit of the night. I would definitely rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2012
great service from RTR; i'll definitely recommend to friends!

fits great, very flattering

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 20, 2012
exceed my expectations

Gorgeous dress! It fit perfect. The only problem is that the attached lining seem to be longer than the dress, but I just used the provided fabric tape to pick it up and it worked perfect. It felt just above 4" from my knee. I paired it with silver shoes and bracelet. I was wearing the Cecile earings (rhinestones)....I had to remove them within 1/2 hr because they kept on catching on the sequence, so be careful what pair it with!!. Also customer service is wonderful. I will definitely rent again fron RTR!!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
February 14, 2012
Gorgeous dress

I rented this as my back up dress but once I put it on there was no question this was the one. Fit like a glove...very flattering for curves. I'm a 34C and filled it out perfectly. Hit right above knee, did ride up a bit while dancing but I am not complaining ...I received tons of compliments all night. Like others reviewed, the sequin part does rub a bit so by the end of the night I had a little skin irritation but I would still recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 20, 2012
Fun party dress

I wore this dress to my company's holiday party and received so many compliments. As other reviews have mentioned, the color is different in person, a dark navy blue, but still gorgeous. I loved the sequin detail on the shoulders. I did a lot of dancing in this dress and by the end of the night the sequins were starting to irritate my skin a little bit, but it was nothing too bad.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2012
I received so many compliments on the dress!

This dress was a home run. I wore it for my brother's wedding, and received so many compliments on it. It's very comfortable, flattering, and has a great neckline. The only slight downside was the straps have sequins that were rubbing a bit, but nothing that I noticed more than a few moments in the evening.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 9, 2012
Had a wonderful night in my fabulous dress!

I loved the look of this dress. I got a ton of compliments and my boyfriend LOVED it! It is tight fitting but not uncomfortable tight. It didn't show my imperfections (like love handles) and I didn't feel like I needed spankz under it. The one part I wasn't expecting is that it was hard to zip up at the top by my chest. Other reviews have the same bra size but no one commented on that. I needed to have my boyfriend zip the dress up all the way for me but it didn't hinder my breathing at all. Overall, I loved the dress and how I felt in it. I would definitely recommend it to others.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 9, 2012
Love!

Flattering, Easy to wear, great color - it's navy not grayish coal. Classic Nicole Miller fabric and design so people know you're in a nice dress that just don't know how little you paid for it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
June 10, 2012
Perfect for the occasion.

I received my dress in great condition. I wore size 0 and it fitted just perfect. It never scratched my underarms, as some reviewers say, it fitted above the knee (not as short as the picture with the model,) and the color was more like a navy blue. Received compliments from the hosts of the party. I didn't give it 5 stars because I didn't think it flattered my body as well as other dresses. I looked too skinny in this dress. However, I wore a push up strapless bra and once I completed my look with my high heels and accessories, I felt it made a big difference.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
June 21, 2012
service was great

almost every dress I have ever rented from this designer I have loved!! I truly feel like she must be curvy herself bc each dress is so body conscious that its hard not feel great wearing one of these. Wore this to a wedding and was the center of attention. The hard part was letting all the girls in on my secret bc now thy all want to RTR. :)

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2012
Gorgeous dress!!

I absolutely loved this dress. It fit exactly like it was supposed too. I'm "busy" and petite so this helped to minimize my bust line but accentuated my hourglass figure. Only thing was the zipper in the back. It got stuck a few times. Overall-- would rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 9, 2012
Very lovely

Loved the dress. It was comfortable. The color is blue, maybe I wasn't paying attention but it looked black in the photo so I was a bit surprised. The 6 was form fitting, and though I thought to wear it I was going to a wedding and didn’t want to become uncomfortable after 4 hours of wearing the dress. My only complaint was that the sequence under the arms rubbed my arms and left me red the next day. But over all I loved the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2012
Great Dress

This dress looked and felt great. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. I received tons of compliments! I love RTR!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2012
Loved it.

Many compliments on this dress. I had to let everyone know to become members of Rent The Runway. Love this site and the fact that I don't spend a fortune and stuck with a dress that I will only wear once.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Wore it to a wedding. Was a hit!

The black fabric has a slight navy sheen to it, and photographs well. It looks even better in person. The dress is stretchy and is flattering. The only thing I did not love was that the sequins scratch a little against your inner arm. It wasn't too bad (I didn't get red marks or anything). I own other Nicole Miller dresses with similar fabric and all are amazing and flattering on everyone.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 21, 2012
Lots of compliments!

Loved wearing this dress. Chose it for a formal wedding and got compliments all evening. I'm on the shorter side (5'2") and it was a little long on me, hitting me mid knee.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2012
This dress made me feel great and I loved how it turned out in pictures!

I got SO many compliments on my dress! I usually wear a size 2, but ordered a 2 and 4. Although the 2 fit great, I decided to go with the 4 which gave me a little more room (to eat and drink ;) ). The material is stretchy, so it is easy to dance and sit. Although it photographs dark gray, it is more of a navy blue in person. I also rented the bangles shown on the model! It was a great addition to the dress. Overall, I LOVED my dress and am so glad that I decided to rent it!

View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×